Proceedings of the Institution of Civil Engineers (1881) - Obituary: John Henry Abbey, 1831-1880
Memoirs of Deceased Members.
Mr. John Henry Abbey was born in the year 1831, and began his professional career as a pupil of Mr. Thomas Brook, surveyor, Huddersifeld, after which he entered the office of Mr. Martin, a civil engineer of Leeds. In the year 1853 he was appointed surveyor to the Huddersfield Improvement Commissioners but resigned in 1857 to commence practice on his own account, and to take up appointments rendered vacant by the death of his uncle Mr. Mallinson Abbey, as surveyor to several important turnpike trusts and landed estates. On the incorporation of the borough of Huddersfield in 1868 he was elected borough surveyor, and in that capacity rendered valuable assistance to the corporation in the promotion of and carrying into effect several improvement bills ; but owing to numerous engagements he resigned that appointment in August 1879.
He attained considerable eminence as a valuer, and his general knowledge and experience led to his being extensively employed in arbitration cases. He was architect of the new borough offices in Ramsden Street, and also of the public hall now in course of completion in Princess Street. Mr. Abbey was elected an Associate of the Institution on the 11th of May, 1869, and was transferred to the class of Members on the 27th of November, 1877. He died, after a short illness, of cancer of the stomach, in the fiftieth year of his age, on the 27th of November, 1880.