Annals of the Church and Parish of Almondbury, Yorkshire (1882) by Charles Augustus Hulbert

The following is the OCR text of a book and will likely contain errors. This page is designed to be indexed by search engines. Click on a page number to view the book in your web browser.

The text is believed to be in the Public Domain.

Page 1

Ge 942.74019 At45e2h | 1315315 ja

occ

“as jane

LMONDBURY |

HULBERT

Page 2

Pac Se aCe CK:

nae

a S

A << ass

VY ed = many hae NM, GY a Wi Yyyyy

(ear Ge (aun

a

Te Gam CK ES ae CT

en

jh WY thik dy tN Vee RAO aan rene AAV) MOOV, OS cs ail Ww | VOY NAL Ade wy wv My vie MW ev

w kh Phu,

VOOR WM DUN i MY bd eves ’ MV He Be COU,

A | i es vy Mv € ee ck aw We UN vy \ TOG CLL by Het cna RN ey) we Oe + OTLEY, "iP

Kier Vey ft. Re ww vy ae ie we | ie YO

/ ARE) “>A GW Oe Mee Versa DY Ca 4S TO rN 2 Nw by yy MUAY /

Wd VU le sey UN VB Ww save Whe rn IM Yeu Owls enc HA

C

Page 5

for fr Sherr f ee

Ae sje Cec ZL Gre Lge oe

ANNALS

OF THE

CHURCH IN ALMONDBURY.

Maren Loy ex

OD 4 Lee.

Page 6

HUDDERSFI ELD: a a ‘DAILY CHRONICLE STEAM PRINTING LORD STREET.

KOU. Tipe

ee oe.

i

-

# «

i a

Page 8

J. Morratr, PHoro., EDINBURGH. Woodburytype.

Cor : Wen, Md

Page 9

ANNALS OF THE CHURCH

PARISH OF ALMONDBURY,

VOR BSH

BY

CHARLES AUGUSTUS HULBERT, | M.A,, OF SIDNEY SUSSEX COLLEGE, CAMBRIDGE,

HONORARY CANON OF RIPON CATHEDRAL AND VICAR OF ALMONDBURY; MEMBER OF THE COUNCIL OF THE YORKSHIRE ARCHEOLOGICAL SOCIETY ; AUTHOR OF THE OF THE CHURCH IN SLAITHWAITE,” THE

**GOsPEL REVEALED To Jos,” &c.

LONDON: LONGMANS AND Co,

1882.

Page 10

Breathes there the man with soul so dead, Who never to himself hath said, ‘*This is my own, my native land!” Whose heart hath ne’er within him burn’d, As home his footsteps he hath turn’d

From wandering on a foreign strand ?-—-ScorTT.

Page 11

PREFACE.

1315315

Tue kind manner in which the several parts of these Annals have been received, as they have issued from the press, seems to preclude the necessity of a Preface. The Author can only hope for the same indulgent acceptance of the whole which has been conceded to the parts. He has been much indebted to his Antiquarian friends for contributions, proofs, and, not least, for corrections. From his own mass of matter of 40 years’ collection, his difficulty has been to select; and he is compelled to omit some important documents, of interest to the Archeologist rather than the general reader, but which may possibly form the subject of a future supplementary publication. He would fain have given way to the friend to whom he has dedicated the fourth part, Thomas Brooke, Esq., F.S.A., as the most fitted for writing the History of Almondbury ; but on his declining the work, the Author felt it became him, by virtue of office, to make the attempt, with honesty of purpose, if less ability or research. Time was passing away, and carrying with it men, monuments, traditions. And, as it proves, the undertaking was made not too soon, as by a bill brought into Parliament, for the removal to London of Parish Registers, the Author might possibly be deprived of those valuable documents from which he-has made so many and curious extracts. He has far exceeded the intended limits of the publication ; but could not omit the abbreviated copies of Gravestones, which, he feels confi- dent, will be interesting to many families; guiding them to the memorials of their friends, and be some compensation for the absence of the Registers ; from which, however, doubtless, extracts would be obtainable, but the search difficult and expensive. The Author has had applications from even persons whose ancestors emigrated to America two centuries ago; but who were still anxious to trace their English lineage.

Page 12

Vi PREFACE.

The names of Henry James Morehouse, F.S.A., James Rusby, F.R.H.S., George William Tomlinson, F.S.A., will frequently appear. To whom, as to Col. Brooke, Canon Raine, Dr. Marshall, Messrs. W. M. Brookes, A. S. Ellis, T. Robinson, J. Horsfall Turner, and the family of the late Mr. John Nowell, he repeats his obligations. With respect to the lithographic illustrations, they have been chiefly pre- pared by his youngest son, the Reverend Percival Wood Hulbert, M.A.; been coloured by members of his family, and printed by Mr. T. Greenwood, at Huddersfield. The account of the Legge family and the Index are the work of his eldest son, Rev. C. A. Hulbert, junr., M.A. To Miss Hughes for the use of the View of Meltham ; and to the Yorkshire Archzeological Society for the loan of the escutcheons of Wodde and Cliderow, he renders his thanks. The other illustrations do credit to Mr. Spurr, Mr. Lord, and Mr. Moffatt, Photographic Artists. The Seal of the Grammar School was lent by Mr. B. Brown; the Bishop’s Arms by Mr. Ward, of Dewsbury ; and those of Huddersfield by Mr. Harper, the printer of the Work. Other illustrations previously appeared in his ‘‘ Annals of the Church in Slaithwaite.” For the Map of the Parish he is indebted to Messrs. Butler and Illingworth. For their lively interest in the work, and the ready attention to its details, the Author feels indebted to all engaged—and delivers it to the world in the hope that their labour has not been in vain, but will be creditable to the locality to which it relates.

For himself he can only say that he looks on the Book with the fondness of a parent, the hope of remembrance, and with the assurance that, if it be not directly Theological, it may not fail to build up some in love to Christ and His Church. . He has not given any Sabbatical hours to the labour—if labour rather than rest it may be called—which has often relieved his heavy parochial as well as family cares. Although, had he consulted the highest aim of his mind, he might rather have returned to Biblical criticism and instruction, in which his literary powers had been most previously engaged, and have republished his ‘Gospel Revealed to Job;” long out of print. He has felt it a having been enabled by kind friends to restore his ancient Church, to make some record of the

Page 13

PREFACE. vil

labours, the contributions, the noble efforts of those who have already passed away; “who rest from their labours.” As well as to strengthen their survivors, by the glorious records of the past, to sustain those fabrics and throng those courts “where their fathers praised God ;” and not less those more modern erections, which indicate the same spirit, and are consecrated to the service of the same Redeemer. It has been the Author’s feeling to identify himself with every locality to which, in the providence of God, he has been called; whether his native county of Salop; his only Curacy of Islington, London, for five years; his Incumbency of Slaithwaite, for twenty-eight and of Almondbury, for fifteen. Indebted for early taste in Antiquities to his father, the Author ofa History of Salop and of Cheshire Antiquities; and his schoolmaster, ‘‘Mr. D. Parkes, of Shrewsbury,” a contributor to the Magazine for fifty years (as noticed in Hood’s humorous Ode to that ancient periodical), he trusts he may be excused the garrulity of age if, near the close of his eleventh septennary, he indulges these personal recollections.

Should any profits arise from the publication, they will assist in the reduction of the debt on the Vicarage, due to the Governors of Queen Anne’s Bounty, and referred to in page 85. Having been frequently applied to, by distant friends, for the Music to the Poem, entitled the “‘ Church of our Fathers,” and for permission to use it in Sunday School Anniversaries ; he has given the tune in Lithograph, with two of the Churches, and every encouragement to its free use and circulation. May the Church of our Fathers be the Church of our descendants, until the Church Militant be lost in the Church triumphant ! Cr Ae EL:

ALMONDBURY VICARAGE, AuGUST, 1882,

Page 14

The Author has been favoured by Mr. Hall, Clerk of the Huddersfield Union, with the following Particulars of the Popula- tion, in 1881, of the Ecclesiastical Districts attached to the Churches in the Ancient Parish of Almondbury :—

All Saint’s Parish Church, including Longley...... 6188 St, Mary Gy ear ts each 3970 St. Paul’s, Armitage Bridge...(In Honley District) 597 Do. (In Almondbury) 2348 © Holy South. owe 2456 Pull Saints! IN ete tes cae ant oan 1408 2436 Sa David s; mera 2340 Be: Mary's, 'Wilshaw. a (In Honley) 296 Adjoining parts of Meltham, Austonley, Upper- thong and Netherthong,about. 100 Christ Church, to, eee x ohne 647 pe. Bartholomew's, Mieltinam 3110 St. James’, Meltham Mills ...... Sah IIOI St. Stephen’s, Rashcliffe ...:.....(In 2299 ee ass (In Lockwood) 4111 Bre ori. aces 1430 Emmanuel Church, Lockwood...(In Almondbury) 2331 DO haat yi sh Prod (In Lockwood) 3981

Christ Church, Linthwaite ...(In Lockwood and Linthwaite) 3985

St. Luke’s, Milnsbridge ...... (In Lockwood and Linthwaite) 4434 St. Bartholomew’s, Marsden......(In Almondbury) 2634 Do. (In Huddersfield) 607 St. James’, Slaithwaite ......... (In Huddersfield) 3007 Do. (Lingards, in Almondbury) 873

T Otel ee ge 56,689

Page 15

Lh be.

ais aie

Pg pour Jue FAW fo Pep Briel eT x Covey, ef. herve: 2 Dp LLG ick Btu ty ly Sacer “Cf 5 tte Veateck, Co-—yth he ELS EOS 40, 13-2, Lae

Page 16

a i lag 20h aby 5) xy Zo oye Zn Cpa oe Angap gins ey Be 7°? ory oooh M7292 2Y D200 ag” poy | fo ofp LOPE AT Et B27 2227227 iri ae GT Ve Sng ray Are A) Le ae?) peck py wey aby

/

|

Le 28°29 P74 fF B oe A Md 7

\ SAEED TEGO ply /

| |

Page 17

be lee pureed — oe sete LL oft Ss peg Mee. Lica of #1 toe ei?

6

eee ooo)

Met .—

Yt Hallet wid (4 Aare oat aCe Of Ha et oie Ox rs ia 7 Of forte We flar, teel

flo 7p ee Tate Ce an) oe ore es

£<Z aoe Ze often OC 7. 4 Wary Cz0 Zo Glee 2

ae Sechel EC LAL 7. ae Of OL a Ase cee Li ne

Cu cofeg ae ee —~

EL oe Ao ad. Pepe c Ce

<2 <e GY A Al as i een

ee

Cex

;

sn ay ie

a

Page 18

A Soh BiH te q

ee eS bof ee Te |

Page 19

— Pf GR.

frees Mi

_ Misery 7 47859.

Page 22

HOW

‘6Ler Hsluvd AwdNn

lv

0,04 ‘“4angs *M

Page 23

ANNALS

OF THE

PARISH OF ALMONDBURY.

be

PARISH CHURCH OF ALL SAINTS”.

PART IL—JANUARY, 1880.

HUDDERSFIELD:

DAILY CHRONICLE STEAM PRINTING Works, LORD STREET. 1880.

Page 25

TO

Sik JOHN WILLIAM RAMSDEN, BARONET,

LORD OF THE MANOR OF

ALMONDBURY WITH. “HUDDERSETELD,

PATRON AND LAY RECTOR OF THE

PARISH -CHURCH OF ALL’ SAINTS’;

THESE ANNALS OF THE SAME ARE RESPECTFULLY AND

GRATEFULLY PRESENTED BY

HIS FAITHFUL SERVANT,

Almondbury Vicarage,

January, 1880.

Page 27

ANNALS

OF THE +

CHURCH IN ALMONDBURY.

CHAPTER I.—INTRODUCTION.

Although the following Work is scarcely likely to enlist the interest and sympathies of many who are not familiar with the scenes which it describes, or the leading particulars of the facts which it relates; yet as “winged words” travel far in space, and linger long in time, it may be well to premise that ALMONDBURY Is the name of a large parish in the West Riding of Yorkshire, containing 13 townships and occupying a series of hills which are connected as a spur of the Pennine Range, which runs along the western side of England from Cumberland to North Wales; but not so precipitous as the mountains of either extremity of the lands of the Cymri, whither the ancient Britons retreated before the Romans and Saxons. But the romantic and picturesque character of the scenery has yielded in interest to the spirit of trade, which has filled its vallies with factories and smoke wreaths ; and its highest hill tops with hardy labourers, cultivating its elevated moorlands ; and who, whilst they plied the loom, devoted its gains to gathering around them the comforts and cares of a little homestead by inclosures which have been a useful resource during the intervals of trading depression. Hence a population of 45,000 was found in 1871 within the 13 townships which compose the ancient parish ; from Fenay Bridge on the east to Holme Moss and Pule Moor on the

Page 28

2 INTRODUCTION,

west; bounded by the river Colne on the north, and intersected by the Holme, also running from the same range eastward, till they meet at HUDDERSFIELD, the flourishing daughter of Almondbury. This once humble village of Huddersfield, favoured by its proximity to water, so prospered during the last century as to give its name popularly to the whole district ; containing, besides those two parishes, which run parallel for ten miles, the large ones of KIRKHEATON and KIRKBURTON, to the east and south of Almondbury; and forming altogether the Rural Deanery of Huddersfield; which contains 42 distinct parochial districts, of which 19 are in Almondbury, and all in the Wapontake of Upper Agbrigg, Archdeaconry of Craven, and Diocese of Ripon. The Manor of Almondbuty still includes a great part of the town and outskirts of Huddersfield; and its Court Leet is held in the ancient village, where the Chief Constable is still annually chosen ; but whose office has become almost nominal since Huddersfield became incorporated; and the Mayor, Aldermen and Town Councillors, with the Borough Magistrates, execute now the civil functions in a district forming THE Boroucu, which includes, besides Huddersfield proper and adjoining parts of that parish, the whole of the townships of Almondbury and Lockwood, or North Crosland, within the ancient parish of Almondbury; and Dalton in that of Kirkheaton, with a population in 1871 of 70,000 souls. No regular History of Huddersfield, Almondbury, or Kirk~ heaton, has yet been compiled; but the popular work of Mr, Charles P. Hobkirk, entitled “ Huddersfield: its History and Natural History ;” and the elaborate History oF MELTHAM, one of the townships of the parish of Almondbury, by the late Rev. Joseph Hughes, have conveyed much general information ; but the parish of Kirkburton has received ample justice, up to the time of its date, 1861, in the valuable quarto volume of Mr. Henry John F.S.A., entitled “The History and Topography of the Parish of Kirkburton and of the Graveship of Holme, including Holmfirth, in the county of York.” It is much to be desired that the respected Author should republish it with the additional churches which have been since erected. Mr. Morehouse has

Page 29

INTRODUCTION. 3

included many notices and extracts from the registers of Almond- bury, especially with regard to the common connection of the four Old Parish Churches with the Church of Dewsbury, to which they all pay annual sums of very ancient date. The town of Almondbury is situate on a hill at the eastern extremity of the parish and township ; which latter extends westward to the river Holme at the village of Berry Brow or Armitage Bridge, and the townships of Honley and South Crosland. The original approaches to the ancient market town or village of Almondbury were from the south and east; in which direction lies WAKEFIELD, the capital of the West Riding and future seat of the See of Wakefield. Hence the best view of the church and town generally is obtained from that side. The wise founders of the village choosing the sunny side, with its nearly plain summit, rising somewhat towards the north, and therefore shutting it out from the view of or from Huddersfield, and the northern blasts. But the situation is now more readily discerned with reference to Huddersfield, to which it bears the same relation in space with that of Bethany and the Mount of Olives to Jerusalem; the north side rising to the summit of Castle Hill, and overlooking the town rising on the south, from which it is separated by the confluence of the rivers Holme and Colne, as the sacred mounts are by the Brook Kedron. Our village is like that to which our blessed Lord loved to retreat, distant a Sabbath day’s journey from the centre of the modern town. We trust that He is present with us, and will be with those of His disciples, who, like the two who accompanied Him to Emmaus, while he was “ Opening to them the Scriptures,” will revisit scenes rendered sacred by many holy and tender associations. A journey which many joyfully take now that the ancient Parish Church has been restored, in a manner worthy of its claims as the Mother Church of the district ; a small Cathedral, having its 18 daughter churches and a service Cathedral like in its character. But before entering upon the history or description of ALL Saints’ CHuRcH, Almondbury, we must take a general survey of its site; the elevated hill and township, which gives name from

Page 30

4 INTRODUCTION. |

that circumstance to the whole parish. ALMOND is, we believe, derived from the Latin A/tus Mons, high mount; and Bury from burgh, a fortified place; which well describes the commanding situation of Castle Hill, as seen above most of the surrounding eminences, looking down on its own parochial boundaries—east, west, and south—for ten miles in length; and looking, in the direction of Huddersfield and Halifax, towards the north much further. In like manner we have, in the Author’s native county of Salop, HauGHMoND, overlooking the plain of Shrewsbury, and especially the scene of the battle in 1403, between Henry IV and Hotspur, Earl of Northumberland.* “We have also Almondsbury, in Gloucestershire ; and more remarkably Hatton (High Town), near Runcorn, in Cheshire, related to Almondbury by the fact that the Lacies, who were lords of Almondbury and Earls of Lincoln, were also Barons of Halton.* ‘The air is also pure and the summit rarely clouded. The words of Goldsmith, with reference to the good man, are appropriate to its aspect : “Tike some tall cliff, which rears its awful form, High o’er the vale and midway leaves the storm; Though clouds and tempests round its breast be spread, Eternal sunshine settles on its head.”

One of our oldest authorities, CAMDEN, in his Britannia, originally written in Latin in the reign of Queen Elizabeth, describes it thus :—“ Six miles from hence (that is from Halifax) and not far from the river Calder, neere unto Almondbury, a little town standing upon a high and steep hill, which hath no easy passage or even ground unto it but on one side, are seen the manifest tokens of a rampire, some ruine of walles and a castle, which was garded about with a triple strength of forts and

eee ee ee ee eee * The Author is also specially interested in this connection from Halton Gram- mar School, founded by Sir John Cheshyre, Knight, having been the scene of his father’s education, and his grandfather’s residence, a century ago. Their connections of the name of Cheshyre still survive there. And without making any claim to traceable descent from the noble house of Lacy, his own connec- tion by marriage with the Lacies, buried for many generations in Chichester Cathedral, has also enhanced the interest of these enquiries. For Halton Castle and the Lacy Earls, see Cheshire Antiquities, by Charles Hulbert (Senior), 1838,

Page 31

INTRODUCTION. | 5

bulwarks. Some will have this to be OLICANA, but the truth saith otherwise, and namely, that it is CAmMBopUNUM, which Ptolomee called amiss CAMULODUNUM; and Beda, a word divided, Campo- puNUM. ‘This is proved by the distance thereof, on the one side from Mancunium (Manchester), on the other from Calcaria (Tadcaster) ; according to which Antonine placeth it. Moreover, it seems to have flourished with very great honor when the English Saxons first began to rule. For the king’s town it was—and'had in it—a Cathedral Church, built by Paulinus, the Apostle of those parts, and the same dedicated to St. Alban; whence instead of Albonbury it is now called Almonbury.* But when Cadwall, the Briton, and Penda, the Mercian, made sharpe warre upon Edwin, the prince of these countries, it was set on fire by the enemy, as Bede writeth (the venerable Bede): which the very adust and burnt color, yet remaining upon the stone, doth testify. Yet, afterwards, there was a castle built in the same place, which King Stephen, as I have red, confirmed to Henry Lacy.” Modern investigation has deprived us of the honor of being the Olicana or Campo-dunum of the Romans; although the true site of the latter station would be within sight of Castle Hill, looking north- ward, but for the interposition of the hill called Round Ings, above Golcar (Guthlacscar). On the north side and at the foot of which hill is Slack, near the hamlet of Outlane, where so many Roman remains, coins, pottery, inscriptions, walls, hypocaust, and sepulchral stones have been found, and of late years described by the late John Kenworthy Walker, M.D., and other members of the Yorkshire Archzological Society, in its journal. Mr. Watson, the Author of the History of Halifax, pointed out Slack, on the elevated plain, or else Clayhouse, in the valley below, near North Dean, as the true site of Campo-dunum, agreeing with the distance from Manchester, about 18 miles. On the high ground in which direction some traces of the Roman road still

* Paulinus built a Church at Campodunum, where at that time was a Royal Vill, which afterwards the pagans by whom King Aeduini was slain, burnt together with the said Vill.—ede’s Works, by Rev. F, Stevenson,

Page 32

6 INTRODUCTION.

remain. The name of SCAMMONDEN, applied to the neighbouring township, seems to be a corruption of the Roman name.* It does not, however, follow that Almondbury hill was not a Roman station, since some Roman coins have been found there ; according to the Author of an Article in the Numismatical Chronicle, 1829,f confirmed to the Author by an old inhabitant, Richard Beaumont: who relates that at one time a man was allowed to get stone from the west end of the Castle Mound ; and is said to have found gold there, but was stopped from proceeding by the Lord of the Manor. Gold coins were also found at Thurstonland, not far from Castle Hill. The oldest authentic record is that of DomrEspay Book, in which is no mention of a church; but that is not remarkable, as none but the most eminent churches are mentioned there—Dews-

* This similarity is noticed by Dr. Walker, in his able article on Almondbury in the Feudal time, in the above Journal, vol. i, page 9g. ‘‘ The Local Etymo- logy supplies us with no inconsiderable addition to the arguments in favour of Slack, as Cambodunum; for not only does the position satisfy the meaning of the word, ‘a fortress on or near to a Crooked hill,’ as Mr. Watson and others have observed ; but the echo of the name itself may be still detected in the name of an adjoining township, Scammonden; which on early rolls of the Manor of Wakefield is, as the Deputy Steward, Mr. Lamb, has stated, found written SCAMODEN.”

+ The Rev. William Lund says that these remarkable Coins, which differ materially from all others of this class, were discovered at Almondbury, the Cambodunum of the Romans, and one of the first settlements in this part of the island. There were 16 or 18 in number, and along with them were 200 family coins ; a few of which were in good preservation—but the greater part worn smooth by circulation. Mr. Lund, in describing these, justly remarks that they cannot be later than the time of the Emperors ; an inference which must be allowed from the circumstance of their being found with Denarii of the Consulate Series. Another circumstance worthy of remark is, that the letters which occur on these coins, are found exactly like those on many of the Old Roman Denarii, particularly those of Antony and Augustus, and Augustus and Lepidus ; the ends terminating in dots. The coins, too, are convex and con- cave, like many of the Consular Denarii; and from this peculiarity alone, may be reasonably assigned to a period at least as early as that of the first Dictator,

Page 33

INTRODUCTION. 7

bury, alone of this district. That document, made in the reign of William the Conqueror, A.D. 1086, contains brief accounts of “ Almanberie,” Fereleia (Farnley), Hanleia (Honley), Meltham, and Croisland, in this parish; also, Odersfelt (Huddersfield), Bradleia (Bradley), Lillia (Lindley), Carneby (Quarmby), Guth- lacsarc (should be Guthlacscar, Golcar), Hopton and Dalton, and other surrounding townships, reference to which will be made in the course of this work. “In Almanberie” (using Bawdwine’s translation), ‘‘ Chetel* and Swein had four Carucates of Land to be taxed; and there may be four ploughs there. Leusin now has it of Ibert; and it is waste. Value, in the time of King Edward (the Confessor), Three Pounds. Wood and pasture, one mile long and one broad.” The Manor, thus conferred on Ilbert de Lacy, continued in his family many generations. His descendants became Earls of Lincoln and Lords of Halton in Cheshire. Ultimately Almond-

* From Biographical Notes of Yorkshire Tenants in Domesday Book, *“*CHETEL is a common name occurring frequently in many counties. This par- ticular one acquired Arkill’s Manor in Comeston in Craven, and was perhaps the same who had been deprived of Manors in Applewick, Holden, and other places. Chetel retained a Thane’s Manor in Hampton (where?) A Chetel was also Ilbert de Lacy’s tenant, at Bradley, and though not the proper owner of the place, he is probably the same person as the Chetel whose lands in Almondbury obtained.” Again, ‘‘Chetel was an English vassal of Ilbert de Laci, holding of him Bradley, near Huddersfield, apparently the two Manors there of Godwin and Dolfin, rated at £4 in the late reign. He is possibly the same Chetel who with Sweyn had held conjointly the Manor of Almondbury, and if his brother, was therefore a son of Alaric of Cawthorne. LeusIN (? Leopsine) was a vassal of Ilbert de Laci, holding the Manor of Almondbury, an important place on account of the burgh of Alemund on the hill, an earthwork said to have been utilised by the De Lacys. He was prob- ably an Englishman. Efward, of Almondbury, and Robert, his brother, who witness the Charter of Adam Fitz Sweyn, might have been his sons, the former being probably the Edward Fitz Lefwine, who with his sons Eleat and Henry, witnessed a Charter of Henry de Lacy to Henry, the Clerk of Blackburn (Hist. Whalley New Ed. ii, 307). In these familiar names some letters as f and s, u and n, are often mistaken.”—Alfred S, Ellis,

Page 34

8 INTRODUCTION.

bury formed part of the Duchy of Lancaster, and by attainder, in 1399, became vested in the crown. The Manor was sold by King Charles I, in 1627, to Sir John Ramsden, Bart., by whose descendant—Sir John William Ramsden, of Lower Longley Hall, in the Manor—it is now held. “King Stephen built a castle here, about 1130, upon Castle Hill; and it was confirmed to Henry de Lacie, the Lord of this Manor, in 1137.” Further particulars on all these points we hope to give in subsequent pages, but at present confine ourselves to the Ecclesiastical portion. Meanwhile the Author, having adopted Almondbury instead of “Proud Salopia”—hopes that his native readers will unite with him in applying his own early sentiments to their venerable Town ;

Hail Ancient Castle! when thy ponderous towers Held valourous souls and check’d invading powers, Thy stronger days the Cambrian fury broke, When warlike spirit slumbering heroes woke ; Though now by Time’s rude hand in ruins laid, Thy proudest fabric’s venerable shade ; Though milder times have calm’d domestic storms, And kindred feeling every Briton warms 5 Yet with triumphant joy thy tale I hear, Thy feudal feats and ancient pride revere ; And while within a Briton’s heart I hold, And in my bosom British precepts fold, The honoured history of my native town, I'll sacred keep and proudly call My Own. Shrewsbury Chronicle, 1821,

Page 35

CHAPTER II. THE CHURCH AND ITs’ HISTorY.

“To rescue from oblivion the memory of former incidents, and to render a just tribute and renown to many actions,” is the purpose avowed by the Father of History, Herodotus: and, in our small measure, we may avow the same. And first, at the risk of frequent repetition of what we have already advanced, we prefer to present our readers with an extract from a manuscript, entitled “A little History of Almondburie,” written or compiled by some native Topographer, of which several copies exist. With access to one of which the Author was favoured by George Armitage, Esq., J.P., in the hand writing of Joseph Walker, Esq., J.P., formerly of Lascelles Hall; and another in the Library of the Yorkshire Archzeological Society, copied from one owned by Mr. Thomas Hardy Senior, of Birksgate, by the late Mr. John Nowell, of Farnley Wood—all men useful and honourable in their generation. “'To say much of this place during the time of the Britons would be presumption, and who was the first founder is altogether uncertain. Whether by the Britons, Normans or Saxons. But, if Camden is to be depended upon, he says, It was a Royal Town, graced with a Cathedral Church, built by Paulinus and dedicated to St. Alban; and by degrees it changed its name to Almondbury. But whether he may be correct in this may be doubtful. But though it might not be a Cathedral, according to the present idea we have of Cathedral Churches, viz., the Mother Church of a Diocese, it is not certain that there was any other Church, even in the kingdom of Northumbria; as, if this was built by Paulinus, it was built before the first Church was built at York. “That Paulinus built a place of worship here, there is no doubt; and though there is no mention of the Church or building from 633 to 1080, that is not to be wondered at, seeing the town was sacked and burned by Cadwallader, King of Wales, and Penda, King of Mercia; after they had slain Edwin, the first Christian

Page 36

Io THE CHURCH AND ITS HISTORY.

King of those parts, and put his army to flight; and his two sons had apostatized. In all likelihood the remaining inhabitants followed the example of their princes for peace’s sake.” “There is also some further evidence of a City or Borough in the word Burgesses (and Burgages) found in many old writings, as well as the custom that prevails to this day, that such and such Burgesses are bound to certain repairs of the King’s Mill dam, and still do such repairs.” “The King (Edwin) had assumed the Monarchy, and his chief residence was at Derventia, now called Aldborough; six miles from York. ‘This Edwin was slain at Hatfield, near Doncaster ; and his Queen fled to her brother in Kent; and Paulinus also went with her, and there became Bishop of Rochester.” “This Paulinus, it appears, preached the Gospel at Dewsbury, whilst in these parts; by a Pillar or Obelisk, with a stone on one side, having this inscription— PAULINUS HIC PRADICAVIT ET CELEBRAVIT.* This pillar was standing, with its inscription, as late as 1775, and stood on a part of the ground, where was the house, called, ‘The Round About House,’ taken down by Mr. Charles Pollard, of Thornhill, when he built his house.” “Paulinus and his companions made progress in the conversion of the Northumbrians. His first sermon had such an effect that it made converts of both the King and his High Priest. And then Hilda, the King’s Niece, afterwards Abbess of Whitby, was baptized the same day. ‘This was in the year 623, April 2oth, and was Easter day. But, in 633, Edwin being slain (according to Bede) the King’s two sons, Anfred and Oswick, returned to idolatry, with most of their subjects: and the cruelty of the invaders almost rooted up Christianity in these parts. And so, most likely, our Church of Almondbury, or whatever it was called, as the town or city, suffered and went with the tide of the times to Paganism.” “But in the year 636, Oswald, the grandson of Edwin, ascended the throne; and becoming Christian, he changed the affairs in

* Paulinus preached and celebrated.”

Page 37

THE CHURCH AND ITS HISTORY. II

favour of the Church; but did not bring Paulinus back to his Metropolitical See again; for what reason is not known; but there seems not to have been any or much revival of religion at this place as there was no regular Church or Parish for upwards of 400 years. Nay! there seems to have been no Archbishop of York for 110 years; viz., till 744, when Egbert was Bishop of York and his brother procured the Pall and Archiepiscopal dignity, when this See became on a level with Canterbury, but not without a struggle.” The writer continues, “Some may say the Author has been more particular in this digression than was needful; but as he, Paulinus, was the Apostle of these parts, particularly of Almond- bury, he was desirous to shew as far as he could his history, but he can nowhere find an account of his death, or where he ended

his days: but it seems he was not in favor with Oswald, grandson to Edwin.”

King Stephen built a Castle here about the year 1130, upon Castle Hill, and which was surrounded by a treble fortifica- tion, and was confirmed to Henry de Lacie, the Lord of the Manor. In the year 1137, this Castle was examined by a Jury sworn; wherein was found a dungeon or prison, in which the greatest cruelties had been committed, as appeared from the following Report or Inquisition : “ The Jurors say that a certain stranger in disguise was slain at the Castle of Almondbury: his body having become worried, as if from the attacks of worms—birds and dogs—and they further say that he might be killed elsewhere and afterwards carried there.”* In 1272 King Edward the first granted to Henry Lacy the ptivilege of a Market to be holden at Almondbury on the Monday in every week ;, but when it was discontinued is not known.+

* Quo quidam Extraneus in persona quandam Castri de Almondbury habere corpus, quasi devoratum vermibus, avibus et canibus, dicunt quod alibi occisus est, et ibidem postea positum et projectum. # Probably when, as below, a Market was granted to Huddersfield. The Report of the Deputy Keeper of the Records of the Duchy of Lancaster gives the Charter to Henry De Lacy, Earl of Lincoln, for Markets at his Manors of Pontefract, Bradford, Campsall, Slaidburn and Almondbury, in Yorkshire, &c., dated Westminster, 1294, 6th June.

Page 38

THE CHURCH AND ITS HISTORY.

King James I built and endowed a Free Grammar School in this place in 1609; and laid to it lands and tenements of, in 1800, 470 per annum ”—the copyist in 1826 estimates them at £170. The Head Master to be a Graduate and to have taken his B.A. degree.* “But the Rectory was settled on Rotherham College in the year 1485, by the founder, Archbishop Rotherham ”—more of which hereafter. “The Demesne Lands in Almondbury were but little at the time of the Grant, principally the Castle Hill, Park and Parkwood ; the Ramsdens having a very considerable part of the Freehold and Copyhold Lands already in possession. John Ramsden obtained a Patent for a Market at Huddersfield, November rst, 21 Charles 2nd.” “ After the departure of Paulinus it is probable that Almondbury remained as a part of the Great Parish of Dewsbury until the Manor came into possession of the Lacies. But by whom the first Church was built, the Author is not aware, or at what time with any degree of certainty. But Ilbert de Lacy was possessed of the Manor in 1090; and Alice de Lacy and Henry Lacy—FEarl of Lincoln—her son, presented to the Rectory in 1187. As there was no Church at the first date mentioned and there is one at the latter. John Lacie presented to the Rectory in 1263; and again in 1264. In 1464 the Vicarage was endowed and most probably had come to the crown; for about that time or soon after the Rectory was settled on Rotherham College; and most probably by Henry VII,; the first great friend and patron of Archbishop Rotherham.” “At the Dissolution of the Religious Houses, the Rectory reverted back to the Crown again, and continued so till the rst or 2nd of

* In a later page it will appear that the original School House was built by Arthur and John Kaye, Esquires, from the materials of St. Helen’s Chapel, built by their ancestors; and removed, with the consent of the Parish, sometime after the Church was enlarged in 1522. + He held the patronage as Duke of Lancaster. Lawton’s Collections, The MS. reads 1364, but Henry VII reigned frem 1485 to 1509,

Page 39

THE CHURCH AND ITS HISTORY. 13

Philip and Mary; when the advowson of the Vicarage and the Tithes of Almondbury were granted to the Masters for the use of Clithero School, but the land was sold by Sir Edward Warner, knight, Silvester Leigh and Leonard Bates, gentlemen, Commis- sioners appointed by letters patent by King Edward VI for that purpose, to William Fenay.” “Some remains of the old Church are still to be seen in the walls of both the North and South sides of the chancel, and which was most probably built by the Lacies, Tyases and Beaumonts, and their tenants, about the year 1100. The present Church was finished in 1522. ‘There is a Chantry or Choir in the North end, belonging to the Earl of Dartmouth, and one other on the South side belonging to R. H. Beaumont, Esq., of Whitley Hall, in right of his house called Crosland Hall.”* “The Vicarage House is a stone building, near the West end of the Church, rebuilt principally by subscription in 1774, on the same place where the old Vicarage stood.” The MS. adds, Fhe Church is dedicated to St. Alban.+ The Vicarage valued in the King’s Books at £20 7s, 11d. a year; and formerly was part of the Parish of Dewsbury, and a Pension of 42 6s. 8d. is still paid to the Vicar. Tenths, £42 1s. 3d., to Queen Anne’s Bounty. Synodals, 4s. Procurations, 7s. 6d.{

* There was no doubt also a residence of the Beaumont family in the Town- ship of Almondbury, at ‘‘ Hall Bower,” near Newsome, on the north side of Castle Hill. A payment of Quit Rent, 15s. 1od., is made Annually by Sir J. W. Ramsden to Mr. Beaumont, which is supposed to relate to this property. + There is no evidence or ground for this supposition. t These Synodals and Procurations have been hitherto customarily paid by the Churchwardens, but have been surrendered to the Vicar. But 12s. 6d. now claimed by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners as a Pension due to the Bishop of Ripon. ‘‘The value of the living (Rectory) according to Cornelius’ Taxation, was in 1292, £40 per annum. The Vicarage was first established in 1485, and in 1488 there was a New Endowment and the Vicarage passed into the hands of the Governors of Rotherham College. After this period (Edward VI reign) the College was broken up and the Endowment or Glebe Lands sold to William Fenay.” Col, Thomas Brooke’s Speech, 1867, to Yorkshire Archzeo- logical Society,

Page 40

I4 THE CHURCH AND ITS HISTORY.

The Vicarage was endowed in the year 1488, with the small Tithes. The Endowment Deed by Archbishop Rotherham still exists at York, in the Registry of the Consistory Court. The copy in the original Latin of the Instrument in the Register Book of the Archbishop, was translated, duly compared and examined by William Hudson, Esq., Notary Public, and printed at the expense of the late Rev. David James, at Liverpool, in 1847. The Author of this work has a copy of the original, in the handwriting of the late John Kenworthy Walker, Esq., M.D., of Huddersfield, and afterwards of Deanhead; and which will be appended to this work: with a List of Rectors and Vicars, as far as can be ascertained.

Page 41

CHAPTER III.

ALMONDBURY CHURCH.—DESCRIPTION OF THE EXTERIOR.

**Templa Dei Saxo venerabar structa

The ancient Town or Village of Almondbury consists of two long Streets, or in ancient language “Gates.” NorTHGATE, com- mencing from the top of the Bank leading towards Huddersfield, called ‘“‘ Townend,” and reaching to the corner where it meets at right angles WESTGATE, part of which is sometimes called Kirkgate, and “Zop of Town” the rest. At this angle also the road diverges southward and eastward: the former by a steep descent called Sz, Gate, passing St. Helen’s Well on the left hand; and on the right below, a field still called Chapel Yard, the site of the ancient Chapel of that name, towards the Grammar School and Woodsome Hall. /enay Lane diverges towards the east, passing by the newly-erected Boarp on the left, and on the right the entrances to Fenay Hall and Farm, till it reaches Fenay Bridge, the extremity, in that direction, of the Township and great Parish of Almondbury. The several Villas, approached in the rear by Thorp Lane, diverging from Northgate, are seen to great advantage from this road. Thorp Villa, Rose Villa, Fenay Lodge, Thorp House, and Finthorp House, are beautiful residences, representing the position of Almondbury, a generation or two ago, as the Hampstead of Huddersfield. The little Hamlets or Folds of Zorp and Quarry Hill have now a Reading Room—and near are South Field House, The Oaks, and Mr, Pontey’s Nursery. All interesting and sweetly situated ; looking towards Woodsome, with its umbrageous Woods, High- burton, Lepton, with its new Church Spire, Kirkheaton, with its Parish Church, Rectory and School; and rising above all, Whitley Beaumont, with its Woody Avenues, the residence of that ancient family since the conquest. Some account of all which residences is reserved for the Second part of this work. Westgate contains Wormall’s Hall, the two Wesleyan Chapels, and the Manor House.

Page 42

16 EXTERIOR OF THE CHURCH.

At the intersection of Northgate with Westgate stands THRE CHURCH Considerably elevated and based on a rock, duly placed with the Chancel end towards the east; where the Churchyard is bounded by Northgate. The Old Churchyard is chiefly a parallelogram on the south side, and a narrow portion at the east and west ends. The north side is extensive, but chiefly of more modern Consecra- tion: and the whole has been closed by Act of Parliament (although by no means full), except for interment in old graves and vaults, since the opening of the CEMETERY in 1860. A compen- sation was granted to the Vicar for this surrender of rights, payable by the Burial Board, who are also charged with the repair of the Boundary Walls of the Churchyard ; which were renewed, and the railing, originally erected by the late Miss Mary Ann Armitage, of Honley, was repaired at their expense in 1874. New south gates were presented in 1877 by Joseph Dyson, Esq., of Sheffield, ‘but a native of the village, and the pillars redressed, on occasion of the Church Restoration then completed. When also many of the working men occupied themselves willingly in weeding, cleansing and planting the south Churchyard—a work still required for the northern side. Two ancient Stones, inscribed I.W. B.B. I.N. 16— stand in front of the porch, having been part of the ancient stocks. Half-way up Westgate is Sharp Lane, turning to the south, and opposite to the Gates of the Road leading to the Cemetery and adjoining the Wesleyan Chapel and School. Sharp Lane leads to Eldon House, Mr. C. W. F. Taylor, and Northfield House, Mr. J. E. Taylor, and their Shawl Manufactory: thence in divergent lines to three roadsteads, one to Royd House and Farnley Tyas; a second to Rushfield House, otherwise Arkenley, belonging to Mrs. Nowell, and Birks Mill, Messrs. Taylor; a third to Croft House, Mrs. James Parkin, and Lumb, a farm occupied for centuries by respectable yeomen, of that name; one of whom, Mr. Edward Parkin, has been Churchwarden for several years. St. Helen’s House and Mill, Mr. Joseph Hirst; and the Grammar School, with the house erected by the late Master, now belonging to Mr.

Page 43

6 SHIELDS AS CARVED ON CORBELS

CROSLAND ? KAYE RAMSDEN bp WENTWORTH NeEViLLe

GROTESUEHEADS CARVED ON CORBELS.

Page 44

oP

SR RL. Fae ee

oy a 4 » _ anew:

ot os

2

‘y ah

Tet Js Re RD

f i Yd 4 * =

i @ :

- ea Sy »

Page 45

EXTERIOR OF THE CHURCH. 17

Edward Hallas, the other Churchwarden. All command views of what was once Almondbury Common, of Farnley Wood and Church, Lepton Church, the back of Castle Hill, Fenay Hall—a most lovely neighbourhood—with a secluded valley, which has been compared by some to the Vale of Tempe. Above and amidst all these objects, but in the centre of a quaint old Village, is therefore situated the CuuRcH oF ALL SaInTs, or All Hallows, as in some ancient writings. The EXTERIOR appeat- ance of the edifice has been much improved, by what is believed to be little more than a recent RESTORATION of its original _ grandeur. It consists of a lofty and massive square ToweEr, 70 feet 8 inches high to the centre of the battlements ; width of tower, south and north sides, 7 feet 8 inches; of the west, 10 feet 8 inches ; besides the buttresses at each corner, 3 feet wide. Sur- mounted by four battlements on each side, fenced by buttresses of five heights, each topped with a Gurgoyle in the form of a griffin.* The Battlements at each corner are crowned with foliated pin- nacles. There are three large Campanile Windows in the Bell Chamber above the Clock; which has faces towards the south and east; and also an internal one, over the arch of the Tower, for the benefit of the minister and congregation. There had been a for many years before; but an inscription on the Clock frame records that the present Clock was erected October, It cost £250. pe There were formerly Chimes, but they have become useless since the above erection; and could not be revived at the late general Restoration, 1873-77, although a special subscription was raised for the purpose; but the clock strikes the quarters. The Body of the Church consists. of a lofty Nave, with a Clerestory, containing five square three-light Windows on each

* Gurgoyle is probably a contraction of Gurgle-hoyle, having been originally spout, out of which the water from the lead roof gzgled.—C. A. H.

+ Lewis Jones, Vicar; Richard Varley, first Churchwarden for the Township of Lingards; ~Thomas Marshall,, Almondbury ; .George Needham, Lockwood ; David Lodge, Farnley Bank.” October, 1823.

Page 46

18 EXTERIOR OF THE CHURCH.

side. A handsome embattled parapet has been restored outside, with lead gutters; and the two side Aisles, rising to the Clerestory, have large Windows in the perpendicular style, each in three compartments; but the southern are higher and more ornate than those in the north. CHAPELS on the north and south sides of the ancient CHANCEL or original Church, and continuing the side aisles, have now been carried nearly its whole length. They are all battlemented and adorned with pinnacles and ancient grotesque, and some recently well executed heads, over the Windows, repre- senting Saints; and Gurgoyles with hideous Griffins, supposed to be Evil Spirits. There is a Royal Head at the Apex of the east end. Ornamental Crosses surmount the ends of the Nave and Chancel; between which, before the Restoration, there was a small provision for the Sanctus Bell, which unfortunately was lost by the builder. The old SunpraL has been replaced over the door of the South Chapel; and bears the inscription “ Ut Hora sic Vita, 1682.” * The tower contains eight Bells; two of which have been recently added by the zeal of the Ringers and others, who raised a special subscription in 1873 for the purpose. They are all beautiful in tone—and often fulfil the description of the

Poet Moore: ‘Those Evening Bells, those Evening Bells, How many a tale their music tells, Of youth and home and that sweet time, When last I heard your soothing chime.” +

* As the hour so life flies.

+ On an elegant Scroll is written in letters of black and gold. ‘‘ This Tablet records the names of a Committee of Working Men, who by public Subscription, placed the Two new Tenor Bells in this Tower, A.D. 1873. John Buckley, President, Richard Beaumont, Treasurer, Richard Griffiths, Honorary Secretary, J. J. H. Taylor, Sam Moss, Joah Moorhouse, George Lodge, William Lodge, Robert Brook, Matthew Mellor, Allen Berry, T. H. H. Sykes, William Brook, Thomas Calvert, James Midgley, Allen Wormersley, Allen Hirst, and Joseph Brook, Tower Keeper—(The Tablet was) presented by R. Garner, J. H. Moorhouse, R. Walker, and B. J. Garner, 1877. Charles Augustus Hulbert, M.A., Vicar, Hon. Canon of Ripon; Edward Hallas, Charles Cooper, Edward Parkin, Churchwardens.

Page 47

EXTERIOR OF THE CHURCH. 19

The ringing Chamber has been neatly fitted up with seats all round. The pitch of the Peal is E.E. The following are the Bells :— I & IJ.—Without inscription, Treble, date 1873. III.—Soli Deo Gloria (Glory to God alone), William Wood, 1718. Maker’s Stamp, S.S. (Samuel Smith, York.) IV.—Laudate Dominum Cymbalis Sonoris (Praise ye the Lord with the loud Cymbal), James Haigh, 1716. S.S. V.—Te Deum Laudamus (We praise Thee, O Lord), 1716. W.W. J. K. Different in mould. VI.—Venite Exultemus Domino (Come let us sing to the Lord), 1680. W.N., J. L., Ca. WaRDENS. VII.—tuint Sei Petvi (of this St. Peter). Very ancient, said to have come from France. VIII.—Tenor. Gloria in Excelsis Deo (Glory to God in the highest). F. H., M. N., CH. WARDENS. 1675. The Parish Accounts verify the dates of III, IV, and V; and the initials as those of the Churchwardens and the Maker. The Old was much lower than the present one, and of plain construction. It had Ancient Rafters with shields nearly effaced, and small rudely hewn Windows on each side; some portions of which are preserved in the Vicarage Garden. The present lofty and elegant PorcH was designed by the Architect of the Restoration, Mr. William Henry Crossland. It is surmounted by a graceful Cross; and over the Outer Arch the figure of an Angel with a Scarf, on which has been inscribed, in the orthography and old English character of Zyndale’s New Testament, 1552, in the possession of the Vicar.—Rev. xiv, 6. Ghe Gvrerlatiynge Gotpell. On the front of the Porch are also Shields, containing on the right, the arms of Kaye quartered with Finchenden, and on the left those of Ramsden. The inner Arch or doorway is of great antiquity, doubtless part of the original Church, in the early English style; heads on each side much defaced. On the right hand, going in, is the recess or receptacle for holy water still preserved.

Page 48

20 EXTERIOR OF THE CHURCH.

It was remarked that the ornamental portions of the exterior are little more than restorations. There is a tradition that the Church was originally covered with lead (and there were found indications of gutters and battlements); that the false economy of the Churchwardens, more than two centuries ago, led them to sell the lead to a builder who contracted to supply the plain stone slate roof, which existed until 1873; and that the Contractor cleared a large sum by the bargain. It is probable that at that time the flat ceiling over the Chancel was introduced, which has recently been removed, and the embowed roof” of oak been substituted by the Patron and chief Lay Impropriator, Sir John William Ramsden, Bart. No memorandum or account of the barbarous Spoliation is preserved in the Parish Books, which extend back to 1692, or the Registers which commence in 1557. On the south wall of the Porch inside is a grey and white Marble Tablet, engraven and presented by Messrs. Richard and Benj. J. Garner, recording the date of the Re-opening of the Nave, and the effect of the Faculty. ‘* All the Sittings in the Nave, Tower, and Side Aisles in this Church, are to be free and unappropriated for ever. Charles Augustus Hulbert, M.A., Vicar.

Edward Hallas and Charles Cooper, Churchwardens.” March 25th, 1874.

Page 49

CHAPTER IV. INTERIOR OF THE CHURCH. ‘*Volvens Veterum monumenta

The best view of the Interior of the Church is obtained by entering at the West Door, under the Tower. You descend two steps to the floor; which is covered, throughout the Church, with Encaustic Tiles, of Minton and Hollins’ manufacture. It slopes about 18 inches in 61 feet, the length of the Nave to the base of the steps on which the Rood Skreen is placed; the width 49 feet 6 inches, including the Side Aisles (12 feet each). The Tower 16 feet 6 inches by 12 feet 6 inches, and the Chancel 48 feet 6 inches by 21 feet, and the Side Chapels, each 41 feet by 12 feet. The total length about 110 feet. Here we have a plain but lofty and impressive Arcade, on either side of five arches ; separating the Nave from the North and South Aisles ; and the Chancel with its Side Chapels, terminated by the east wall, with its three beautiful Windows, and having very much of a Cathedral appearance, especially when filled with its Surpliced Choir. The Clerestory and elaborate flat roof, “of which we cannot now speak particularly,’ and the Organ in the Beaumont Chapel, all bring to our recollection the lines of our great Puritan Poet, in his ‘‘ Il Penseroso ;” doubtless conceived in his younger days at Cambridge :— ‘‘But let my due feet never fail To walk the studious Cloyster’s pale ; And love the high-embowed roof, With Antick pillars massy proof, And storied windows richly dight, Casting a dim, religious light : There let the pealing organ blow, To the full-voiced quire below, In service high, and anthems clear, As may with sweetness through mine ear, Dissolve me into extasies, And bring all heaven before mine eyes.” —MILTON.

Page 50

22 INTERIOR OF THE CHURCH.

Descending to particulars, the first object which claims our notice in the which is open to the ceiling under the Bell and Clock Chamber, is the Font, which is in the form of an Octagon Cup, with plinth and base, all of the plainest masonry, but surmounted by a Canopy of elaborate oak workmanship, of great height, with four degrees of gothic arches and pinnacles, terminated in a carved finial. On the base is a brass- plate, inscribed “ To the glory of God and in Memory of Catherine Anne, daughter of the Reverend Lewis Jones, this Font and Canopy are restored by her sister Mary, A.D. 1874.” Mrs. Brook, the widow of Charles John Brook, Esq., of Harewood House, Meltham, has also contributed three Kneeling Cushions for the Minister and Sponsors, beautifully worked by herself and daughters. On the right hand of the Tower is the entrance to the Bell Chamber, by a winding stone staircase. The Tower is now used as a Baptistry; and contains two ancient Oak Chests, “iron clasped and iron bound,” containing Documents of the Church, Tithe Apportionment Deeds, Old Registers, Standard Weights and Measures, &c. The Great West WINDow, representing our Lord as the Good Shepherd, with five Apostles, and some of their Sheep, is in glowing colours, as representing the bright sky of the Holy Land,—with angelic figures above, ‘“ with harps to praise withal ;” was procured from Antwerp by Mr. R. Garner, and presented by John Fligg Brigg, Esq., Alderman of Huddersfield, formerly resident at Fenay Lodge, and Churchwarden of Almondbury ; In Memory of his mother, and of his brother, who fell in the late American Civil War; to whom there is also a handsome Monument in the Cemetery. Old Paintings of Moses and Aaron, have recently been restored by the late Mr. George Calvert, Poet and Painter, and long an attendant at the Church; they are suspended on the north and south internal wall of the Tower. Benefaction Boards are also in process of Restoration and enlargement. At present also, the Tables of Creed, Lord’s Prayer, Ten Commandments, with additional and appropriate texts, Psalm cxix, 4, 5, and 6, are

Page 51

INTERIOR OF THE CHURCH. 23

affixed to the walls of the Baptistry. These Tables were inserted in the Rood Skreen, when it was removed in 1840, from its original and present position, to form a Reredos, at the east end of the Chancel—a want as yet unsupplied, and very manifest, now that the Skreen has been taken back to its former position, during the munificent restoration of the Chancel by the Patron, Sir John William Ramsden, Bart., in 1874-77. The Royal Arms are replaced over the Chancel Arch in the Nave. The date of which is difficult to ascertain as, while they bear the initials C.R., they emblazon the Arms of England, Scotland, France, Ireland, and Hanover. All the old Stalls and modern Galleries having been removed, their place has been supplied, on the ground floor above, by new solid Oak Seats, with carved ends; 16 rows on each side of the Middle Aisle, and an equal number in the North and Side Aisles, ‘all free and unappropriated.” With which express object the late Joseph Hirst, Esq., of Wilshaw, gave £250, as well as furnishing the Pews with Mats and Cushions, on condition of the Committee supplying Kneeling Hassocks and Books, which was done at the first opening in 1874. He also gave £100 towards the Side Chapels, as he kindly expressed it, “out of personal respect to the Vicar, as he did not customarily do anything for Chancels.” The accommodation is increased rather than reduced by the new arrangements, amounting to about 824 sittings—or with additional. forms in the Aisles and Chancel about 1,000, These arrangements were confirmed by the Faculty, under which the late Restoration was completed, bearing date September 12th, 1872. The Galleries, which had been added at successive periods, on three sides of the Church, north, west, and south, were incon- veniently low, darkened the Church generally, and cut off the sight of the Clergyman from many points. One ancient seat (that connected with Fenay Hall), in the south-east corner of the South Aisle, next the Skreen, has been retained and restored at the request of Thomas Lancelot Reed, Esquire, of Crow Hall, Norfolk, Trustee of the Estate of the late Benjamin North Rockley Batty, Esq. It bears an inscription in gilt letters, along the top; corres-

Page 52

24 INTERIOR OF THE CHURCH.

ponding in style with the mottoes around the Dining Hall at Fenay : ADAUGE . MIHI. FIDEM. DOMINE; ET. INCLINA. COR. MEUM. IN . TESTIMONIA . TUA.* And on the Pew End next the Aisle, ANO SALVTIS NOSTRE 1605, N.F. The family Vault is beneath the Pew. A Marble Monument to Mrs. R. N. Batty has been removed from the Chancel to the adjoining wall, and an additional one placed under it by Mr. Reed to the late B. N. R. Batty, Esq., and his two wives. Due notice having been given to all parties intended in the Faculty, all private rights in the Galleries or body of the Church, were tacitly, and in some cases cheerfully, surrendered; and subscriptions, which had been paid instead of Pew Rents, towards the expenses of Divine Worship, were exchanged for the Weekly Offertory, except in the cases of the Earl of Dartmouth and Sir John William Ramsden, who have continued their subscriptions. The Central in the South Aisle is a beautiful MEMORIAL representing “The Good Samaritan,” in three compartments, and rich colours; executed by Messrs. Ward and Hughes, of London, with the Arms of Armitage, of Highroyd and Milnsbridge, Taylor, of Blackley, and Dowker, of North Dalton—Inscribed “To the Glory of God andin Memory of George Armitage, J.P. and D.L., A.D., 1878”—with an explanatory brass plate below.+ In front

* Increase my faith, O Lord, and incline my heart to Thy testimonies,— LUKE xvii, 5, and PSALM cxix, 36.

+ ‘The above Window is placed in Memory of George Armitage, J.P. and D.L., of Milnsbridge House, Died February 19th, 1878, aged 71, by his Widow and their five surviving children; Joseph Armitage Armitage, J.P., George Dowker Armitage, Clerk in Holy Orders, Caroline Jane, wife of James Hope, Clerk in Holy Orders, Gertrude, wife of George Buchanan, Esq., and Frances Vernon Armitage. In the Family Vault beneath, repose their Ancestors recorded on two Mural Tablets in the Chancel of this Church, A.D. 1878.”

Mr. Armitage was Grandson of Joseph Taylor, Esq., and Mrs. Armitage was Daughter of John Dowker, Esq.—C. A. H.

Page 53

INTERIOR OF THE CHURCH. 25

of the Rood Skreen are, on the north side, the New Oak Gothic READING DEsK, presented by Major and Mrs. Graham, of Longley Hall, on the occasion of the baptism of their daughter, December 28th, 1876; and on the south is the MEmoriaL Pu to the Rey. Lewis Jones. It is of the Octagon form ; the base and plinth of fine stone; the body is of Oak, exquisitely carved by Mr. Joseph Shaw, of Huddersfield; containing five Gothic Arches, surmounted by finials, with figures in a/¢o relievo of Moses, Elijah, our Saviour, St. John the Evangelist, and St. Paul; by Mr. Forsyth, of London. Above which is carved on a line running round “Blessed are they who hear the Word of God and keep it,” and below, “I believe in the Communion of Saints.” On the plinth beneath are corresponding emblems, the Tables of Stone, the Chariot of Fire, the Cross, the Eagle, and the Sword, and an inscription, “This Pulpit is raised to the Glory of God, in Memory of Lewis Jones, Vicar, by his four children, in 1877.” In the centre of the Middle Aisle is placed the elegant brass LECTERN, representing an Eagle with outstretched wings, bearing a tablet for the Holy Bible; and supported by a brazen pillar, adorned with Agates. The gift of Richard Beaumont Taylor, Esq., of North- field House, Almondbury, November, 1876. The CerLinc of the Nave, which is 35 feet high, is of Painted Oak, horizontal, but divided into 40 large and 60 smaller square compartments. The larger by the ornamental roof beams, and the smaller by wooden divisions. All adorned at their crossings with carved bosses. The chief intersections with painted emblems, illustrating the Poem, in Old English words and gilt raised Oak Characters, which runs all round the top of the Church above the Clerestory Windows, and each end of the Nave. The emblems represent the Cross, J H S,a hand holding a Roll, the Holy Face, the Ladder, Spear and Nails, the Sun, Moon, Seven Stars, and other antique devices. An inscription in similar characters (Old English) has been sometime disordered in arrangement. It is partly at each end of the Nave to this effect :— Geferay Doyston was the Maker of this. Anno Domini mcccccxxIL

Page 54

26 INTERIOR OF THE CHURCH. THE INSCRIBED POEM.*

WEsT SIDE. thow : man : unkynd : have : in : thy : mynd : my : blody : face : my : wondys : wyde : on : every : syde: for : thy : trespas : NoRTH. thou : synner : hard : turn : heder : ward : behold : thy : savyor : fre : unkynd : thow : art : from : me : to : de:pt : (depart) t : (though) mercy : i : wold : grat : ye : (grant thee) for : love : of : the : the jwyss : (Jews) smeard : me : wt : (with) schourgeous : kyne : and : scharp : wt :a:crwn : of : thorn : my: hed ;: all: to: torn: wyth : a :speyr : they : therlyd : my : hart : with : naylis : tre : they : naylyd : me: fast : both foyt : and : hand : for : thy : trespas : my : pasyo : (passion) was : to : rede : the : from : the fende : (fiend) EAST. — penne : canott : wrytt : nor : ma : (man’s) rayson : indytt : paynes : that : I : had : so : thoro : mad : my : body : bloo : wt : wonds : both large : and : long : SouTH. thow : doys : (dost) me : mor : dere : (hurt) when : thou : doth : swer : be : mebere : (member) of : my : body : then : the : Jwiss : (Jews) dyd : that : speyld : my : blod : on : the : mont : of : Cavere : (Calvary) quarfor : (wherefore) pray : the : thy : sweryng : lay : by : dred : God : aftersyn : (hereafter) if : thou : wyll : do : so ; to : hevyn : salt : thow : go: amang : angels : to : syng. At a Meeting of the British Archzeological Association held at Sheffield, August, 1873, after a visit to Almondbury, Mr. W. De Grey Birch observed: That “On comparing Poems by John Skelton, Rector of Diss., Norfolk, and Poet Laureate to Henry VIII, who, having contracted marriage, was suspended by the Bishop of Norwich, and forced to seek the protection of Abbot Islip, ot Westminster, the first was strikingly similar in tone and phraseology to some lines inscribed in Old English around the

* This is given as read by the Rev. Herbert Armitage James, M.A., Fellow of St. John’s College, Oxford, August, 1877.

Page 55

INTERIOR OF THE CHURCH. 27

Nave of Almondbury Church. Both these lines and Skelton’s are in the form of an exhortation by Christ from the Cross; and Mr. Birch thought Skelton may have written both. But Geferay Doyston evidently claims to have been “the Maker,” and we are not so rich in Yorkshire Poets as willingly to resign him. The date is remarkable, as being just previous to the Reformation, indicative of sound doctrine even at that time in this Church. On the North wall, and under the rafters, are oak Corbels, containing the shields of Crosland (Cross), Wodde (three fleurs-de-lis on a bend), one with Fess defaced. Kaye (two bends), one with Chevron defaced, probably Ramsden, and four others entirely defaced in putting up the old galleries) The South wall has also oak Corbels; on which are carved grotesque male heads of Patriarchs, Prophets and Saints: some crowned or hooded. The Nave is separated from the Chancel and two enlarged side Chapels, by the ancient and beautiful Oak Skreens, inserted under the great central and two lesser Arches. The central one, 29 feet 6 inches wide; 8 feet 8 inches high; has been restored at the expense of £100 by Sir J. W. Ramsden : the North Skreen, ro feet wide and the same height, between the Nave and Kaye Chapel, by the Earl of Dartmouth, at the cost of about £40; and the South Skreen, to the Beaumont Chapel, by the Building Committee with the aid of a donation of £25 from Wentworth Blackett Beaumont, Esq., M.P., of Bretton Park. The restoring Artist in each case was Mr. Joseph Shaw, of Huddersfield. In a window of the North Aisle was once the figure of a Man in Armour, with a Spear in his hand, and by him an escutcheon with a fess, between six crosslets sable ; probably (says Whitaker) a Crossland. Near this Window was found a convex arched recess, which might have held a statue ; but was probably partly to receive a flight of stairs to the rood loft, where before the alterations in 1840, there was a large Pew or Gallery of the Woodsome family, with a handsome Oak Staircase; all of which were removed and provision made in the Kaye Chapel, by large square pews: removed again 1876, when the present substantial Oak Seats were

Page 56

28 INTERIOR OF THE. CHURCH.

inserted by the noble owner; and are occupied by his Lordship and family when in residence at Woodsome Hall. THE CHANCEL OR MIDDLE QUIRE. This is the most ancient part of the Church ; being the original edifice erected, it is believed about A.D. 1150, by Ilbert de Lacy, of that date, who built Pontefract Castle and Kirkstall Abbey. It was a plain oblong building, pierced on the North and South sides by six tall double lancet windows ; two of which remain adjoining the Communion inclosure. The walls were of rude stone and rubble ; and had, at the late Restoration, become dangerously out of perpendicular. Two Chapels had, at different times, been added; and Arches substituted for portions of the walls. The North or Kaye Chapel was a continuation of the North Aisle, separated by a Skreen—and opening into the Middle Quire by a wide, almost circular Arch; which bears the shield of Kaye. It had two windows, looking north and east. The latter had a window recently restored, having the shields of Kaye, Kaye quartered with Fincheden, and Kaye impaled with Lacy; which have been replaced. One of the original Lancet windows was also within the Chapel; but stopped up by the great Marble Monu- ment to Sir Arthur Kaye and Lady Kaye; and their heiress, who became successively Lady Lewisham and Lady North and Guild- ford ; which is now placed against the wall. There was also a tattered leather escutcheon of Lord North and Guildford, of which a copy has been preserved. The monument to Mrs. R. R. Batty was on the south side, but is removed to the Nave. The other south or Beaumont Chapel, had two Arches of a more modern character, with capitals bearing roses and fleurs-de- lis. It had been partly appropriated as a Vestry; and the brass plate containing the Latin Inscription to the Memory of Robert Nettleton, Esq., was laid altar wise on a Table: with an English translation made by the late Mr. Nowell. Both of which plates have been placed on the south wall of the Chapel; which is now partly occupied by the Organ, by permission of Henry Frederick Beaumont, Esq., of Whitley, the owner. In 1876 it was deemed advisable to take down on each side a considerable part of the

Page 57

INTERIOR OF THE CHURCH. 29

old walls; and insert Arches, correspondent in style to the others on the same side, which was done by the Restoration Committee: at the same time extending the Chapels eastward; so as to increase the Church accommodation, and afford opportunity for inserting Monuments. The stone frame work of the suppressed double Lancet Window was used and imitated to receive the inscriptions in double columns, on white marble, to the Rev. Walter Smith and Dr. David James, Curates, on the north extension; and the Rev. Lewis Jones, Vicar, on the south, by subscription. Distinct Tablets, in Gothic Arches, were erected to the Memory of the Rev. Reginald M. Hulbert, also Curate, and Emma, second wife and relict of Dr. James—by their respective relatives. On the base of each of the chief monuments is inscribed “ Zhis Memorial Chapel and Monument were erected by Subscription, A.D. 1876. The south eastern or “ Jones Memorial Chapel,” is unequally divided by an Oak pannelled Skreen; the east part of which is used as the Ministers’ Vestry; and contains the iron chest, holding the Registers of Baptism, Marriage and Burial—Hat and Umbrella Stand made of the ancient Oak of the Church, and other furniture. The larger portion of this Chapel is used as a Choir Vestry ; but at present lacks a Skreen under the lofty Arches. But the erection of a distinct Vestry for their use, on the north side of the Nave, opposite the chief entrance, and where there evidently was of old a door, is much to be recommended for the quietness of the Congregation, and for Parochial Meetings. An ancient Oak Communion Table is also placed in the South Chapel: one smaller and still older having been taken to the Mission Room, at Longley ; and the fine folio Bible, with plates of Baskett, 1716, and the folio Common Prayer Book, Cambridge, 1814, are laid on the Table for reference in the Chapel. A copy of the Homilies of the Church is also kept in the Vicar’s Library. The Chancel or MIDDLE QUIRE is supplied with handsome Oak Stalls, placed on opposite sides for the Choir; and to the east of them Stalls, belonging, by faculty, to the Patron and Lay

Page 58

30 INTERIOR OF THE CHURCH.

Rector, Sir John W. Ramsden, on the north side; and the Vicar for time being—and provision also for the Beaumont Family in front of their Chapel on the south. The floor is covered, like the Nave and Aisles, with tesselated pavement; the whole of the vaults throughout the Church having been first covered with concrete. The inscriptions which were in the Aisles carefully copied, and the stones placed over each vault to which they belonged respectively. One containing the remains of the members of the RamspEN family having been discovered, it is believed, towards the entrance of the Chancel ; but without any inscription. The last interment having been that of “Madame Ramsden,” of Longley Hall; remnants of lace and ornament were found. The Diary of the Rev. Robert Meeke contains the following entry, confirmed by the Parish Register,* “1691, July 27th, Madame Ramsden, of Longley, was buried to-day at Almondbury. Mr. Leaket preached from Numbers xxiii, ro. There was a very great congregation ; and she was buried in great pomp. All her honours are now laid in the dust.” The Fenay family, of Fenay Hall, were interred on the north side of the Chancel; and two brass plates, with Latin inscriptions, which were on the floor over the vault—one of which, after being missing for 50 years, was found in the roof of Fenay Hall, during repairs before Mrs. Keighley’s residence—have been placed just over on the wall above. (See copies and translations appended.) The stone coffin, which had contained the bodies of Arthur Kaye, Esq., of Woodsome, who married Beatrix, daughter of Matthew Wentworth, Esq., of Bretton, being found empty, with the incised stone and imperfect inscription were, as lying in the way of the Warming Apparatus,—by permission of the Earl of Dartmouth, removed into the Kaye Chapel, where was previously a vault,

* July, 1691, Elizabetha Ramsden, de Longley Hall, Vid. sepult. 27°. In the hand writing of the Rev. Carus Philipson, Vicar.

+ Probably the Rev. John Leake, who for 55 years was Vicar of Warmfield, otherwise Kirkthorpe, near Wakefield.—See Meeke’s Diary and History of Slaithwaite School, edited by H. J. Morehouse and C, A. Hulbert, 1875.

Page 59

INTERIOR OF THE CHURCH. 31

“covered with Oak planks.” The stone is placed under the original Arch, between the Chancel and Chapel, bearing the figure of the Chieftain in Armour, with sword and dagger: the head partly gone, and the inscription is imperfect : but this is probably the greatest curiosity in the Church. It originally read in Old English : Here lyeth the body of Arthur Kaye, De Wodsome, Esquier, who died the xvi October, mdlxxxii, and married Beatrix, the daughter of Matthew Went- worth, of Bretton, Esquier, and by her had ishew Jhon, George and Margaret. The above year is confirmed by the Testamentary direction of the Will, at York, dated 1571, but by the same authority, he died in 1582. The date was imperfect in Whitaker’s time—M D only appearing. Some one has since inserted in figures 1574. The Arms of Kaye and Wentworth are placed on Shields on the stone.

The Chapel contains two Marble Monuments. The one reaching from the floor to the square of the North Wall, has been already alluded to, and connects the ancient family of Kaye, of Wood- some, with the noble house of Legge, Earls of Dartmouth and Viscounts Lewisham, by the marriage of the heiress of the last Sir Arthur Kaye with Lord Lewisham; with a Shield bearing the Arms of Kaye, the Goldfinch as crest, derived from the Finche- dens. The other Monument relates to the cognate family of William Lister, of Thornton, in Craven, Esq., whose daughter, Anne, married Sir John Kaye; whose son Thomas took on him the name of Lister-Kaye, on succeeding to the Estates, on the death and by bequest of his Cousin. He was buried near his Uncle and Father. The said William died 29th of October, 1710. The Monument was erected by the said Thomas Lister. From this branch is descended the present Sir John P. Lister-Kaye, Bart., of Denby Grange. The Arms of Lister are emblazoned on an oval Shield above. The Monument, which is of white marble, representing drapery, is surrounded with cherubs, flowers, and weapons. Under both the Arches in the enlarged North Chapel are engraven stones, one imperfect: in Memory of Mary, daughter of Richard HorsFALL, of Storths Hall, Gentleman, Wife of Thomas Fenay, of Fenay, Gentleman, 1659. Mortua resurgam. Also

Page 60

32 INTERIOR OF THE CHURCH.

two stones bearing Crosses: probably the graves of Clergy, which had been inserted in the North Wall. Under the other Arch are preserved the Memorials, in Latin, of Alexander and Mary Darsy, of Almondbury, 1680 and 86. Also the grave stones of RocKLEY, of Woodsome Lees. On Oak Corbels, corresponding with those over the North Aisle, are, 1st—Arms of Kaye, two bends; 2nd—two bars (Quarmby); 3rd—Nevile, a saltire and label of three points ; 4th—Crosland, a cross. They are so described in Whitaker’s Leeds and Elmete. Two windows of the 15th Century have been restored at the North and East Walls of this elongated Chapel, each inscribed : “To the Glory of God and in Memory of pious Ancestors of the name of Kaye, this Window is restored by William Walter, fifth Earl of Dartmouth,” 1877 and 1879. The former in three com- partments, the central, representing St. Ann, mother of the Virgin Mary, teaching her to read with a pencil; and above, a Scroll bearing the words “ Parvulus enim natus est nobis; et nobis filius datus est.”* Underneath another Scroll ‘“‘ Kynne Kynde, Knawne Kepe:” the motto of the Kaye family, with expressive alliteration. The dexter compartment has St. Barbara crowned, bearing a Cup in her right hand; and a Church in the left. The sinister compartment has St. Margaret crowned and holding a Book in her right hand, and a cross headed Spear in her left hand, the latter end of which is cast into the mouth of a dragon, prions aes her prevailing over him by the Word of God. The East Window of the Chapel contains the three Shields before described ; and in the centre St. John the Baptist in the hairy garment, bearing on a cushion in his’ left hand a Lamb: and the right hand lifted up as proclaiming Lece Agnus Det, ecce gui tollit peccatum Mundi,t which is expressed in a Scroll around his head. On the right side is Elizabeth, his Mother, with a Book in her hand, and on the left St. Helena (the Mother of Constan-

* Unto usa child is born; unto us a son is given.—Isaiah ix, 9.

+ Behold the Lamb of God who taketh away the Sin of the World.

Page 61

SHIELDS Windows AND on MONUMENTAL TABLETS

N

Kaye -Lacy

Kaye FINCHENDEN

ae KAR RK KR OK OK IK Hh RK RK di

DOWKER

RAMSDEN

ae a! ok ie Hi Re oe ik KAS

NETTLETON

BRtGq

Page 62

pe a

| can fun anon oy: ie 2

Ae

sa Nh ae

=

ae nepal:

ae el anlage ee ity oy,

WA TRB OF

bibs 4,

Page 63

INTERIOR OF THE CHURCH. 33

tine the Great) bearing the true Cross, which she is related to have discovered at Jerusalem. Underneath all the compartments is an interesting scene of family worship. John Kaye, Esq., and Elizabeth, his wife, at prayer. He in a coat bearing the Bends of ° Kaye, with six sons; and she with three daughters, kneeling behind. These windows have been skilfully restored by Messrs. Burleson and Grylls, from the fragmentary portions existing and other indications, and the description of the latter window, as it existed at the time of the Visitation, in 1584. There was a Latin inscription of which some scraps remain: Orate pro animabus Johannis Kaye de Woodsome Armiger et Elizabethz uxoris ejus ac omnium filior, qui istam fenestram fieri fecerunt.”* The figures probably commemorate, in each window, members of the family deceased; and St. Helena has reference to St. Helen’s Chapel, probably erected by the above generation and removed by their descendants. Other scraps remain, including one: Mac., Rost. Kaye, I. H. S., referring to a later generation. There are, also, remnants of the Arms of Pudsey, Waterton and other families, connected with the Kaye and Ramsden Houses, which may, it is hoped, receive further restoration, as the Visitation contains guiding notices. There is a vacant window, behind the seat connected with the Patron, reserved for such purpose. The Architect had made provision for a large and handsome East Window, instead of the three ancient ones; but when the restoration of the Chancel was resolved on by Sir John W. Ramsden, they were, for Archzological reasons, retained in form ; and have been beautifully filled with glass, representing the Crucifixion in the centre; with the Virgin, signified by the lilies in her hand, and St. John, bearing the poisoned cup, on the right hand of the Cross; and on the left, Joseph of Arimathea, and the Centurion. The style of the windows is intermediate between the pale medieval colours of the North Chapel, and the more glowing hues of those in the Nave and Tower. They are the

* Pray for the Souls of John Kaye, of Woodsome, Esquire, and Elizabeth, his wife, and all their children, who caused this Window to be made.

Page 64

34 INTERIOR OF THE CHURCH.

work of Messrs. Heaton, Butler and Bayne, of London. The two side windows represent, on the north, the Agony in the Garden and the Sleeping Disciples; and the Angel announcing the Resurrection to the Women, on the south. There is a curious square recess in the wall over the Communion Table; at the back is a Cross engraven, and in front indications of a door and bolt, supposed to have held the Church Plate or relics. On the south wall is the Aumbry and Piscina for receiving the Mass bread, and the remains of the consecrated wine. It has a pointed Arch— and had also formerly a door. The former recess was hidden by the Rood Skreen, when it was placed, in 1840, as a Reredos against the east wall. The Communion which is of carved Oak, also restored, is covered with a cloth or carpet of Utrecht Velvet, wrought in gold, representing corn and grapes, with J.H.S. in front: the donation of Lady Helen Guendolen Ramsden. The seven kneeling cushions before the rails are the work and gift of Mrs. Hulbert and six other Ladies of the Congregation ; members of a working party who have contributed largely to the Restoration Fund. The new Communion Linen is the gift of Mrs. John Arthur Brooke. The two Kneeling Hassocks for the officiating Ministers were the work and gift of Mrs. Keighley, late of Fenay Hall, and one for the Lectern of Miss Tindall. Two old Oak Chairs are on each side of the table of unknown date, and five others, of ancient Oak, have been added by the present Vicar. The pavement of the Communion inclosure is in coloured Tiles. The Cuurcu PLateE consists of two large Silver Flaggons ; two Silver Cups, a larger and a smaller Silver Patin; the larger bearing date “Almondbury 1669.” The flaggons and larger plate are each inscribed: “Mary Philipson, Spinster, Daughter of the Revd. Mr. Carus Philipson, once Vicar of Almondbury, humbly presents the Church of Almondbury with this piece of plate.” They are carefully preserved in a box made for the purpose, but not in the Church. There is also a handsome Brass Alms Dish, engraven with a representation of the Offerings of the Wise Men: the gift of Mr. and Mrs. Isaac Hordern, Easter, 1875.

Page 65

INTERIOR OF THE CHURCH. as

THE ORGAN. This noble instrument was formerly in the West Gallery and Tower; but now has its Ornamental Pipes fronting to the north and west in the Beaumont Chapel; the latter being the position of the Organist, and Choir Master, with his Choir. We are informed by Mr. James Dalton, Joiner, that there was formerly a small Singing Gallery at the west end, and the West Wall was adorned with painted human figures, which were covered with plaster, now removed; indications of the same kind were also found on the North Wall of the Church. The West Gallery was made in 1840, to receive the present noble instrument which had been used in the Free Trade Hall at Manchester; and cost £240. The Warming Apparatus then occupied the lower part of the Tower—but is now outside the east end of the Church, and diffuses heat by means of Warm Water Pipes. The Pulpit and Reading Desk were removed in 1840 from the centre to the south side, and other alterations effected; all of which have been superseded in the recent Restoration. 4345315 The Organ has been improved by a large expenditure, executed by Mr. S. Butterworth, of Huddersfield, under the direction of the late able and voluntary Organist, Mr. Joshua John Henry Taylor, of Crofthouse,* who still exhibits a lively interest in the Service. On the North Wall of the Chancel proper, are the comparatively modern Marble Monuments of the family of Allen, of Finthorp and Gledholt ; and of Robert Nettleton, Gentleman, erected by the Trustees of his Charities in 1818. On the South Wall, are two Monuments of the Armitage family, of Highroyd and Milnsbridge—one of which was added in 1876—they carry back the family to the date of 1527. Of all which Monuments and inscriptions a full account follows. On the whole, the mind cannot but be impressed with the simple grandeur of the Church, in which are no meretricious

air. Taylor has published, for the benefit of the Restoration , Fund, ‘*Twenty-four Tunes set to Popular Hymns, and dedicated to the Countess of Dartmouth.”

Page 66

36 INTERIOR OF THE CHURCH.

ornaments, but the severe style of the Cistercian Order, in the Architecture, preserved, as seen in several Abbeys and Churches of this County; and it has been the desire of the Restoring Committee to retain, rather than innovate, all that was primitive and good. It is a happy consequence of the revival of ancient parochial custom, that all the seats being now free and un- appropriated, they are well filled by serious congregations, who contribute constantly and according to their means, liberally, at two services each Sunday, to the decent order and maintenance of God’s House. An entirely free Service (except for occasional objects) is maintained in the afternoon; when plain Sermons and Monthly Catechizing afford especial instruction to the aged and the young. The Choir is Surpliced, but entirely free—being chiefly derived from the Teachers and Scholars of the Sunday Schools, and Thus :

‘‘____ through the long drawn aisle and fretted vault

The pealing Anthem sounds the note of praise.” —GRAY. In the South Chapel, besides the Organ, are Marble Mural Monuments on the wall, to the Memory of Robert and Mary Scott, who were residents at Woodsome Hall for many years. And also to James and Mary Crosland, also resident at Fenay Hall. Five Upright Stones also record the families of Scott, and their connections, the Armitages, of Deadmanstone; restored by the care of the present Richard Armitage, Esq., of Scarborough. The brass Monumental Tablets to Mr. Nettleton, one of the chief benefactors of the Parish, as before observed, are placed against the wall. The Monument of the Rev. Lewis Jones contains, in two parallel columns, a full detail of his labours, in the erection of 14 within the ancient Parish during the 43 years of his Vicariate, from 1823 to 1866. Hebrew words, Levi and JosHUA (Son of Josedeck), referring to Malachi ii, 6, and Haggai ii, 4, are placed at the head of each lancet headed compartment; as significant of Mr. Jones’s labours as a Priest and Builder of the Temples of the Lord, and of his name as derived from Levi.*

San nn ee

* MALAcHtI ii, 6.—‘*‘The Law of truth was in his mouth, and iniquity was

Page 67

INTERIOR OF THE CHURCH. 37

The Marble Tombstone of Isaac WorMALL, which covered his vault in the South Chapel, had been much defaced by frequent feet ; and would have been covered by the Organ. It was there- fore removed outside and placed on four pillars, as near as possible to the vault. In the same manner the stones which covered the remains of the Rey. Walter Smith, included in the North Chapel ; and of the Rev. Edward Rishton, under the Communion Table, have been placed upright against the outer walls. The Communion inclosure, or Chancel proper, is elevated two steps from the floor of the middle and side Quires. The Old Windows in the Eastern Wall have been retained, unaltered in form, as they had probably been for more than a century before the recent Restoration. The Central Window, which is lofty and nearly round headed, in present conformity with those in the Nave, which are in the perpendicular style, having three compartments, except in its proportions, being narrower and longer. It seems most probable that this similarity was not original, as the East Windows are very ancient, and the two smaller Side Windows have pointed Arches; but it is conjectured that the Middle Window was originally pointed also; but that when a flat Plaster Ceiling was placed under the roof trees of the Chancel, that the Centre Arch was debased. And now that the Ceiling has been removed, and an open and substantial Oak Roof, with due supports, has been placed by the Patron; the blank wall above the windows is insufficiently broken by a narrow perpendicular light ; and the res- toration of the pointed Arch is a desideratum.

not found in his lips : he walked in peace and equity, and did turn many away from iniquity.” Haggai ii, 4.—‘‘ Yet now be strong, O Zerubbabel, saith the Lord; and be strong, O Joshua, son of Josedeck, the high priest; and be strong all ye people of the land, saith the Lord, and work: for I am with you, saith the Lord of Hosts,”

Page 68

CHAPTER V. MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS.

IN THE CHURCH.

BATTY. South Aisle—On a Marble Tablet, with a Cross resting on a Sarcophagus, and inscribed I. H.S., and over the Family Vault and Pew: Sacred to the Memory of Betty, relict of RoBERT ROCKLEY Batty, of Fenay, who died November 26th, Anno Domini 1822, aged 65 years. On a Stone and Marble Monument beneath, arched and battlemented : + M.S. Benjamin North Rockley Batty, Esq., of Fenay Hall, in this Parish; and Magistrate for the West Riding, who died at Redcar, 7th June, 1863, aged 68 years. Also Ellen, his wife, who died at Waddington, 13th July, 1824, aged 29 years. Also Elizabeth, his second wife, who died in this Parish, 18th February, 1856, aged 65 years.

BRIGG. Under the West Window, representing the Saviour with several Apostles and their Sheep, inscribed in glass (with Arms and> Crest) : To the Glory of God*and in Memory of Anne, the beloved Mother of John Fligg Brigg, who died at Fenay Lodge, Jan. 21st, 1867, aged 73 years. George, Son of Benjamin and Anne Brigg, a Volunteer in the Northern Army, was killed in the Battle of Goldsburgh, North Carolina, U.S.A., Dec. 16th, 1862, aged 40 years.

PERKIN.

On a board, with a Cherub in an arched head : Here lies interred the Body of Elizabeth, the Wife of Edmund

Page 69

MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS. 39

Perkin, of Netherton, who departed this life Jany. gth, 1747, in the

59 year of her age. Stop here yr. foot and cast an Eye As you are now, so once was I. As I am now, so must you be. Prepare yrself to follow me.

In THE NortTH CHAPEL.

KAYE. A large white Marble Monument bearing the following inscrip- tion—surmounted by the Arms, two bends sable, and a Goldfinch as Crest: In this Choir lies deposited The Body of Sir Arthur Kaye, Bart., of the Ancient and honourable Family of the Kaye’s, that has flourished at Woodsome for many ages; being the Eldest Son of Sir John Kaye, by Anne, Daughter of William Lister, Esq., of Thornton, near Skipton, in this County. He had the honour to be chosen Representative of this County to several Parliaments; in which great trust he behay’d himself with such loyalty to his Prince, and Fidelity to the Country. He was upright and sincere in his intentions, Free from Ambition, Faction or Avarice. He was a constant Communicant with the Church Establish’d ; Courteous, Affable, Benevolent to all men. He married Anne, one of the Daughters and Co-heirs of Sir Samuel Marrow, of Birkwell, in the County of Warwick, Bart., by whom he left only one child, viz., Elizabeth, married to the Right Honourable Lord Lewisham, eldest Son of William, Earl of Dartmouth. Dame Anne, his relict and Sole Executrix, in conjugal piety, gratitude and affection, has caused this Monument to be erected. He died on the roth of July, 1726. BELOw. Here likewise is interr’d the Body of Dame Anne, relict of the above named Sr Arthur Kaye, who continuing his Widow, directed that she should be buried near the Remains of her husband. That as they had lived together in mutual affection, they might not be separated even in the grave. She was a strict observer of all

Page 70

40 MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS.

religious duties, a constant Communicant, and of extreme charity. She died on the 18th day of August, 1740, in the 69th year of her age, much regretted by all that knew her; who cultivated her acquaintance, for the sake of her easy and inoffensive conversation ; always free from calumny & detraction. By her only child, the Lady Viscountess Lewisham, now the Wife of the Rt. Honble. Lord North and Guildford, she left five Grandchildren, William, Lord Lewisham, and Elizabeth Legge; Augustus and Louisa North. There was an escutcheon on leather, partly dilapidated, evidently removed from Woodsome Hall, representing the Arms of Lord North and Guildford, with those of Kaye as an heiress.

LISTER-KAYE. On a white Marble Monument, elaborately adorned, and with the Arms of Lister, in an oval shield, on an ermine ground, a fess sable with three stars Or: William Lister, of Craven, in this County, had issue William, Christopher, and Anne (who was married to Sr John Kaye of Woodsome in ys Parish Barrt: by whom she left issue 3 sons and one daughter). William died without issue, Christopher left issue Christopher, who dying without issue, left his estate by will to his Cousin, Thomas Kay, 3rd Son of Sir John Kay, Bart., by the said Anne; appointing him to take upon him ye Sirname of Lister, he died ye 29th of October. Ao Dom. 1701, and was buried in the Chancel near his Unkle and Father. Thomas Lister,* his heir in gratitude to the Memory of his kind benefactor, has set up this

Monument. SMITH anp JAMES.

Within the Arched Stonework of one of the former double lancet Windows, on white Marble Tablets, are parallel columns

* In the M.SS. of the Rev. John Murgatroyd I find, ‘‘ Thomas Lister, Esq., M.P. for Clitheroe, died in May, 1745. In private he was humane, dis- interested, affable, and beneficent: a tender parent, a kind relative, an indulgent master, a cordial friend. Well vers’d in Literature, with a taste polite and elegant, possessed of every amiable quality, he lived universally beloved, and died as generally lamented.”

Page 71

MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS. 4I

with devices. A Crook and a Scroll supported by books—im- plying his Ministerial and Scholastic offices, for Mr. Smith: and an Anchor resting on the Cross for Mr. James; who was strong in hope resting on Christ—with the following inscriptions—On the first column : The Reverend WaLTEeR SmitH, B.A., of Magdalen College, Cambridge; Twenty-five years resident Curate in charge of this Parish (1796 to 1821), and seventeen years Master of the Grammar School of King James I. From 1803 to his death at Huddersfield, on his way from Cambridge, October 29th, 1821. He was born at Bramham, Yorkshire, A.D. 1764, and two years Curate and Master of the School at Slaithwaite. He was a sound divine; of evangelical doctrine and holy life; and a successful instructor of youth. His last words were ‘‘ Pardon and Peace.” He is buried with several of his family in this Chapel. Edmund Smith, M.D., of Ilkley Wells, his son, was born at the Vicarage, Almondbury, Octr. 16th, 1804, and died at Richmond Rectory, June 5th, 1864, where he is buried. He bequeathed One Hundred Pounds towards the Restoration of this Church ; on which occasion this Memorial was erected, 1876, by surviving friends and grateful pupils. On the Second Column. Sacred to the Memory of the Reverend Davip JaMEs, M.A., F.S.A., Ph. D., Rector of Panteg, in the County of Monmouth; for seven years (1829 to 1836) Curate of this Parish, and for two years (1854 to 1856) Incumbent of Marsden. A Native of the Principality of Wales, he ever took a lively interest in its literary and spiritual interests. He was singularly eloquent as a Preacher, not only in his native language, but in that of his adopted country. To his untiring zeal for education, the National Schools at Kirkdale (Lancashire), at Marsden, and in the Parish of Panteg, are an enduring Monument. While his doctrine was distinctly evangelical, he possessed the soundest attachment to the discipline of the Reformed Church of England, As his life was pure, so his manners were simple, and his warm-heartedness and candour endeared him to a wide circle of friends.

Page 72

42 MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS.

Born January 6th, 1803, at Manordeify, Pembrokeshire, he died at Panteg, August 2nd, 1871, where his remains repose. He married successively MARGARET, daughter of R. R. Batty, Esq., of Fenay, born 1797, died 1841; and Emma, daughter of Joseph Armitage, Esq., commemorated in the adjacent Monument. This Monument was erected by surviving friends, 1876. On the east side of this Monument is a separate one, consisting of a Gothic Arch, with a white Marble Tablet bearing the inscrip- tion: Head with a Cypher, I.H.S., “Sacred to the Memory of Emma James, wife of the Reverend David James, M.A., Ph. D. (Rector of Panteg, Monmouthshire), and daughter of Joseph Armitage, Esq., of Milnsbridge House, Huddersfield, who died June 23, 1875, aged 67 years. A true Wife, a loving Mother, a warm hearted earnest Christian. She les buried in Panteg Churchyard, with the husband at whose side she worked for God.” “These died in faith, not having received the promises, but having seen them afar off, and were persuaded of them, and embraced them.”

Matri Carissime Indignissimus Filius.

HULBERT.

On the west side is a similar Monument, headed with a Classical Lamp burning, and underneath :

‘Flamma perit prelucendo, Vivit lumen ascendendo,

M.S.—REGINALD MOTTERSHEAD HULBERT, M.A., of Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge; third son of Charles Augustus Hulbert, M.A., Vicar of this Parish. Where he served as Curate from March, 1867, to September, 1871. And at Wakefield Parish Church till March, 1874; when, as Chaplain, he sailed for South India, and, at Trichinopoly, laboured devotedly till September, when he left on sick leave, and died November 2oth, 1874, aged 31 years, at Ramsgate, in Kent. Where he rests in the Lord, with a beloved Aunt ‘Till He come.’ Filo tam desiderato Meestissimi Parentes posuerunt. MDCCCLXXVI.”

Page 73

MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS. 43

NETTLETON. On the North Wall of the Chancel is a Marble Tablet, surmounted by Arms, representing JVe¢tles entwisted. ‘Sacred to the Memory of RoBeRT NETTLETON, of Almondbury, who, on the gth of April, 1621, in the 82nd year of his age, closed a life dedicated to deeds of Charity, and to the advancement of religion and useful learning, especially in this his native town. To his munificence the Grammar School of Almondbury owes its chief endowment ; and the poor of the Parish many liberal bequests ; principally in Estates, which have since greatly increased in value. He trod an open but unfrequented Path to Immortality, in the active exercise of Christian benevolence. For deeds so worthy of imitation the Trustees of Nettleton’s Charity, in the year 1818, at a distance of nearly 200 years from death, have erected this Monument.” On a brass plate, on the South Wall of the Beaumont Chapel, is the original Memorial; and on a larger plate a translation by the late Mr. John Nowell, surmounted by the device of the Twisted Nettles or Serpents, in capital letters :

Sub breve Saxu hoc reconditus jacet Robertus Nettletonne Generosus. Villa Almondburiensis natus, ibique nono die Aprilis Anno Salutis Humanze Millesimo sexcentisimo vigintesimo primo: et etatis suz octogesimo secundo in Domino obdormivit. Quum ut pignus amoris et fidei dedisset Pauperibus et Scholze Grammaticali ejusdem Villz et aliis piis usibus, Terras clari valoris viginti et quinque libraru preter multa alia legata amicis et cognitis suis. Tanti erat amor ejus nativo oppidé ut recte dici potest non Almondburior ullus. [le morte preventus istud monumentum erigere non potuit uti intenderat quod Dominus Richardus Beaumont Eques Auratus cognatus suus et sibi charissimus amore et pietatis ergo, in cella sua posuit nihil aluid optans quam ut ejus, proximorum Posteritas pro beneficiis ipsis tam libere imperitis ab oppidano nunc defuncto, quoties hoc monumentum viderit, toties semper sui grato animo meminisse velit.

TRANSLATION.

“UNDERNEATH this humble stone is buried Ropert NETTLETON, who was born in the Town of Almondbury, and who died on the gth day of April, in the year of Human Redemption, 1621, in the 82nd year of his Age. Who, asa proof of his faithful regard and love, bequeathed to the Poor and to the Grammar School of this

Page 74

44 MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS.

place, and for other pious uses, Lands of the clear yearly value of 25 Pounds; besides many other Legacies to his friends and relations; and safely it may be affirmed that no man ever evinced greater attachment to his native town. Being prevented by death from erecting that Monument he had intended Sir Richard Beaumont, Bart., his kinsman and very dear friend, to mark his own esteem and his kinsman’s piety, has caused one to be placed in his own Chapel, in hope that his posterity and that cf his own neighbours, as often as they see this Monument, may remember with gratitude the signal benefits conferred by their deceased Townsman.”

ALLEN.

A Monument on the North Wall of the Chancel, a white Marble Sarcophagus shaped slab : “Sacred to the Memory of Martha, the Wife of Thomas Allen, late of Finthorp, but now of Greenhead, and only daughter of Thomas Haigh, Esq., of Gledholt in the Parish of Huddersfield ; who departed this life on the 24th day of June, 1804, aged 43 years, leaving issue, viz.: Susanna, Sarah, Benjamin Haigh, and John, with an affectionate husband to lament her loss. Thomas, Eldest Son of the said Thomas and Martha, died the 25th day of June, 1788, aged 1 year and 9 months. Also the above named Thomas Allen, who departed this life, at Gledholt, on the 23rd May, 1828, aged 76 years.” A Tombstone to the same effect covers the remains near the steps of the Communion. Benjamin Haigh Allen, Esq., J.P., built Trinity Church, Hud- dersfield, and resided at Greenhead. His Portrait is to be seen in most old houses, as a man of distinguished piety and benevolence. His brother, John Allen, Esq., of Gledholt, married Sarah, daughter of William Brooke, Esq., of Northgate House, Honley ;’ and still, 1879, survives in the exercise of all the family virtues. See “Some Account of the Founders of the Huddersfield Subscription Library, 1807,” by Mr. G. W. Tomlinson.

Page 75

MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS. 45

ARMITAGE, or HicHRoyp. On the South Wall of the Chancel, are two Mura! Monuments. The first surmounted by the Arms and Crest of Armitage: Motto Semper paratus. A Statue in White Marble representing a female figure weeping on an Urn, inscribed : “Sacred to the Memory of ARMITAGE, of Highroyd House, Esq., who, on the 16th October, 1815, in the 78th year of his age, closed an honourable and useful life. For many years he discharged the arduous duties of a Magistrate, with fidelity and firmness. Yet so tempered with clemency and benevolence, as to soften the rigour of Justice, and conciliate rather by kind and friendly counsel, than awe by Magisterial influence. The poor in him never failed to find a Protector and friend. As a tender husband, an affectionate father, and sincere friend, to record their affectionate remembrance of his many virtues and their own irreparable loss, His disconsolate Widow and afflicted family have erected this Monument. Also Sarah, relict of the above named George Armitage, obiit July 16th, 1834, Ait, 86 years.” Underneath the above, surmounted with a cross recumbent : “Tn the North Aisle of this Church are interred GEorRGE ARMI- TAGE, of Highroyd, in this Parish; which estate he inherited from his Uncle, Richard Armitage, of Dudmanstone, with others in this Parish, by bequest of his Father, Richard Armitage, the younger. All descended from John Armitage of Ermitage, whose will was proved at York, A.D. 1527. He died 5th January, 1742, aged 67 years, Also ALIcE, his wife, who died Dec. 24th, 1749, aged 66. Also JosEPH, son and heir of the above; who was buried August 15th, 1785, aged 69; and Mary, his wife, who was buried Decr. 14th, 1798, aged 83. They were the Parents of GEORGE ARMITAGE, J.P., of Highroyd; the subject of the above Monument, and Grandparents of JosEPH ArmiracE, J.P. & D.L., of Milnsbridge ; buried there A.D. 1860, aged 82; and whose sons, George, Joseph Taylor, and Edward ; and Grandson, Arthur Calrow Armitage, have erected this Memorial. A.D. 1876.”

Page 76

46 MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS.

See the inscription under the Memorial Window in the Nave to Mr. George Armitage, 1878.

ARMITAGE, or DEADMANSTONE.

On Tombstones now placed against the South Wall of the Jones’ Chapel: (1) Here lyeth interred ye body of James ArmiTacE, Gentle- man, of Deadmanstone, who departed this life December the 31st, 1745, aged 32 years. Also Francis, his son, dyed the 29 of May, Anno Domini 1741. Aged nine weeks. (2) Near this place lies interred the Body of Joseph Armitage, of Deadmanstone, late of Alverthorp, who departed this life the 6th of June, 1803, aged 60 years. Also Henrietta, Wife of the said Joseph Armitage, who died 30th of December, 1806, aged 66 years. Also James Armitage, of Deadmanstone, Son of the above, who died at Almondbury, July 8th, 1811, aged 40 years. And Ann, his Wife, daughter of the Revd. William Mountjoy, Vicar of Kirkburton, who died the 23rd of July, 1853, aged 84 years. Whose Son, Richard Armitage, of Alverthorpe Lodge, Scarborough, added this Memorial. A.D. 1877.

SCOTT, or WooDsoME.

This family, who resided as Tenants of the Earl of Dartmouth, at Woodsome Hall, for many years, were connected with that of Armitage, of Deadmanstone. On upright stones: (x) Here lyeth the Body of Margaret, late Wife of Mr. Joseph Scott, of Woodsome, who departed this life March the 8th, in the 32nd year of her age, Ano. Dni. 1735. And in regard of her Memory her relict caused this stone to be laid. Here lyeth interred the body of Joseph Scott, late of Woodsome, who departed this life the 30th July, 1758, aged 54 years. Also the body of Margaret, the daughter of sd. Joseph Scott, who departed this life the 21st May, 1754, aged 21 years. (2) In Memory of Marcarer, Daughter of Robert Scott, of Woodsome, who died 2nd September, 1786, aged 18 years. Also Mary and Grace, daughters of the said Robert Scott, who died and October, 1791, aged 15 years.

Page 77

MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS. 47

On a Marble Monument, with Oval Tablet : To the Memory of Rosert Scott, late resident at Woodsome, who departed this life on the 2nd September, 1804, aged 72. Also Margaret, his Wife, who died 16th June, 1811, aged 75.

RISHTON. Originally on the floor of the Communion: but now placed erect outside the East Wall—a Tombstone : Here rest the remains of the Revd. Mr. Epwp. RIsHTON, who was upwards of forty years Vicar of this Church: he was descended from an Antient family in Lancashire ; who departed this life, at Almondbury, the 29th December, 1766, in the 82nd year of his age. Also of Phebe, his Wife, who departed the 1st of May, 1773, in the 82nd year of her age. And near this place are also interred the remains of Anne, Phebe, and Geoffry, children of the above named Edwd. and

Phebe Rishton. WORMALL.

A large blue Marble Stone, originally in the Beaumont Chapel (now occupied by the Organ), much defaced by feet; is now placed on pillars outside, with Arms and Esquires Helmet. Three Boars Heads couped, with the same for Crest. Here lyeth the Body of Isaac Wormall, of Almondbury, who was buryed the Twenty-ninth Day of May, Anno Domini 1642. Aged 42 years. Also here lyeth Mary Wormall, his Wife. FENAY anp HORSFALL. On two brass plates, on the wall of the Chancel, above the Vault containing their remains, in Roman Capitals : (1) Hic jacet Nichus Fenay, De Fenay, Qui et vixit et obiit in DNO 7 die Martis, 1616. Anno /Xtatis suoe LXxvIII.*

* Here lies Nicholas Fenay, of Fenay, who lived and died in the Lord, 7th day of March, 1616, in the 78th year of his age. William Fenay, of Fenay, a man pious and exceedingly humane, lies under this stone, buried, but expecting the blessed Resurrection of the Saints. He died 7th day of April, in the year of Christ 1619, of his age 53. W. F.

Page 78

48 MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS.

(2) Willus Fenay de Fenay. Vir pius ac perquam Humanus, sub hoc lapide jacet. Sepultus expectans Beatam Resurrectionem sanctorum a Mortuis, Mortuus autem Mense Aprilis die vir Anno 1619 de Christo; Etatis sue Anno LIII. On a broken stone underneath : Here lieth the body of Mary, Daughter of Richard Horsfall, of Storths Hall, Gentleman, Deceased; Wife to Thomas Fenay, of Fenay, Gentleman, Deceased. Died November 24th, Ao. 1649, Et tit. Mortua Resurgam. (Though dead I shall arise.)

DARBY.

On a Stone under an Arch in the Chancel : Sub hoc Lapide Jacet Sepulta; Maria, filia Thomz Darby de Almond- buriensi Generosi, qui et vixit et obiit in Domine Undecimo Februarii Anno Domini Millesimo Sexcentesimo octogesuno suze 3° Hic Jacet corpus Alexandri filii ejusdem Thome Darby, qui ex hac Vita migravit Decimo die Maii. 1686 A&tatis 1°. Ecce possessio Jehovee sunt filii: Merces est fructus ventris, Jehova dedit et Jehova recepit ; Sit nomen Jehovee benedictum. Under this stone lies buried, Maria, daughter of Thomas Darby, of Almondbury, Gentleman, who lived and died in the Lord, Feb. i1th, 1690, aged 3. Here lies the body of Alexander, Son of the same Thomas Darby, who departed this life, May roth, 1686, in his first year.— See Psalm cxxvii, and 21: Children and the fruit of the womb are an heritage and gift that cometh of the Lord. The Lord gave and the Lord hath taken away; Blessed be the name of the Lord. ROCKLEY.

On a Stone under the same Arch: Here lieth the body of Margaret, late wife of Robert Rockley, of Woodsome Lees, in this Parish, Gent., who was A Zealous Christian, A good wife, A sincere friend, a loving neighbour, and truly charitable, as farr as able. She departed this life, the 23 day of October, 1729, and was buryed on the 25, aged about 67 years. Here also lyeth the Body of Mr. Rockley, who dy’d the 5 May, 1751, aged 79. He was a real well wisher to all people. Bore

Page 79

MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS, 49

his great disappointments and hardships with patience, and made no merit of himself or his expectations, tho’ he was the last stem of the Ancient and once opulent family of Rockley of Worsborough. For the Pedigree of the family of Armitage of Doncaster, Lords of the Foliot Manor, of Barnby, commencing with Edmond Armitage, living in 1573—and ending in the above Robert Rockley, Son of Richard Rockley, of Blacker, near Worsborough, Gentleman, and Ann Armitage, See Hunter’s South Yorkshire. Arms of Armitage, Three crosses bolonée gules. Crest, a Lion rampant, holding in his paws a cross bolonée gules. Stone added (imperfect) :—‘‘ Under the Stone above, lieth also, the body of Robert Rockley, Gent., only Son of Mr. Robert Rockley and Margaret his wife, thereon mentioned, who was the last male Issue of the said family, and died on the 11 of May, 1772, in the 71st year of his age.”

JONES.

In the Jones’ Memorial Chapel, on two parallel Marble Tablets, corresponding with those of Rev. Walter Smith and David James, in the Lancet Window-frame : (1) Headed in Hebrew letters Levi, Malachi ii, 6. Sacred to the Memory of the Reverend Lewis Jones, Forty-four years Vicar of Almondbury, 1822 to 1866. He was also Perpetual Curate of Llandevaud, Monmouthshire, 1822 to 1852; and devoted the whole Income to its improvement. He was a faithful and laborious Minister of the Gospel; an affectionate Pastor and Parent. He found this great Parish with its increasing population, provided with only one Church, and three Parochial Chapels. When he left it for the Church above, there were Eighteen Churches, with Districts assigned, Parsonages, Schools, Burial Grounds and Endowments added or enlarged, and the Spiritual interests of his flock were promoted by the appointment of able and faithful Ministers. He was born at Penponpren, Cardiganshire, on the 14th Feb., 1793, and died at Almondbury, August 26th, 1866.

Page 80

50 MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS.

On the second column JosHua (son of Josedeck), Haggai il, 4. The following Churches were built or enlarged during his Incumbency. ‘In troublous times.” Linthwaite 1828, South Crosland 1829, Netherthong 1830, Lockwood 1830, Holmebridge 1830, Farnley Tyas 1840, Milnsbridge 1845, Meltham Mills 1845, Upperthong 1848, Helme 1859, Brockholes 1862, Wilshaw 1863, Rashcliffe 1864. The Parish Church renovated 1840, St. Mary’s, Honley, rebuilt and enlarged 1842, Buria! Grounds consecrated at Meltham 1851, Marsden 1852. ‘By which he being dead yet speaketh,’ Heb. xi, 4. He rests in the North Churchyard, with Lewis Lloyd, his elder Son, died Sep. 17, 1846, et 13, and Catherine Anne, his 2nd Daughter, who died Oct. 16, 1873, zt 35. Also of Catherine his relict, the sharer and solace of all his cares and labours; who was born at Moelcerney (in Cardigan- shire), June 26th, 1803, and died July 6th, 1878, at Meltham Vicarage. “I have waited for thy salvation, O Lord,” Gen. AUK, 15.

CROSLAND. A Marble Slab on the South Wall of the above Chapel : In Memory of CROSLAND, Late of Fenay, in this Parish ; afterwards of Clough Terrace, in the Parish of Huddersfield, who died June 25th, 1837, aged 72. Also Martha, his Wife, who died at Fenay, Novr. 29th, 1809, aged 30.

HAIGH. On a lieth interred ye Body of Mr. James Haigh, late of Fenney, who departed this life, the 5th day of April, in the 7oth year of his Age, Ano Dni. 1736. In the Middle Aisle (now covered), on a stone: Here lies the remains of Elizabeth, Wife of James Haigh, of Almondbury, Gentleman, by whom she lived beloved and died lamented, the 29th of January, 1769, aged 23 years. Also the remains of the said James Haigh, who departed this life, the 9 of December, 1771, aged 28 years. Elizabeth, their only child and daughter, caused this stone to be placed here, to perpetuate the Memory of Parents she never had the bliss to know.

Page 81

MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS. 51

NORTH.

In the Middle Aisle—and West End. Several Stones : (x) Under this stone and that next eastward and part of the Closet adjoining, Lie the Bodies of Mr. Benjamin North, the Elder, late of Fenay, deceased. He died the 2nd February, 1768, aged 71 years. His children by Mary, his only Wife (Daughter of Mr. Robert Rockley, the Elder), so interr’d, died as follows :— Elizabeth, 17th April, 1730, aged 7 months; Anne, roth Novem- ber, 1730, aged’ 7 years; Margaret, 8th June, 1731, aged 7 months ; John, 3rd January, 1731; Robert, 17th April, 1740, the Day he was born ; Jane, 2oth June, 1756, aged 10 years. John, died Augt. — in the 11th Month; Benjamin, August 1768, in the 5th year; James, Son of said Benjamin N., d. Jan 5, 1770, aged 5 months; Ellen, wife of above Benj., d. Jan. 5th, 1794, aged 62; Said Benjamin, d. July 5th, 1795, aged 80; Mary, Widow of Benj., 26th Augt, 1785, aged near 83; Mary Anne, Daughter of B. North the younger, by Sarah his Wife, which child died, 17 June, 1777, aged 1 year & 7 months. Also the body of Sarah his wife, who died 4th February, 1790, aged 55 years. Also is interred, the Body of Mr. Benjamin North, Junior, who died 18th May, 1796. Also on a fragment effaced : The Body of Mr. — North, who died 2oth, 1800, aged 74 years, the person last living of the family of Mr. Benjamin North, Senior, of Fenay.

ROBERTS. In the North Aisle : (x) Here lieth interred, the Body of Sarah, Wife of Jonathan Roberts, of Farnley, who departed this life, the 8 of Feby., 1761, in go year of her age. Also the Body of the above said Jonathan Roberts, died the 22 May, in the 84 year. Also Mary, Wife of Jonathan Roberts, and daughter in law of the above Jonathan and Sarah Roberts, d. the 3rd of February, 1789, aged 70 years. Also Abraham, son of the said Jonathan and Sarah Roberts, d. the 29th of September, 1790, aged 85 years. Also Jonathan

Page 82

52 MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS.

their son, and husband of the said Mary Roberts, d. the 18th March, 1795, aged 83 years. (2) William Roberts, of Farnley, Son of Jonathan and Mary Roberts, whose names are on the stone above, d. 12th August, 1815, aged 70 years. Also Jonathan Roberts, Junior, their Son, who d. the roth July, 1820, aged 62 years. Also Richard Roberts, Son of the said Jonathan Roberts, Junior, d. 25th May, 1825, aged 81 years. Also Richard Roberts, Senior, their Son, d. the 25th day of March, 1826, aged 7o years. Also Elizabeth Roberts, their daughter, d. on the 5th March, 1835, aged 82 years.

DAWSON.

On a Stone under the Chancel Stalls : William Dawson, of Dodlee, in Lockwood, Gent., who departed this life the 26th day of September, A.D. 1732, in the 72nd year of his age. Also Mary his Wife, ye daughter of Joseph Haigh, of Netherton, Gent., who died the 18th April, 1718, in the soth year of her age. Also George their Son, who died the 16th of December, 1694, in the first year of his age. Also William their Son, who died the 2nd April, 1722, in the 26th year of his . age. Also Joseph their Son, who died the 4th day of March, 1709, in the 7th year of his age.

ATKINSON.

On a Stone under the Stalls in the Chancel : Here are deposited the remains of Martha, Wife of John Atkinson, of Thorp, Merchant; She dyed August ye znd, 1779, in the 49th year of her age. Also John, Son of the above Martha Atkinson, who died the 26th of November, 1822, aged 65 years.

SCOTT, oF ALMONDBURY.

On a flag in the Chancel covered : Here lyeth the Body of Thomas Scott, of this Town, Apothecary, and Martha his Wife. He departed this life, the 6th day of September, 1700, and She departed this life, July the 7th, in 63rd year of her age, Anno Domini 1717.

Page 83

MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS. 53

SINGULAR EPITAPHS.

**And many a holy text around she strews, To teach the rustic moralist to die.”—GRAY.

ARMITAGE.

The oldest Gravestone in the Churchyard was thus inscribed : HEARE LYETH THE BODY OF DORITHEY AREMITEG, THE WIF OF JOSEPH AREMETEG, WHO DIED THE 20T OF SEPTEMBER, ANO. 1646. It was nearly opposite the porch ; now imperfect.

CROSLAND.

HERE LYETH THE BODY OF GEORGE CROSLAND, SONNE OF MR. GEORGE CROSLAND, VICAR,

OF THIS PLACE, AGED LXII YEARS, DYED NOVEMBER XII, AO. 1666. (With a heart added.)

TAYLOR.

On a lofty Monument of stone, surmounted by an Urn covered; with white Marble Tablets on four sides, near the west gates, lately restored : In Memory of THomas of South Parade, Almondbury, who departed this life April 22nd, 1855, aged 59 years. Also of Sarah, Wife of Charles Taylor, w. d. 1. September 26th, 1823, aged 47 years. Also the above Charles Taylor, w. d. 1. March 6, 1856, aged 81 years. And Martha, second wife of Charles Taylor, w. d. 1. May 21st, 1864, aged 78 years.

LAYCOCK.

South East corner of Chancel : Here lyeth interred the body of EtizasetH Laycock, of Almondbury, the 14th day of February, 1772, aged 89.

The Boreas Blasts and Neptune’s wave Have tost me to and fro, In spite of both God has decreed To harbour me below. Where now at Anchor I do ride With numbers of our fleet, Hoping once more again to rise Our Admirall Christ to meet.

Page 84

54 MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS.

SMITH. At the east end of the North Chapel, erected outside : Beneath this stone is interred the Body of the Rev. WALTER SMITH, 25 years Curate of this Parish and 17 years Master of the Free Grammar School. He died October 29th, 1821, aged 56 years. Also the body of Catherine, his second daughter, who died May 12th, 1823, aged 22 years. ‘Blessed are the Poor in Spirit. Them which sleep with Jesus will God bring with him.” Also the body of Mary Jane, his eldest daughter, who died March 2nd, 1825, aged 26 years. “These all died in faith.” Also the body of Phillis, Widow of the above Rev. Walter Smith, who died May 3oth, 1830, aged 63 years. “Thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord.” Also Elizabeth, Wife of Edmund Smith, of Huddersfield, and Daughter of the Rev. Robert Willan, M.A., Barnsley. She died April roth, 1848. “‘ Peace in believing.”

GOODWIN. Against the East Wall of the North Chapel : Underneath this stone rests the body of Samuel Goopwin, of Outwood, near Cheadle, in the County of Chester. He died September 20th, 1809. As Assistant Master of the Grammar School, in this town, his conduct was marked with vigilance and assiduity, by an obliging manner, as a youth, by sober mindedness. He was snatched away by an epidemic disease. A memorable Visitation of Providence in the eighteenth year of his age.

BEAUMONT, or NETHERTON. In the Porch, now covered : In Memory of John Beaumont, of Netherton Bank end, Yeoman, w. d. 1. 24th February, 1828, in the 62nd year of his age. My worthy brother is my heir, And he must order my affair, Adieu, vain world, adieu. SHAW. In Memory of Sarah, Wife of Cornelius Shaw, Grandson of George Shaw, of Farnley, who died —th March, 1822, aged 26 years.

She closed her eyes beneath affliction’s rod, But had that faith which is the gift of God.

Page 85

MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS. 55

MELLER, or CROSLAND. Elizabeth, Wife of Adam Meller, of Crosland, d. 14th July, 1757, aged 58.

She was a Woman of honest life A quiet neighbour, free from strife ; A sincere friend, a loving mother, Tis hard to look out such another.

SYKES, oF CROSLAND.

Rachel, daughter of Benjamin Taylor, of Crosland, Delph, d. 10 Nov., 1798, 14.

Short was my time, long is my rest, God takes those soonest, whom he loves best.

George Sykes, of Edge, in Crosland, d. 4th March, 1810, aged

60 years. I went out well and going on my way

Death took me by the hand, and bid me stay ; Like wandering pilgrims in this world we are ; O think on Death, my fellow traveller ; The like may happen unto thee, Therefore always prepared be.

DYSON, or NETHERTON.

On a tomb, prism shape, and railed in: _In Memory of George Dyson, of Netherton, d. December 15th, 1829, aged 69 years. Nancy his wife, d. Feb. 7, 1821. Benjamin, son, d. Nov. 21, 1806, aged 1 year. Mary, Wife of Thomas Dyson, d. May 5th, 1836, aged 36. Also above Thomas Dyson, Son of Geo. and Mary Dyson, d. May 26th, 1856, aged 61. Also Harriet, Wife of Thomas Clarke, of Wilmslow, Cheshire, and 2nd daughter of Thomas and Mary Dyson, d. May 28th, 1857, aged 28.

MOORHOUSE, or NETHERTON. Rebecah, Wife of Thomas Moorhouse, of Netherton Hill-top, d. —th, July, 1772, 56.

She was, but room forbids to tell you what, Think what a Wife should be, and she was that !

Also above T. Moorhouse, d. 16 Feb., 1774, 78.

Page 86

56 MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS.

PARKIN, or Lume.

(1) Betty d. of John and Betty Parkin, of Lumb, in this Township, d. 15 April, 1789, aged 3. Joseph and Robert, sons of William, and grandsons of John and Betty; Joseph, d. 5th October, and Robt. zoth, 1806, 5 and 3. William, son of John and Betty, d. Dec. 15, 1833, 62. Susannah, daughter of William, d. 13th May, 1836, 25. Sarah, daughter of Wm., d. 3rd May, 1838, 35. Hannah; daughter of Wm., d. 22 May, 1842, 47. (2) Betty, wife of John, above mentioned, d. 3 June, 1811, 7. Above John, d. 22 April, 1815, 70, Esther, relict of William, d. 23rd December, 1867, aged 92 years. A Tomb:—John Parkin, of Lumb, in this Township, d. 18th Feb., 1855, 55. Betty, Sister, d. r9th, Sept., 1860, 67 Saints die in Jesus and are blest, How kind their slumbers are ; From sufferings and from sin releas’d, And freed from every care. Also Charles Parkin, of Lumb, brother of the above, d. 26th Novr., 1873, 56. DRANSFIELD. Hannah, daughter of Joseph and Ann Dransfield, of Aphthee, died roth April, 1823, aged 17. Her tuneful voice no longer moves, With listening choir to sing ; Whose late harmonious lyre now proves Untuned in every string. Our earthly harmony and love Is all of heaven we know ; But oh! how happy they above, When well prepared below.

DYSON, oF NETHERTHONG.

Sarah, daughter of Mr. James Dyson, 11 Oct., 1737, 3rd y. Nancy, Sister, 2nd year. Lo! here we lie within this silent Tomb, Expecting that our Blessed Lord will come ; To call us from this fading bed of dust, To live in heaven, with th’ upright and the just.

Page 87

MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS. 57

TAYLOR, or NEWSOME.

On a raised Tomb : Mary Jane, Daughter of John and Elizabeth Taylor, of New- some, d. 12th Nov., 1824, ro mos. Charles Alfred, d. 25th May, 1844, 10 years. Charles Albert, 3 Oct., 1846, 6 mos. Emiline, 25th Feb., 1850, 11 mos.

HINCHLIFF anp DEARNLEY.

Harriett Dearnley, Wife of James Dearnley, and daughter of David and Abigail Hinchliffe, of Mold Green, d. May 27th, 1843, aged 29 years.

There, on a green and flowery Mount, Our weary souls would sit, And with transporting joys recount The labours of our feet.

WRIGLEY, or NETHERTON.

(1) Benjamin Wrigley, of Netherton, d. Decr. 4th, 1822, aged 46. William, son, d. 9 Jan., 1797, 18th yr. Betty, wife of James Wrigley, Junior, d. 29th Nov., 1805, 34. James Wrigley, Senr., d. 3 July, 61. Elizabeth, relict of James W., Senior, d. 10 May, 1829, aged 81. James W., Junior, d. 27 Dec., 1829, 48. Charlotte, daughter of Robert and Harriet Wrigley, and Grand- daughter of James, 27. Robert Henry, son of Henry and Harriet, of Aspley, Grandson of Robert and Harriet, of Netherton, d. July 19th, 1861, 21. George Edwards, son of Henry and Harriet, d. Jan. 13th, 1865, 1 month. (2) W.H. Wrigley, son of Joseph and Elizabeth, of Netherton, d. 13th March, 1817, 3. John, their son, 21 Sep., 1824, 17.

CROSLAND, oF Fenay.

James, son of James Crosland, of Fenay, an Infant, d. 6 Nov., 1808. Martha, Wife of James Crosland, and daughter of the late R. R. Batty, formerly of the same place, Esq., d. 2zoth Nov., 18009, 30th year, leaving a disconsolate husband and four young children, daughters, to lament the loss of a truly affectionate Wife and a tender Parent. Also James Crosland, of Clough Cottage, late of

Page 88

58 MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS.

Fenay, husband of the above named Martha Crosland, d. 25th June, 1837, aged 72. Also Sarah, youngest daughter of the above named James Crosland, who died at Clare Hill, Huddersfield, March 26th, 1877, aged 7o years. Dan Crosland, of Hudders- field, d. 5th Nov., 1799, 38.

HAIGH, or

Elizabeth, daughter of Mr. James Haigh, of Honley, whose piety, good sense and humanity, will ever make her memory respected and her death lamented—d. August 12th, 1752, 23rd yr.

MOOR, or HONLEY. Robert, son of Robt. Moor, of Honley, d. 27 August, 1747,

3rd yr. Sleep, sweet lamb, whilst thy dear Mother wakes ;

God grant to her His grace, that she may thee o’ertake. Also Mary, Wife of the above Robt. Moor, d. 31 March,

1750, 41. BATTY, oF CrossLAND HILL AND Dry CLOUGH.

On an elevated Stone anda Tomb. They were eminent in the Law: Daniel Batty, late of Crossland Hill, Gentleman, d. Oct., 1760, 57- Anna, his wife, 1784, 74. John Battye, of Crosland Hill, Gentleman, their son, d. 6 June, 1795, 65. John, son of Daniel and Anna Battye, of Dry Clough, d. 26 April, 1810, 12. Anna, wife of the above Daniel, d. 10th Oct., 1831, 68. Daniel Battye, d. rith Decr., 1831, 67. Ellen Crossland Battye, daughter of Daniel and Anna Crossland Battye, ot Lockwood, Gentleman, d. 21 Feb., 1836, 14 months.

SMITH, or NEWSOME. John Smith, Aurist, of Newsome, d. August 8th, 1851, 67.

Through a troublesome life always cheerful and free, The Friend of the Friendless at all times was he; In sickness quiet, tranquil, and fully resigned, In death full of hope on his Saviour reclined.

Also Betty, his Wife, d. June 8th, 1865, 65.

Page 89

MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS. 59

HEATON, or ALMONDBURY.

On an elevated and ornamented Head Stone : Martha, daughter of John and Catherine Heaton, of this town, d. March 2gth, 2 yrs. Elizabeth, d. Jan. 2oth, 1829, 7. Arabella, d. Jan. 8, 1836, 2 yrs. and 1o mos. Also the above Catherine Heaton, d. 12th March, 1838, 41. John Heaton, d. in New York, America, Feb. 14, 1844, 44 yrs. Alfred, Son of the above, died at Great Darington, America, Dec. 31st, 1853, 19.

CROSSLEY, or NEWSOME.

Eliza, daughter of Win and Sarah Crossley, Newsome, d. Feb. 14, 1831, to mos. John Crossley, aged 19 yrs., Son of the above named, who was wrecked on his voyage home from New York, in the Vessel Ivanhoe, which was lost in the Nantucket Shoal of Newfoundland, Feby. 26th, 1851. Also Mary Jane, aged 26 years, daughter of the above Wm. and Sarah—and her husband, Joseph Rushworth, aged 26, who both perished in the Ivanhoe. Also the above William Crossley, d. Feb. 8, 1852, 55.

SCHOFIELD, or Hicu Royp.

Joshua, Son of Benjamin and Mary Schofield, of High Royd, d. 15th Sept., 1829, 27. Also said Mary, d. 25th Decr., 1835, 58.

With heavenly weapons I have fought The Battles of the Lord ; Finished my course and kept the faith, And wait the sure reward.

Also of the above Benjamin, d. 9th May, 1847, 71. Wm. Scho- field, of Magbridge, d. Oct. 7th, 1834, 25.

MELLOR, oF OAKs AND QUARRY HILL.

(x) James Mellor, of Quarry Hill, d. 14th September, 1721, 75. Mary, his Wife, d. 14th May, 1698, 46th year. James, of Almondbury, son of the above, d. 9th May, 1752, 77. (2) Martha, Wife of James Mellor, Junr., of Quarry Hill, d. 16th Feb. A.D. 1748. suze 50. Mors omnibus communis. Also John, Son of James, d. 22 Feb., 1828, 56.

Page 90

60 MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS.

MELLOR, oF OAkKs.

Abraham Mellor, of Oaks, in this town, d. 12th April, 1743, 67. Also Mary, his Wife, d. 27 August, 1757, 67. Ann, Wife of Abraham, son of the above, d. May roth, 1772, 49. Above Abraham Mellor, d. Augt. 20, 1773, 57. John, Son of Joshua and Hannah Meller, and Grandson of the above Abraham, d. Dec. 21st, 1790, 2 yrs:

VICKERMAN.

(1) Henry, son of Enoch and Elizabeth V., d. 5th March, 1828, 9 mos., of Taylor Hill and Steps Mill. John William, son, d. March 13th, 1852, 18. “Them that sleep in Christ will God bring with him.”—Thes. iv, 14. Francis V., d. at Sidney, South Australia, Jan. 4th, 1853, 24th yr. Alas he sleeps! the ocean’s roar Disturbs his calm repose no more. Sarah, relict of H. Dyson, and sister of the above E. Vick., d. Oct. 26th, 1857, 58. Emily, dr. of Elizabeth and Enoch V., Dec. 30th, 1861. Also the above Enoch V., d. Octr. 6th, 1861, 64. (2) Mary Jane, dr. of Benj. and Mary V., of Taylor Hill, d. 13th Nov., 1829, 16 mos. The above Mary V. died 27th April, 1839, 34- And I heard a voice from heaven saying unto me Write. Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord, from henceforth, Yea, saith the Spirit, that they may rest from their labours, and their works do follow them. Also Charles Henry V.,son of Benj. and Mary V., d. 13th Decr., 1850, 20, “In full triumph of faith.” Also Mary Elizabeth V., dr. of the above, d, 17th Dec., 1852, 17. Also the above Benja- min V., d. 14th April, 1869, 69. (3) Walter Beaumont Vickerman, d. May rst, 1854, 29.

BEST.

(1) Godfrey Best, of Damside, d. Feb. 27th, 1856, 89. Sarah Best Shaw, Grand-daughter, d. at Broadgates, Almondbury, July 2oth, 1359, 34.

Page 91

MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS. 61

\2) Ona tomb: Sarah Hannah, d. of John & Ann Berry Best, of Willow Royd, d. Feb. 27, 1857, 17. Louisa Ann, dr., d. June 18th, 1857, 2 yrs. Godfrey, d. Sept. 14th, 1858, 17. John Edward, Sept. 26th, 1861, 15. Tomlinson, Feb. 2nd, 1867, 18. Also the above John Berry Best,* who died Nov, 15, 1877, 66.

HEATON, SExTON. Mary, Wife of John Heaton, of this Town, d. 31st March, 1831, 53. Also the above John Heaton, who was Sexton of this Church upwards of forty years, d. 2nd April, 1831, 61. Rachel, Wife of Thomas Heaton, Sexton, second daughter of Samuel Heaton, of Upper Park, d. 7th Feby., 1838, 26. Mary, second Wife of Thos. Heaton, and second daughter of Matthew Lodge, of this Town, Innkeeper, d. 2nd Feby., 1811, 26. James Henry, Son of Thomas and Jane Heaton, d. 31st Oct., 1847, 4 yrs. & 5 mos. Also Jane, third Wife of the said Thomas Heaton, d. 31st Janry., 1865, 57.

DYSON, or ALMONDBURY. Tombstone :

I. M. of William Dyson, of this Town, d. April 7, 1860, 62. To die is gain.—Phil. i, 21. Whilst we are at home in the body we are absent from the Lord.—II Cor.v, 6. Mark the perfect morn and behold the upright for the end of that man is peace.—Ps. xxxvil, 37.

Also of the Revd. Henry Marsden Dyson, B.D., Fellow of Emmanuel College, Cambridge, Second Son of the above, d. July 7th, 1875, 43. BERRY, or DAMSIDE. Ann, Wife of David Berry, of Damside, in this Township, d. Dec. rrth, 1851, 32. Mary, daughter of David & Mary B., d. Dec. 2oth, 1851, 10. George, d. Dec. 19th, 1851, 6. William, Dec. 9, 1 yr. & 9 mos.

It was a time both dark and drear, A chill December’s gloomy night ;

* Mr. Best was a Sidesman for the Longley District, and died from the effects of an accident, occasioned by a Thunderstorm.—C, A. H.

Page 92

62 MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS.

All fast asleep, unawed by fear, Till parents wakened with affright. For choking smoke had forced its way, From fire below to where they lay, Quick followed by devouring flame ; Which soon a father’s strength o’ercame, Now here repose, within one grave, All that kind heaven a husband gave, Since death the dead will not restore, Then loss through life he will deplore. Also Ifannah, daughter of said David and Mary Ann, d. Sept.

247th, 1849, 1 yr. & 6 mos. ROBERTS, or FARNLEY.

(x) Sacred to the Memory of Edward Taylor Roberts, of Royston, Gentleman, Formerly of Farnley Tyas, d. November 4th, 1829, 33. (2) Sarah, daughter of Wm. and Hannah Roberts, of Farnley Tyas, d. July 25th, 1839, 23rd year. Her end was peace. Sarah Hannah, niece of the above, who d. at Bolton, Jan. 5th, 1858, 33. Also aforesaid William Roberts, d. Augt. 31st, 1866, 72. Surrounded by railings : (3) George Wood Roberts, Son of Jonathan William and Abigail Roberts, of Farnley Tyas, d. 24th Oct., 1837, 1 yr. & 6 mos. John Stocks Roberts, Son of the above, died at Melbourne, Australia, 8th June, 1858, 25 y., and interred there. Jonathan William Roberts, of Ravensknowle, Son of the above, d. March 23rd, 1872, aged 73. Also Abigail, Wife of the above Jonathan William Roberts, d. March rath, 1879, 74.

JACKSON, or LowERHOUSES.

Hannah, daughter of John and Grace Jackson, of Lowerhouses, d. 16th Dec., 1830, 19.

Though not with mental powers possessed To shine in social or domestic life, T am by death at last from all released, From much affliction and a world of strife,

Page 93

MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS, 63

To be where imperfection is not known, My spirit lodged in realms of bliss above ; Jesus to view who did for me atone, And raise my tribute to redeeming love.

Also above John Jackson, d. 3rd Feb., 1861, 73. Also Grace, d. r9th July, 1868, 76. HINCHLIFF.

Eliza, d, of John and Ann Hinchliff, of this Town, d. Oct, roth,

1853, 17. We stood around her dying bed

We saw the blue eyes close, While from the heart the pulses fled, And from her cheek the rose. And still her lips in fondness moved, And still she strove to speak, To the mournful beings that she loved, And yet she was too weak, Till from her eye came one bright ray, That bound us like a spell ; And as her spirit passed away We heard her sigh farewell. Also David Llewellyn Hinchliff, son, d. June 29th, 1854, 18 months. Emma, daughter, Feb. 4th, 1854, 3 mos. Elliott, son,

d. Sep. rath, 1864, 18 yrs. NOWELL, or FaRNLEY Woop.

(x) . William Nowell, Senr., of Farnley Wood, d. Nov. 27th, 1792, 64. Sarah, daughter of Wm. Nowell, Junr., d. March 13th, 1803, 1 yr. Elizabeth, dr. of sd. W. Nowell, d. rst Nov., 1806, 1 yr. Hannah, Wife of William Nowell, Senr., d. gth May, 1810, 82. Ruth, Wife of William N., Junr., d. 21st, Nov., 1829, 62. Thomas, Son of Wm. Nowell, Senr., April 9th, 1833, 72. Above William Nowell, Junr., d. Sept. 14, 1841, 82. Mary, dr. of Wm. Nowell, Senr., d. 15 Nov., 1851, 83. (2) Lydia, Wife of John Nowell, of Farnley Wood, in this Parish, d. 22nd July, 1834, 37 & %. Also John Nowell, d. March 4th, 1869, 75. Also John Shearman Nowell, B.A., of Emmanuel College, Cambridge, only child of the said John and

Page 94

64 MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS.

Lydia Nowell, d. 7th April, 1867, aged 36, buried at Farnley Tyas. Nowell, Junr., d. Sept. 14, 1841, 82, Mary, dr. of Wm. Nowell, Senr., d. 15th Nov., 1851, 83. SCOTT, or WoopDsoME. Joseph Scott, of Woodsome, d. Nov. 11th, 1825, 81. Susanna, his Wife, d. 13th Sep., 1841, aged 92 years. Also Benjamin, Son of the above, d. 5th Feb., 1845, 61.

REV. JOHN HAIGH, or Steps MILL. John Haigh, of Steps Mill, d. 30th April, 1850, 63; Late Pastor of the Baptist Church, at Steventon, in Bedfordshire. Thus shall our mouldering members teach, What now our senses learn ; For dust and ashes loudest preach, Man’s infinite concern.

Also Alice Haigh, of Steps Mill, beloved wife of the above, d. Sept. zoth, 1859, 68. REV. LEWIS JONES. On a prism shaped Tomb, inclosed in Low Railings : Lewis Jones, Vicar of Almondbury for xliv years, died August xxvi, 1866, aged Ixxi years. ‘He being dead yet speaketh.” ““Be ye also ready.” Lewis Lloyd, eldest Son of Lewis & Catherine Jones, died Sept. xvii, aged xii years. Also Catherine Ann, second daughter of Lewis and Catherine Jones, born 27 July, 1838, died 16th Oct., 1873. Also Catherine, Widow of the Rev. Lewis Jones, born June 26th, 1803, died July 6th, 1878. HARLING. Inclosed in Railing : James Williams, of this Town, formerly of Mildenhall, in the County of Suffolk, d. Sept. 24th, 1841, 58. Ann Maria, his Wife, d. March 15th, 1852, 63rd year. Robert Harling of this Town, brother of the said Ann Maria, d. Feb. roth, 1859, 63. William, son of Edward* and Ann Harling, died August, 1860, 46. Isabella, wife of William, d. April 4th, 1871, 52.

_* The above Edward Harling, was son of Edward Harling, of Huddersfield, who married the 9th December, 1781, Catherine Goodman, of Catesby,

Page 95

Menfovorth of Bretton al

C) eee ote | 6 Pe Na |

eS

NW «df

IS

eer

LU OFM CANO Wea THI AAT 1 Olea

10 ay

—=

i a0 san

Page 96

Ve ete ge Oe ee er

Gi Gah (CRON My DAMON se AG Cae dr Tatas af sean

oes pit: ah

ie @

mo oo: pale = oN | Hi ik 3 zen : eri. t

it } oS 2 6

*

Page 97

MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS. 65

BEAUMONT, or ALMONDBURY.

Upright Stone, Gothic head : In Memory of Susannah, Wife of Richard Beaumont, and dr. of Edward and Anne Harling, of this town, d. Feb. 12th, 1859, 40. Also above named Richard Beaumont, d. May 1st, 1877, 60. The Lord in Church his ‘‘lower room,” Long heard him lead the Choir ; Then called him to his heavenly home, Faithful Servant, higher.”

LODGE, or STIRLEY HILL.

George, inf. son of George and Sarah Lodge, of Stirley Hill, in this Township, d. 16th April, 1827. Uriah, son, d. Sept. 25th, 1848, 26. Here lie remains of a lamented youth, Of modest wisdom and pacific truth ; Composed in sufferings, and in joy sedate, Good without noise, without pretentions great. Also the above said George Lodge, d. 3rd April, 1853, 57- John, son, d. Feb. 27th, 1857, 40. Edward, son, d. Feb. 7th, 1861, 42. Sarah, relict of George, d. Dec. 13th, 1871, 75. Martha, daughter, d. Jan. 7th, 1877, 43.

GARNER, or ALMONDBURY.

Garner James, Parish Sexton, d. June 11, 1852, 56. Joseph, his son, d. Nov. 3, 1832, 3. Elizabeth, his dr., d. Feby. 10, 1840, 15, Elizabeth, his w., d. Sep. 29, 1874, So.

ea ee EE EE eee

Northamptonshire, daughter of William Goodman, who died in childbed, 13th July, 1783. And on the 7th July, 1786, he married Mary, the 4th daughter of Bartram Rushbrooke, Esq., of West Stowe, in the County of Suffolk, at Barnes Church, in Surrey; by whom he had Edward, born 25th March, 1787; and Hiram (now living), born 13th May, 1793, at Barton Mills. Edward Harling, Senior, was a Lieutenant in the Army; and there isa romantic story of his courtship, and bringing his second wife to Almondbury. She married a second time and is buried at Emley. Her brother was Robert Rushbrooke, Esq., M.P., for Norfolk. Her Portrait in Oil, and a Miniature of Lieut. Harling, are in the possession of Mr. Hiram Harling, of Northgate, Almondbury.—C, A. H.

Page 98

66 MONUMENTS AND PARTICULAR EPITAPHS.

Garner Eliza, dr. of Benjamin James and Nanny, d. Aug. 24, 1865, 2. Charles Alfred, their son, d. Dec. 29, 1877. Lucy, Alfred and Thomas, their children, d. in infancy.*

LEIGH, or Royvp FarNueEy TYAS.

On an upright Stone, with railed inclosure : In affectionate remembrance of Lucy, daughter of William and Harriet Leigh, of Royd House, d. Aug. 28th, 1835, 16 mos. Harriet Ann, d. Feb. 14, 1847, 10 mos. Charles William, d. May 13th, 1860, 18 years. Also the above William Leigh, G. Sept. 7th, 1863, 65. Jane his daughter, d. April 6th, 1875, 37, and was interred at Woodhouse Cemetery. On a Stone bearing an open Bible : In Memory of Joseph Leigh, of Royd ee d. May 11th, 1848, 5. Joseph Kaye Leigh, Son of Joseph and Elizabeth Leigh, who died Octr. 28th, 1859, 36. Ann, their daughter, d. January 24th, 1860, 20. Also the above Elizabeth Leigh, d. Febry. 24th, 1864, 64. Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord—that they may rest from their labours.

* The Garner family have been musicians, and connected with the Church for many generations, as the following extracts from our Registers shew. They are to be added, by Messrs. Richard and Benjamin Garner, Sculptors, to the Family Memorial.

Rich. fil. Will. Garner, Oppiden. (Townsman), Sepult Sep. 19, 1656. Gulielm G., d’ Villa Sep., Nov. 6, 1690. Rich. G., d’ Township, Bur. Sep. 22, 1716. Joseph G., Musician, Bur. Oct. 17, 1757. John G., Musician, Bur. April 18, 1769. Rich., Son of the above, Musician, Bur. June 5, 1799.

James Garner, Professor of Music, Son of the above Richard, died whilst travelling out of England in the year 1799.

Page 99

CHAPTER. VI. RETROSPECT OF THE HISTORY OF THE CHURCH.

Such, as we have in the preceding account given, is a brief, but on the whole, we trust, accurate description of the venerable structure in which, for above seven hundred years, the inhabitants of the town and parish of Almondbury have met for holy worship, divine instruction, and other sacred offices; whether under Papal or Protestant rule, under the Despotic, Republican, or Limited and Constitutional government; by feudal tenure or freehold occupation. And whilst, in habits of rural or manufacturing

industry,

** Along the cool sequestered vale of life, They held the noiseless tenor of their way ;” There was one centre of their best affections—“‘ THE CHURCH OF THEIR FATHERS ”—and ‘They loved the venerable dome, Where still their ashes lie ; The Saints abode, the martyr’s home, The portal of the sky.”

They knew that ¢/ere, at least, was something Jerymanent. As a spiritual wanderer in this Parish once exclaimed, when, after visiting various places of religious dissent and difference, he saw the Church—“ Here is Rest!” The world stimulates, checks, or suspends its operations ; men measures, manners change. The Church, like ‘The Brook” of another modern Poet, can say : ‘*Men may come and men may go, But I go on for ever.” It is true that the waters were not always pure as they should be; the still waters were made turbid by controversy, or darkened by superstition; but if anywhere, were found the moral restraints or the awful sanctions of another world. There was the truth in the darkest times, the sure foundation, albeit encumbered by errors. Hence men came from the farthest extremities of the Parish to claim their heritage as Parishioners ;

Page 100

68 HISTORY OF THE CHURCH.

and the reciprocal office and duty of the Priest or Pastor made his influence felt for good in every household. It stood as a City set on a hill—a beacon to the Country.* We have few records, as we have already stated, of the early history of the Church, but there can be no doubt that it was supplied with Rectors, and endowed with Tithes and Glebe lands, by Ilbert de Lacy or his descendants; as was usual with Lords of the soil; especially as he erected Kirkstall Abbey and Pontefract Castle. It is most probable that Almondbury was originally a Missionary Station under Dewsbury; and that crosses marked the stations, as evidenced by the annual payment still made to the Vicar, and that here a chapel was eventually erected. The earliest notice we have is that of William de Notyland, 1231, appointed by John de Lacy, Constable of Chester; and ‘‘Sir Robert of Nottingham, Rector of the Church of Almanbery,” is one of the witnesses, in 1258, of the Charter of Roche Abbey, by Edmund de Lascy, also Constable of Chester, &c.+ Having property here, it is not likely that its religious wants would be neglected by the Lacies. The Inquisition in the reign of Edward III, mentions the advowson of the Church, and itis stated as of the annual value of 80 marks. Among wills at York, we find that of Thomas Morton, Rector of Almondbury, Anno 1430. In the survey made in 1425, even the Church. of Almondbury is not mentioned. The Advowson having passed to the Crown by attainder as part of the Duchy of Lancaster, the appointments were made by Royal authority until the time of Archbishop Thomas Scott de

* I am informed that this was literally the case during the time when there was the expectation of a French Invasion, a Beacon light was kindled every night on Castle Hill. We may well suppose that such was the case in the time of the Spanish Armada, alluded to in Lord Macaulay’s Poem.

+ See Yorkshire Archzeological Transactions, vol i, 174—627, and generally Dr. Walker’s able Paper on Almondbnry in Feudal Times, vol ii, p. 16—34. In the Inquisition, Edward IIIrd’s time, William Stemertanbyne, Rector of the Church of Almondbury, holds seven acres of land at ‘the rent of 5s.

Page 101

HISTORY OF THE CHURCH. 69

Rotherham, 1488; who claims to have the consent and assent of the Dean and Chapter of York, for conferring on his newly founded College of Jesus, at Rotherham (by what authority does not appear), the Parish Church of Almondbuty, with all its rights and appurtenances; and the perpetual Vicarage of the same Parish Church at Almondbury, to possess for their own use for ever; and appointed, assumed, and limited a certain portion in coined money, of the fruits and emoluments of the same Church for the maintenance of one perpetual Vicar, who should have the care of souls in the said Church, reserving Archiepiscopal rights. The first appointment seems to have been (according to Torre) in 1488, Thurstan Kaye, by the President and Brothers of the College of Jesus, Rotherham. After his death, Robert Nevill by the same; and, 1549, Richard Draper, M.A., also through death until 1st June, 1552; Gabrielle Rayne, M.A., by Edward VI, through deprivation of Draper; after the dissolution of the College of Rotherham. The advowson continued to be vested in the Crown until Philip and Mary; when, 14th June 1554, Robert Needham, Cl., was appointed by Queen Mary ; and on his death, Robert Staynton (who was buried March 13, 1597, zt. 80), with whom our registers commence. He was succeeded by George Crosland, M.A., April 15th, 1598, appointed “ hac vice” by William Kaye as Patron, on what account does not appear. The Glebe Lands and houses of the Rectory were sold by Philip and Mary, under Commission, to Nicholas, or William Fenay, of Fenay Hall, Almondbury, and constitute part of the Estate connected with that Mansion until this day. The advowson and great tithes were conferred by Philip and Mary on the School at Clitheroe, in Lancashire, and they continued in possession and use of the Governors until our time; when, under the Corporation Act, the advowson of the Vicarage was sold by them to the present Sir John W. Ramsden, Bart., Lord of the Manor, and his first appointment was made, in 1867, in favour of the present Vicar. The Rectorial Tithes became the property of Sir John and of the late Vicar, Rev. Lewis Jones, by purchase, and still remain in the hands of the former and the representatives of

Page 102

7O HISTORY OF THE CHURCH.

the latter ; except some portions in the hands of H. F. Beaumont, Esq., of Whitley, and smaller owners. The subsequent appointments by Clitheroe School were in general those of Masters in the school, and therefore men of learn- ing, to the time of the Rev. Lewis Jones inclusive; of all of whom we shall hope to speak particularly hereafter. The primitive Church or Chapel erected by the Lacies, had probably long become inadequate to the requirements of the increasing population, when quieter times arrived, after the wars of the Roses. Hence we gather from an ancient paper, extracted from a Manuscript said to be at Woodsome, that there was an ancient Chapel dedicated to St. Helena, erected by the Woodsome family of Kaye, probably in the 15th century, on the site still called ‘Chapel Yard,” and giving name to the steep road called St. Helen’s Gate, and where is the Well still called by her name. The Author has been favoured with a copy of that paper, by Miss Crosland, of Clare Hill, Huddersfield ; from which it would appear, that after the enlargement of the Parish Church, about 1522, by the erection of the spacious Nave, that Chapel, built by their ancestors, being no longer required, was taken down with the con- sent of the Parish, by Arthur Kaye, Esq., and John, his son, who makes the record; and the School-house erected on a site below with the materials. The same document relates, that with like consent, the old forms and seats were removed and the Church newly seated by the two Esquires; and “casten into four parts, as the Parish is, and dealt and divided and when complete, then lots were cast where every quarter of the Parish should sit when they came to Church, to avoid contention, viz: Honley, Farnley, and Meltham quarter in the north side, Almondbury next, then Crosland next to them, and Holmfirth quarter in the south.” This arrangement must have been before 1582, when Arthur Kaye died ; but we have no other account of the erection of the Nave, ex- cept the date of the poem around the top by Geferay Doyston, 1522, some fifty years after the alienation of the Rectory by Archbishop Rotherham. There can be no doubt that the families of Beau- mont, Kaye, Quarmby, Wodde and Ramsden, whose escutcheons

Page 103

HISTORY OF THE CHURCH. 7I

still adorn it, were great promoters of this important work. The massive Tower was probably of the same date. There is a tradition that a tumulus or mound existed at the west end where now the Clerk’s house stands; which may have been an ancient British sacred site, and led to the erection of the Church. BROKEN Cross and Fenay Cross, no longer visible, but their situation well known, were probably places or stations of preaching. Broken Cross, on the way between the Village and Castle Hill, was long the site of the Workhouse, and the property thereof belonging to the Parish was recently sold to Sir J. W. Ramsden by Authority of the Charity Commissioners. Near which is also an enclosure called ‘‘ Gallows Field,” where have been found round pits of hewn stone, similar to that of the Church; with ashes of bodies consumed ; remains of executions by fire, either of Martyrs, Criminals, or Witches. The Court of the Manor had the power of life and death. There appears to have been a place called Sr. House, from the Inquisition in 1584,* and one acre of land to the same appertaining within the Manor of Almondbury, sometime belonging to the service of St. Nicholas in the Church of Almond- bury, in the hands of the Crown, and paying 8s. 2d.¢ “Among the lands, &c., which had been held by the College of Rotherham, now the property of Nicholas Fenay, is included one bay of the Tithe barn, situated in the Hall yards, two Cottages called “the Personage,” one Cottage at the west end of the Steeple, built upon the grounds of the said Nicholas for the use of the Clarke of Almondbury, one tenement with land adjoining, called the Flatts, lying near the Fenay Cross, in the tenure of Robert Nettleton, one chamber and one parlour called the Priest-Chamber.” The Tithe barn here spoken of was placed to the north of the present Vicarage, and has boundary stones still marking the spot. It was sold in 1846, by the Clitheroe School, and taken down and a

* It is not improbable that St. Nicholas House stood between Broken Cross and Castle Hill. + Yorkshire Archeol. Trans. Vol, ui, p. 27.

Page 104

72 HISTORY OF THE CHURCH.

building erected called the “'Town Hall,” consisting of an upper chamber and two Cottages below. The Hall had been disused as such and converted into a Weaving Shop by Mr. Thomas Midgley, and the whole was purchased by the present Vicar in 1870 and fitted up as Residences for the Master and Mistresses of the new National School, which had been erected in 1846 by the late Vicar and others, and very near the Hall, on a site taken from the Fenay Estate. The Clerk’s Cottage seems to have been rebuilt in 1765, by Miss Jane Fenay, who founded the benefactions now called “Almondbury Poor Charity.” It is still occupied by the Parish Clerk, and bears the following inscription, interesting in these modern days of Temperance and Total abstinence effort. “1465, Built by Mrs. Jane Fenay for the Clerk, who ts not to sell Wine, Beer, or Spirituous liquor.” It is now occupied by Mr. W. Garner, Parish Clerk and Sexton. The Cottage is picturesque in itself, but stands in the way of a proposed avenue of trees or street of buildings, reaching to the Cemetery Road, which would display the west side of the Church Tower as its terminus; and the Cottage might be advantageously rebuilt, adjoining the School Terrace. The appointments of Vicar, continue after the Reformation, by the Governors of Clitheroe School. April, 1598, George Crosland, Clerk, M.A,, buried Septem. 30, 1636: followed by John Crosland, Clerk, M.A., who continued to about 1666. John Robinson, described in the Register as Vicar, from 1672 to 1683. The Rey. Carus Philipson, from 1683 to 1705 (omitted in Whittaker). His entries occur in the Churchwardens’ Accounts from 1693 to 1704, Richard Sclater, who died 1725. Edward Rishton, who died 1765. John Miller, 1767. Robert Smith, M.A., 1769, who rebuilt the Vicarage, 1784 till 1809; when he was succeeded by William Parker, who was also Incumbent of Marsden, and Perpetual Curate of Waddington, Lancashire. He was succeeded in 1818 by the Reverend John Fleming Parker, M.A. He was inducted Prebendary of Warthaewm, in Llandaff Cathedral in 1813. He was preferred to the Rectory of Bentham (near Lancaster), in

Page 105

HISTORY OF THE CHURCH. 73

1825. He died aged 80 years, at Waddington, on the 26th day of November, 1862. He was educated at Brasenose College, Oxford. He was ordained Deacon in 1805, by the Bishop of Gloucester, and Priest in 1806, by the Bishop, of Exeter. The Parker famity lived in the neighbourhood of Clitheroe and were the friends and patrons of the Rey. Lewis Jones. They did not reside on the living, indeed there had been no resident Vicar since Mr. Robert Smith. In Gough’s Camden (Brigantes vol iii, p. 280), we read, “At Waddington on the River Ribble, is a noble Hospital for ten poor widows, and a Chapel founded by Mr. Richard Parker.” The Reverend Walter Smith, M.A., of Magdalen College, Cambridge, was resident Curate under Messrs. Parker from 1796 to 1821, and was also Master of the Almondbury Grammar School from 1804 to his death. He was an excellent man; a member of the Elland Clerical Society, instituted at Huddersfield in 1768. He was succeeded by the Rev. Lewis Jones, first as Curate in 1821, and in 1824 as Vicar. Mr. J. F. Parker, finding the living only worth £100 per annum net, resigned it; and was succeeded by Mr. Jones, who, to obtain it, walked over to Clitheroe, staying on the way at the house of the Reverend William Morgan, B.D., Christ Church, Bradford, as the latter informed the Author. This was an instance of his walking powers, much exercised in the early years of his Vicariate. On one occasion, he used to tell, he was sent for to baptize a child, late in the Evening, at Blackmoorfoot, eight miles distant ; before any of the new Churches were erected.* It must not, however, be overlooked that in the past ages some further provision had been made by the erection: of the Ancient Chapels at Honley and Marsden, which existed before the Reformation ; and Meltham Chapel dedicated to St. Bartholomew,

* It is not improbable that this was an zzZentional infliction on the good Vicar ; who suffered much in gathering his dues ; as the Incumbents of Slaith- waite, little more than a mile distant, where most of the Church people then attended, visited that district. A similar case occurred in the case of the present Vicar: in reference to the most distant Township of the Great Parish.

Page 106

74. HISTORY OF THE CHURCH.

consecrated during the Cromwellian Republic by the Irish Bishop Tilson, in 1651. At Slaithwaite also was an ancient one, repaired in 1593 and again rebuilt in 1719, which served for four Townships ; Slaithwaite and Golcar, in Huddersfield, and Lingards and Linth- waite, in Almondbury; as Marsden did for both parts of its present parochial chapelry in those original Parishes; Holmfirth in like manner for parts of Kirkburton and Almondbury, and Long- wood Chapel was rebuilt about 1750, originally a private Chapel of the family at Milnsbridge house, and consecrated for parts of Linthwaite and Golcar, as well as its own Township and Quarmby. The very large new Church at Slaithwaite erected in 1789, had however made a still greater provision for the valley of the Colne, and was the scene of very great congregations from the first; but the description and history of all these subsidiary houses of God, will call for a separate portion of these Annals. It is to be feared that the spiritual history of Almondbury from the Reformation to the conclusion of the last Century, cannot be illustrated by names such as the Author has been able to record in the “ Annals of the Church in Slaithwaite ;” but the ordinary duties of Parish Priests were no doubt respectably performed, as the well kept registers amply prove. The Rev. Edward Rishton did not sympathize with the revival of Evangelical Religion by the early Methodists. Letters between him and the Archbishop of York on the subject, complaining of their innovations, have been published in the “Annals of Slaithwaite.” When Mr. John Wesley came to Huddersfield, he preached for Mr. Venn, and was so satisfied with what he was doing that he made no effort to form a society there; but he was not received at Almondbury, in consequence of which a society was formed here and remains in vigour still; almost the only form of separation which exists in the village itself, and being that of practical rather than theoretical dissent, very harmonious relations have been in general maintained with the Church. During Mr. Smith’s time and by his exertions, the original National School as well as the School at Hall Bower, were erected by Subscription, about 1818. The latter has long been used bya

Page 107

HISTORY OF THE CHURCH. 75

pious body of Teachers chiefly Nonconformists ; and the former has ultimately passed by purchase into the hands of the “Methodist. Free Church.” But larger National Schools were erected at Almondbury, and at Lowerhouses, Longley, about 1846, by the Rev. Lewis Jones, and continue in great efficiency, having been recently much enlarged. Mr. Jones introduced, when he became Vicar, several very faithful and laborious men, such as the Reverends Joseph Hughes and David James, into the Parish from his native Principality of Wales—and which received reflexive benefit by the establishment of a society of Clergy resident in Yorkshire, having the spiritual interests of Wales in view ; and which met on St. David’s day in every year for a long period, either at Almondbury, Meltham, or elsewhere in or near the Parish, including Slaithwaite, where the present Vicar was then resident, from 1839 to 1867; and being a native of Shrewsbury, within the ancient Principality of Powis, was privileged to be a member. The transactions of this Society appearing in the Welsh papers, were much noticed, and led to some improvements and promoted the appointment of Welsh Bishops, which had never been the case since the accession of the House of Hanover. Which unhappy circumstance was among the chief causes of Dissent in Wales. The Welsh Clergy were also in many respects suited by their native energy, eloquence, and familiarity with a hardy mountainous race, for the population of this part of the West Riding. In addition to the services of the Vicars before the time of Mr. Smith, there had been occasional Curates ; among whom wast he Rev. John Murgatroyd, Master of Slaithwaite School; who rode over every Sunday for some years. The Curates of the old Chapels at Honley, Marsden, Meltham, Slaithwaite, and Holm- firth, came over once a year, as appears from the Parish Accounts and officiated in turn; but we have no record of their doctrine or talent in general, except from the diaries of the Rev. Robert Meeke, already published, and of Mr. Murgatroyd; or with respect indeed to Meltham, in the History of that Village, by Mr. Hughes, are many interesting particulars.

Page 108

76 HISTORY OF THE CHURCH.

A new Era of Church Revival, Extension and Restoration commenced during the Vicariate of Mr. Jones. The Churches built under the Million Act, at Linthwaite, South Crosland, Netherthong, and Lockwood, were the first manifestations, and ° were followed by eleven others from private benevolence (of which accounts will hereafter be given), and Districts were partially assigned to them, which have been nearly all (nine) made into “new Vicarages” by the operation of Lord Blandford’s Act; and were recognised as such by the present Vicar on his accession in 1867. Mr. Jones had a vast amount of trouble and difficulty in collecting the Tithes and Easter Dues under the old law, and the living never produced more than £250 per annum. But on the CoMMUTATION OF TITHES and Easter Dues, Fees, Mortuaries, &c., it was fixed and considerably augmented at an expense of £500, charged on the living and repaid by him and his successor. The fees were also largely diminished by the operation of the Marriage and Burial Acts, and the claims of the Incumbents of the new parishes for the commuted Easter Dues and Fees, were surrendered by the present Vicar, on the opinions of Mr. Traill and Mr. Teale, subject to any further judgment, which has not been given. But this surrender and the above circumstances, have, with the agitation of The Liberation Society, reduced the net produce to little more than the income before the Commutation. It is hoped that the operation of the recent Act for the Redemption of Tithes, may be carried out, so as to render the income, if not larger, more certain, and free from the painful necessity of legal enforcement by distraint, almost the only remedy provided by the law. In the meantime the Vicars and Incumbents, and their able Curates have gone on “through evil report and good report” in promoting the religious, moral, and social improvement of all parts of the Parish. There has been a remarkable harmony of sentiment and feeling existing between the Clergy, promoted very much by another Association. “THE ALMONDBURY CLERICAL originated in 1828, by the Rev. George Hough, the first Incumbent of South Crosland, with the concurrence of Mr. Jones

Page 109

HISTORY OF THE CHURCH. 77

and the few other Clergy then in the great Parish, and which Society still exists in vigour, and is held at twelve Vicarages monthly, in succession. Mr. Hough continued the laborious and able Secretary for fifty years, and has lately departed to his rest amidst universal respect and regret. He is succeeded as Secretary by the Rev. George Edwin Wilson, M.A., his former Curate, and successively Vicar of Linthwaite and St. John’s Church, Hudders.- field. A valuable Record of the discussions was made and° read monthly; from which, it is hoped, some Extracts may be published. With an agreeable diversity of individual character, there has been, and is, a very general agreement on the subject of Evangelical Doctrine and Protestant Ritual. The agitations on account of Church Rates having ended in an entire abandonment of that form of support; there was a partial restoration of the Parish Church in the year 1840 (immediately rendered necessary by lightning, which struck one of the pinnacles and broke through the roof), effected by Subscription amounting to £250 14s. 6d. As:a Record of the names of the friends of the Church, the List is: appended. Nearly all are now passed away to their rest, but “their works do follow them,” and some of them and their descendants were the warmest supporters of the recent restoration. The great increase of population during the last and present century, before the erection of the new Churches, had been partially met by the erection of Galleries. ‘The Church had also been pewed ; and altogether, the primitive simplicity and beauty of the structure encumbered and darkened. License was granted to erect a Gallery November 3, 1756; again May 5th, 1797, and November, 1828, a faculty to erect Galleries and make other alterations. Several private faculties were also procured at different times ; all of which were, however, overruled by the faculty for Restoration in 1872; when the Galleries were removed and the body of the Church made free. The Residence of the Rev. Walter Smith, M.A,, as Curate, was rendered interesting by the fact that, besides being Master of the

Page 110

78 HISTORY OF THE CHURCH.

Grammar School, he received young men as pupils, several of whom were Candidates for the sacred Ministry, and who, after- wards, became useful in the Church. Among these were the Rey. J. G. Breay, of Birmingham, whose memoirs have been published. John Hope, of Southowram, Richard Ebenezer Leach, of Holm- firth, and Joseph Walker, who became eighth Wrangler at Cambridge. He afterwards went to Oxford, having obtained by competition a Fellowship open to either University; became Fellow and Lecturer of Brasenose; and succeeded to a College living. The Sunday Schools and a Juvenile Church Missionary Association were ably carried on by Mr. Smith, his family, and pupils; among the former was Mr. Edmund Smith, Surgeon, of Ilkley Wells; and the latter, Mr. Edward Clay, now of London, the late Mr. James Crosland Fenton, Solicitor, of Lockwood, and Mr. Richard Armitage, now of Scarborough.* There was frequent intercourse with Dewsbury ; where, under the Rev. John Buckworth, the Vicar, a similar body of young men were being trained for the Church, and especially the Missionary work ; among whom was Bishop Corrie, of Madras, whose Memoirs have also been published by his brother, Dr. Corrie, the present Master of Jesus College, Cambridge. Such were the circumstances under which Mr. Jones commenced his Ministry in Almondbury ; where, despite all the spiritual work that had been done, much infidelity and moral deadness existed ; and throughout the wide extent of the Parish there was a call for more Churches and Ministers—he heard it, and how faithfully, diligently, and successfully he obeyed the message and fulfilled

* The Author is indebted to Richard Armitage, Esquire, born at Deadmanstone, and long a resident and Churchwarden of Almondbury, but now of Scarborough, for this and much other information relative to this period. He is also informed by Miss Crosland, that Canon Hedon, who lately died at the age of 102, was under Mr. Smith’s care as Student. He was son of the Bishop of Bath and Wells. He told the Queen that the secret of his health was that he never was in bed later than five in the morning, nor up later than ten at night. Never did any brain work after dinner; nor wore a

great coat.

Page 111

HISTORY OF THE CHURCH. 79

his own Ministry is briefly summed up on his Monument. Mr, Jones entered on his charge at thirty years of age. Forty three years of such labours found him still in vigour, and when he was suddenly called away, he had made some preparation, by obtaining plans, for the great’ work of Church Restoration, which it has been the privilege of his successor, who for above thirty years enjoyed his friendship, to carry out; sustained indeed by the liberal response and continued support of all ranks of his parishioners and friends, beginning with the humblest. was their zeal, with decent care, Its high vault to adorn ;

They could not brook the house of prayer, Their negligence should mourn.”—C. A. H.

The Athenians broke and cast out of the City, the exquisite Statue of Minerva which Phidias had made; because they found that he had carved his own image upon it. Mr. Jones never wrote his own history, recorded his own works, or impressed his name upon them. ‘They however survive ; and “by them he, being dead, yet speaketh.” Which habit, although creditable to his humility, is inconvenient to the historian. The third part of this Work is intended to give some account of the Ancient Chapels, and also the New Churches, Schools, and Par- sonages which were erected by his labours and influence during his Ministry, and subsequently. We shall merely, at present, add the testimony of a clergyman, recently deceased, the Reverend Thomas James, B.D., Vicar of Netherthong, and one of the Welsh Clergy. ‘The Reverend Lewis Jones was appointed Vicar of Almondbury at the early age of 28 years, and was resident in the Parish during the remainder of his life. To rectify what he found amiss, was a work accomplished by him with difficulty. The duties required in so extensive a Parish were most onerous ; but at no time were neglected. He evidently was sent on a Special Mission to perform what was much needed ; namely, to provide facilities for spiritual and educational improvement for the remote parts of this populous Parish. He was the means of building within his Parish, with the assistance of his Parishioners, no less

Page 112

80 HISTORY OF THE CHURCH.

than 14 Churches, 13 Parsonage Houses, and 20 Schools. He, for 43 years, laboured unceasingly and willingly in his Cure, and went to his rest as Vicar of Almondbury.” Notes by the same diligent scholar respecting former Vicars will be appended. The last public act of his life, was to be present at the laying of the first stone of the Church at Shelley, in the Parish of Kirk- burton, by the Earl of Dartmouth, on the Thursday previous to his decease; which occurred on Sunday, August 26th, 1866, of cholera; not unconnected with the surrounding circumstances of his residence. Among the important Works which he achieved was, about the year 1850, the Commutation into a Rent Charge of all the TITHES of the 13 Townships of which the Great Parish is composed, except Honley, which had been compensated for by a grant of Land, when Honley Moor was inclosed by Act of Parliament in 1788. The Easter Dues, Fees, Mortuaries, &c., were also Com- muted into a Rent Charge; in all except part of Honley and Mel- tham, with consent of two-thirds of the owners, viz. :— Tithes. Easter Dues.

Almond 09 100 O O 6H 130 4 Mag-Lordship in Honley ...... 13, O%.0 nets = 15 Oo 815 ELON eee 701, © B15) 10 40 o 8 269) 60 Lockwood or North Crosland 36 o 31° 62 8 2 Marsden s 30 14.00 tn 1 ss 0.0 tees L502 80 200) I2 10 O 16 By OF 10 Barnley 2h ovo 6 00 South Crosland 30 5a 5

£375 o 7 £196 1 O-571 IF O The expenses of this great work amounted to 4509, which sum was advanced by Mr. Jones, and charged on the living; to be re- paid by annual instalments, with interest, in 20 years. Of which he lived to discharge 15; and the remaining five were paid by his successor, with interest, to his executors.

Page 113

B94 nt

Av

ngavowy

a

V

Page 114

a ee wee Toe ts ks 2 Lae fee Ae ei wee tae = oy Sta eee oe

cm. it tas 7 -_

is a iy a Ys és see Fah ' prs yt SEA oh, fe

Pa ee)

AER,

Page 115

HISTORY OF THE CHURCH. 81

The difficulties experienced in collecting these very numerous— about three thousand—payments; and the claims of the New Parishes, have already been alluded to in the last Chapter. The Ecclesiastical Districts of which the Incumbents have now become titular Vicars, and their Cures, New Parishes, are,—Lockwood, Armitage Bridge, Milnsbridge, Linthwaite, Holmbridge, Nether- thong, Upperthong, South Crosland, and Meltham Mills; by voidance of the living on the decease of Mr. Jones. Meltham, by arrangement with the present Vicar, in 1874. Rashcliffe, in Lockwood, and Newsome, in the portion of Almondbury assigned to Lockwood, became thus constituted by the decease of the Rev. Thomas Barton Bensted, M.A., Rector and Patron, Jan. 1st, 1878. Honley and Marsden will become separate at the next avoid- ance of Almondbury; each having had a district assigned by the Queen in Council. Brockholes Church is at present within the Chapelry District of Honley ; and Wilshaw Church has a District taken from Meltham, Netherthong, and Upperthong. The patronage of the Ancient Chapels of Honley and Marsden, and of the Churches of Lockwood, Linthwaite, Netherthong, and South Crosland, built by Grants and Act of Parliament; and of Milnsbridge and Holmbridge, built by Subscription, is vested in the Vicar of Almondbury alone; as also Brockholes, erected by Miss M. A. Armitage, who likewise gave £ 1000 towards Milnsbridge Church. Armitage Bridge Church, founded by John Brooke, Esq., and Helme, by the family of Charles Brook, Sen., Esq., of Healey House, both deceased, are vested in their heirs and the Vicar conjointly. Farnley Tyas, erected by the late William, Earl of Dartmouth, is in the patronage of the present Lord; and Meltham Mills, in the representatives of the late Charles Brook, Esq., of Meltham and Enderby. Wilshaw, in Mrs. Joseph Hirst, relict of the founder. Upperthong, erected and endowed under Sir Robert Peel’s Act, is in the alternate patronage of the Crown and the Bishop. Newsome and Rashcliffe in the Rector of Lockwood ; which title was obtained by the purchase of a small portion of Rectorial Tithe ; which is now held by Sir J. W. Ramsden. The Township of Lingards has always formed part of the Chapelry of

Page 116

82 HISTORY OF THE CHURCH.

Slaithwaite, which is in the gift of the Vicar of Huddersfield, as Marsden in Huddersfield has always been held with Marsden in Almondbury; and has been, as such, included in the Chapelry District granted by the Queen in Council in 1867, without prejudice to the patronage of the Vicar of Almondbury. They are all filled by active, pious and devoted Incumbents. The Shares of the Commuted Easter Dues surrendered and hitherto paid to the new Vicars, amount to £137 2s. 8d. The whole are subject to Poor Rates, Highway and Local Board Rates, expenses of Collection, and in the Borough of Huddersfield, the heavy Rates imposed by the Corporation; all on the Gross Amount, whether received or not. The surrender of Easter Dues, &c., has not been recognised by the Vicar of Huddersfield, and the question is still sab During Mr. Jones remaining years, after the Commutation, the Tithes, &c., were fairly paid; but the present Vicar has sustained much difficulty—including two tedious actions of Replevin and for False Distress. Which, however, were decided in the County Court of Huddersfield, in favour of the Vicar and his Bailiff, on all the issues, with costs, March 24th, 1877. Such were the circumstances under which the present Vicar entered on his Cure. The living had been sequestered on the decease of Mr. Jones, and the Churchwardens, J. F. Brigg and Edward Dyson, Esquires, provided for the Services’ during the Vacancy ; which extended until the full limit of six months; when the living was kindly and spontaneously offered by Sir J. W. Ramsden, Bart., the Patron, to Canon Hulbert, and accepted by him February 26th, 1867 (being then Perpetual Curate of Slaith- waite-cum-Lingards) ; with the approbation of the Lord Bishop of Ripon, who granted an extension of time, without lapse, for the purpose. The state of the Vicarage House and the unexpected nature of the appointment, rendered it impracticable for the new Vicar to enter on immediate residence. He, therefore, placed his third Son, the late Rev. Reginald Mottershead Hulbert, B.A., then recently ordained with a view to Missionary Work, into the Curacy, which he held until September, 1872.

= ee ee ee

SO ei 4S

Page 117

HISTORY OF THE CHURCH. 83

Mr. Jones, during the latter years of his life, had been without the assistance of a Curate. There had been a Mission Work com-nenced, in the time of the Rev. David James, in 1836, at Lowerhouses, Longley—a Sunday School and Library instituted in a Private House. In 1846, a neat School and Master’s House were erected; in which a National School was conducted; but the Sunday School and Divine Service had become extinct; in consequence of his having no Assistant in the Ministry. When Mr. Jones died, he had designed their revival, and the residence of the Curate in the School House. The Services of the Church were only in Morning and Afternoon; and there were none in the Week. ‘There had been one for many years in the Old Workhouse at Broken Cross, on Sunday Evenings, conducted by Mr. Jones and his Curate—but that establishment had been broken up; and the Vicar, single handed, found the Surplice duties and other engagements fully to occupy his time. The original National School had been lent to a body of Wesleyan Reformers, when the new National School was erected, near the Church, on condition that it should be kept in repair and delivered up whenever required for the use of the Church. The Sunday Schools connected with which were in a vigorous condition; and during the long and trying period of the six months vacancy of the living, the family of the late Vicar, residing in the Vicarage, with the worthy Superintendents and other devoted Teachers, continued their services ; and called forth the grateful acknowledge- ments of the new Incumbent. The Day Schools were not in a flourishing state, and a change was soon necessary. ‘The new resi- dent Curate entered into all these matters, and on the house to house Visitation very earnestly. The new Vicar came over from Slaithwaite, as often as possible on Sundays and Week-days; and found himself very kindly and hospitably received on all such occasions, during the interval before his actual residence. The five Biennial Reports issued in 1869, 71, 73, 75, 77, and the sixth, which it is proposed to issue during the present year, 1879, will give the details of the subsequent history of the Parish, and which it is desirable that those who possess them should have bound up with this publication.

Page 118

84 HISTORY OF THE CHURCH.

A brief summary is all that can here be given. It must, however, be premised that, in the year 1861, a Cemetery was provided by the Ratepayers of the Church District, on a hill, situate to the west of the Church and National Schools; and which, when duly inclosed, was divided into two portions for the use of the Church and other denominations respectively. The former was licensed by the then Lord Bishop of Ripon, Dr. Charles Thomas Longley, and is now nearly full—the Burials having been in the proportion of 6 to 1, between the Church and the general interments; besides those still solemnized in~ the Churchyard, which were limited to Graves and Vaults already made, although a large space continued unoccupied. A compen- sation of One Shilling and Sixpence on each interment in the Consecrated part of the Cemetery—and One Shilling, the original Fee for Burial of inhabitants, were settled and confirmed by the Bishop. Such is the amount still patd—although at a Vestry Meeting held at Easter, 1868, on the application of the late Mr. Benjamin Dawson, the person generally officiating in the Dissenting part, the Fee for Burial was, with the consent of the Vicar, raised to Half-a-Crown; which is received by the Trustees of the Wesleyan Chapel; where the Services for the Nonconforming bodies are held. A good Entrance Road to the Cemetery was conceded by the late Earl of Dartmouth, Sir John William Ramsden’s Trustees, and those of the late B. N. R. Batty, Esq., and the Avenue planted with the same consents, but not duly conveyed. As there is no Cemetery Chapel, Funerals in the Consecrated part are first assembled in the Church; from which it is desirable that a direct road should be formed by means of the Street or Road, already suggested, commencing from the Church Tower to the present Cemetery Road. The minds of the principal Parishioners were, in 1867, chiefly directed to the completion of the new approach from Huddersfield, since called SomMERSET ROAD ; the Restoration of the Church was therefore deferred ; and the state of the Vicarage House was the next object of attention.

Page 119

HISTORY OF THE CHURCH. 85

It had no good approach, was surrounded with ruinous, inferior and offensive buildings—and no Kitchen Garden or space for one, in the rear. A Subscription was immediately raised for the improvement of the House and its surroundings, on which £675 were expended ; by Contribution of the Earl of Dartmouth, Sir J. W. Ramsden, and other principal Proprietors, the Vicar, and his friends, in 1867 and 68. Again in 1870, the adjoining Barn, Buildings and open space, about a quarter of an Acre, were purchased from the Trustees of the late Benjamin N. R. Batty for 4507 12s. 4d., and £374 further expended in enlargement and completion of the Vicarage and adjoining Cottage and Buildings. For which purposes some isolated portions of land at Honley, producing £2 12s., were sold, with the due consents, for £192, and 4500 borrowed from the Governors of Queen Anne’s Bounty, on Mortgage of the living; to be returned by thirty Annual Instalments, with interest at four per cent. Sir J. W. Ramsden gave a further 4100; the Trustees of Mr. Batty, 450; the Vicar and other friends the rest, £489. Of this 4500 the Vicar has repaid £137; besides interest for nine years. The present debt being £363, with interest—and any profits which may be derived from this publication will be devoted to this object. The total cost has been £1695, of which the Patron has contributed £250 ; other friends, £430; the Vicar, £200; besides returning eight- thirtieths (£16 13s. 4d. each) of the money borrowed, and nine years interest of the same—diminishing from £20 to £14 18s. 11d. Total cost to the Vicar, 4570 ; who hopes that his successors may enter into the spirit of good Herbert’s inscription at Bemerton.*

* Isaac Walton, in his Memoir of the Rev. George Herbert, says,—‘* He then began to rebuild the greatest part of the Parsonage House, which he did also very completely, and at his own charge; and, having done the good work, he caused these verses to be writ upon, or engraven in, the Mantle of the

Chimney in his hall.” To My SUcCEssor.

If thou chance to find A new house to thy mind, And built without thy cost ; Be good to the poor As God gives thee store, And then my labour’s not lost.

Page 120

86 HISTORY OF THE CHURCH.

When Sir Arthur Wellesley succeeded the brave but unfortunate Si John Moore, in driving out the French from Portugal—who had almost driven Moore into the sea—he entrenched himself at Torres Vedras, before he commenced his compaign. The Vicar in like manner having, in this sense, now “set his own house in order ;” he commenced operations with regard to Education, and increased means of Divine Worship. The Central National School was found inadequate to its requirements, a separate Infants’ School and better accommodation for Master and Mistress were wanted. Our first resource was the Old National School, in the hands of the New Wesleyans ; this we found was held under a Deed of Trust, dated 1818, of which only one Lay Trustee remained alive—the late Mr. James Bennett, Surgeon, who was then living at York. With his consent we applied to the Charity Commissioners for a New Scheme of possession and management, which was obtained August 14th, 1868. Vesting the property in the Vicar and Churchwardens of Almondbury and their successors for ever. The Vicar then claimed either possession or a rent, as the premises were required for the purposes of the School. A claim was then set up by the occupying body, as having been originally erected by general subscription, but eventually the Minister of the Free Church” acknowledged that we had “a moral as well as legal right to it.” And after the publication of the original deed and new Scheme in the Vicar’s First Biennial Report, the Body proposed to purchase it “for religious and educational purposes.” It was, therefore, valued and sold to them for £110 ; being £40 less than the valuation, in consideration of the original objects and the limitation to the same. It is to be regretted that an inscription on an oval stone, in front, recording that it was erected by subscription, with the words of King George III: “ May every child in my kingdom be able to read the Bible,” were erased, and ‘“ MetrHopist FREE CHURCH, 1870,” inserted instead, surmounted with a Cross. Many Churchmen subscribed towards the purchase. The proceeds became part of a fund for purchasing another

Page 121

HISTORY OF THE CHURCH. 87

building called the Town Hall, originally the site of the Tithe Barn, already mentioned—which was effected. Subscriptions were raised. The Old Master’s House was converted into Class Rooms ; additional Playground obtained by purchase from the Trustees of Mr. Batty, who had originally conveyed the site of the Schools, and on the passing of the Education Act, in 1870, grants were obtained from the Government, the National Society, and the Ripon Diocesan Society, for the enlargement and improvement of the Schools and School residences; and the whole work was completed at a cost of £732, and entirely cleared of debt in 1873. The saying of King George was inscribed over the Residences on a Memorial Stone. The School at Lowerhouses, Longley, underwent a similar enlargement in 1873, limited only by the Government Grant, ona . site freely conveyed on lease, for 999 years, by Sir John Wm. Ramsden, at one shilling rent. The whole cost was £375, and was fully defrayed by grants and subscriptions. But a further enlargement is now called for, by increasing number of scholars ; and likewise as a place of Worship, until a new Church can be erected. Divine Worship has been there carried on for about twelve years by the Vicar and his Curates ; aided by Contributions from Sir J. W. Ramsden, £50; J. Day, Esq., £20; and the late Church Extension Fund, Huddersfield, £25. But the last Insti- tution has ceased to exist, being constituted only for ten years. The subject of the RESTORATION OF THE PARISH CHURCH, now came to the front. The matter had indeed been discussed ata Vestry Meeting on Easter Monday, 1870. On the motion of Mr. Brigg, seconded by Mr. J. R. Sykes (deceased), it was resolved : “That it is desirable to restore the Parish Church, and make better arrangement of the Churchyard, and repair the South Wall which is in a dangerous state, and that a Committee be formed for the purpose of the above improvement, and to raise, if possible, £4,000 by subscription.” This sum has eventually been more than doubled in expenditure and contributions—and there remains (October, 1879) a debt unprovided for of about £700, towards which £350 are promised, if the rest can be raised.

Page 122

88 HISTORY OF THE CHURCH.

The History of the Restoration would form a chapter of itself. _ The first Meeting for carrying out the purpose was held at the Vicarage, July 12th, 1871, the Vicar in the chair ; and there were present Messrs. Edward Dyson and Lister Dyson, Churchwardens; Timothy Cudworth and Ephraim Mellor, Sidesmen; and Mr. Joshua Joseph Henry Taylor, Honorary Organist. The Vicar laid before the Meeting a statement of the cost of the Restoration of the Vicarage, and the improvement of the National Schools ; and that these businesses and the new road to Huddersfield being nearly finished, the ground was clear for some effort towards the Restoration of the ancient Parish Church. It was reported by the Vicar that he was acquainted with an intended donation of £200 from a friend. The late Edmund Smith, Esq., left A100 to the Church, which was in the Huddersfield Banking Company’s hands, bearing interest payable to the Churchwardens. A donation also from James Rusby, Esq., F.S.A., of London, was also reported. A gentleman, whose family having resided at Birks 200 years ago, he has since given the Vicar the benefit of his great research among the Manuscripts of the British Museum and Record Office. It was resolved to write to Mr. Crossland, Architect, to inquire as to the’ plans prepared by him in the late Vicar’s time, and the probable cost. A public Meeting was called for the rgth inst. to carry out the resolution of the Vestry Meeting—when it was moved by the Honourable Captain Legge, and seconded by Mr. J. J. H. Taylor: “That a Committee be formed for the purpose of the above improvement, and to raise, if possible, the sum of 44,000 by subscription ;” and carried unanimously. The Village was then divided into districts, to be canvassed for subscriptions before any external appeal was made; and very soon 4300 was reported as promised, chiefly by working men, to be paid by annual instalments in three years. With this expression of the desire of the people to “help themselves,” the Committee were able to call on other friends; and the appeal was very generously responded to by Thomas Brooke, Esq., of Armitage Bridge, and Charles Brook, Esq, of Meltham Hall, each promising 4300;

Page 123

HISTORY OF THE CHURCH. 89

and Mr. Brooke undertaking to be the Treasurer. Edward Dyson, Esq., surrendered a Faculty for a private pew, and promised a donation of 450. Other donations quickly followed; and Weekly Meetings were held, until 42796 were secured. A General Committee was elected March 2nd, 1872, consisting of the Vicar and Church- wardens, the Rev. William Bainbridge Calvert, M.A., Vicar of Huddersfield and Rural Dean, the Honourable Captain Legge, George and Joseph Taylor Armitage, Thomas, William, and John Arthur Brooke, Edward Brook, John Flgg Brigg, John Day, Joseph Hirst, and Jere Kaye, Esquires; the Rev. Thomas Barton Bensted, M.A., Rector of Lockwood, Thomas Allen, James William Carlile, Edward Dyson, George Dyson, Thomas Dunder- dale, R. H. Graham, Edward Hallas, C. W. Keighley, Frederick Robert Jones, senior, Robert Scott, John Edward, Joshua Joseph Henry and Richard Beaumont Taylor, Esquires, and the Rev. Cutfield Wardroper—being officially or as principal Subscribers, interested in the work, A Building Committee was chosen there- from ; and the consent of the Lay Impropriators, including Sir John William Ramsden, was obtained, who all generally approved the plans. Sir John made a special request that the woodwork should be of Oak. A faculty was applied for to the Bishop. after another Vestry Meeting, at which the plans were approved and an instruction given to the Committee ‘‘to lower the Churchyard as much as possible without undue interference with, or disturbance of human remains.” This instruction has been carefully attended to, and a plan of the position of every Vault and Gravestone within the Church or outside, if affected by the operations, made and preserved. After all the requisite forms and consents had been complied with, the for the Restoration of the Church, and the reconstruction of the Pew accommodation on the Free and Unappropriated principle, except in the Chancel; on which condition Joseph Hirst, Esq., had given £250; was granted at a Court held at Ripon, August 29th, 1872. The Works were let and proceeded with—after closing Services and Sermons by the Revs. Arthur Brook, W. B. Calvert, Edmund Snowden, and

Page 124

go HISTORY OF THE CHURCH.

N. R. Lloyd, Sept. 5th, and following days. At the request of T. L. Reed, Esq., the ancient Pew in the South Aisle, with Latin inscription, corresponding to those in Fenay Hall, was to be preserved, but without exemption from the general rule of the faculty. The work of Restoration was first limited to the Nave, Tower, and Aisles; and the Chancel, being walled off, was fitted up for Divine Worship, and was so used until the completion of the Nave. Sir John Wm. Ramsden had given a kind of challenge to the Vicar, that if he could prove that his ancestors had been buried in the Chancel he would be the at expense of its restoration. This was done by evidence derived from Testamentary directions in the Will Office, at York, as far back as 1517. And on the eighth Anniversary of the Nomination of the Vicar, February 26th, 1875, it was announced that this valuable help would be afforded; and it has been carried out, with the addition of the East Windows, at a cost of above £2,000. In the meantime the Nave, Tower, Aisles, and New Porch, being complete and fitted up, the Church was partially re-opened, on Wednesday, 25th March, 1874; when sermons were preached by the Right Reverend Bishop Ryan, Vicar of Bradford, and the Rev. Francis Pigou, M.A., Vicar of Doncaster; followed on successivé days by the Revs. Edmund Snowden, Joshua Ingham Brooke, William Ridley, George Hough, and George Charles Brownlow Madden, and £131 collected. A distinct fund was now opened for the Restoration and Enlargement of the Chancel and Side Chapels ; the accomplish- ment of which was duly effected. But, there remaining a considerable debt (about £1,400 out of £4,070) due to the Treasurer on the original fund, a Bazaar or Sale of Ladies’ Work was held in the Armoury, Huddersfield, June 22nd to 26th, 1875, which produced about A800 net. The restoration of the remainder of the Church was then proceeded with; and finally completed in November, 1876. Andon Monday, the 27th of that month, the re-opening of the Chancel and Chapels was celebrated, when a new Surpliced Choir officiated. ‘The sermons were preached by the Lord Bishop of Ripon (Dr. Bickersteth), the Very Rev. Dr.

Page 125

HISTORY OF THE CHURCH. gI

Fremantle, Dean of Ripon; and a series of services and sermons by Revs. J. Ingham Brooke, Canon Hulbert, Canon Calvert, W. H. Girling, and G. C. B. Madden ; after which Collections were made and Subscriptions received, amounting to about £250. The Ringers, as before named, had presented Two Bells—the Church- yard Wall was repaired by the Burial Board, by authority of the Secretary of State ;.the Organ and the Clock repaired and improved. Of all which subscriptions and donations, with the subsequent gifts of Windows, Gates, and Skreens, particulars will be appended; much of which has, however, been already anticipated in the description of the Church. And although there still remains a debt of £750 on the whole expenditure of £8,500, towards which £350 is promised on condition of the rest being raised, it is a matter of unfeigned gratitude and satisfaction that so much has been done, without any accident cr injury, except from a high wind ; so much willingly subscribed; and that the whole work is universally acknowledged to be worthy of the character of the Architect—a pupil of Sir Gilbert Scott—and the workmen employed. Still more that it has conduced to the revival of Old English Church feeling, and the free and frequent attendance of all ranks on the services of the sanctuary. The following Poem was'sung with enthusiasm by the whole congregation, several times, on the occasion of the second re-opening, to a chant derived from the Dead March in Saul.

THE CHURCH OF OUR FATHERS. Our Holy and our beautiful House where our Fathers pratsed God.

Wuy should I wander from the ways My wise forefathers trod, Or in these cold degenerate days Forsake the Church of God?

They loved the venerable dome, Where still their ashes lie; The Saint’s abode, the Martyr’s home, The portal of the Sky.

For there, upon their infant brow, The Cross’s sign was made; The token of the Christian’s vow, Till death to be obey’d.

Page 126

g2

HISTORY OF THE CHURCH.

And there their youthful lips had joined The plaintive Psalm to raise ; And there they bent with lowly mind, To mingle prayer with praise. There did their faltering accents plight Their vows of mutual faith ; There did the white-robed priest unite Their hands and lives till death.

There, constant in their well-loved place, Each Sabbath saw them throng, With reverent step and serious face, The sounding aisles along.

They loved the floor their fathers trod For many an age long past ; It was the ancient house of God, From age to age to last.

Great was their zeal, with decent care, Its high vault to adorn ; They could not brook the house of prayer Their negligence should mourn.

The Table of the Lord they sought, Each festival of love ; Their gifts, but most their hearts, they brought To yield to God above.

They heard with humble thankfulness, What Christ for them achieved ; Our fathers heard in ancient days, And simply taught, believed. They lived in unity and peace, No party discord knew ; Like angel-bands in holiness, And ready service too. Yet, in the hour of trial brave, When persecution came, They fought the fight their Church. to save, And dared the martyr’s flame.

And since the same blest truth is ours For which they fought and bled, And the same Holy Spirit pours His unction on our head ;

Page 127

HISTORY OF THE CHURCH. 93

Since the same blest Communion joins Our hearts which blended theirs ; The same sweet service still combines Our common wants and prayers ;

Why should we leave the holy ways Our wise forefathers trod ; Or in these cold degenerate days, Forsake the Church of God !

And now, with all the ransom’d host, The Church in earth and heaven ; To Father, Son and Holy Ghost Be endless praises given.—C. A. H.*

LIST OF RECTORS AND VICARS. The following Notes were partly prepared by the late Rev. Thomas James, for the Yorkshire Archzological Journal, and sent by Fairless Barber, Esq., F.S.A., Secretary, to the Rev. Canon Raine, of York, for correction ; to whom the Author is indebted for them, and many valuable additions from Torre’s List and other sources, made by him. The extracts from the Registers had been transcribed by the late Mr. John Nowell of Farnley Wood, who in 1863-66 made a most admirable copy of the first Register, 1557 to 1652. The accuracy of which was tested by the late Rev. Alfred Easther, M.A., Head Master of King James’ School. The original, on paper, being much dilapidated, but it is preserved in a Tin Box. The Author has added other extracts from the Registers.

* This poem was founded on circumstances occurring when the Author was Incumbent of Slaithwaite, particularly the one alluded to in page 67. That young wanderer had become a regular attendant at Church ; but on the last Sunday afternoon in the year, on his way to Church, when the Reservoir was frozen over, he called on one of his former infidel friends, who persuaded him to go with him and slide on the ice; which he did. The ice broke and he was engulphed. The preacher observed a sensation at the end of the Church—he was preaching on the Barren Fig Tree—and on descending the pulpit he learned the sad fact. The body lay in the water all night, and a special Service was held in the Schoolroom ; he was taken out next morning with his Hymn Book in his pocket. Alas! that he forsook the place of his REsT!

Page 128

94 HISTORY OF THE CHURCH.

DATE. NAME. PATRON. OccasIONn. RECTORS. 10 Kal Ap., 1231 de Notyland. John de Lacy. Constable of Chester. 10 Kal July, 1236 ,, Robt. de Notyngham, fuit Rector in 1258. M.A. 11 1287 ,, Ric. de Halton. 10 July, 1313 35) Aci 5 Kal. Rob. de Wadeword. 15 Decr., 1318 » Ric. de St. Alban.

Before 1327 », Will Stemertanbyne—in Inquisitione Edw. III. 16 Mar., 1349 », Adam de Scargill. 17 Nov., 1361 ,, Hugh de Saxton. . 23 June, 1363 », Wm. de Woderove. 10 Feb., 1364 Peter de Wellom. 1307 », John de Allum.

9 Augt., 1422 », Lho. Wodeford. 14 April, 1423 », Lho. Morton. >, Wm. Felter.

6 July, 1451 ,, Robt. Thornton. *2 Oct., 1457 », Rob. Flemyng—S.T.B. Rex, ratione Duc. Lancaster. Post Mortem Thornton. VICARS.

June 30, 1488.—Thurstan Kay, Cap. Warden and Fellows of Rotherham College. Robert Neville, S.T.B., Provost of Rotherham College and Rector of Ordsall. Rotherham College—post mortem. March 27, 154.—Richard Draper, Do. By the Assignee’s Letter p.m.

* Notes by Canon Raine. Wm. Spencer, Prior of Warter-on-Kempe, 8 July, 1451, institut. Mr. Robt. Thornton in dec. vac. in Rect. de Almondbury, p-m. Mr. Wm. Felter; pres. by Sir John Savil, Knt., by reason of a Grant from the King as Duke of Lancaster. Wm. Booth, M.A., 12 Oct., 1457, inst. Mr. Robt. Flemyng, S.T.B., in rect. de Almondesbury, p.m. Mr. Rob. Thornton, pres. Regis in person. Dom. Robt. Sprotley, Capellani. 1443—4. License of non-residence to Mr. Rob. Flemyng, A.M., Rector of Crofton and Methley. He resigns these 1451. 21 Oct., 1446. Commission to Mr. Robert Thornton, Dec. 6, to live eyond the bounds and limits of the Parish of Thornhill.

Page 129

HISTORY OF THE CHURCH. 95

June 14, 1552.—Gabriel Raynes M.A. By the King, Edward VI, by deprivation. June 14, 1554.—Robert Northam. Queen Mary. Register commences in 1557. November 1, 1557.—Robert Staynton. Queen Elizabeth, 1597. Sepultus xiij° die Martis, 80 annos natus, 1597. April 13, 1598.—George Crosland. By Wm. Kaye, patron, hac vice. Sepult Sept. 30, 1636. John Crosland. By Clitheroe School. Sepult. Jan. 13th, 1644. February 14, 1647. Thomas Naylor, M.A. June 13, 1663.—John Robinson. Ordained Priest by Arch- bishop Solwen, June 14, 1663. Inducted Sep. 14 by Hen. Hirst. 23 Mar., 1682—3.—Carus Philipson, by the Governors of Clitheroe School. Inducted by George Crosland, Clerk, Mar. 26. Ordained Deacon by John, Bp. of Chester, 6 Aug. 1671; and Priest by the same 14 June, 1674. From Almondbury Register, Sepultus Jan. 1705.* 26 Mar., 1706.—Thomas Tatham, by Governors. Sepult. May 18°, Anno 1714. Inducted by Tho. Heald, March 29, post mortem Philipson. Ordained Priest by the Bp. of Chester, 25 Sept., 1682. 25 June, 1716.—Rich. Sclater, A.B., by Governors, p.m. Tatham. Sepult. Sep. 8, Anno 1726.

* Mr. Philipson’s Widow continued to live in part of the Vicarage, and kept the plate and linen in order, see Churchwardens’ Accounts. Her daughter gave most of the Church Plate, see page 34.. The Register of her burial is difficult to decipher, it describes her in glowing colours. 1703, Anna. f. Cari Philipson hujus Ecclesize Vicarii, Virgo pia. modesta, virtutibus, artibus ingenuis et gratiis decorata, hanc vitam discessit die Martis— inter horas 8 & 9 Matutinas. Sepulta fuit 18° die * * *, The first page of Register III, containing the above entry, has an inscription, much defaced : ‘‘ Registrum Almondburiense, in quo recordantur propria eorum nomina, qui in Parochia Almondburiensi, Vel baptizati, Vel sacro matrimonio, conjuncti, Vel Sepulti fuerunt, a vigesuno quinto die Martii Anno Domini 1683. Stylo novo, quo die ego CARUS PHILIPSON, Artium Magister, et natu quintus filius Johannis Philipson de Calgarth, comitatu de Westmoreland, Vicarius animarum curam commissam mihi suscepi.”

Page 130

96 HISTORY OF THE CHURCH.

7 Oct., 1726.—Edward Rishton, Clerk, by Governors, p.m. Sclater. Ordained Deacon by the Bp. of Chester, 30 May, 1708; and Priest by him and licensed to preach, 21 Sep., 1710. Buried Jany. 1st, 1767, aged 82 years. 14 July, 1767.—John Miller, A.B., p.m. Rishton, by Robt., Abp. of York, by lapse. Oct. 13, 1769.—Robert Smith, M.A., by Governors. Ordained Deacon by Bp. of Sarum, March 1st, 1749. Priest by Bp. of Chester, Sept. 1751. Non-resident. He resided at Waddington, near Clitheroe ; but he rebuilt the Vicarage, 1784. 1807.—William Parker, by Governors. Non-resident. *1809.—John Fleming Parker, M.A., by Governors. Non- resident—resigned. 1823.—Lewis Jones, by Governors. Resident 44 years, died Augt. 26, 1866. See pages 49 and 79. The advowson having been sold by the Governors ; Feb. 26, 1867.—Charles Augustus Hulbert, M.A., succeeded. Ordained Deacon by Bp. Blomfield, of London, June, 1834. Priest, 1835; Curate of St. Mary, Islington, 1834-39, London. Perpetual Curate of Slaithwaite, June 7th, 1839, to April, 1867. Honorary Canon of Ripon, Oct., 1866 ; nominated by Sir John William Ramsden, Bart., Feb. 26th; and instituted April 4th, 1867. Succeeded at Slaithwaite by his eldest son, Charles Augustus Hulbert, M.A., the younger; appointed April 11, 1867, by the Rev. Wm. Bainbridge Calvert, M.A., Vicar of Huddersfield.

FuRTHER NOTES IN REGISTER. 1.—Georgius Crosland, Clericus, in artibus Mr., Vicarius hujus Ecclesie. Vir quidam pius et perquam doctus, studiosus et in concionibus frequens, in Sacris Scripturis et Catholicis Patribus exercitissimus, post quam prefuisset huic ecclesiz 38 annos. Ano 64 Sepultus est xxx die Septembris 1636.}

* For an account of Wm. and J. F. Parker, see pages 72 and 73.

+ See the Gravestone of his son George, page 53. He died Nov. 12, 1666. The Registers contain records of the Marriage of the Rev. George Crosland to Taylor, widow, at Bradford, May, 1601. Baptism

Mary, daughter of

Page 131

HISTORY OF THE CHURCH. 97

2.—Johannes Crosland, Clericus, hujus ecclesiz Vic. Sepult Junii 13°, 1644. Post cujus mortem, (bello tunc temporis inter Regem et Parliamentum Szeviente), conductitios (hired) ministros, usque ad A. 1647, heec ecclesia habuit. 3.-—Anno Dni. nri. Jesu Christi 1647. Febr. 14, die, Thomas Nayler, in Artibus Mr, hujus ecclesize Vicarius, primam Animarum curam sibi commissam suscepit. 4.—The intermediate Baptisms were few, viz.: August MDCXLIIII. Sara filia Thomze Woodcock, Oppidani, bapt. 25. Mr. Stephen Jerom. Martha filia Johannis Kaye, Clerici Parochialis, baptizata xij Novembris 1645. August, 1646. Gracia filia Thome Liddell de Thorpp, bapt. — filia Dni Kaye de Woodsome Miles, Baronetti, baptiz. 6th Maii, 1647. 5.—The Revs. William and John Parker were both non-resident ; and resided near Clithero; men of high station, of the County family of Browsholme, and holding other preferment in the church. During the Rev. Robert Smith’s occupancy of the living, and that of the above named Vicars (the Parkers’), the care of this extensive parish devolved upon Curates. 6.—The name of Staynton is well known as that of a religious family; and it has been thought probable that the Vicar of Almondbury, and the Prioress of Kirklees, were relations. There is no evidence in the Parish Register, kept so correctly by the Rev. Robert Staynton, all the time that he was Vicar, to shew

of his son George, Sept., 1604; Theodore, 1607; Phineas, 1610; death of his widow, 1642. Several other entries of a family of Crosland, of the village of Almondbury, occur at the same period. The Rev. Thomas James observes : appears that the Rev. George Crosland was a native of the Township of Almondbury, the son of John Crosland, of Castle House, and the brother of the Rev. John Crosland, his successor in the Vicarage, about the time of the Civil War. It is more than probable that his father was one of the ancient Croslands, of Crosland Hill, near Huddersfield. It is very desirable that the Will of George Crosland, Vicar of Almondbury, or of his son Phineas, or the inquisitions Zost mortem should be consulted, if either the one or the other can be found, in order that the missing link may be discovered connecting the Vicar’s family with the Parent Stock of Crosland Hill. It is probable that Phineas was the Ancestor of the Croslands, of Holme and Dudmanstone.”’

Page 132

98 HISTORY OF THE CHURCH.

that he was ever married. Hewas about 4o years of age when he was appointed Vicar, and he resided among his people at Almondbury for 40 years. He lived in a most perilous time, when the pest or the great plague visited this parish; and it is to be perceived from the tremulous character of his handwriting in the Register, how much he was affected by the extreme danger of the nocturnal burial of the dead which he was called upon to perform. Mr. Staynton, from the expressions of piety and the humane touches interspersed in the Register, was evidently a good and considerate man.

7.—The Rev. Thomas Naylor.

There are Registers of the Baptisms of four sons: Isabella, 1648; Dorothea, 1651; Margaret, 1652; Annabella, 1653; John, 1654; and Thomas, 1658. The name of Naylor has almost perished from this neighbour- hood. Where did the above named Vicar of tumultuous times come from, and whither went he with his family? Was it to Wakefield, where the name is still distinguished, and where it was the representative, not long ago, of wealth, position and learning ? Where did the learned Master of the Grammar School, the Rev. Dr. Naylor, the second Wrangler of his year spring from? Was it from Batley or Almondbury ? 8.—The Rev. THomas TatHam had a numerous family when he first became resident at Almondbury, as appears from the affecting tribute to his wife, introduced into the Parish Register, now almost illegible; whose fate it would be very desirable to know. His life appears to have been somewhat chequered.

1709.—Isabella uxor Thomz Tatham, hujus ecclesiz vicarii. Charissima conjux, zeque ac fidelissuna an charior, an fidelior incertam! Ah! Conjux charissima, nullis satva, lachrymis deploranda, &c. His son Benjamin baptized 1708. His daughter, Isabella, died 1710. ‘*Puella insignis formee ingenii insignioris quique sex annos nata, e vita discessit octavo die Augusti, nono Sepulta.” His own burial, May 18, 1716.

g.—Rev. Richard Sclater. Registers contain the baptism of his daughters: Dorothea, 1722; Susanna, 1724; Richard, 1726. His own burial, 1726.

Page 133

HISTORY OF THE CHURCH. 99

10.—The Rev. Epwarp RisHTon. In Register, Vol. IV., is the following entry: “As I have always looked upon the due keeping of a Parish Register as of the utmost consequence, so I have been exactly careful in the several laborious employments that I have been called to in the Church, to avoid mistakes. But as my care alone is not sufficient to keep this Parish Register with the exactness I could wish, I desire this justice from posterity— that if any mistakes occur, the consequence of them may not be charged upon my memory, but (as in reason they ought to be) upon the negligence of the respective Curates. Edwd. Rishton, Vicar. N.B.—Edward Rishton, Vicar, of a certainty deserves the thanks of all men for his care in the good order of the Register, June, 1727. No signature. The Registers record the burial of his son Geoffrey, 1728; and baptism of his daughter Susanna, 1729; and son George, 1731. Marriage of Joseph Pool, Butcher, to Anne Rishton, Spinster, by banns, both of this parish, July 20, 1731; and Augt. 31st, 17309. Mr. John Moss, of the parish of Calverley, and Elizabeth Rishton, of this parish, by License. The burial of Mr. Rishton, Jan., 1767; and Mrs. Phebe Rishton, his widow, May 6th, 1773. This good but strict clergyman was, in the early part of this century, spoken of with much interest by the old men of the village. From his will might possibly be ascertained whence he came, what family he left behind him, and where they found future homes. Tradition gives him the rare credit of having considerable skill in Medicine, which was applied with success to the benefit of his poorer brethren. To heal the sick, in the absence of the regular practitioner, in the simpler complaints, is a power which a good Pastor ought to possess, and is easily attained, and in a sequestered village almost indispensable. The two Vicars who held the care of Almondbury the longest were the Revs. Robert Staynton and Lewis Jones. The Rev. Carus Philipson, M.A., was appointed vicar of Almondbury in 1682, on the death of the Rev. John Robinson. He was a younger son of John Philipson, Esq., of Calgarth, in

Page 134

100 HISTORY OF THE CHURCH.

the County of Westmoreland (on the banks of Windermere), by Dorothea, his wife, daughter of Christopher Crackenthorpe, Esq., of Newbiggin, in the same County. Calgarth is stated to have been “a fine old building,” and was long the residence of the Philipsons, “an ancient family.” Near the end of the last century this estate was purchased by the celebrated Dr. Richard Watson, Bishop of Llandaff, where he built a handsome mansion, and greatly improved the estate. Here he took up his residence, which he designated Calgarth Park, where he remained till his death. Mr. Philipson, shortly after his settlement at Almondbury, married Dorothea, the daughter of Mr. Joseph Haigh, of Netherton, in his parish, by whom he had issue. He died and was interred at Almondbury, January 3rd, 1705-6. His widow survived him many years, dying May 24th, 1740. His will was made 22nd of August, 1703, and proved at York ; by which he devised—“ My freehold estate at Almondbury to John Philipson, my son and heir, when he is twenty-one; and after the decease of his mother, my freehold estate at Honley, my copyhold estate in Almondbury, except the tenement at Broken- crosse. I give unto him my globes and all my glasses, quadrants and mathematical instruments, and all my bookes in my library, except only such as his mother and sisters shall desire to make use of for their own private devotions, physick, and cookery, which I give them. I give him my great silver tankard and my great silver tumbler, which have my coat of armes engraved on them ; desiring him, as he tenders the welfare either of his soul or body, to behave himself piously towards God, dutifully to his mother, kindly to his sisters, and that hee bee careful and live warily, prudently and honestly in this wicked world. To my daughter, Mary Philipson, one hundred markes out of my freehold estate at Almondbury, when twenty-one. The same to my daughter, Dorothy Philipson. To the poor of Almondbury five pounds, to be added to the poor stock left by Mr. Robert Nettleton.

Page 135

HISTORY OF THE CHURCH. IOLr

PARTIAL RESTORATION, A.D. 1840. COPY OF ADDRESS ISSUED. ALMONDBURY PARISH CHURCH.

The Parish Church of Almondbury is a large and very ancient building, and appears from the earliest documents to have been kept in repair by rates or assessments paid by the whole of the Parish. For several years past the Parishioners, in Vestry assembled, refused to grant the usual and necessary funds, and the consequence is, the Church has become in a ruinous state. In the year 1838, a Meeting of the Parishioners was held in the Vestry of the Church, when a report was read from Mr. Wallen, Architect; wherein he described the dilapidated state of the building to be so great “‘as to render the celebration of Divine worship dangerous;” part of the false roof having fallen upon, and broken the reading desk—a rate for the necessary repairs of the fabric was allowed; but from the resistance experienced, it has been found impossible to collect it without being compelled to resort to a tedious and expensive litigation. The friends and members of the Establishment feel themselves imperatively called upon zm the present state of the law, to enter into a voluntary subscription to repair the venerable building, and prevent its total destruction. The Church was again examined by Mr. G. Heywood, a well known Builder, and Mr. Jeremiah Kaye, Timber Merchant; who report, that in consequence of the rapidly progressing state of decay, upwards of £500 will be required to put the building into a substantial and complete state of repair. Therefore, to attain this desirable object, a Meeting was held in the Vestry, on the 29th April, 1840, to enter into a subscription, and choose a Committee to receive Estimates, to superintend the Repairs, and to communicate this resolution, and solicit assistance from individuals possessing property or interest in the Parish, as well as from the friends of the Church generally ; as it is utterly impossible the Congregation alone can raise the necessary sum required.

Page 136

102 HISTORY OF THE CHURCH.

The following gentlemen were appointed a Committee to carry the Resolution into effect:—B. N. R. Batty, Esq., Chairman, Rev. Lewis Jones, Vicar, Mr. Adam Anderson, Churchwarden, Mr. Bennett, Mr. Jeremiah Kaye, Mr. John Nowell, Mr. Thomas Leigh, Mr. Wm. Dyson, Mr. Joseph Leigh. Mr. Thomas Leigh, Treasurer, Mr. Bennett, Secretary. SUBSCRIPTIONS. Miss Armitage, Honley, 450; B. N. R. Batty, Esq., Fenay, 410; John Brooke, Esq., Armitage Bridge, £10; Mr. Thos, Marshall, Thorpe, Mr. Adam Anderson, Fenay Lodge, Mr. Bennett, Surgeon, Mr. John Nowell, Farnley Wood, Mr. Thos. Nowell, do., Mr. Thos. Leigh, Mr. Joseph Leigh, Roydhouse, Mr. W. Leigh, do., Mrs. Johnson, Mr. William Nowell, Thorpe, Rev. Lewis Jones, Vicar, Mr. W. Dyson, Mr. Jeremiah Kaye, Joseph Armitage, Esq., Milnsbridge House, Mr. George Shaw, Farnley Tyas, Mr. J. Roberts, do., Jas. Brook, Esq., Thornton Lodge, Geo. Armitage, Esq., Mr. Chas. Hallas, Seedhill, Mr. Senior, Woodsome Hall, Joseph Brook, Esq., Greenhead, Chas. Brook, Esq., Healey House, and J. G. Armitage, Esq., Thick Hollins, 45 each; Mr. G. Heywood, Thorpe, 43; Mr. R. Armitage, Timber Merchant, 42 2s.; Mr. Nowell, Farnley Wood, Mr. Joseph Brook, Bridge End, Mr. Josh. Sugden, Springfield House, Mr. Jonathan Wright, Mrs. Dodson, Butcher, Miss Crosland, Clough Cottage, Benjamin Bradshaw, Esq., W. L. Brook, Esq., and Mrs. John Allen, £2 each; Rev. J. Coates, Mrs. Winstanley, Miss Beaumont, Miss E, Beaumont, Mr. Marmaduke Ranson, Mr. W. Dalton, Jun., Mr. Joseph Sutcliffe, Mr. Joshua Nobles, Mr. Thomas Heaton, Mrs. Armitage, Mr. Charles Woodhead, Meltham, Mr. Amos Woodhead, do., A Friend, Mr. S. Eastwood, Mr. James North, Messrs. J. and F. Vickerman, Mr. Joseph Kay, Mr. John Kay, Farnley Tyas, Messrs. Jonathan Shaw and Son, Mr. G. Crosland, Mr. John Kaye, and a Friend, 41 each; Sundry small sums under £1, #20 12s. 6d., making a total of £250 14s. 6d. On the Re-opening of the Church, sermons were preached by the Rev. Dr. Hook, Vicar of Leeds, and Rev. Josiah Bateman, Vicar of Huddersfield.

Page 137

CURIOUS EXTRACTS. 103

EXTRACTS FROM THE CHURCHWARDENS’ ACCOUNTS, COMMENCING EASTER, 1692.

1697, July 19th—Dan Buthroyde and Robt. Kaye for Sweeping the 4 Sa Church Walls and Roofe and Rubbing the Seats when the Hishap shoal 6 Augt. 16th—For Ringing for joy of the Peace with France ...... 3°24 1698, May 24th—Pd. Jas. Brearley for removing the Organ Case OUuLOL is esi =e teeters Oo) Joseph Fryer for a fox Of 10 Wine for Communion for the whole year 16% 3h 3 For our Gates to the Chapels (at Easter) Oo) 1699, July 17th—Pd. to Joseph North for putting some Stones and Mossing and Poynting in and about the Church, agt. the Bishop! coming to\Confirm™ 22.5 seco cece. oO 226 The Churchyard Paved with stone from Ealand Edge, ce sae acts Pd. Henry Kaye for Ringing five of the Clock five months EIR cy Sere toh ole 5 a fas Clocks arid Baws Soren acl 1700—James Hoyle for making the Clock new .............. +» 4 000 Jan. 27—Spent when Mr. Porritt preached Oo;

The same charge occurs for the several Curates of HONLEY, MARSDEN, MELTHAM, HOLMFIRTH and SLAITHWAITE, and other Clergy in successive years, when they came over annually to officiate, including the names of Porritt, Blythe (Holmfirth), Broome (Meltham), Woodcock, Nowell, Kaye (Meltham), Shaw, Farrar, Naylor, Meeke (Slaithwaite), Clark, Ashton, Anby, Butterworth, Paley, Aspinall, Wilkinson, Crosland (Meltham), Bagot, Norris, Alison, Walton (Marsden), Pelley, Handey, Sharp, Rhodes, Shaw, Sunderland, Stinton, Wilson (Slaithwaite), Sager (Meltham), Ludlam, Allott (Kirkheaton), Armitstead (Meltham), Haslam, Croft (Honley), Thorns (Slaithwaite), Marsden, Blackburne, Brooke, Murgatroyd (Lingards), Smith, Taylor, Trotter (Hud- dersfield), West (Curate), Hardy, Alexander (Curate), Bellas (Marsden), Cincliffe, Hampson (Curate), Hoyle, Sutcliffe, Scank, &c.

1702—For ringing on ye Coronation 1705, May 9th—For walking in ye Church on ye Sunday to keep people from sleeping, and whipping of ye doggs........ 0. 2°16 1706—For Ringing for joy of the Victory on Whit Sunday ...... oO oO Do. Do. by Prince Eugene .... oO 1 6 1707—Various payments for Paving the Vestry ................ 1708—Spent at the Perambulation to Meltham.................. 016 6

Considerable Sums paid for making Lofts..................

Page 138

104 CURIOUS EXTRACTS.

Frequent Payments for Foxes’, Heads and Foomards’, Or Polecats?; es cic estas lets oO: To Continued for many years. 1709—Church Plastered’ and Painted 2:2 01. <2 + vem ots Aug. 9—To the Ringers for Ringing the good news of the great Victory over the French at the Battle of Ramillies, nr. belts! a Ys o 2.6 Oct. 6th—For Liquour to blend ye lime wth. for colouring ye East _ side and the Church and all the Pillars about the Church

Porch deci sacs oc wis > 6.4 oe este = o 4 6 George Robinson for beautifying the Church ............-- 9 1711—Pd. Josh. North for ye Upper Church Roof taking off and laing on as was agreed per the Town men...........-.+-. 9 0750 For Lower Church Roof taking off and laying on again...... 3

This was probably the time when the /ead roof was exchanged for a stone one, much to the advantage of Mr. North, 1712, Jan. 15—Spent when Mr. Lacey, a poor Minister, preached oO I O April 7th—Pd. Ringers when Dr. Sacheverell was admitted perorder 5 © June 2—To Mr. Tatham (Vicar) for 18 Communion Days when he had rio) 18d. am 019 6 1713, June 28—Pd. to Thos. Dransfield for ye poore persons in

Vorke (Castle: 6 ane oon a + a wate 4 9 1714-15, October 20—For ringing when King George was crowned 2 6 1716-17—Pd. John Crowde for mending Farnley seats and finding WOOGIE bata late, chute 4 410 1716-17—Spent when ye Bells were hung, in beer and bread ...... o 10 June 18—Pd. John Wilkinson for Clock Face 3°25) for Bell frames 4 10 oO Do. towards the Chimes 9-5-0. Mr. Smith, of York (for Bells) 94 6 6 A New Common Prayer Book 14/9. Ironwork for Bells .... 7 9 1717-18, Jan. 8—Pd. to Nathaniel Lister for part of ye chimes.... 3 16 6 For fetching 2 New Bells from Wakefield..........- < 2 4 Spent at the Perambulation at Marsden 216 6 1719, Feb, 28—Deals for Loft to Thos. 4 12 Spent of ye Song men at Viceridge by town’s men’s order.... I About singing loft, for Wood, &c. ee eee eee eee eens 7 17 to 1725—Mr. Dyson for a New Bible for the Church ...........--. 8/10)

1727—Various RESOLUTIONS of the VesTRY, Sept. 14th : One shilling and sixpence to each Churchwarden, Vicar and Clerk, five shillings for Visitation Expenses and Corrections to be paid the night before. Perambulations in Rogation Week, Home 15s. od., others each £1 5s. od. Nothing to be allowed for Vagrants, or for Collecting for Briefs. Five shillings

Page 139

CURIOUS EXTRACTS. 105

for expenses‘of taking up bread and wine for the year. Old Bellropes to be sold, also Old Church Books, unless the Vicar and Churchwardens think they may be of use in the Church. No Churchwarden to expend more than five shillings without Vestry, except in emergencies, certified under hand of Vicar and Schoolmasters. The Two Churchwardens for the Town and Township of Almondbury, the Churchwarden for Farnley, and the Churchwardens for Lockwood shall fetch Wine in their turns respectively for the use of the Church. Wine remaining unconsecrated to be locked up duly in sight of all the Churchwardens, then attending, and the key delivered to the Vicar. One Gallon of Wine yearly and no more shall be delivered to the Churchwarden of Linthwaite for the use of the Chappell of Slaighthwaite, to be delivered about Christmas, on which condition the Inhabitants of Linthwaite disclaim all title and claim to the part of the Offertory Money collected in this Church. Signed, Edward Rishton, Vicar; Ben North, Francis Horncastle, Jno. Shaw, John Armytage, George Armitage, John Booth, John Booth, junr., Matt. Blackburn, Charles Kaye, Thos. Kaye, Jonathan Roberts, Willm. Sykes, James France, Matthew Bradley, John Woodhouse, John Haigh, Thomas Shaw, Thomas Sykes, James Wood, John Wood, George Hirst, John Green, Christophis Green, James Taylor, Will Farrand, Ralph Horn.

1726—Painting the Steeple and work about 29 19 § Mr. Rishton for making a New Terrier and the Clerk for COPYING At wre MTs | 2,6 New Register and Table of Affinity eee 2. 110 Oct. 16—Spent with Mr. Rishton the first day he preached here.. 3 For a Book of Canons and the Act of Parliament.......... e@ 2 1727—Pd. the Ringers for King George 2nd’s Coronation........ 6 May 29—Pd. the Clerk for giving notice to put off Mr. Nettleton’s Charity and Offering money to ye Ist July.......--.++--.. cy fey 1731—Pulpit Cloth £2 18s. 2d. Surplice £3 tos. 4d. .......... 1734—James Ryley, of Luddenden, for New Clock Face ........ Po! oO 1733—Common Prayer Book 16s. 4d. Salver of French Plate and ca Hh rs oe ab mae ave le ates oer wren Ov ni .3 1738, Nov. 5th—My gate to Ripponden with the Vicar to examine their pulpit there and spent on 3) a 1740—Pd. Ringers for ringing on the news of Carthagena being ARE eee na eae ood nce aang tee 9 Church Gates now erected cOSt rr) 4y oO

1748—Curious entry relative to an overcharge respecting the Bells. 1747—My gate to Flat house to Wm. Sykes to gett a copy of our Terrier, the original copy being wrongfully taken out of the 20. eee ee ce eee eee teeta ee cece cease Great Repairs in the Steeple and Bell Chamber about ...... 70 O

Page 140

106 CURIOUS EXTRACTS.

For going about to fright children from play in service time, CTEAtICOMplaints: fet ctels O20 1752—Spent when going to Berry Brow to see if children was pathway erie 50 To three men for going to Meltham, to fright Mr. Sagar, to make him send his Register, Mr. Rishton being fast for

Goilig For ward ee eels siete (ole « 1753—For a New Act of Parliament respecting Marriages........ 016 1754—Spent when Mr. Murgatroyd preached, first time ........ Divo 1755—Spent when the Old Dial Plate was set up 1758—Stephen Buckley, of York, for a Salver silvering.......... 012 6 1759-60—My gate to Blackmoorfoot to buy great Stones for Church cece cece ec OF Pd. John Brook, Huddersfield, for a New Spurring Book.... 012 1760-61—Upper Roof taken off, cost about 10 O 1763-4—Pd. Wm. Jaggar for two New Gates at Church Porch.... 5 12 1764-5—Pd. Paul North for Cloth for Communion Table and for a Saga I 5 For an Almanack for Vestry 6d., and for a bason for the use of the Church to christen at Communion Table .......... o O10

1770—Public Meeting, Chimes ordered to be put in order and repair under direction of Joseph Jaggar, Highroyd. An accurate calculation by Mr. Rishton of the amount of a Lay (or Rate) of 1d. and upwards gives Almondbury, £4 19s. 53d.; Farnley, Meltham, and Honley, each £1 13s. 4d.; South Crosland, North Crosland, Marsden and Linthwaite, each £1 10s.; Netherthong, 18s. 5d.; Upperthong, 18s. od.; Austonley, £1 4s. od.; Holme, 18s. od.; Total .......... 19 17 103 For a penny Lay, dated December 15th, 1737. There are frequent charges of one shilling paid for Fox, and Froomard (Pole Cat) heads and Hedgehogs. Large sums for Wine consumed and sent to Four Chapels. Fees are received, 3s. 4d. each, for burials in Church, and five shillings per annum paid by Mr. North for his seat.

SECOND Book, 1775 to 1879.

1778—Our expenses about going to speak with Mr. Smith about repairing the Vicarage by order of Churchwardens ........ o 8 11} Regulation respecting Wine, 9 gallons and no more to Holme, Austonley and Upperthong, including Passion Week ; 9 gals. to Honley, South Crosland

* This shews the necessity of Sunday Schools, commenced about thirty years afterwards, at Gloucester.

se ee ee eee ee

eater pn I ie ice a hE er ee

Page 141

CURIOUS EXTRACTS. 107

and Netherthong ; 6 gals. and 1 quart to Meltham. That as three-fourths of the Inhabitants of Marsden are situated in Almondbury, to have 6 gals. Inhabitants of Linthwaite no Wine, but a proportion of the Offertory with Almondbury, Farnley and Lockwood, according to assessment. Vicar or Curate one quart whenever he officiates, in lieu of any allowance, which the Rubrick has appointed to the officiating Clergyman in celebrating the Commu- nion Service. Churchwardens, on Easter Sunday, each one pint of Wine for his proper use.

1782—Decent Hearse, Harness and Cloak ordered ; to be lent on hire.

For 2 strings for Rd. Garner Bass Viol................-.-- OF Allowance for treating Clergyman, except Vicar or Curate, mete clo ©) 3°50 1783-4—Edmund Kershaw in full for Church Closetting ........ naan Orchard Walls serio. ao jel nee 3 9 6

1787—Resolved that the Vicarage should be finished by assessment. Subscriptions also. 1791—Pd. Mr. Crosland’s Bill for endeavouring to secure the rever- sion of Mr. Wormald’s Estate to theuse of the Parish .... 9 12 9 1793—‘‘ Pentice”” removed from Church gates, beaten iron gates GOSLi a sie’ se Hit sts revs, 22 cera 1794—New Walls to Churchyard and Bells repaired, Graves to be made deeper. Sexton’s Fees regulated. Bells new hung and Chimes repaired. 1795—D. North and C. Boothroyd for working the Piers at the ALCS Er aera Pere erase a let nc ema ese 34 18 oO 1796—North Gallery extended, called Farnley Gallery; new Gallery on South side, at expense of Proprietors, except Roof of North side. Sep. 12—Paid Expenses when the Archdeacon of York came to MIE Wethen CMUnCh tates I 2

oO 1798—Ringers for Victory over French Fleet by Ld. Duncan .... 10 6 Do. Ld. Nelson’s Victory of the Nile ............ Oo 10 6 1799—House built for reception of the Hearse .. ............. AsO) 1801—Washing, Painting and Marbling Church Pillars, Writing the Ten Commandments and furnishing Pulpit............ 3.10) 7 Mr. Lucas’ Table of Benefactions 218 8 1808—Cash paid when New Terrier was signed ................ 5 1809, Nov. 27—To Ringers for a Muffled Peal on the death of the Rev. Robert Smith, late Vicar, who died Easter Sunday, 1809, in the 42 year of his Vicarship ..................-- EEO

1810—Churchyard Walls and Roof 1813—Iron Chest for Registers 16 18 I

Page 142

108 CURIOUS EXTRACTS.

1818—Parish allowance for Plantation at Austonley, wilfully burnt, ramsHel dye fe) teks! 1819—Resolved: no allowance to Workmen employed about the Church for Ale or Liquors. Perambulation round the Parish only once in seven years. 1821, Nov.—New Clock bought by Rate (which was opposed) from Mr. Titus Bancroft, of Sowerby. Richard Varley, tetera ete ener terete leh Wate! [roils | to dase 1823, Oct.—Additional Burial Ground resolved on. Table of Fees fixed and Table set up. Inhabitants of Lingards agree to pay thirty shillings for Expenses of a Churchwarden, besides one-fifth part of Marsden Rate. R. Varley, first Churchwarden. Dermer Semt ier a= eee er Mr. Rayner for New Ground for Yard Expenses of Consecration to Mr. Buckle sie aie pa eerie ee 1826—Ordinary requested to appoint a Chapelwarden for Meltham. 1827, Sep. 21—Thanks to Miss Crosland, of Fenay, for her hand- some present of a Table Cloth and two Napkins to the Parish Church. 1828—Alterations in Church. New Gallery made. Lord Dart- mouth’s Gallery removed and his seat placed within the Kaye Chapel at the expense of the Proprietors. The Parish paid Law Expenses for opposing Faculty ........ 1829, Sept.—Conveyance Bills of Linthwaite, Lockwood, Crosland and Netherthong Churches paid.

1830—Mourning Cloth for King George 1831—Singers no longer to be paid out of Church Rate. 1834—Consecration Bill for Crosland Church

1839—By Virtue of Faculty of 1828. Pews erected under Singing Gallery—Pd. by Messrs. Battye, Heron, Poppleton, Tindale, Midgley, Anderson, Clay, and Lewis Jones, Vicar, in Trust for Sunday School, cost thereof 10... To Committee for Church) Repairs) «5 3.05 eis 1840—Church Rates now cease, and henceforth Expenses, much reduced, are paid by Subscriptions and Collections. See Account of Restoration, 1858—Secretary of State having closed Burial Ground after March Ist, 1860, resolved that in the meantime accommodation for the burial of the dead be provided, and a Committee

appointed.

42

12

184 28 65

46

It

25

64

19 ©

I2

I2 10 I2

ey (8)

1973

Page 143

CURIOUS EXTRACTS.

1859, June 18—Resolved unanimously that a Burial Board be appointed to take the necessary steps for the obtaining of Land for a Parish Burial Ground for Almondbury, according to the Provisions of the Act of Parliament; such Burial Board to consist of Nine Ratepayers. The Field called Far Flatts, and part of Wormald’s property, approved, and the District limited to those parts of the Township of Almondbury, not included in the Chapelry Districts for Ecclesiastical purposes of Emmanuel Church, Lockwood, and St. Paul’s Church, Armitage Bridge. 1860, Jan. 9—Resolved, first members of Burial Board, Rev. L. Jones, Messrs. J. E. Taylor, Thos. Midgley, Law Parkin, Henry Sikes, Josiah Mellor, George Jarmain, George Brook and C. H. Dalton. 1861, July 29—Table of Fees for Burial, Monuments, Vaults, &c., fixed (compensation made to the Vicar for loss of the same), for each interment of Parishioner, Is. 6d.; Out-Parishioner, 3s. Od.; besides his burial fee. 1862, Jan. 30—New District of Moldgreen for Highways formed. Sept. toth—Local Government Act adopted for Almondbury District. 1872, March 9th—Resolved to apply for a Faculty to restore the Church. The Walls of the Churchyard and railings repaired by the Burial Board by direction of the Secretary of State.

TABLE OF BENEFACTIONS.

109

By whom given. Amount Payable.

Unknown. For the use of the Poor in the Township of Almond- bury, Rent Charge paid out of Two Fields, near to Almondbury Lane, called the Long Croft and the Little Croft Mrs. JANE FENAY, 1765, by Will. For the above use. Vested in the Vicar of Almondbury, and the Inhabitants of the Town- Raion Of £ LOO joa « By THE SAME, 1765, by Deed or Lease. For the use of the Parish Clerk for the time being ; for the term of 999 years; subject to the tent of Sixpence per annum; and to the Trusts, Provisoes, and Conditions therein specified; a House adjoining the Churchyard. Vested in William Radcliff and Wm. Horsfall, Esqrs., Joseph Armitage, Gent., or their survivors.

Zs. d.

410 oO

Page 144

IIo CURIOUS EXTRACTS.

Mrs. Mary PHILIPSON ; when unknown, to the Church, a Large Silver Flaggon and Paten. Mr. Robert NETTLETON, I James II., by Deed. For relieving Poor People, inhabiting and dwelling within the Town and Township, and for preferment in Marriage of Poor Maids, born within the same ; and for preferring in learning of poor Scholars, born within the same, and for repairing Bridges and Highways within the same; Land or Rent Charge. Vested in Sir George Armitage, Bart., Richard Henry Beau- mont, Esq., Joseph Armitage, Robert Scott, Samuel Walker and George Armitage, Gentlemen 74 16 oO Mr. IsRAEL WORMALL, by Will dated on or about 11 August, 1724, and a suit in Chancery since; Rent and Profits, subject and after payment a yearly stipend of Five Pounds for ever to the Schoolmaster of Almondbury, which are after the death of nine persons named in a Decree of the Court of Chancery, to be applied for the placing out of such poor Children of the Parish of Almondbury, as the Trustees shall approve, to be apprenticed to any of the lower sorts of Trade, or Manufacture or Husbandry; Land. Vested in Mr. Benjn. Ingham, Lockwood, Mr. Josa. Ingham and Mr. Samuel Brook, Mirfield. ROBERT SMITH, A.M., Vicar. MARK HaicuH, Churchwarden. April 17th, 1802. The above Charities are much increased in value; and are at present (1879) under the consideration of the Charity Commissioners, and the Endowed School Commissioners, with a view to new schemes of management. Hitherto they have been faithfully administered according to the Trusts, and the altered circumstances of the time and place.

CURIOUS EXTRACTS FROM THE CHURCH REGISTERS. No. 1—From Nov. 1557, to Sept., 1652. This is the Register referred to in page 93.* On the cover ot the Copy has been written by Mr. Nowell an Extract from a charge of the late Venerable Charles Musgrave, D.D., Archdeacon of Craven, delivered at Halifax.

‘* An iron safe, for the custody of the Registers and Parish Records, is of yet more serious and general concern. If these are loosely kept, or left open

Page 145

CURIOUS EXTRACTS. III

to interpolation or erasure, to removal or destruction, who can estimate the inconvenience or confusion, the injury and loss, which may fall with severe and irreparable hardship on unsuspecting families? We have the authority of some of Her Majesty’s Judges—to quote their own words, pronouncing from the Bench ‘that all the property of this country—or a large part of it—depends on vegésters, and insisting on the inexpressible importance of their safe deposit. In the exercise of my duty I had to assist in recovering some registers carried off by a late Incumbent, and long detained to the great uneasiness of the Parish. I might also tell of a Missing Register—the one in use immediately before the present Marriage Act, &c.—or to add one other instance, I have seen the entries of half-a-century cut away in shreds from a Register by a Parish Clerk, to subserve the purposes of his trade as a Tailor.*

A.D. 1557 to 1598. Robert Staynton, Vicar. The Latin is here translated for the benefit of the general reader, except in special cases. Records of Baptism, Marriage and Death will be deferred to FAMILY History in Part IV, except curious and clerical entries. June, 1558.—The Plague at Wodsome Mylne in the House of Thomas Skammonden. Thomas Skammonden, Robert, Ralph, Dorothy and Elizabeth, children of the same Thomas, died of the plague: first Robert was buried xxvith, about ten o’clock at night, by William, his brother, and Beatrice, his sister. Ralph on the xxviith, about nine at night, by the aforesaid William and Beatrice. Thomas Skammonden, and Elizabeth, his daughter, were buried at the same time on the xxxth, about nine at night, by his wife and aforesaid children, viz. : Wm. and Beatrice. August—Dorothy Skammonden died of plague, and was buried on the xth, at seven o’clock, by her mother and her brother William. The Reverend John Pullans, Pastor of Kirkheaton, was buried viiith, in (atrio) the Churchyard at Heaton. January, 1558—John Claye is married to Elizabeth Ramsden on the atist, without banns. Edmund Norrham, officiating minister of Marsden,

* Archdeacon Musgrave preached in Almondbury Church for the Sunday Schools, Whitsunday, 1871. He died universally lamented for his courteous, dignified and benevolent demeanour, April 16th, 1875, at the Vicarage, Halifax, in his 83rd year. He was much attached to this neighbourhood by early connection, as visitor in his schooldays of Mr. Horsfall, of Marsden, who was shot by the Luddites at Crosland Moor in 1812; and frequently spoke of his attendance at Slaithwaite Church. He was ever the Author’s kind friend and adviser. All which was also true of his brother Thomas, Archbishop of York. C. A. H.

Page 146

Ii2 CURIOUS EXTRACTS.

solemnized this marriage between the aforesaid parties, without the knowledge of the Vicar. April, 1559—William Rawe, Parish Clerk, married to Ann Taylier the xxivth day. May—Francis Woderove, m. to Margaret Kaye, daughter of Arthur Kaye, Esq., of Woodsome, xxiind day. Note on the margin, partially decayed and fretted away. ‘‘ The Minis- tration of the Holy Communion in connection with the solemnization of Matrimony was desired by Mr. Wodrove (Supposed to be the first time). October, 1559—William Brigge, ye son of Jeferaye, of Helme, was drowned ye xx day of October at Parke Mylne, as he and one Humphrey Armi- tedges horse comed over at a Hebble or narrow Brygge. A tempest off wynde blew hym sodenly into the water ; for because off great rayne yt fell ye daye and night before, the water was greate, and so by that means he was drowned and his fellow saved. They were both with one Myles Wylson, a taylier by occupation, and his servants. ‘* Preserve us thy servants, most merciful God, from so sudden and unexpected a death.” September, 1563—Henry Beamont, of Lockwood, buried on the viith, at sunset. I did not doubt that he was dying of the pest or plague, and therefore he was buried by his wife and young daughter, who bore him to the grave (tumulus) upon the back of a horse. At this time, and in this year, there died of plague in London gzingenta : that number (500) were buried in one week. In another week xx hundredth died in London by pest or plague. ‘* Most merciful God, . defend us all from pest and plague, through Jesus Christ our Saviour.”

Amen. * February, 1568—Richard Hyrste, of Mylner Brygge, commynge from Halifax

Markett, on Satyrdaye ye xij° daye of Februarie, was through a greate snowe left and stopped—the dryfte of snowe was so very greate, and beynge alone all Satyrdaye nyghte, peryshed and died on Lynlaye Moore, not farre from a crosse called Hayghe Crosse, and was found on the morrow after, his horse standynge bye hym, evexharde by hym, and was brought home to his own house, and buryed at Almonburye, Munday, ye xiiij° daye off Februarye—and Elizabeth, the daughter of George Harpyn, an infant. with him.

* This entry is difficult to read and understand, but it may be explained by the following extract from Rapin’s History of England, referring to Old Stowe’s of London,” ‘*The English forces which had served in France, bringing the Plague with them into England, it made terrible ravages, above twenty thousand dying in London only.” A note from Stowe adds, ‘* Twenty thousand one hundred and thirty-six.” e

Page 147

CURIOUS EXTRACTS. 113

June, 1569—Jenett, ye wiffe off John Marsden, of Marsden, by soden mis- chanche, ye xxii daye of Julye, slipped off a brigge as she was bowne to mylke, or as she comed from ye pastrie, the water beyinge up by ye reason off rayne ye night and in ye morninge, and was drowned and found agayne about one off ye Clock, and was buried ye xxiii of Julye. March, 1574—Thomas Boothe, by sodayne mischance, was slayne (with a) colepythe, ye roofe falling upon him—he was buried the xi°. April, 1575—Theodore, son of John Handeleyer, minister of Marsden, baptized xvii°. Sponsors, John Marsden, William and Grace Shaye. October—John Marsden, son of John Marsden, off Well Greene, by instigation and evil and unjust temptation of the Devil and seized by an Evil Spirit, hanged himself in his father’s barn on the xxv°, and was buried on the

xxvii°. such devilish death may Almighty God preserve us. Amen.”

February, 1575—William, ye sonne off Wm. Turnbull, of the age off xvi years or thereupon, was weather bette on Candlemas day, as he came from Marsden, and dyed on ye more, under a rawe or hedge, a little from John Hawkyard’s house, and was found on Sondaye after, at afternoon, and buried after v off ye clocke at night ye same day, wyth candlelight. March, 1575—Isabell Longleye, a single woman, was found slayne in A. Kaye’s close at a yate, not farre from James Brodehead’s house : who did yt wicked deed God knoweth. Ye verdite off ye whole Jurie is that some did cutte her throte; who was buried the thirde day off Marche. ‘‘ From so unforeseen a death, deliver us, O Lord!” Agnes, ye wyffe off Richard Littlewodde, off Oldfelde, by ye instigation off ye devell; within xiiii dayes that she was delivered off childe ; ye xilii day off Marche, about or before midnight, rose out off hyr chylde bedde, privilie went to a little well not half a yarde deepe off water, and drowned herself, and was buried ye xvi day off March. ‘‘ From the infestations and instigations of an unclean Spirit, and from so undesired a death, most merciful God deliver us! ” Maye, 1578—William Raw, Parish Clerk of Almondbury Church, was buried xxiiird. August—Esabella, daughter of Robert Crier, Clerk, baptized xxiiij°. Sponsors, Edmund Thewlis, Cecilia Thornhill and Joanna, wife of Thomas Hepworth. Register wanting from Nov. 11th, 1578, to March 2nd, 1578 (Old Style). December, 1581—Great and vehement Snow Storm began on the tenth day of January, which lasted long. February—Susanna, daughter of Robert Crier, of Netherton, Clerk, bapt. xviii®, August, 1582—James, son of James Martindale, Minister, of Honley, bapt. xii? day. Sponsors, Wm. Armitedge, Thomas Marsh and Alice Wilson. Register wanting from Sept. Ist, 15$2, to July 7th, 1583.

Page 148

CURIOUS EXTRACTS.

August, 1583—Robert Gibson, Rector of Kirkheaton, and Esther Armitedge married at Huddersfield on the xiiith. September, 1587—Thomas Croslande on journey to London to St. Bartholo- mew’s fair died unministered, and was buried at Rodebaye 2nd September. January—A certain pauper maiden who sought everywhere for food by begging, buried viii day. March, 1588—Robert Gibson, Pastor of Kirkheaton, buried at Heaton xxx day. March, 1594—John Stockdale, by fellinge a tree was slayne, and by a verditte of ye day before, ye Coroner founde yt ye tree felled by hym kylled ye same man and was buried ye xxix daye of Marche. December—Elizabeth, wife of John Eastwood, on the eve of the 5th, at 7 o'clock, was cruelly killed with an axe, as it was suspected by Oliver Hurste, a neighbour, and the Coroner’s quest going on her; then buried the Tuesday after, being the x day ; that was four or five days after she was killed. And much money, about v or vi pounds, taken out, and for the same money slain piteously to see. The Register wanting from December 22th, 1594, to Nov. 2, 1595. November, 1595—Joanna Hayghe, off Gatehead in Marsden, widow, buried, aged one hundred years, xth day. March, 1 597—Robert Staynton, Clerk, Vicar of Almondbury, was buried on the thirteenth day, aged 80 years. April 15th, 1598—George Crosland, M.A., Vicar of this Church, first under- took the cure of the souls committed to him. January, 1600—Francis Kay, son of John Kay, late of Woodsome, Esq., Master of Arts, Vicar of the Parish Church of Long Sutton, in Holland (Lincolnshire), a man pious and excellent in the liberal arts and to me worthy of the first regard, found his end on the 2nd day of this month. March, 1601—John Bery, struck with an axe by William Haigh, died and was buried on the third of this month. 1615—In this year so great a fall of snow as was not known in the memory of any living; far exceeding that in 1540 in magnitude and duration; in which many travellers as well as inhabitants at Saddleworth perished. February, 1627—Richard Blackburn, Parish Clerk of Almondbury, buried May, 1650—Edmund Blackburne, of Hall Bower, a truly honest man, and exceedingly humane, buried iv°. July—John Armytage, Esquire, a man pious, prudent, hospitable and in every virtue most exemplary, and to me a very dear friend, buried xv°. T. NAYLOR. December, 1651—Edmund Marsden, of Layne Sike, ninety years of age, buried 31°. Extracts from the more recent Registers will hereafter appear in their place.

Page 149

STATEMENT OF ACCOUNTS.

RESTORATION .OF THE CHURCH,

1873 TO 1880.

II5

SUMMARY OF SUBSCRIPTIONS AND EXPENDITURE.

GENERAL FUND.

Names of Deceased Persons are in Italic Type,

The Earl of Dartmouth .. Messrs. G.& J.T. Armitage, Executors of Miss 1%. A.

ATA ERs 200 Do.of Joseph Armitage,J.P.100 G. J.P. 2... 50 J. T. Armitage, J.P. US) Edward Armitage, J.P. .. 10 Thomas Brooke, J.P. ....300

Charles Brook, J.P., aa = © Soseph Wilshaw Also Cushions and Mats. Fohn Brooke, J.P., Kens- ciate 105 Fere Kaye, J.P. (2 dons.)..100 Ldmund Smith, WUkley Wells ie noe 100 Huddersfield ChurchExten- SION! FUNG sie 100 7 Subscribers of £50, viz. : Edward Dyson, Surgeon, J. Edward Taylor and Family, Canon Hulbert and Family, Parkin Bros., Lumb, Jas. Wm. Carlile, J.P., Mrs. Keighley, late Fenay Hall, and John «ceria « 350 J. C. Laycock (2 donations) 55 John Day, J.P., Bankfield 30 Mrs. Brook, Enderby . - 30 5 Subscribers of L285; vide: Wm. Brooke, Honley,J.P. John Arthur Brooke,J.P., Fenay Hall, Thos. Lance- lot Reed, Crow Hall, Norfolk, Bentley Shaw, Woodfield, and H. Beau- mont Taylor, Lindley ..125 Edward Hallas, Church-

WAKGEM) (ole cle cit gcc 21

Oo00000

oOo

ooo0°0o

ss-d. I50 O

oo00000

oo

Cre

ooo0oo°o

8 Subscribers of £20, viz.: Sir Fos. Radcliffe, Bart., Thos. Lockwood, J.P., Harrogate, Mrs. Brook, Healey House, C. W. F. Taylor, Eldon House, Michael Hollins, Stoke, Joseph Atkinson & Mrs. Atkinson, Roundhay, John Scott & Mrs. Scott,

and Zhos. Leigh, Almby.160 o 15

Mrs. Allen, Westfield .... Thomas Allen

eee eee tees

5 Miss Brook, Healey House 7

oO

H. and E. Wrigley ...... Io 10

8 Subscribers of £10, viz.: Lord Bishop of Ripon, H.P. Robinson, Leyburn, Hon. Mrs. Ramsden, Lewis R. Starkey, M.P., Mrs. Brook, Springfield, Churchwardens of Al-

mondbury, Walter Capper,

Builder, & David Midg- ley, Huddersfield ...... G. Harper & Mrs. Harper 2 Subscribers of £5 5s., viz. : Mrs. Aspinall and Richard Sugden, Brighouse .... Hon. Captain Legge Collected by Do. Family of Zvanz Meller, ate 23 Subscribers of £5, viz. : Richard Armitage, Scar- bro’, Rev. Arthur Brook, Brompton, Thos. Brook, Solicitor, Richard Beau- mont, Henry Barker, Solicitor, John Edward

Beaumont, Crosland,

Miss Fenton, Benjamin

oo0000

ooo

Page 150

116

Graham, Richard Varley Horsfall, Slaithwaite, Benjamin J. Garner, Hy. Kaye, Croft House, W. H. Haigh, J.P., Dead- manstone, Fenton Lodge, Richard Heaton, Eph- raim Mellor, Elizabeth Mellor, David Midgley, James Messenger, Miss Roberts, Scarbro’, Friend, by Canon Hulbert, Jas. Midgley, John William Sykes, London, and Fohz

Assad.

Richard Sykes, Almby...115

Proprietors of Huddersfield “Weekly sNews: 3 Subscribers of £3 3s., viz.: Alderman Wood- head, J.P., Matthew Mellor, Almby., G. Walsh and Sons, Halifax...... Rey. Percival Wood Hul- bert, (by sale of his Musical Compositions). . 4 Subscribers of 43, viz. : Jonathan Mellor, West- gate, John Varley, Slaith- waite, Messrs. Thornton, Tronfounders, Abraham Meller; a... Richard Armitage, Scarbro’ 5 Subscribers of £2 2s., viz.: Mrs. W. S.. Stan- hope, Cannon Hall, J. S. Johnson, Kirkburton, Martin Kidd, Holmfirth, Edward Hoff, Louth, and John Kaye, Northgate. . 10 Subscribers of £2, viz. : Mrs. Starkey, Tang Hall, James Booth, Hudders- field, Samuel Bennett, Miss Bennett, Birkby, John Midgley, Timothy Cudworth, Friend, by Canon Hulbert, Richard Roberts, Farnley, Lister Dyson, Friend, by C. H. Taylor 2 Subscribers of £1 Ios., viz.: Samuel Schofield and David Lee ........ 16 Subscribers of £1 Is., viz. : Cantab, by Canon Hulbert, David Dobson, J. A. Eastwood? Man-

fo) 4 4 599) 12/108 © 21020 10 10 oO 20) foi!

STATEMENT OF ACCOUNTS.

chester, Rev.J.S.Gregory Thomas Bromfield, Lon- don, Mr. Crowther, Man- chester, Henry Dobson, Canon Hulbert (Arbitra- tion Fee), C. H. Hinde, Manchester, Councillor Hirst, St. Helen’s, Rev. M. B. Moorhouse, late of Hepworth, Tunnacliffe & Sons, Moldgreen, Dr. Sykes, Doncaster, Rd. Wood, Chas. Wheatley, Mirfield, J. E. Wheatley, 12 Subscribers of £1, viz. : Rev. E. L. Puxley, Lon- don, E. Wheatley, Mir- field, H. J. Morehouse, Stoneybank, Fohn Beau- mont, \Wheatroyd, Wm. Crowther, Joiner, Isaac Eyre, R. Donkersley, Joseph Littlewood, Sam. Mellor, Joe Kaye, Hud- dersfield, Mr. Midgley, jun., Huddersfield, J. Pearson, Milnsbridge .. 20 Subscribers of 10s., viz. : F.T. Bamford, Lingards, Samuel Beldon, D. Bel- don, Friend, by Allen Berry, Geo. Brook, Hud- dersfield, Jas. Buckley, John Crowther, Thorpe, G. H. Donkersley, Ed- mund Eastwood, Dobson, Birks, Charles Griffiths, Chas. Houlden, Mr. Munroe, Hudders- field, Mr. Moore, Hud- dersfield, John Noble, Mr. Noble, Mr. Richard- son (Lecture), Richard Sykes, Whitham and Milnes, B. Wilkinson, and G. Milligan, Halifax Sundry Subscriptions under ros. in Almondbury .... COLLECTIONS. After Sermon by Rev. Arthur Brook, 1872 .. 2800 After Sermon by Rev. W. Flower (Upperthong

Say

5 Se al 16 16 12/0180 TO” ‘0.0 10) 520 G

Page 151

STATEMENT OF ACCOUNTS.

Sa

After Sermon at first opening, March, 1874, & produce of Lun- cheon and Tea ele! ais 15000 After Sermon at Milnsbridge Church After Sermon at Meltham (St. Bartholomew’s) 13 7 0-197 13 LADIES’ SALES. Gross produce of Sale of Work in the Armoury, Huddersfield, June, 1875 $30 7

2

4 s d. Christmas Tree and Sale, TSB 20) (Ono Sale of Work, Nov. 27,1876 23 oO 1877, Luncheon, £8 9s. od. Mea Partys 100.0 1877, Christmas Tree and wees sae ate 201080 1877, Sewing Party, £5. Christmas, 1878, £20 .. 25 O Sewing Party, 1879 ...... 956 3 Total Amount of General Bundy ste ee te et £4079 14 2

SPECIAL DONATIONS TO CHAPELS AND MEMORIALS.

& The Earl of Dartmouth ..350 o Soseph Hirst,J.P.,Wilshaw 100 oO Ripon Diocesan Church

Building Society ...... 63 W. B. Beaumont, M.P. .. 25 oO John Brooke, Kensworth.. 26 5 3 Subscribers of £50, viz.: Geo. Armitage, J. A. Brooke, Fenay, and Rey. Herbert Ae AUC 150 O Richard Garner.......... 20 O Ae = I2 10

W. H. Crosland, Architect 11 9

Richard Armitage, Scarbro’ 5 oO 2 Subscribers of £10, viz.: The Vicar and Family and Thomas Allen .... 20 LCS yale SES

7 Subscribers of £5, viz.: Mrs. Allen, Rev. 7. B. Bensted, George Dyson, Netherton, Eph. Mellor, Rev. Alfred Easther, Friend, by E. Dyson, and 35 Mrs. Dr. (2dons.).. 6 I 2 Subscribers of £5, viz.: Mrs. Meredith, Leeds, and H. P. Robinson,

HE as I0 O Winns AtKINSON s< 210 Misses Ashworth ........ 20

2 Subscribers of £3 3s., viz. : Rev. Oswel James and kev. Geo. Hough ...... 6 6 Sunbury 2 2 Mrs. Rand, Bradford .... 2

Sods

oOo

ooo

O9D000

oo

ooo

ooo

3 Subscribers of £1 Is., viz. : Joseph Brook, Bookseller, E. H. Carlile, and Thos. see ere Baas 5 Subscribers of £1, viz.: Rev. John Kemp, Rev. Albert Willan, Joseph Sykes, Alderley, Joseph Lees, Malpas, and Rev. W. C. McGrath Rev. Wm. St. John Dearsly 1 1 5 Subscribers of 10s., viz.: Miss Holroyd, Lepton, Mrs. Kitson, J. Mellor, Crosland, John Robinson, Denmark, and Taylor and Sons, Plumbers........ 2 10 Tunnacliffe and Sons, Plas- John Nusse NETTLETON MONUMENT RESTORATION : 7 Subscribers of Ios., viz.: G. Armitage, J.T. Armi- tage, John Day, J. Priest- lovey abr. Fenton, & Canon Hulbert Earl of Dartmouth for Res- toration of Skreen ART Do: Collections at 2nd Opening 183 13

oO II Ons

3 10

oO

oO oO 2

IlIo 5 General Account........ 4079 17

Total Collected in Money and Goods

8 2

45190 2 10

Page 152

118 STATEMENT OF ACCOUNTS.

SPECIAL GIFTS AND PROVISIONS.

S. Sir John Wm. Ramsden, Bart., Restoration and New Oak Roof to Chancel, with Seats and additional Warming Apparatus ....1895 WWilind OWS = wie 186 oO ste sleet telat ie eee 116 16 Lady Guendolen Ramsden, New Utrecht Velvet Communion Cloth. Right Hon. the Earl of Dartmouth, two restored Windows in North tele aie cial 100 O Oaks S stole 43 3 John Fligg Brigg, Esq., J.P., Great West Window............-. 110 O The Family of the late Rev. Lewis Jones, Carved Oak Pulpit and ASC tke 100 O Collectedstor crete 205 Oo Major and Mrs. Graham, Oak Prayer Desk 200 Richard Beaumont Taylor, Esq., Brass Lectern ..........22..-- 94 10 Joseph Hirst, Esq., Mats and Cushions for Seats. Mrs. Charles John Brook, Repair of Font & Antique Oak Canopy. Mrs. C. J. Brook and Daughters, Cushions for Baptistry. Mrs. Keighley, two worked Cushions for Ministers at Communion. Mrs. J. A. Brooke, New Linen for Communion. Mrs. Hulbert, Mrs. Kirk, Mrs. Newton, Miss Parkin, Miss Sikes, and Misses C. A. and M. H. Taylor, seven worked Kneeling Cushions for the Communion. Mr. and Mrs. Isaac Hordern, Brass Alms Dish. Rey. Canon Hulbert, five Ancient Oak Chairs. Mr. Richard Garner, Tablet in Porch. Family of late George Armitage, Esq., Memorial Window........ 100 O Miss Tindall, Standing Cushion for the Lectern. Joseph Dyson, Esq., Elmwood, Sheffield, New Gates to Church- 42 10 The whole of the Funds have been expended ; and there remains a balance due on both Accounts, now amalga- mated, to C. W. Sikes, Esq., Treasurer, Huddersfield Banking Company, of ........... sore Mech berm noone: 934 9 Towards which the following sums have been promised, if the whole be cleared off : Mrs. Brooke, Northgate House, Honley 100 Thomas Brooke, Esq., J.P., Armitage Bridge 100 O John Arthur Brooke, Esq., J.P., Fenay Hall 100 O John Day, Esq., Bankfield House 50 oO £350

d.

ooo

o0o0°0o

oooo°o

°

Several sums, given for the same purpose, have been included in the previous

list, being already paid.

Page 153

THE WESLEYAN CHAPELS. 11g

THE WESLEYAN CHAPELS. Reference has already been made (page 74) to the Origin of the Wesleyan body in Almondbury. The following particulars are contained in a publication by the Rev. Richard Roberts, one of their Preachers, on the occasion of the Jubilee of their Chapel in 1864, entitled a “‘ History of Methodism in Almondbury,” and in a Manuscript continuation, kindly lent to the Author by the Society. From which it appears that it was in the year 1766 that the first Sermon was preached, by the Rev. John Murlin, commonly called weeping prophet,” in the house of Edmund Mellor, Town End. And one of the first supporters was Mr. Abraham Moss, one of Mr. Venn’s regular attendants at Huddersfield Parish Church, and whose testimony to the sound doctrine then preached was of con- siderable advantage. Mr. Murlin was termed “a false prophet.” Next morning several persons gathered round Abraham to ask his opinion of the Sermon of the “false prophet!” He replied, “If he be a false prophet, the Bible is false, and the whole system of the Church of England is false also. He takes his text from the Bible, and supports all his doctrines by the teachings of the Church of England as found in her homilies and articles.” Moss’ descen- dants continue until this day in the same line. He became a zealous labourer ; extending his circuits over the moors and moun- tains—and on one occasion was providentially saved from falling into a coalpit. The mistaken zeal of the Church people, as of course, the enmity of the irreligious, was directed against this movement; and led to acts of violence and persecution on their part against Mr. Darney, a licensed preacher, which were ultimately rebuked by the Rev. W. Zouch, then Vicar of Sandal, near Wake- field, and Justice of the Peace ; who threatened his accusers and assailants with transportation. We cannot suppose that the Rev. Edward Rishton, the Vicar, approved, much less promoted, these proceedings on the part of his Parish Clerk and Constable; who acted, as they thought, under the Five Mile Act of Charles ITI. But he evidently was impressed with much apprehension and

Page 154

120 THE WESLEYAN CHAPELS.

indignation ; as appears from his appeal to the Archbishop of York, against “the deceivers.” His grace gave him good advice. Rather by simple and earnest teaching and circulation of practical Tracts, than by controversy or opposition, to meet them. And it is to be remarked that the opposition of the Vicar was directed quite as much against the Evangelical tracts and labours of the Rev. Samuel Furly, then Incumbent of Slaithwaite; who in common with all who then partook of the Evangelical movement, was styled a “ Methodist.” On the removal of Mr. Venn from Huddersfield, and the succession of a Clergyman totally averse to his views, “ Highfield Chapel” was built there—not originally from dissent— but a desire for the old spiritual food which they had enjoyed under Mr. Venn. Differences however arose at Huddersfield and Almondbury, as elsewhere, between the Calvinistic and Arminian sections; which had previously acted together pretty harmoniously. A distinct congregation was formed, and “ Bank Chapel” was there- fore erected in 1776, with the consent and help of the Wesleyan Conference. To which Chapel many of the Almondbury Wes- leyans walked down on Sundays, and held prayer meetings at home in the evening. But, before the close of the century, a violent agitation rent the Huddersfield Society; resulting in the alienation from Wesleyanism of the Bank Chapel, and of nearly all the people worshipping in it. Wesleyanism had therefore to com- mence afresh in Huddersfield. At Almondbury the work was carried on in private houses until, in 1814, a site for a Chapel was obtained from B. N. R. Batty, Esq., of Fenay, and the foundation stone laid July rst. The entire cost was £1,155, and the Chapel was opened on Whit-Sunday, 1816. A Sunday School was com- menced by co-operation of Churchmen and Wesleyans ; and was conducted in a Room, hired for the purpose, adjoining the Rose and Crown Inn. But the number becoming too great, a general effort was made, and the first National School was erected in Westgate, about 1818, on a site conveyed to trustees by Mr. Batty; to be conducted in connection with the National Society for pro- moting the Education of the Poor on the principles of the Established Church. In obtaining which the Rev. Walter Smith,

Page 155

THE WESLEYAN CHAPELS. I2I

the resident Curate, was most active and influential. Differences however arose on the subject of extemporary prayer and catecheti- cal teaching, and the Wesleyans “resolved themselves into a committee for the purpose of establishing a purely Methodist School.” And, after occupying a warehouse for some time, in the year 1824 the New School adjoining the Chapel was formally opened ; and was enlarged in 1842, on a lease for 999 years; and it is a very large and commodious building, lighted from above, and fitted with a platform for public meetings, well attended by zealous teachers and scholars. A Day School was opened in January, 1866, and £100 subscribed to fit it up. The School was, however, given up on the occasion of the opening of the Huddersfield Board Schools, in 1871; for which it was temporarily let, until the large and handsome Board School was opened. It was conducted for five years by Mr. George Beharrell, a Wesleyan of piety and ability, a native of York, who died much lamented October 25th, 1879. The author refrains from any comment on this change, which he regrets, as the religious instruction previously given, to which he was a willing witness, although not including the Church formularies, was sound and intelligent; but is now limited to the reading of a Chapter of the Bible daily by the master, with a hymn and the Lord’s Prayer every morning; not to exceed altogether a quarter of an hour. But it was found too burdensome to the Society. The Local Committee who conduct the Board School have expressed their desire for more religious instruction, without success. A convenient house for the Chapel-Keeper was, in 1858, provided by the care of Charles Wm. Fred. Taylor, Esq., consider- able increase in the Society having taken place. The new Ceme- tery (as before mentioned) was partly connected, in 1861, with the Chapel, and the burials in the unconsecrated portion were conducted by Mr. Benjamin Dawson, a local preacher, until his death, September 3rd, 1871. In 1858 also the debt on the Chapel, amounting to £488, was paid off by Subscription and a Bazaar of Ladies’ Work; except a conference loan of £140. The Chapel was also licensed for the solemnization of Matri-

Page 156

122 THE WESLEYAN CHAPELS.

mony at the joint expense of Mr. C. W. F. Taylor and Mr. Albert Midgley. The first Marriage took place on the 27th July, 1861. The interior of the Chapel was, at the same time, much improved by rearrangement of pews, by subscription. The Services, on Wednesday Evenings, were greatly assisted by Edward Brooke, Esq., whose interesting Memoirs have been published. In the year 1864, being 50 years from the laying of the first stone of the Chapel, a series of Jubilee Services were held; on which occasion the Address—which formed the basis of “ The History” referred to—was delivered, and much congratulation ex- pressed on the liquidation of the debts, including the Conference Loan. On Easter Sunday, 1859, the Jubilee of the Sunday Schools was also kept. In 1870 a new Organ and Warming Apparatus were procured ; and the Opening Services took place in October, 1871- The Church Choir gave their assistance on the occasion, and J. J. H. Taylor, Esq., the Honorary Organist at the Church, presided ; and by the efforts, especially of Mr. C. W. F. Taylor, these expenses, also amounting to £498 5s. 4d., were entirely cleared away. The Services and Sunday School continue in vigour, and a Young Men’s Improvement Society is instituted: in which move- ment both parties in the village have sympathized by giving and hearing Lectures. There is also unity of co-operation in the support of the British and Foreign Bible Society—and surely it is desirable that between those who are descended from the same Spiritual Mother there should be the “‘ Unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace.” On his first arrival at Almondbury in 1867, the present Vicar endeavoured to cultivate that spirit, as he had successfully done at Slaithwaite, by inviting the Sunday Schools of all denominations to meet in the Church, onWhit-Monday afternoon. His motives, as a comparative stranger, were not then understood, and the invitation was declined by the three bodies—Wesleyan, Methodist Free Church and Hallbower Schools: the two latter with regret, as inconvenient. It was intended to shew to the infidel and worldly party our mutual faith, hope and charity— according to the Psalmist, of the mouths of babes and

Page 157

THE WESLEYAN CHAPELS. 123

sucklings Thou hast ordained strength—to still the enemy and the avenger ”’—a better feeling and understanding now prevail. The Chapel is fronted with stone, with plain Sash Windows and two entrance doors. It is capable of seating 400 persons, with Galleries on three sides. On the north side is the Pulpit, surrounded by an inclosure and under ita Table, for the celebration of the Lord’s Supper, and a Vase for Infant Baptism. The Organ is behind the Pulpit, and cost £280. There are two commodious Vestries. In the front of the building is an inscription on stone, METHODIST CHAPEL, 1816, and near it is the road to the Cemetery. A secession took place, about 1850, of “‘ Wesleyan Reformers ;”

now called the METHODIST FREE CHURCH,

And as the late Vicar had recently built New CENTRAL SCHOOLS adjoining the Churchyard and Vicarage, he had no immediate occasion for the Old National School; and consented (with the other Trustees) to allow its free use to the above body; on condition that it should be kept in repair and delivered up when- ever required. And eventually, as related in page 86, it was duly conveyed to them; and continues to be used as a Chapel and Sunday School. With the exception of Hall Bower School, which is conducted by persons of various denominations, chiefly Independents and Baptists, and has Services and occasional Meetings, there was no other denominational place of worship within the limits of the Parochial District of All Saints. It has been lately enlarged. The Primitive Methodists have also built a small Chapel and School at Lower Houses, erected this year. Sr. Lucius’ CHurcuH, FarNnLEy Tyas, has a conventional District, consisting of the Township, and a license for marriages. But is within the Vicar’s legal District, which contained, in 1871, 5,111 souls. The inhabitants of Farnley continue to have all the rights of Parishioners in the Mother Church for all offices, as well as divine worship. St. Lucius’ Church was consecrated in 1840 by the late Bishop Longley, on the petition of the late William, Earl of Dart- mouth, sole proprietor of the Township; who was at the entire expense of its erection.

Page 158

124 CENTRAL NATIONAL SCHOOL.

THE CENTRAL NATIONAL SCHOOL.

The operation of the Committee of Council on Education, commencing in an Order in Council of August roth, 1840; encouraged the erection, in the year 1846, of the Central National School; which was opened on Monday, 6th July, in that year, under the superintendence of Mr. George Jarmain, from the York and Ripon Diocesan College; and the School was carried on with much vigour and success as long as he continued Master. He is now Chemical Analyst to the Huddersfield Corporation. The Building, situated conveniently near the Church and Vicarage, is of stone, two stories high; on account of the limited area, 4574 yds., part of the Town Lathe Croft. Originally conveyed by Deed dated 2nd March, 1846, by Benjamin North Rockley Batty, Esq., in consideration of the sum of nineteen pounds, nineteen shillings, paid by the Reverends Lewis Jones, Vicar of Almond- bury, Josiah Bateman, Vicar of Huddersfield, Christopher Alder- son, Rector of Kirkheaton, and Richard Collins, Vicar of Kirkbur- ton; to them and their successors—for a School, to be under the management and control of the Vicar and of a Committee of four persons, to be appointed by him annually out of the Subscribers and supporters of the said School. To be under the Inspection of the Committee of Council, and conducted according to the principles of the Incorporated National Society, for promoting the Education of the Poor in the principles of the Established Church. Duly enrolled in Chancery and registered at Wakefield. The Building originally consisted of two principal School Rooms, and a Class Room attached to each, and a Master’s House at the North end, with Cellar Kitchen under. <A Play- ground was added by the kindness of the Trustees of Sir John William Ramsden, at a nominal rent, and the privilege still enjoyed. Shortly before the passing of the Elementary Education Act in 1870, it was found that the house had proved inconvenient and unhealthy and that it was desirable to improve the drainage, and

Page 159

CENTRAL NATIONAL SCHOOL. 125

for that purpose, obtain an extended area of ground duly conveyed, and that there was necessity for additional Class Rooms, and proper fittings and Galleries for the Infants’ Department. The Schools—which had hitherto been taught by Master and Mistress— for Boys and Girls respectively, were constituted as a Mixed School in the Upper, and an Infant’s School in the lower premises. Subscriptions and Grants were obtained ; and this purpose carried out. In the meanwhile a house was taken for the Master and- accommodation for Mistress. A second Deed was executed by Thomas Lancelot Reed, Esq., the Trustee of Mr. Batty (then deceased), to the Vicar and Churchwardens of Almondbury, Messrs. Edward Dyson and Lister Dyson, dated roth October, 1871. It conveyed 496 square yards on the west side of the School premises, including a proposed road of 15 feet in width, upon payment of £86 6s. The convenience of the Schools was greatly increased by the conversion of the whole of the Master’s House into Class Rooms, and the enlargement of the Upper School. At the same time, the Old National School having been conveyed to the “Methodist Free Church,” a building called the Town Hall, very near the south end of the National School, was purchased. It had originally been the site of a Tithe Barn, and had, 24th June, 1846, been conveyed by the Governors of Clitheroe School (then Patrons and Rectors), to Mr. T. Midgley, of Almond- bury. But it had been replaced by a building erected for public use, but then occupied as a Loom House and two Cottages. It was purchased by the Vicar and Churchwardens from Mr. Midgley ; for £250. The building was converted into two convenient residences for the Master and Mistresses, and the total expense, £732, including the alterations and purchase of the School premises, was Gefrayed by the Government Grant, £130; sale of Old School, £110; Grants from Societies and voluntary Subscriptions, 4392. The School has a small endowment left by the will of the late Mr. George Parkin, vested in the Commissioner for Public Charities, and producing £4 ros. per annum ; for teaching Poor Children dwelling near the School. And a portion of the late Sir

Page 160

126 SCHOOL.

John Ramsden’s Legacy, producing about £7 10s. per annum, is devoted by the Vicar of Almondbury to the Central and Lower- houses Schools in rewards to Scholars. THE CENTRAL NATIONAL SCHOOL has received further enlarge- ment in the current year 1879, by inclusion of the space between it and the Master’s and Mistresses’ Houses; affording a very large and commodious Upper School Room, useful for Public Meetings. The extreme frost of the winter of 1878-9 caused the South end Wall to bulge out and become dangerous. The enlargement in that direc- tion, which had been deferred for want of funds, was then seriously considered; and John Arthur Brooke, Esq., J.P., of Fenay Hall, one of the Managers, offered £100 towards the object, if the remainder of the estimated cost could be made up within a given time ; which was done by means of other subscriptions. From the Earl of Dartmouth, 425; Sir J. W. Ramsden, £50; John Day, Esq., £20; Nettleton’s Charity Trustees, £20; and various inhabitants and friends, £63; Grants were also obtained by the Vicar of £50 from the National Society and #10 from the Ripon Diocesan Education Society.. New Warming Apparatus was pro- vided; the work was completed and the total cost, £338, was defrayed during the year—under the superintendence of Mr. Brooke (Treasurer), the Vicar, Churchwardens (Messrs. E. Hallas and E Parkin), and other Managers.

LOWERHOUSES SCHOOL, LONGLEY.

The attention of the late Vicar and his then active Curate, the Rev. David James, was directed, about the year 1836, to the growing hamlet of Lowerhouses, Longley ; and a Sunday School was commenced there, supplied at first by Teachers from Almondbury, who crossed the fields for that purpose; a Library was also founded. The premises were held by favour of Sir John Ramsden, until in 1846, a convenient School, and afterwards a Master’s House adjoining were built, on land conveyed 4th March, 1847, by the Trustees under the Will of the late Sir John Ramsden, Baronet, the Earl Fitzwilliam and G, J. Serjeantson, Esq.; and the

Page 161

LOWERHOUSES SCHOOL. 127

Honourable Mrs. Ramsden, to the Vicar of Almondbury and his successors ; containing 650 square yards, for the purposes of a National School and School Residence. The Religious Instruction to be under the direction of the Vicar or his Curate; or in case of difference with the other Managers, by appeal to the Bishop of the Diocese. In other respects the Management is vested in a Committee, consisting of the Vicar, his Curate or Curates (if appointed by him), the Churchwardens, if members of the Church of England, and of four other persons, members of the said Church, residents or having a beneficial interest in real property situate in the Parish, and Sub- scribers of ten shillings yearly at least, and duly qualified; to be chosen by subscribers annually in the month of January; and a Committee of Ladies to by appointed by them. The Day School, thus erected by Subscriptions and a Govern- ment Grant, was conducted by teachers appointed by the Com- mittee. It received a Grant of Five Pounds per annum paid by the Ironmongers’ Company, from Betton’s Charity; but did not obtain an Annual Government Grant until 1872, when the Master, G. Noble, obtained a Certificate. On the passing of the Elementary Education Act, in 1870, it was also thought necessary to enlarge the School by the addition of a class-room at the north end, for fifty scholars ; but the Government cut it down to forty—for which a Building Grant of £40 was made; and 320 yards of additional ground were obtained from Sir John William Ramsden, Bart., on a lease for 99 years, from 25th March, 1872, at a yearly rent of One Shilling. The addition was duly made ata cost of £244, which was defrayed, including a Grant of 425 from the National Society, by other Grants and Subscriptions. The School has, however, so flourished that it again requires enlargement, and has been used as a Sunday School and Mission Room since 1867, The former had been for some years suspended; but was revived by the labours of the late Reverend Reginald M. Hulbert, who officiated there for four and a half years, 1867 to 1872; and the services of a separate Curate were for ten years provided, by the aid of Sir J. W. Ramsden and the Huddersfield Church Extension

Page 162

128 LOWERHOUSES SCHOOL.

Fund ; but the latter source has failed. Services are, nevertheless, ‘continued, and there is a great desire for a Church for the District, containing more than 2000 souls; lying on the north side of the Township, from Castle Hill to the river Colne—and from Somerse’ Road to Stile Common; where a large Board School has been erected. i In concluding this part of his Annals, with the seventy-fourth year of his life, the Author thanks God for the great, though not yet adequate, provision made in his Parish for Divine Worship and Religious Education; by the piety of the present and former generations; including the Grammar School of King James I.—yet to be described. He prays that a blessing may rest upon them all, when he has finished his course; and that they may go on, whether ecclesiastical or subsidiary, and increase Till—in’ the expressive figure of the late Dean McNeile—“ He come, Who shall make the whole world one vast Cathedral; the Chancel resting on the Empire of China and the great West Window looking out on the Pacific.”

ALMONDBURY VICARAGE,

DECEMBER 31st, 1879.

END OF PART 7.

DAILY CHRONICLE STEAM PRINTING WORKS, LORD STREET, HUDDERSFIELD.

Page 164

H. Lord, Photo.

LONGLEY HALL.

‘Shore Head, Huddersfield,

Page 165

ae ee LP hg a. Sl ae

ee = Wey :

ANNALS

OF THE

PARISH OF ALMONDBURY.

THE

HALLS, GRAMMAR SCHOOL, AND FAMILY HISTORY.

PART II.—NOVEMBER, 1880.

Be iD BROS Ibe Di

DAILY CHRONICLE STEAM PRINTING Works, LORD STREET. 1880.

Page 166

i sgh ; ies ach at

a

han iP

Page 167

TO THE RIGHT HONOURABLE

WILLIAM WALTER, EARL OF DARTMOUTH,

LORD OF THE MANORS OF

WOODSOME, FARNLEY TYAS, AND SLAITHWAITE-

CUM-LINGARDS,

THESE ANNALS ARE RESPECTFULLY AND GRATEFULLY

PRESENTED

BY HIS LORDSHIP’S FAITHFUL SERVANT,

CG. A; HULBERT,. MA. Almondbury Vicarage,

November, 1880.

Page 168

“The Deeds of other times are in my Soul. My Memory

beams on the days that are past.”—OssIANn.

Page 170

1079.

es nn Lae wi = = of - = ze Ee ret fe . 8 ei Zz w 224 a. 3 so

Page 171

ANNALS

OF THE

CHURCH IN ALMONDBURY.

PART II.—CHAPTER I.

DOMESTIC BUILDINGS IN THE VILLAGE, AND FAMILY HISTORY.

Next to the Church, the first objects which claim our attention, are buildings connected with it. The Cirrx’s House at the west end has already been described (pages 71 and 72) and is represented in the view of the Church as it was in 1818.* It is situated in what is called “Heck Fold;” an open space so named from there having formerly been there a public house called “ ‘The Heck ;” a term used for part of a Stable or “ Mistal.” A Cottage belonging to the Vicar probably occupies its site. Several inferior buildings were removed to make a drive and open space, when the Vicarage was restored and enlarged in 1868 and 70. But “ Heck Fold” was remarkable for a Well or Pump of pure and unfailing water, now closed up, since the Huddersfield Waterworks have been made to supply the village, from a Reservoir situated above Ashes Common. ‘The following paragraph appeared in the Huddersfield Chronicle in 1864; I believe communicated by the late Mr. John Nowell: “ Scarcity of Water in Almondbury 283 years ago.—The following

* The word there given as ‘‘spirituous” should be s¢vomg liquor, in the inscription—alter et zdem. A

Page 172

130 DOMESTIC BUILDINGS

ancient fragment, written when Almondbury consisted of 66 mean dwellings, will be read with interest. The words written within parentheses have been supplied to render the sense of the note more clear, the original words having been worn away or otherwise defaced. Indeed to decipher the greater part of the writing has required the aid of the Microscope : Anno Dom. 1581. ‘That yeare (there was a) droughty somer, so that from before Mid (summer) almost unto Allhallownes (there) was lytle, or there was no water to be gotten in ye towne, but at Brokes* upon the com (mon) and vicaredge well, which vicaredge well was drye ye tenth day of October; and (it) occurred that one Randall Modecliffe of ye t (own) living there or a resident there, for fourteen or fifteen yeares was let (down to) ye bottome, and (he) so cleansed yt and washed (it) and w(hen) he had done (he) daunced round about. So faire a bottom had yt (it) yt (that) a man co(uld) (see) a groate in ye bottome. Witness Rob. Staynton, ye vicar, Willm. Beamont Bradfurth et Henry Staynton Beamonte, Elizabeth Hirste, Willm. Berry, Taylyer, Thomas Son(ier).”

THE VICARAGE. As the Clergy before the Reformation were forbidden to marry, their requirements were not so great as in the present happier times, when a resident Clerical family is generally a blessing. We read however in the Endowment Deed of the Vicarage, when the Rectorial Tithes and Glebe Lands, with the Advowson, were conferred by Archbishop Scott de Rotherham, with the Royal Sanction, on the College of Jesu founded by his Grace at the latter place, that “there was to be in the Church of Almondbury,

* Notes ExPpLANATORY.—‘‘ The ‘Brokes’ on the Common are now called Far Dyke and Rushfield Beck ; for even so late as 1620 the common land extended from Birks Mill on the east to near Roydhouse on the west, and from the Arkenley Lane to the beck or ‘broke’ which divides the Manor of Almondbury from that of Farnley Tyas, and also including the land and site now occupied by King James’ School. In the memory of man the writer believes that the Heck well has not been dry until the present year.” May it be an emblem of pure doctrine and virtuous example, ever flowing from the Vicarage as well as the Church !

Page 173

AND FAMILY HISTORY.» 131

one perpetual Vicar, presentable by the said Provost and Fellows ; who shall have for his portion and competent support, #20 sterling per annum, paid out of the fruits of the said Church by the said Provost and Fellows quarterly, and also shall have for his MANSION one part of the Rrecrory. But we also read (see page 71) in the Lands sold to Nicholas Fenay of “Two Cottages called the Personage ”—One tenement with land adjoining, called the Flatts lying near Fenay Cross, in the tenure of Robert Nettleton, one Chamber and one Parlour called the “‘ PRrEsT’s CHAMBER.” The Vicarage however occupies the site of the above two cottages or “ Personage,” to the west of the Churchyard—and near the “Hall Yard” or site of the ancient Tithe Barn. The Manuscript History quoted in page 13, says, “The Vicarage House is a stone building, near the west end of the Church, rebuilt principally by subscription in 1774, on the same place where the old Vicarage stood.” But this cannot be correct as to date; as from the Parish Accounts, the matter was agitated only in 1778 (see page 106) and it was resolved in 1787, that the Vicarage should be jinished by assessment and subscriptions. In the Terrier of 1764, drawn by the Rev. Edward Rishton and others, the old Vicarage is thus described :—

The Vicarage House is a large ancient building; built partly of wood. There are ten rooms in it; five above, and five below stairs. Those above are floored with boards; those below with flags. None either wainscoted or ceiled, and are covered with slate. There is likewise a Barn, built partly of stone, partly of wood. The Vicarage House is in length 24 yards, in breadth 6 yards. The Barn in length 13 yards, in breadth 4 yards—it is covered with slate. There is no Glebe at all belonging to the Vicarage, but only a back side or garden, in length 58 yards, in breadth 14 yards, fenced with pretty high walls. We have no trees at all in the Churchyard, nor any of any value in the back side or garden.

The New Vicarage was no doubt an improvement on the former. It was built of stone, with sash windows; but the floors were still flags until the advent of the Rev. Lewis Jones; when the dining and drawing rooms and study were floored with wood, and the entrance hall newly laid; which was the first work under- taken by the late Mr. Walter Edward Capper, Builder, and the

Page 174

132 DOMESTIC BUILDINGS

proceeds were invested for his benefit by the kind Vicar. Mr. ‘Capper also carried out the improvements and enlargement by the present Vicar in 1867 and 1870, as appears from the inscription in the Porch : Almondbury Vicarage House.—Rebuilt A.D. MDCCLXxxIV ; Robert Smith, Vicar. Was Restored MDcccLxviIl. Enlarged, and Land on the North and West sides bought, MpccCLxx; Charles Augustus Hulbert, M.A., Vicar. the Lord keep the House, they labour in vain that build it.”—Psalm Cxxvii, v. 1. Walter Capper, Builder.

The Vicarage House was let for a short time by the late Vicar, when he held the Incumbency of Meltham also; and occupied by Mr. Edwd. Taylor Roberts, of Farnley Tyas, who rebuilt the stable and coachhouse of brick—but there remained a low building used for bucolic purposes joining the house and stable; which the present Vicar has converted into a Parish Room and Library; of much utility, until a better be provided. The approach to the house was only by a footpath across the lawn in front, from a narrow road, and there were only six feet of space behind the house; separated by a wall from other premises, occupied as a dye house, anda barn and old buildings. A cart road only to the back door and yard—with other low buildings. ‘This was the first labour of the Vicar to remedy. The premises adjoining belonged to the Estate of the late Benjamin North Rockley Batty, Esq. An agreement was made for their purchase, which was carried out in 1870, for £4507; charged upon the living, by mortgage to the Governors of Queen Anne’s Bounty—as related page 87—and old buildings thus purchased were, with consent of the Bishop and by request of the Patron, taken down and cleared ; a garden of about a quarter of an acre at the west side made, planted, and inclosed by a wall ; except a width of 15 feet, being half of an intended road outside. Some small pieces of land at Honley were sold to aid in this purchase. The internal arrangements were carried out in 1867, and the projecting Gable and Porch erected in 1870; a convenient driving road made and new gates erected—with an adequate space in front (see view). The front sash windows were removed to the Parish Room and new Back Hall, and others of domestic gothic inserted. On the label of the dining room window the Crests

Page 175

AND FAMILY HISTORY. 133

of the Patron and Vicar are carved; and over the porch a shield bearing the Labarum or cypher of the Emperor Constantine, X, P, combined, being the first letters of Christos in Greek ; with Alpha and Omega on either side, and Zz hoc vinces. A.D. 1870, below. The dining room and study, which were dark and small, were thrown into one, but with folding doors for occasional separation. Situated in the centre of the village, but secluded from the street, the house is commodious and convenient within, and free from many former annoyances. The air is clear and tolerably free from smoke ; the site commanding a full view of the venerable Church ; the contiguity of which was deemed to be an incalculable advantage, or a new Vicarage would probably have been built, adjoining the CEMETERY, in a field held at present under Sir John William Ramsden, Bart., by the Vicar.

WORMALL’S HALL. In the street called Kirkgate or Westgate, opposite the Church, is the old residence of Isaac and Israel Wormall ; great benefactors to the Village and to the Grammar School. It consists of a two storeyed building, having projecting windows above, with an archway at the south end, leading to what were formerly the gardens and outpremises, now adjoining the Woolpack Inn; with a Summerhouse, commanding a beautiful prospect of Farnley Wood and the Parishes of Kirkburton and Kirkheaton.

Over the centre door in front is engraven, I 1631. M. The rooms are low but wainscoted with oak throughout. The upper room runs the whole length of the building except a room over the gateway. The whole, except the latter room, have been recently restored by subscription and by the Trustees of Wormall’s Charity; for the use of “The Working Men’s Conservative Association,” of which John Arthur Brooke, Esq., M.A., J.P., is the President. The upper room is occupied as a billiard room and place of general assembly, and the lower ones as reading and occasional dining rooms. Neither drinking nor gambling is allowed. In the rear are two respectable houses recently rebuilt, belonging to the Charity; and inscribed 1868.

Page 176

134 DOMESTIC BUILDINGS

Tue WorRMALL FamIty are of ancient date. The original name was probably Womershall. But the Arms do not appear in any Genealogical work that is known to our Archzological friends.* But, page 47, the Arms and inscription on the Tomb are described. The following paper added to Dr. Walker’s M.S. in the Library of the Yorkshire Archzological Society at Huddersfield, by Dr. Morehouse, is copied with his consent. “Of the founder of the WormMALL CuHarity} it may not be uninteresting to bring together a few scattered facts respecting his family and ancestors; more especially from their long connection with the town of Almondbury, where one of its earliest members, probably Isaac Wormall, who died in 1642, and who stands at the head of the subjoined pedigree, built one of the most commodious houses in the town in which he resided. This house stands opposite the Church, on the south side of the street, and from its antique style and very substantial character, still remains a pleasing monument of ‘ Olden Time;’ having descended to the last male heir IsRAEL WorRMALL, whose name must ever continue to be gratefully remembered by the inhabitants of Almondbury.” A new scheme for the management of Wormall’s Charities and probable merging of them in the Trust of the Grammar School of King James I, is now (1880) in progress. By an order in Chancery, the Vicar of Almondbury for the time being is a perpetual Trustee. Mr. Benjamin North, of Fenay, writing in 1752, states that “He is persuaded the Testator’s [Israel Wormall] forefathers begun to dwell and flourish in Almondbury many generations ago, and thenceforth not only had their whole estate there, but also, till the removal of the family to Bradford, were born, bred up and resided in the town [of Almondbury], and dwelt at their capital messuage in a very respectable manner, and flourished greatly in the said town.” He further states that a Marble stone lies in the

* Dr. George Marshall, L.L.D., Editor of the Genealogist, Mr. Tomlinson and Mr. Rusby. + See Table of Benefactions, page 109. The property includes the estate of Benholmley, lately sold to Sir J. W. Ramsden,

Page 177

AND FAMILY HISTORY. 135

Chancel of Almondbury Church, with an epitaph on it shewing that Isaac Wormall was buried May, 1642, with a Coat of Arms engraved upon it. It is certain that this Isaac Wormall was the owner of the ancient Mansion already alluded to, which most probably was built by him (as shewn above by the initials and date). It is however, somewhat remarkable that from searches made in the Prerogative Court of York, it appears that from the years 1640 to 1647, wills were proved or letters of Administration were granted on behalf of three persons, each of whom is there described as Isaac Wormall, of Almondbury. To this Isaac Wormall we may fairly infer that the Governors of King James’ School, in Almond- bury, were indebted, in 1633, for the grant of an annual Rent Charge of five shillings, payable out of a certain close called “The Pig Tayle,” for the use of the schoolmaster of the said School and his successors for ever. The will of Isaac Wormall was proved by Mary Wormall, his widow, as sole Executrix, on the roth August, 1642. In the year 1750, in consequence of some dissatisfaction respecting the Administration of Isaac Wormall’s Charity, an inquiry was instituted with the view to discover the different members of the Testator’s family, or nearest of kin; as the Trustees seem to have allowed such of them as seemed to have fallen into necessitous circumstances, to participate in the benefit of the Charity. The early members of the family appear to have been deeply tinctured with Puritanism ; this is at once apparent in their choice of christian names. We find the second Isaac removed from his native town to Bradford, but upon what cause does not appear. He however died in 1659, scarcely in the prime of life, and was interred at Almondbury; thus evincing his attachment to his native town. He left three daughters, and a son five years of age, one daughter still younger. The son’s name was Israel, the founder of the Charity. We find this Isaac committed “the guardian care” of his children “to Mr. Jonas Waterhouse,” no doubt his intimate friend. This Mr. Waterhouse was a clergyman, who was shortly after ejected, in 1662. Under the care of this gentleman “ two of

Page 178

136 DOMESTIC BUILDINGS

his daughters and the son were brought up.” The other daughter being “brought up under the care of Mr. Abraham Sharp, of Horton.” This is on the testimony of a dependant of one of the daughters, and would lead us to infer that the children had been left orphans, which in one particular however is not correct. This ABRAHAM SHARP, of Horton or Little Horton, was the distinguished mathematician, who was born in 1651, and could only be about the age of the child said to have been committed to his care. His father’s name was John, of the same place, who is stated to have held “ Puritan tenets,” and zealously assisted the Parliamentarians in the Civil War,* so that Isaac Wormall’s daughter had the future distinguished mathematician for her playmate rather than her guardian. Abraham Sharp lived at Horton the life of a recluse, and rarely held personal communication with any one. Thoresby (the Leeds antiquary) and a minister or two of his own religious persuasion sometimes visited him. Two gentlemen of Bradford, the one a mathematician, the other an apothecary, were at favoured times allowed to visit him. When they went to visit him, they rubbed a stone against a prescribed part of the outside of the house, and if he wished their company, were admitted by him, otherwise they returned disappointed. The latter is believed to have been a Mr. Swaine, an apothecary in Bradford; as a person of that name held the same religious opinions, and frequented the same place of worship as Mr. Sharp. This would seem to receive some confirmation from the fact that one of the daughters of Isaac Wormall married a Mr. Swaine, not improbably the gentleman here mentioned. f

* James’ History of Bradford, pp 392-95.

+ The Vorkshire Post of May 18th, 1876, contained an account of a Loan Collection of Scientific Apparatus exhibited at South Kensington. After the Telescope of Galileo, and Sir Isaac Newton are described, it says ‘* Another Telescope, of less though still of considerable interest, is an Equatorial, constructed by a scientific Yorkshire worthy, ABRAHAM SHARP, who was born near Bradford, about the middle of the 17th Century; some nine or ten years after Newton. He was apprenticed to a Manchester Merchant, but the bent of his mind was to Science, and he quitted business to devote himself to study,

Page 179

¥ ie pe. Ped ‘aw: a ai te <<: RS tik: rte Pat Simla

obs} eas ete ee oe 5. 1 ee a ive a eee ot tal? 4 «sp ah Tue ity PWN: tbs:

it oye PRE PPS ce eros, a ; eee

PRO era mate ea FREE SER Tee ated hash ik 5h le

i oP . ey Ga eae nak Ute 7

aerated he aes

Rae ee rk tine RC bgt 3 ; win oF ty wis Ay DPS,

Page 180

PEDIGREE of the WOR)

vey ALL Te

SAAC mond bury | Tsane, W ch there an he =

29°" of a ae 1642

Saac \WoRMALL remové to Becleshall, tw Feeleshall pret pnd wh Nae buried at

rr July 1659.

JBAAC TsraeL Wonmatis=...--- MARY -

Infant in 1650 baptis® 10 April 1654 |

Tsaae ee = acker marriéd Eli the Charit rfl whe survived him ik had Prefoa nen of or IY 37 Sp. : is wife beep ies pe noissue. 2° = husband, a aker & died inf

M* Sam* Jovin, she died

im Lp FFwo Son punta. LANE OKCROF First wi the Sea and were never — died fasta Vicar of ‘Cr

heard of again issue

FLLeN DawsdN on on She was seized iba was allowed during her Te the of,

Page 181

ls of AlmMonDBURY.

Head. of Door way

> oN

Mary--(who survived her husband & proved his will do» af August 1642. Administration Sranted. to STANHOPE , Gent. Almondbury) married by license Granted Yor 1642 MAaRMAvuKe JENKINSON, Ovaper, W efield --His wife would wind to have died be ore him . granted |Oct.1669 to JonasWalerhouse of Bradford and John Sharp of Horton, Cent.

Decent aio Tk a ky SE fi = - Sarat MSwawe Lypiq = Mich st Mipp.ewoos a sue of Wyt

Woodhouse tis er Harizax A Miss Mary Rawson Ne of plapley is slated to bea from whom_descended Descendant: but in what Mary Aleaster

degree is not stated: beheved to Bawtry have tmarried a Solicitor at Weckefield living ind [> ‘These facts piven in 1757.

LEN FOXCROFT = Second

MaryHa fearon == Roveny Dawson . Officer of Excise at Huddersfield ana wards ot living in 1759 , by whom many mn this pe thee were Supplied |

L aged es in /75Y hen a ehild arid lost the use of one Side and Wormall's Charity,

Page 182

ronnie vena ar

Sex

Page 183

AND FAMILY HISTORY. 137

The same manuscript volume, from which the Author has extracted the foregoing particulars respecting ABRAHAM SHARP, contains along and interesting account, by Mr. John Nowell, of other Yorkshire and Lancashire philosophers and mathematicians, who were associated at the beginning of the present century ; and who met at an Inn on Standedge, midway between Marsden and Saddleworth; and from whose researches and experiments, arose several important improvements in manufacture, especially steam dying; and which may hereafter be given, if daily increasing demands on our limited space allow it. Meanwhile we return to the Wormall family of which the following notices have been gathered. Mr. James Rusby remarks on the Arms, which are given in our plate from the Marble Tomb in the Church almost effaced, but bearing as a Crest, a Boar’s head couped on a Squire’s helmet ; “T think you have got them correctly tricked, but am not so sure about the tinctures. Brook, who visited the Church in 1775, gives: a fesse Ermine, between three boars heads; and Hunter! many years after, a Chevron, inter three heads ; in all probability when Brook saw it the stone was not so much worn. Burke’s General Armoury gives Wormald, of Sawley and Cookridge: Ova fess ermine, between two boar’s heads, erased in chief, and three Mascles interlaced fesswise in base. As to the origin of the name, vide Crabtree’s History of Halifax, f. 489, Wolframwall (now called Wormald) in Rishworth, and I find from old documents, in 1400 and 1500 it was Wormwall, in 1600 Wormall, and afterwards Wormald.” It would be interesting to connect the Almondbury Wormalls with the following Postmortem INQuIsITION. John Wormall, of Barkisland, died 12 Dec., 1522; Lands at Barkisland ‘and Bothomley. Brian Wormall, of Barkisland, aged 70 in 1548, died 31 April, 1 and 2, Philip and Mary.

opening a school in Liverpool as a means of subsistence. Accident threw him in the way of Flamsteed, the Astronomer, who, seeing his merit, took him by the hand ; and when appointed first Astronomer Royal, made him his Assistant at the Greenwich Royal Observatory. Sharp’s Telescope in South Kensington is lent by the Yorkshire Philosophical Society.”

Page 184

138 DOMESTIC BUILDINGS

MARRIAGE LICENSE.—1642, at Wakefield or Almondbury, Marmaduke Jenkinson, draper, Wakefield, and Mary Wormall, widow, of Almondbury. Wits in the Prerogative Court, York, prior to 1650: vol. 9, year 1514 to 1530, John Wormall, No. 97 and 123; vol. 13, 1544 to 1551, John, 688; vol. 19, 1570 to 1575, Hugh; vol. 22, 1580 to 1585, Richard, 199 and 250; vol. 23, 1585 to 1588, Richard, 550; John, 848; Thomas, 910; vol. 24, 1589 to 1591, Agnes, 55; vol. 25, 1590 to 1594, Richard, who names brothers Isaac and Abraham, and father John; 1599 to 1602, John, 598. The families of Wormall and Wormald, are probably distantly connected. A Mr. John Wormald died at Croft house, very near Wormall’s Hall, in Almondbury, April zoth, 1877, aged 63 years. He gave £5 towards the restoration of the Church, and is buried in the Cemetery. There isa respectable family of the name at Mirfield. The Memory of Israel Wormall and Robert Nettleton is commemorated annually by the Trustees of their Charities; by those of the former about Ladyday, and of the latter about Mid- summer ; when their ‘“ Immortal Memory” is duly pledged ; but the old Eleemosynary Charities are vanishing before the wave of educationaladvancement. ‘The present Trustees of Mr. WoRMALL are Joseph Taylor Armitage, William Brooke, John Day, and James Priestley, Esquires and J.P.’s; John Edward Taylor, Esq.,

and the Rev. Charles Augustus Hulbert, M.A., as Vicar of:

Almondbury. George Armitage and Bentley Shaw, Esquires, died 1878. Those of Mr. NETTLETON are J. T. Armitage, Wm. Brooke, Edward Brook (Meltham), John Day, and Edward Dyson, Esquires, appointed 1864 and 1865; Sir John Lister Kaye, Bart., the Rev. Benjamin North Rockley Batty, John Taylor and George Armitage, Esquires, are also dead. Six visitors are also appointed annually to assist in the Distribution of the Funds, from “the wealthiest, wisest and godliest of the Parish, there and then dwelling.” The Vicar is considered to be among the last class, ex-officio. It is uncertain to the Author where Mr. Robert Nettleton lived, though his house is mentioned (page 71) among the lands sold to Nicholas Fenay.

Page 185

we, le

Se ee ee

ee

ee re

ee ee

AND FAMILY HISTORY. 139

PROSPECT HOUSE AND PENT HOUSE OR PENTICE END.

I gather the following information from Richard Armitage, Esq., now of Scarborough : Prospect House, now the property and residence of Mrs. Law Parkin, was long occupied by Mr. William Johnson and his widow, my late own Aunt, up to the time of her death ; when the poor of Almondbury lost their kindest friend and benefactor. I well recollect the old house where Mr. Johnson lived there with his first wife; who, I believe, was in some way related to the Kayes (Mr. Jere Kaye’s father). The front part was added in 1815, previous to his marriage, in 1816, to Elizabeth Mountjoy, my mother’s elder sister. You refer to an old house just below, near the turn of the road to Fenay and St. Helen’s. A century or two ago it was a house of some importance, and as I have often heard in my younger days, was occupied by a good family of the name of Shepherd ; and in more recent days by Mrs. Betty Batty, the mother of the late Squire Benjamin North Rockley Batty (see Monuments, page 38). After the Battys, Dr. Bradley (who brought me into the world at Dudmanstone) took it on a lease from Betty Batty, together with the farm attached. My father took the lease off his hands in 1809-10, but lived a very short time afterwards. His widow, my mother, lived in it in all 43 years, and died there in 1853. I have an idea that, in former times, the house was the principal Hostelry in the village. It was close to the highway from Wakefield to Huddersfield; and before the new road by Waterloo was made, I can recollect all the Coaches and Stage Waggons passing through Almondbury. It is an ancient timber and stone building with two gables and a ‘‘ Penthouse” in front, opposite the south east corner of the Churchyard, and commonly called ‘‘ Penrice END,” occupied at present by Mr. Isaac Eyre,* with certain lands near Fenay.

* The name of PENTICE END, given to this house, is plainly with reference to the Pent House, or what we should call, in modern language, Verandah, still existing between the two gable ends. But it has led to some curious

Page 186

140 DOMESTIC BUILDINGS

The family of Eyre have been long connected with Almondbury. In the Journal of Captain Adam Eyre, of Haslehead, in the Parish of Penistone, edited by Dr. H. J. Morehouse, F.S.A., we have, in the will of Will. Turton, of Wakefield, in Henry VII’s reign, ‘‘I will that 44 shall be levied and taken by my Executors of all the profits of my Freehold Lands in Almonburie towards the Exhibition of a Priest to singe for my soul at the High Altar of our Lady in the Church of Wakefield by a whole year next ensuing the day of my death. The executors, Emot his wife and Jane Turton his daughter. His Estate consisted of freehold lands and tenements at Mzssz/hed and Renshowe in the Parish of Penistone, and freehold lands and tenements in Almonburie.” From these Turtons the Eyre family acquired the estate of

inquiries. The Rev. Thomas Lees, Vicar of Wreay, Carlisle, who is editing the Glossary, left in Manuscript by the Rev. Alfred Easther, for the Dialect Society, confirms this idea. And I think the reader, who knew the late Master of our Grammar School, will be glad to have the following specimen. Mr. Easther’s idea of ‘‘Pentice End” was this :—‘‘Pentys, so spelt in old documents; a part of the street at the bottom of Almondbury, was called End,” possibly from a roof over the Churchyard close by. Hall spells the word entice ; but gives also pentes and pentys. He says it means, among other things, ‘‘An open shed or projection over a door.” In preparing my old friends M.S.S. for the Dialect Society, in Raine’s St. Cuthbert, p- 147, among extracts from the Accounts of the Church of Durham, we find 1425-6, Paid for making the Organs, 6s. 8d. One Pentys, made new tos. od., and in a note below the word Pentys, Raine writes thus, “ Primarily, a porch or some such matter, Penticum, appendix edis, gurjustium, triguridum parieti affixum (Du Fresne). It is, perhaps, no great stretch of supposition to conceive, that the small partitioned off recess within the Feretory, appropriated to its keeper’s use, is here to be understood under the term fentys: it was literally his pent house.” Page 107, Almondbury Accounts. ‘‘ Pentice removed,” 1793. “‘The Promptorium Parvulorum, gives Pentyce as an house end. Appendicum imbulus, appendix! Caxton, in his Boke ot the Fayt of Armes, explains how a fortress ought to be supplied with fresh water, cisterns being provided, where men may receive inne the rayne watres that fallen downe a-long the thackes of th’ appentyzes and houses. The Camden Society’s Edition of the Promptorium, from which this last extract is taken, also gives the following : ‘‘ Bp. Kennett states that in Chester there was a Curia penticiarum tenta in aula penticia ejusdem civitatis.”

Page 187

AND FAMILY HISTORY. I4I

Haslehead, but the precise time is not known. Captain Adam Eyre was the son of Thomas Eyre, of Haslehead, by Ellen Ramsden his wife, whose sister married Michael Burton, of Holmesfield, Derbyshire, who was High Sheriff of that County in 1647. He joined the Republican Army in troublous times, but he was ill-paid, as at the Restoration he had a large sum due to him. He was buried at Penistone, April 6th, 1661, and his widow, May 2nd, 1668. His will has been discovered at York by Canon Raine, and she leaves the residue of her goods to the poor of Hepworth, Scholes and Wooldale. George Morehouse, of Totties, was her executor, through whom the Diary passed to George Morehouse, of Stoneybank, whose descendant has edited it for the ‘Surtees Society” by whom it is published. The above particulars are derived from a valuable pamphlet by Dr. Morehouse, illustrative of the Diary. Opposite Pentice End is also an ancient house and farm buildings belonging to Sir Percy Radcliffe, Bart., and below, St. Helen’s Villa, long occupied by Mr. James Bennett, Surgeon, who died at York, now by Mr. Ephraim Mellor. Mr. B. was, in 1869, the surviving Trustee of the original National School (see page 86). The Trustees, as originally constituted in 1819, will shew the worthy men of two generations ago in Almondbury: B. N. R: Batty, Esq., Rev. Walter Smith, James Crosland, John Dobson, Abraham Lees, Wm. Johnson, Josh. Fisher, James Bennett, Edward Roberts, John Kay and Richard Clay. The residences of most of these gentlemen will be occasionally noticed. NETTLETON’S ALMSHOUSES. On a space to the north side of the Churchyard stand the above commodious buildings, of stone, including six Cottages of single bay ; in the Tudor style, with small spaces before them. The following inscription is engraven on a tablet in front ; they are occupied by aged women. Nettleton’s Almshouses.—These Almshouses were built by the Trustees of the late Robert Nettleton, Esquire, in the year 1863. For the perpetual relief of the Poor of Almondbury. The money was granted out of the Charity

Funds, at the Annual Meeting of the Trustees, on the 27th day of June, 1860.

Joseph Armitage, Chairman. The land was given by Sir John William Ramsden, Baronet.

Page 188

142 DOMESTIC BUILDINGS

For the other Charities of Mr. Nettleton, see page 121. Torr Vitta. Mr. JoHN Dogson was a Banker, who built and resided at Thorp Villa in the centre of Northgate, but fronting to- wards the east, and commanding a beautiful view of Whitley Beau- mont: from him is descended Frederick Jacomb, Esq., Solicitor, Huddersfield. It was subsequently the residence of Wilham Walker Battye, Esq., and more recently of Mr. Fred Greenwood, and is the property of Thomas Lancelot Reed, Esq., of Crowe Hall, near Downham Market, Suffolk, who married Ellen Beckwith, daughter of Benjamin North Rockley Batty, of Fenay Hall (see page 38), and is Trustee of his estate with Mr. William Kaye. “Mr. John Dobson, junr., was partner in the Banking firm of Dobson and Co., who carried on business in the premises now occupied as a small ware shop next to the Stamp Office. Mr. Dobson lived at first at Paddock Terrace, lately the residence of Mr. Allatt, and afterwards removed to a house which he built at Thorpe, near Almondbury. Mr. Dobson bought the land for his new house from a family named Harling, who had a Cottage and Garden here; and in connection with whom a romantic story is told, similar to Lord Lytton’s Lady of Lyons. One of the Harlings, an adventurous but very handsome young fellow, enlisted in the Army, and while quartered in some country town in the South, he passed himself off as an Officer, and managed to gain the affections of a young lady of good family, whom he subsequently married, and who bought him a commission. He brought her to Almondbury, and her dismay may be imagined when she found that her lover’s mansion was a little Cottage on a bleak hill side among the Yorkshire Moors.” “The Banking firm of Dobson and Co. succumbed to the storm which proved disastrous to so many private banks, and the Estate was thrown into Chancery. One portion of the Estate thus dealt with was behind the Bank, in the part now known as Chancery Lane, Huddersfield, and is said to derive its name from this circumstance. Mr. John Dobson died in London, 1857, aged 76; he married Anna Maria, daughter of Mr. Joseph Walker, of Lascelles Hall, by whom he had a numerous family. Mr. Dobson’s

Page 189

Fe OS Pe ee ee ee

ee

AND FAMILY HISTORY. 143

father, also named John, died in 1818, aged 64. He married Sarah, daughter of Mr. — Wood, of Blacker Hall. Mrs. Dobson died in 1825, aged 67. This lady and gentleman, with others of their descendants, are buried in the Vaults under the south gallery of the Parish Church of Huddersfield.” (Mr. Tomlinson’s Notices, and see note page 64). JaMEs Esq., lived at Fenay Hall, and was father to Mrs. Joseph Beaumont, formerly of Moldgreen, still living, and of Elizabeth and Sarah Crosland, who resided at Clare Hill, Hud_ dersfield, and who are buried with him. To Miss Elizabeth Crosland the Author was indebted for much information; she died December» 1879; they were useful to Church and Sunday Schools here. Mr. Crosland was uncle to James Crosland Fenton, Esq., Solicitor, of Lockwood, a man of great general esteem; and much and beneficially employed with reference to our local Charities ; in which office he was succeeded by his nephew, Mr. Edgar Fenton. Mr. ABRAHAM LEES was a merchant during the first quarter of this century, and ~held the commission of Captain of the 8th Company of the Staincup and Osfold Cross Local Militia, of which his elder brother John (originally an officer of the Buffs) was adju- tant. We are told that Mr. A, Lees was a true blue Church and King man, and took a very great interest in the founding of the old National School at “Top of Town,” and in other Parish matters, e.g. the old “ Watch and Ward.” I am indebted to the Rev. Thomas Lees, M.A., Vicar of Wreay, near Carlisle, his grandson, for this information. He has written several Antiquarian Tracts in connection with the Cumberland and Westmoreland Society, on ruins in those counties. He is a native of the village, and was a scholar of King James’ School, Almondbury. Another family, formerly resident and connected with those of Lees and Nowell, was that of SHEARRAN, of N orthgate. Our Churchyard contains a singular Epitaph to Joseph and Thomas, sons of John Shearran, who expired within 20 minutes of each other in the same room, on the 7th January, 1840; Joseph in his 82nd and Thomas in his 84th year. “They died on the site, where

Page 190

144 DOMESTIC BUILDINGS

in fraternal affection they had lived together from their births,” “ in death they were not divided,” and now repose in the same grave beneath this tomb, having maintained, through an unobtrusive life, a character for industry and probity worthy of imitation.” Mr. John Nowell, of Farnley Wood, married Lydia Shearran (see page 65), and Mr. James Lees, son of Abraham, married Martha, sister of Mr. John Nowell; he stood six and a half feet high. There is a large stone building at the Town END, at the top of Almondbury Bank, in the Tudor style ; said to have been formerly occupied by the Armitage family ; now divided into several houses. An old inhabitant says it was called “The Monastery.” Query, Can this be St. Nicholas House ? RosE VILLA, a beautiful residence in Thorp Lane, was the possession and property of John Tindale, Esq., Solicitor, whose widow has recently (April, 1880) been interred in our Cemetery. She was sister of Mr. Richard Clay, and resided at Hampton, Middlesex, whither he retired. It has been occupied also by Joseph Beaumont, Esq., jun., stepson of the before named Mrs. Beaumont, and formerly of Greenhead, Huddersfield, now of Filey. Frenay LopceE, belonging to the Fenay Estate, was built by the Scotts, of Woodsome, for William Armitage, Esq., of Dudman- stone, and he was the first tenant. He left itin 1812. It was bought by the Batty family, and they resided there during the youth of Mr. B. N. R. Batty. Was formerly occupied by John Brooke, Esq., who was uncle to John Brooke, Esq., J.P., of Armitage Bridge House, and afterwards of Hemsworth House, Herts., founder of St. Paul’s Church, Armitage Bridge, who died June, 1879. Thomas Brooke, Esq., F.S.A., J.P., eldest son of Thomas Brooke, Esq., of Northgate House, resided at Fenay Lodge, and served the office of Churchwarden, 1857-58, and still takes a lively interest in the village, as President Governor of King James’ School, and a member of the late Church Restoration Committee. It has subsequently been occupied by John Fligg Brigg, Esq., J.P., by the late Mr. Crowther, and at present by George Kirke. Esq. This pleasant Villa looks towards Woodsome.

Page 191

ee ee

es

AND FAMILY HISTORY. 145

TuHorP House; belongs to Miss E. Roberts, of Scarborough, daughter of Mr. Edward T. Roberts, of Farnley Tyas; whose father, Mr. Jonathan Roberts, built it, and resided in this villa, till it was let on lease to Mr. Marshall. It is also beautifully situated opposite Fenay Hall, and at present the residence of Henry Fryer, Esq., who has kindly opened a Reading Room in the neighbouring hamlet of Upper Thorp. Mr. Edward Sikes, late Manager of the Huddersfield and Halifax Bank, was for many years the previous tenant. FintTHorp House, Nether Thorp, the property and dwelling of Mrs. Mary Dougill, was formerly the residence of John Allen, Esq. (see page 44.) It has extensive farm buildings, and is onan elevated situation looking towards Fenay—which takes its name from the flat fields below, near Fenay Bridge, and formerly no doubt Fenny. It was recently purchased from the representatives of Captain Beau-_ mont, of Cheltenham, by Mrs. Dougill; who, like the former inhabitants, exerts a kindly influence around her.

The Author has been favoured by that lady with a sight of the Title Deeds, dating as far back as 1629. The Estate is copyhold, under Sir John William Ramsden. A portion called Salacre is conveyed March 23, 1629, by John Kaye, of Thorp, Merchant, to Richard Bynuns, 4 acres. Another, held under Sir John Ramsden, Knt., 14 Oct., 1634, by James Meller, of 2a. 2r. 20p., on Nether Common; and 2r. Iop. near Cowms Smithy. Witnesses: Geo. Crosland, Thom. Fenay, John Kay, Edward Northe, Thomas Beaumont, Richard Bynnes, Isaac Wormall, Edw. Hanson (Attorney), and Roger Swallow. The House and Copyhold Lands of Nether Thorp, surrendered in the Court Baron of William Ramsden, of Dudman, by Wil/iam Woolley, of Ryber, in the County of Derby, Esquire, to Susanna Cudworth, of Castlefield, Thomas Binns, of Normanton, Gen., and Mr. Richard Allott, of Holmfirth, 23rd Oct., 13th Car. II. The above persons surrender to Dr. Nathanael Fohmston, of Pontefract, with bond to him and What—God—Will Crosland, of Almondbury, Tanner, and Thomas Gibson, of Almondbury, Innholder. The lands are named Salacre, Whorthill Bank, Foulstead—common on Wharlehill and Arkenley Bank. 1685, Fine and admission of Dr. Cudworth Johnston, and Margaret, his wife, by marriage settlement of Dr. Nathanael Johnson. Land then occupied by William Ferrand and William Heaton, Tanner. 1724, Marriage Settlement of Dr. Pelham Johnston and Ann, his wife, daughter of Thomas Western, of Abbing-

ton, in the County of Cambridge. 1735, Surrender of Dr. Pelham Johnson PART II.—B.

Page 192

146 DOMESTIC BUILDINGS

for his natural life, and after to Ann and Frances Johnston, only daughters by Ann Johnston, formerly Western, and heirs of their bodies. 1768, Lease and Release by Misses Anne and Frances Johnstone, of Westminster, to Messrs. Sohn and Foseph Atkinson, of Bradley and Huddersfield, Merchants, and Deed of Partition between them. Witnesses : Thomas Atkinson, of Coleman Street, London, and John Allen, of Clement’s Inn, Middlesex. Several conveyances of the Atkinson family and regrants, until 1813, when Thomas Atkinson, Esq., by will leaves his Estate to his Grand-daughter, Mary Atkinson, with limitation to her sole use in case of marriage. She married Captain Francis Beaumont, of Cheltenham; and by Deed of Gift, 1854, their daughter, Mary Jane, bestowed on her Step-Mother, Mrs. Jane Beaumont, on account of her kind attentions, the Estate. Mrs. Jane Beaumont gave and devized it unto her brother, John Chippendall, of Lancaster, Esq., for his life, and on his decease to his three daughters. He died and was buried at St. Luke’s Church, Skirton, near Lancaster, 3rd Dec., 1872. He was brother of Mrs. William Walter Stables, of Crosland Hall: and from the Misses Chippendall the property was purchased in 1875, by the present owner, Mary, widow of the late Mr. John Dougill; who had occupied the premises for many years as tenants. Mr. John Allen, mentioned above, married Margaret Scott, of Woodsome ; by whom he was related to the Scotts, of Badsworth. His son, Mr. Thomas Allen (see pages 44 and 46), resided at Finthorp, and afterwards at Gledholt, near Huddersfield ; whose eldest son, Benjamin Haigh Allen, Esq., of Green- head, as descended from Margaret Scott, became residuary legatee of the last of the Badsworth family; who left his chiet Estate to a Miss Rockley, an illegitimate daughter. The Author is indebted for these particulars to Thomas Allen, Esq., son of the late Mr. John Allen, of Gledholt. Mr. Richard Bynnes, above mentioned, died Dec. 23, 1645 ; his sister Grace, daughter of Thomas Bynnes, of Thorp, who died 1640, aged 96, married Bartin Allott, of Bentley Grange, at Almondbury, 1610. Their son Richard married one of the Wentworths, of Bretton. She was therefore Grandmother of Bartin Allott, of Bilham Grange ; Great Grandmother to Bryan Allott, Rector of Kirkheaton, and to Anne, wife of James Haigh, of Fenay; and to Grace, wife of Josh. Oates, of Nether Denby. Thus the wife of James Haigh, of Fenay, was Grand-daughter of George, and sister to Sir Thomas and Sir Michael Wentworth, of Bretton. (Mr. Nowell’s M.S.) The Atkinsons are buried at Kirkheaton ; but, see page 52 for Martha, wife of Mr. John Atkinson, and Mr. John Atkinson, junr., in Almondbury Chancel.

THE OAKS, QUARRY HILL.

This is an ancient house on the right hand side as you walk from Quarry Hill to Dalton. In the Inquisition of the 3rd of Henry

Page 193

AND FAMILY HISTORY. 147

VII (1487), there is an entry relative to this place, then held by Robert Rockley. Hence the Rockley family held property in the Manor at a very early period. ‘There is also a very ancient deed among the Fenay papers, late in the possession of B. N. R. Batty, Esq., from Rockley, of Rockley Abbey, near Barnsley, granting privileges to his son Robert Rockley, of Almondbury, and it is almost certain that Oaks was his place of residence. This family were of county eminence in the time of Henry VIII. Roger Rockley was married to Elizabeth Neville, daughter of Sir John Neville, of Chevit, Knt., in the 17th year of that King’s reign. An account of the rude splendour of the marriage, in its minutest particulars, is to be seen among the accounts at Skipton Castle. Whether the junior branch of the family continued to reside in the neighbourhood is uncertain. No mention is made of the Rockley family previous to 1705 in our Parish Register. The monuments of the last of the family will be found in page 48 of this volume. In 1584 the Oaks Farm was owned by John Ramsden, but in the map of the Ramsden Estate made in 1634 it isnot included; and it may be presumed that it was alienated, and became the property of John Ramsden, of Lassell’s Hall, and on the sale of th Lassell’s Hall Estate to the Walker family it was included; but was sold by them to the Rhodes family, and now is the property of Sir J. W. Ramsden. The Arms of Neville are in the Church. The family of Mellor for many generations were tenants of this place. Mr. Thomas Mellor was the last tenant of the name, and now, with his son Ephraim, holds, copyhold and leasehold, under Sir J. Percival P. Radcliffe, Bart., the house in St. Helen’s Gate, formerly occupied by Mr. Bennett, Surgeon, already referred to. Mr. Abraham Meller, of Dalton, is of the same locality (see gravestones, pages 59 and 60). Dr. Marshall, the learned editor of the Genealogist, says his paternal grandmother was, he believes, a Meller, of Oaks, Almondbury. His ancestor, Joseph Meller, of Morton Grange, Notts., who died in 1728, mentions in his will his lands at Almondbury, called Huntfields. There are two distinct farmhouses at Quarry Hill and Oaks ; attributed to Meller and Mellor families respectively. The family

Page 194

FAS DOMESTIC BUILDINGS AND FAMILY HISTORY.

of Mellor, of Lingards, in Almondbury, is also very old and respectable.* We have thus travelled down to the most extreme east of the Parish and Township of Almondbuty, to the valley, through which runs the dividing stream; and on the Kirkheaton side, the Hud- dersfield and Kirkburton Branch of the London and North Western Railway, with its Station at Fenay Bridge.

* Whilst this sheet is passing through the press the Author has been favoured with further information by the Rev. Walter Meller, of Clapham, who traces descent from the Mellers of Quarry Hill. The Huntfields are now partly occupied by Mr. Pontey’s nursery. One is still called Shaw-Huntfield from the former occupier of that name, Christopher Shaw. By will proved at York, 1729, Joseph Meller, of Morton Grange, County of Notts., bequeathes the Huntfields to his granddaughter, Susannah Wright, daughter of Christopher Shaw. The same link connects the family of the Rev. Thomas W. Meller, late Rector of Ipswich, with the Rev. William Gibbs Barker, of Chislehurst, Kent, by marriage of his youngest son to Miss Meller, an only daughter, but who became a widow in eighteen months. From the Rey. Walter Meller I also learn, ‘‘In Glover’s Visitation of Derbyshire and also History, he notes a Meller (and so supposes a Norman origin of the name) came over, for which he cites Hollinshead, with the Conqueror—and it seems a slight conformation of this French origin, that at Bordeaux the name is not uncommon even now.” Or (2) it may be derived as a mere ‘‘locative” from the village ‘‘ Mellor,” in Derbyshire; close by which the Idridgehay Mellors (of whom the Rev. T. Vernon Mellor is Vicar) live. Or (3) it may be as the name is in Chaucer, old English for the trade of a Miller.

Page 195

CHAPFER FENAY HALL AND ITS TRADITIONS.

It has been long the conviction of the Author, that they who care nothing for antiquity will do little for posterity ; whilst the search into the rolls and deeds of former ages, quickens the zeal to do something that will not die; and to bespeak the blessings of unborn generations. Our space at present forbids the full developement of the ancestral memories of the several families who have successively occupied FENay Hau_; at which we soon arrive after leaving the Oaks and Finthorp; from which last estate it is separated by Fenay Beck, running through a narrow, wooded glen, down to the Fields which give each its name, and to the river which affords supply to the Brewery Establishment of Mr. Joseph Sutcliffe, at Fenay Bridge. The spacious and direct road upward to Almondbury is of a comparatively modern date, made about 40 years ago; when there was a time of distress, and employment was found for labourers, under the direction of the then Esquire, B. N. R. Batty. Formerly the road from Huddersfield to Pen- istone or Wakefield lay through Almondbury, up the Bank to the Church, and then down Fenay Lane, as far as the road now turns to Fenay Farm; and went round by Fenay Cross and the back of the Hall, and came in again at Fenay Bridge; went up by Cowms to Wakefield, or to Penistone to the right on the present line for Kirkburton. The same informant remembers the Cross at the place still called “BROKEN Cross,” near the site of the Old Workhouse, between the Village west end and Castle Hill; and whereabouts, as before stated, it is believed St. Nicholas’ House stood. The round plinth of the Cross near FeNay still exists in a hedge-row near the Hall. At present we approach the Hall by a beautiful shady avenue from the modern road from Almondbury, or by a footway nearer Fenay Bridge. The older part of the Hall first meets our sight, and is in the timber and plaster style of the

Page 196

150 DOMESTIC BUILDINGS

Tudor and Stuart age; a gable bearing the initials An entrance gateway to the Court bears inscriptions” on each side, INTRET FIDES and EXEAT FRAVS. W.F. 1617. The Dining Room, which is part of the Ancient structure, has a gabled front towards the south and looks on Woodsome. The modern part consists of a loftier building projecting with rounded front looking in the same direction. The entrance door is placed in the midst and admits us into the Hall, which is not spacious; on the left we enter the Dining Room, and other apartments of the Old mansion. The Dining Hall is wainscoated throughout in panels about seven feet high, and bears a number of Latin inscrip- tions, in gilt letters, corresponding in style with that on the Pew in Almondbury Church, dated N.F. 1605. They are near the ceil- ing; at the top of each panel is a short sentence, or aphorism in gilt Roman Capitals. Over the fire-place are the Arms of the Fenays, Gules, a cross moline, or. Surmounted by the Crest, @ Unicorn’s head erased. There are three dates in the Room,—the first, 1605, is opposite the fire-place, and indicates the time when the old part of the house was begun; whilst the date 1660, which is over the fire-place, may tell us when all these alterations were completed. And it may be remarked that the period of the Res- toration is indicated by the revival of many old houses, which the greater security of the times promoted. The third date is near the Window, with the word RENOVATIO, 1792. The sentences run as follows : On the West sidet DEVM . TIME : REGEM. HONORA: LEGIBVS . OBTEMPERA : PARENTES . AMA : FAC. BONVM: FVGE.A.MALO: NOSCE.TEJPSVM: North

* Enter Faith. Depart Fraud.

+ Fear God. Honour the King. Obey the Laws. Love your Parents. Do Good. Flee from Evil. Know Thyself. Nothing too much. Regard the End. Love thy Wife. Teach thy Children. Take care of thy Household, Be affable. Repay a benefit. Pay honor to the Altar. Swear not. Inflict no injury. Love Peace. Be not lifted up. Abstain from Vices. Live that you may live. Meditate on Death.

Page 197

AND FAMILY HISTORY. I51

side. NE.QVID.NIMIS: RESPICE. FINE: CONIVGEM. AMA: LIBEROS. ERVDI: FAMILIA.CVRA: AFFABILIS. ESTO : BENEFICIVM.REPENDE: East side. DECVS. AD .ARA: NE.JVRATO : INIVRIAM. NE. INFERTO: PACE |. ‘DIEIGE 7: NE. SIS 7) > VETTES! ABSTINETO: South side. COGITA. MORI : I have note of two other inscriptions which do not now appear : Attende tibi quia moriari, Hodie mihi et cras tibi. and Sic nos es pro te modo solicitus, Quis erit pro te in futuro. “There are several other rooms which bear considerable marks of antiquity ; especially the Library. One small room has W. F., surmounted with Stars; but the greater part of the house owes its origin to the Norths; who added the Wing, and altered the appearance of the Old part. The situation of the Old Hall is well chosen ; it faces the south, the grounds sloping away in front, and the views from the lawn are very fine, the principal feature being the woods of Woodsome Hall. In this secluded situation the Fenays lived and died for several centuries. From these scenes ‘their sober wishes never learn’d to stray,’ and they appear to have laid to heart the wise advice of the builder, and to have ‘held the even tenour of their way’ in the fear of God, in loyalty, and in kindly relations to those around them.* The kind friend to whom I am obliged for the above observa- tions, and who is an artist as well as an antiquary, also remarks, after describing wilder scenes, on the aspect of that presented from the opposite hill; ‘They who prefer to worship nature in her gentler mood, to such persons there can be no fitter shrines than the Valley which divides Castle Hill from Farnley Tyas, or that which runs from Dalton to Kirkheaton. Taking as a stand point the high ground above Fenay Bridge Station, the view looking towards Almondbury always strikes me as perfect of its kind; and makes

* Mr, G. W, Tomlinson’s Notes communicated to the Huddersfield Chronicle,

Page 198

152 DOMESTIC BUILDINGS

one long for the pencil of Turner or Fielding, to catch the varying effects of light and shade, and to immortalise them in a beautiful drawing. Whether seen in summer, when the shadows are stretch- ing away from the evening sun, and all minor details are lost in a flood of golden haze ; or in winter, when the crisp air allows every point of the view to be seen with photographic exactness—all the sloping hill side from the brook winding at its base, up to its summit, fitly crowned by the old Parish Church—it is always lovely, and once seen will never be forgotten.” Above half-way up the hill just referred to, nestling among its ancestral trees, may be seen Fenay Hall, the old family seat of the Fenays and their successors. Although there is good evidence of the existence of a house at Fenay from a very early date, no part of the present mansion appears to be older than the latter part of the 16th ‘“cen- tury.” The learned texts inscribed by Nicholas Fenay may be accounted for by the fact that he is described as “Ouondam Schol.” that is, formerly Scholar, in the writings of Heath Grammar. School, near Halifax, as I learn from the Rev. Thomas Cox, M.A., the present Head Master; whose recent History of that eminent School is curious and interesting. Among benefactors towards the building of the School, were “Robert Kaye de Woodsome, Armiger; Ramsden de Longley, Armmig., et Rich. Beamont de Wh(itley), Armig. Each xx.s.

DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE OF THE FENAY FamILy.

Mr. Tomlinson observes: ‘Most of the materials for compiling the pedigree of the Fenays are to be found among the M.SS. stored in that great national treasure house, the British Museum. In the Harleian Collection (No. 4630, fol. 161) there is a tolerably complete pedigree of the family, dated 1694, which is brought down to the time of the last male in the direct line. Among the papers of the Rev. Joseph Hunter, F.S.A. (Add M.S.S. 24458), the pedigree is further continued to the time of Miss Jane Fenay, and her cousins, the Thorntons. Mr. Hunter’s volume is intituled « Familie minorum gentium,” and he appears to have been considerably indebted to the collections of the late Charles Brooke, Somerset Herald, who bequeathed them to the College of Arms.” TI am indebted to Mr. Morehouse and Mr. Rusby also for some of the Extracts. In the text under Documentary Evidence they are first mentioned, as far as

Page 199

a it

a

ve Y teas AT ET.

Page 201

AND FAMILY HISTORY. 153

we have been enabled to discover, in a Deed; referred to by Dr. Whitaker (History of Leeds, vol. 1, p. 339), relating to a Watercourse between Fenay and Woodsome, between Baldwin Tyas and John, son of Adam de Fenay. Baldwin Tyas is known to have lived in the reign of John, that is between 1199 and 1216. The next Deed is dated the 21st Edward I (1292), by which Thomas, son of Thomas de Fenay, releases to William, his son, all the right which he had in Fenay. Roger, son of William de Finey, gives to his son John, ‘‘le Finey,” in Almondbury, yielding to the Earl of Lincoln three shillings yearly at the of St. Michael’s. Among Brooke’s M.S.S., there is an entry of a Thomas del Finee and Agnes, his wife, giving to William, their son, and his heirs lawfully begotten, all their lands, &c., in Le Finey, within the bounda- ries of Almondbury. This deed is dated 21st Edward III (1347). Brooke gives another Deed, of which the substance is as follows: Margaret, late wife of Adam, son of Roger Cooke, of Almondbury, gave all her lands and tenements at Le Finey, which happened to her by right of inheritance, after the death of John de Feney, and the rent of 13d. of a certain part of one ‘bovate of land, which Thomas, son of Richard de Finey, held of her in Almondbuty, and the rent of 1d. to be received of a certain tenement called Aldelay, held of her, dated 1489. We are inclined to the opinion that this Margaret Cooke, Fenay, was the sister of Alice and John, and that John was the elder son, as shewn in the pedigree, but that there must have been another son, named Thomas, who married an Agnes, and that in all probability the eldest son died unmarried. In the Inquisition taken at Almondbury, in the 13th Edward III (that is 1340), Thomas Fynee, and Thomas, son of William Fynee, are among the Jurymen, and the following names occur among the Tenants, &c., Thomas Fenay, Thomas, son of Richard Fenay, Adam, son of Richard Fenay, Avie del Fenay, Adam, son of Thomas Fenay, William Fenay, Adam, son of Roger Fenay. From other sources we gather, 35 H.6., William Smyth, Priest, gave to John Sayvill, Knt., John Hopton, Esq., Lord of Swillington, Edmund Fitz- william, Esq., John Pulleine, Priest, and Nicholas Fenay, son and heir of John de Fenay, deceased, all his lands in Fenay, Almondbury, Lockwood, New- some, and Collersley. 1357. In the Poll Tax Roll, 26 Edward I, 1298, Agbrig, we have Almanber. Adam del Fynee. 22 Edw. IV, Richard de Turton, demised and confirmed to Thomas Wortley, Kt., Roger Amyas, Edmund Kay, and Henry de Longley, of all his lands which he had of the feoffment of John, son and heire of Nicholas Fenay, late of Bolton, in Coun. Leicester, in the towns of Almondbury, Lockwood, Pomfret, &c.

Page 202

154 DOMESTIC BUILDINGS

In the Inquisition of 3rd of Henry VII, 1487, we find it stated that John de Fenay held two closes, &c., called ‘‘ Rydings,” containing 32 acres free in the tenure of Thomas Fenay. Ada, daughter of Roger, renders 3s. The same John holds a messuage and one acre of land, one bovate to the son of Roger, and also John Fenay holds a messuage, a Burgage, and bovat of land, late Thomas Fenay, in Newsam, and renders Is. at Martinmas, 7d. at Michaelmas. Mr. Morehouse adds :—Moreover it appears that some of the Fenay possessions had passed by marriage, purchase, or otherwise into the ownership of John del Wood, a remote ancestor of the Ramsdens (Vide Longley Hall), which had belonged to Thomas, son of Richard de Fenay. In the Survey or Inquisition made by Queen Elizabeth, in 1584, we find an enumeration of the lands then holden by this family; and in the interim, the term “Rydings” had assumed the name of Fenay ; other lands having been pur- chased. The late Adam Beaumont’s, of Newsam (one of the Whitley Beaumont family), and Church lands in Almondbury; with tenements bought by William, the father of Nicholas Fenay, the then proprietor (1584), being part of the possessions of Rother: ham College. The Fenays for a long time were the leading gentry of the village. The above Nicholas Fenay became Deputy Steward of the Manor of Wakefield, early in the reign of Elizabeth, which office he seems to have held till near the time of his death, which took place (see brass plate, page 48) 1616. During this long period the copies of the Court Roll, which were issued by him to the Copyhold Tenants of the Manor of Wakefield, were written with great neatness ; his signature being appended in a curious style of caligraphy; the whole gives us the impression of the orderly manner in which the business of the office had been executed. About the time of the Civil War, the family appear to have quitted Fenay, leaving the place in the occupation of tenants. In 1681 a member of the Thornhill family, of Fixby, occupied Fenay till about 1709. ‘The estate ultimately vested in Mrs. Jane Fenay, who founded what is now called The Almondbury Poor Charity.

Page 203

AND FAMILY HISTORY. 155

FENAY FAMILY. The following is a brief PEDIGREE of successive generations :— 1, William ; 2, Roger; 3, John; 4, Thomas, of whose marriage and issue we have no particulars ; 5, Adam, married and had issue Joun, Margaret and Alice; 6, John, married Agnes, and had issue Wi111aM and Thomas; 7, William, living in 1380, married Mar- garet, daughter of Mr. John Kaye, and had issue JouN and Catherine. Margery was living in 1393. 8, John lived in the reign of Henry VI, and died about 1456, had issue and Catherine, who married Mr. John Cundall. 9, Nicholas, son and heir, living in 1456, had issue JoHN. to, John, living in 1489, and married Isabel, daughter of Mr. Thomas Cookson. 11, Nicholas lived about 1555, married Margaret, daughter of Mr. Edward Hanson, and had issue WILLIAM. 12, William lived about 1560, purchased the Glebe Lands of the Rectory from the Crown, between the 2nd Edward VI and 2nd Philip and Mary. He married Agnes, daughter of Mr. Edward Hirst, supposed to have been one of the Hirsts of Greenhead, near Huddersfield. They had issue NicHoLas. 13, Nicholas lived about 1573, married Grace, daughter of Mr. James Foxcroft, of Sowerby, and had issue and Jane, married Mr. Thomas Scoby, by whom she had issue Mary, married to Mr. John Maude, of Wakefield. In Almondbury Register is a note of the marriage of Nicholas Fenay and Gracia Foxcroft, at Elland, 8th July, 1563, and entries of the baptism of their children, Dorothea, 15 Oct., 1564; WILLM, 17 March, 1565; Thomas, 20 March, 1584. George, infant, buried 1 April, 1580. There are brass plates in memory of the above Nicholas, died 1616, and William, 1619, in the Chancel, see pages 47 and 48. 14, William, married Susan, daughter of Mr. Anthony Waterhouse; but died without issue. She survived her said husband, and afterwards married Mr. John Farrer, and by him had issue. Nicholas, Deputy Steward of the Manor of Wakefield, is mentioned in the Almondbury Register as “ Vir quidem pius ac perquam humanus ad bonum tamen reipublice nostre parum fortunatus quippe qui voluntatem habuit benefaciendi tum tum Ecclesiz, nihil autem preestitit excepto horologio lapideo

Page 204

I 58 DOMESTIC BUILDINGS

her first love, and devoted herself to works of piety and benevo- lence, and appears to have been much respected in Wakefield. The year before her death she rebuilt the Clerk’s house at Almondbury, shewing that as she neared the close of her career, her heart warmed towards the place where her forefathers had lived and died for so many generations. There is no portrait of Mrs. Fenay extant, that we know of, which is to be regretted, as it would have been pleasant to see what sort of a person she was. Nevertheless we may picture to ourselves a bright eyed old lady, bustling about her house, in quaint brocade dress, with everything handsome around her—her windows looking into an old-fashioned garden, full of savoury herbs and sweet smelling flowers—the pretty sitting-room fitted with elegant chippendale furniture, then so much in vogue; a girandol here and there, and plentiful stores of the old Fenay china ; with the kind just brought in by the ingenious Mr. Wedg- wood. As the evening shades begin to close in we may. fancy her sometimes sitting by her lonely fireside, and musing on the old line, of which she was the last representative, and it is easy to understand her wish that “no knave should succeed her.” To carry out this wish, she made her will in favour of the sons of her cousin german, John Thornton, and their heirs male, in tail male successively, expressing her intention that the estates should remain in the posterity of her worthy uncle, Richard Thornton, “forever,” as she characteristically words it. At her death Richard Thornton, of Tyersall, Esqre., eldest surviving son of John Thorn- ton, succeeded to him; but the zz7d/ being made by herself, and therefore improperly made, and the estates not being given to trus- tees to preserve contingent remainders, he suffered a recovery ; and dying on the 30th of May, 1790, by his will devized all his estates to be sold for the benefit of his two natural children, a son and a daughter, which was accordingly done in 1792, and the sum realized about £28,000. Thus ended Miss Jane Fenay’s dream about the disposal of her property, and the Ancient Mansion of Fenay, and the demesne lands, were bought by Mr. Benjamin North, Attorney, of Almondbury, whose family had occupied them as Tenants for nearly 60 years.

Page 205

EE EE —————E—

Oe —

=?) es

a

eS

AND FAMILY HISTORY. 159

THE HAIGH FAMILY. Thus for many years the Mansion had ceased to be the family seat, and was let to tenants. The first of whom we have any record is Mr. James Hatcu (see his grave stone page 50), who died 1723. He was one of the family of yeomen that sprung from Lockwood. Among Hunter’s papers in the British Museum, is a short pedigree of the family traced to a William Haigh, yeoman, Lockwood, who married and had three daughters and one son. The eldest daughter Sarah, married Matthew North, of Almondbury, of whom more hereafter ; the second Dorothy, married Mr. John Taylor, of the Elms, in Meltham. The third daughter, whose name is not given, married a person named Walker, of Coldersley. The son’s name was William, and he is described in the pedigree, as of Lockwood, Chapman, and had one only son, Joseph Haigh, of Netherton ; about whom it will be better to quote the remarks which are made in the pedigree, “He was a noted Cloth Mer chant, commonly called “Chapman Haigh,” buried at Almond- bury, 8th August, 1703, and is called in the Register honestus et divitiis abundans.* He joined with Matthew North in the purchase of considerable estates in Almondbury, of John Armitage, of Keresworth Hill, gent., October 14th, 1681.” Joseph Haigh, the second son, is described as “ of Honley;” and from him descend the Honley Haighs; also Mr. Walker, of Crow Nest, and Mrs. Thompson, of Huddersfield. Edward, the third son, was a Clergyman of Ashby-de-la-Zouch. James Haigh, of Fenay, was the fourth son, and we presume him to be the person buried in our Chancel. +He married Ann, daughter of Bartin Allott and Mary, daughter and co-heiress of John Peebles, of Dewsbury, Esq. No trace, however, of Mrs. Haigh is to be found in Almondbury. Thomas Haigh, of Coldhill, was the fifth and youngest son of “Chapman Haigh.” He married Mary, daughter of Matthew North, and by her had a son named James, “of Coldhill,” and a daughter, who married a person named Brook, of Kirkburton.

* An honest stitcher and full of wealth. + Hunter’s South Yorkshire.

Page 206

160 DOMESTIC BUILDINGS

There were also two daughters of “Chapman Haigh ;” the elder one Dorothy, was married at Honley Chapel, on the 27th Decem- ber, 1683, to the Rev. Carus Philipson, Vicar of Almondbury, soon after his appointment; the younger daughter was a Mrs. Dawson, of Lockwood (see gravestone page 52), from whom were descended Mrs. Thier, of Manchester ; Mrs. Hebden, of Hudders- field; Mrs. Bradley, of Newhouse; Mrs. Haigh, of Hightown ; and Mr. William Haigh, of Halifax.

THE NORTH FAMILY.

It now becomes necessary to give an account of the Norths, a family seated at Almondburty, at so early a period as the beginning of the reign of Henry VIII. One of the Norths, with an Antiqua- rian bent, compilec a pedigree of his family, and allowed Mr. J. C. Brooke, Somerset lerald, to make a copy of it, which was also deposited in the British Museum by Mr. Hunter. The first record of the family is an instrument, by which Joanna, widow of NortH (1) and daughter of John Hepworth, gave lands in Dalton, Almondbury, and Huddersfield, to her son JoHN NortTH (2) rath Henry VIII (1520). Of this John North nothing is known. The next of the family, supposed to be the son of John North, just mentioned, is also named JouHN (3). He is described as of Bank End, and either he or his son (also John North) held Bank End and other lands in the Manor. Bank End is in the Township of Dalton, and Parish of Kirkheaton, ‘This John North was one of the Jury in the Inquisition of the Manor of Almondbury, in 1584. The second son of John North was also named JOHN (4). He lived at Quarry Hill, in the Township of Almondbury, and died 29th September, 1637. His wife, Susanna, died at Longley, in 1653 or 1654. He had two sons who reached maturity, John, the eldest son, and MatrHEw (5), to whom his father gave lands at Espinshawe, bought in the year 1632, from - Sir John Ramsden, Lord of the Manor of Almondbury. He was baptised on 20th September, 1618, died in 1682, aged 63; described as a sensible, well-disposed sort of man, a great Church- man, and he used to go to the Parish Church, at Almondbury,

Page 207

AND FAMILY HISTORY. 161

followed by his seven sons. He bought Wellhead from the daughter of Abraham Brooke. He married Sarah, daughter of William Haigh, of Lockwood, in 1640, who survived her husband six years. It is not necessary to go through the account of the whole of Matthew North’s seven sons, so we will go on with William (6), the third son, who had lands at Wellhead from his father, where he lived until his death, which took place on 21st of November, 1712. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Michael Shaw, of Notton (sic). William North left a numerous family : but we will proceed with the third son, Benjamin North (7), born 4th May, 1695, by profession an attorney-at-law, the first of the family styled “‘of Fenay.” He married, in 1720, Mary, sister and co-heiress of ROBERT ROCKLEY. By this lady he had three sons and one daughter. Mrs. Benjamin North died 26th August, 1783, eet 83. Benjamin North was a man of considerable attainment, and he is referred to in respectful terms by Mr. Brooke, and also by Whitaker. He died 9th of November, 1768, aged 71. It is to his antiquarian care and zeal that we owe the pedigree of the family, from which I have so largely borrowed. ‘The eldest son also, Benjamin North, was born on the 14th May, 1721, and married Sarah, daughter of John Horsfall, of Almondbury, by whom he had one daughter, Marianne, who died in infancy. Mr. North died on the 13th May, 1796, and he and his wife and child are buried at Almondbury. The inscription on the gravestone is no longer visible, but preserved underneath the floor, and copies of this and all other inscriptions are made, which were bared during the recent Restoration, with a plan of their position. SM Se > Pare Broken 7 1)? The body of Mary Anne daughter of Benjamin North the younger by Sarah his wife, which child died 4th June 1777 aged one year and seven months; and the body of Sarah his wife which died 4th February 1790 aged 55 years; also interred the body of Mr. Benjamin

North junr. who died 13 May 1796 aged 75 years.

PAs a,

Page 208

162 DOMESTIC BUILDINGS

The will of Benjamin North, of Fenay, gent. is dated 21st November, 1794; he appointed his only surviving brother, William North (then advanced in years), and Robert Rockley Batty, his nephew, to be his executors. His funeral was to be entirely at the order of his brother, but to be paid for out of money paid to his nephew. Fenay (his residence) to go to his brother for life and £500 a year, chargeable on his Estates at Heckmondwike ; all the furniture at Fenay to be his brother’s property absolutely. He left his nephew, Ropert Batty, the residuary legatee, and all his Estates in Almondbury, Kirkburton, Rothwell, Darton and Birstall; to his grandniece, Miss Frances Chamber- lain, £1,500; to Joseph Scott, only surviving child of Mr. Robert Scott, £50, on attaining to the age of 21. The will was witnessed by T. Allen, W. Smith, and T. Burman. Welliam North, the next brother to Benjamin, only survived his brother four years, dying in 1800, at the age of 74. Francis, a younger brother, died in 1769. At the death of William North* the Fenay branch of the family became extinct, and the property passed by marriage to

the Battys. BATTY FAMILY.

Mary, daughter of Benjamin North the elder, and the sister of the preceding, married Mr. Edward Battie (sic), of Dewsbury, apothecary. She died 1764, and Mr. Battie married again, as appears from the following :—‘‘ The will of Margaret Batty, widow and relict of Edward Batty, surgeon and apothecary, deceased, made 1786, left all her real and personal estates to her son-in-law, Robert Rockley Batty; £250 to her grandniece, Mrs. Margaret Clarke, wife of John Clarke, a banker at Liverpool; £100 to her grandniece, Miss Elizabeth Dyson; to her daughter-in-law, Mrs. Ann Chamberlain, #20. This will was proved 1788, and is witnessed by Edward Sykes, Edward Smith Godfrey, and J. B.

* JoHN NorTu died Patrts 1635. He married and had an only daugh- ter and heiress, Elizabeth North, born 1632. She married a person named Joshua Whitley, and had an only daughter and heiress, who married a Mr. Heald, whose son was Vicar of Huddersfield, and died in 1734. His grandson held the Quarry Hill estate in 1764.

Page 209

AND FAMILY HISTORY. 163

Smith. Nothing appears to be known about this second wife, neither her maiden name nor place of burial. Edward Battie’s will is dated 17th May, 1779, and was proved 5th December, 1786. (He died 21st May, 1782, at Dewsbury, and was buried there on the 24th.) He left to Robert Rockley Batty, his only surviving son and sole executor, all his lands; except some in Thurstonland, in the parish of Penistone, which he left to his only daughter, Ann, the wife of Mr. Abraham Chamberlain, described in the pedigree as a merchant of Halifax. Robert Rockley Batty followed the same profession as his father; he lived some time at Dewsbury and also at Huddersfield; in the Registers of which parish I met with the following entry among the baptisms :— “ 23 May, 1781—Marianne, daughter of Rockley Batty, apothecary, Huddersfield.” Mr. Batty did not stay very long in Huddersfield, but settled finally at Almondbury, where he occupied the curious old house opposite the present post office. He married at Almondbury, Miss Elizabeth Atkinson, on the 23rd of May, 1776, and had a large family, an only surviving son and heir, Benjamin North Rockley Batty, and four daughters, besides several children, who died in infancy. The daughters were (1) Martha, married to Mr. James Crosland, born 1779, died 1809; (2) Mary Margaret, born 1789, married to Mr. Thos. Atkinson in 1812, and died 1865 ; (3) Ann Batty, born 1790, married to Mr. John Smith in 1816, died 1868 ; (4) Margaret, born 1797, married the Rev. D. James, and died in 1841. Mr. Robert Rockley Batty was unfor- tunately drowned in attempting to cross the Calder in 1799. He died intestate, and was succeeded by his son. Mrs. Betty Batty died Nov. 26th, 1822 (see page 38), aged 65. Mr. Benjamin North Rockley Batty was born in the year 1795, and, in consequence of his father’s untimely death, was left at a very early age to the care of his mother. He was brought up at Fenay Lodge, and early showed his fondness for sport. There are old people in Almond- bury who still remember his turning a fox out of the drawing-room window when he was 21. He was placed under the care of the Rev. Hammond Roberson, the well-known founder of Liversedge Church, and on leaving school he was articled to Mr. Alison, who

Page 210

164 DOMESTIC BUILDINGS AND FAMILY HISTORY.

then enjoyed the best practice in Huddersfield as a lawyer. He afterwards went to Manchester, and whilst reading there became acquainted with his first wife, Ellen, daughter of John Smith, Esq., of Rochdale; by which lady he had one daughter, Miss Ellen Beckwith Batty, who married Thomas Lancelot Reed, Esq., of Crow Hall, Denver, near Downham Market, co. Norfolk. This lady, who died in 1864, had an only son, Lancelot John Gilbert Reed, who died whilst still an infant, in 1846. Mrs. Batty died at Waddington, near Clitheroe, in 1824, and is buried there. After his wife’s death Mr. Batty returned to Almondbury, and for some time lived at Thorp Villa, until Mr. James Crosland left Fenay Hall, when he took up his residence at his ancestral seat. He married, secondly, Mrs. Elizabeth Curtis (née Woolnough), _widow of Lieutenant Curtis, R.N., and by this lady he had a son, the Rev. B. N. R. Batty, and a daughter, Miss Frances E. M. L. Batty, who was married in 1854 to Mr. C. E. Keymer, and has one son, Hugh Keymer, born in 1855. Mr. Batty lost his second wife in 1856, and he afterwards removed to Redcar, where he died in 1863, aged 68. Mr. Batty was a very popular man in the neighbourhood, both as a magistrate and country gentleman ; and his death revived the old feeling of regard which had become dormant through his absence from the town. He was succeeded by his only son and heir, the Rev. B. N. R. Batty, who was born in 1828, and was educated at St. John’s College, Oxford. He was for some time curate at Mirfield, but finally retired to Redcar. He married Augusta Fanny, daughter of Thomas Besley, Esq., of Exeter, and by her had one son and five daughters. Mrs. Batty died in 1873, and was not long survived by her husband, who died 30th March, 1875. He is succeeded by his son, Christopher North Rockley Batty, born 1869, and Mr. T. L. Reed is now the sole surviving trustee under his grandfather’s will. Since Mr. Batty removed to Redcar, Fenay has generally been let, and has been fortunate in its tenants. It is now in hands that are sure to preserve its antique beauties, and both willing and able to add such modern improvements as good taste may suggest, in the way of appropriate and well cared for surroundings.

Page 211

Cr eb tis ET. SCHOLASTIC.

Leaving Fenay Hall by the new road to the village, called Fenay Lane ; we pass the BoaRD SCHOOLS, Of which the Memorial Stone was laid by Mr. C. W. F. Taylor, 1st January, 1874; and they were opened September 7th, 1875. They were erected at the expense of the Ratepayers of the Borough, and are very handsome in style and execution ; built of grey stone, by Messrs. Capper, of Almondbury. They form a fine object from the south part of the Township and the Farnley Tyas Road; consisting of two Schools or Departments, Mixed and Infants’, capable of holding 300 and 142 respectively ; with a Master’s House; and though not strictly belonging to any period of Gothic architecture, would appear, from their situation and general style, to be an appendage to the Church. “ A consumma- tion devoutly to be wished.” They are placed certainly on that which was formerly “Church ground.” For further inquiry (even since the preceding sheet was printed) has, we think, proved that the ancient building, described as ‘“Pentice End,” with the adjoining one rebuilt by Mr. Johnson, were originally the residence of our great benefactor, Robert Nettleton; and containing “ the Ancient Priest’s Chamber.” Hence it is called by old people “The Old Rectory,” and was certainly part of the Rectorial property sold by the Crown to the Fenay family ; and still held by the owners of the Estate. There is a stone quarry behind, from which stone for many buildings has been derived; and “ The Flatts” lie below, on part of which quarry, and of the land thus situated, the School Board have built and enclosed playground. The ancient occupation as “ Priest’s Chamber” was practically revived, when the late Vicar, before his marriage, resided in the same room, which has since been partially used by the Burra. Boarb.

Page 212

166 FREE GRAMMAR SCHOOL.

Turning down the steep lane called St. Helen’s Gate, we pass the “Well,” and arrive at the field still known as CHAPEL YARD ; remarkable for its fertility; being the site of the ancient St. HeELEN’s CHAPEL, already alluded to, pages 33 and 70. Below which is THE FREE GRAMMAR SCHOOL, Generally attributed to King James I, as its founder in 1609; but which originated with the Kaye family. The ancient paper, already several times quoted (see page 70) and extracted from, “An old Manuscript Book at Woodsome,” no longer to be found, says, in the person of John Kaye, Esq., son of Arthur (whose incised gravestone is described page 31): “ Arthur Kaye’s ancestors buylded a Chappell of old Tyme, in the Lane above the Butts at St. Elyn well. About pmo Edw: sexti, he and I (viz his son John) dyd shift yt. and by consent of the Parish dyd ¢vans/ate the same into the SCoLE House, that now iS, and I (i.e. John) dyd p’cure one Mr. Smith, a good Scholar, to com and teach there.” Now as the first year of Edward VI was A.D. 1547, and Arthur Kaye died in 1582, this “translation” must have preceded his own translation (Heb. xi, 5); and the Grammar School was more than half a century old when it was chartered and endowed by King James, with lands previously common and belonging to the Crown. The first money endowment is that bequeathed by Mr. Robert Kaye, son of Giles Kaye, of Almondbury: for which receipt is given, without date, by the Governors, Robert Kaye, of Woodsome, the Reverend George Crosland, Vicar, Nicholas Fenay and Robert Nettleton; from John Kaye, of Woodsome, and Thomas Crosland, of Crosland Hill, executors of the last will and testament of Arthur Kaye, son and heir and executor of William Kaye, brother and executor of Robert Kaye, late of Almondbury, deceased, whose death at 23 years old is recorded in our Register, Jan. 16th, 1576; and that of Arthur Kaye, Nov. 12th, 1607 ; being #46 13s. 4d. A blank seal for Mr. Appleyard, of Longley, not signed. It is probable that the interest of this legacy had been used in support of the School until it was chartered in 1609, and

Page 213

FREE GRAMMAR SCHOOL. 167

then paid to the newly constituted body above-named. Other Grants are, 1610, from the King for the inclosure of waste for the School. 1611, Wm. Ramsden, annuity of 20s. 1612, Robert Kaye, of Woodsome, annuity of 4os. 1620, Sir Richard Beau- mont, annuity 26s. 1620, Robt. Nettleton (with a Seal, a Nettle growing from a Tun), a grant of Land. 1623, Rev. George Cros- land, annual gift 20s. 1623, Thos. Wilkinson, of Almondbury, 4s. yearly. 1633, Isaac Wormall, 15s. These were the men of THAT generation, who loved the truth and Him who is Truth itself. The sums may appear to us small; but may be taken at many times their present value; and had they all been invested or defined by a gift or rent of land, would now have produced a goodly revenue. The Deeds which convey them are equally minute in size, compared with modern documents ; but fully as operative. The signatures and seals are curious. The original Letters Patent, of King James, do not exist, but there is an ancient copy in the chest which states that they were granted ‘“ At the humble suit of the tenants and inhabitants of Almondbury, to establish a Free Grammar School for the bringing up of children and youths in Grammar and all good learning. To consist of one Master and one Usher, and governed by six honest men of the most wise and discreet religious persons within the said Parish, or dwelling within two miles thereof, who shall be called Governors of the goods, possessions and revenues of the Free Grammar School of King James, in Almondbury. The first named are as above, Robert Kaye, of Woodsome, and William Ramsden, of Longley, Esquires, George Crosland, M.A., Vicar of Almondbury, Nicholas Fenay, of Fenay, Richard Appleyard, of Over Longley, and Robert Nettle- ton, of Almondbury, Gentlemen, as a body corporate and politique, to hold property, with perpetual succession, for ever. Survivors, with the consent and liking of the master, to appoint fresh Governors, on vacancy by death or removal with the family, beyond the said boundary. To have a common seal; to elect from time to time one honest, religious and efficient Schoolmaster, and one learned and honest Usher. Vacancy of Master to be filled up within two months by one having taken M.A. or B.A. ;

Page 214

168 FREE GRAMMAR SCHOOL.

to be master during good behaviour; and in like manner the Usher—such Usher, with the consent of the master, to be removable upon a quarters warning. Should the Governors neglect, the Archbishop of York to appoint. Should his Grace omit, within two months, then the Master and Fellows of Peter House, in Cambridge, to nominate and present. The consent of the Archbishop required to make good and necessary statutes and ordinances under the common seal of the School; to be kept in a chest under. two locks, one for the master and the other for the Governor, appointed by the rest, as President. Power is given to receive, acquire and hold property for the perpetual maintenance of the School; not exceeding the whole yearly value of thirty pounds ; so as it be not holden of the Crown by knight’s service, the statute of Mortmain notwithstanding. Given at Westminster the 24th day of November, in the sixth year of the reign of his then Majesty of England, France and Ireland, and 42nd of Scotland. Nearly all the grants and payments above enumerated are still held or received. (rt) Robert Kaye’s grant of 20s. is paid by the Earl of Dartmouth. (2) Grant by King James of waste land, now the site of the school and other lands. (3) Robert Nettleton’s estate at Quernby, now the Golcar estate of the charity, producing about £113 per annum, less repairs, etc., about £20. (4) William Ramsden’s grant, paid by Sir J. W. Ramsden, Bart. (5) Sir Richard Beaumont’s grant, now paid by H. F. Beaumont, Esq. (6) Rev. Geo. Crosland’s grant of 20s., now paid by Sir J. P. Radcliffe, Bart. (7) Thomas Wilkinson’s grant, no longer received by the charity. (8) Isaac Wormall’s grant, now merged in the Rent Charge of £15 9s., paid by Israel Wormall’s Trustees, by order of the Court of Chancery. The Trustees of Nettleton’s Charity also usually make an annual grant of £25 for the maintenance of the school, at the discretion of the Governors, and £5 for rewards or prizes to the pupils. The original statutes by which the school was governed, were made by the then Governors, with the sanction of the Archbishop

Page 215

Anms \ (Rest of FeNay IN THe Dera Room ay Peay Harn

Pg Ke Leam mont A Aeogp ey

| =

72 Ho 1 Foupoens of Te Crayman Seyoor.

Page 217

FREE GRAMMAR SCHOOL. 169

of York. The original copy, with his seal, does not exist, but was signed by Sir John Kaye, William Horsfall and John Wilkinson, Esquires, the Rev. Carus Philipson, Vicar of Almondbury, and Richard Armitage, Gent. The exact date is not known, but Mr. Philipson’s incumbency extended from 1682 to 1705-6. Provision is made for the teaching of Latin and Greek, “No popish, profane or immodest authors, to infect them with error or immorality. The Master is to speak nothing but Latin to those who understand it. To take especial care of the scholars, not only in school, that they diligently apply themselves to their books and studies ; but also out of school with regard to their recreations, and to prevent all profane, idle and immoral practices, and to advise the parents to the same effect. Moderate corporal correc- tion enjoined. Poor scholars to be taught Latin and Greek gratis : but be obliged to get Moss for the roof of the school, and do other offices. Provision for payment by other scholars, born in the Parish, for tuition. None to be admitted who cannot read the Psalter, or are afflicted with any infectious disease, or incapable of learning. All incorrigible scholars to be dismissed, and their expulsion registered. The Master takes an Oath on admission, and gives a Bond for due performance of his office. Two days in the year appointed for examination of scholars, before Whitsun- tide and Christmas. The school to be open at Seven o’clock and close at Five, all the year round. Prayers are provided for morn- ing and evening, with a chapter in the Bible—especially the Sermon on the Mount. Barring out the Master forbidden. The School Mastgr, Usher and Scholars to resort to the Church on Sundays and Holidays, and other public days, and to behave reverently. ‘The Church Catechism to be taught once a week. Holiday tasks to be given at Christmas, Easter and Whitsuntide. Special holidays to be given at the request of any neighbouring or other gentleman or person of quality—except to scholars in ‘the Black Bill’—once only in two years by the same gentleman.” Dec. toth, 1821. On the petition of the inhabitants, the Gover- nors then present, viz., Joseph Walker, J. G. Armitage and Benjamin Haigh Allen, Esquires, resolved that Ten Poor Children,

Page 218

170 FREE GRAMMAR SCHOOL.

belonging to the Parish of Almondbury, be taught English Reading and Grammar, Writing and Arithmetic ; to be elected by the resi- dent Minister and Churchwardens of the Township of Almondbury, subject to the approbation and control of the Governors. The Reverend John Coates, M.A., was then appointed Master, and the Reverend John Coates, Junior, Usher, who gave their consent to the above resolution. January 25th, 1848. Amended Statutes were confirmed by the Archbishop of York, Dr. Thomas Musgrave; making regula- tions more conformable to the habits and requirements of the times. The Rev. Alfred Easther, M.A., of Emmanuel College, Cambridge, was then appointed Master. The Governors being Joseph Armitage, President, B. N. R. Batty, George Armitage, and William Walker Battye, Esquires. 1856. The Governors answered various inquiries by the Charity Commissioners, of which a record is kept. February 21st, 1860. Archbishop Musgrave confirmed further Interpretations of the Statutes, under the advice of the Charity Commissioners, increasing the number of Free Scholars, and reducing the terms on which other inhabitants should receive education to Four Guineas per annum. The Governors being Joseph Armitage, President, George Armitage, John Nowell, Charles Brook, Junior, Bentley Shaw, and Thomas Brooke, Junior, Esquires. The Rev. Alfred Easther died 25th Sept., 1876, and was succeeded by the Reverend Thomas Newton, B.A., of Trinity College, Dublin, elected Nov. 23rd, 1876, by Bentley Shaw, Presi- dent, George Armitage, Thomas Brooke, Esquires, the Reverend Canon Hulbert, M.A., Vicar of Almondbury, and James Priestley, Esquire, with the written consent of Sir John William Ramsden, Bart., Governors. February 6th, 1877. In consequence of a Memorial, addressed to the Charity and Endowed School Commissioners, by certain Inhabitants of Almondbury, to which the Governors gave a reply, D. R. Fearon, Esq., Assistant Commissioner, held an inquiry into the Statutes and Funds of the School, assisted by the Governors

Page 219

EREE GRAMMAR SCHOOL. a7 5

and Master; when all the School Documents were considered ; with reference to a new scheme for the government of the school and its property, which is now in progress under the Endowed Schools’ Act, founded on suggestions of the Governors and the principles of the Statutes, which if they had been made within 50 years of the foundation of the school would have been held binding. February 14th, 1878. The Reverend Thomas Newton, having accepted the Vicarage of Shepley, resigned the office of Master, and was succeeded by the Reverend Francis Marshall, B.A., of St. John’s College, Cambridge, the present Master; subject to the conditions of the proposed New Scheme ; which it is probable will increase the Endowment by the incorporation of additional funds from “ Wormall’s Charity” estate. The present Governors are Thomas Brooke, Esq., Armitage Bridge, President; Sir John William Ramsden, Bart., Longley Hall; the Rev. Charles Augustus Hulbert, M.A., Vicar of Almond- bury and Hon. Canon of Ripon; James Priestley, Esq., Bank- field; John Arthur Brooke, Esq., M.A., Fenay; John Edward Taylor, Esq., Northfield, all in the Parish of Almondbury. May 15th, 1880. The Archbishop of York (Dr. Thomson) consents to the alteration of dividing the School year into three terms instead of four quarters. The Rev. Francis Marshall has taken the degree of Master of Arts.

There are no Minutes of the Governors before the year 1821, but the follow- ing Seals and Documents are in the Chest. One great Seal of the School (old), one ditto brass, and one steel. 1609. Petition of the Governors of School to Sir Thomas Parry, Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, requesting the King’s Letters Patent for the Foundation of the School. Signed by T. Parry, and referred to auditor T. Ffanshawe, 22 Sept., 1609. On the margin are the eight Benefactors already mentioned. 1641, Feb. 9. Election of Sir John Kaye, of Denby Grange, Bart., by Sir John Ramsden, of Byram, Thos. Beaumont, of Whitley, Esq., John Crosland (Vicar), and Thomas Fenay. Countersigned by George Ferrand, Master. 1648. Election of Thos. Naylor, Vicar, of Almondbury. 1648. Election of Robert Nettleton, of Thornhill Lees, Gent. Sealed by

Page 220

172 FREE GRAMMAR SCHOOL.

Sir John Kaye, W. Ramsden, T. Beaumont, and T. Naylor (Vicar). Coun- tersigned by G. Farrand, Master. 1642. Election of Sir John Kaye, of Woodsome, Bart., Sep. 1, by W. Ramsden, Robert Nettleton, T. Naylor, and Nicholas Fenay. Countersigned by Mr. Farrand. 1695. Election of John Wilkinson, of Greenhead, Gent., Nov. 30, by Sir John Kaye, sole remaining Governor. Countersigned by Abraham Walker, B.A., Master. 1700. Bond of Obadiah Porrit, Clerk, Jan: 30, with Stamp, in Latin, appointed by Sir John Kaye, Rd. Beaumont, of Whitley, Will. Horsfall, of Storths Hall, John Wilkinson, of Greenhead, Esquires, Carus Philipson, Vicar, Rd. Armitage, of Dudmanstone, Gent. Witnessed by Geo. Shepley, Chas. Nayler, Fra. Kaye. 1727, Sept. 8. Certificate and Bond of Saml. Brooke, of Mirfield, Master, to John Wilkinson, Rd. Horsfall, of Storrs Hall, Esq., Thomas Heald, of Huddersfield (Clerk), Abraham Radcliffe, of Almondbury, Gent. Witnessed by Edwd. Rishton, Vicar, and John Bolderston. 1734. Election of Sir John Lister Kaye, of Grange Hall, Bart., by Thos. Heald and Abm. Radcliffe. Countersigned by S. Brooke, M.A. 1750. Election of John Kaye, of Grange, Hsq., by Sir J. L. Kaye, Wm. Radcliffe, Esq., Ben. North, Gent., John Radcliffe, Gent. Countersigned by Samuel Brooke. 1809. Election of John Lister Kaye, of Denby Grange, Esq., Joseph Scott, Woodsome, Esq., Joseph Walker, Lascelles Hall, and Joseph Green Armytage, Gentlemen, by Rd. Hy. Beaumont, Whitley Hall, and George Armitage, of High Royd House, Esqrs. Countersigned by Walter Smith, B.A., Master. 1816, June 1. Election of Joseph Armitage, High Royd House, Ben Haigh Allen, Greenhead, Ben. North Rockley Batty, of Fenay Hall, Esquires, by Sir John Lister Kaye, Bart., J. G. Armitage, and Joseph Walker. Counter- signed by Walter Smith, Master. 1821. Letter from Joseph Buckle, Secretary to the Archbishop of York (Dr. Vernon Harcourt), refusing to sanction any alterations in the Statutes, that might do away with the character of the School as a Grammar School. 1847. Resignation of the Rev. Thos. Atkinson, M.A., who had been nominal Master (as had the Rev. John Coates, Senior), during the Ushership of the Rev. John Coates, Junior, who was not qualified to be Master, and died this year. . 1848, Jan. 8th. Bond of Rev. A. Easther, M.A., on appointment. Elec- tion of William Walker Battye, of Thorp Villa, George Armitage, of Edgerton, William Leigh Brook, of Meltham Hall, Esquires, and John Nowell, of Farn- ley Wood, Gent., by J. Armitage, Esq., and B, N. R. Batty. Esq. Counter- signed by Mr. Easther.

Page 221

FREE GRAMMAR SCHOOL. 173

1855, Nov. 24th. Appointment of Bentley Shaw, of Lockwood, and Charles Brook, Junior, of Meltham, Esquires, by Joseph Armitage, B. N. R. Batty, and George Armitage, Esquires, and Mr. John Nowell. Countersigned by Mr. Easther, in the place of William Leigh Brook and William Walker Battye, Esquires, deceased. C. S. Mr. Easther. 1858. Appointment of Thomas Brooke, Esq., of Fenay Lodge, by Joseph Armitage, Geo, Armitage, John Nowell and Bentley Shaw, Esquires. C. S. by Mr. Easther, in place of B. N. R. Batty, deceased. 1860. Appointment of Rev. Lewis Jones, Vicar of Almondbury, by Geo. . Armitage, John Nowell, Bentley Shaw, Charles Brook, junr., and Thomas Brooke, C. S. by Mr. Easther, in place of Joseph Armitage, deceased. 1867. Appointment of Sir John William Ramsden, Bart., of Longley Hall, and the Reverend Canon Hulbert, M.A., Vicar, in place of the Rev. Lewis Jones, deceased, and Charles Brook, Esq., resigned on account of removal. C. S. Mr, Easther. 1869. Appointment of James Priestley, Esq., of Bankfield, Taylor Hill, in the place of John Nowell, Esq., deceased. C.S, Mr. Easther. 1876. Bond of the Rev. Thomas Newton, B.A., of Trinity College, Dublin, as Master in place of Mr. Easther, deceased. 1877. Appointment of John Arthur Brooke, Esq., of Fenay Hall, in place of George Armitage, Esq., retired by removal, and since deceased.

1878. Appointment of John Edward Taylor, Esq., of Northfield, Almond- bury, in place of Bentley Shaw, Esq., deceased. The Rev. F. Marshall, B.A., chosen Master ; under whom the School continues more than to maintain the character previously held, by its success in obtaining University and other distinctions. Numerous Papers are preserved relative to a Suit in Chancery ; the Attorney-General against Savage and others, at the relation of S. Brooke, Clerk, relative to the estate of Israel Wormall ; lasting from 1752 to 1763.

Decree with reference to the claims of his relatives and the management of Mr. Benjamin North, ending with a Scheme for the future management of the Trust after the decease of poor relations provided for, and the payment of 20 years arrears due to Mr. Brooke, of £5, settled by Mr. Wormall. By which provision is made for placing out of such of the poor children of the Parish of Almondbury as the Trustees or survivors of them shall approve, to be apprentices in any of the lower sorts of trade or manufactures or in husbandry ; as being the most likely scheme for rendering the said Charity of use to the Testator’s own Country, and the Publick in general.

In addition to these ancient and benevolent Endowments, the exertions of the scholars are stimulated by prizes and rewards bestowed annually on the most deserving scholars, after strict acd competitive Examination. The EARL oF DARTMOUTH gives a SILVER MEDAL yearly at Midsummer, for general merit in Examinations and good conduct. Captain Thomas Jessop, Scots Greys,

Page 222

174 FREE GRAMMAR SCHOOL,

M.A., gives a prize of £5 for the best proficient in Mathematics. There are other prizes for Greek, English, Chemistry. The Vicar gives a special prize for Divinity. There is a Library and Chemical Laboratory. Students pass the Cambridge Local, and College of Preceptors’ Examinations with credit, and obtain University distinctions ; but at present there are no Exhibitions founded, a desideratum remaining for modern benevolence to supplement. There can be no doubt that this School has stimulated native talent—and contribute to abate the difficulties of its developement and success, so well expressed by Dr. Beattie in The Minstrel :

Ah ! who can tell how hard it is to climb, The steep where fame’s proud temple shines afar ; Ah! who can tell how many a soul sublime, Has felt the influence of malignant star, And waged with fortune an eternal war. Checked by the scoff of pride, by envy’s frown, And poverty’s unconquerable bar, In life’s low vale remote has pined alone, Then dropt into the grave, unpitied and unknown !

A century has wrought a vast difference in the opportunity of information, and the tests of advancement. almam qui meruit feratis now the prevalent motto.

THE SCHOOL BUILDINGS.

These rather illustrate ‘‘ perseverance under difficulties” than the dignity of learning. The situation is however one of the loveliest which can be conceived, and the site given by the Monarch who was called the English Solomon, to whom we, at least, owe our glorious English Version of the Bible ; might remind one of Academic Groves. The Master’s House however, is small and low; but there is a spacious dormitory over the School-room, which is also of insuffi- cient dimensions, even with the new building erected originally for a cloister, and playground in wet weather; but which is now required for scholastic purposes. Great exertion was then made; buildings were also erected for the accommodation of boarders and private pupils by the Rev. Alfred Easther, as referred to page 16; but which were sold by his executors. New Buildings are however now in progress to be erected at ifthe cost of generous private individuals; which will supply scope for

Page 223

FREE GRAMMAR SCHOOL. 175

extension of numbers, and comfortable accommodation for teachers and scholars. Biographical notices of the former masters and some governors are reserved for the fourth part of these Annals; among whom the Author has to regret the loss of Mr. Easther and Mr. Nowell, true scholars and laborious antiquarians; with gentle and christian manners, over whom he would gladly be enabled to say

Lxegi monumentum ere perennius. Horace.

A Marble Tablet has however, recently been placed in the Parish Church, to the Memory of the Rev. A. Easther, by grateful pupils and surviving friends ; not forgetting his only sister and fond fellow labourer, Louisa ANN; who rest from their labours in our Cemetery until the day of FrivAL EXAMINATION AND REWARD. These virtues are however, not without their living Memorials in those who hold their once familiar place ;. and it is intended to place a tablet, with a Latin inscription, in the Old School-room.

Page 224

CHAPTER III. WOODSOME HALL.—DESCRIPTION AND HISTORY.

The Stately Halls of England ! How beautiful they stand ; Amidst their tall Ancestral trees, O’er all the pleasant land.—Mrs. HEMANS.

We now pass over the slender stream which separates the Townships and Manors of Almondbury and Farnley Tyas, through “Birks ;” formerly a considerable farm, occupied two centuries ago by the family of Rusby, and more recently by those of Farrand and Dobson; still belonging to the Earl of Dartmouth. The spirit of trade, however, here found convenience for its efforts in the erection of a manufactory in the last generation by Mr. John Nowell, so frequently referred to—whose scientific as well as antiquarian acquirements and labours, illustrated the saying of the old Roman Poet: “ Romanus sum, et nihil humanum, a me alienum puto.” Nothing that would benefit his native Parish was indifferent to him. The neighbouring villa and small estate of Arkenley or Rushfield is still the property of his family; a part of what was formerly “the Common.” His own residence was in the bosom of “the Wood” which rises above; and there his chemical experiments and midnight lamp led some to fancy him the Weird Magician. We, however, for the present defer further reference to his benevo- lent labours. The enterprising Brothers Taylor now occupy his business premises—and we shall take the liberty of crossing them and the little beck near which they stand, to the new road from Woodsome Lees to the village of Farnley Tyas, made by the late revered William, fourth Earl of Dartmouth, about 1824, connecting the main road with that village. The Church also erected by the same noble Owner, and consecrated in 1840, marks the site with its heavenward spire. The whole Township being of an exception-

Page 229

DESCRIPTION AND HISTORY. 177

ally rural character and contributing supplies of milk and butter to the busy and populous districts around it—FARNLEY is altogether a woody hill—and WoopsomeE derives its name from its rich clothing. : After catching a good view of Fenay Hall, we approach the Hall by a growing avenue of trees, and enter by plain gates to the enclosure. On the right are the stables and outbuildings of stone, and over the east end, the ARMoury of the Thirty-fourth Battalion of the West Riding Rifle Volunteers ; who were for several seasons encamped on the heights above. It is described by a recent writer as “one of the most charming old places in Yorkshire.” It looks towards the east. Its gabled front with long stone windows, stands on a paved terrace with a balustrade in front. In Spring, lilies of the valley and musk, and in Autumn, the crocus, push upward between the chinks of the pavement; and masses of old-fashioned “Greenery” rise against the grey walls themselves. From the terrace there is a beautiful view down the valley ; which is much wooded. ‘There is an air about the whole place, not only of unbroken antiquity, but of most complete repose and quiet, contrasting most delightfully with the bustle of the surrounding district. The new Church of Lepton crowns the opposite hill; erected chiefly by Henry Frederick Beaumont, Esquire, of Whitley Beaumont Hall; the residence of the “ Bellomonte” family since the Conquest—and the woody avenue which crowns it, and con- ducts to the Mansion, must have been the bright morning vision of the equally ancient inhabitants of Woodsome, as they hailed the rising sun, or sported on the grassy lawn in front. The Mansion of Woodsome consists of a Central Hall, flanked with gabled projections on either side—the Elizabethan style and date. A stone Porch in the centre bears a date of 1600 over the entrance arch and has stone sedilia. A Muniment Room is erected over the arch, which has the date of 1644 on the apex. The interior is as little changed as the outside: on entering the house, on the left-hand side is a room entirely wainscoted, about eight yards by six, containing besides old furniture and an antique

pier glass, two Oil Paintings representing probably Sir John Kaye, PART II,—D.

Page 230

7a . WOODSOME HALL.

in style of Charles I, with iron breast-plate, flowing wig, and lace necktie; the other representing a beautiful young lady, partially veiled, bearing a torch, probably of the same period. This was most likely the library or drawing room of “the belted Squire,” and Worshipful Justice of the Peace. Beyond are the kitchens and other offices, and a long passage leading to the courtyard or quadrangle behind. On the right-hand side of the Entrance is the great Hall, ten yards square, high, lofty, and airy—with its broad windows. On the east side a gallery runs along above, where, of old, minstrels and harpers may have over looked and charmed the hospitable board below; and on the north two internal windows, where fair dames may have witnessed the same. walls are adorned with paintings, and these with the Armour and Cabinets, and the enormous fire-place form an admirable study for the Artist.” (Hand Book of Yorkshire.) The stone seats in the chimney corner, and the wide dogs and grating for the winter fuel, recall old Horace’s lines : **Chase the frost ! upon the fire Heap the logs, yea, heap them higher.” And we can imagine the Christmas scenes and carols around the blazing hearth—not always temperate. Over the fireplace are carved in fanciful capitals, each letter more than a foot high : ARTHVR « KAY BEATRIX * KAY And between the names an Escutcheon, quartering Kay and Finchenden. ‘They are the same pair who are recorded on the incised stone in the Kaye Chapel (see page 31 and the illustration). Over is a Stag’s head and a large gilt ornament, bearing the initials J. K. A Clock dated 1652, with oak case and gilt face, recently restored, and surmounted with the plume and ccronet, forming the Crest of Lecce. An ancient Oil Painting representing the front of the Hall, very much as at present, except the entrance gates, has been removed to Patshull House, on the borders of Shropshire and Staffordshire, the principal residence of the present Earl. On the walls are hung various articles of olden warfare : matchlocks, cullions, halbert, battle-axe and rapiers. A silver

Page 231

DESCRIPTION AND HISTORY. 179

trumpet of the date of the Restoration, formerly upon the wall,” but has also been removed and “speaks of war no more ;” it served the office on recent occasions of festivity of summoning the butler. But the principal objects of interest are the paintings. Large portraits of probably, the Sir John Kaye of Charles II days, in silk robes, black wig and lace bands. On each side Lord Lewisham and the heiress, who carried the estates to the present noble family (see monument, pages 39 and 40), in the costume of the early part of the last century. But the greatest curiosities are the two boards hung on cranes under the gallery, of which more anon. Old oak chairs with cane seats, cabinets and other old furniture surround the hall. In the windows, which occupy the whole east side, are in glass the crest and coronet of the present noble owner; whose judicious care has restored and repaired the whole structure ; “ without,” according to the hope of the writer to whom we have referred, “impairing its original style.” In this hall were held from 1846 to 1852, annual dinners of the Husbandry and Stall Feeding Association,” promoted by the late Earl, at the suggestion of his then able and eloquent agent, the late Frederick Thynne, Esq., of Westminster, and taken up with pen and personal exertion by Mr. Nowell; as a remedy for frequent depressions in trade, and the comparative neglect of the cultivation of the land; from which effort much benefit resulted : waste lands were broken up, relief given by labour, new roads made, and cottage gardening promoted. On these occasions an old song very appropriate to the place, was usually sung by Mr. Schofield, a Farnley farmer—of which jthe burden was “modera- tion” under the first, and “ alteration” under the second Charles ; and which seems to have been the origin of the modern one of the “Old English Gentleman.” Trade and agriculture had been for some years thought to be opposed. On one of these occasions Mr. Thynne recited an imaginary ballad, which illustrates his genius, and the Author cannot withhold its record, from a deep sense of gratitude for his services to Slaithwaite, then under his own cure, where his Lordship’s estates afforded opportunity for much

Page 232

180 WOODSOME HALL.

educational and social improvement by the liberality of the Lord, and the intelligent energy of the agent. The Association ceased with their lives, but their footsteps are on the soil, and it was succeeded by another movement—that of the Rifle Volunteers, in which the present Earl and the late lamented Colonel Bradbury were the prominent promoters. Then Woodsome, without and within, was the scene of quasi-feudal exercises and hospitality ; and though the Battalion is reduced, his Lordship is still the Captain of a Company, composed of members from these and his Lordships other estates, who meet now annually at Patshull. Successive waves of patriotic and kindly feeling, illustrating those hereditary principles, which, like our ships laid up in ordinary in our dockyards and seaports in time of peace, are ready for action whenever required.*

But we must resume our description of the old pictures, which better illustrate these virtues than any words of ours.

The first picture represents Arthur Kaye, in gown and girdle, reclining ; and as if from his loins proceed branches, bearing, as fruit, the heads of his sons and daughters and their progeny, in the style and dress of the Tudor reigns, with scrolls bearing their names and respective ages: Arthur 76, John 46, George 43, Margaret, Arthur 28, Robert 26, Jane 23, Anne 19, George 20, Richard 17, John 16, George 12, Beatrix, Matthew, Dorothea, Thomas, John. fructus Wodsonie domus.

Underneath :

‘* Here Arthur lies in quiet rest, Who justly delt and none opprest, This tree too sprung out of his brest, His fruit, O Christ, that follow The be blest.”

On the reverse are armorial bearings of the families of Yorkshire, divided down the middle into two columns of twenty eight each.

* Mottoes of Kaye and Legge: Kynde kynne knowne kepe, and Gaudet tentamine virtus, also appear.

Page 233

DESCRIPTION AND HISTORY. 181

Over the left hand division is the following inscription : armes yt followe In this way Are kin to Woodsom bi John Kay.” Over the right hand division : “*These armes subscribed here so ryfe are kin to Woodsom by his wiffe.” Between these : ‘*This monument doth represent a thing that erst hathe bene, As dothe thes work by dyvers coots of sundry frends I wene, Sith auncestry by armorye and vertuouse renowne, Hath bene regardyd and rewardyd with castle and with towne I think it skill to shew good will such soothe here to renewe That when they spy theyr armorye their virtewes may ensewe” On the second picture is John Kay, anno etatis 44, surmounted by the Coat of Arms and surrounded by various devices. On the border at the top is inscribed : Johannis Kay et vxoris suc effigies” Which is continued at the foot:

“ Mihi vita Christos.”

The arms are those of Sir Thos. Gargrave, Wentworth de Wentworth, Wortlay de Wortlay, Woodrow de Woolay, mi Lor. Willobi, mi Lor. Irven, Went- worth de Bretto, Lassey de Cromwell-botham, Leigh de Middleton, Frechville de Stirlay, Sir Willm. Fairfax, Sir William Ingleby, Sir Robt. Stapylton, Conyar de Sockburn, Knowles de Hesslewood, Gascoign de Gawthrop, Hawksworth de H , Burdett de Denby, Tempest de Branwell, Wormall de Womwell, Sayvell de Welburn, Middleton de Stokel, Malverer de Woodersom, Tunstall de Thursland, Calverley de Calverley, Hopton de Armlay, Everingham de Stambol, Bunnie de Nesland, Watterton de Walton, Thornhill de Fixby, Bradford de Stanlay, Gascoign de Laisincroft, Markin- field de Markinfield, Coman de Laiston, Dawson de Seasae, Holt de Gustlehirst, Wheatley de Woollay, Radcliff, Nevile de Chete, Drax Wudall, Aldbrough de Aldbrough, Vasvaour de Weston, Dimmocke, Lord of Medlay, Lord Percie, Bellicis de Newburgh, Keresford de Keresford, Lord Lumley, Lord Darcy, Kay de Olerenshaw, of Rutland, Plumpton de Plumpton, Laton de Laton, Foster de Edderston, Lord Lile, Verner de Haddon, Aske de Hawghton.

Page 234

182 WOODSOME HALL.

On the left side at the top: ‘¢When I am dead and laid in mold mi picture here ye may behold Whose care was great to teach you good before ye wisdom und’stood Learne ye therefore to excel, in vertew and in lyvinge well The gayne is yours in godly life ye payne is theirs yt live in str’fe When quarrels ryse yt provke Yre tread them soon down in you desir When brethrene love in unitie no greatr reward on earth can be Thus sarve yor God in charite and keep my pose’is ma’ fullie”

And on the nght : ‘¢Sithe earthe to earthe must make refuge bi Gods appointed will Sithe worldly thinges must have an end ye scriptures to fulfil Sithe joye or payne must need remaine, unto all Be wise in making enterprise before ye thinges begynne Let wisdom weyve ye webbe I say yt vertew may advance So shall your doynges not decay nor fall into mischaunce ”

On the second picture is a portrait on one side of the wife of John Kay painted “anno etatis 44,” underneath which is a

description of the life of an honest wife : uxoris honestz.”

‘**To live at home in howswyverie To order well my famylye To see they lyve not Idillye To bring upe childrene vertuislye To relyeue poor foulk willinglye This is my care with modestye To leade my lyfe in honestye.”

On the left side of the head :—

** Here underwritten dothe beygin Certyn friends of my howse and kin On th’other side there may ye see Certayn that be akynne to me.”

On the right hand :—

** To bragge or to boast of noble parentage To the ys none honour of yt live amysse Then serve we God duly in every age Not willing our own will but fyrst willynge his Obeying our howsbands in what lawful is Who howswifelye taketh delightyng in this Well may be called good matron or maistris.”

Page 235

DESCRIPTION AND HISTORY. 183

On the reverse is a picture representing the descendants, in portraiture, of Arthur Kay, who died “‘an. etat. 76.” The largest portrait, in the centre, of John Kay, “anno et. 46,” seems to show that the paintings were executed in his time. There is a tunnel or subterranean passage from the hall to the little valley in front, which is attributed to Mr. Rimmington. Leaving the great hall, we enter what was formerly the dining room, but now the drawing room, also wainscoted throughout ; 12 yards by 9 yards, filled with antique furniture, china, mirrors, and ornaments, looking on the terrace and the beautiful prospect already described. In the glass are dilapidated escutcheons of Kaye; Kay impaled with Wentworth; and Kaye, with probably Lacy; and in a north window, a modern one representing Legge quartered with Kaye, Talbot and Finch. On leaving the present drawing room (formerly the dining room) we enter on two smaller wainscoted rooms, over the fireplace of the first is an old painting representing the finding of Moses in the bullrushes. Ascending an oak staircase we reach the principal bedrooms also wainscoted, and a large number of other chambers with much ancient furniture ; especially an old four-post bedstead with an inscription in ornamental old English characters :

met Dens et salva me,

With a curious cypher of T.R. Another very handsome and elaborately carved bedstead bears date Eliz. Reg. 1596; but is really of modern workmanship. One of the rooms formerly contained documents, and was said to be that of Mr. Rimmington, the steward, and to be haunted by his uneasy ghost. The late Mr. Nowell furnished the following information to Mr. Hobkirk, and which we quote from page 99 of his very interesting work on “ Huddersfield, its History and Natural History.” “When I was a boy, as far as I can recollect, the legend of Rimmington’s Ghost was to this purport, as related by old country crones, viz.: first, that strange noises were heard in the room

?

called ‘Rimmington’s Closet ;’ second, that a man once met the

ghost of Mr. Rimmington riding at full speed down Woodsome

Page 236

184 WOODSOME HALL.

Lane, with a couple of dogs led by a leash; third, once upon a time his ghost going at full gallop, plucked out a brag nail from a door post at the bottom of Farnley village ; fourth, that the learned clergy of the neighbourhood were called in to put his unquiet spirit to rest; fifth, that the ghostly wanderer was ‘laid’ in the little bath room near the quincunx beeches, to guzetly there remain as long as ‘hollins’ should grow green; sixth, that this condition was not fulfilled—the ghost having been metamorphosed into a robin red-breast (robinet) which visits the bath room to this day. [From which the Farnley folks are called robinets, and are now taunted probably in punishment for the ignorant credulity of their forefathers.|” Mr. Nowell further remarks, “ But as for Mr. Rimmington, if anyone ever did deserve to rest quietly in his grave it was that good man. Tradition even now says that he was a faithful steward, one who dealt justly, and was a true friend to the tenantry ; his good deeds are not forgotten by the descendants of those whom he benefitted. I come to the rescue of his memory as a duty, and I have long felt that he, from his conduct in life, deserved not after death to have his memory placed at the mercy of the ignorant and illiterate, whose disposition is ever to utter posthumous slander. He was an intimate friend of the Rey. Robert Meeke, then Incumbent of Slaithwaite, and through- out the whole of that gentleman’s comprehensive diary (which is now in the possession of the Rev. Canon Hulbert, Vicar of Almondbury), not one syllable is to be found relative to the occurrences related above, Mr. Meeke could not fail to have known of it, and further it would certainly have found a place in his diary. The whole is evidently a fable, and shews the ignorance of the age of which it is recorded.” The following entries of his marriage and burial occur in the Almondbury Register :

1683, Novembris. Jacobus Rimmington et Sarah Kay de Woodsome, ancilla * conjugati fuerant, die 8vo. 1697, Decembris. Jacobus Rimmington, sepult 16°.

* Lady Kay’s maid—probably one of the Farnley Kays. Selections from

Mr. Meeke’s Journal are published, edited by H. J. Morehouse and C, A. Hulbert.

Page 237

DESCRIPTION AND HISTORY. 185

His will proved at York, dated 4 Dec., 1697: James Rimming. ton, of Woodsome, gent., leaves his house in Highburton, “ where Jane Rimmington, my mother liveth, to wife Sarah,” and provides for the apprenticing of his grandsons. His executors were Aineas Bottomley, of Slaughwaite, and John Bottomley, senior, Dorton ; to each of whom he leaves £5. This Mr. Bottomley was an excellent man, a friend also of Mr. Meeke—see the Annals of Slaithwaite and Meeke’s Diary. Mr. Morehouse possesses an original document, dated 1708, wherein the principal manufacturers of this district, bind themselves not to carry on their work on the Sabbath. The name of Zneas Bottomley appears as a witness. Having now given Mr. Rimmington the best gwzefus within the circle of our wand, we proceed to the courtyard in the rear of the principal front; it is a square; on the north side is a lofty wing, of three gables of -a later date, attributable to Robert Kay, son of John, and grandson of Arthur Kay. In it are on the first floor a large dining room, recently restored; over the stone fireplace are the arms of Kaye and Finchenden impaled with the stag’s head of Legge, and above, the plume crest of the latter family. In the windows are fragments of escutcheons, one of Woderove with Kaye. ‘The marriage of Frances Wodrove, Esq., to Margaret, the daughter of Arthur Kaye, Esq., May 22, 1559, was the first occasion of the solemnization of the Holy Communion in our Church (see page 112). In Wakefield Church in 1584 were the arms of Wodrove of which the above is a fragment. A chevron gules, with three daggers gules, on a field argent. On the west side is another large entertaining room, also restored, supported on round pillars. This is probably the most ancient part of the building, having a low roof with projecting windows of the Tudor or Plantagenet era. In the windows are modern escutcheons, one of Legge and Kaye impaling /inch and Greville, in virtue of the marriage of the present Earl with Lady Augusta Finch, daughter of Heneage, fifth Earl of Aylesford, and Lady Augusta Sophia Greville, fourth daughter of the second Earl of Warwick. The crest of the Gold Finch by virtue of descent from

Page 238

186 WOODSOME HALL.

the Finchendens, and granted to the Kayes in 1564, is a curious coincidence; it prevails on the lead pipes in the quadrangle, of which the south side looking into the orchard, consists of an external staircase and various rooms and offices. In the centre of the court is a fountain, with extensive basin for the reception of the spray. We leave the venerable pile with re- gret, although it is to open on the pleasant grounds behind, and the woods which give it the name of Woodsome or Woods-ham. An extensive lawn tennis ground is backed by the tall trees of the ascending woods; in which is an avenue, appropriately styled “The Cathedral,” affording a fine lesson to the architectural student on the origin of the gothic arch. Here on Whit Sunday morning, 1870, the present Vicar of Almondbury conducted Divine Service for the 34th Battalion of West York Rifle Volunteers, under the command of the late lamented Lieut.-Col. James Bradbury, then encamped at Woodsome—and preached from Psalm ‘‘ Let God arise and let His enemies be scattered,” being one of the Proper Psalms for the day. A contemporary chronicler says: “ At half-past ten the Regiment was marched to a cruciform opening midst the beeches at the east end of the encampment, and here under the leafy canopy of the overhanging branches Divine Ser- vice was performed. ‘This opening is said to be the exact size of York Minster, and the stately trees on either side have been so planted as to form pillared columns, opening in avenues resembling the aisles of a stately edifice, hence the name by which the spot is commonly known, ‘The Old Cathedral.’ It was here that Divine Service was celebrated sixty years before, when a former body of Volunteers were encamped on the same ground during the French war.’—Huddersfield Weekly News. Passing through the deep wood and ferny grove, which might inspire a Druid bard, we arrive at the rural retreat of Mrs. Nowell ; still redolent with the antique memorials of the former resident to whom we are so much indebted; or we could proceed thence to Farnley Church—but must defer it until called to the general visitation of the Churches. On leaving the wood a fine view presents itself of Castle hill, south side, and the elevated Church

Page 239

DESCRIPTION AND HISTORY. 187

and village of Almondbury, as far as Fenay Hall; and perchance the sunset behind, telling us of something more beauteous still— the world beyond—or as Moore expresses it :

‘*The Ramparts of a Godhead’s dwelling.”

TYAS, OF FARNLEY AND WOODSOME.

I. The origin of the family of Tyas is lost, like that of their mansion in antiquity. The township doubtless took its name from them as Farnley Tyas, in distinction from Farnley, near Leeds. It was the FERELEIA of Domesday Book; in which we read that ‘‘Godwin and Suen held three carucates of land to be taxed; where three ploughs might be employed. Ibert now has it, but it is waste. Value in time of King Edward forty shillings; wood, pasture, two miles long and one half broad.” (awdwine. ) Whitaker says: “ The first authentic information relating to the Township is, that, after the expulsion of Godwin, the Saxon Lord, Ilbert de Lacy held it in his own hands. The family of Tyas, calling themselves in Latin Zeusonici, appear to have been magnificent persons. Sir Baldwin Teutonicus is styled nobilis miles (a noble knight), and a lady, probably his wife, nobilis femina. The following, as a trait in their character, is of the same kind. A°® (the year is omitted) Edw. I.—Sir Franco Tyas, Knight, brought an action in the Court of Wakefield, against “Germanum Mercer.” The gravamen of the action was very singular: a poor man had arrested the horse of the plaintiff’s squire, in consequence of which the latter was unable to attend his knight, to the great disgrace and loss of the knight. The plaintiff for this affront recovered 1oo shillings, equal at least to as many pounds at present. This is the Franco whom I trace pretty far up into the reign of Hen. III, and must, I think, have been the son of John Tyas, son of Baldwin, and father of another Franco, the last of the name, who, when near the close of his life, made disposition of his estates in Latin, to the following effect : Wodesham.—Know all men, &c., that I, Franco Tyas, &c., grant to my uncle, John Fyton, ail the manor of Wodesham, with

Page 240

188 WOODSOME HALL.

the appurtenances both in lordship and service, if it should happen to me, the aforesaid Franco, to depart this life without heir of my body. Witnesses, Robt. de Ledes, Robt. Ryvill, Rich. Tyas and others. Given at Wodesham, 13th August, 43rd of Edward ITI,

A.D. 1370. The same Swen or Sweyn held Almondbury with Chetel (see page 7) afterwards Leusin, under Ilbert de Lacy.

At what exact time the Tyas or Teyes family entered, the Author cannot discover. But as the Manor of Slaithwaite has also been held by the Tyases and their successors at Woodsome. ‘The following notices carry it back to 1236.

II. Fine 20 Hen. IlI.—Between Roger de Notton, complainant, and Baldwin de Teyes and Margery his wife, defendants, of two carucates of land in Wodesum, and two carucates of land in Farlege, which tenements the said Baldwin and Margery his wife held in dower of the said Margery of the guift of Gilbert de Notton, late husband of the said Margery, father of this Roger whose heir he is, the right of Roger for ever. III. None Ro. 26, Edward I, Agbrigg, 1298.—Slaithwaite, John Tyeis, Peter de Wildboreleye. Wilberlee is still a hamlet in the upper part of Slaithwaite. IV. Richard Tyas granted to Henry de Rockley and his heirs a yearly rent of £20, to be received of his Manors of Burgh Wallasey, Tankasley, Wodeswm and Leeds. Dated 12, Edward II, A.D. 1320. V. Richard de Birton and John Collersley gave to Elis de Birton and Isabell his wife, the Manor of Birton, and all the lands which he had of the feoffment of the said Elys in Birton, Meltham, North Crosland, Thurstonland, Tyas and Emley. Dated 35, Edward III, 1346. VI. Roger, son of John Tyas, of Saxton, gave to William Clavel, William Tyas, of Holland, Robert Pelle, Vicar of Birton, and William Clarke and their heirs, his Manor and all lands and tenements within the border of Aarn/ey Tyas. Dated at Wodesom 44, Edw. III, 1370. VII. Poi Tax 2, Richard II, 1378.—Farnley Tyas, John Kaye and Mary his wife, Franklyn, 2s. VIII. Easter, 29, Hen. VIII, Ebor.—Thomas Hepworth and William Tyas, defendants, of messuage and land in Furnley Tyas, Thickhollins and Almondbury. IX. William Yarburgh married Isabel, daughter and co-heiress of Sir John Billing, Knt., who was grandson and heir to Sir John Billing, by Margaret, his wife, daughter and heiress of Sir John Teyes or Zyas. In the Visitation, 1562, we have Charles Yarburgh, grandson of the above.

Page 241

DESCRIPTION AND HISTORY. 189

Whitaker in his Leodis and Elmete, page 331, says: ‘‘A° Henry VIII was a lawsuit for the Manor of Slaithwaite, which from the time of John de Tyas had accompanied Woodsome, between Charles Yarburgh and Arthur Kaye; when both parties claimed, as heirs of the body of John Tyas the younger (Hopkinson’s pedigrees). It seems evident that after the death of Franco Tyas the estates passed to the descendants of an heir female, several generations higher up in the line, and that the grant of Franco Tyas to Fitton was merely in trust for some intent not expressed.” Henceforth the above estates remained vested in undisputed possession of the Kaye family. But the similarity of descent is illustrated by the fact that at Heslington Hall, near York, one of the residences of the Yarburgh family, the Arms in the great Oriel window very much correspond with the more ancient ones at Woodsome.* The name of Tyas is not extinct in the Parish of Almondbury and neighbourhood.

* The Author cannot refrain from adding, In Memoriam of his college friend, the late George John Lloyd, Esq., of Stockton, and Trinity College, Cambridge, M.A., the following notices. He took the name and estates of his uncle, Colonel Yarburgh, at Heslington, Sewerby and Snaith, on his decease. In October, 1866, the Author had the pleasure of being his guest at Heslington during the York Church Congress—and by singular coincidence, the guest the following year, during the Wolverhampton Congress, of the present representa- tive of the Kayes, of Woodsome, the Earl of Dartmouth; when the above connection was matter of interesting conversation; and the times nearly coincident respectively with the Author’s appointment as Honorary Canon of Ripon and Vicar of Almondbury: the latter circumstance intensifying his interest in Woodsome. From the English Baronetage, Vol. II: Monuments in St. Michael Belfry Church, York.—To John Yarborough, youngest son of Edm. Yarborough, and Sarah his wife, Feb. 3, 1653, aged 24. Ann Yarborough, late wife of Col. Yarborough, of Heslington; she bore twelve children to her husband, and died in childbed, 1718, aged 42. In St. Laurence Church.—Mary Yarburgh, wife of Charles Yarburgh, Esq., Nov. 26, 1757, aged 50. Thomas, of Heslington, Esq., Dec. 7, 1741, aged 45. Ann, relict of the above, Dec. 27, 1753, aged 62. In Sir John Reresby’s Life—Sir John Reresby of Thybergh (eldest son and heir of Sir George), was Governor of Hull, and advanced to the dignity of a Baronet, 18, Car I. He married Frances, daughter of Edmund Yarburgh, Esq., of Balme Hall, near Snaith, Yorkshire, by whom he had issue, Sir John, his successor; Tamworth and George who died young; Edmund, born 1636, who died unmarried; Gervice, born 1640, who was a merchant in Spain; and Yarburgh, the youngest son,

Page 242

Igo WOODSOME HALL.

FINCHENDEN AND KAYE. Kynde Kynne Knawne Kefpe.

In the Chetham Library, Manchester, is a curious and beautifully executed manuscript Volume of Pedigrees, by a local Antiquary named Barritt, chiefly relative to Lancashire; and as we have evidence from the old paper often referred to, that Arthur Kaye, Esquire, “dwelt in Lancashire, after giving up his house into his son John’s hands,” we are not surprised to read therein the following, though probably fabulous, memorandum. “The family of Kay is of great antiquity in the County of York, and is said to be descended from Sr Kay, an Ancient Briton, reputed one of King Arthur’s Knights of the Round Table. But the authentic pedigree of the family begins with Sir John Kay, Knt., a Briton living at the time of the Norman Conquest. Sir John Kay married the daughter and heiress of Sir John Wodesham, and had a son, from whom is descended Sir John Kaye, of Woodsham, in Yorkshire ; and Robert, who married the daughter and heiress of Crompton, of Crompton ; and was ancestor to the Kayes, of Lancashire.” Of the latter family was, we presume, the late Sir James Phillips Kaye Shuttleworth, Bart. (1849), Secretary for many years of the Council on Education, eldest son of Robert Kay, Esq., and who married Janet, only daughter and heiress of Robert Shuttleworth, Esq., whose name he assumed. Dr. Whitaker,* however, says that the name and origin of the family who succeeded to the Tyases are equally obscure, and the first descents which pretend to run up to the Conquest, are as usual (and it is therefore no disgrace to any particular family), a mass of anachronisms, contradictions, and confusions. I should as willingly give Morte Arthur to prove the real existence of Sir Kaye, as I would cite

who was Rector of Holme, in Spalding Moor; and two daughters—Bridget, who died young, and Elizabeth, married to Mr. Burgh. Arms of Charles

Yarburgh, of Yarburgh, 1562: four white roses divided by a chevron and’

perpendicular line ; Crest, a cormorant proper.

* Leeds and Elmete,

cit

Page 243

DESCRIPTION AND HISTORY. Igi

Hopkinson’s Pedigrees for the first descent of the name after they became possessed of Woodsome.” He adds: the 2oth Richard II, the reversion of the Manor after the death of Alice, Lady Mirfield and John Kay is granted to Lawrence Kay, his son, which is the first mention of the name in Woodsome.” He then refers to the lawsuit already related between the Kaye and Yarburgh families for the Manor of Slaithwaite. Intermediate, however, between the Tyases and the Kayes of the above generation, is the Fincheden or Finchenden family. I have been unable to ascertain the generation in which the alliance took place; but the arms of the latter family are guartered with those of Kaye in the znd and 4th places, in the window of the Kaye Chapel, and on the shield over the fireplace at Woodsome Hall, between the names of Arthur and Beatrix Kaye; and we know that she was a Wentworth of Bretton, and her Arms are on the incised stone over their grave. Probably it was William Kay, of Woodsome, son of John Kay and Jane, daughter of John Lacy, of Cromwell Botham, Co. York, and grandfather of the above Arthur Kaye. The escutcheon of Kay impaling Lacy is in the same window. We have a note of “A gift of the creast to the ould Armes of Arthur Kaye, of Woodsome, in the County of York, Gent., given by Wm. Flower, Norroy, King of Armes, Dated at London, the 22 day of October, in the 6 yeare of Q. Eliz., ano. dm. 1564, under hand and seale to the said Arthur and his posterity.” In the Visitations in 1584 and 1612, edited by Joseph Foster, we have a pedigree in which Robt. Kay is married to Ann Flower, of Whitwell, Co. Rutland, descended from a William Flower eight generations before. Robert Kay was living in 1612, and signs the pedigree. A fragment of glass bearing his name is referred to, page 33. In Mr. Smith’s History of Morley, p. 39, in the Pedigree of SAVILE we have Sir Henry Savile, of Thornhill, K.B., time of Henry VIII, who by his wife, a daughter and co-heir of Thomas Soothill, Esq., of Soothill, had a son and heir, Edward, who died,

Page 244

192 WOODSOME HALL.

S.P. (without issue) and a daughter Dorothy, married to John Kaye, Esq., of Woodsome, Co. York. I do not find this in the pedigree, and am unable to fix this generation, but there is a singular entry at Vork of a License of Marriage: 1695, at Almond- bury, George Kay, aged 22, of Woodsome, Gent., and Dorothy Savile, aged 14, of Greetland, Spinster. Was this a later genera- tion of the same families? It is recorded in our Register January 1st. We revert however to the

FINCHENDEN FAmILy. The Rev. Joseph Hunter, in his “‘ South Yorkshire,” p. 13.4, says: “The Kayes became seated at Woodsome in the reign of Richard I. Much is to be found respecting Sir William Finchenden in the Chartulary of Woodsome (not now to be found). He preceded the Kayes, whose Crest of a Gold Finch has relation to their con- nection with the Finchedens.” In the Churches of Derbyshire, by J. Charles Cox, Vol. III, f. 161, “In the year 1370, John of Gaunt granted License to Sir Walter de Fincheden and others (Trustees for John Riboef), to give the Manor of Etwal to the Priory of Beauvale, in Notts.”

We have from Hunter the following Fines, &c. :— 36 Edward III is an Indenture between Monsieur Henry Gramary of the first part, and William de Fincheden on the other, declaring that a fine had been levied to the said William, by Henry Gramary, and Elizabeth, his wife, of the third part of the Manor of Hickleton. 44 Edw. III, Sir William Finchenden had acquired another third of the Manor of Hickleton. 46 Edw. William Finchenden, Knight, and Alicia, his wife, William de Mirfield, Knt., William de Mirfield, Clerk, Hugh de Wombwell, and Jo. Amyas the younger, complainants, and Jo. Bould and Oliyia his wife,. defendants, of the Manors of Wodesum and Farnley Tyas, in the right of William and Alice. William de Fyncheden was Chief Steward of Pontefract in the time of John of Gaunt. 47 Edw. III, 1374—Will de Fynchenden, Knight, and Robt. de Swylington **Oncle Chevalier de forcet,” of the Manor of Slaughwaite. Poll Tax Roll, 2 Rich. II. Bateley: Alicia Finchdean, 20s. ** There was a place called Fincheden, famous for its connection with the Kayes, it stood by Howley Hall, Batley; but it is now depopulated. Kaye married Fincheden’s

Page 245

KAYE FAMILY. 193

Kaye FAmILy.

This honourable family have possessed the estates at all events since 1378, 20 Rich. II; as before seen; the reversion being then granted to Laurence Kay, son of John.

The following notices are found : By Indenture dated 1378, Dame Alice Fynchenden grants to John Cay her Manor of Woodsome, with app. in Farnley Tyas, for 20 years. I July, 1430.—Administration is granted at York, to Laur. Kaa, Esquire, to the estate of Thomas Morton, Rector of Almondbury, intestate. 23 July, 1530.—Will of Edwd. Kaye, Gent., Lynthorpe. Wills also of Nicholas Kaa, Wm. Kay, 1476, Thos. Kay, and Wm. Kaa. Inquisition, 14th Henry VII, 15th January, 1500.—Post Mortem at Wentbrigg : John Kay, died 30th of August last; Nicholas Kaye, is cousin and heir, viz. : son of Edward, son of the aforesaid John, zt 10. Property in Wodesome, Farnley Tyas, Slathwaite. Inquisition, 21 Henry VII, 18th July.—Nicholas Kaye, kinsman of John Kay, died 17 Nov., 21 Hen. VII. Arthur Kaye is cousin and heir, viz. : son of George, brother of Edward, aforesaid, zt 4 years. Woodsome, Slathwaite, Farnley Tyas. Inquisition, 7th July, 2nd of Elizabeth (1560).—Peter Kaye, died 15 March last. John Kay, son and heir, xl years. Almondbury, Rowley, Shelley, Clayton ; to be buried at Almondbury. Survey, 17 Feb., 3 Hen. VI.—Peter Kay one of Jury. At Barnsley, 13 Noy., 16th Elizabeth.—Arthur Kaye, Esq., 7 manors; in Farnley Tyas, held of George Woderove, Esq., as his Manor of Notton, Manor of Slaughwaite, of the Queen, and the Honor of Pontefract—Manor of Lingarths of the Queen, by knight’s service in capite. Assessment of Agbrigg and Morley, 15 Sep., 14th Elizabeth, 1572.— Farnley Tyas: John Kaye, Esq., in lands, £3. 1597.—Marriage License at York. Robert Kaye, of Wyther Grange, to Susan Waterhouse. In the Register at Almondbury, from 1557 to 1600, the Godparents’ (Susceptores) are given, which very much illustrate the connection and in- timacy of families, thus :— 1560.—Baptism at Almondbury, xv die. Robert Ramsden, filius Joh. Susceptores : John Kaye, Robert Pilkington, et Cibella Armitage.

Reverting to the Woodsome manuscript we read: “Arthur Kaye, of Woodsome, Esquire, was Justice of the Peace many years, until his wife dyed, and then giving up his house into the hands of

hisson John, dwelt in Lancashire for quietness, and sowas discharged PART II,—E.

Page 246

194 WOODSOME HALL.

of his commission. He had Woodsome, &c., in his own hands about fifty years, and had an elder brother or relation named Nicholas who was heir male ; was married to his wife’s sister, but died without issue and under age. Arthur by heirship was possessed of Wood- some, Farnley Tyas and Slaithwaite, and purchased, among other places, the Royd House, at the bottom of Farnley Bank, the House and Manor of Denby Grange (which before that time belonged to the Abbey Byland), with all the members and free rents thereunto belonging, in Brustwell, Flockton, Whiteley and Emley, and also the Manor of Lingards. He built a Hall at Slaughwaite, where, after marrying a second wife in his old age, he probably lived the latter end of his lifetime until his death, which was on the 16 October, 1575 or 1578.” “John Kaye, of Woodsome, Esq., son of Arthur, purchased amongst other things, Burton Mill, and the rent and suit of Court of Thomas Storrs, probably of Storths Hall; and a moiety of woods in Honley, with the Royalties, a Corn Mill, a Walk Mill, and other estates there of Sir Robt. Stapleton, Knight. He had 9 sons and 3 daughters. About the year 1586 or 87, he let his manor house at Woodsome to his eldest son Robert, and went to live at Slaighwaite. In 1588, he by earnest suit, because he was not able tu ride, got himself from the Commission of the Peace, in which he had continued 14 years. Robert, his son, made the stone building at Woodsome towards the north, and set the west part on stone pillars. He purchased several farms at Rowley, &c. John Kay, the son of Robert, by the advice of Gilbert Jagger his millwright, repaired the mill, enlarged the house, the fan, and caused the kiln to be made there for the use of tenants and strangers.” In the Notitia Parochialis, No. 4,349: ‘‘ The ancient Chapel of Slaithwaite being much decayed, was repaired and enlarged at the charge of John Kay, Esq., and his tenants and other inhabitants, iN 1593.” Among Clerical members of the family we have Arthur Kaie, Dean of Doncaster, r James I, 1603. Fox’s History of Pontefract, gives: Mr. Kay, Rector of

Page 247

KAYE FAMILY. 195

Rothwell, in the List of Loyal Preachers, during the Siege, made by the Rev. Samuel Drake, Vicar of Hemsworth, but his christian name does not appear. The account given is nearly the same as that in Walker’s Sufferings of the Clergy. The Author cannot identify him with the Kayes of Woodsome, but, as probably a Fellow of his own College, Sidney Sussex, Cambridge, cannot refrain from quoting the account. In the margin of Walker, it is suggested that he was identical with the Rev. Thomas Key, or Kay, who was sub-chaunter to the Canons, in the Cathedral of York, and Prebend of Balevant, and had been Chaplain to Arch- bishop Matthews.

‘*He was a person who was exceeded by none for his learning, loyalty, exemplary piety, incomparable preaching and great reputation ; insomuch that when King Charles I. came down to York, he of all the Clergy in the Dioceses was appointed by the Archbishop to preach in York Minster before the King, which he did, upon the 15th of the 2nd Book of Samuel, the latter part of the 6th verse, ‘‘So Absalom stole the hearts of the men of Israel.” Endeavouring to perfcrm that service to the best, he preached without notes, and in the middle of his sermon was ata stand. The King seeing him at a loss, rose up and repeated the last sentence to him. At which Mr. Kay humbly made his obeisance, got hold of it, and finished his discourse without more hesitation. But the crying sins of loyalty and conformity fell upon the great good man; and he was plundered, while he had a stool to sit on; sequestered also, and he and his family turned out of doors, and he carried prisoner from place to place, and had perished had it not been for the abundant kindness and charity of Sir John Worsnam, of Nostall, who maintained him as long as he lived: and there was a private walk on the back of Nostall garden, which at this day is called Mr. Kay’s walk, where he retired for contemplation. After his ex- pulsion from Rothwell, he preached at Wragby, the Parish Church belonging to Nostall, for some time, till he was pulled out of the pulpit, and a Lame Sprig, one Horncastle usurp’d his place. He was also for some time, one of the loyal preachers to the garrison of Pontefract Castle, whilst it held out for his Majesty, and was in it during the sieges of that place. He was succeeded at Rothwell by one Armitage.” Mr. Kay died before the Restoration.

Almondbury and Huddersfield Churches are said in Pope Nicholas’ Taxation to belong to Nostell Priory.

After this clerical digression we return to the Owners of Wood- some. The complete pedigree is given by Mr. Foster, in his Yorkshire

Page 248

196 WOODSOME HALL.

and Lancashire Pedigrees, to which we refer the reader for the Chain, but give the following evidences and circumstances : Dorothy Kaye was daughter of Robert Maleverer. of Woder- some, whose arms appear in the Hall—sadle, three greyhounds, courant in pale argent, collared Or. Her commendation and counsel are in the style of Spenser, and the portraits of herself and husband are after that of Holbein, but in each case inferior in workmanship. Owing to the imperfections of the Registers at this period, we have no records of their deaths; but we have recorded, page 114, the death of the Rev. Francis Kaye, M.A., son of John Kaye, date of Woodsome, Esq., Vicar of Long Sutton, in Holland (Lincolnshire), described as a man pious and excellent, and worthy of the highest regard, January 2nd, 1600. His father was therefore previously deceased. The Rev. Joseph Hunter mentions another clerical member of the family, Arthur Kay, who was instituted to the living of High Hoyland, 1 May, 1576, on the presentation of the assigns of Thomas Waterton. There is a portion of a shield among the fragments of former windows in the Church, bearing the arms of Waterton, of Walton, Barry of six ermine and gules, over all three crescents sable, similar to those in Wakefield Church, marking the connection ; and also a fragment of Woodrove, a mullet sable on argent field.t In 1603, John Kay, of Woodsome, presented to the same living of High Hoyland. Mr. Robert Kaye, the son and heir, no doubt exercised the same hospitality and good service to King and Country, which had prevailed of yore at Woodsome. He was one of the bene- factors to the erection of Heath Grammar School, Halifax, as recorded by the Rev. Thomas Cox, of xxs., a sum probably equivalent to half as many pounds now. His marriage is thus registered at Almondbury :—‘ Robertus Caye, filius et Joannis de Woodsome, Armigeri Annz Floure filiz Joannis de

+ Thomas Woodrove married Elizabeth, d. of Sir John Waterton, of Walton. Beatrix Kaye was daughter of Matthew Wentworth, of Bretton, by Elizabeth, d. of Sir Richard Woodruff, or Woodrove.

Page 249

-—

KAYE FAMILY. 197

Whitwell, Comitatu Rutlandie, Armigeri, matrimonio conjunctus erat Parochiali Ecclesia Claysen,* Comitatu preedicto Rutlandie, xxli° die Octobris, nuper preterito, 1577.” We have also the baptism of John their son and heir, xxvi October following, and the Sponsors are Francis Wortley and John Floure, Esquires, and Lady Margaret Fretchwell (zodilis). Again, Robert Kaye is described as of Slaughwaite, on the occasion of the baptism of his daughter Dorothy, at Huddersfield, 18th August, 1581; the Sponsors were Brian Thornell, Dorothy Kay, and the wife of John Savile. Mr. Thornell, of Lockwood, was the husband of Jane, daughter of John Kay, Esq., married March 7th, 1569. Dorothy Kay was baptised, July 25th, 1568, Sir Matthew Wentworth, Jane Rockley, and Jane Pilkington, Sponsors. But alas! we have the sad record of the burial: Anna, wife of Robert Kaye, Esquire, on the xxi of the same month of August, 1580. The identity of the “ Roberts” is net certain, as the former is not described as Esquire,” otherwise we should conclude that Mrs. Kaye died in childbed, but Robert may have lived at “Slaughwayte,” as did Arthur and John, grandfather and father respectively. Descendants of Arthur and Beatrix Kaye are also George, son, and Margaret, d., married to Peter Frechville, of Staveley ; from whom descended John Frechville, Rosamond, wife of Lord Darcy, and Sir Peter Frechville, Knt.; Visitation, 1611 (see Ramsden) ; George, buried, Dec. 19, 1610. The entries of Sponsors, or as they are termed in the older Registers Suscepiores, throw great light on the connection and intimacy of families in social life; shewing especially that of the Beaumont, Kaye, Ramsden, Frechville, Saville, Crosland, Rockley,

* JT do not find any Parish of this name; but the Flowers, of Whitwell, are mentioned in Moule’s Counties, vol. ii, page 249, in connection with Oakham. In the Church is a slab to William Flore and his Wife, apparently of the fifteenth Century : but the date is imperfect. ‘*¢ Another to Thomas Flore, Esq., ob. 1483. The patronage of the Hospital of St. John the Evangelist, belonged in 1534, to Richard Flower, of Whitwell, and the revenue was then valued at £12 12s. 11d. The Johnsons, of Wytham- on-the-Hill, are (1837) the Patrons.”

Page 250

198 WOODSOME HALL.

Fenay, Armitage, Pilkington, Horsfall families in early times ; and ot Lockwood, Wormall, Nettleton, Hepworth, Mellor and Haigh in later times, until 1600, after which they cease to be recorded. The Registers are imperfect from 1603 to 1607, and 1612 to 1616. 1616, August 15.—John Kay, son of John, of Woodsome, baptized, vévat valeatgue. Another generation is thus introduced. 1620, Dec. K., of Woodsome, Esq., buried; and other entries of children. 1640, March.—Anna Kaye, wife of John, of Woodsome, junior, Esquire, died on the ninth day of this month, and was buried on the same day, at nine o’clock at night. She was daughter of Sir John Ferne, Knt., one of the Counsel of Yorkshire. The Kaye family continue to appear in all records of the Quarter Sessions at Wakefield—and were faithful to the King during the Civil War. The first Baronet was Sir John Kaye, created in 1641; and he paid £500 for the redemption of his estates to the Parliament.* In the Account of the Documents collected by John Wilson, of Bromehead,} are mentioned “ several books, some originals, some transcripts of the transactions of the family of Kaye de Woodsome, among them is the Family Chartulary, in a hand of the reign of Henry VII; much of the writing of John Kaye in prose and verse. | In our Registers we have: 1607, Nov.—George, son of John Kay, of Woodsome, Gent. ; buried 24th.

1623, May 4.—Ralph Ashton, of Middleton, Esq., married to Elizabeth Kaye, of Woodsome, daughter of John Kaye, Esq.

* See Lloyd’s Memoirs of Sufferings and Deaths of Charles I, and adherents, 1668.

+ Yorks. Arch. Trans., vol. v, 116.

{ ‘*These writings are of great importance in settling the history and gen- ealogy of this great Yorkshire family.”

The Editor of these Annals hopes this hint may be followed up by some one more at leisure than himself, and freer than the limits of this publication allow.

Page 251

KAYE FAMILY. 199

1656, August vi°.—Jane, daughter of Sir John Kaye, of Woodsome, buried. 1657, Feb.—Elizabeth, daughter of Sir John Kay, of Woodsome, bapt. vi®. 1658, May.—Arthur Kaye, late of Denby Grange, Esq., adorned with all kind of virtues, to the intense grief of his family, died on the xith, and was buried on the xixth. 1658, Sept.—Lady Elizabeth, wife of Sir John Kay, of Woodsome, Knight and Baronet ; gentle, beloved, and honoured by all, for her peaceful labour ; died vii, buried ixth. 1660, July.—Elizabeth, daughter of Sir John Kay, of Woodsome, Knt. and Bart.—buried xxiind. Feb.—Sir John Kay, of Woodsome, married to Catherine Wentworth, xith. 1662, July.—Sir John Kay, of Woodsome, K. and B., adorned with every kind of virtue, in piety towards God, in fidelity to the King, in affability and kindness towards all second to none, a father of his Country and former preserver ; died xxivth, buried xxvi, in the 46th year of his age. —Quisnam hec in funere missos Castiget luctus—Pater est qui fletus. STATII THEBAIS. Signed, T. Naylor, M.A. 1668, Oct. 28.—Robert, son of the above, buried. 1671, November.—Katherine, d., bapt. 25th, died 28th. 1674.—Thomas, son, bapt. 1677, June.—Margaret, sister of John Kaye, of Woodsome, Gent., buried Sep. 30. Her will dated June, 1676, proved at York. 1680, April.—Sir Brian Stapleton, Bart. married to Anna Kaye, of Wood- some (Domina) 15th. 1681.—Henry, s. of Sir Brian Stapleton, Bart., bapt. 8th. ss 1690, August.—John, s. of Geo. Kay, of Woodsome, buried 16th. 1702.—Anna Maria, wife of Sir John Kay, Woodsome, buried—the entry is nearly illegible. 1706.—Sir John Kay, died Aug. 14th. With long commendation by Mr. Tatham. He was frequently elected Member of Parliament for the County.— See Monument, page 39. 1710.—George Kaye, Esq., second son of Sir John Kay, of Woodsome, Bart., died at Grange, 4th April. Among TESTAMENTARY BURIALS at Almondbury, in wills, recorded at York : Will dated 6 June, 1671.—Arthur Kaye, Esq., Slaughwaite, proved 2 Oct., 1582; to be buried in the Quire. 2 Sep., 1706.—Robert Kaye, of Woodsome, gives all to his Nephew, George Kaye, second son of Sir John Kaye, lately deceased, now living at Denby Grange ; and*his Executors not to consult his relatives about the dis- tribution of his goods. Desires to be buried in the Church of Almondbury.

Page 252

200 WOODSOME HALL.

He was buried May 22nd, 1719, surviving the above George, who was married Jan. 1, 1695, to Dorothy Savile, of Greetland, as before stated. His sister, Ann, died 16th Sept., 1700, and is described in glowing terms, as a virtuous maiden. 1722. June 23.—The Honorable George Legge, of the County of Warwick, married to Elizabeth Kay, of Woodsome. 1726.—Sir Arthur Kay, of Woodsome, Baronet, died in London, July, was buried at our Church, 24th. 1740, August 25th.—Lady Anne Kay, relict of Sir Arthur Kaye, late of Woodsome, Bart., buried. Thus ends the direct line of the Kayes, and henceforth the estates become divided between the LisTER-KayeE family (see monument, page 40), on whom Denby Grange and the title devolved ; and that of LEGGE, to whom the Almondbury estates and others descended in person of the heiress. A full history of these families cannot be here attempted, but the following brief summaries and anecdotes, are presented to the reader and future explorer. The ENGLISH BARONETAGE, vol i, 276, gives: Sir JoHN Kave, of Woodsome (the only son of John, aforesaid), was advanced to the dignity of a Baronet, by His Majesty King Charles I. He was Colonel of a Regiment of Horse in the King’s Service, in the unfortunate Civil War, and suffered very much both in person and estate during that miserable confusion, but lived to see the happy Restoration, and died July 25, 1662. He married three wives: first, Margaret, daughter and co-heir of Thomas Moseley, Esq., Alderman and Lord Mayor of York (by Elizabeth, his wife, daughter and co-heir of Thomas Trigot, of South Kirby, in Yorkshire, Esq.), by whom he had issue, two sons, Sir John, and Robert who died unmarried, and one daughter who also died unmarried. He took to his second wife, Elizabeth, daughter of Sir Ferdinand Leigh, of Middleton, juxta Leeds, Knt., and relict of Francis Burdett, of Birthwaite, in Yorkshire, Esq., and had by her four sons, George, Arthur, Matthew, and another Arthur, who all died issueless; and five daughters, viz.: Anne, Grace, another Anne, Jane and Elizabeth, all of whom died unmarried. His third lady was, Catherine, daughter of Sir William

Page 253

KAYE FAMILY. 201

St. Quintin, of Harpham, Bart., and relict of Michael Wentworth, of Woolley, Esq., son and heir of Sir George Wentworth, Knt. (who afterwards married one Henry Sandys, of Downe, in Kent, Esq., and to her fourth husband, Hugh, Earl of Eglinton, in Scotland), but by her he had no issue. He was succeeded by his eldest son JOHN by his first marriage. In the Diary of CapTaIn ADAM EyRE,* we read: May 31, 1647.—This morne I ris betime and rid to Woodsome to know whether Sir Jo. Kay would let Birthwayte ; who said not, because it was in controversy. Hee shewed me the King’s answeare to ye Parliament propositions, and told mee there had been some stirre of late in London; and home again to dinner, where I rested all day. Augt. 10, 1647.--This morning, by reason of my wive’s being sick in the night, I slept till 7 at clock, and Capt. Rich + sent for - mee to Smallshaw ; to goe with him to Almondbury to speak with Lawrence Castle, who when we came there came into towne with troopers, to gather money for his arreres of ye 2 last yeres, and after a whole days drinking with the soldiers and others ; who told yt Sir Tho. Fairfax marched into London, the last Saturday, with all his army, he came with us homewards, and went with Capt. Rich to Bulhouse, and wee parted at the Coyle-pitt hills. This day I travelled 12 miles and spent 4d. Sir Joun Kay the SEconp,{ who served several years as Knight of the Shire for the County of York, and married Anne, daughter of William Lister, of Craven, Esq. (see monument, page 40), by whom he hadissue, five sons, John and Robert,who both died young, Sir Arthur, his successor ; George, who by Dorothy, daughter and heiress of Robert Savile, of Bryan Royd, near Eland, in Yorkshire, Esq., had issue, Sir John; Robert a merchant at Leeds, who died unmarried, George who died young, and a daughter Catherine (married to Nicholas Roberts, of Hexham, Northumberland, Esq.),

* Surtees Society—Papers by H. J. Morehouse, F.S.A. + For the Riche Family—see Meeke’s Diary, page 22. } English Baronetage.

Page 254

202 WOODSOME HALL.

and Thomas who died without issue; also two daughters, Anne, married to Sir Bryan Stapylton, of Myton, Yorkshire, Bart.; and Catherine who died young. Sir John died in 1706, and was succeeded in dignity and estate, by his third but eldest surviving son SIR ARTHUR the last of the Woodsome Baronets. In the Diary of the Rev. Robert Meeke, of Slaithwaite, page 23, we read: 1690, February 19th.—Arose about two o’clock this morning and went with Mr. Broome towards York. About 10 we came to Leeds, and refreshed ourselves, and then to Tadcaster ; about 5 came to York. 20th.—Blessed be God, arose in some good measure of health, tho’ I was something wearied; about 9 we went into the Castle Yard to shout for the Knights of the Shire, viz.: Lord Fairfax and Sir John Kaye. They were both chosen, none opposed them. 1690, July 6th—To day many people went to meet Sir John Kaye’s son, who being lately married, brought his wife to Wood- some. I went with Mr. Broome* and my landlord. Called at Woodsome, met with more company, with whom we went to one Holden’s, on Woolley Edge. Stayed awhile, then went further to Staincross Moor, where we met all the company and then returned with them to Woodsome. In HuNTER’s LIFE OF OLIVER HEYwoop, page 246, we read : 1673.—On New Year’s Day Mr. Heywood travelled through great rain and tempest to the village of Idle, where he preached in the meeting place, at which, at that time, Mr. Johnson usually officiated. On the 2nd of January he preached at Mr. Richard- son’s, at Lassel Hall, and while there he was interrupted by a Clerk of Sir John Kaye’s, at Woodsome, a_ neighbouring magistrate, who was zealous against nonconformity. The Clerk required Mr. Heywood and Mr. Richardson to produce their licenses ; and on the next day they repaired to Woodsome, where they produced the license of Lassel Hall; Mr. Heywood had not

* Rev. Randal Broome, Curate of Meltham, and Mr. Aineas Bottomley, of Slaithwaite.

Page 255

KAYE FAMILY. 203

his own license with him, but he sent it in a few days for the inspection of Sir John Kaye. At this interview Sir John Kaye intimated that they had gone beyond the King’s intention, and that his permission was abused. So that no wonder Mr. Heywood departed little satisfied with the interview; he was the less so, as he found the house at Woodsome full of jollity; there was open house, feasting, drinking, revelling. There I saw a great number of gentlemen, among whom was Mr. Thomas Horton, musician, master of misrule, as they call him, &c. In a note Mr. Hunter adds: Some years ago I caused to be inserted in the Retrospective Review, the Christmas Song of Woodsome, from a copy by one of the family. It has more of feeling than poetry, and certainly gives a not unfavourable impression of the effect of Christmas hospitalities of the old time. Take two of the Stanzas as a specimen : Master of the house, where now ye are met, Doth think you all welcome, and much in your debt ; That with him ye are pleased to use honest mirth, And with him rejoice in Jesus Christ’s birth, The Master of this house, simple tho’ he be, Doth care for his neighbours in every degree ;

And earnestly biddeth you turn wrath to mirth By the Godly embracing of Jesus, his birth.” It would appear that, probably through the intercession of the amiable Mr. Meeke, who though a learned and attached Episcopal Clergyman himself, was son of the Rev. William Meeke, of Man- chester, one of the Presbyterian Classis, and who was well acquainted with Sir John Kaye, the Rev. Christopher Richardson, who had been ejected from the Rectory of Kirkheaton in 1662, but who purchased Lassells Hall, and resided there, had been reconciled to Sir John, as we find in the Diary the following entry: 1693, April 2oth.—Walked with Mr. Richardson to Woodsome. Sat with Sir John Kaye all the Afternoon. (The Toleration Acts had then passed.) Among the Papers still at Woodsome Hall are receipts :—April 20, 1661, from Sir John Kay, for £20, due to Clitheroe School, for the Rectory of Almond- bury. For a fee on Sir John Kay being sworn in as a Magistrate, October 3rd, 1664, £3 19s. 6d. Richard Clapham. Also, What-God-will Crosland’s

receipt for 3 years dues out of Woodsome and Farnley, to Clitheroe School, 1658, 2s. 6d.

Page 256

204 WOODSOME HALL.

In the Register of Almondbury Church : 1667, Oct.—Gulielmus Lyster, Armiger de Grange, et aliquando de Thornton, sepult 9°. 1668.—Christophorus Lyster, de Grange, Armiger, sepult 30 mo. In the Register at Hackney, Middlesex (supplied by Mr. Rusby) : 1673.—Arthur, son of Sir John Kay, Knt., was Christened the 8th day. Sir ARTHUR Kaye (see Monument, page 39), who served for several years, as Knight of the Shire, for the County of York, married Anne, one of the daughters and co-heirs of Sir Samuel Marrow, of Berkswell, in the County of Warwick, Bart. (by Mary, daughter and co-heir of Sir Arthur Cayley, of Newland, in Warwick, Knt.) by whom he left issue only one daughter, ELIZABETH, married first to George Lord LewisHam, eldest son of the Right Honourable the Earl of Dartmouth, and afterwards, to the Right Hon. the Lord North and Guildford. Sir Arthur dying in 1726, without issue male (and his relict Aug., 1740) the title descended to his Nephew. SiR JoHN ListER-KayeE, son of George Kaye, Esq., younger brother of Sir Arthur, who (says the English Baronetage, 1741) 1s the twenty-third in lineal descent, from Sir John Keay, the first of the family of credible account, and resided at Denby Grange. * Among the Papers at Woodsome is a receipt for 4200, expenses of the Funeral of Lady Kaye. In the History of York, vol. ii, page 253—Jicklegate Bar— “There is against the wall in the middle partition of this Bar, a

* He was unsuccessful Candidate in 1727, for the representation of the County. According to acurious letter from John Burton, son of the Vicar of Halifax, to Mr. Thomas Oddye, in St. John’s College, Cambridge, dated Thornton, Feby. 13, 1727, of which the following is an extract :— “On Friday, ye 3rd, Sr John, ye Candidate, had 1500 freeholders byassed by mercenary means, to support (Mr. Cholmeby Turner) his adversary interest, who was all along proclaimed to have the victory, right or wrong, and accordingly carried it; and no wonder when none of Sir John’s men were, comparatively speaking, suffered to be polled, owing to Mr. Bathurst, the High Sheriff. But the unfortunate party had the mouth and applause of our people, tho’ ye other part got ye victory, at the expense of Twelve Thousand Pounds.”

Page 257

LEGGE FAMILY. 205

Shield, bearing the Arms of Sir John Lister-Kaye, Bart., with this inscription: Renxovata, A.C., 1737, in which year he was Lord Mayor.” 8th, Geo. II. 1735.—Sir John Lister-Kaye was M.P. for the City. “He married to his first wife, Ellen, daughter of John Wilkinson, of Greenhead, near Huddersfield, Esq., by whom he had issue one son, John (living in 1741), and one daughter, Ellen, who died young. To his second, Dorothy, daughter of Richard Richardson, of North Bierley, in the West Riding, M.D., by whom he had issue three sons, Lister, Richard, and Christopher, of whom only ‘Richard was living in 1741. But Sir John Lister-Kaye was Viscount or High Sheriff of the County in 1761.” Our limits will not at present allow the deduction of the family, of Denby Grange, but pass to the direct descent, by the family of Legge.

The Author is indebted for the following Article to his eldest son, Charles Augustus Hulbert, junr., M.A., Vicar of St. Stephen’s, Leeds, and late Incumbent of Slaithwaite :—

LEGGE, EARL OF DARTMOUTH. Gaudet tentamine virtus.*

The family of Legge is supposed to have sprung originally from the City of Venice. In the famous city a palace has been found anciently belonging to those bearing the name; there is also in one of the Churches a monument to one of the Legge family. + The first time we find the name upon record in England, is in the reign of Henry II, when for six years together, from 1164 to 1170, Hugh de Lega and Richard, son of Osbert, were Sheriffs of Bedfordshire and Buckinghamshire ; and again, in 1171, we meet

* Virtue rejoices in trial.

+ I am favoured with an extract from the Diary of Mrs. Gilstrap, a Lady con- nected with this neighbourhood, who lately visited Venice. ‘‘In the Jesuits’ Church we saw a monument to a predecessor of the Dartmouth family, a Legge ; so I suppose they are of the old Venetian Stock. We particularly asked our Italian guide how they pronounced the name Legge in Italian, and he said Ledgy.”

Page 258

206 WOODSOME HALL.

with William de Lega as of Herefordshire. A younger branch of this family it is stated was seated at Legg’s Place, near Tunbridge, in Kent; of which was Tuomas LEcGE, of the Skinner’s Company in the City of London, for which he served the Office of Sheriff, A.D. 1343; and in the years 1346 and 1353 was Lord Mayor; he was returned one of the Burgesses in Parliament for that City in 1349 and 1352. In 1338, he sent King Edward III three hundred pounds towards carrying on the war with France, which was a considerable sum in those days, and more than any citizen advanced except the Lord Mayor and Simon de Frauncis, who lent each eight hundred pounds in the ensuing year. He married Elizabeth, one of the daughters of Thomas Beauchamp, Earl of Warwick. Alice, wife of John Beauchamp, of Hache, a lineal ancestor of the Duke of Somerset and of Lady Helen Gwendolen Ramsden, was probably her sister. Thomas Legge had two sons, Simon and John. John Legge, the second, was a Serjeant-at-Arms in 1373; in 1381, being then in the Tower with Simon Sudbury, Archbishop of Canterbury, and others, he was there surprised by Wat Tyler and his rebels, taken from that place and beheaded on Tower Hill. From him was descended Dr. Thomas Legge, who was Master of Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge. Simon LEGGE the eldest son, married Joan, daughter of John Clavering. “In Cobham Church in Kent,” according to Jacob’s Peerage, “is an exhortation to pray for the souls of Thomas Legge and this Simon Legge.” His son THomas LEGGE married Margaret, daughter of Sir John Blount, Knight, highly distinguished in the French War in the reign of Henry IV. His eldest son Richard died unmarried, having spent the greatest part of his estate in the Wars of the Roses. John, the third son, married Eleanor Talboys, of the same family as the Lord Talboys of the reign of Henry VIII. Wuti1am Lecce the second son, went into Ireland, where he married Anne, only daughter of John, son of Miles, Lord Bermingham, of Athenree. He died at the age of 92, and was buried at Cassils, in Ireland. His eldest son Epwarp LEGGE made a voyage in 1584 with Sir Walter Raleigh. He was afterwards Vice-President of Munster, and was distin-

Page 259

LEGGE FAMILY. 207

guished in the Irish affairs of the day. He married Mary, daughter of Percy Walsh, of Moy Vallie. He died in 1616, aged 73. Edward Legge was the first Protestant of his family, though most of his children were brought up Roman Catholics by his wife, who out-lived him some years. He had six sons and seven daughters. Several lived to great ages ; for instance, Elizabeth, the eldest (who was well versed in the Latin, English, French, Spanish, and Irish tongues), died unmarried, aged 105. The third, Margaret, who married a Fitzgerald, lived to too. Anne, the sixth, married to a Mr. Anthony, lived to her 112th year... .The third son, Richard, the fourth, John (who lived to 109), and the sixth, Robert, were all distinguished and trusted officers in the army of King Charles I., and unflinching in their fidelity to the crown. WILLIAM the eldest son, after serving as a volunteer, under Gustavus Adolphus, King of Sweden ; and under Prince Maurice, of Orange, in the Low Countries ; became keeper of the King’s Wardrobe, and groom of the Bed-chamber to Charles I. In 1639, he was Lieutenant-General to the Ordnance in the first expedition against the Scots. He served with dis- tinction under Prince Rupert; was taken prisoner at Dunsmore Heath and again at Lichfield. At Newbury, Sept. 21st, 1643, he behaved with such bravery, that when attending the King the night after in his bed-chamber, His Majesty presented him with the hanger he had worn that day, and would have Knighted him with it had he consented. It was in an agate handle, set in gold, and was kept in the family till the house at Blackheath was robbed in 1693. William Legge was Governor of Chester in 1644, and Governor of Oxford in 1645, at which time, on account of his distinguished position about the King, he received the degree of Doctor of Laws of that University. At Hampton Court, Titchfield House, and the Isle of Wight, he was among the King’s most trusted attendants. Clarendon says “ Legge had so general a reputation of integrity and fidelity to his master; that he never fell under the least imputation or reproach with any man.” The same writer, while commending his judgment and understanding, men- tions also “his modesty and diffidence of himself.” He was under

Page 260

208 WOODSOME HALL.

imprisonment, having been taken in carrying out a design to restore the King, when Charles I. was executed. Shortly before his death the King charged the Duke of Richmond to tell the Prince of Wales from him, that whenever he was restored to his right, he should be sure “to take care of honest Will. Legge; for he was the faithfullest servant that ever any prince had.” William Legge, after enduring great hardships, was permitted to go abroad by the intercession of the speaker, Lenthall; whose pardon he, in return, obtained at the Restoration. Col. Legge adhered to King Charles II, and was wounded, and taken prisoner at Worcester. He was confined in Coventry gaol, and would have been executed had not his wife contrived his escape by sending an old woman into the gaol, in whose clothes her husband eluded the guards. After the Restoration the King told him of the message he had received from his Father, and restored him to his place in the Bed-chamber and Military honors; also made him important grants of Land, and a peusion for life. He died A.D., 1660, aged 62, and was buried in Trinity Chapel, in the Minories, London. Prince Rupert and other distinguished Noblemen attended his funeral. He married Elizabeth, eldest daughter of Sir William Washington, of Packington, in Leicestershire. His second son, William, was Page of honour and groom of the Bed-chamber to Charles II., and afterwards a distinguished soldier and M.P. for Portsmouth. The second daughter, Susanna, married Thomas Bilson, Esq., of Maple-le-Durham, Hampshire. The eldest son, GEORGE LEGGE, was sent to sea at seventeen, under Sir Edward Spragge; and afterwards commanded His Majesty’s Ships the Pembroke, Fairfax and Royal Catherine. In the Dutch Wars he distinguished himself and was wounded. He held the Offices of Governor of Portsmouth, Master of the Ordnance, and a Privy Councillor. In 1682 he had a Commission for viewing all the forts and garrisons of England, and for Commanding in Chief. In that same year, 1682, Dec. 2nd, he was created Baron Dartmouth. In the preamble of the Patent his father’s distinguished services are alluded to; and on this ground in default of male issue of Lord Dartmouth, the Peerage was to descend to the issue

Page 261

LEGGE FAMILY. 209

of his brother William, and thus remain in the deceased Col. Legge’s family. The following year Lord Dartmouth was sent to Tangier as Admiral of the whole British fleet, and Captain-General of the whole of His Majesty’s forces in Africa. He received in recognition of his services on this expedition a grant from the King of ten thousand pounds. In the reign of James II he was Master of the Horse, Constable of the Tower of London, and other important offices, Naval, Civil and Military. His personal attachment to his Sovereign was great, but he never permitted himself to forget his duty to his country. Bishop Burnett speaks of him as ‘one of the worthiest men of James’ Court, but he was much against the conduct of his affairs.” In 1688, however, Lord Dartmouth, having been made Admiral of the fleet of England, went to intercept the Dutch fleet: this however, from no want of loyalty or skill, he did not accomplish. After William had landed, Lord Dartmouth brought the fleet safe to the Nore. As long as his duty to his country permitted, he remained faithful to James; but when desired to assist in the conveyance of the Prince of Wales to France, and to do other actions which he believed involved the betrayal of his country, and danger to the Protestant religion, he refused. When the King had abdicated, Lord Dartmouth swore allegiance to William and Mary. Lord Macaulay, in the 2nd volume of his History gives him full credit for his uprightness of conduct at this time. In 1691, Lord Dartmouth was under suspicion of plotting for the return of James and was committed to the Tower, where, after three months imprisonment, he died suddenly of apoplexy, Oct. 25th, aged 43. Lord Macaulay in several passages in his 3rd and 4th volumes, treats the alleged treason of Lord Dartmouth as though it were an established fact. An able “ Vindication” of his character was published in 1856, by Frederick Devon, Esq., Assistant Keeper of Records. It was there shown that the great Historian founded his accusations on untrustworthy testimonies, and many important documents were brought to light proving Lord Dartmouth’s loyalty. The fact is also pointed out that William III thought him innocent

and told his son that his father would have been released from the PART II.—F.

Page 262

210 WOODSOME HALL.

Tower had he lived two days longer; and by His Majesty’s order the Tower guns were fired at the removal of his body, and full funeral honors paid him as due to an Admiral. He married Barbara, daughter of Sir Henry Archbold, of Abbot’s Bromley, Staffordshire. His eldest son WILLIAM, 2ND BARON DARTMOUTH, was born Oct. 4th, 1672. On the accession of Queen Anne, 1702, he became a Lord Commissioner of Trade and Plantations, and Privy Councillor. In 1700 he became one of Her Majesty’s principal Secretaries of State, and Keeper of the Signet in Scotland. On Sept. 5th, 1711, he was made Viscount Lewisham and Ear oF DarTmMouTH. He was afterwards Keeper of the Privy Seal, and a Lord Justice of Great Britain. He married Anne Finch, third daughter of Heneage, Earl of Aylesford. He died Dec. 15th, 1750, aged 79 years. His eldest son GEORGE, VISCOUNT LEWISHAM, married Elizabeth, sole daughter and heiress of Sir Arthur Kaye, of Woodsome, of whom more is said elsewhere in this book. By this marriage the Yorkshire estates of Kaye came into the Dartmouth family. Lord Lewisham was M.P. for Great Bedwin, Wiltshire; he died Nov. 28th, 1727. His son Arthur died young; and the second son, William became 2nd Earl of Dartmouth. He had two daughters. The fourth son of the first Earl, Henry, was a distinguished Statesman and Diplomatist. He took the name of Bilson, as he inherited by will on that condition the property of a relative, Leonard Bilson, who died in 1715. The fifth, Edward, was in the Navy, and afterwards M.P. for Portsmouth. WILLIAM, 2ND EARL OF DARTMOUTH, was a man of great piety and earnestness, the friend of Cowper the poet, Rev. John Newton, Vicar of Olney (where the Earl of Dartmouth now has estates), the Countess of Huntingdon, and other persons connected with the religious revival in the last century. He is alluded to by Cowper as “ one who wears a coronet and prays ;” probably this was much more rare than now in those days of religious apathy. The Earl of Dartmouth is believed to be the nobleman to whom Newton addressed the twenty six letters, forming a part of his book called the “Cardiphonia.” It was through this nobleman’s influence that the Rev. Henry Venn became

Page 263

LEGGE FAMILY. 211

Vicar of Huddersfield, who offered the living of Slaithwaite to Newton himself. His Lordship married Frances Catherine, only daughter and heiress of Sir Charles Gunter Nicoll, K.B., and died in 1801. GEORGE, 3RD EARL, eldest son of the above, was born Oct. 3, 1755. He was Lord Chamberlain to King George III, and Knight of the Garter. He was called by writ to the House of Lords as Baron Dartmouth, June 16, 1801, during the lifetime of his father. He married Lady Frances Finch, daughter of the 4th Earl of Aylesford. He died Nov. 4th, We are thus brought to the recollections of the present generation. William, fourth Earl of Dartmouth was born 29th Nov.. 1784, and died 22nd Nov., 1853. He was aman of sound and clear judgment, great amiability, and genuine benevolence, but of a very retired disposition. During the past century, Woodsome Hall had been let to the family of Scott, who being themselves of good descent, were probably too tenacious of their independence; and it is said declined to give way for the occasional residence of the family except as their guests—a condition which occasioned the visits of the Dartmouth family to be ‘* Like angels visits, short and far between.” The monuments of the Scotts were in our Chancel, and with their connections, the Armitages of Dudmanstone, are now arranged in the extended South Chapel (see pages 46 and 49). The visits of the Earl and Countess however, became more frequent after the erection of Farnley Tyas Church, in 1840, when a portion of the Hall was assigned as a residence, to the Reverend Thos. Minster, M.A., the first Incumbent; and after his resignation to the Rev. Cutfield Wardroper, M.A., his successor ; now however located at Farnley, as nearer his Church. Since which tire the house has been frequently occupied by its noble owners, and more genial relations with the surrounding population cultivated by the present Earl and Countess. Woodsome was for some time the residence of the Hon. Charles Gounter Legge, his Lordship’s brother, when Adjutant of the 34th W. Y. Rifle Volunteer Corps ; and Christmas, 1879, of the Viscount Lewisham, M.P., and his bride, the Lady Mary

Page 264

212 WOODSOME HALL.—LEGGE FAMILY. AAAHOS Coke during their,honeymoon. William, 4th Earl, first married Lady Frances Charlotte, daughter of the second Earl Talbot, by whom he had two sons, George, who died young, and William Walter, the present and fifth Earl; secondly, the Honourable Frances, daughter of George, fifth Viscount Barrington, by whom he had a large family; and survived her Ladyship, who died in 1849. His Lordship, in alluding to which fact, and as an apology for absence on one occasion, once wrote to the Author: ‘“ The father of fifteen living children is scarcely a free agent.” His Lordship was an antiquary, D.C.L., F.A.S. and F.R.S., and an excellent letter writer. He responded promptly and liberally, though with much discrimination, to every appeal made to him, for the spiritual and educational improvement of the tenants of his estates, which the Author, during the fourteen years of their connection, 1839-53, as respectively Landlord and Incumbent of Slaithwaite-cum-Lingards, had reason to know. A Memorial window representing Zhe Good Samaritan, in Slaithwaite Church, expresses the feeling of the Minister and Inhabitants. The same feeling continues to be demonstrated on every fitting occasion there, as in the more rural district of Farnley Tyas, towards the present generation. But the township of Slaithwaite is becoming changed from its patriarchal simplicity to a more flourishing pecuniary condition, in consequence of a change of policy on the part of the noble landlord, in affording facilities by sale and lease, for the erection of vast factories and dwellings— shewing the action of the principle of the following Poem—already alluded to, page 179.

AGRICULTURE AND TRADE.—(A Vision.)

1 The Crusade is over, the Sepulchre won, The War with the Moslem is finished and done ; And Zion’s fair Temple, the joy of the Lord, Is cleared and is cleansed from the Infidel horde.

2 The Sons of the Gaul, of the Celt, of the Dane, The proud Norman Baron, the bold Saxon Thane, Are crossing the seas and traversing the earth, From Israel’s land to the land of their birth.

Page 265

AGRICULTURE AND TRADE.—(A VISION.) 213

3 And boldest and bravest, amidst the brave host, Most learned in counsel, most ‘skilful in joust, The foremost in fight, and the first in affray Was the Stout Knight of Woodsome, the gallant Sir Kaye.

4 He returns to his home, and his followers rejoice, And Yorkshire’s high hills shall be glad at his voice, His tenantry love him, with a love true and deep, His motto, his practice, Aynde Kynne Knawne Kepe.

5 But why is his forehead so clouded with care, So thoughtful his eye, so dejected his air? No sin, nor no crime, can his good soul sustain, Then why is his heart thus so burdened with pain?

6 It is said that some prophecy, not well understood,

Is chafing his mind, and is troubling his blood ; It is told him that, on his return to his home, Two damsels shall each claim Sir Kaye, as their own.

* * * *

(The Manuscript is here illegible.)

~“

The evening her mantle round nature is flinging, The last ray of light to the night sky is clinging ; On A’mbury Bank, on the Castle Hill burning, To the bonfires’ gleam Sir Kaye is returning.

8 His tenants and vassals are eager to meet him, The widows and orphans to bless and to greet him, He is once more among them, ‘‘Kynde Kynne Knawne Kepe” Is sounded and echoed from valley and steep.

9 How they bless the good knight, as round him they’re pressing, His horse and his hound have their share of caressing ; A bright day for Woodsome and Farnley, I ween, Is the day when Sir Arthur is heard and is seen.

* * * * A break in the Manuscript again occurs.

10 The night winds are gently fanning the trees,

I

The beech and the aspen shake soft in the breeze ; And close by the well (now haunted ’tis said), The form of the gallant Sir Arthur is laid.

_

Is that moonlight that breaks thro’ the darkness in light ? Do the echoes of footsteps awake the still night ? Are these the two damsels foretold in the spell ? Or is it a vision from Heaven or Hell?

Page 266

214 AGRICULTURE AND TRADE.—(A VISION.)

12 How fair and how beauteous the form of the one! The raven’s black plume by her hair is outdone ; Her eye too is black, and none blacker can be— The child of the Norman most surely is she!

13 The other is beauteous, and aye is as fair, With her eye of bright blue, and her light-coloured hair ; The bloom on her cheek, the rose rivals, remains, Shows the blood of the Saxon is warm in her veins.

14 Now stir thee, bold knight, for thy doom is thy weird, The prophecy now of the south will be cleared, As the fair forms advancing, dost thou quail at the sight, Can forms such as these, tho’ unearthly, affright ?

15 Do they now kneel before thee, and each in her turn Beseech thee to love, and implore not to spurn? Thy protection and aid do they ask, do they pray? And say, can’st thou turn them unpitied away ?

16 They weep too, and tell thee, by men it is said, That sisterly love for each other is dead ; That a deadly hate reigns in each of their breasts, And that one cannot live, whilst the other exists.

17 I know not, poor maidens, was the bold knight’s reply, Be ye a vision of earth or a vision of sky ; But Woodsome’s fair Hall and the broad lands of Kaye Shall shelter the helpless for ever and aye.

18 The good knight returns, but in silence and lone, ~ The vision just seen is departed and gone. He reads not the meaning, nor till life’s last day Was it e’er understood by the gallant Sir Kaye. * * * *% 19 But we, in the light of a far distant day, See the Norman and Saxon unitedly sway ; The old landed lord and rich merchant entwine, The plough and the shuttle in peace to combine,

20 Then let us rejoice in Victoria’s sway, When Woodsome and Patshull are blended for aye ; While safe in the shadow of either we sleep Still sing the old motto—Avnd Kindred Known Keep.

The Poem as delivered by Mr. Thynne ended with the 18th verse. The two last verses were added by C. A. H., on occasion of its recital, in public, by a little girl from Woodsome, at Almondbury National School, 1878,

Page 267

WOODSOME LEES.—-DESCRIPTION AND HISTORY. 215

WoopDsoME LEES,

Pleasantly situated at the extremity of the township of Farnley Tyas, in the direction of Storths Hall and Kirkburton, is the ancient Villa and Farmhouse, in the style of the Hall, of Woodsome Lees, long occupied by Mr. Robert Rockley, of the family who were formerly settled at the Oaks, Quarry Hill; see page 147, and whose monumental records are given in page 49. The very interesting History of Worsborough, recently published by Mr. Joseph Wilkinson, contains the full details of this ancient family, of Rockley Old Hall in that Parish. Mr. Robert Rockley, senior, was much engaged in a law-suit in which Sir Arthur Kaye was concerned, and Mr. Wilkinson observes, ‘“‘ He continued to reside in his family as a confidential steward, and married a distant relation of Lady Kaye.” He left one son, who died a bachelor ; and who wrote a history of his family, in which occur the following words, “‘he is now within three months of seventy ; at whose death which must be soon, there will be an end of this once ancient and opulent family.” He had two sisters: Mary, the eldest, who married Benjamin North, of Fenay in Almondbury, attorney; and Marguerite, who married Joseph Scott, of Alverthorpe, gent., who afterwards resided at Woodsome Hall; Mr. Scott married secondly, Ann, relict of Francis Armitage, of Dudmanstone, and mother of Joseph Armitage, of Alverthorpe Hall. The connection of the family with the Allens, of Greenhead and Gledholt has already been shewn, page 146. Woodsome Lees is still occupied by the widow of the late Mr. Scott, and the family of Sugden. In our Churchyard is a gravestone recording the deaths of Joseph Scott, of Woodsome Lees, died Nov. 11, 1825, aged 81; Susannah, his widow, died Sept. 13, 1841, aged 92; Benjamin, their son, d. Feb. 5, 1875, aged 61.

WoopDsoME MILL.

Intermediate between Woodsome Hall and Lees is the ancient Corn Mill, where originated in 1558, in the house of Thomas Scammonden, the plague, of which the account is given, page 111, from our Church Register ; and it extended to Kirkburton and

Page 268

216 CASTLE HILL.—DESCRIPTION AND HISTORY.

Holmfirth, as described in Mr. Morehouse’s History ; in which it appears that 121 persons died of the plague in Kirkburton Parish in that year. FLETCHER HOUvusE, An ancient Farmhouse and land in the valley between Almondbury and Farnley, named probably from the family of John Fletcher, who was a bondage tenant, in 1488, succeeding Thomas del Fenay; as recorded in the Inquisition made that year, in which the degrading remains of the feudal system are recounted, not then abolished. In 1584 when the later Inquisition was made, Fletcher House was occupied by a family of Kaye, under Richard Blackburne, as free tenant, paying vjs. per annum to the crown. Registers give entries of that Kaye family from 1563 to 1589. The last being 1589, Dec. 5th.—Giles Kaye married to Alice Kaye. The farm has been held by the family of Beldon or Beldam at all events since 1711, when they appear as tenants under Mr. Wormall, in a paper by Mr. Benjamin North. It now belongs to

Sir J. W. Ramsden. CASTLE ELILE.

We have already referred to all that is known respecting the ancient fortification, which crowns the summit of the hill, that gives name to the township and parish, in the first and second chapters of Part I. Dr. Whitaker has given a plan in his “ Leeds and Elmete” shewing the two mounds; and says that in digging the foundations of a house within the precincts of the Castle, a winding subterranean staircase was discovered, but not pursued as it ought to have been. The fortifications were originally Saxon, as they are circular rather than quadrangular, as the Roman always were. The Castle was surrounded by a deep trench, and an oblong plain surface; also steep ramparts around. It has generally been supposed that it was destroyed by fire. The aged informant, R. Beaumont, referred to (page 6) has since departed this life. He said there was a tradition that the fortress was supplied with water by a subterraneous passage from Ludhill, in Farnley Tyas, which is higher than Castle hill; and that this even supplied

Page 269

HALL BOWER.—DESCRIPTION AND HISTORY. 217

a Moat; but there are springs in the trench which is partially filled with water even in summer. That there was a beacon lighted about six o’clock, every evening when invasion was expected during the French war; and they could see the beacon from Castle Hill to York; about 40 miles. He stated that Bonaparte took a ship belonging to Mr. Smith, who lived at Fenay and married a sister of Mr. Robert Rockley Batty. The Castle was rebuilt, and it is said by the Lacies, out of the ruins of the former building; but again by King Stephen about 1130—Wwe have no account of its destruction. The area of the Castle Mound is Ia. 3r. op.; that of the larger one is divided into two parts, containing 3a. 3r. 22p., and 5a. 2r. op. respectively—and which are much frequented for recreation by the inhabitants of Hudders- field—which lies, by day, as a map below. And at night like a lower firmament, with its thousand lights ; suggesting lessons of adoration for Him who kindled the still more brilliant and infinite expanse above ! Bower, Newsome, situate to the North of Castle Hill. This hamlet derives its name from the ancient residence of a branch of the Beaumont family there, of which building there is scarcely any other vestige. But among the writings at Whitley Hall (with a sight of which the Author has been favoured by Henry Frederick Beaumont, Esq.) is an account of an affray which took place there in the year 1471. An award by Sir John Pilkyngton, Knt., of £20 to Jane, wife of the late Nicholas Beaumont, of Newsham, who was killed by divers persons, taking part with John Kaye, of Woodsome, Lawrence Kay, Alderley, Adam Kay, of Bury, Lawrence Overall, and William Kay, to be paid to Robert Gargrave ; also divers other sums to the represen- tatives of other persons killed or wounded. It is added that this Nicholas Beaumont, of Newsham, gent., was son and heir of Adam, married Joauna, d. of Thomas Haghe, of Bothomhall. His will was proved 17 June, 1471; from whom descended John Beaumont, gent., of Newsome, Joanna, wife of Sir Thomas Pilkington, Knt., and Elizabeth, wife of Hugh Raysford.

Page 270

218 HALL BOWER.—DESCRIPTION AND HISTORY.

Almondbury Park beneath the Castle Hill, was held of Sir John Pilkington, on which account probably he became umpire in the above judgment. At Whitley is a splendid Heraldic Manuscript Volume, bound in Russian leather, entitled :

“‘The genealogy of the most ancient family of Beaumont, of Whitley Beaumont, in the County of York, originally compiled under the direction of Richard Henry Beaumont, Esquire, Lord of Whitley-Beaumont aforesaid, and of Little Mitton, in the County Palatine of Lancaster, in the year 1806, from the various ancient family Muniments then in his possession, the Heraldic Visitation of the County of York, the Dodsworth Manuscripts, Wills proved in the Archiepiscopal Courts of Canterbury and York; Inquisitions Zost mortem ; the several Parish Registers and other Public Records therein referred to, by WILLIAM RADCLIFFE, Rouge Croix, Pursuivant of Arms; pursuant to order of the Chapter. Illustrated with divers manuscripts of some of the ancient family Deeds and Charters, with the emblazoned Armorial bearings of the most important matrimonial connections. Together with the continuation of the pedigree to the present time, by the said William Radcliffe, 1828.”

The following shields of Arms appear : 1 Beaumont (Fesses Ermine on field Gules); 2 Beaumont, 3 Beaumont, with field blue; 4 Crosland, 5 Quarmby, 6 Talbot, 7 Magnaville, 8 Eudo Dapifer, 9 Ferrers of Eginton, 10 Ferrers Ancient, 11 Peverill, 12 Bockland, 13 Say Baron, 14 Magnaville, 15 Eudo Dapifer, 16 Lascelles, 17 Soothill, 18 Furton, 19 Horton, 20 Holt, 21 Grigglehurst, 22 Sumpter, 23 Brockholes, 24 Mancester, 25 Roos de Essex, 26 Esper Baron, 27 Trushot, 29 Harcourt, 30 Peverill of Brune, 31 Albany of Belvoir, 32 Tonei of Belvoir, 33 Asheldon, 34 Orkesley, 35—36 Abram. The present H. F. Beaumont, Esq., succeeded to the estates at Whitley, Crosland, and elsewhere, under the will of the above eminent Antiquary, Richard Henry Beaumont, Esq., in the year 1857, and married the same year Maria Joanna, daughter of William Garforth, of Wiganthorp, Yorks., Commander R.N. ; and his elder sister, Emily, is married to the Rev. Hugh Cholmondeley, of Hodnet, Salop, grandson of the late Bishop Heber. Further reference to this ancient family will occur under the head of South Crosland.

WoDDE AND RAMSDEN FAMILIES.

Old or Upper Longley Hall does not now present the same appearance which it did half-a-century ago ; the two original gables

Page 271

WODDE AND RAMSDEN FAMILIES. 219

having been reduced to a plain roof, and the stone porch removed, within the memory of several inhabitants. It retains, however, the general character of a respectable yeoman’s homestead ; and is occupied by Mr. John Sykes, himself in person and manners illustrating the idea; no doubt equally expressed by previous generations. In the principal room is a board placed on the wall, on which the following text in antique characters is painted : “All flesh is as grasse and all the glory of man as the flower of grasse. The grasse withereth and the flower falleth away. But ye Word of ye Lord endureth for ever.” 1 Peter, 1 chap., 24 v. The Wodde family resided here for many generations ; we have records as far back as 1342, until its termination by the failure of the male line in the person of John Wodde, of Longley, gent., married 1501, to Elizabeth, daughter of Richard Beaumont, Esq., and Joanna Sandford, his wife. He died 12th April, in the 29th Henry VIII, A.D. 1538, leaving three daughters—co-heiresses ; but he seems to have made a will in favour of his wife’s family, which is still extant at York. His daughters had previously married, viz.: Elizabeth to Thomas Kaye, junior; Cecilia to Thomas Savile, of Ecclesay, gent.; and Johanna to William Ramsden. There is also an Inquisition fost mortem, and at the time of his death, Thomas Saville is said to be seized by purchase of Longley Hall. How it passed to his brother-in-law, William Ramsden, we do not know; but may conclude that Saville being seized, by purchase, of Longley, as stated by the Inquisition, had sold it to Mr. Ramsden, who then making it over to his brother John, which he afterwards did, would not be inflicting an injury on John Wodde’s descendants. The Ramsden family originated in the Parish of Halifax. Watson in his History says, page 200, “ Another place of note in this Township of Greetland is CRAWSTONE, where lived sometime ago, a considerable family of the name of Ramsden, one of whom John Ramsden, Esq., who married Bridget, daughter of Walter Calverley, of Calverley, Esq., is said to have been worth a

Page 272

220 LONGLEY HALL.

thousand pounds per ann. He died at Esholt, July 25, 1689, aged 22, and was buried at Guiseley. Another of the family, Thomas Ramsden, of Crawston, Esq., married Frances, one of the daughters and co-heiresses of Sir Walter Hawksworth, Bart., and his son changed his name to Hawksworth, which the family still bear. The Arms of Ramsden, of Crawston, were argent on a chevron, between three fleur-de-lis, as many rams heads of the field. This coat in Guillim, is said to have been granted to John Ramsden, of Longley, in the County of York, by William Flower, Norroy, in 1575. This was the same family, for about this time they removed from Crawstone to Longley, near Huddersfield, and accordingly their arms are painted in an escutcheon in the parochial Chapel of Eland, and in a M.S. pedigree at New Grange and elsewhere ; but in Collins’ Peerage, vol v, p. 31 (where is a pedigree from Robert Ramsden, of Longley aforesaid), the rams heads are said to have been erased. The same valuable work, under the head of RasTRICk, gives: “Tt was found by Inquisition at Wakefield in 1577, that the Vill of Rastrick-cum-Totehill, amongst others, was within the liberty of the Manor of Wakefield, and that the Queen was chief lady of the same, in right of her demesne of Wakefield, formerly part of the possessions of Earl Warren. Also that there were certain lands and tenements there, formerly belonging to John de Armeley, afterwards to Thomas, son of John del Frythe, next to Thomas Frythe, and lastly to Robert Ramsden in right of his wife, the sister and heiress of Thomas Frythe, which were held of the Queen as of her demesne of Wakefield, by the service of a 2oth part of a Knight’s fee.” The WovpE family descend as follows in successive generations: (1) Robertus de Wodde, m. Marjoria (Relaxatio Johi. de Bellemonte militi de morte mariti 16 Edw. III, 1342). (2) Thomas de la Wode de Longley, vixit 1354. (3) Willus del Wode de Longley. (4) John Wode de Longley. (5) Lawrence Wode de Longley, generosus, vixit 1456, m. Joanna, dau. of Adam Beaumont, of Newsome. (6) Georgius Wode, gen., de Longley, married Isabella, dau. of Wm. Radcliffe de Todmorden, Co,

Page 273

WODDE AND RAMSDEN FAMILIES. 221

Lane. (7) John Wode de Longley, generosus, m. Elizabeth, dau. of Ric. Beaumont, Arm., and Joanna Sandford, his wife. (8) Three daughters as before stated. Mr. Morehouse communicates that “’Thomas, son of Roger del Wood, appears in the Inquisition of Henry VII of the Manor of Almondbury, holding tenements there, and if it be assumed that John Wood named in that survey, be the same with John del Wood, and that the ‘ dovata terra’ be equal to about 13 acres, it will appear from this enumeration, that John del Wood of that period was the owner of 4 messuages and 86 acres of land within the Royal Manor of Almondbury.” Ramsden, who married Joan Wodde, was eldest son of Robert Romysden, then living in Elland in 1531. There can be little doubt that this William was a clever man, and contributed to raise his family in the world. Upon the dissolution of the Monasteries, he became a most extensive purchaser of Abbey Lands; so that the list of lands, priories and farms, &c., purchased, occupied two double column folio pages of the Index of Grants in the Augmentation Office; and although an order was made that he should not be allowed to make more purchases, he must have realized a large Estate, principally in and around Huddersfield. Having no issue, he, in 1555, settled all these lands, &c., first on his brother Ramsden and his issue, with remainder to his brother fodervt Ramsden and his issue; besides which two brothers, he had a sister Elizabeth, married to Henry Savile, of Bradley, by whom she was mother of the three well-known learned Saviles. The third brother, Robert Ramsden, married Joan, sister and heiress of Thomas Firth, of Rastrick ; and it is his son Henry of whom mention is made in Watson’s History of Halifax, in connection with the dispute respecting Rastrick Chapel. _ William Ramsden died in London in 1580, whilst engaged in some law suits; and his brother John, mentioned in the Survey, 1584, succeeded to the property. He was buried at St. Sepulchre Church, Nov. vii. On the Heralds making, in 1585, a Visitation of Yorkshire, he was incorporated amongst the gentry, and had arms assigned to him, having allusion to the Wood family, and his

Page 274

222 LONGLEY HALL.

own name which had now become Ramsden (instead of Romysden). He had issue William and John, Mrs. Beaumont, of Whitley, and Mrs. Salstonstall; and it is almost certain that Sybilla, the wife of Robert Nettleton, the Almondbury Man of Ross, was his cousin ; as also Elizabeth Ramsden, stated as his servant, and one of the devizees with William and John in his will, at the time of his death. After these his brothers, the next persons in remainder, are Hugh, son of Gilbert, and George son of Thomas Ramsden, all of Elland, considered to be his next nearest relatives.” We add the following ILLUsrRaTIoNsS and PrRoors : In the Visitation of Yorkshire, 1612. In addition to the shield above described is the Crest. A cubit arm argent, grasping in the hand a fleur-de-lis, and the Pedigree shews : William Ramsden, of Longley, then living, married to Rosamond, daughter of Thomas Pilkington, of Bradley, Esq., and John Ramsden, his brother, of Lascelles Hall, m. to Ellen, daughter of Richard Lewis, of Marre, and descended from the former John Ramsden, zt 17. William, Catherine and Rosamond, and from the latter, William, son and heir. In the Visitation of Yorkshire, 1484-5, and in Church Notes in Harleian MSS., there was then a North Window in Almondbury Church, bearing (1) the Arms of Wodde: argent, three fleur-de-lis, between two cotises sable, a border engrailed of the last. (2) ‘‘ Pudsey armes in the middle here: argent, a bend, engraved sable, in the sinister chief; three pitchers, two and one; and in the dexter base a mullet pierced of the second. (3) Quarterly ver, a chevron between three mullets 07, 2, a fussle between six cross crosslets, sable. Underneath: Orate pro animabus Lawrentii Wodde, Johannz ux. Georgii Wodde, Isabella ux, filiarum et filiarum suorum.”* From the same Church notes (1394 f. 356): Longley—Georgius Wood obiit Januario, A° 2 H. 7. Servitus de Manerio de Longley in Com. Ebor. Johannes Wodde est filius et hzeres eet 12 annorum et amplius. Henry Savile married Elizabeth, daughter of Robert Ramsden, of whom were born Sir Henry Savile, Provost of Eton; and son—Sir John Savile, Knt., Baron of the Exchequer, married to Elizabeth Wentworth, daughter of Thomas Wentworth, of Elmsall; and his son, Sir Henry Savile, of Methley, knighted at the King’s Coronation, 23 July: made a baronet by Patent. 9 James I, 1611. From Rentall of Almondbury, begun Nov. in 4 Henry VI, before Thomas

* Pray for the souls of Lawrence Wodde; Johanna, his wife; George Wodde; Isabella, his wife; and their sons and daughters.

Page 275

WODDEPAND RAMSDEN FAMILIES. 223

Somerscales, Auditor. ‘‘ Terra Decimales.” fee Zenants.—Robert Rockley, Peter Kay, John Kay, John Fenay, John del Wodd, John Overhall, Adam Beaumont, Thomas Dalton, William Mirfield, Thomas Armitage, William Thorpe. Escheat 32 H. 8. John Wood, of Longley, gent., died 12 April, 29 Hen. 8, Cecilia, wife of Thos. Savile, of Ecclesay, gent., Johanna Ramsden, wife of Wm. Ramsden, et Elizabeth, wife of Thomas Kaye, junior, daughters of the said John Wood, and they are 21 years old and over—Lands at Longley, Almondbury and Huddersfield. Fines, Easter, 29th Hen. 8, Ebor. Richard Appleyard and Thomas Beaumont, quer., and John Wodde, defendant, of messuages and land in Longley and Almondbury. From Torre’s Testamentary Burials. John Wood, of Longley, Parish of Almondbury, gent., will proved 8th Jan., 1538, buried before St. Nicholas, at Almondbury. Enrolment of Bonds (Adal MSS.), 36 H. 8. William Ramsden, of Longley, gent. Lepton—In certain Court Rolls belonging to the Manor of Lepton, 9th H. 7th, George Wodde died, seized of messuages and land in Longley ; and John Wodde, of the age of 15, is son and heir. The Appleyard family appear to have occupied Upper Longley before the Ramsdens, as we have in Torre’s Testamentary Annals : Appleyard John of Longley, Yeoman: Will proved, 14 July, 1529, to be buried at Almondbury. Appleyard Rich. of Over Longley, gent. : Will proved 2 Jan., 1683, buried in the Church of Almondbury. He held lands in Almondbury which had descended to him by a daughter of John Hepworth. We have also, 1583, marriage of Richard Appleyard to Jane Crosland, of North Crosland, in our Register ; and birth of daughter 1584.

After the erection of the Hall at Nether Longley, now called Longley Hall, but at the time of the survey, 1584, “ New Hall,” John North, and after him Matthew, farmed the ancient house and land at Upper Longley, of Sir John Ramsden and others, and was their steward. John North was also of Almondbury Bank End, he is on the Jury in the Inquisition, 1584—and also inherited lands from a daughter of John Hepworth, as also Richard Blackburn had Fletcher House in right of the same Joan Hepworth his wife, who appears to have been married twice. The old Hall has been held by the Pudsey family, and since by successive tenants to the present time.

Page 276

224 LONGLEY HALL.

The following Entries occur in our Register. They are translated for the use of the general reader, except in special cases. 1558, Aug.—Wyllm Ramsden, s. of John, of Longley, baptized xxvii day ; Sponsors, Robert Whats, Robert Ramsden and Elizabeth Chesworthe. 1559, Sept.—John, s. of John, bapt xxi°; Sponsors, Richard Beaumont, Esq., John Ramsden and Elizabeth Chesworthe.

1560, Sept.—Robert, s. of John, bapt. xv°; Sponsors, John Kaye, Robert Pylkinton and Cibella Armitage. Buried, Jan. xvi®.

1565, Maye.—Joanna Ramsden, wife of William, buried xxiii° 1566, March.—Robert, s. of John, bapt. and buried xxiiii®. 1580, Nov.—William Ramsden died in London, and was buried in the Temple of the Holy Sepulchre. : 1581, August.—Edward Ramsden, m. to Jane Overall, xx°. 1581, August.—John Ramsden, m. to Margaret Saville, Ratchdall. 1589, April.—William Ramsden, m. to Rosemunda Pilkinton, xxix®. An imperfect note, ——— de Unnebye Parochia Mexbroughe. Probably Dannaby Hall in that Parish. 1589, Oct.—Richard, s. of William, of Longley Hall, bapt. xviii. Sponsors: Richard Beaumont, Samuel Salstonstall, and Margery Ramsden, buried XXVii°. 1590, Oct.—Margaret, wife of John Ramsden, of Longley Hall, gent., buried xxiii°. 1591.—Maria, dau. of William Ramsden, of Longley Hall, bapt. Sponsors: Rich. Beaumont, Elizabeth Saville and Helena 1592, April.—William, son of Robert Ramsden, bapt. xxx°. Sponsors : Wm. Fenaye, Thomas Wimpennye, and Margaret Gleadill. 1594, Oct.—John, s. of Wm. Ramsden, of Longley Hall, bapt. xiii°. Sponsors: Robert Kaye, Thomas Pilkington, Esq., and (Domina) Agnes Gargrayve. 1597, May.—Rosamunda, wife of Wm. Ramsden, buried (sub horas decimas

nocte) about ten o’clock at night, iij°. 1600, March.—Infant son of Wm. Ramsden, Esq., buried ix®, 1607, Feb.—Isabella, wife of Robert Ramsden, buried xii®, 1612, June.—William Ramsden and Johanna Crosland, married xv°. 1615, Jan.—Ambrose Pudsey, of the Parish of Bolton, gent., and Rosamunda, d. of William Ramsden, of Longley, Esq., married xxiii, between the hours of 8 and 9 before noon of the same day, by the Vicar of the aforesaid Parish of Almondbury. (This is difficult to decipher.) 1617, September.—Robert Ramsden, buried ii°. 1618, July.—Maria, d. of Ambrose Pudsey, gent., buried iii®.

Page 277

WODDE AND RAMSDEN FAMILIES. 225

1618, Septr.—Rosamunda, wife of Ambrose Pudsey, of Bolton, gent., buried iii°. 1623, Jan.—William Ramsden and Miriall Adamson, m. xxiii°. 1623, Jan.—William, son of Sir William Ramsden, of Nether Longley, buried xxii°. 1625, April.—William, son of Sir John Ramsden, of Nether Longley, bapt. x°. 1626, Septr.—Margaret, d. of Sir John Ramsden, of Nether Longley, bapt. xx°. 1626, Nov.———-wife of Richard Pilkington, gent., buried xvii°. 1627, December.—Luke, son of John Ramsden, buried xix°. 1650, May.—Katherine, dau. of Wm. Ramsden, iiij°. 1652, son of Wm. Ramsden, of Longley Hall, Esq., bapt. xiiij°. 1654, Jan.—Peter, son of Wm. Ramsden, of Longley Hall, bapt. xi°. 1656, Jan.—Margaret, d. bapt. ix°. 1658, April.—Maria, d. bapt. xxiij®. 1658, Jan.—Fretchvile, son, bapt. xxix°. 1661.—Frances, d. bapt. xiiij®. 1671, July.—Ann, d. of William Ramsden, Esq., of Longley, buried xiij®. 1675, Sept.—A wanderer unknown, who died suddenly in the Orchard of Madam Ramsden, of Nether Longley, was buried xvii®. 1679, April.—William Ramsden, Esq., of Longley Hall, buried xxvi°. 1679, Nov.—Fretchvile Ramsden. Generosus interfectus per (casum)* nemine preesente (Molosso Cane), Sep. i°. 1691, July.—Elizabeth Ramsden, of Longley Hall, widow, buried xxiii°. This is the last entry relative to the family in our Registers. With reference to the last event, we refer to the entry in the Diary of the Rev. Robert Meeke, of Slaithwaite, page 30, Part I, of this work. Madam Ramsden was Elizabeth, daughter of George Palmes, Esq., of Naburn, married before 1648, executrix to her husband, 1679. Her will dated 12 March, 1690, was proved at York, 1693. The Palmes were a very good family, their arms are on the Estate Buildings, Huddersfield. Her husband was William Ramsden, Esq., of Longley and Byrom, son of Sir John Ramsden, Knt.,

and was father of the first Baronet.

* This entry is very illegible and has puzzled many antiquaries. The most probable reading is given; and the meaning Fretchvile Ramsden, gentleman, killed by misfortune, no one being present, by a mastiff dog (——), and buried

on the tst Nov. His Portrait is at Byrom Hall. PART II.—G.

Page 278

220 LONGLEY HALL.

Tue EncLisH BARONETAGE, vol. v, dated 1741, gives the following particulars : I. Sir John Ramsden, of Byrom and Longley, in Cou. Ebor, Knt., eldest son and heir of William Ramsden, was Col. of a Regiment in the time of Charles I, was High-Sheriff of Yorkshire, 13 Car. I, and married twice: first, Margaret, daughter of Sir Peter Frechville, of Stavely, in Cou. Ebor, Knt, (afterwards Lord Frechville), by whom he left two sons, William, and John who died unmarried ; his second wife was Anna, daughter and heiress of Lawrence Overton, of London (relict of George Chamberlaine, of London, and Alderman of Pool), by whom he had no issue. This Sir John died in Newark Castle, in the service of King Charles I. He had a sister, who married Sir Christopher Wandesforth, Bart., great grandfather to the present Lord Lastercome. William, the eldest son of Sir John, married the daughter of George Palmes, of Lindley, in Cou. Ebor, Esq., by whom he had issue: three sons, John, Frechville and Peter, and five daughters. Brown, the eldest daughter, was first married to Sir George Dalston, of Heath, in Cou. Ebor, Bart. ; secondly to Edward Andrews, of Westminster, Esq., and after his death to Sir Richard Fisher, of Islington, Middlesex, Bart. (she died March 15, 1739-40); Margaret, the second daughter, married Sir John Dalston, of Heath, Bart.; the third, Frances, married the Marquis of Winchester by whom she had the present (1741) Duke of Bolton; fourth, Mary, married Thomas Wilkinson, of Kirkbridge, in Yorkshire; and fifth, Elizabeth, married to John Andrews, of Frechville ; and Peter, who died un-married. II. Sir JoHN RamsDEN, the only surviving son of Sir William Ramsden and Elizabeth Palmes, was created a BARONET by King William III, Nov. 30, 1689. He married Sarah, only daughter of Charles Butler, of Coates, in co. Lincoln, Esq., by whom he had eight sons, who all died unmarried. III. Sir RamsDEN, Baronet, who married Elizabeth, second daughter of John, Viscount Lonsdale; by whom he had six sons and five daughters; of which Catherine, the eldest,

Page 279

WODDE AND RAMSDEN FAMILIES. 227

married Sir William Lowther, of Swillington, in co. Ebor, Bart. Sir William Ramsden dying June, 1736, was succeeded in dignity and estate by his eldest son. IV. Sir JoHN RAMSDEN ; who represented Appleby, in West- moreland, for many years, living in 1741, unmarried. The “English Baronetage” here ends. In the Parish Church Chest of Almondbury, the Author found an imperfect (as to some dates) pedigree of the family of Ramsden, commencing with the last named Sir John, who, it states, married Margaret, daughter and heir of William Norton, of Lawley, co. York, and relict of Thomas Liddell Bright, of Badsworth, who was buried at Badsworth May, 1739. She married secondly (anon) 14th August, 1748, and died 1778. Sir John himself died 10 April, 1769. They had issue John, Elizabeth and Margaret. V. Srtr JoHN RamspDEN, who married Louisa Susannah, fifth daughter and co-heir of Charles, Viscount Irwin, in Scotland ; married in Stanhope Street, May Fair, 7 July, 1787. She died 22 Nov., 1857. Sir John died in Hamilton Place, Piccadilly, 15 July, 1839, et. 83. There is a handsome monument to his memory in the Parish Church, Huddersfield. Elizabeth married William Weddell, Esq., of Newby; M.P. successively for Hull and Malton; who died without issue 1792, buried at Ripon. Margaret married, 1774, at Brotherton, Thomas Reynolds, third Lord Ducie, who died without issue 1785, buried at Tortworth, co. Gloucester. VI. JoHN CHARLES RAMSDEN, of Buckden, in parish of Arncliffe, son and heir apparent, born 30 April, 1788; M.P. for Malton from 1812 to his decease at Richmond, Surrey, 29 Dec., 1836. He married Isabella, seventh and youngest daughter of Thomas, first Lord Dundas, and sister of Lawrence, first Earl of Zetland; born 24 Feb., 1790; bapt. at St. George’s, Hanover Square ; married 4th May, 1814, at 19, Arlington Street, London. Still living (1880) full of years and honors. She exerted an excellent influence during the minority of her second son, the present VII. Str Jonn RamspeEN, Bart. (the eldest John

Page 280

228 LONGLEY HALL.

William having died 1830, in his sixth year), who was born at Newby Park, Sept. 14, 1831, bapt at Byrom, and succeeded his Grandfather, 1839, in the Title and Estates, under Trustees and Guardians. He has held the office of Under-Secretary of State for War, and represented the Monmouth Boroughs in Parliament, and at present represents the Eastern Division of the West Riding of York. He was educated at Eton and at Trinity College, Cambridge (M.A. 1852); sat as M.P. for Taunton 1853-7, for Hythe 1857-9, for the West-Riding of Yorkshire, 1859-65, and for Monmouth District 1868-74, when he unsuccessfully contested the Eastern Division of the West-Riding; isa Dep. Lieut. of Invernesshire ; was High Sheriff of Yorkshire 1867-8 ; has been Hon. Col. of 1st West Riding Artillery Volunteers since 1862. Under the care of his Trustees until the attainment of his majority in 1852, and subsequently, the ancient Manor of Almond- bury with Huddersfield has been vastly extended in buildings and population, and in consequence of able management, Huddersfield has become one of the handsomest towns in Yorkshire. The alliances of the last preceding generation of the family include the noble houses of Winchester, Ellenborough, Strafford, Hawke, Paulet and Muncaster. William, second son of Sir John Ramsden (V), Rear-Admiral, R.N., born 1789; died at Byrom, without issue, 30 Dec., 1853. Frederick Henry, Grandson, born 9 June, 1830, Capt. Coldstream Guards, was killed at Inkermann, unmarried, 5 Nov., 1854. Sir John William Ramsden married, 1865, Lady Helen Guen- dolen St. Maur, youngest daughter of the 12th Duke of Somerset, who have two daughters, Hermione Charlotte and Rosamunda Isabel, and a son and heir, John Frechvile, born January 7th, 1877. And their occasional visits to New Longley Hall (in general occupied by Major Graham, the able Agent of the Estate) pleasant in themselves, leave such traces as the Erection of the Somerset Bridge, and the Restoration of the Chancel of Almondbury Church, St. John’s Church, Huddersfield, was erected under the powers of the will of Sir John Ramsden; the first

Page 281

FRECHVILLE FAMILY. 229

stone being laid by the present Baronet, July 21st, 1869. Newsome and St. Andrew’s Churches have since arisen under his patronage. We add the following Proors and ILLUSTRATIONS:

FRECHVILLE FAMILY.

Hutchinson’s History of Cumberland, contains the pedigree of this eminent family of Frechvile, under the Parish of Burghe ; including their connection with those of Dykes, Salkeld, Brougham, Lawson, Lamplugh, Ballantine and Brisco by marriage. Thomas Dykes, Esq., 15th in descent, married, 3rd Charles I, Joyce, second daughter of John Frechville, brother of Sir Peter, of Staveley, created Lord Frechville. This gentleman adhering to the Royal cause, and having been an active partisan for the King, was, after the King’s forces were subdued, eagerly sought after by the Republicans, whom he eluded for upwards of 12 months, by concealing himself, when in pursuit of him, in a Mulberry tree in front of the house, part whereof still remains. He was afterwards caught, and kept prisoner in a dungeon in Cockermouth Castle, where he died. His freedom was repeatedly offered to him by the Republicans if he would change his principles, and upon his refusal, threatening to increase the same. This account was given by his grandson Frechville. In the GENEALOGIST, August, 1878—from the Visitation of Derbyshire, 1662-3, by William Dugdale, Esq., Norroy King at Arms : FRECHVILLE.—Arms, azure, a bend between six eschallops. Argent; Crest A demi-angel ppr., holding with both hands an arrow. Peter Frechyille, Esq., of Staveley, m. Margaret, fil. Arthur Kay, of Woodsome. Sir Peter Frechyille, m. Jocosa, fil. Thos. Fleetwood de Vach in Co. Bucks. John Frechville, Baron Frechville, of Staveley, m. Sarah, fil Sir John Harington. In the History of the City of York, 1785, p. 312; is a list of the principal ‘persons concerned in the Civil War. A kind

Page 282

230 FRECHVILLE FAMILY.

of Convention, made Sept. 29, 1692, at Rodwell, and “signed by Henry Bellasyse, Wildiam Savile, Edward Osborne, John Ramsden, Ingram Hopton and Frances Nevile on the King’s party; and Thomas Fairfax, Thomas Maleverer,William Lister, William White, John Farrar and John Stockdale of the other party. In the Life of StrR Jonn REREsBY, 1634-89, by himself, edited by Mr. Cartwright, 1875 : Lionel Reresby, son of Lionel, of Thybergh, had eight daughters. Ellen, married to Marmaduke Tyrwbitt, of Kettleby, Lincolnshire, whose daughter married one Coates, of the same County ; whose daughter (Rosamond) married Sir JoHN RAMSDEN, of Byrom. Another daughter, Barbara, married first, Thomas Pilkington, of Bradley, Esq., whose only daughter married Ramsden of Byrom, grandfather of the aforesaid John Ramsden; Barbara’ married secondly Robert Savile, of Methley, an ancestor of the Earl of Mexborough. ‘In Fox’s History of Pontefract, 1827.—Among the Volunteers on the King’s party at the Siege, in 1644, the third division was called that of Sir John Ramsden. The following note occurs: “Sir John Ramsden, of Longley, near Huddersfield. This is the original seat of this ancient and respectable family. A branch of it resided at Lascel Hall, near Kirkheaton; and the ancient seat was forsaken for the more agreeable one of Byram. This Sir John, after the surrender of the Castle of Pontefract at the close of the second Siege, entered into that of Newark, where he died. The estates and name of this respectable family have descended to the present baronet, Sir J. Ramsden, of Byram.” Mr. Cartwright \of the Public Record Office), in his chapters on the History of Yorkshire, page 202, gives a letter of Sir Henry Savile to Richard Beaumont, wherein he speaks of his “ Cozen of Langley ;” and in a note explains the connection and remarks. To the subsidy levied in 1595 Wm. Ramsden, Esq., and John Ramsden, gent., were the largest contributors in Almondbury— the former being assessed at £20, in lands, the latter at £6 8s. 4d. inlands. The Manor of Huddersfield was purchased by William of the Queen, 30th August, 1599, as appears by an entry

Page 283

NEW OR NETHER LONGLEY HALL. 231

in the Docquet Book of that date. There was an inquisition of his estates taken at Halifax, on the 2oth June, 1623, shortly after his death; before Thomas Lovell, Esq., Escheator for Yorkshire, anda Jury. It was certified that ‘William Ramsden, nuper de Longley, Armiger, was seized of the Manors of Saddelworth, or Quick, &c., formerly parcel of the possessions of the Priory of Kirklees, of the Manor of Huddersfield, and all houses, buildings, lands, tenements, meadows, pastures, rents, reversions, heredita- ments whatsoever, belonging to the same; of a capital messuage in the town of Almondbury, called Longley Hall, &c., &c. Sir John is declared to be the son and heir of William, and to have been 28 years old at his father’s death.” Again, page 303: The King refers a petition to the Lord President of the North and the Councell there, together with Sr. Henry Savile and Sr. Richard Beaumont, Knights and Baronets, Sr. John Ramsden, Knt., Christopher Warnsford and John Keye, Esquires; to which he adds ina note: son of William Ramsden, of Longley, Esq., that he bought Byrom from Marmaduke, son of Michael Constable, a younger son of Sir Robert, of Everingham, who had married Anne, a natural daughter of Anthony Besson, of Byram. Sir John was Justice of the Peace and Treasurer for lame soldiers in the West Riding, in the 7th year of the reign of King Charles I; and High Sheriff of Yorkshire in the 13th year of the said reign—when it was remarkable that at the Summer Assize no prisoner was executed.

In the Adali M.S., 1671. Séa/. in Church of Almondbury to Sir John Kay, Woodsome, and William Ramsden, same parish, Esq.

New or NETHER LONGLEY HALL.

At the beginning of the present century Longley Hall must have been a charming residence, having extensive views over the sur- rounding country, situated as it is on the brow of a hill overlooking the town of Huddersfield and the river Colne, which separates it from Almondbury. The view, though now less pleasing to the eye, is not less satisfactory to the social philanthropist or the mercan- tile adventurer; with its tall chimneys and its canopy of smoke

Page 284

232 NEW OR NETHER LONGLEY HALL.

however by towers and spires of Churches which have grown up among them. Since they speak of honest and thriving industry, implying domestic comforts to thousands of families : and except on “the day of rest,” when their absence is equally conspicuous, their failure would be felt to be a sign of doleful import; and, except that the surrounding hills form a dis- tant horizon, Sir John, looking from his ancestral hall, might say, **T am monarch of all I survey, My right there is none to dispute.” A few houses near the Parish Church of Huddersfield, lately rebuilt, and in one ofwhich these pages are printed, form the other exception. They belong to the executors of the late Mr. Thomas Firth, of Toothill, and were most likely originally Church property. The late owner was a good, shrewd and facetious Member of the Society of Friends: and the exception rather illustrates than impairs the rule. He is said to have refused to accept a price, which would have been equivalent to paving the premises with guineas. “‘ Nay! not if thou set them edgeways !” He was probably as proud of his share as was the Lord of the Manor. We are reminded of Alex- ander and Diogenes. The original Hall was probably erected by William Ramsden, Esq.—the first proprietor of that name—or his son, Sir John Ramsden, Knt. It was in the Tudor style. It enclosed a Court Yard on three sides, having the main entrance on the East side. A modern house had been added in the last century, in the plain style of the day, looking towards the West and North. About 1848 additions were made in the Tudor style on the East side, and, in excavating the foundations, several silver coins of the time of Charles I. were found. A few years ago Sir John William Ramsden rebuilt the Hall, but upon the old foundations, from the plans of Mr. W. H. Crosland, having the main entrance front to the North; and the entertaining rooms West and South. The principal front is towards the West; with a Central bay with battlemented parapet, and a dormer on either side. On the South is a circular bay to the dining room window, continued up to the roof. On the North side are two gables, with a handsome circular

Page 285

ye Shey “SKS Se

<I i Sa

ew re

eA 6

Lenatey (Nonry View ) AND CASTLE HE

Se Se LG Ss saul fi’ ; a) 5 BAS Petras Ta SSSA : ie \.

aw /

REESE

Page 287

KIDROYD. 233

staircase. These occupy the place of part of the old building. On this side is now the principal entrance, through an open porch, with a three centred Arch; the parapet of which is richly ornamented with carved panels. There are monograms J.W.R. and H.G.R., of the Honourable and Right Honourable owners. The rooms are spacious and lofty. The stables, which are sheltered by old trees, present the appearance of Monastic buildings, from the winding avenue by which the Hall is approached.* It is backed by thriving plantations, and behind it rise the Castle Hill and old Park of Almondbury. The flower gardens are at the bottom of the hill, and from it through the coppice

are pleasing walks— ““And seats beneath the shade For talking age, and whispering lovers made.”—GOLDSMITH.

KiIpDROYD

In a glen, or clough, which with the “Old Bank,” practically separates the Ancient Parishes of Almondbury and Kirkheaton, to the east was situated an old Yeoman residence; of which little now remains, called Kip Royp ; occupied three centuries ago by a family of Ramsden, distinct from, but connected with, that above named. In our Baptismal Register we have : 1568.—Jane Ramsden, d. of Hugh, ‘‘ Off Banke,” bapt. April iiij° Spon- sors: Helena Wodde, Jane Hyrste, and Gilbert Penye. 1569, Oct. iiij°, the same Jane buried. 1571, William, son of Hugh, of Kydrode, bapt. Sponsors: Willm. Ramsden, John Wodd, and Helena Ramsden. 1574, Joanna, wife of Hugh, buried Feb. v°. 1577, Hugh Ramsden, ‘“‘off Kidrode,” buried Sept. xxiiij°. 1604, Hugh Ramsden and Sybilla Kaye married, Nov. xiii®. The name vanishes from Kidroyd; and it is probable that the family migrated to Golcar, where are the ‘“‘ Ramsden Woollen Mills,” which have been occupied by a family of that name for many generations. In the Diary of the Rev. Robert Meeke, of Slaith-

* The Author is obliged to Mr. Isaac Hordern and Mr. A. J. Taylor for this description ; as to the former for skill in the Restoration of the Vicarage, and to the latter in the description of the Church.

Page 288

234 KING'S MILLS.

waite, we have, January 5th, 1692-3: “I should have been at the funeral of old Dame Ramsden, of the Miln, but could not.” The name of Hugh also prevailed there. The Author, when at Slaith- waite, knew two generations of Hugh Ramsden. There is still an important manufacturing company at Ramsden Mills. Kidroyd is now a small hamlet or “ Fold,” in which chemical works have been conducted by Mr. George Jarmain. The small Beck which flows through from the wood, and running down supplies Bankfield, the manufactory and residence of Messrs. John Day & Sons, afforded facilities for such operations, ultimately falling into the Colne near Somerset Bridge. The New or Somerset Road passes over it at Kidroyd.

Kinc’s MILLS.

On the banks of the river below Longley Hall, where the Colne and Holme rivers meet, called “Damside,” are several Villa Residences, and the old King’s Mills, which belonged to the Crown before the purchase of the manorial rights by Sir John Ramsden, in 1627. They were called Huddersfield Mills of ancient time, and appear by deeds of Henry VII and VIII, and of Philip and Mary, to have grants of Colne water and water course, as well for use of the said mills, as for fishery, &c., and there also appears, by the same grants and deeds, to have been formerly a fulling mill, as well as a corn mill, at which the copyholders and freeholders of the Manor of Almondbury were bound by their tenure to grind their corn, repair the dam, and do other service, as appears from the Inquisitions in 1488 and 1584. Sir John Ramsden granted liberty, 24 Nov., 17 Car. I, 1642, to Thomas Fenay, to grind his corn at his own mill, but not for others to do so. The late Joseph Armitage, Esq., of Milnsbridge and High- royd, paid, in 1829, for the repair of the Dam, for Tinderleys A413 IS. ; These mills are still flourishing, and are situate intermediate between Somerset Bridge and another bridge recently erected near Stile Common, connecting the townships of Almondbury and Huddersfield ; with a road almost coincident with the respective

Page 289

LUMB.—PARKIN FAMILY. 235

boundaries of the new Ecclesiastical Districts of Almondbury and Rashcliffe. The latter new Parish includes Primrose Hill, with the handsome Board School, calculated for a thousand scholars, ‘and a population inviting a new Church. Meanwhile the Nonconformists have shewn themselves not unmindful of the fact, by the erection of Chapels ; and St. Paul’s Church, Huddersfield, draws many children to its Sunday Schools.

Lums.—PARKIN FAMILy.

We have already alluded to this ancient Homestead (page 16 and the Gravestone, page 56), around which are gathered several other dwellings, snugly sheltered under the sun side of Castle Hill at the head of the lovely valley, and looking upon Farnley Tyas.* There have the family of Parkin dwelt in unbroken succession for at least four centuries. The first record is in the Rental of Almondbury, made for the Crown, in the 17th year of King Henry the Seventh, 1492: **John Parkin holds four acres of land, freehold, late John Burton’s, and pays for it 2d., at the Michaelmas term. John Parkin holds a messuage, a burgage and one boviate (13 acres), lately holden by John Parkin, his father, and pays for the same at Michaelmas term Is. 114d, John Parkin holds four acres in the Lum, and one acre at Benolmley, and pays in Mich. term gd. The holdings are also mentioned in the Inquisition in 1584, and in the Rental in 1711, of tithe due to Clitheroe School, in Mr. North’s manuscripts. ‘The family still hold under Sir John William Rams- den as Lord of the Manor, maintaining the character of plain English Yeomen. The late Mr. William Parkin and Esther his wife, had twelve children; of whom three sons remain, Thomas, Matthew, and Edward. John, James, Law, and Charles were useful men in their day. Esther, their mother, died 23 Dec., 1867, aged 92 years.

* There is a circumstance which has rendered Lumb interesting to the Author. His late devoted son Reginald, when sinking under the heat of ‘*Sultry India,” in 1876, at Trichinopoly, where he ministered as Chaplain, in the Church where lies buried his eminent namesake, Reginald Heber, longed for water from the spring at Lumb, which he had often tasted, when as Curate of Almondbury, 1867-71, he visited in that neighbourhood.

Page 290

236 ARMITAGE FAMILY.

A Charity founded by George Parkin, of Almondbury Bank, for the instruction of Poor Children, produces to the Central National School £4 8s. od., annually; under a Scheme of management by the Charity Commissioners, dated July 31st, 1869, of which the Vicar is Trustee. In like manner a Legacy of the late Sir John Ramsden for the relief of the aged and the instruction of the young, is vested in the Vicars of Huddersfield. and Almondbury, producing about £7 tos. od. each, and is distributed by them, by order dated 23rd Dec., 1870.

DUDMANSTONE AND HiGH Royp.—ARMITAGE AND ARMYTAGE FAMILIES.

On the west side of the Township of Almondbury, looking down on the valley of Honley, are situared the comparatively modern mansions of Dudmanstone and High Royd ; originally belonging to the ancient family of Ermitage, Armitage, Armytage, or Armitedge, as the name is variously spelt, all originating in John Ermitage, of Ermitage (or the Hermitage), in the Township of Honley, in the Parish of Almondbury; who by his will dated the roth of May, 1527, and proved at York, directs his body to be buried in the Church of Almondbury, leaves his son Thomas, and Elizabeth his wife, executor and executrix, and his brother Roger, supervisor of his will; the latter died in 1537, and his will was also proved that year. The family formerly resident at Thick Hollins, Meltham, is derived from this Thomas. The Author is indebted to the late George Armitage, Esq., J.P. and D.L., of Milnsbridge House, Richard Armitage, Esq., of Scarborough, Thomas Robinson, Esq., The Hallows, Kirkburton, and William Roulston Haigh, Esq., J.P., of Dudmanstone, for the following information. The Pedigree of the three families of Dud- manstone, High Royd and Thick Hollins, has been beautifully written and illuminated by Mr. Robinson and Miss Preston, with the Arms of Armitage of Dudmanstone, “of Milnsbridge (with Dowker as Co-heiress), Jennings of London, Rockley, Whitacre, Nicholl, Horsfall, Armitage of London, Wharton, Mountjoy, Scott (of Woodsome Lees), Saint John, and Maude,

Page 291

ARMITAGE FAMILY. 237

Neither of the present Houses is of ancient date, but they are substantial residences, with interesting surroundings. The large old house at the top of Almondbury Bank, was also the residence of a branch of the family, since much denuded of its beauty. Dup- MANSTONE HOUSE is situate above Berry Brow, and takes its name doubtless from a large Boulder Stone on the Cliff, almost in the form of a /¢on couchant, which is perforated so that a dog could run through. William Ramsden, Esq., of Dudman (see page 145), was holder of the Court Baron, 13 Car. II., of which name that of “Deadmanstone” is believed to be a modern corruption. There is a hanging stone also near. The site is indeed rocky, and is ornamented towards the North with Towers on the Cliff, which give it the appearance of an ancient fortress. The grounds have been laid out with great taste; the Cliff under the Stone on the South has been brought into cultivation, and a terrace formed, which commands a beautiful view. Two additions have been made to the original house. One to the West by Mr. Henry Robinson, the former owner; and the other, including a Billiard Room, by the present proprietor and occupant, Mr. Haigh, and the house is replete with articles of vzvfu. It was occupied also for many years by the late Joseph Wrigley, Esq., afterwards of Netherton ; all of whose family were born there, and whose sons are occupying useful positions in the Parish of Lockwood. The Estate belonged originally to a family of the name of Lockwood. In the Inquisition made in 1584— Thomas Lockwood holdeth a messuage called Dudmanstone, now made into two; two gardens; one little croft, called Tenter Croft; two closes, called Cockshutts ; two closes, called Ouroyds; one close, called Sykes ; third part of one called William Croft; one little meadow, called Calf Croft ; one other meadow, called the Lime Croft ; four closes called the Lees, &c. One house, called the Forward House ; one garden and one close to the same belonging. One house called Budge Royd. One house and one garden in the tenure of one Shaw ; and one meadow to the same adjoining. One messuage, called Stirley; one garden and one croft to the same belonging. The same names still prevail for the several places.

In the same Inquisition (1) among those tenants of the Crown who have made encroachments on the waste is Thomas Lockwood ; (2) among those

Page 292

238 ARMITAGE FAMILY.

tenants who have by custom, in their turn, the collection of the Queen’s rents and perquisites of the Manor, is Thomas Lockwood, for his lands and tenements at Dudmanstone. Dudmanstone was purchased in 1663 by Richard Armitage (youngest son of Juhn Armitage, of Ermitage, settled at Honley), who was buried at Almondbury 11 August, 1601. Richard resided at Banks (where his eldest son Joseph was born), and afterwards removed to Dudmanstone (we have not the exact date). He became the proprietor by exchange with John Thornton, Esq., of Florbury, and his mother, Margaret Thornton, widow, of certain houses and lands at Thornton, near Bradford. Dudmanstone has been rebuilt twice or more. In 1745 Francis Armitage went to live at Blackhouse, in Thurstonland, while it was rebuilt—and removed back the same year (as shewn by an agreement between him and John Gill, of Swithin, in the Parish of Darton, Malster, to whom he assigns his lease, &c). In 1803, after his eldest son Joseph Armitage, of Wakefield and Alverthorpe, died, his Estates in Honley and neighbourhood, Netherton, Coldshill, &c., were sold off. The late Mr. Timothy Bentley was a considerable purchaser ; and alia obtained Dudmanstone, and afterwards rebuilt it early in this century. In the Summer of 1843, when the executors of Mr. Bentley sold off his Estates, Dudmanstone was sold, with about twenty acres of Park, at the George Hotel, Huddersfield. It was bought by Mr. Vickerman, for Mr. Samuel Green Beverley Bentley, the son of Mr. Green Bentley and grand- son of Timothy. The present Mr. Richard Armitage, who is grandson of Frances Armitage, bought land but not Dudmanstone, which has been again sold to the present proprietor, who is an active Magistrate and leading man in the promotion of plans of education and improvement in Huddersfield and neighbourhood.

HicHroyp House, adjoining the road leading from Farnley Tyas to Honley, has been in the possession of the family to whom it now belongs since its bequest by Joseph Armitage, Esq., of Dudmanstone, who died unmarried. His will was proved at York, dated October 6, 1686; he was baptized at Almondbury, Feb. 15th, 1617, and buried there 27 April, 1689. He was a

Page 293

ARMITAGE FAMILY. 239

prudent, upright man, who added greatly to the family possessions. He divided them between his nephews, Richard and George ; assigning Dudmanstone to the former, and Highroyd to the latter. Highroyd is a plain substantial house, looking towards Honley, in which chapelry it is situate; it is backed by farm buildings and trees. Adjoining is a farm house, formerly occupied by the family of Schofield, connected with Linthwaite, and one of whom is the relict of Mr. Law Parkin, of Lumb and Prospect House, Almondbury. The house has undergone little alteration. It was occupied successively by the owners. 1. The above George Armitage, born at Almondbury Town End, bapt. 1674, married Alice Jagger, died at Highroyd, 1742—who inherited also from his father lands at Nether Oldfield, Honley, Budgeroyd, Dodgeroyd, Almondbury, &c. She died Dec. 24th, 1743. 2. Joseph Armitage, bapt. Aug. 9, 1716, buried Augt. 15, 1785, at Almondbury; he married Mary Wilson, of Holmfirth ; buried Dec. 14th, 1798, aged 83. 3. George Armitage, J.P., born Nov. 21, 1738; died Dec. 16, 1815; married April 16, 1776, Sarah Walker, of Lascelles Hall; born April 7th, 1748; died July 18th, 1834. They had _ issue Joseph and Martha, and five who died young. Martha married R. Bassett, Esq., of Glemworth, Lincoln, and was grand- mother of Col. Fenton, first M.P. for Huddersfield. 4. Joseph Armitage, J.P. and D.L., born Feb. 9, 1778; died Augt. rgth, 1860; married Ann Taylor, eldest daughter of Joseph Taylor, Esq., of Blackley Hall, near Manchester. On purchasing from Sir Joseph Radcliffe, Bart., the Mansion and Estate of Milnsbridge House, Longwood, in Huddersfield, Mr. Armitage removed thither, and Highroyd has subsequently been occupied by tenants. He bequeathed Milnsbridge House to his eldest son George, buried at Milnsbridge Feb. 1878; and Highroyd to his second son, Joseph Taylor; both deceased. The latter only this year (1880), July, was buried by his request at Almondbury; and

Page 294

240 ARMITAGE FAMILY.

has bequeathed One Hundred Pounds to the Church Restoration Fund, with other Donations to Churches and Charities. Miss Mary Anne Armitage, born May 3rd, 1784; died 1861; only surviving sister of the late Mr. Joseph Armitage, resided at Park Cottage, below Highroyd ; but afterwards built a house at Honley, near the Church, where she resided until her death. She was a person of much piety and benevolence. She built Brockholes Church, and gave One Thousand Pounds towards the erection of St. Luke’s Church, Milnsbridge; of which more hereafter. Monuments in the Chancels of Almondbury and Milnsbridge commemorate both the above families.

FAMILY HIsTorRY.

In addition to the above particulars, we find Hunter, in his South Yorkshire, vol. 1, p. 216, says: The connection of the family of Armitage, of Doncaster, with the family seated at Kirklees is not known, nor can they be connected with the Armitages, of Armitage (the Hermitage), in the township of Crosland ; the original, it may be presumed, of all the branches of that ancient family. The Arms borne by the Kirklees and Almondbury families are the same. The common ancestor of John Ermitage, of Ermitage, and Roger, of Honley or Hall-Ing, does not appear. The Armytages, of Kirklees, are deduced from this Roger. The youngest son of John was Thomas Armitage, of Thick- hollins, in the township of Meltham, Anno 8 Hen. VIII, one of the executors of his father’s will, Anno 4 Queen Elizabeth, 1561, and was buried at Almondbury. Hence the THICKHOLLINS family diverge. Resuming the direct line: 1. John Armitage, eldest son and heir of will dated 4th June, 1561. William Armitage, second son, of Crosland or Armitage; will dated 28th May, 1573; married Margaret. Executrix with his

Page 295

ARMITAGE FAMILY. 241

son Anthony; and Roger and daughters Jennett and Ann were residuary legatees of personalty. 2. John settled at Honley; his eldest son and heir, held considerable lands at Honley, Highroyd, &c., of the Lord of the Manor, Sir Robert Stapleton, in 1570. His will is dated zoth July, 1601. He married Joanna Taylier, and left her executrix of his will, and his eldest son, 3. James, baptized 11 January, 1572, executor. His brother Richard, who purchased Dudmanstone in 1663. Will proved 1666; married Sarah, left her executrix and son Joseph, executor—from whom Sarah, married (1) William Brooke, with issue, William, executor to his uncle Joseph, and a daughter, and married (2) Joseph Woodhead, and had issue, Joshua, owner of Deanhouse, by bequest of his uncle Joseph. 4. Joseph, of Dudmanstone, died unmarried (as before stated), and Richard, born at Dudmanstone, 1627, married first, Maria Bayley, by whom he had William, Maria, Joseph, of Wakefield, and Elizabeth. From these descend the Armitages of DuDMAN- STONE, Alverthorpe and Wakefield. Richard married secondly Martha , from whom descended the Hicu Royp branch.

DUDMANSTONE AND WAKEFIELD BRANCHES.

I. RicHarD ARMITAGE, of Wakefield (son of Joseph), married Mary, d. of Francis and Mary Maude, of Wakefield, died intestate 1713. Mary died 1715 ; from whom descended their heir, II. Francis A., Gent., of Blackhouse and Dudmanstone, who m. ANN OaTEs, of near Denby, Yorkshire, executrix of his will, dated Feb. 14, 1743. He died Dec. 31st, 1744. She afterwards married JosEPH Scott, of Woodsome Hall (see Monuments, page 46). By the first marriage she had III. A., of Alverthorpe Hall, near Wakefield, married HEnRIETTA DENTON. Will dated 7 May, 1803. He died before June, 1804, and was buried at Almondbury. ANN had by her second marriage, Francis Scott, Captain of an East Indiaman, Grace, married to Michael Bacon, D.D., 40 years Vicar of Wakefield,

died in 1805, and Ann who died unmarried. PART IL—H.

Page 296

242 ARMITAGE FAMILY.

IV. (1) JosepH ArmitTacE, of Dudmanstone, Attorney-at-Law, son of Joseph and Henrietta, m. JANE RHODEs, of Hall Green, Chapelthorpe, 1802. Date of will Dec., 1805, proved at York. (2) Francis A., Captain of an East Indiaman. (3) ANN A., m. DANIEL JENNINGS, Esq., of London (their son John Jennings, D.D., Archdeacon and Canon of Westminster, died 1869). (4) Henry A., of Scarborough, drowned near Scalbey, 12th August, 1809, married Ann Wharton, of Scarborough. (5) JamEs A., of Dudmanstone and Wakefield, Merchant, married ANN, d. of the Rev. Movuntyoy, M.A., of Brasennose College, Oxford, and Vicar of Kirkburton; he died Feb., 1811. His widow, born 22 May, 1768, died at Almondbury, 23rd Feb., 1853. (6) A., of Fenay Lodge, Almondbury (see page 144), married Mary WALKER, of Wakefield. (7) GrorcE A., of Wakefield, m. Mary Rayner, d. of Mr. JonaTHAN Haitcu, of Wakefield. (8) ExizapeTH A, m. to William Walker, Esq., Sur- geon, Wakefield. (9) Grace, m. GEORGE RosINson, Senior Surgeon of the Huddersfield and Upper Agbrigg Infirmary (whence descended THomas Ropsinson, of the Hallas, Kirkburton, Gent., Attorney-at-Law, and William Robinson, Surgeon, Huddersfield, now living). (10) CHARLOTTE A., m. first RICHARD, son of JOHN BaRKER, Esq. ; secondly J. B. SHEPPARD, Captain in the Army, with issue, John, Mary and Henrietta Barker, and Robina Shep- pard. (11) A., married RoBERT WILLIAM St. JOHN, born 1791, Consul-General at Algiers, grandson of Frederick, third Viscount St. JoHN, and second ViscouNT BOLINGBROKE. V. RicHARD ARMITAGE, son of James and Ann (Mountjoy), born at Dudmanstone, and now living at Scarborough, m. Jane Nicholl, and has issue surviving :—Emma Jane, married to Francis Preston, Esq., of Kirkburton ; Frederick Lucas, unmarried, resides in London ; Edward, married, one child only, James Nicholl Armitage (now at Archbishop Holgate’s School, York) ; Richard Augustus, married to Frances Smith, have issue four sons ; James Mountjoy, their eldest son and eldest child, born 20 Dec., 1834, died at Mountjoy House, Huddersfield, 12 Nov., 1857 ; Francis Lucas, their second son, died an infant Sep. 7, 1837; Mary Ann

Page 297

ARMITAGE FAMILY. 243

Elizabeth, their younger daughter, married to the Rev. Dr. McCann, born 17 Oct., 1842, died very suddenly at Glasgow, 17 Jan., 1877, leaving issue three sons. Dr. McCann, when Curate of St. Paul’s, Huddersfield, delivered and published valuable Lectures on Revelation and Infidelity.

HicH Royp AND MILNSBRIDGE BRANCHES.

It will be observed that the divergence of these from the above commences with the second marriage of RICHARD ARMITAGE to

MARTHA of whom we have no particulars. He was born

at Dudmanstone ; bapt. at Almondbury Jan. 27, 1627; resided at Almondbury Bank, afterwards: at Dudmanstone. Will dated 1st January, 1705; proved Jan. 9th, 1706; buried at Almondbury. He was a Governor of King James’ School. Descendants as before stated. I. George, m. Alice Jagger; and Martha mentioned in the wills of her father and uncle Joseph. II. Joseph, their son, m. Mary Wilson, of Holmfirth. III. George, m. Sarah Walker. IV. Joseph, m. Ann Taylor, of whose fifteen descendants twelve arrived at maturity and married ; but three only (Oct. 1880) are now surviving. (x) Sarah Anne, married John Srarkey, Esq., J.P., of Longroyd Bridge and Spring Wood House, Huddersfield, who died Dec. 13th, 1856. She resided at South Lodge, Leamington, and died at Eastbourne, Sussex, Aug. 30, 1880, aged 75. They are buried under the Parish Church, Huddersfield, leaving issue (1) Lewis Randle Starkey, Esq., J.P. and D.L., and late M.P. for the West Riding; m. Constance Margaret, d. of his Uncle Thomas Starkey, Esq. (2) Frederick, m. Margaret, d. of Rev. H. A. Snow, Gloucestershire, with issue. (3) Frances, m. Major Wm. Geo. Featherstone Dilke, of Maxstock Castle, Warwickshire. (4) Agnes m. George Greenway, Esq., of Ashorn, Warwicks. (5) Walter, captain in the Army—all surviving. II. Gerorce, born 24th September, 1806, at Highroyd; m. 24th August, 1830, CAROLINE JANE, eldest daughter of James DowkeEr, Esq., and Elizabeth Buttie, of North Dalton, East

Page 298

244 ARMITAGE FAMILY.

Riding. He was J.P. and D.L. for the West Riding, and Chairman of the Agbrigg Division; also J.P. for Lancashire; a Governor of King James’ School; Trustee of Nettleton’s, Wormall’s, Beau- mont’s, and other Charities; President of the Huddersfield Church Institute; Director of the Huddersfield Banking Company; and held many other public offices. He succeeded his father at Milnsbridge House, but retired from thence in 1875 to Nunthorpe House, York, which he had purchased, and where he died Feb. rgth, 1878, and is buried at St. Luke’s Church, Milnsbridge. Caroline Jane, his relict, is still surviving at Scarborough. The

following were their issue : (1) Kare, eldest daughter, m. the Rev. Henry Freer Radford, M.A., Rector of Broughton Astley, Leicestershire, May 10th, 1862. She died May 19th, 1872. Mr. Radford has also died, and is succeeded as Rector by his brother-in-law, the Rev. George Dowker Armitage; leaving issue Edith and Harry. (2) CAROLINE JANE, married 8th September, 1859, the Rev. James Hope, M.A., Vicar of Holy Trinity, Halifax, and son of the late Rev. John Hope, Incumbent of Southowram. They are still living, with issue six sons: John Basil, born 1860; Geo. Wilfred, 1862; James Arthur, 1863; Clement Armitage, 1865; Charles Stuart, 1867; Francis Harland, 1868. (3) GERTRUDE, m. to George Blacker Buchanan, Esq., of Blackheath, Kent, son of John Buchanan, Esq., of Lisnamullah, Co. Tyrone, August 8th, 1860, both still living. (4) Epirn, died Oct. 15th, 1866, aged 18 years. (5) FRANCES VERNON, married July 7th, 1880, Louis John Hobson, Esq., M.B., London, R.S., F.R.C.S., Scarborough. (6) ARMYTAGE, son and heir, born 23rd Sept., 1840; married to Julia Frances, second daughter of G. T. Pollard, Esq., of Ashfield, Chelten- ham. They have one son George, and a daughter Ethel. (7) The Rev. DowkeErR, born October, 1845; married 22nd July, 1873, Matilda Constance, daughter of the Rev. Benjamin Lowe, Rector of Tidd St. Mary, Lincolnshire, living, with two sons.

III. Emma, married gth Feb., 1843, the Rev. Davip JAMEs, Philos. Doct., M.A., F.S.A., Rector of Panteg, Monmouthshire. He died August 2nd, 1871. She died June 23, 1875, aged 67 years. See their Monuments pages 41 and 42. They left issue the Rev. Herbert Armitage James, M.A., Fellow of St. John’s College, Oxford, Head Master of Rossall School; and

Page 299

ARMITAGE FAMILY. 245

the Rev. Arthur Oswell James, B.A., Vicar of Buckley, Rugby. Maud, their only daughter, was accidentally drowned July, 1868, at Pontypool. ; IV. JosEPH TayLor, born at Highroyd, 24th April, 1809; married 27th October, 1848, Ellen, second daughter of Henry Ingram, Esq., of Halifax. J.P. and D.L., and, like his father and elder brother, was Trustee of various Charities. He was captain of a Troop of the second York Yeomanry Cavalry until 1868, when he resigned. He died at Birkby Grange, Huddersfield, July 14th, 1880, leaving Ellen, his relict, two sons, Charles Ingram and Henry Arnold ; and three daughters, Eleanor, Blanche, and Evangeline, surviving. (1) Charlotte, his eldest daughter, married Aug. 8th, 1872, James Matthew Meek, Esq., B.A., eldest son of Alderman Sir James Meek, of York. She died August 27th, 1873, in childbirth of a daughter. Charles Ingram, m. July 11th, 1877, Jane Elizabeth, younger daughter of the late Major Coates, Turkish Contingent and Captain in the 98th Regiment. Henry Arnold, 9th Regiment, unmarried. V. CHARLOTTE m., in 1840, William Leigh Brook, Esq., J.P., of Meltham Hall, son of James Brook, Esq., of Thornton Lodge, Huddersfield. She died October roth, 1847, in childbirth of a son, JAMES WILLIAM, still living. their daughter, married John Dearman Birchall, Esq., of Leeds, and has also died. VI. Joun, married Harriet, daughter of Thomas Calrow, Esq., of Bury, Lancashire. He died at Woodville Hall, Forest Hill, Kent, Sept. 9th, 1850, aged 50 years, leaving his widow, only son, Arthur Calrow, and daughter Marion, married to Ceesar de Galiani, of the Italian Army, living, with issue; and Alice unmarried. ARTHUR CALROW, of Durker’s Rood House, Meltham, m. Alice Barbara, twin daughter of William Morris, Esq., of the Lodge, Halifax, October 3oth, 1877, with issue. ViI. Mary, married September, 1848, to the Rev. Edward

Sandford, Rector successively of Elland and Granborough, and Vicar of Denford-with-Ringstead, Northants, where he died Dec. 18th, 1879, and was buried at Elland. He is succeeded at Den- ford (having purchased the Advowson) by his eldest son, the Rev. Edward Armitage Sandford, M.A., Grandson of the Rev. Humphrey

Page 300

246 ARMITAGE FAMILY.

Sandford, of the Isle House, Up-Rossall, near Shrewsbury. Mrs. Sandford resides at Denford. Her younger son, Rossall Sandford, and daughter, Mary Amy, are unmarried. VIII. Henry, of Trinity College, Cambridge, emigrated to Australia, and married there Amelia, daughter of Commissary General Ramsay, and returned to Europe. He died in Jersey, Sept. 21, 1871, aged 52 years, leaving a widow, three sons and a daughter. IX. Epwarp, of Edgerton Hill, born August, 1819 ; married July, 1848, Eliza, daughter of Thomas Calrow, Esq., of Bury. His daughter, Mary Emily, died at Brussels 27th Dec., 1873, aged 17. HeisJ.P.; late President of the Huddersfield Church Institute ; an active Magistrate at Huddersfield ; also ex-Chairman of Chamber of Commerce; with sons Alfred, Herbert and Frederic ; and Florence, Constance and Clara, daughters, unmarried. X. Ann married September 16th, 1852, Humphrey Sandford, Esq., M.A., of St. John’s College, Cambridge; eldest son and heir of the Rev. Humphrey Sandford. He is Chairman of the Quarter Sessions at Shrewsbury; of ancient family, settled in Shropshire since the Conquest, at Sandford, and the Isle of Up- Rossall; and they have three sons and four daughters, Humphrey, the eldest son, born zoth May, 1856; Folliott, 3rd Aug., 1859; Richard, 1st Aug., 1863; Mary Frances Holland, Annette Armine, Ada Rossall, and Margaret Plowden, unmarried. XI. Emrity, married William Leigh Brook, Esq., J.P., at Wandsbeck, Denmark, 1851 (being there deemed legal by Royal dispensation). Their son, Charles Armitage, died March 31st, 1853, aged 2 years. Mr. and Mrs. Brook, revisiting the scene of their marriage in September, 1855, died in the most affecting manner. On Sunday Evening, after attending English Service, at Frankfort on the Maine, on the 17th, she died suddenly of Cholera; and he, imbibing the infection by devoted clinging to her remains, died at Cologne on the igth. They were buried respectively where they died. Their daughter SARAH HELEN, died 18th March, 1869, aged 16, at Ender-

by Hall, Leicestershire, the seat of her uncle Charles Brook, Junior, Esquire, and was buried at St. John’s Church there.

Page 301

PROOFS AND ILLUSTRATIONS. 247

CHARLOTTE AMELIA, their daughter, was married October 16th, 1871, to Captain Cecil Drummond, nephew of the Duke of Rutland, and brother of the Countess of Scarborough, and has issue.

XII. James, educated as an Attorney, admitted 1846; emigrated to New Zealand. He married Hannah Randall, a native lady. He became an officer in the Volunteer Army there, and was killed by a shot from the shore, whilst rowing up a river. His widow was pensioned by the Government. He left several children by per, resident in New Zealand. See his Monument in Milnsbridge Church.

PROOFS AND ILLUSTRATIONS.

TAYLOR Famity. Mr. Joseph and Mrs. Sarah Taylor (after- wards Mrs. Henshaw), were the common maternal ancestors of a large number of persons (including the preceding descendants of Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Armitage, of High Royd and Milnsbridge House), connected with this neighbourhood. Mr. JosEpH TayLor was son of John Taylor, Esq., of Hamer Hill, Blackley, proprietor of Estates at Crumpsall, Shaw, Crompton, Heap, Royton, Sale, Timperley, Cranage, Elton, Church Holme, Broughton, and Holcombe. He married SARAH, daughter of PuHitip Mayers, Esq., of Manchester ; but he died early in consequence of cold and exertion in assisting to extinguish a fire, May 30, 1790, leaving two sons and three daughters, viz. : I. Awn, m. to Joseph Armitage, Esq., in 1804, as above. TI. Mary, m. Dec. 1807, JAMES Lacy, born 1770, at Chichester, where his ancestors repose in “the Paradise,” within the precincts of the Cathedral. He became a merchant in London, common Councillor, and a member of the Merchant Taylors’ Company, he died at Islington, April 11, 1832, aged 61, and was buried at Chichester, leaving widow and issue. (1) Mary, m. to Rev. Charles Augustus Hulbert, M.A., of Sidney Sussex Coll., Cam., then Curate of St. Mary’s, Islington, afterwards Incumbent of Slaithwaite, now Vicar of Almondbury, June zoth, 1837. (2) SARAH, died unmarried at Ramsgate, 1870, and

Page 302

248 PROOFS AND ILLUSTRATIONS.

is buried at St. George’s Church there. (3) The Rev. JamEs Lacy, B.A., of Merchant Taylors’ School, and St. John’s College, Oxford, ordained March, 1835, as Incumbent Curate of St. John’s Church, Golcar, Huddersfield. He died in consequence of cold taken at a Confirmation, Sept. roth, 1836, aged 24, and was buried at Chichester. (4) Loutsa, living unmarried at Ramsgate. Issue of Charles Augustus and Mary Hulbert : (a) Charles Augustus, Junior, M.A., of Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge, born 1838, succeeded his father as Incumbent of Slaithwaite, 1867, Vicar of St. Stephen’s, Burmantofts, Leeds, 1879, now living with two sons by Louisa, daughter of Rev. B. Powell, and sister of Francis Shaw Powell, Esq., of Horton Old Hall, died 1872; m. secondly 1874, Julia Margaret, daughter of the Rev. Francis P. Seymour, Rector of Havant, Hants, fourth in descent from the 8th Duke of Somerset. (b) James Lacy, of Gonville and Caius Coll., 1863, successively Curate of St. Mary’s, Bury St. Edmunds, and Limehouse, London; then Vicar of Ixworth, Suffolk—resigned 1870; English Chaplain at Carabacel, Nice; m. 1867, Frances Margaret, daughter of Colonel Edward Wardroper—with issue four sons and two daughters surviving.* (c) Mary, wife of the Rev. William Henry Girling, Rector of Lockwood, iving, with issue 6 sons and 7 daughters. (d) Reginald Mottershead Hulbert, M.A., of Gonville and Caius Coll. ; ordained Curate of Slaithwaite, 1866; Almondbury, 1867; Parish Church, Wakefield, 1871; appointed Government Chaplain at Trichinopoly, Madras, 1876; returned and died at Ramsgate, Nov. 20, 1876. (See MONUMENT, page 42.) (e) Anna Louisa died in infancy, 1847. (e) Percival Wood, M.A., of Corpus Christi Coll., Cam., ordained Curate of High Harrogate, 1874; Vicar of Chapel-le-dale, Ingleton Fells, 1876; Vicar of Arthington, near Otley, 1876; now living with one daughter; m. Gertrude, d. of Major Harrison, of Knaresbro’. He has contributed the Lithography to this volume. (f) Margaret Emily m. Rev. George Charles Brownlow Madden, B.A., of Trinity Coll., Dublin, Curate of Almondbury, 1873; now Vicar of St. Paul’s Church, Armitage Bridge; with three sons. Mrs. Lacy died suddenly at Slaithwaite, Oct. 7th, 1841, and was buried with her parents at Prestwich. III. Sarah married, 1785, Edward Loyd, Esquire, Banker, Manchester and London (Uncle of Samuel Jones Loyd, Lord

Overstone). Mrs. Loyd died 19th January, 1863, aged 77, at

* He has died at Nice whilst this sheet is in the press, November Ist, 1880, and is buried where lay an infant son,

Page 303

WALKER FAMILY. 249

Combe House, Croydon, Surrey; and Mr. Loyd died 30th same month, aged 83. Issue three sons and three daughters. Lewis, of Monk’s Orchard, Edward of Lillesden, and William Jones, of Langleybury, and hold important positions in Surrey, Kent, and Herts, and are married. Lewis and Edward have served the office of Sheriff. Sarah m. Henry Benyon, Esq., of Roundhay, Leeds, both deceased. Catherine m. Dyce Nicol, Esq., of Ballogie, Aberdeenshire, he died 1872. Hannah m. William Entwisle, Esq., Banker and M.P., Manchester, deceased. Anne died young. IV. Joun, Captain commandant of the Oldham Troop of Yeomanry Cavalry, who died unmarried, aged 59, 1845. V. James Mayers, of Westwood House, Oldham, m. his cousin Sarah Anne Clegg; he died 1864, aged 75. Issue: Joseph, died in America. James, m. to Amelia, daughter of Com. General Ramsay; died in America. Sarah Ann, m. Henry Chapman, Esq., of Liverpool, both now living in Shropshire, with issue: Elizabeth, m. W. Watson Beaver, Surgeon to Manchester Infirmary, deceased. She, with issue Mary Ellen and Fanny unmarried, are living.

Mrs. Sarah Taylor married secondly THomas HENsHaw, Esq., of Oldham. He died March 4th, 1810, and by will and codicils, 1807-9, founded the Blue Coat School at Oldham ; for teaching, clothing, and maintaining 120 boys. Also the Henshaw Blind and Deaf and Dumb Asylum, Manchester. The will was contested by the relatives in the Consistory Court of Chester, and confirmed on appeal to the Provincial Court of York. A folio printed volume, which relates the pleadings and documents, is in the possession of the Author. Also two very beautiful Oil Paintings, attributed to Sir Joshua Reynolds, of Mr. and Mrs. Taylor in their marriage attire a century ago; and an engraved pedigree of the Taylor, Clegg, and Beever families with heraldic illustrations. Also a model of Stonewall, now taken down, the Old Gabled House of Mrs. Henshaw. The arms of Taylor are in the Memorial Window to Mr. George Armitage, in Almondbury Church.

WALKER FaMILy.

SAMUEL WALKER, Esq., of Lascelles Hall, in the Parish of Kirkheaton, married ESTHER FirTH. He was brother of SARAH WALKER, wife of George Armitage, of Highroyd, who died in

Page 304

250 ARMYTAGE, OF KIRKLEES.

1815, and she in 1834 (see Monument, page 43). Mr. and Mrs. Walker were parents of (1) Esther, married to Edmund Walker, Esq., Solicitor, London (not previously related), had issue, Rev. Samuel Edmund Walker, D.D., Crosse Theological Scholar, Cambridge, ordained as Curate of St. Stephen’s, Lindley, Huddersfield, 1836, afterwards Rector of St. Columb, Cornwall, deceased. (2) Joseph Walker, Esq., of Lascelles Hall, an active Magistrate, and Governor of King James’ School, born 1778, m. Jane Burts, of North Dalton, East Riding, had issue three sons and daughter deceased, and Amelia now living unmarried in Devonshire. (3) Rachel married Sir WILLIAM WALKER, Knt., of Leicester, to whom there is a Monument in Deanhead Church, Huddersfield, erected by his son, JOHN KENWORTHY WALKER, M.D., Honorary Physician, for many years, of the Huddersfield Infirmary; a distinguished Antiquary—one of the earliest members of the Huddersfield, now Yorkshire, Archeological Society. (4) SAMUEL, married Miss TRENCH. (5) SAMUEL, the second, died unmarried. (6) Fanny, born 1793, married the Rev. THomas Atkinson, M.A., born 1780, Incumbent of Hartshead, Dewsbury. She still survives. Mr. Atkinson was Honorary Master of King James’ School, Almondbury. (See page 170.) Mrs. Joseph Walker was aunt to Mrs. Caroline Jane Armitage, of Milnsbridge and Nunthorp, now living; and to Maria E. Grant Woodall, of Dalton, married afterwards Baron de Vaux, deceased. Mr. WALKER possessed the Oaks Farm at Quarry Hill, Almond- bury (see page 147), purchased with the Lascelles Hall Estate, from the branch of the Ramsden family formerly settled there.

ARMYTAGE, OF KIRKLEES.

A letter of Miss Mary Anne Armitage, Oct. 14, 1856, to her brother, Mr. George Armitage, says, “I remember my father saying that my grandfather built Dudmanstone House, near Huddersfield, that his brothers were the next heirs to the Kirklees Estate, and both died unmarried. I also think that the heir of the property was found in or near Barnsley, and named Samuel Armitage. These two bachelors also quarrelled with the Kirklees family, and

Page 305

TOWN END, ALMONDBURY. 251

this occurrence caused the letter ‘i’ to be changed to ‘y;’ and she had no doubt that her family was a branch of the Kirklees family.” * Town END, ALMONDBURY. The ancient House referred to, page 144, as “‘ The Monastery,” and there suggested to be St. Nicholas House, has since received definite identity, by the discovery of an entry in a manuscript volume of Mr. Nowell, kindly lent by his family; whilst St. Nicholas House is placed by him, on good grounds, near Broken Cross. After giving a perfect Schedule of all the entries of the Armitage families in our Church Registers, he says, ‘‘ The ancient House at Almondbury Townend, in which Mr. Richard Armitage resided, was in 1584, owned by William Beaumont, gent., and occupied by Arthur Kay, clerk, and William Beaumont ; afterwards by the venerable Abraham Beaumont, and successively Richard Armitage and Abraham Radcliffe, gent., ancestor of Sir Joseph Radcliffe; the Dyson family, and Captain Harling: but the venerable structure is now (1861) defaced in great part by a modern building.” DOocuMENTSs. Supplied by the late George Armitage, Esq. and Thos. Robinson, Gent., of the Hallas, Kirkburton. Wits. 1527, John Ermitage, of Ermitage, directs his body to be buried in the Parish Church of Almondbury, bequeathes iiijs. each to the Altar there, and to the Chapel of St. Mary, Honley. 1537, Roger, his brother; 1558, John A., of Honley ; 1560, John Hermitage, of Oldfield; 1561, John Armytage, of Armytage; 1568, Umprey A., of Kirkburton; 1573, Willm. A., of the Hermitage ; 1581, Roger A., of Calthorne; 1591, Roger A., of Honley; 1595, John A., of Howood, in Austonley; 1601, John

* Among the Armitage papers we have one, ‘‘ William Armitage, m. Katherine, d. of Henry Beaumont, of Crosland, whose son, John Armitage, of Farnley Tyas, afterwards of Kirklees, obt. 21 Feb., 16th Elizabeth, 1574, as by Inquisition postmortem, taken 23 March following. He married Elizabeth, sister of the Rev. John Kaye, clerk, who died before 1606,

Page 306

252 DOCUMENTS

Armytage, of Honley; 1634, James A.; 1657, John A., also Richard A., of Armley; 1665, the first Richard A., of Dudman- stone; 1669, Roger A., of Hall Ing; 1678, Francis Armitage, of Kirklees: wherein he bequeathes a legacy to his eldest son, Sir Thomas A., Bart. ; sisters : Margaret, wife of Francis Nevell, Esq., Katherine, Beatrix; brothers: John, Christopher, George, John Armytage, Doctor of Physic; and appointed his uncle, Francis Armytage, as Executor—endorsed “ Brother Francis Will.” 1686, Joseph Armitage, of Dudmanstone; 1705, Richard A.; 1723, John A., of Hall Ing ; 1804, John A., son of Richard. DEEDS. 1579, Leonard Berrye, of the Hagge, in Honley, sells to William Armitage, of Honley, lands at Bacon Royd, &c. 1580, John A., of Honley, senior, farmer, to Humphrey, his son, deed concerning Heriot of closes at Highroyd. 1622, Indenture between Michael Armytage, of the High Royd, in Honley, clothier, and Richard Armitage, of Dudmanstone, clothier, of the other part, concerning a barn at Hieroyd. 1651, Roger A., of Honley, and Dorothy, his wife, parties toa deed. 1671, Agnes Beaumont, to Joseph Armitage, of Dudmanstone, conveyance of Ely close and half of Nun Ely. 1674, John Armitage to Joseph, brother, of New Close. 1677, Indenture between Richard A., of Dudmanstone, merchant, and Joseph Armitage, of the same, Yeoman; lease of messuage called Bank End, in Dalton, for fifty pounds, on payment of one red rose yearly at the time of roses, to Richard or to Martha, his wife, their heirs and assigns. 1686, Joseph A., of D., to Charles Howard, of Wakefield, lease of houses in that town. 1706, George A., executor of Richard, both of D., to Richard A., of Wakefield, sale and inventory of personal property. 1742, Alice, widow of George A., to Joseph, her son, release of Dower. 1743, Administration of goods and chattels of George A., of High Royd, gentleman, who died intestate, was given to Joseph A., his son. 1744, Agreement between Thomas A. and John Gill, for premises at Blackhouse, during the rebuilding of Dudmanstone House. 1745, Mrs. Ann Armitage, widow of Richard, of Wake- field, gentleman, to Matthew Wentworth and James Maude, Esquires, release of various legacies for £943 28. 334d. 1806,

Page 307

CERTIFICATES. 253

Power of Attorney from Francis A., of Wakefield, gent., to Grace Bacon, widow of the Rev. Michael Bacon, of Wakefield, D.D., and others, for her to be admitted at Court and to hold estates. Mr. HopxirkK mentions a release of the chief rents of Honley for the sum of £520, from Fras. Nettleton, Grace Nettleton, and Sarah Nettleton, to Joseph Armitage, of Dudmanstone, dated 20 April, 1675, which he had seeu. He interprets the name of Dudman as Old Saxon for ‘‘a Bogard.”

CERTIFICATES.

In the Poll Tax (2 Richard II), under the head of “ North Crosseland,” we find, “ Willelmus del Ermytache and Agnes uxor ejus,” taxed at 4d. ALMONDBURY REGISTER contains entries confirmatory of all the preceding facts, including specially the following, noticed by Mr. G. Armitage, of Milnsbridge : George, son of George Armitage, of Honley, gentleman, buried March 28th, 1783. Mr. Joseph Armitage, of Honley, aged 69, August 15, 1785. Mrs. Mary Armitage, of Honley, widow, aged 83, interred Dec. 14th, 1798. At Honley Chapel, Mary Anne, daughter of Mr. George Armitage, of Honley, baptized May 29th, 1784. Also in KIRKHEATON REGISTER, March 26th, 1778, Joseph, son of Mr. Geo. and Sarah Armitage, Lascelles, Lepton, late of Honley. In HARTSHEAD REGISTER. Married July 16th, 1744, Joseph Walker, of Coldersley, in the Parish of Almondbury, and Rachel Kitson, of Syke, in the Parish of Birstal, by licence from Mr. Rhodes, Vicar of Batley. TOMBSTONE in the South Aisle of Almondbury Church. Here lieth interred the Body of Mr. George Armitage, of Highroyd, in Honley, who departed this life the 5th day of January, in the year of our Lord, 1742. Also Alice, wife of the above said Mr. Geo. Armitage ; She departed this life the 24th day of December, in the 67th year of her age, and in the year of our Lord, 1743. SOMERSET BRIDGE.

This handsome and spacious Bridge, which has replaced one of inferior width and construction, connects the Townships of Almondbury and Dalton with that of Huddersfield, at Aspley. The Foundation Stone was laid on Sept. 3oth, 1872, by Mr. Wright Mellor, the then Mayor. It was erected at a cost of

Page 308

254 CONCLUSION.

412,000, towards which the County contributed £3,000, and Sir John Wm. Ramsden £1,000; he also giving the land which was required for the purpose. The opening and naming of the Bridge, by Lady Guendolen Ramsden, took place on Whit-Monday, May 25th, 1874. Her Ladyship also laid the foundation stone of St. Andrew’s Church, Huddersfield, July 21st, 1869. CONCLUSION. We have now visited the ancient Mansions and chief Residences which lie within the limits of the Residuary District, still attached to our Parish Church of All Saints’. Some others, in the ancient Chapelries and modern Vicarages, will receive attention in the next part, in connection with their respective Churches. But MoprErN RESIDENCES of great comfort and beauty have sprung up, which are occupied by their owners, men of intelligence and worth, who can trace back their descent from yeomen, whose names appear in our Registers for ten generations. Who have increased their wealth, and risen to useful and influential stations, by enterprising industry as manufacturers and merchants. Meanwhile, they have diffused comfort among a vastly increasing population ; for whom the working and produce of the land alone, in these elevated moors and hills, would have been utterly inadequate for employ- ment and support. Nor have the Upper Classes been without their corresponding advantage in the increased value of the land for building and commercial purposes; and the culture and ready consumption of the products of the earth. Generations ago, as . related in the first chapter of these Annals, their forefathers created homesteads for themselves by enclosing the waste, and by the combination thereby of the spade and the loom. Some of these Residences have been already described, and others adjoin within the new Parish of Lockwood (with its daughter Churches of Rashcliffe and Newsome), where the names of Beaumont, Berry, Dyson, Priestley, Taylor, and Vickerman, will present themselves to the local reader as leading families, and will not be unknown in the commercial world. The other Townships and Parishes will have consideration hereatter.

Page 309

CONCLUSION. 255

The family History of all these worthy and _ intelligent Parishioners is beyond the limits of this publication, but their attachment to the Mother Church has been evinced by the liberal donations to its Restoration already recorded—and even while these sheets are passing through the press—the debt reported of 4737 at the beginning of this year, has been so reduced by the paying up of donations conditionally promised, by the industry and devotedness of Churchmen and Churchwomen, and the legacy and gifts of the departed ; that the remaining liability is reduced to less than £300; and measures are in progress for its entire extinction. The attendance at the Church and Mission Room have greatly increased, and many who have strayed are being reclaimed to the Church of their Fathers—and still more, it it is hoped to “ the Mystical Body of Christ’s Church, which is the blessed company of all faithful people.” The Author of the ‘‘ Annals” has found their composition a pleasing recreation and a labour of love amidst the cares which come upon him daily, parochial and family. He hopes that they may serve the higher purpose of reminding his Parishioners of their obligations to those whose traditional wealth and good name they enjoy, and lead them to approach “the holy and beautiful House where their fathers praised God,” and where still their ashes lie; and pledge their vows to heaven to respect their memory by imitating their virtues. He craves at the same time their pardon and patience with reference to errors and omissions, many of which will be corrected hereafter—and ventures to appropriate the words of Dr. Johnson in the preface to his Dictionary, in diminution of censure: reminding them, that “What is obvious is not always known, and what is known is not always present, that sudden fits of inadvertency will surprise vigilance, slight avocations will seduce attention, and casual eclipses of the mind will darken learning, and. that the writer shall often trace his memory in vain, at the moment of need, for that which yesterday he knew with intuitive readiness, and which will come uncalled into his thoughts to-morrow.” If, on the other hand, the Author has been somewhat elaborate

Page 310

256 ADDITIONS AND CORRECTIONS.

in the ramifications of family descent and present position, it has been from a sense of duty to the memory of those who laid the foundations of modern success, and to record the faithfulness of God to the promise contained in the second Commandment, to “shew mercy to remote generations of those who have feared

Him and kept His Commandments.” C. AWE.

Almondbury Vicarage, All Saints’ Day, 1880.

ENpD oF Part II.

ADDITIONS AND CORRECTIONS. PART I. Page 18.—For Richard read Charles Griffiths, Honorary Secretary of Bell Committee, and add D. Boothroyd, B. B. Boothroyd, and Wm. Boothroyd. Page 24.—Note. Read James Dowker, Esq. Page 25, line 7.—Instead of Mr. Joseph Shaw read Mr. James Christie. The latter also constructed the Oak Seats in the Chancel. Page 44.—For his Uncle Richard read Joseph Armitage. Page 49.—For Bolonée read Botonee, Page 52.—Read Richard Roberts, d. December, 1821, aged 21 years. Sarah, d. of Jonathan and Mary, d. 15¢h May, 1825, aged 81 years. Page 55.—Read George Dyson, died December 15th, 1829, aged 59 years. Thomas, son of Geo. and Wancy Dyson, d. May 26th, 1856, aged 61. Omitted, page 115, in the Donations to Restoration, George Dyson, of Netherton, Solicitor, 430. Page 63.—Read John Shearran Nowell, B.A. Page 72.—Read for spirituous Liquor. Page 78.—Note read Canon Bedon.

PART II. Page 136, line 3.—For defendant read descendant. Page 144.—For Lydia Shearran read Fessog. Mr. Nowell’s mother was Ruth Shearran, wife of William. Page 144.—For Hemsworth read Kensworth. Page 148, Note.—For Ipswich read Woodbridge, Suffolk. Page 176.—Read Homo sum: humani nihil a me alienum puto. Page 187, last line.k—Read Fyton. Page 189.—George John Lloyd. Page 217.—Hall Bower read West of Castle Hill. Page 229, first line.k—Read St. John’s Church—first stone laid Oct. 315%, 1851. Consecrated 1853. First Stone of St. Andrew’s Church laid by Lady Guendolen Ramsden, July 21st, 1869. Page 236.—For Miss Preston read Mrs. McCann. Page 239.—Read Captain Fenton, M.P.

Page 312

CHURCH

~4c ST Jous CyuRey UPpeatione x

“(HOLME FIRTH 22

Page 313

ANNALS

OF THE

PARISH OF ALMONDBURY.

f* é f

j |ANCIENT CHAPELS, DISTRICT CHURCHES, / j LOCAL HISTORY, AND RECORDS. |

7 i

THE

PART III.—NOVEMBER, 1881.

mM ex) q {

QL WR!

44 © oF

c~»

HUDDERSFIELD: DAILY CHRONICLE STEAM PRINTING Works, LORD STREET.

1881.

Page 314

IAL hs, |

Page 315

LO THE RIGHT REVEREND

FATHER IN GOD LORD BISHOP OF RIPON,

BM WWHOM SEVERAL THE

HEREIN DESCRIBED

HAVE BEEN CONSECRATED AND NEARLY ALL

WViS THESE ANNALS ARE, WITH GRATEFUL AND PROFOUND RESPECT, PRESENTED BY

HIS LORDSHIP’S FAITHFUL SERVANT,

GC. A] MUA.

Almondbury Vicarage,

November ist, 1881.

Page 316

And God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light. Gen. i, 3.

Lord, I have loved the habitation of Thy house, and the place of the tabernacle of Thine honour. Psalm xxvi, 8. Margin.

Page 317

ANNALS

OF THE

CHURCH IN ALMONDBURY.

PART III—CHAPTER I. INTRODUCTORY. THE ANCIENT CHAPELS AND DISTRICT CHURCHES. PARISH CHURCH RESTORATION.

We have already shewn that the ancient Parish Church of All Saints, Almondbury, has probably stood as a beacon on the hill which gives name to the District, for a thousand years. The Church of St. Peter, in Huddersfield, built after the Conquest, and rebuilt in 1503, being next in date. The two other great Parish Churches of Kirkheaton and Kirkburton in like manner illumina- ting the districts around them; and all paying, then as now, pensions to the Mother Church of Dewsbury—and forming the modern Rural Deanery of Huddersfield. But though the inhabitants of the remoter parts of these great Parishes shewed a remarkable ardour and love for “the habitation of God’s House,” by coming far and frequently to the Churches of their fathers—still, before even the blessed Reformation had fully dawned on medieval darkness, we find the ancient Chapels of Honley and Marsden within the boundaries of Almondbury ; Holmfirth in Kirkburton and Slaithwaite in Huddersfield; serving different sides of the valleys in which they are situated,

though in different Parishes. Meltham Chapel did not arise until PART III.—I.

Page 318

258 PARISH CHURCH RESTORATION.

the Commonwealth, and Longwood a century later; being originally a private Chapel to Milnsbridge House. Such was the provision for Divine worship more than a century ago, when the great wave of evangelical revival swept over this part of England; and the mission of the Reverend Henry Venn to Huddersfield, coincident in time with the labours of the Methodist party, but within the limits of Church order, awakened men to earnestness. And that wave had not subsided (although partly and unhappily turned aside, through the failure of a succession of Vicars in the same spirit) at the end of the last and the beginning of the present century. Slaithwaite Chapel was rebuilt on a large scale in 1788-89; not without long delay through legal difficulties, being on a new site; and was soon filled with an immense congregation, coming even from Huddersfield. The state of the law was such, that it required distinct Acts of Parliament to enable the late Benjamin Haigh Allen, Esquire, to obtain consecration for Trinity Church, Huddersfield, in the year 1819, and for his brother-in-law, John Whitacre, Esquire, to confer a similar benefit by the erection and consecration of Christ Church, Woodhouse, within the same Parish, in 1824. And these were the only additions made until the Parliamentary Grant for the building of new Churches, and the passing of the Church Building Acts opened the way, before 1828. Then followed in succession the fifteen new Churches within the Parish of Almond- bury, and eight in that of Huddersfield ; five in Kirkburton, and two in Kirkheaton; with the rebuilding or restoration of all the others. ‘There are also Mission Rooms and licensed Schoolrooms, which are leading to other Churches; as the Tabernacle in the Wilderness preceded the Temple at Jerusalem ; and as Sir Robert Peel’s Act wisely provided for a limited number of Mission Schools with endowments, and permanent Churches following with increased endowment; an instance of which is St. John’s Church, Upperthong. Happily the spirit of the Church Governors is not now restrictive, nor that of Rectors and Vicars jealous of surrendering districts for better pastoral care ; but the voice is that of God, saying “ Speak

Page 319

PARISH CHURCH RESTORATION, 259

to the children of Israel that they go forward!” Under the care of the late Reverend James Clarke Franks, M.A., a man of distinguished, learning, Huddersfield Parish Church was rebuilt, about 1835, and four Churches were erected in that Parish. The others have followed in like manner under his able successors, the Reverends. Josiah Bateman, Samuel Holmes and William Bain- bridge Calvert. Contemporary with all of whom was our late respected Vicar, the Rev. Lewis Jones; the lately lamented Rector of Kirkheaton, the Rev. Christopher Alderson, and the Rey. Richard Collins, Vicar of Kirkburton, still surviving in remarkable energy and usefulness at the age of 86. These were “the mighty men” of the Ecclesiastical Army, who fought in those days against the giants of Ignorance and Unbelief, with the sword of the Spirit and the trowel of the mason; or like Nehemiah, Ezra, Joshua the son of Josedeck or Zerubbabel, rebuilt the temples of the Lord. The Author of this Work has not had the privilege of building a Church; but he rejoices in having had assigned to him the work of restoring the Parish Church of Almondbury, rendered entirely free from debt on the 14th anniversary of his appointment. The revival of the See of Ripon under the late Bishop Longley, and the present Bishop Bickersteth; and the foundation of the Diocesan Church Building and Church Education Societies, have not only facilitated operations, but also greatly tended to call forth private benevolence in the erection and endowment of Churches and Schools, whilst the powers and labours of the Ecclesiastical Commissioners have rendered unnecessary any special appeal to Parliament. The wise and ever willing counsel of the late Archdeacon Musgrave was appealed to in all difficulties. It scarcely needs to be suggested that the population having meanwhile vastly increased, the labours and anxiety of the Clergy are not diminished. But there is now the consolation of knowing that the sheep do no longer wander over the mountains hopelessly, without a fold, as formerly; not so much by neglect, as by the physical impossibility of their receiving needful care. The harvest was plenteous but the shepherds and their inclosures were few.

Page 320

260 PARISH CHURCH RESTORATION.

Meanwhile all credit must be given to Wesleyans, Independents, Baptists and other communities, who, holding the grand doctrines of Salvation, meanwhile supplied places of worship; not so much in the spirit of opposition to the Church, as of Christian zeal, where the Church’s then unwieldy machinery was slow in operation. The benefit of the Parochial system has nevertheless appeared, in ¢he sense of responsibility which it gives; and which the late Vicar of Almondbury so remarkably illustrated. He held a Meeting at the extreme end of his Parish, consisting of himself and only two other persons; when it was resolved to promote the erection of a Church—realized in that of St. David, Holm- bridge—around which fabric, years after, the Holmfirth flood rushed and raved in vain. Fit emblem of the true spiritual Church ! Archbishop Vernon Harcourt consecrated 11 Churches. Bishop (afterwards Archbishop) Longley 8, and the present Bishop Bickersteth 13 ; within the Rural Deanery ; now presided over by Canon Calvert. Parsonages, Endowments and Burial Grounds have been added with the same sanctions; and Schools and School-houses erected in connection with the National Society in nearly all the districts; all which will, in some measure, require our notice in the progress of this Part. More particulars on the Churches outside Almondbury, will be found in Mr. Baines’ “Yorkshire Past and Present;” Mr. Morehouse’s History of Kirkburton; Mr. Hobkirk’s ‘“ Huddersfield: Its History and Natural History;” and the Annals of the Church in Slaithwaite by the Author of this volume. Recent legislation has given to most of the New Churches independent districts ; and the next voidance of the living will render more of them separate parishes; but not, it is hoped, divorce them from a reverent regard to ‘‘the Holy and Beautiful House where their fathers praised God.”

CONCLUSION OF CHURCH RESTORATION.

Whilst these sheets have been in the press successful efforts have been made with reference to the remaining debt on the Parish Church of Almondbury; which, in February, 1880, as

Page 321

PARISH CHURCH RESTORATION. 261

reported in page 118, was £737; and by means of Amateur Concerts, sale of Ladies’ Work and additional subscriptions, the whole was cleared off. Thanksgiving Services were held on Saturday and Sunday, 26th and 27th February, 1881, for the completion and discharge of all claims on account of the work of restoration and improvement. Ata Public Meeting held on the 14th anniversary of the appointment of the Vicar; the kindest testimony was borne to his labours and those of his coadjutors. Active agents in these conclusive efforts were the Rev. Francis Marshall, M.A., Head Master of King James’ School; the Rev. William Henry Heap, Curate—Secretaries : Edward Dyson, Esq., Surgeon, Mrs. George Kirk and Mr. Richard Garner; who gave the three Concerts successively and bore all expenses. J. D. Butler, Esq., was Treasurer of the Sale of Work; Mrs. Hulbert and other ladies during the year had paid in £20 from the Sewing Meetings. The Concerts had produced £105. The Sale of Work £128. A legacy of £100 was received from the executors of Joseph Taylor Armitage, Esq., of Birkby Grange, who died July 14th, 1880, aged 71, and is buried in our Cemetery; and to whom a Memorial Window is being placed in the Church by his family. The subscriptions, promised conditionally, had all been paid up; and the following additional ones: the late Mrs. Starkey, £45; Rev. H. Edwards, £2 2s.; Mr. Mark Noble, £2; and finally, collected by the Rev. Francis Marshall: John Arthur Brooke, Esq., £10 ; Messrs. John Day, Edward Hallas, Henry Kaye, Edward Parkin, and D. F. E. Sykes, each. £5; and C. W. F. Taylor, Esq., £10 17s. 1d.; amounting to #50 17s. 1d. The Bank Account was declared paid off and closed, by Mr. (now Sir) C. W. Sikes, Treas- urer, Huddersfield Banking Company, at a final Meeting, February 2st, 1881. The first Meeting of Promoters was held July rath, 1871—see page 88. The total cost, including gifts, expenses and interest, is about £9,000. The Rev. Francis Pigou, D.D., Vicar of Halifax, preached the Thanksgiving Sermon on Saturday Afternoon; and Canon Hulbert, M.A., Vicar, Canon Calvert, M.A., Vicar of Huddersfield, and the Rev. Henry Harold Rose, M.A., Incumbent of Slaithwaite, on Sunday following, to large

Page 322

262 PARISH CHURCH RESTORATION.

congregations. The offertory on Saturday, being dedicated to the Ripon Church Building and Diocesan Education Societies, was 47 15s. The Services were aided by the Choir of St. Thomas’ Church, Huddersfield; and the general feeling of the Vicar and friends was that of David, I Chron. xxix, 2: “ therefore, my God, we thank Thee and praise Thy glorious Name. But who am I, and what ts my people, that we should be able to offer so willingly ; For all things come of Thee, and of Thine own have we given Thee.” On which Canon Hulbert preached; and the hope that the “ Living Temple” might, in like manner, be built up, ran through all the sermons. “ Zhe Church of our Fathers,” see page gI, was again sung with enthusiasm, proving one sentiment especially not extinct, viz. : ** Great was their zeal with decent care, Its high Vault to adorn ;

They could not brook the House of Prayer, Their negligence should mourn.”

Page 323

CHAPTER II.

ST. LUCIUS’ "CHURCH, FARNLEY TYAS;

EMMANUEL, LockwooD; St. PAUL’s, ARMITAGE BRIDGE; AND

St. Joun’s, Newsome, CHURCHES.

Pursuing rather the course of an itinerant than a chronologer, we first visit St. Lucius’ Church, in the township and village of Farnley Tyas; entirely belonging to the Earl of Dartmouth, and its spire, a beautiful object rising at the western end, above the woody eminence which extends from east to west, in front of the sunny side of Almondbury. In which Ecclesiastical Parish the Church at present legally remains; but with a Conventional District, including the whole Township and Manor of Farnley Tyas and Woodsome, for Parochial Visitation ; and having the Bishop’s license for marriages within the Township. The inhabitants had formerly a gallery in the Parish Church, with rights to the Incumbent, which were given up by him before the issue of the Faculty, in 1872, for restoring the Parish Church, taking away the Galleries, and making the whole Nave free and unappropriated for ever. The Church was entirely erected at the expense of the late Right Hon. William, fourth Earl of Dartmouth ; and opened early in the year 1840. The style is expressive of the substantial but unaffected character of the founder. With a heaven-pointing spire, it was the first of the Churches erected in modern times by private benevolence, in the ancient Parish of Almondbury. The Architect was Mr. Chantrell, of Leeds. It is surrounded by a Churchyard, and has a National School near to it, the property of the Landlord, who is Patron of the Church, and a liberal supporter of all its institutions. There is no settled house of residence but one assigned by the same patronage, conveniently situated. The first Incumbent was the Rev. Thomas Minster, M.A., who resigned in 1848, and was succeeded by the Rey. Cutfield Wardroper,

Page 324

264 ST. LUCIUS’ CHURCH,

M.A., the present Incumbent. Mr. Minster became Minister of St. Saviour’s Church, Leeds, but seceded to the Church of Rome ; in which communion he died; but had retired from active service before his death. The Church consists of a Nave, 66 feet in length by 35 in breadth, and a Chancel, 22 feet 3 inches in length by 16 feet 6 in width. The Tower serves as a Vestry and has one bell. Over the Vestry is a Memorial Window, in two compartments: one representing the Parable of the Sower, and inscribed over it, ‘The Seed is the Word of God.” The other representing Christ as the Good Shepherd, carrying two sheep and having others at his side: inscribed over it, “He shall gather the Lambs in His arm.” A brass plate underneath has the inscription, ‘‘ Erected by the tenants of the Earl of Dartmouth to the Memory of FREDERICK THYNNE, Esq., who was 36 years agent for this estate, 1864.” The South Window, standing in the Chancel, represents Christ blessing little Children, with these texts above, “ Leave thy father- less children, I will preserve them, alive.”—Jer. xlix. “In Thee the fatherless findeth mercy.”—Hosea xiv, 3. And having below, “ Suffer little children to come unto me, and forbid them not, for of such is the Kingdom of Heaven.” With the following inscription underneath, ‘“ Erected by four orphan children to the memory of their parents, 1862.” The North Window, also standing in the Chancel, contains texts wreathed round, “I love them that love me, and those that seek me early shall find me.” And, ‘ Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us, and sent His Son to bea propitiation for our sins.” And “We love Him because He first loved us.” Below which is: To a beloved wife and valued friend. In the East WinDow are the four Evangelists with their names in Latin; with the Holy Spirit as a Dove, and several texts. And below : “In Memory of William, fourth Earl of Dartmouth, the founder of this Church. Anno Domini, 1840.” The Chancel contains a Reredos, with the Creed, Lord’s Prayer and Ten Commandments; and above the Communion

Page 325

FARNLEY TYAS. 265

Table, “Jesus said, Take, eat, this is My body which is broken for you. This do in remembrance of Me.” The Church contains two Aisles, with seats 70 in number, accommodating about 400 persons. There is a neat small Organ and a Stone Font. The Pulpit is at the South side, and the Desk for reading the Lessons close by the Organ on the North. In the Tower which is surmounted by a plain Spire, is a Clock, facing to the West, towards the Village. On a Granite Tombstone lying on the ground is, “In Memoriam of John Shearran Nowell, B.A., Emmanuel College, Cambridge, born at Farnley Wood, Jan. 7th, 1831, died April 7th, 1867. ‘The Spirit shall return unto God who gave it.”—Eccles. xii, v. 7. “In hope of eternal life.”—Titus 1, v. 2. The Churchyard contains a Memorial of the Incumbent’s late wife; and to his family the anonymous Memorial Windows refer. Graves also of the respectable families of Hallas, Roberts and others referred to in Part I, as formerly frequenting, and in death reposing in, the Parish Church. There is no other place of Worship in the Village, and only one Inn; but the Brewery of Messrs. Roberts’* is extensive, and there has been a plentiful

* They were allied by marriage with the late Sir George Wood, Baron of the Exchequer, whose engraved portrait is shewn, and whose dignified appearance the Author recognises as having often been witnessed at the Assizes in Shrewsbury. In ‘‘Law and Lawyers,” quoted by Mr. Wilkinson in his History of Worsborough, is the following amusing anecdote: Mr. Wood (afterwards Sir George Wood, Baron of the Exchequer, a native of Roystone) and Mr. Holroyd (both of whom were afterwards raised to the Bench) when crossing Finchley Common, on their way to join the Northern Circuit, were stopped by a gentleman of fashionable appearance, who rode up to them and begged to know ‘‘ What o’clock it was?” Mr. Wood, with the greatest politeness, drew out a handsome gold repeater and answered the question ; upon which the stranger drawing out a pistol, presented it to his breast and demanded the watch. Mr. Wood was compelled to resign it into his hands, and the highwayman, after wishing them a pleasant journey, touched his hat and rode away. The story became known at York, and Mr. Wood could not show his face in court without some or other of the bar reminding him of his misfortune, by the question, ‘‘ What’s o’clock, Wood?” Mr. Edward Taylor Roberts is mentioned, pages 130 and 145, in connection

Page 326

266 ST. LUCIUS’ CHURCH,

supply of water in public wells, by the paternal care of the noble proprietor. The population is chiefly rural, and supplies the town of Huddersfield with milk, butter, meat and other produce of the lovely fields, woods and ‘pastures of this quiet oaszs in the realm of manufacturing industry. This township is not within the Borough of Huddersfield. It has already been referred to as containing also the residence of the late Mr. John Nowell, at Farnley Wood; a sweet retreat occupied by the widow of his son; who, with his grandson, is active in all good works. The population is about joo, and besides containing Woodsome Hall, Lees and Mill, see pages 215 and 216, adjoins the beautiful estate of Mr. Bill, at Storths Hall, occupied at present by Mr. Ben Lockwood, to whose kindness the Author is indebted for the loan of several valuable Antiquarian Works. In page 3r is given a Grave Stone in the Chancel of our Church, to the Memory of Mary, daughter of Richard Horsfall, Gent., wife of Thomas Fenay, of Fenay. For the history of this mansion, which was rebuilt in the last century, the reader is referred to Mr. Morehouse’s “ History of Kirkburton,” and for that of the Horsfall family to “Round:about Bradford,” by William Cudworth. They were very early associated with the Woollen trade there. They purchased the Manor of Thurstonland, and with it, Storthes Hall, the principal mansion in the Parish of Kirkburton. Captain Richard. Horsfall was in the Royal Army at the battle of Marston Moor.* It now belongs to Charles Horsfall Bill, Esq.,

with the Vicarage House and Thorp House. His widow married Mr. Joseph Bayldon, of Royston; whose son, the present Rector of Partney, Lincolnshire, is named Joe Wood. He was a pupil of the Author, at Slaithwaite; and proceeded thence to graduate at Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge, where, in due time, he took the degree of M.A.

* Extract from the Diary of Captain Adam Eyre (Surtees Society). Note by Mr. Morehouse, page 63. ‘‘Jan. 29, 1643, Spent 2s. with Capt. Horsfall and Charles Nettleton.” This was Capt. Richard Horsfall, of Storthes Hall, near Kirkburton. He was in the Royal Army in Sir John Ramsden’s Regiment, and was in the first Siege of Pontefract Castle, after which he returned to his own home, and took no further part. compounded for his

Page 327

FARNLEY ‘TYAS. 267

of York. In our own days it was the residence of Mr. Peter Inchbald, as a place of superior education. He was an eminent Naturalist, especially in butterflies. But for which dangerous taste the beautiful surroundings might almost have bid one sing again : **T’d be a butterfly, born in a bower, Where roses and lilies and violets meet.” * The Natural History of this neighbourhood is copiously described by Mr. Hobkirk, and is continually illustrated by the labours of the Huddersfield Natural History Society—but we dare not venture on so attractive and diverting a field, but with another great poet we must say : is a pleasure in the pathless woods.” No longer dangerous from the adder or snake; but alas! like the Serpent of old, too seductive on the sabbath from the “Tree of Life” to that of knowledge, otherwise not forbidden. Some years ago large numbers of persons were attracted to Farnley Wood and neighbourhood, by the rare and exquisite notes of a nightingale, not often heard north of the Trent. The Church is dedicated to St. Lucius, said to be the first Christian King of Britain, of whom the Venerable Bede relates that he sent to Rome, to Pope Eleutherius, asking permission to be made a Christian by his mandate, about A.D. 156; in the time of Marcus Antoninus Verus. His pious request (adds the Anglo- Saxon historian) was presently granted to him. The Welsh Triads however carry Christianity up much higher, even to the time of St. Paul; and Claudia, a daughter of King Cogidubinus (so named from the Emperor Claudius), said to have carried it

estates—and dying in 1668, was buried at Kirkburton, aged 56 years. Charles Nettleton, of Honley, in the Parish of Almondbury, descended from the Nettletons, of Thornhill Lees, near Dewsbury, He married Catherine Horsfall, sister of Capt. Horsfall. He died in 1664, and was buried at Almondbury Church, January 15th.

* This song of Jeremiah Haines Bailey, a favourite 50 years ago, was beautifully rendered into Latin by Archdeacon Wrangham, ‘Ah! sim papilio, Natus in flosculo, &c.”

Page 328

268 ST. LUCIUS’ CHURCH, FARNLEY TYAS.

from Rome, as she is supposed to be the Claudia saluting Timothy, in the Apostle’s second Epistle to him from the Imperial City. See Hore Britannice by the late Rev. John Hughes, of Brecon. The Revs. Lewis Jones and David James were not only greatly instrumental in inducing the erection of the Church, but also doubtless gave it the name; both being learned in Ancient British History, zealous for the Church in their native Principality of Wales, and leading members of the Clerical Association for that purpose, referred to in page 75 of these Annals. We quit with reluctance this interesting District, wanting only more ample endowment for its minister. In a printed programme it is stated that the first Stone was laid May 17th, 1838. At the head of the Order of Service it is said :— **The above name is given to this Church in commemoration of King Lucius, the first Christian Monarch of this realm, who was admitted into the Church by baptism, in the second century, and made Christianity the religion of the kingdom ; and in so doing made the Church, or Apostolic Community, coincident with the Commonwealth. The Nation thus becoming in its a Church Nation, and the Church the civil polity of the kingdom.” The Earl of Dartmouth, LL.D., F.S.A., founder and patron, being himself an Antiquary, as well asa Churchman, would approve these reasons. The Rev. C. Wardroper has published several letters and addresses to his parishioners of a spiritual character. June 2nd, 1852, was the date of the death of the Rev. Thomas Minster, at the Presbytery, Blackmore Park, Oulton, and he lies buried at the Roman Catholic Church there ; as stated by the Rev. F. E. Ward, who denies his return to the Anglican Church, in a letter to the Yorkshire Post. The Church underwent some restoration in 1880, and was re- opened December 11th, in that year, by several services. The expense was partly discharged by a Sale of Work, opened by Mr. William Leigh, of Royd House.

Page 329

EMMANUEL CHURCH, LOCKWOOD. 269

EMMANUEL CHURCH, LOCKWOOD.

This was one of the New Churches erected by what is called “The Million Act,” in 1829-30. It is situated at the West end of the Township of Almondbury, called Salford, near to the turnpike road leading from Huddersfield to Penistone and Sheffield, on an elevated position with regard to the valley of the Holme. The Church is of stone, and has a small Gothic Cupola or Belfry at the West end. It has no pretension to architectural beauty, but is a favourable specimen of the Churches then erected, by the only aid ever granted to the Church by the State; and modern Church building was then in its infancy. The Churchyard originally included a National School; but which was removed on the erection of the Fenton Memorial School, in Rashcliffe. The first stone of the Church was laid September 4th, 1828, and it was consecrated by Archbishop Vernon Harcourt, August 29th, 1830. The first Baptism was that of Sarah Ann Berry, of Newsome Cross, August 27th, 1830. The officiating Minister was the Rev. Davip JaMEs, Curate of Almondbury. The next Baptism is signed by JosEpH HuGHEs, the first Incumbent, Augt. 30, 1830. The first burial Nov. 14th, 1830, William Garner, Crosland Moor, 12 years, by Joseph Hughes (see Meltham). The last by him May 21st, 1837. The Rev. H. Parker (son of the Rev. W. Parker, of London, Secretary to the Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge for many years) officiated as Curate; and Samuel Sykes, “ Officiating Minister,” during the* interval. The Rev. ALFRED HEWLETT; first burial by him July roth, 1837. The last Feb. 27, 1839. He is now D.D. and Vicar ot Astley, near Manchester. G. T. Godman, officiating Minister, meanwhile. JouHN WricuT; first burial March 16, 1841; last Oct. 23, 1847. Mr. Wright removed to Malvern. Rev. Henry Halls, and Rev. — Cousins, Curates.

* Mr. Hughes becoming Incumbent of Meltham, and residing at the temporary Church and Parsonage at Meltham Mills,

Page 330

270 EMMANUEL CHURCH,

Henry Winpsor; first burial April 3rd, 1842; last April oth, 1848. Mr. Windsor became the first Incumbent of St. Paul’s, Armitage Bridge. THomas BaRTON BENSTED, Curate of Honley, succeeded. First burial May 3rd, 1848; the last—the day preceding his death— December 31st, 1877. All these were presented by the Rev. Lewis Jones, Vicar of Almondbury. The Revs. — Wilson, — Rogers, W. H. Girling, now Rector of Lockwood; D. J. MacKimm, now Vicar of Rashcliffe; John Shiells, Thos. Lewthwaite, now Vicar of Newsome ;* H. H. Rose, now Vicar of Slaithwaite; and C. F. Forster, now Vicar of St. Andrew’s, Huddersfield, were his Curates. Wiiuiam Henry GirLING, who had been Curate of Slaithwaite 1857 to 1860; Lockwood 1860 to 1864; Incumbent of the Donative of Newton Solney, Derbyshire, 1864 to 1868; and Vicar of Linthwaite from 1868; was appointed by the Rev. Canon Hulbert—as Vicar of Almondbury—January, 1878. Revs, C. Crossley and F. Sell have been Curates. An additional Burial Ground was consecrated by Bishop

Bickersteth, July 2nd, 1866. The interior of the Church is plain in its character, rather dark.

It consists of a Nave, 26 feet long by 16 wide, with Galleries on three sides and Aisles underneath; five Pillars on each side, with Arches bearing Texts of Scripture inscribed. The Chancel was added by James Crosland Fenton, Esq., 1848. It is 24 feet by 18 feet, with three steps to the Communion Table. There are Stalls on either side with foliated tops. The Pulpit is on the North, and the Reading Desk on the South side of the Nave. It is pewed throughout and will accommodate 700 persons. The Church is adorned with Memorial Windows. In the Chancel the East Window has three compartments; the Central, Our Saviour, with Saints Peter and Paul on either side, and bearing this inscription :—‘‘In Memory of Mary Jane, the wife of James Crosland Fenton, of Lockwood, who departed this life June 14th, A.D. 1848, aged 51 years.”

* To Mr, Lewthwaite the Author is indebted for much information.

Page 331

LOCKWOOD. 271

On the North side—another Window representing the Raising of Lazarus and of the Widow’s Son—“‘ To the Glory of God and in Memory of James Crosland Fenton,” by Edgar and Margaret Fenton, 1869. On the South: The Resurrection and Ascension of Christ, inscribed :—“To the Glory of God and in Memory of James Crosland Fenton, who died 3rd day of April, 1858, aged 61,” by Ellen Fenton. On the South wall is a MemoriaL Brass Plate, with a of Mr. Bensted in the medieval style—robed and kneeling in a Gothie Arch to a faldstool—over is a Crest: a Griffin bearing a Cross, and underneath the Arms of St. John’s College, Cambridge, on a shield; being three fleurs-de-lis, quartered with three Lions passant. Underneath, an inscription in Old English characters : “Go the Glory of God. This Brass and wv Window on the Sonth side of this Ohurch ave exvected by his Parishioners anh Friends ta the Bemary of Thomas Barton Bensted, BWA, of St. Sohw's College, Cambridge, for 30 years SFucumbent and Rector of this Parish, who died first of January,

Hetat 68.” It was executed by Potter and Sons, London. The Window

represents Enoch and Elijah, alluding to Mr. Bensted’s sudden death; and over, separated by the Gallery, S. John the Baptist and Timothy receiving Scripture Lessons from their Mothers. There is also a Window on the South side, representing the Raising of Jairus’ daughter, and inscribed: ‘To the Glory of God and in Memory of Joun Dow, of Lockwood, Obiit zoth March, 1873, et. 55. <A tribute of esteem from a large circle of friends.” Mr. Dow was a Medical Practitioner. The Orcan is placed in the West Gallery. Mr. Abbey, father of the late lamented John Henry Abbey, Borough Surveyor, with Mr. Swift, of Newsome, collected all the money for its purchase. The South Churchyard contains the Gravestone of Mr. Bensted and his first wife Jane, obiit Sept. xxvi, MDccCLIV; and himself, born July 8th, 1809; died Jan. 1st, 1878,

Page 332

272 EMMANUEL CHURCH,

On the North side is an Altar Tomb, with compartments on the sides, to the Memory of Bentley Shaw, of Woodfield, Lock- wood; born 18th Jan., 1816, died March 28th, 1878. “He trusted in God.” Also R. Bentley Shaw, of Oakwood Grange, eldest son of Bentley and E. Shaw, born March 2oth, 1849, died Nov. 11, 1873. Interred at Brotherton. ‘“ He sleeps in Jesus.” The Church was licensed for marriages by Bishop Longley, 11th July, 1837. The first marriage took place Augt. 30th, 1837, between the Rev. Joseph Hughes, of Liverpool, and Catherine Laycock, of Armitage Bridge. Officiating Minister: the Rev. Lewis Jones. Witnesses: John Brooke, James Crosland Fenton. All names to be had in remembrance ! The sentence of the Bishop, assigning Parochial Districts to three New Churches, of Lockwood, Linthwaite and Crosland, dated 26th May, 1842, recites the above date of the Licenses for Marriage; and is in the Parish Chest at Almondbury; but the limits then assigned have been much diminished subsequently, by the assignment of districts, consequent on the erection of other Churches: at Armitage Bridge, Rashcliffe, and Newsome, in Lockwood; Milnsbridge in Linthwaite; and Meltham Mills and Helme in Meltham, with part of South Crosland attached. These have all become separate Parishes for ecclesiastical purposes under Lord Blandford’s Act. See page 80. The Churches have been favoured with an unbroken series of devoted Clergymen of sound Evangelical views. Mr. Bensted was a man of much energy and practical wisdom, The Church National Schools, for 600 children, and those in Memory of Mr. Fenton, were erected in his time; as well as those at Crosland Moor, within the New Parish of Rashcliffe, in 1874. Lockwood bas also a Town Hall and Mechanics’ Institution deserving of notice, all promoted by the of the late Bentley Shaw, Esq., whose extensive breweries and the Bentley estate occupy a large part of the Parish. Mr. Shaw very soon followed Mr. Bensted to the grave, as did Mr. George Armitage; all three Trustees or Visitors of Nettleton’s Charity, and the two latter Governors of King James’ School. By none more lamented than

Page 333

Bo the of bo Phis Hebe (ee Jittery meee (itd te lilo Inq! Bhomeag arton B engked hy “OM Me (red Cacteu ie peli uly tag cecel dee (Ut Pic © Me UT (ee Ul

BRASS IN LocKwoop chURCH

Page 334

«ngs

le ee jo cae Snipe

nel DP

a at sag ogee Aig tts hig ft nth Bef poe ne Po, mata ye hy iii Marae pete ng trill 8 ts tb ANP ca AMET ln ss Fi

Page 335

LOCKWOOD. 273

by the Author of this work; to whom the first was a College friend, Mr. Armitage, a family connection, and Mr. Shaw, a valued friend as well as coadjutor in these charities. Mr. Fenton, as observed, was the trusty legal adviser of these Institutions, and forwarder of every good work in the Parish. We may say with the prophet: Your Fathers, where are they? The prophets, do they live for ever? The following gentlemen served the office of Churchwardens during Mr. Bensted’s Incumbency: 1848, J. C. Fenton, T. Lock- wood. Chancel erected and East Window given; 1849, J. C. Fenton, S. Ogden; 1850-57, J. C. Fenton, Bentley Shaw; 1858- 59, B. Shaw, W. Green Armytage; 1860-61, B. Shaw, Edgar Fenton. Gas introduced and Church Decorated with Texts ; 1862- 63, B. Shaw, J. H. Abbey; 1864, B. Shaw, Walter Taylor; 1865- 66-67, B. Shaw, George Littlewood—Churchyard enlarged; 1868, James Priestley, G. Littlewood; 1869, J. H. Abbey, J. Priestley ; 1870, Geo. Harper, J. H. Abbey; 1871, Nathan Jagger, Geo. Harper; 1872, J. Ainley, J. H. Abbey; 1873, James Pniestley, J. B. Whiteley ; 1874, Bentley Shaw, Joseph Wrigley, Jun. ; 1875, Norman Wrigley, Geo. Harper ; 1876, Geo. Harper, J. H. Abbey ; 1877, John Ainley, William Whiteley; 1878, John Ainley, Elliot Hallas ; 1879, Elliot Hallas, Jonathan Crosland; 1880, Jonathan Crosland, J. H. Abbey. The Nonconformists have not been idle. The Author is favoured with the following account of the Baptist CoMMUNITY in Lockwood by an aged member, Mr. Thomas Beaumont, through the kindness of Mr. Nathaniel Berry: whose family have already been alluded to as ancient residents at Newsome

Cross. ‘*Previous to the year 1792, no place existed in Lockwood for exclusively religious purposes. BENJAMIN INGHAM, Esq., then a member of the Baptist Church at Salendine Nook, threw open his barn to accommodate the audience, when the Rev. Mr. Crabtree, of Bradford, visited Lockwood to preach the Gospel. The year specified above witnessed the erection of the first Baptist Chapel, at the sole expense of the benefactor already named. The Ministry of the Word was commenced in it before quite finished, and He who said ‘My word shall not return unto me void,’ fulfilled his promise, in that it yielded PART III.—J.

Page 336

274 EMMANUEL CHURCH, LOCKWOOD.

fruit to His glory. During two years after its completion no Church was organized. On the 31st December, 1794, the ordinance of Believers’ Baptism was administered to four Candidates on a profession of ‘Repentance towards God and Faith in the Lord Jesus Christ.” Those, with nine others dismissed from Salendine Nook, constituted the first Baptist Church in Lockwood, Jan. Ist, 1795. At that period in the Church’s history, although times were exceedingly depressive, a Vestry was erected and the premises inclosed. Under the pastorate of the Rev. JAMES ASTON, the Word was eminently blest, and the,Church considerably increased. Hence a School was erected in 1821. Mr. Aston’s useful and laborious ministry terminated in 18303; and, passing to his reward he said, with calm and abiding faith, ‘I have no

ecstasies and no depressions.’ In the course of the over 30 years faithful and consistent pastorate of the Rev. JOHN BARKER, a large amount of spiritual success was realized; whilst several material undertakings were accomplished. In 1848 an additional School was founded in Hanson’s Lane; an action dictated by an increasing necessity. The Chapel, which had existed more than half a century, was rebuilt in 1850. Next in order came the enlargement of the Schoolroom in Hanson’s Lane, to considerably more than its original capacity, in 1864, followed, in 1870, by the extension of the Chapel and addition of the Infant School behind. In 1874 was built the School at Primrose Hill, and, in 1880, was commenced the Chapel now advancing towards completion.”

The Particular Baptists have also a Chapel called “ Rehoboth,” erected in 1832, with a Sunday School attached, on the top of Swan Lane, near “The Yews;” enlarged in 1880. The Wesleyan body have also two Chapels. The whole are within the Borough of Huddersfield. The Station of the and Sheffield Railway, with its Meltham Branch, is in the Township of Lockwood or North Crosland. The lofty and extended Viaduct, consisting of thirty Arches, spans the Valley; and was erected from stone found near. The Valley is very beautiful and wide in extent, in that position, but narrows towards the East, till lost in the Town of Huddersfield. Woodfield House, the residence of Mrs. Shaw, and the Lodge below, command a view crowned by Almondbury and Castle Hill. The living of Emmanuel Church, Lockwood, became a Rectory by the purchase of the Rent Charge belonging to William Green Armytage, Esq., at Newsome Cross, by Mr. Bensted, in July, 1868. But it has been reconveyed to Sir John William Ramsden, Bart. ; an equivalent pension being reserved. “ Stat nominis Umbra.”

Page 337

ST. CHURCH, ARMITAGE BRIDGE. 275

No remains exist of the ancient Mansion of the Lockwood family, resident here in the middle ages. But the ancient Ballad, reciting the Feud between the Elland, Lockwood and Crosland . families, will find further notice hereafter. The site is probably that formerly occupied by Mr. Green Armytage, and now by Mr. Norman Wrigley. The Lockwoods, of Collersley, are also represented by Thomas Lockwood, Esq., J.P., of Bilton House, Harrogate; and by a branch of the family resident at Collersley, which is in the Township of Linthwaite. Further notice of the Green Armytage family is reserved for Thick Hollins, Meltham.

ST. PAUL'S CHURCH, ARMITAGE BRIDGE.

This handsome Gothic Church, consecrated in 1848, is situated midway between Lockwood and Honley, in the valley of the Holme; where it is wide and fertile. The very extensive Woollen Manufactories of ‘Messrs. John Brooke and Sons,” forming almost a town in themselves, occupy the space between Berry Brow and the woody ridge towards Netherton. Armitage Bridge House and Park, lying still more to the South towards Honley, have a fine sheet of water and extensive gardens. ‘The secluded winding of the Holme descending from Honley, has been compared to the happy valley in Rasselas. The family of Brooke (distinct from, but connected by marriages in two generations with, the Brooks of Meltham) have in a great measure erected the flourishing village ; the business of the above named firm having been transferred, about 1825, to this place from Honley, where it had been established about roo years earlier; after the purchase in 1728, by William Brooke, of Greenhead Bank (see Morehouse’s History of Kirkburton), of property in Honley. The late William Brooke, Esq., of Northgate House (a descendant of William Brooke, who married Sarah Armitage, of Dudmanstone, see page 241 of this Work), erected that mansion and Northgate Mount, in Honley ; as well as Armitage Bridge

Page 338

276 ST. PAUL’S CHURCH,

House. ‘The last was built by him for the use of his eldest son, John Brooke, Esq. (late of Kensworth House, Herts.), from the designs of R. D. Chantrell, Esq., Architect, Leeds. He had purchased the estate (formerly the property of the Earl of Wigtown) and other lands, and left them to Mr. John William Brooke, now of Sibton Park, Suffolk, only son of Mr. John Brooke; from whom they were purchased in 1862, by Thomas Brooke, Esq., F.S.A., who now occupies the House. For a short time Northgate Mount was occupied by Mr. Jonas Hobson Marshall (see page 145), who removed from Almondbury shortly before his death :* but now the three mansions are the residences of descendants of the original founder. St. Paut’s CHURCH was erected under the superintendence of

* In the Parish Church, Huddersfield, South Aisle, are Monuments to the Memory of the Rev. JOHN MARSHALL, M.A., Curate of Sidbury, Salop, who died at Manchester, February 20th, 1835, aged 30, on a journey to visit his then surviving parents, Thomas and Betty Marshall, of Thorpe, near Almondbury. Also of Betty, wife of Thomas Marshall, Esq., and mother of the above Rev. John Marshall; she died on the 19th December, 1847, aged 75 years. Also of Jonas Hobson Marshall, the last surviving son of the above Thomas and Betty Marshall, who died 20th January, 1849, aged 50 years. Also of Martha, daughter of T. and B. M., who died August 4th, 1859, aged 74 years. In the same Aisle, under the galleries, are also Memorial Windows to their former neighbours in Almondbury. At the East end, one of two compartments representing the Agony in the Garden, executed by Evans, of Shrewsbury, very dark, inscribed—‘‘ To the glory of God, and in Memory of Emma Maria Williams, wife of William Jacomb, of Huddersfield, died 29th April, 1851, aged 46 years; buried 3rd May, in the Vault underneath this window. ALSO, another of three compartments, in three lights, representing Simeon embracing Christ ; Christ blessing little children, and the Resurrection, with appropriate texts. In Memory of WILLIAM WALKER, of Huddersfield, gentleman, died Dec. 11, 1818, aged 77 years: and SARAH, his wife, died Sept. 3, 1822, aged 87 years. Also WM. WALKER Bartyég, the younger, died June 14th, 1845, aged 14 years. Inscribed beneath: ‘‘This tribute to the memory of the maternal grandfather and grandmother and of his son, is affectionately offered by William Walker Battye, the elder, of Thorp Villa, Almondbury, 1852.” See page 142 in this Volume.

Page 339

ARMITAGE BRIDGE. 277

the same Architect, by Messrs. John and Thomas Brooke, then the partners of the firm of John Brooke and Sons; and was mainly intended for the accommodation of their numerous workmen and their families. The Church consists of a Nave, Side Aisles and Chancel, with four Gothic Windows on each side, but no Clerestory. A porch on the South side—Chancel with East Window, and at the West end a handsome parapeted Tower, with lofty pinnacles at each corner. The situation being low; during the Holmfirth flood it was surrounded with water; but suffered no serious harm. The Church was renovated and much improved in 1872, when the Rev. James Gratrix was Vicar, and the Rev. Marcus J. Bickerstaff, Curate-in-charge. The first Baptism is that of Sarah Wood Short, Birks Cottage, by Henry Winpsor, Incumbent, May 7th, 1848. The first Burial that of Hannah Dawson Branwell, Parkgate, the same day. The last Baptism by Mr. Windsor, August 31st, and the last Burial, September 1st, 1862. Mr. Windsor effecting an exchange of livings with the Rev. James Gratrix, of Kensworth, formerly of St. James’, Halifax, who follows immediately. He continued until 1872, when on his resignation, with retiring allowance of one-third the income, on account of infirmity, the Rev. George Charles Brownlow Madden, B.A., Curate of Almondbury, was appointed by the Patrons, John Brooke, Esq., J.P., then of Kensworth House, Herts., and the Rev. Canon Hulbert, as Vicar of Almondbury. Mr. Gratrix died at Leamington, February 21st, 1881. The Rev. G. Bradley was Curate in 1863. The Rev. William Hurst, afterwards Rector of Cumberworth, was Curate from 1864 to 1866. The Rev. Arthur Hardy, Oct., 1866, to March, 1871 ; and the Rev. Marcus J. Bickerstaff, May, 1871, to October, 1872. The Church was consecrated by Bishop Longley, May 5th, 1848, on which day, and at Armitage Bridge, the Rev. Cutfield Wardroper was instituted to Farnley Tyas. A separate District was assigned, August, 1848, consisting of portions of the Townships of Almondbury and South Crosland—the Church

Page 340

278 ST. PAUL’S CHURCH, ARMITAGE BRIDGE.

being placed within the former Township. The Schools belong to the joint estate of John William Brooke, of Sibton Park, Suffolk, Thomas Brooke and William Brooke. The Advowson is now jointly in Mr. Thomas Brooke and the Vicar of Almondbury. The Organ Chamber and Vestry were erected, and Seats re-arranged by Faculty, dated June, 1875; granted to Thomas Brooke, Abel Crosland and George Beaumont. The Organ was built by Mr. Bishop, of London; and enlarged at a cost of £300 by Messrs. Jardine and Company, Manchester. The Author has been favoured with the following statement of “Payments on account of Armitage Bridge Church, from Nov. 1845, to February, 1849 :’—

Messrs. John Brooke & Sons ............ 5483. 5 Incorporated Society for Building 200 J. W. Brooke, Esq., for East Window... 221 o John Brooke, Esq., for Land ............ (0 Thomas Brooke, Esq., Pulpit ............ 5G” ono Mrs. Thomas Brooke, Organ 50 o

Inhabitants in the Neighbourhood,

Commipnions Rate es alate. vac 55 none @ J: .C. Laycocks: Books, 1st 4.0) Terese Mrs, John Allen, Carpets, Chairs, &c... 15 T. & Elizabeth Brooke, Surplices ...... 5 ° £6350 5

Ripon Diocesan Church BuildingSociety 300 o For Repair Fund, invested May 13th, 1848, by the Huddersfield Banking Company, in Consols at 834, pro- ducing £358 1s. 2d., in the names of Lewis Jones, John Brooke and Thomas Brooke. Subsequently new Trustees were appointed by Deed, and the Investment transferred to their names.

Page 341

ST. JOHN’S CHURCH, NEWSOME. 279

ST. JOHN’S CHURCH, NEWSOME. The new Parish of Newsome is a striking illustration of the increased vitality and renewed life which has manifested itself in the Church in so remarkable a manner during the last quarter of a century. The ecclesiastical district consists of the ancient Village of Newsome— tradition says letters were once addressed “ Hud- dersfield near Newsome”—lying North by West of Castle Hill and the following hamlets, viz. : Daisy Royd, Jack Royd, and Bum Royd to the East; Tunnicliffe Hill, Nook and Stile Common to the North; Scar Top, Newsome Cross—where once stood the symbol of the Christian faith—and Blagden to the West; and Town End, which is properly the termination of the Village of Newsome, to the South. The district contains at this present time a population of 1,500, mostly employed in factory work. A few hold small farms under Sir John W. Ramsden, Bart., who is the exclusive heritor. The business of Fancy Vestings and Woollen Shawls was established here in 1827, followed at a later date by Fancy Woollen Trouserings and the far famed Worsted Coatings, by the late Mr. John Taylor, of Croft House, who also, in conjunction with his sons, built the Colne Mills, in the valley below. Both places are still in the possession of the family which has made a conspicuous name in the important Woollen trade of the West Riding. In connection with the trade may be mentioned the important firms of Geo. Crosland & Sons, Woollen Manufacturers, Crosland Moor, and William Whiteley & Sons, Iron Workers and Machinists, Lockwood, whose maternal grandparents were John and Sarah Woodhead, of Newsome. In 1837 direct Church work was commenced in Newsome by the Rev. Alfred Hewlett, then Incumbent of Lockwood, who thus speaks of it: ‘“ Wednesday, July 25th, took a house at Newsome, in which to open a Sunday School, where I shall also hold a Weekly Lecture on Tuesday Evenings.” Immediately after this an effort was made to raise funds for a Schoolroom, which was built the same year at an expense of £127, and with much free and willing help on the part of many inhabitants. In this Room Day and Sunday Schools were established and Divine Service

Page 342

280 ST. JOHN’S CHURCH,

held on Sunday Afternoons, by the successive Curates of Lockwood. This continued with varying results till the year 1867, when the Schoolroom having fallen into bad repair was restored through the exertions of the Curate of Lockwood, the Rey. T. Lewthwaite, assisted by a local Committee of working men. In Feb., 1869, at a Meeting held in the Schoolroom, presided over by the Curate, a movement for the purpose of building and endowing of a Church was commenced, when the first Subscription promised was one of Five Pounds by a working woman, who, after two years and a half of earnest labour on the part of the promoters, had the pleasure of cutting the first sod on the site of the Church on Saturday, April 29th, 1871. The work of clearing the ground and digging out the foundations was then undertaken by a large band of working men, and on Monday, July 17th, the actual work was commenced, as the following

document, placed in the Memorial Stone, will evidence : ‘The foundation of this Church of St. John the Evangelist, Newsome, was laid by Amelia, wife of Thomas Brooke, Esq., J.P., of Armitage Bridge, in the name of the ever Blessed Trinity, on the 17th day of July, A.D. 1871. Robert (Bickersteth), by Divine permission, Bishop of Ripon. Ven. Charles Musgrave, D.D., Archdeacon of Craven. William Bainbridge Calvert, M.A., Rural Dean of Huddersfield. Charles Augustus Hulbert, M.A., Vicar of Almondbury. Thomas Barton Bensted, M.A., Rector of Lockwood. Thos. Lewthwaite, Curate of Lockwood & Incumbent designate of Newsome. Daniel John MacKimm, M.A., Incumbent of Rashcliffe. Nathan Jagger and George Harper, Churchwardens of Lockwood. Henry Terry and Reynolds J. Elliott, Churchwardens of Rashcliffe. The Site was generously given by Sir John William Ramsden, Bart, M.P. R. H. Graham, Esq., Resident Agent. W. H. Crosland, Esq., of London and Leeds, Architect. Committee: W. Shaw, R. Donkersley, T. Hirst, D. Ainley, J. Hinchliffe, S. Berry, M. Hawthornthwaite, T. Nicholson, D. Oldfield, T. Crookes, H. Kaye, H. Shaw, J. Lee, A. Gooder, J. Rowbottom, A. Sykes, J. Turner, J. Mellor, J. Blackburn, E. Stringer, J. Hirst, J. Hawk- yard, J. M. Wood, C. Askey, T. Carter, G. W. Jenkinson. J. A. Brooke, Esq., Northgate House, Honley, Treasurer. Clerk of Works: R. Phillips. Contractors—Masons : Messrs. Mallinson, Gledhill, and Brammer. Carpenter: Joseph Sunderland. Slaters: J. Goodwin and Sons. Plasterers : J. Longbottom and Sons, Plumbers: Walsh and Son. Painter : Geo. Rushworth.

Page 343

NEWSOME. 281

The edifice is built in the Gothic style of Architecture, from designs gratuitously furnished by W. H. Crosland, Esq., and is g4ft. 6in. long (externally rooft.), the width of the Nave is 27ft., and of the North Side Aisle 13ft. The Chancel, which is separated from the Nave by a lofty Arch, upon Corbel Shafts and Bases, is 27ft. wide, with Organ Chapel and Vestry adjoining. The Aisle is separated from the Nave by an arcade of four Bays, supported upon alternate octagonal and circular Shafts, with moulded Caps and Bases. The accommodation is for 410, but a much larger number can he seated. All the Seats are free and unappropriated for ever. The Porch is placed on the South side at the West end, and the West gable is surmounted by a Bell Cote, which is carried up in Ashlar, with Steps and moulded Copings, reaching to the height of 64ft. to the top of the cross, which is placed upon an apex. The Windows on the South side are single lancet lights, with cusped heads; and the East Window is composed of Five Lights, with Mullions, and late decorated tracery ; and is filled in with beautiful stained glass, emblematical of Faith, Hope, and Charity, the gift of John Woodhead Crosland, Esq., and Mrs. Crosland, of Thornton Lodge, and is to the Memory of their grandparents, John and Sarah Woodhead, of Newsome. The Lectern, which is of handsome polished brass, beautifully chased, and the stem set with pure crystals, stands at the entrance of the Chancel upon a beautiful base of pure White Marble, is the gift of three sons of the late John and Elizabeth Taylor, of Newsome, and is in memory of their Mother. The Font, the pleasing and appropriate “ gift of the children ot Newsome,” is of solid construction, and in harmony with the architecture of the Church. The following gifts may also be mentioned : four stone bosses, carving by a working man; the Communion Table, by Mr. E. Stringer, Carpenter; Kneeling Stools, by Mr. North, Cabinet Maker ; the Reading Desk, Messrs. Dobson & Co.; the Communion Cloth and Chancel Chairs, by friends in Westmoreland; the Linen and various gifts, by Mrs. Lewthwaite. The whole of the surface soil was removed and the foundations dug by the working men in their leisure time. The

Page 344

282 ST. JOHN’S CHURCH,

Church was supplied throughout with Books, Hassocks, Seatings, &c., by Joseph Hirst, Esq., Wilshaw. The site of the Church and Graveyard may fairly be claimed as one of a romantic and striking character, commanding landscape of hill and dale, wood and moorland, valley and stream, embracing Linthwaite, Helme, South Crosland, Meltham, Honley, Holm- firth, Harden Moss, Thurstonland, Moldgreen, Kirkheaton, Lindley and Deanhead: the whole being circled by the hills which form the backbone of England, otherwise called the Pennine Range. In the graveyard stands a handsome Granite Obelisk, erected by public subscription, to the memory of four young men, members of the Sunday School, who were drowned, through the upsetting of a boat, in Lake Windermere, on Monday, the 6th of August, 1877; and whose bodies, after great exertion, were found in the Lake, brought to Newsome, and interred by the Vicar of the Parish and the Rector of Lockwood, amid the deepest sorrow and in the presence of 15,000 people, on Saturday, August 11th, 1877. How suggestive is the sentence placed at the foot of the inscription, the midst of life we are in death.” The Churchyard is neatly laid out and beautified with trees and shrubs, and a number of picturesque Rockeries, formed of local sandstone boulders, and white fantastically shaped limestone rocks, brought by the Vicar from the slopes of Whernside Mountain, in the North Riding, and on the borders of Westmorland. By an Order in Council, dated Jan. rath, 1873, and with the sanction of the Rev. T. B. Bensted, Rector of Lockwood, the district was cut off from Lockwood Parish, and constituted the Ecclesiastical District of St. John the Evangelist, Newsome. On the 12th of August, of the same year, by an Indenture made between the Rev. Thomas Barton Bensted, Rector of Lockwood and Patron ex-officio of the New Parish, and the Rev. Thomas Lewthwaite, Incumbent of the District Chapelry of Newsome, all surplice fees and such other Ecclesiastical Dues, Easter Ofier- ings, &c., arising within the said district chapelry were surrendered to the said Thomas Lewthwaite and his successors for ever; and that the said district chapelry may become, be, and remain a

Page 345

NEWSOME. 283

separate and distinct Parish for Ecclesiastical purposes ; thus con- ferring upon the Incumbents of the New Parish the title of Vicar. Through the exertions of the new Vicar the first Endowment of 450 per annum was secured on the 4th December, 1874, by the offering of £1,500 to the Ecclesiastical Commissioners. Again, in June, 1875, a further sum of £1,500 having been collected and invested in the name of the Commissioners, in Debenture Railway Stock, with an interest of £60 per annum, a grant of £1,500 was made, and the income of £160 per annum secured. A further small addition will be added shortly to this amount; the sum of 4350 having been raised and presented to the Commissioners. This sum includes a bequest, through the Trustees of the late James Crosland Fenton, Esq., of Lockwood, of £77 1s. 2d. The first Baptism in the Church was Jane Ellen, daughter of Alfred and Ellen Crossley, of Newsome, on the day after Conse- cration, when there were 34 others baptised with her during the afternoon service. The first Burial took place in the New Graveyard on the 23rd of October, in the same year, viz., the body of Job Liversidge, of Newsome, aged 70. The first Headstone erected in the Grave- yard is to the Memory of Hannah Ellam, wife of John Ellam, farmer, of Newsome, who died January 18th, 1873. The first Marriage was celebrated on the 12th of April, 1873, between Robert Sheard, of Moldgreen, and Isabella Lodge, of Newsome, when the customary presentation of a Holy Bible was made to them by the Vicar, the Rev. T. Lewthwaite. The following Churchwardens have served the Parish up to this date :—1872-5, Mr. W. Shaw and Mr. Geo. Calvert; 1875-7, Mr. J. Wood and Mr. J. Dawson; 1877-8, Mr. E. Stringer and Mr. H. Taylor; 1878-9, Mr. Taylor and Mr. R. Sheard ; 1879-80, Mr. W. A. Newborn and Mr. S. Liversidge ; 1880-1, Mr. S. Liversidge and Mr. G. Roberts; 1881-2, Mr. J. Mellor and Mr. G. Roberts. On the zoth of June, 1874, the Foundation Stone of the New Vicarage was laid, in the presence of a large assembly, by Mr. W. Shaw, of Newsome Cross, one of the first Churchwardens of the new Parish. Through the kindness of Mrs. Whiteley, of Park

Page 346

284 ST. JOHN’S CHURCH,

Cottage, Lockwood, an excellent Tea was provided in the School- room. On the 3rd of July, 1875, the New Vicarage was inhabited by the Rev. T. Lewthwaite, the first Vicar. The house is a strongly built, though plain structure, yet in harmony with the architecture of the Church ; and commands, from its elevated position—about 6o0o0ft. above the sea—charming views of the neighbourhood ; but of course is thereby exposed to all the winds of heaven until plantations grow up. It has been already noted that the first improvement in connec- tion with the Schools was made in 1867, when the sum of £153 was expended in restoring the much dilapidated Room and adding anew Porch. In 1871 a further sum of £600 was spent in building Infants’ School, Master’s House, and enclosing the premises, about a quarter of an acre in extent. In 1879 and 1880 a further sum of nearly £700 was expended in building tommodious Classrooms, adjoining and opening into—with large folding glass pannelled doors—the main Schoolroom ; also in supplying the whole of the premises with a suitable Warming Apparatus and other fittings and needful conveniences. The accommodation thus afforded being for more than 400 scholars, besides being well adapted for Public, Class, and Teachers’ Meetings, with reading and other useful rooms. The Schools, as thus completed, were publicly opened by Mrs. Dyson Taylor, of Woodleigh, and Henry B. Taylor, Esq., of Edgerton, on Monday, December 8th, 1879. The whole of the Plans for School buildings, enlargements and improvements, were gratuitously furnished by John H. Abbey, Esq., the late Borough Surveyor of Huddersfield. In so extensive a work as the formation and endowing of a Parish, it would be difficult—did space allow—to give the names of all who have so generously helped, either with advice, effort or means. A few names, however, ought not to be forgotten, viz. : John A. Brooke, Esq., who acted as Treasurer to the Church Building Fund, and James W. Carlile, Esq., who were the first to warmly countenance the movement; the late respected Rector of Lockwood and Major Graham, of Longley Hall, whose best advice was ever at command; the former in all the important matters

Page 347

NEWSOME. 285

bearing on Church organization and work, and the latter as to the general arrangement of plans, buildings, and many legal points bearing upon the same. Among the Subscribers the following stand out conspicuously :

Sir John W. Ramsden, in addition to Sites for Church, with Graveyard, Vicarage, and Schools, the latter at a mere MONIT UT ciclo tie 850 O John Arthur Brooke, Esq., Armitage Bridge ...............- 1290 O Do. Collected on the day of Consecration 175 Joseph Hirst, Esq., Wilshaw, in addition to Church Furnishings, Bibles, Prayer SO Ge che: 600 oO James W.. Carlile; Hsq.; of Meltham Mills 560 oO rookie, ELOHICY ce sissies 225 00 Thomas Brooke, Esq., Armitage Bridge ..... Farts ets lets 200 O O John Brooke & Sons, > |) 200 O Charles Brook, Esq., Late of Meltham Mills ........ Siete 200 Oo Charles Broole School Mund), 6 280 oO Edward Brook, Esq., Meltham | John Taylor & Sons, Colne oo in addition to several Cottages ANIC CHEM EC CECE levels at slope.) lake a sera 130 Ephraim B. Taylor, Esq., of Edgerton and Newsome, in addition to his share with his brothers in the Lectern.............. 100 O Mrs. Whiteley and Family, Park Cottage, Lockwood ..... 550 9 HO © ©

Important help was further received from the Ripon Diocesan Societies, £611; the Huddersfield Church Extension Society, 4250; the National Society, #115; and the Incorporated Church Building Society, #100. The subscribers of smaller amounts number many thousands, including a large sum given either in money or labour by the working people in the Parish. The total amount raised for Church, Schools, Vicarage, Graveyard and Endowment is, in Subscriptions and Grants, £12,996; and in other Gifts, as Land, Labour, Church Furniture, East Window, Lectern, Font, Reading Desk, &c., &c., an estimated value of 42,000. Total about £15,000.

It is scarcely necessary for the Author to testify to the wisdom, zeal and indefatigable industry by which, under God, these results have been attained. The sober caution of age and constitution, in the late Rector, and the natural energy of the young Curate and ultimately Incumbent were happily combined; and to quote the

Page 348

286 ST. CHAPEL,

language of a Pastoral Address of the latter, dated 1876 :— “Thanks must be first of all given to Almighty God for the wondrous and unchecked blessing that he has showered upon the work. The motto of those most nearly concerned has been from the first ‘Faith, Prayer, and Work.’ How richly has the Faith been realized, the Prayer answered, and the Work blessed! ‘This has been seen not only in securing the outward machinery mentioned above, but in a real blessing to many who have been labouring in the work. They have given much, but they have received more. Next, the warmest and most heartfelt thanks are offered to all who have so kindly and so generously assisted in Gifts, in Subscriptions, and in real warm-hearted sympathy. These have all combined to make the work a labour of love. May the blessing of God rest upon all who have laboured for us and with us, and may the work, as a whole, ever redound to His own glory, especially, in the gathering of many souls into the fold of Christ from this Parish of Newsome.”

ST. MARY’S CHAPEL, HONLEY.

This ancient Chapelry formerly included by custom the Town- ships of Honley, Netherthong, South Crosland, Mag Lordship and Meltham; but at present, has only the residuary part of Honley, reserved by an order in Council dated Oct. 23rd, 1876, which will take full effect on the next voidance of the Vicarage of Almond- bury, when Honley will become a New Vicarage. The Bishop will have, however, power to assign a District to Brockholes Church, if he see fit. The present, which is the third, Church or Chapel, is a conspicuous object, with its lofty tower, on the hill rising above the left hand bank of the Colne, and in the centre of the village of Honley. The opposite woody hill, rising to the summit of the plain, which separates Castle Hill from Farnley Tyas, presents a lovely view, including Highroyd House and Park Riding; below are Northgate House and Northgate Mount, already referred to.

Page 349

HONLEY. 287

Intermediate between Armitage Bridge and Honley are Steps Mill, and Parkton Grove, the residence of Mr. Alfred Beaumont. The Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway runs along the opposite hill and has Stations at Honley and Brockholes. Adjoining the Church is the Parsonage, and near the residence of Captain Jessop: with the houses long occupied by Miss Marianne Armitage, the foundress of Milnsbridge and Brockholes Churches, and the Rev. Charles Drawbridge. ‘The Cemetery stands beyond the Village, in a high position—and in the rear towards Honley Moor is a depression, which was formerly of the nature of an Amphitheatre—the scene of Bullbaiting and other sports, thus alluded to in the Diary of the Rev. Robert Meeke, September 17th, 1689 :— ‘*Went to Huddersfield with an intent to get the Vicar’s hand to a Certifi- cate, and from thence to Honley to desire the same from the Vicar of Almondbury. I rode with them amongst the crowd looking for Mr. Philipson, but found him not. Afterwards I found him and he granted my request.

There was multitudes. O how fond is the generality of men to see such vanities ! More prone to meet on such occasions than for spiritual things.”

The Manor is thus described in Domesday Book (Bawdwine’s Translation) in connection with Meltham :—

“In Hanleia and Meltham, Cola and Suen had 4 Carucates of Land to be taxed. Where there may be three ploughs. Value (Time of King Edward) Forty Shillings. Wood, Pasture, two miles long and one and a half broad.”

The Manor was held by Sir Robert Stapylton, of Wighill, in the County of the City of York; but purchased by one of the Kayes, . of Woodsome, about the end of the 16th century, in whose descendants it still remains. Among the Deeds in the possession of Mr. Thomas Robinson, of Kirkburton, is the copy of one relative to Chief Rents in Honley, purchased by Joseph Armitage, Esq., of Dudmanstone, from F. G. and Sarah Nettleton, dated 20th April, 1675; and going out of date for want of collecting, they are transferred to the Church Schools in Honley by Mr. T. Robinson and _ his brother William, Surgeon, Huddersfield. The origin of the primitive CHAPEL of St. Mary, HoNLEy, is involved in the mist of antiquity.

Page 350

288 ST. MARY'S CHAPEL,

The first Document is a Latin Facutty, granted by THomas SAVAGE, ARCHBISHOP OF YORK, Primate of England and Legate of the Apostolic See, ‘To the Natives and Inhabitants of the Villages of Houndeley and Meltham.” In consequence of the distance of the Parish Church of Almondbury, rendering it impossible for the aged, infirm, pregnant, afflicted and other persons, to keep their own festivities of the Mass, or days of other Saints, without great and heavy labour; and to be present there at the Canonical hours, License is granted to celebrate those offices in the Chapel of the Blessed Virgin Mary at Houndeley; founded and erected of old (ab antiguo ), or in a sufficient Chapel or Chapels, to be erected at their own costs and expenses; but without any injury to the rights of the Parish Church of Almondbury. There, themselves, their children, and servants, freely and lawfully to perform those offices; and it closes with the Apostolic Benediction. Dated at Cawood Castle, 18 Hen. VII, 1503. It is, therefore, inferred from the tenor of the Instrument that the Chapel had previously been merely an Oratory or place for private devotion, without the service of a stated Priest; but that this Faculty would license the appointment of a regular Chaplain or Chaplains, to be maintained by the contributions of the faithful inhabitants of Honley, Meltham and Crossland. Archbishop Savage, who was the Papal Legate, was consecrated to the See of Rochester April 28, 1493; translated to London in 1496;* and to York in 1501. He died at Cawood, Sept. 2nd, 1507. This Chapel seems (along with the Almondbury Church), to have sufficed for the spiritual needs of the three townships named in the Faculty, and of Netherthong, which was also part of Honley Chapelry, until the consecration of Meltham Chapel in 1651;

* Mr, Thomas Brooke says: ‘‘Rev. C. Drawbridge gives, in his Memo- randum, the year 1507 as the date of the building of the Chapel, which lasted till 1750. I do not know his authority for this, but probably there would be some adaptation of the old Oratory for the purposes of public worship ; and this may have amounted to a rebuilding, or indeed to a new building.

Page 351

HONLEY. 289

though there is a tradition of some enlargement of Honley Chapel about 1625-30. The provision of the Chapel at Meltham in 1651, would effect the withdrawal from Honley of many inhabitants of South Crosland ; a portion of this Township being nearer to Meltham than Honley; which circumstance is perhaps sufficient to account for the joint endowment of the two Chapels by Goprrey Beaumont, of South Crosland. Though living within the Chapelry of Honley, he was so large hearted as to leave lands and tenements, which still form no inconsiderable portion of the endowments of the Churches of Honley and Meltham, towards the maintenance of the Ministers of the two Chapels, which were frequented by his fellow townsfolk. His will bears date March 24th, 1672. It is not known from what quarter the benefactions which would be needed for the maintenance of the Curate of Honley before this bequest were obtained. LAawron’s COLLECTIONS only give the following notes. JI.—From the Parliamentary Survey in Cromwell’s time. ‘Neither Minister nor maintenance. About 100 families. Recommended to be made a separate Parish.” Vol. Xvili, page 297. II.—From Archbishop Sharp’s MS. ‘‘Augmenta- tions. In 1729 augmented with £200 (from Queen Anne’s Bounty) to meet £200 from Richard Horsfall, Esq., and Mr. Wm. Walker.” The same Mr. Walker probably who endowed the Schools at Slaithwaite and Longwood. From a MS. in the British Museum, 24,439. ‘“‘ These verses were formerly written under the Kayes Arms, in Painted Glass, in Honley Chapel : John Kaye, Esquire, and Justice of the Peace, The ground of this isle doth freely release ; To joyn to this Chapel for ever and aye, That the people may have the more room to praye;

Iff wicked laws come to pull Chapels down, Then witness I give to the Poor of the Town.*

* Mr. T. Brooke has a copy with some variations; instead of ‘‘isle” it reads ‘‘chappel,” and places it on the East side. The paper is dated August

7th, 1737. PART III.—kK.

Page 352

290 ST. MARY'S CHAPEL,

Part of them might still be read in 1750. ‘There was a briet for rebuilding 1750. It was finished in 1760.” This memorandum seems to confirm the tradition above mentioned, of an enlarge- ment of the Chapel in the early part of the 17th century. 26th September, 1737, a Faculty was granted to build a Gallery, and zoth July, 1756, to enlarge the Chapel and sell seats; a brief having been previously obtained. The Chapel was then entirely rebuilt at a charge which was estimated in the application for the King’s Letter or Brief at £1,392. It may be doubted whether so large a sum was actually expended. The Reverend William Croft, who was Curate of Honley from 1742 to 1760, was instrumental in its re-erection, and he lived to see the work completed. For though the Certificate of its completion is not dated earlier than 1766, yet it seems to have been finished in April, 1759. He was buried under the Communion Table of the New Chapel, and this inscription is on his Gravestone:

Here rest the remains of the Rev. Mr. William Croft, late Curate of Honley, who died on the 1st day of December, 1760, aged 52.

His exertions seem to have been highly appreciated by the inhabitants, for in the Town’s Book there is an entry: 1760, Mem. ‘The first time that the Excise Assessment was paid to Mr. Joseph Armitage, and it was “gratious” to the Rev. Mr. Crofts for his expense of getting money to build Honley Chapel, £7 os. 8d. The funds for the rebuilding were in part collected by a brief in Letters Patent, which were issued Feb. 10, 1749, as appears from

the subjoined document : Persons nominated, constituted and appointed Trustees and Receivers of the Charity collected, by virtue of the Letters Patent, bearing date 1oth day of February, 1749, and in the twenty-third year of his Majesty’s reign; with power to them or any five or more of them, to give Deputations to such Collectors as shall be chosen by the Petitioners or the major part of them, being the Inhabitants of the Chapelry of Honley, in the Parish of Almondbury, in the County of York, which said Trustees and Receivers, or any five or more of them, are to make and sign all necessary orders and do all other reasonable acts for the due and regular Collection of the Brief and advancement of the Charity, and to see the monies when collected be effectually applied in pulling down and rebuilding and enlarging the Chapel of Honley, in the Parish and

Page 353

HONLEY. 291

County aforesaid, viz.: His Grace the Lord Archbishop of York, the Right Hon. the Lord Viscount Lewisham (now Earl of Dartmouth), Sir John Lister Kaye, Bart., John Lister Kaye, Richard Beaumont, Wm. Radcliffe and Ralph Elmsall, Esquires; the Rev. Edward Rishton, Clerk, Vicar of Almondbury (and the Vicar of Almondbury for the time being), William Croft, Clerk, Curate of Honley (and the Curate of Honley for the time being), the Chapel- warden of Honley for the time being, Daniel Battye, Joseph Armitage, James Haigh, Daniel Dyson, John Newton, Benj. Wilson and Wilbourn Withy, Gentlemen. The Certifiers for the truth of the Petition were Sir Henry Ibbotson, Bart. John Burton and William Radcliffe, Esquires, His Majesty’s Justices of the Peace for the West Riding of Yorkshire.

The amount collected in Honley Chapel itself, under the Brief, on March 24th, 1750, was £5 tos. 3d. A List of 92 Briefs collected in the same Chapel, from 1753 to 1761, shews amounts varying from 114d. to 3s. 2d., and in one case (Sculcoates Church) 6s. so that it would appear that the inhabitants recognised the local claim, and it is on record that the collection was supplemented by voluntary contributions to the amount of 4160. Probably labour and materials would also be willingly offered towards the work. The Sale of Pews within the Chapel was authorised, as the means of supplying the remainder of the funds needed for the building. In August, 1789, a Burial Ground was consecrated ; probably at the same time with the consecration of the New Church at Slaithwaite, by Archbishop Markham, August 4th in that year. 22nd November, 1793, a Faculty was granted to alter the situation of the pulpit, &c. An Act for enclosure of Honley Moor was passed 22nd George III, when the Tithes of the Township of Honley were compensated a Grant of land; being still the only Glebe attached to the Vicarage of Almondbury, except the recent additions to the Vicarage House. The Easter dues and fees were not commuted in 1850, but are still due to the Vicar.*

* The award of the: Manor of Honley, in ¥ the year 1788, by Jobn Sharp, Nathan Jowett and Benjn. Patchit, Commissioners, has been published by Joseph Whitworth, Assistant Overseer, 1867.

Page 354

292 ST. MARY'S CHAPEL,

Baptisms and Burials previous to 1813 are recorded in the Registers of the Parish Church of Almondbury. License for Marriages has also been granted. The Old Chapel was generally nicknamed “ Old Peg,” though its dedication has always been to the Blessed Virgin, but the reason is not apparent. We have also heard it called “ Moll.” With respect to the third and present Church, the following notes are copied from a memorandum in the handwriting of the Rev. Charles Drawbridge, the devoted and successful Minister of Honley, as Curate-in-charge and Incumbent from 1823 to 1862.

In the year 1825, Honley Chapel was considered to be in a state requiring repair. The rafters of the ceiling were then in so dilapidated a state, that some of them had rotted at the ends, were falling on the Plaster, and were in danger of breaking through. The pews (many of which were very ancient ; some of them dated in the 16th century, having pertained to the Chapel first built in 1507) were in a very ruinous condition. They were therefore all taken down in 1825, and the bottom was re-pewed, as well as other extensive repairs undertaken, to the amount of about £60 to £100. But in the year 1830, the Rev. Robert Smith, being the Incumbent, and the Rev. Charles Drawbridge, Curate, and Mr. James Stocks, of Fisher Green, being Chapelwarden, the roof being observed from the outside to sink in some parts, considerable apprehension arose among the Congregation. It was therefore thought advisable to consult R. D. Chantrell, Esq., the eminent Architect, then of Leeds, as to the actual state of the and as to the best mode of repair and improvement.

In January, 1840, Mr. Chantrell sent to the Committee the Report; which when the Committee had duly considered, they judged that Mr. Chantrell’s suggestion, viz.: of taking down the Old Chapel, and on the foundation building a New Church, was worthy of further consideration. They therefore resolved to ascertain it sufficient funds could be raised to accomplish this work. This being found practicable, the Committee came to the resolution in Nov., 1841, to commence forthwith preparations for rebuilding the Church, and in consequence on January 9th, 1842, notice was given to the Congregation that Divine Service would be performed in the National School, commencing the following Sunday, and continue until the New Church should be completed. On that Sunday, Jan. 9th, 1842, a very large Congregation assembled for the last time in the Old Chapel. The Rev. C. Drawbridge, who had officiated there for 19 years as Curate, preached from Psalm xxvi, 8, ‘‘ Lord, I have loved the habitation of Thy house ;” dividing the subject into two parts: In the first noticing the past history of the sacred building, and secondly,

Page 355

HONLEY. 293

examining the testimonies of our love for the Lord’s House. The occasion was felt by the numerous assembly to be a very solemn one. On the next morning, the Contractors entered the building and began dismantling and throwing down. The New Church was opened on Thursday, 26th October, 1843. The subject taken for the first Sermon was from Exodus xx, 14, ‘‘In all places where I record My name, I will come unto thee and bless thee.” The fund contributed for the rebuilding of St. Mary’s Church, which amounted to above £4000, was supplied as under. Here it is but just to Mr. James Stocks, Merchant, of Fisher Green, the Churchwarden, to state that by his ability, activity and diligence, the New Church arose to its completion, amidst many difficulties, chiefly through the roguery of the Contractors and carelessness and mismanagement of Clerks of the Works. The Foundation Stone was laid by Mr. Thomas Brooke, of Northgate House, February 14th, 1842.

DONATIONS. fey The Ripon Diocesan Church Building Society ...............- 400 O The Right Hon, William, Earl of Dartmouth ................ 320 O Manya Ap nen Armalite ate) «io crate pict ole 500 O Muang be ia ts) sted 5 « 500 O de sane nie vine a eee eae 6 said aie «6 200 O FSG. canes 150 O Nes OR ANGI ss 100 O John Brooke, Geo. Beaumont and Mrs. Waddington, each £50.. 150 Oo James Stocks, £30. Co-operative Society, £24 54) 5h 6 Charles Brook, Edw. Brooke, E. Vickerman, Mr. Leah (Bierley) Weesy LOO! clues ers evs, 100 O Braker ace sos tine eens I0 10 O Miss Brooke, Miss E. Brooke, B. L. Shaw, W. Wilkinson, B. Mellor, Joseph Haigh, John Dyson, Thomas Dyson and Brook, GAGS sa) cts nia are ain o> 90 Oo J. Kilner and Thomas Schofield, each £5 I0 I0 O Walter Platt, Rev. C. Drawbridge, Mr. and Mrs. Tidswell, W. Green Armitage, Wm. Leigh, W. Drawbridge, Abm. Little- wood, George Lockwood, B. France and Son, Wm. Bottom- ley, Mrs. Donkersley, B. Littlewood, Joseph Littlewood, Mrs. Eastwood, Charles Hallas, Miss Smith, Rev. George Hough and Mrs. W. Leigh, each £5 90 O Smaller Subscriptions ae ote aie ae motets ats 42 17 I0 GE « 200 710 Ear ais 47 15 II 2785 6 7 William Brooke, Esq., made up the balance ...... 1434 11 8

PROTA COSt pases ce cose Meera £4219 18 3

Page 356

294 ST. MARY’S CHAPEL,

The repairs mentioned above as necessary in 1825, do not seem to have been fully effected in that year, as stated by the Rev. C. Drawbridge. For though at a Vestry Meeting held April 15th, 1825, it was resolved: “ That the Chapel be put into repair ;” yet in 1826, a Citation was received from the Ecclesiastical Court of York to compel repairs; and on the 31st August, 1826, it was determined to obey the mandate. The work seems to have been inefficiently done ; for in 1831 the Chapel was again reported as “ much out of repair,’ and it was resolved to remedy the defect.

For many years litigation had been carried on in order to compel the Ratepayers of Crosland and Netherthong to contribute towards the expenses of Honley Chapel. Considerable sums were expended, but in 1833 the Vestry finally resolved to abandon the claim for any contribution from these Townships ; New Churches having been built in each place. The New Church was an immense improvement on the old one, which was in avery plain style. It has capacious Galleries on three sides ; the Organ in the West; the Nave being sustained by six Arches. It is in the Gothic style, and has a lofty Tower at the West end, 105 feet high, which contains a clock and one bell. The Chancel is small but contains two Monuments. Length of the Nave, 78 feet; breadth, including Aisles, 47 feet. The following inscriptions appear : ‘‘This Church was rebuilt in the years 1842 and 1843; by which means 242 additional Sittings have been obtained ; and in consequence of a Grant from the Incorporated Society for promoting the building and enlargement of Churches and Chapels, 150 of the number are hereby declared free and unappropriated for ever.” ‘“This ORGAN, dedicated to the Worship and glory of God, was presented by

Miss Marshall, of Northgate Mount, and was opened the 17th December,

A.D. 1858. Rev. Charles Drawbridge, Incumbent.

William Wilkinson, } ‘ » Geo, ‘Wim: Churchwardens. The following Monumental inscriptions :

**T have longed for Thy salvation, O Lord, and Thy Law is my cxix, v. 174.

J.—Sacred to the Memory of Wi1LL1AM Brooke, late of North-

Page 357

HONLEY, 295

gate Mount; who departed this life on the 21st day of April, 1846, aged 82 years. Also Hannah, his wife, who died the 26th day of March, 1840, aged 78 years. II.—Sacred to the Memory of Anne and Elizabeth, the beloved daughters of Thomas and Anne Brooke, of Northgate House, who fell asleep in Jesus, the former on the 11th December, 1847, the latter on the 26th of March, 1849, in the 16th year of their age.

‘* Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of his Psalm cxvi, v. 15.

III.—S.M. of Berry, wife of THomas LEIGH, w. d. 1. the 18th January, 1814, aged 76 years. Also the above named Thomas Leigh, who died March 27th, 1825, aged 72 years. Also Eliza- beth, their daughter, who was seized by the hands of death on the 24th day of April, 1837, in the 6oth year of her age. ** Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord.”—Reyv. xiy, 13. IV.—In Memory of Sarah, relict of JouN WappINcToN (and daughter of Robert and Lydia Walker, of Far End, Honley), who died January 2oth, 1846, aged $4 years. Also Edward Crossley Waddington, their son, who was born the 17th June, 1800, and died 26th April, 1852, and is interred in the Church Burial Ground, in the City of New Brunswick. Also Charles John - Waddington, their son, who was born 2nd Febry., 1802, and died gth Dec., 1852. Also Sophia Waddington, their daughter, who was born 25th June, 1794, and died 9th August, 1854. V.—Sacred to the Memory of Mary Anne, the beloved wife of GEoRGE Jessop, who departed this life March r4th, 1868, in the 73rd year of her age. ‘¢ For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.”—Philippians i, v. 21. VI.—In Memory of RicHarpD Jessop, who died Feby. 3rd, 1865, aged 34 years. Also of George Jessop, junr., who died

Jany. 20th, 1866, aged 37 years. “*Thy will be done.”

VII.—In Memory of the REv. CHARLES DRAWBRIDGE, who for thirty-eight years laboured zealously in this Chapelry, as the Minister of Christ; he died on the rst day of February, 1862, in the 71st year of his age. This TABLET is erected by an affectionate and sorrowing flock,

Page 358

296 ST. MARY’S CHAPEL,

under a deep sense of their obligation to his earnest, faithful and devoted Ministry among them.

‘*For I determined not to know anything among you, save Jesus Christ and Him Cor. ii, v. 2.

The following Memorial is also placed outside the Church : In Memory of the Rev. Charles Drawbridge, who was born at Brompton, Kent, Nov. 5th, 1790. In the year 1809 he was gazetted as Ensign in the Royal Artillery, and was promoted to be first Lieutenant in 1811. He served with his corps in the Peninsular War, and at Waterloo. Having retired on half pay in 1820, he was ordained in 1823, and for more than 38 years he fulfilled the duties, first of Curate and then of Incumbent of this Chapelry, with untiring zeal, fidelity and love. He fell asleep in Jesus Febry. 1st, 1862, aged 71 years. ‘* A good soldier of Jesus Tim. ii, v. 3. Also of Sarah Anne, widow of the Rev. Charles Drawbridge, who died July 31st, 1863, aged 74 years. Also Marian, their second daughter, who died June 22nd, 1860, aged 30 years.

‘‘Them also which sleep in Jesus will God bring with Him.”— 1 Thess. iv, v. 14.

INCUMBENT AND ASSISTANT CURATES OF HONLEY.

It is now probably impossible to construct a correct list of the Curates of Honley. The following names occur: In 1575, Robert Cryer, M.A., Curate of Honley, attests Deeds executed by Sir Robert Stapleton. His daughter Esabella baptized at Almondbury, 1578; Susanna, Feb., 158r. 1582, JAMES MaRTINDALE. See Baptism of son, page 113. 1618, JOHN Binns, M.A., of Bank End, in Thurstonland; who resigned the Curacy of Honley for that of Holmfirth. See More- house’s Kirkburton, p. 126-27. In Register I, Almondbury, Feb. 4, 1610, Marriage of Bartin Allot and Grace Byns. 1662, THomas Dury, refused to subscribe the Act of Uniformity ; but “was still in possession of the Public Chapel” at the end of Septr., 1663. See Hunter’s Life of Oliver Heywood. 1681, J. buried 27 Dec., 1681. He seems to have

at ea

Page 359

HONLEY. 297

been like minded with Mr. Dury ; for in his last illness he sent for the Rev. Oliver Heywood to visit him. (Morehouse.)

1685, WILLIAM Bray, B.A., Minister of Honley. Signs the Terrier of Lands bequeathed to Honley and Meltham Chapels by Godfrey Beaumont. 1708, Mr. Wayp. 1725, JOHN WILSON. Mr. Murgatroyd, for many years Curate of Almondbury, but residing at Lingards, mentions May 11th, 1766. Mr. Wilson, the late Curate of Honley’s son, who has a place near Otley and was my Schoolfellow, preach’d at Meltham this day Afané. I suppose came to get this Curacy. 1733, [THOMAS BROOKE. We learn from Mr. Richard Brooke, of Leeds, that this Mr. Brooke was father of the Rev. Samuel Brooke, M.A., Head Master of Almondbury Grammar School ; and he has Manuscript Sermons in his possession preached at Honley from the years 1720 to 1733, written in a peculiar and more ancient hand than those of the later years. He lived at Almondbury, and held the Curacy of Honley during those years. He traces the family to the Brookes of Mere, in Cheshire; in whom were merged the Estates of the Mottershead family, by the marriage of Elizabeth Hollinshead Mottershead, the heiress. Further particulars will hereafter appear from the same source. STEPHEN Carr. His widow died in 1715, aged 90. He probably preceded Mr. Wilson. 1742, WILLIAM CrorT, died 1760. Epwarp HasLeHaM, B.A. For the following communication I am indebted to Mr. Morehouse : The Rev. E. Haslam succeeded the Rev. Mr. Crofts in the Incumbency of Honley. He died and was interred at Honley January 14th, 1788, having been Incumbent of Honley Chapel nearly 30 years, and Master of the Free Grammar School, Almondbury. He was Author of ‘‘A Sermon, preached at the Parish Church of Batley, in the County of York, occasioned by the Enthusiasts (Methodists) of that place,” 1753. He occupied a farm in Honley in 1764. He was succeeded by

1788, JOHN ALEXANDER, M.A.

1793-94, Rev. Mr. Mason often officiated at Honley. In 1795 an application was made to the Bishop that a Resident Curate might be appointed. — BALMFORTH,

Page 360

298 ST. MARY’S CHAPEL,

1813, RoBERT PICKLES. 1814, T. R. WINSTANLEY, afterwards D.D. 1815, PETER ASHWORTH. 1817-45, Roperr SmitH, B.A., Incumbent; was suspended from officiating. 1823-44, CHARLES DRAWBRIDGE, Curate-in-charge. 1825-47, THomMAS Dawson, Assistant Curate. 1845-62, CHARLES DRAWBRIDGE, Incumbent. 1862-64, EpwarpD Watson, formerly Curate of Almond- bury, Incumbent ; now Vicar of Meltham. 1864, JoHN Jones, formerly Curate of Kirkburton, and Incumbent of Milnsbridge, and remains to this day. The three latter Clergy appointed by the Rev. Lewis Jones. Since 1840 the following names occur as Assistant Curates : Revs. T. Schofield, Josiah Rogers, Thomas Barton Bensted, William Knight, E. Davies, E. Carr, E. Boyden, J. S. E. Spencer, H. Sindler, — Yates, W. E. Chapman (now Vicar of St. Mary’s, Sowerby), P. Cronin, — Gould, J. I. Hall, T. Longstaff.

(CHAPELWARDENS OF HONLEY FROM 1746.

1746 Wm. Brooke, 1747-48 John Cockin, 1750 Jon. Sykes, Woodbottom, 1751-5 William Crossley, 1756-8 Emmanuel Bothomley (Ginn), 1759 Richard Armitage, Hall Ing, 1760-1 Joseph Moorhouse (Tominals), 1762 John Lock- wood (Brockholes), 1763 Matthew Haigh (Rydings), 1764 Joseph Walker, 1765-6 Joseph Swallow (Oldfield), 1767 Godfrey Berry (Deanhouse), 1768 Richard Woffenden (Stagwood Bottom), 1769-70 John Littlewood (Banks), 1771-2 Jon. Sanderson, 1773-5 Wm. Jaggar, 1776-7 Mr. Joseph Armitage, 1778-80 Thomas Cockin, 1781-3 Mr. George Armitage, 1784 Joshua Moor- house, 1785-6 Benjamin Battley, 1787 Matthew Kaye, 1788-95 John Brooke, 1796 Benj. Townsend (Banks), 1797 James Armitage, 1798 Nathaniel Berry (Deanhouse), 1799-1800 Joseph Woodhead (Thurstan), 1801 Mr. William Brooke, 1802-3 James Armitage (Reins), 1804-14, Mr. Thomas Leigh (Top of Town), 1815-16 Robert Bradley, 1816-19 Mr. Joseph Armitage (High Royd), 1820-21 Charles Littlewood, 1822 Jos. Robinson, 1823 Robert Robinson, 1824 Joshua Charlesworth, died in office ; and on August 5th Thomas Sanderson appointed to succeed and continued until 1828 George Jessop, 1829 John Littlewood, 1830-1 Thomas Brooke, 1832-3 Thomas Hallas, 1834-5 John Dyson (Woodnook), 1836-7 Wm. Wilkinson (New Street), 1838 George Beaumont, 1839 Richard Haigh was chosen but refused to serve, 1840-4 James Stocks, 1845-6 Godfrey Drake, 1847 James Haigh, 1848-59 William

Page 361

HONLEY. 299

Wilkinson (1856 Do, and Joseph Whitworth), 1858 George Wm. Farrar, 1859 William Wilkinson, 1860-64 Joseph Hirst, 1865 Joseph Hirst and Joseph Waite, 1866 Joseph Hirst and G. W. Farrar, 1867 Wm. Wilkinson and G. W. Farrar, 1868-69 Wm. Wilkinson, 1870 Wm. Wilkinson and Alfred Beaumont, 1871-74 James F. Lunn and Alfred Beaumont, 1875-76 James F. Lunn and Lupton Littlewood, 1877 Wm. Wilkinson and Richard Little- wood, 1878-80 Wm. Wilkinson and Thomas Farrar, 1881 Wm. Wilkinson and James Mellor.

ORGAN.

The following entries occur in the Old Honley Parish Account Book :—

% ‘sind! THOT (Oct as) 216 1805, Repairing Organ, Case, Seats, Singers’ Gallery, and Pillars for supporting Gallery ............ Repairing Organ at York (by Donaldson and Co.) and) Carmlace 156 18 1 1807, Leading Cupola and other repairs .............. 14 13

1812, Expenses of Suit against Crosland and Thong .... 30 7

oO

HONLEY AND BROCKHOLES CHURCH SCHOOLS.

The former School, which was situated nearly opposite the present ones, dated from 1817, and was subsequently converted into Cottages, the rents of which accrue now as endowment to the Schools. The Trustees of this property are the Incumbent and Churchwardens. The good-looking structure now in use in connection with the Church was built in 1846, at a cost of £ __, the site being given by the late Earl of Dartmouth. ‘The Trustees are the Vicars of Almondbury and Halifax. They were enlarged in 1872, in order that, together with the Brockholes Church Schools, which were also rebuilt and enlarged, they might afford sufficient accommoda- tion for the requirements of the whole parish, in accordance with the Elementary Education Act (1870). Each of the three rooms was lengthened zoft., and two additional Class Rooms and three Lavatories were erected, at a cost of £1,250, of which sum £246 1s. tod. was granted by the Education Department; and there is included the value of an adjoining piece of land requisite to

Page 362

300 ST. MARY'S CHAPEL, HONLEY.

enlarge the site, which was given by the present Earl of Dartmouth with his usual liberality, besides a pecuniary donation of £100. Mrs. Brooke and family, Messrs. Jonas Brook and Brothers, and Mr. Alfred Beaumont each £200; and other Subscriptions amounting altogether to £1,118. The staff consists of a Certificated Master, an Assistant Master, and three Pupil Teachers for the Boys’ School; a Certificated Mistress, an Assistant Mistress and two Pupil Teachers each for the Girls’ and Infants’ Schools. The following is an abstract of the accommodation and size of the Schools: Boys’, 68ft. by 21ft.; Girls’, 5234ft. by 21/ft.; Infants’, 68ft. by 25ft. Each School has a Class Room attached. The number of Scholars on the Sunday School Register is 403, average attendance 280; on the Day School Register 653, average

attendance 4o1. BROCKHOLES.

The Old School was built by subscription in 1837. It was re- built and enlarged in 1872-73, at a cost of £651 15s. 10d, inclusive of the site, given here aiso by the Earl of Dartmouth. The Trustees are the Incumbent and Churchwardens of Honley. It consists of one Schoolroom 5oft. by 18ft., and a Classroom 18ft. by 16ft., and is estimated to accommodate 132 scholars. The School is taught by a Certificated Mistress, assisted by a Pupil Teacher and a Monitor. Number on Sunday School register 100, average attendance 86; Number on Day School Register 96, average attendance 66.

HoNLEY CHURCH IMPROVEMENTS. In the summer of 1878 considerable improvements were carried out. These consisted of the following, besides the cleaning, repairing and painting the entire woodwork of the Church, a complete system of ventilation and of heating by hot water was introduced; the long pews in the body of the Church were made to allow kneeling conveniently, and a neat wooden Screen, with handsomely mounted folding doors, was thrown across the entire width of the Church at the west end, by the side of the gallery stairs, as a protection from the draughts. The total cost, defrayed by Subscriptions and Collections, was £468 18s. 9d.

eS eee

Page 363

ARMITAGE FOLD AND DEANHOUSE. 301

ARMITAGE FOLD, OR THE HERMITAGE.

This place, which is the Seedplot of all the various branches of the Ermitage, Armitage or Armytage family, was the site of a HERMITAGE in ancient times; there is still a very old building of which the history is not known, in the most populous part of the Village of Armitage Bridge, which includes Armitage Fold, and is adjoining the Townships of Honley and South Crosland. The Yorkshire Archeological Journal, Part xxiii, contains the following extract from Dodsworth’s Yorkshire Notes, Wapentake of Agbrigg : Armitage, out of the Leiger of Pontefract, Y 82. Know all p”sent & to come that I, Adam, son of Roger de Crosland, have given, &c., to God & St. John of Pontefract, for the health of my soule & of my Lords Henry, Robert and Roger de Lascy, the Rent of 2s. of Robert, my sonne, yearly, of the Land of the Armitage, within the bounders of Crosland. Witnesses : Hugh Pincerna, then Steward of John, Constable of Chester, &c., fo. 7, c. 456. With the following note: Armitage, a house on the site of an ancient hermitage, in the Township of South Crosland. William del Ermytache and Agnes, his wife, occur in Poll Tax, 2 Ric. II, for this place. A later William Armitage, of the Armitage, was living, temp. Edw. IV. ADMINISTRATIONS to Wills and effects are found as follows, of John A., of Crosland, to Janet and Annie A., 27 July, 1578. John A., of Thick Hollins, to widow Elizth. and son Anthony, 11 Nov., 1589. Roger, of Honley, to James sole Executor, 1 Dec., 1591. Humphrey A., of Dalton, to widow Anne and sons John and Edwd., 19 April, 1594. John A., of Kirkburton, to widow Isabella, 8 May, 1595. Joseph A. and Susanna A., of Honley, to their mother, Janet Brooke, 4 Oct., 1597. In our Register, No. II, we have, Jan. and Feb., 1664, the baptism and burial of Edmund, son of William Hutchinson, of Armitage. DEAN HOUwsE.

There has been an ancient Homestead at the head of the DEAN or VALLEY, running up from the west part of the Township of Honley, and giving its name to a considerable population and a factory. The site of the original messuage is now occupied by

Page 364

302 DEANHOUSE.

the WorkKHOoUSE belonging to the HUDDERSFIELD UNION, and is included in the new Parish of Netherthong. We have in our Register, No. II, Jan., 1657, Joseph Berry, of Oldfield (near Deanhouse), who, returning from Wakefield Market, when not far from his own house, met his death suddenly, as it is believed, from snow and cold. Again, February xi, 1660, Elizabeth Haigh, of Deanhouse, widow, by the downfall of her house was crushed and killed, buried after Coroner’s inquest. Deanhouse formerly belonged to the Stapleton or Stapylton family. We have the following entries in our RecIsTER, No. IT: April, 1679, Sir Brian Stapleton, Baronet, and Madam Anna Kay, of Woodsome, married 15th day Nov., 1681. Henry, son of Sir Brian Stapleton, bapt. 3rd day. In the MSS. Adam de Hopton granted to Brian de Stapleton the Manor of Crosland with the appurtenances ; which said Manor he recovered against John Beamond, Knt., by virtue &c. Dated 29 Edward III, at York. Witnesses, John Sayvill, William Sayvill, John de Kirkby; with the seal of Adam de Hopton, two bars with three mullets on each. Anno 29, Edw. III.—Miles Stapleton, Sheriff of York, made John Forrest, of Armley, Attorney, to deliver to Adam de Hopton possession of the Manor of Crosland, with the appurtenances, which was John de Beaumond’s, of Crossland, Knt. The above grant was for a term of years. 34 Edw. III.—Robert, son and heir of John de Bellemont, . grants to Brian Stapleton, his heirs, the said Manor, on payment for the first 11 years of one rose every year, and after that term 40 Libri at two terms of the year; with conditions for the Dower of Margery, his wife. In the account of the Foedary of the Honor of Pontefract, 8 Rich. 2, of the Relief of Elizabeth, wife of William Nevill, Knt., for the fourth part of one Knight’s fee, lately Sir Stephen Walleys, whose daughter she was, which the foresaid William entered in the right of Elizabeth, his wife, late wife of Brian Stapleton, mother of the said Elizabeth. In the same account 22 Henry VII, Relief of

Brian Stapleton for the fourth part of one Knight’s fee, in Honley, this year.

Page 365

DEANHOUSE. 303

There is a Deed dated the 2oth Oct., 12 Elizabeth, 1570, made between ‘Sir Robert Stapleton, of Bighall, in the Countie of the Citie of York, Knyght, on the one partie, and John Beaumont, of Deynhouse, in Honley, in the Countie of York, Husbandman, on the other partie.’ This was probably a Lease, for on the 5th April, 21 James, 1623, appears an Indenture made between “Sr. John Ramsden, of Longley, in the Countye of Yorke, Knyght, John Ramsden, of Larch Hall, and Thomas Nettleton, of Lees Hall, in the said Countye of Yorke, Gentlemen, and Willm. Platt, of Worsborough, in the said Countye of York, Gentleman, and Elizabeth, his wife, of the one partie, and Henry Beaumont, of Deynhouse, Yeoman, of the other partie.” This Henry Beaumont had two sons, Richard and Joseph. Deanhouse remained in possession of the Beaumonts until the year 1675, in which year it was purchased from Abraham Beaumont by Joseph Armitage, of Dudmanstone, Yeoman, uncle of George Armitage, from whom descended the Highroyd and Milnsbridge branch (see page 238). Joseph Armitage died in 1689, and by his will, dated 6 Oct., 1686, he left ‘“ All that messuage or tenement called by the name of the Deanhouse, and all the Ilouses, Barns, Buildings, Lands, Closes and Groundes to the same belonging,” to his nephew, Joshua Woodhead, of Toothill, in the township of Rastrick, from whom it was purchased in 1719 by John Wilkinson, Esq., of Greenhead, whose daughter Ellen having married Sir John Lister Kaye, of Denby Grange, fourth Baronet, it thus passed into the hands of the Kayes. The family of Berry next came into possession of Deanhouse, it being purchased in the year 1763, together with other premises at Honley, for the sum of £400, from Sir John Lister Kaye, 5th Bart., by Godfrey Berry. He was nephew and executor of John Berry, of Holmroyd, in the parish of Almondbury, whose will was proved at York, dated 16 Jan., 1759, and a member of a family which has been seated in this neighbourhood for many generations. Godfrey Berry, who was constable in 1760, and Chapelwarden of Honley in the year 1767, was buried at Almondbury 31 Jan., 1781. Nathaniel Berry, of Deanhouse, was also Chapelwarden in 1798,

Page 366

304 BROCKHOLES.

In the year 1835 the property passed to Joseph, Benjamin and James Eastwood; and in May, 1860, was conveyed to the Guardians of the Huddersfield Union as a site for a new Work- house: and a considerable building of comparatively modern erection forms part of the house. It had been in the occupation of Mr. Thomas Crookes, as tenant, from 1835 to a then recent date. A sole surviving son of whom, Thomas Crookes, is now a successful National Schoolmaster. It appears that the Rev. John Wesley preached in the Holm Valley. Mr. Morehouse (page 223) says, “It was not till 1788 (only three years before his death) that we find Mr. Wesley visited the vale of the Holme and the Parish of Kirkburton.” On the 3oth April in that year he records preaching at Honley about eleven o’clock. ‘After the Curate had read prayers to a large and serious congregation, I preached on ‘It is appointed unto al! men once to die,’ I believe many felt as well as heard the word.” The first Chapel which arose from the preaching of Mr. Wesley in the Holme Valley was erected at DEANHOUSE, near Netherthong, in 1789. In this, usually called the Netherthong Chapel, Mr. Wesley is reported to have preached.

St. GEORGE’Ss CHURCH, BROCKHOLES.

This small but pretty Gothic Church, with spire, stands on an elevated rock, almost perpendicular, and in the midst of the lovely vallies stretching from the village of Honley towards Holm- firth and Hepworth. It was erected in the year 1861, on a site given by the present Right Honourable William Walter, Earl of Dartmouth, and was consecrated in 1862 by the present Bishop Bickersteth, at the sole cost of Miss Marianne Armitage, so frequently mentioned as a benefactor to the several Churches of Almondbury, Honley, and Milnsbridge, in which she was interested by residence, property, and family Memorials. She was somewhat eccentric; but decidedly Protestant and greatly interested in the conversion of the Jews. She gave a small endowment for its repair and support. It has not yet had any legal district assigned, but has been supplied as a Chapel of Ease by the Incumbent of

Page 367

BROCKHOLES, 305

St. Mary’s Church, and his Curates. The late Mr. George Armi- tage, of Milnsbridge House, her eldest nephew, during his life took a lively interest in the Church. With reference to whom and to her father, George Armitage, Esq., of Highroyd, the name was probably given. The family of Brooke, with Mr. James Robinson and Mr. John Mitchell, the first and still continuous Churchwarden, have been zealous supporters. The Church was first licensed by the Bishop. The Sentence of Consecration is dated 28th April, 1863. The appointment to the Church, as an Incumbency, is vested in the Vicar of Almondbury. There is a Railway Station near; and the Schools are situated at the foot of the hill. There is a Bell, which was given to Miss Armitage for the purpose, by the Author of this work; having formerly belonged to his father’s property in Shropshire, and was rung at the marriage of his parents and at his own birth. Mr. Morehouse observes : “Brockholes” is compounded of Grvoc (Anglo-Saxon), a Badger, and o/h, which signifies a cave, den, or hollow in the earth.” An old Messuage, Over Brockholes or Bank End, was existing there in the reign of Edward III, when John Brockholes, who appears _ to have been the last of that surname, granted this estate to John Dyson, son of Adam Dyson, of Lynthwaite. The name answers very much to the character of this immediate locality : which is a deep woody ravine, where the badger and other wild animals in former ages might find shelter and security. It runs up to Thurstonland, the adjoining Township, where is also a new Church, in the Parish of Kirkburton. Over Brockholes was the native place of the Reverend Christian Binns, already mentioned, and there he died, 1669.

PART III.—L.

Page 368

If PartsH OF Hoty TRINITY, SOUTH CROSLAND.

Situated on an elevated position, commanding an extensive view of Whitley Beaumont, Castle Hill and the hills above Meltham, with a lovely valley beneath, the woods running from Honley to Meltham in front, is the Church of Holy Trinity, South Crosland. The first stone was laid with a solemn Service, and bore this inscription, on a plate : ‘¢ This first Stone of a Church, to be called the Holy Trinity Church, in the Township of South Crosland, in the Parish of Almondbury, built under the direction of the Honourable Board of Commissioners for Building New Churches, was laid by the Rev. Lewis JONEs, on this 15th day of October, A.D. 1827, being the eighth year of the reign of His Majesty, King George the Fourth.” RIcHARD HENRY BEAUMONT, EsqQ., Donor of the Site. Mr. P. Atkinson, Architect. Mr. Joseph Mellor, Churchwarden. The number of Seats to let was 378; Free for the Poor 322; Total 700. The Church has a Gallery on three sides. The font was in front of the Pulpit. There is a lofty battlemented tower, containing One Bell. The whole in the plain Gothic style of the period. The first Incumbent was the Reverend George Hough, previously Curate of Earl’s Heaton, Dewsbury. He continued in remarkable health and vigour of mind, with decided Evangelical piety, until within two years of his death; just half a century after the laying of the first stone of the Church. Upon the day of completing the 8oth year of his age, July rst, 1877, he took severe cold: but continued his Ministry, with the aid of his Curate and successor, the Rev. George Coulton,* until his departure in perfect peace on

* The appointment of Mr. Coulton by the Vicar of Almondbury was greatly promoted by,the dying recommendation of Mr, Hough: with whom he had been ‘‘as ason in the Gospel,”

Page 369

HOLY TRINITY, SOUTH CROSLAND. 307

the 6th day of June, 1879. His Incumbency was a period of unbroken activity, self denial and usefulness; his simplicity of habits became proverbial ; joined with true kindness and liberality. Under whose care the National and Memorial Schools and the Parsonage House arose. The Church was not endowed for many years. He resided in a house at Netherton, and subsidized the very small clerical income by taking pupils : among whom are now several of the most distinguished gentlemen in the neighbourhood. In the year 1877 a Window was placed in the East end of the Church, representing “The Good Samaritan,” in four compart- ments—and on a brass plate in the Chancel the following inscription : “The adjoining East Window is designed to commemorate the opening of this Church for Divine Worship, on October 23rd, 1829; and to be an Affectionate Memorial of the Rev. GEORGE Hove, Vicar and first Incumbent, having completed the 8oth year of his age, July 1st, 1877; in the 48th year of his Incumbency.” “Worship the Lord in the Beauty of Holiness; in Spirit and in truth. Jesus Christ came into the World to save sinners. Surely I come quickly. Amen. Even so, come Lord Jesus.” Under the Window: “ The Son of God came to seek and to save that which was lost.” The Artists were Messrs. Lavers, Barrand and Westlake, Endall Street, Bloomsbury, London ; total cost £300. At the West end of the Churchyard is a Tombstone : In Memory of Ann, wife of the Rev. G. Hough, Minister of this Church ; who departed this life May 31st, 1834, aged 43 years. Mary, daughter of the above George and Ann Hough, who died February gth, 1842, aged 5 years. Also Margaret Ann, daughter of the above George and Ann Hough, who died May 30th, 1854, aged 22 years. Also Elizabeth Hough, the beloved sister of the said George Hough, who departed this life December 24th, 1870, aged 75

years. Miss Hough’s virtues and pious labours at Crosland and

Netherton have been commemorated by the erection of Memorial Schools at Netherton. Mrs. Hough was a member of the family of Leigh, of Royd House, in Farnley Tyas (see page 66); and sister of the worthy brothers Thomas, Joseph and William Leigh,

Page 370

308 HOLY TRINITY,

The last of whom built Eldon House, Almondbury (see pages 16 and 115), and gave £20 to the Parish Church Restoration. The Author has been favoured with the following “ HisToRICAL ReEcorpDs” respecting the New Parish of South Crosiand :

The Church of South Crosland was built under the Act 59 Geo. III, chapter 34. The Foundation Stone was laid on the 15th day of October, 1829, and was originally a Chapelry of the ancient Parish of Almondbury; and the Officiating Minister was an Incumbent and was denominated by Act of Parlia- ment ‘‘Stipendiary Curate.” The Church was originally intended to be built of ordinary Wallstone. From a copy, however, of a petition to the then Church Commissioners, in which was set out that the Contracts for the erection of the Church amounted to the small sum of £2,105 8s. 8d. (exclusive of the inclosure of the Churchyard) ; the petitioners prayed the Commissioners for a Grant of £63, in order that the Church might be built of Ashlar; £63 being stated as the additional cost to be incurred by the substitution of Ashlar, and any expense beyond which the Inhabitants undertook to supply : and which petition was granted. By Order in Council, roth December, 1842, a legal Ecclesiastical District was assigned to South Crosland, with defined boundaries. Order published in the London Gazette of 7th March, 1843. On the death of the Rev. Lewis Jones, the then Vicar of Almondbury, in August, 1866, the District of South Crosland became, under Lord Blandford’s Act, 19 and 20 Vic., chap. 4 (1856), a New Parish, and the Incumbent then became the Vicar; and the Easter Offerings, which had been commuted into a Rent Charge, became thereby due to the Vicar: and which, so far as those relating to Mag Lordship are concerned, have been redeemed. The Rev. HouGu was the first Incumbent and Vicar, and continued Vicar to the time of his death, 6th June, 1879. The Rev. GEORGE COULTON, for above two years Curate, succeeded him as Vicar on the 12th day of July, 1879, by appointment of the Rev. Canon Charles Augustus Hulbert, the Patron, as Vicar of Almondbury. The NATIONAL SCHOOLS in connection with the Church were erected in- 1833. The Vicarage House was erected in 1846, by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners, but Mr. Hough contributed to its better dimensions. The total Annual Rent Charges in lieu of Easter Dues, &c., for that portion of the New Parish included in Mag Lordship, producing a gross income of £9 1s. Id., were, in 1877, redeemed by payment to the Governors of Queen Anne’s Bounty of the sum of £217 6s., which amount is invested by them in the funds and the income paid to the Vicar. That portion arising from the Township of South Crosland, still attached to the Vicarage, is commuted but

Page 371

SOUTH CROSLAND. 309

not redeemed ; but of the value of £4 per annum. £1 payable to the Vicar of Helme on account of his portion of the Township, and §s. to the Vicar of Milnsbridge. The COMMUNION PLATE, etc., consists of Silver Flaggon, One pair of Silver Chalices, One Silver Paten, and a Silver Alms Dish: all the Gift of the late Miss Marianne Armitage, of Honley. The income of the Church, derived from Ecclesiastical Commissioners, is £164; Queen Anne’s Bounty, £6 15s.; Tithe Rent Charge, £4; Pew Rents, £88; Surplice Fees, about £14. Total £276 15s. The present CHANCEL was erected in 1860 by public Subscription. The present ORGAN was also erected by public Subscription, and was built by Messrs. Kertland and Jardine, of Manchester, and opened in April, 1864. The cost of the Organ itself was £430. The MemoriaL Netherton, was built in 1873, in Memory of the sister of Mr. Hough, the Vicar, and who had lived with him since the death of his wife in 1834. Miss Hough had endeared herself to the Parishioners, and as a Memorial of their attachment they erected a School in Netherton to her Memory. She died on the 24th day of December, 1870. The School is now used partly for an Infants’ School, and Divine Service is also conducted there. The late Mr. Hough himself purchased the freehold for the site of the School and adjoining ground (containing altogether 4,840 yards) from the Trustees of Godfrey Beaumont’s Charity, for the sum of £242: and the property was conveyed by Deed, dated 15th Septr., 1873, from George Armitage, Joseph Taylor Armitage and William Brooke, Esquires (Trustees), to the Rev. George Hough, and Messrs. James Wrigley, Joseph Wrigley, Henry Wrigley, George Dyson and James Albert Wrigley as Trustees of the Building of the School, to be used as therein mentioned for the purpose of education and Church Services, and wide discretionary powers are contained in the Deed for the Trustees to alter the Trusts, and particularly to make conveyance of the whole or part of the premises for the site of a Church. WorMALL’s CHaARITy. Under the scheme for application of the funds of this Charity (see page 138), pursuant to an order of the Court of Chancery, of roth August, 1833, the Trustees are to apply the residue of the income towards the relief of aged, infirm, blind and decrepid poor persons, inhabitants of the Parish

Page 372

310 HOLY TRINITY,

of Almondbury, not receiving parochial relief. South Crosland being one of the Townships within the Parish, has hitherto received a small annual sum for distribution amongst the poor. There is a scheme in contemplation, and nearly completed by the Charity Commissioners, for appropriating the funds entirely for educational purposes, principally for the Grammar School of King James I. at Almondbury, and also to a Technical School at Huddersfield, by the establishment of Scholarships open to all the inhabitants of the ancient Parish of Almondbury, including South Crosland. Goprrey BeauMont’s Cuarity. G. B. by his will dated 31st March, 1672, directs his Trustees to pay yearly to the poor people of South Crosland the sum of 4os., to be equally distributed at the discretion of the Overseers of the Poor there, from time to time, for ever. Also to pay the sum of £3 to the School Master of South Crosland, who shall teach children there from time to time, for the time being, for ever. CuHaRIty OF RICHARD BEAUMONT, Esq. By a scheme sanctioned by the Court of Chancery, order dated 30th November, 1859, the funds of this Charity are to be applicable for the putting out of apprentices. The portion now applicable to South Crosland consists of £344 19s. 1d., three per cent. annuities, and a sum of about £60 in the Bank. Gross income (including Rent Charge on Estate) £20 6s. Itis now contemplated to obtain from the Court of Chancery a new scheme, so as to devote the Trust monies, at the discretion of the Trustees, to educational purposes. The Vicar of South Crosland is an Trustee. Mr. W. J. Dunderdale, agent to H. F. Beaumont, Esq., of Whitley Hall, is agent to the trust.

Rev. GEORGE HouGuH’s LEGACIES.

Mr. Houcu bequeathed £200, one half the interest to be devoted to the expenses of Divine Worship at Netherton, in the School or any future Church, and the other to the maintenance of the said School. A further sum of £200, “the income to be paid

Page 373

SOUTH CROSLAND. 311

to the Vicar alone that he may appropriate the same as follows, namely, to give to the children satisfactorily leaving the South Crosland National School, a nice Bible each, and give to each of the Candidates for Confirmation in connection with the Parish of South Crosland, a Bible of not less value than Three Shillings, immediately after Confirmation.” He also gave the sum of £200 to the increase of the living, of which, he says, I have been the Incumbent and Vicar for upwards of 49 years; to be met by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners, or in case of their failure, £500 instead of £200 to be paid by his residuary legatees. On Mr. Hough’s death a sum of £460 was raised by subscription, and this sum, together with Mr. Hough’s legacy of £500, was offered to the Ecclesiastical Commissioners, and they made an equivalent grant to increase the Endowment of the living, granting altogether an Annual Grant of £64, being part of the £164 above mentioned as being receivable from them. He also gives £100 to his executors to be applied in such manner they think best in any scheme for the REDEMPTION of the TITHE RENT CHARGE in lieu of Easter Dues in any part of the ancient Parish of Almondbury. The respective sums of £200 and £200 legacies for the Schools have been transferred into the names of the Vicar and Churchwardens, and the monies are now in the Halifax and Huddersfield Union Bank. The £100 for the redemption of Easter Dues in the Ancient Parish of Almondbury has not yet been appropriated, and the money lies in the hands of the executors of the late Mr. Hough, awaiting some scheme for its application. Mr. Hough, in his lifetime, deposited in the Halifax and Huddersfield Bank a sum of £50. This sum with interest on the 2nd Feb., 1881, amounted to £54 38. 1d. The following is a copy of the Memorandum attached to the Deposit Note and in Mr. Hough’s handwriting : “This sum of £50, with the interest accrued thereon, shall be paid to the Vicar and Churchwardens of the Parish of Holy Trinity, 5. Crosland, towards the expense of providing New Buriat Grounp for the Church or Parish, when-

Page 374

312 HOLY TRINITY, SOUTH CROSLAND.

ever that shall be, limited to the use of the Church Services. The above sum is paid in consideration of double fees for the interment, and for tombs of Non-Parishioners, received at various

times by the Vicar. Signed, GEORGE Houcu.

The before cited HisrorRIcAL RECORD was read at the Vestry Meeting, Easter Monday, 1881. Signed, George Coulton, Chair- man, George Dyson, J. A. Wrigley, Churchwardens, Henry Wrigley, Law Armitage, D. White, Joseph Radcliffe, Sidesmen. The above will afford ample illustration of the character of the devoted Vicar; who had no original local ties to the Parish, being a native of London, and having received his religious impressions at St. John’s Chapel, Bedford Row, under the Rev. Daniel Wilson, afterwards Vicar of Islington, and Bishop of Calcutta. His brother, the Rev. James Hough, M.A., F.C.P.S., Chaplain to the Honourable East India Company at Madras, afterwards Incumbent of Ham, Surrey, was the Author of the History of Christianity in India from the commencement of the Christian Era, in five volumes. Further particulars will hereafter appear respecting the exemplary Vicar of South Crosland. He published an Annual Address to his parishioners, and his last labour was a brief exposition of the Revelation. No list of Churchwardens has been found. Among the influen- tial supporters of the Church were W. W. Stables, Esq., Crosland Hall, and Charles Brook, Esq., Healey House, and the families of Wrigley and Dyson. Mr. James Wrigley, has been Chairman of the Huddersfield Union for nearly 20 years; and the other gentlemen whose names appear above are worthy successors, to whom the Author is much indebted for information. The erection of the Memorial Church at Helme has somewhat diverted the interest of the Brook family, but a flourishing and intelligent neighbourhood well supports the Church. Allusion has already been made to the distinction yet connection of the families of Brook of Meltham and Brooke of Honley. The following particulars relate to the former.

Page 375

HEALEY HOUSE. 313

HEALEY HOUvusE.

Adjoining the grounds of Crosland Hall are those of HEALEY House. A modern mansion, erected in the year 1802 by the then owner of the Manor, and still belonging to Henry Frederick Beaumont, Esq., of Whitley Beaumont; but which has been held and occupied on lease by the late Charles Brook, Esq., and his widow for above 60 years. Mr. Brook enlarged it by the addition of two wings, one of which contains a Conservatory, and the other domestic offices. It has a handsome front looking south towards the Meltham valley and the wood stretching from Honley to Thick Hollins. There is now a Railway Station bearing the name of ‘“ Healey House,” but from which it is secluded in beautiful plantations. CHARLES Brook, of Healey House, youngest son of William Brook, Esq., of Meltham, and a member of the eminent firm of ‘Jonas Brook and Brothers,” was born March 12th, 1792, died Noy. 13th, 1869, and was buried at Christ Church, Helme, near Meltham. He married ANNE, eldest child of William Brooke, Esq., of Northgate House, Honley, now living, May, 1881, in her g2nd year. The issue is as follows.” I. born June 30th, 1822, married Helen, daughter of W. Johnson, ‘Esq., of Derby. Issue, three sons and five daughters. Second daughter dead. II. FRANCEs, unmarried. III. Anne, married the Rev. Frederick George Blomfield, Rector of St. Andrew’s, Undershaft, London, Prebendary of St. Paul’s, eldest son of the Right Rev. Charles time Lord Bishop of London, who died Feb., 1879. Issue, one son and five daughters. Third daughterdead. His relict still surviving. IV. Emma, died in infancy. V. James, born Dec. 23rd, 1826, graduated at Worcester College, Oxford, some time Vicar of Christ Church, Helme, married Ruth, daughter of the Rev. Alfred Hewlett, D.D., Vicar

+ An amusing and characteristic illustration of this connection is told. On the occasion of the marriage one of the party at a dinner given to the work- people, said ‘“‘His master was a queer felly, for the first thing he did was to knock his wife’s e’e out (she becoming Brook instead of Brooke).

Page 376

314 HEALEY HOUSE AND BROOK FAMILY.

of Astley, near Manchester. She died April, 1874. Issue, one son, died soon after, and six daughters. __ VI. ALFRED, born April zoth, 1828, died October, 1870, graduated at Exeter College, Oxford, Vicar of Mansfield Wood- house, Nottinghamshire, married Harriet Jane, daughter of the Rev. James Blomfield, Rector of Orsett, Essex. Issue, five sons and three daughters, of whom one son and one daughter died in infancy. VII. CHarRLEs JOHN, born July 12th, 1829, died Feb. 17th, 1857, married Mary, daughter of the Rev. Lewis Jones, Vicar of Almondbury, leaving issue one son and two daughters. VIII. Arruur, born Oct. 16th, 1830. Graduated at Univer- sity College, Oxford; Rector of St. John’s, Hackney, London ; Prebendary of Lincoln. Married Eliza, daughter of the Right Reverend John Jackson, Lord Bishop of London. Issue, one daughter. IX. CATHERINE, died in infancy. Mr. Brook’s brothers were James, Jonas, Joseph, and Thomas, all distinguished men in their day. The following remarks occur in the Funeral Sermon preached on the death of Mr. C. Brook by the Rev. Conrad Samuel Green, then Curate-in-Charge, at Christ Church, Helme :— was in mean sense the Father of this Congregation. He thoroughly identified himself with all that concerned our Church and Parish. The natural force of his character, combined with his unaffected piety, compelled us and all who were privileged to be associated with him, to look up to him with confidence, and to regard him with something more than respect. In the erection of this House of God by his children, and the endowment thereof by his eldest son, he from the first took a deep interest, and by his vave judgment and loving counsel during the progress of the work, no less than since the completion, he has ever unceasingly been contributing to the comfort and welfare of the inhabitants of this Parish. You well know, my friends, that the maintenance too of our Schools was mainly owing to his liberality.” In a note it is observed that the Vicarage House of the adjoining Parish of Meltham Mills, and the National Schools of that place were built by him; though the latter were afterwards enlarged by his nephew, Charles Brook, Esq., of Enderby Hall. Mr. Brook was tall in person, as are his family generally.

Page 377

CROSLAND HALL. 315

CROSLAND HALL.

Of this ancient dwelling but few remains exist in the bottom of the valley, below the more modern mansion which bears its name; but there are vestiges of the Moat which surrounded it. It is famous for the murder of Sir Robert Beaumont, its chief, by Sir John Elland, of Elland, and others, in his own house ; and, it is said, in the part of the building which remains. The Genealogy of this eminent family of Beaumont is too elaborate to be set forth fully in this volume, but is partially stated in page 218. The tragic affray above alluded to is fully chaunted in an old Ballad of 124 verses, given in Watson’s History of Halifax, which thus describes the situation : ‘©The hall was watered well about, No wight might enter in; Till that the bridge was well laid out They durst not venture in.” A prose account, entitled ‘‘Revenge upon Revenge,” was printed at Halifax by F. Darby in 1761. The following is a summary of the story, extracted from LfTistory of Yorkshire:

THE ROMANCE OF THE ELLANDS.* The old Hall at Elland, situate on the Northern bank of the river Calder, was for many ages the seat of the knightly family of the Ellands, which became extinct in consequence of a deadly quarrel with the Beaumonts in the reign of Edward III. Of the tragical scenes which produced this catastrophe, an ancient ballad, aided by tradition, and confirmed by some circumstances of indisputable authority, affords the following history : Sir John Elland, instigated by some unexplained cause of hostility, raised a body of his friends and tenantry, and placing himself at their head, sallied forth at night from the ‘Manor Hall,” and attacked and slew Sir Hugh, of Quarmby, Sir John Lockwood, of Lockwood, and Sir Robt. Beaumont, of Crossland ; the latter of whom was torn from his wife and beheaded in the hall of his own house, and all of them were murdered in the presence of their families. On the perpetration of these sanguinary murders the younger branches of the Beaumonts, the Quarmbys, and the Lockwoods fled into Lancashire, and found an asylum under the roofs of the Towneleys and the Breretons. In that age the police were unable to cope with a powerful Knight

* Communicated to the Leeds Mercury by J. S. Scissett, Jan. 12th, 1881.

Page 378

316 CROSLAND HALL AND ROMANCE OF THE ELLANDS.

and his subservient dependants, and it was not until the eldest sons of the three outraged families had grown up to manhood that retribution was sought and obtained for the blood of their parents. For this purpose the three young men placed themselves in a wood at Cromwell Bottom, and as Sir John Elland was returning from Raistrick they met him on a hill beneath Brookfoot and slew him, after which they retired into Furness Fells, in Lancashire, where they remained for a considerable time. Not satisfied, however, with this act of justice, they determined to extirpate the name of Elland: with which sanguinary intention they placed themselves in a mill near which the young Knight, with his lady and their son, had to pass to Church. On the approach of the family over the dam, the murderers rushed forth and shot an arrow through the head of the father, and wounded his only child so desperately that he died soon after in Elland Hall. The name of Elland now became extinct, except a daughter of Sir John, to whom the estates and manor descended, having contracted marriage with one of the Saviles, the property passed into that family ; in whose possession it remains to the present day. The murder of the young Knight and his infant son roused the town of Elland to arms, and they advanced in a considerable number to punish the murderers. For some time the Beaumonts, Quarmbys, and Lockwoods stood their ground and defended themselves with distinguished valour against the unequal numbers by which they were assailed, but being at length overpowered, Quarmby fell dead on the field, and his comrades only escaped by the fleetness of their horses. In the same work it is stated that Cannon Hall, near Barnsley, anciently called Camel Hall, is rendered celebrated by being the retreat of William Lockwood, of Lockwood, after the fight at Elland with the Ellanders, in the reign of Edward III. In this house Lockwood commenced an amour with a young woman of loose principles, who betrayed him into the hands of his enemies by approaching him, like Judas, with a kiss and cut his bow-string, with which he had defended himself—they cruelly put him to death, Adam Beaumont, Watson says, went abroad and got into the service of the Knights of Rhodes. He wrote a private letter to Jenkyn Dyson, of Holehouse (Linthwaite), within the Parish of Almondbury, and honourably ended his life fighting against the Turks. Among the HARLEIAN Manuscripts, No. 803,* are numerous fines and other deeds relative to the Beaumont family and the manors they held, dating from 18 Henry III, A.D. 1234, to 2 Edward IV, 1463, including the following, which seem to refer to the time of the fatal aftrays. In the writings of Richard Beaumont, Kt. and Bart. I. ROBERT, son of JOHN DE BELLOMONTE, Knt., granted and confirmed to Henry, his brother, all the Manor of Crosland, which said Manor happened

>

* Extracted by Mr. Rusby, and which will probably appear in the Appendix.

Page 379

CROSLAND HALL AND STABLES FAMILY. 317

to him after the decease of John, his brother, as it appears by the entayle of the said Sir John, his father, to hold for the tenure of the life of the said Robert. Dated at Crosland, on Friday next before the feast of St. Andrew, 31 Edward III. II, Same Robert, released to Henry as before, the Manor of Crosland ; also Huddersfield, Whitley and Meltham. Witnesses to both deeds, John de Sayvill, of Elland, Henry, his brother, John de Quarmby, John de Radcliffe and others.

The modern residence is beautifully situated on the rising ground, and has extensive gardens and conservatories ; now in the tenure of Robert Skilbeck, Esq., who has held and much improved the whole for several years. It was formerly occupied for many years, by WALTER WILLIAMS STABLES, Esq., a gentleman of good descent, from Pontefract. The following particulars are gathered from the Histories of Pontefract, by Dr. Boothroyd and Geo. Fox:

At the time of the second Siege of Pontefract, 1644, among the supporters of the Royal cause was William Stables, Alderman, one of nine Aldermen who left their houses and assisted in the defence. On the 3rd June at night, the besiegers began a work at the top of Mr. Stables’ orchard, in the fields above Baghill. On the 5th, a boy, an apprentice to Mr. Richard Stables, went from the Castle to cut grass for the cattle, and was unfortunately wounded by a shot, which went through his arm and part of his shoulder. He, how- ever, recovered without suffering amputation. Among those gentlemen who compounded for their estates with the Parliament, was William Stables, Alderman.

Among the Mayors of Pontefract (William and Mary) William Stables, 1690. Mr. W. W. of Crosland Hall, was a man of much piety and intelligence. He was President of the Huddersfield Branch of the British and Foreign Bible Society for 17 years. He married Nancy Glover Chippendale, sister of John Chippendale, Esq., of Lancaster, see page 146 of this volume. He died at Crosland Hall in September, 1847, aged 82 years. He was in person very like King William IV. He was a warm supporter of South Crosland Church, as are the present occupants of the Hall, and Mr. George Dyson, who has recently enlarged the residence of his father at Netherton. Where also the several branches of the family of WRIGLEY reside.

Mr. Stables’ mother was a Monmouthshire lady, from whom he

Page 380

318 BROOKE FAMILY.

took the name of Williams. Mrs. W. W. Stables died at Broseley, Salop, 1863. Issue: SARAH, married her cousin german Henry Stables, who died at Huddersfield, 1852; leaving issue, William Henry, who died in South India, and Penelope Mary, who also died unmarried. Mary, married the Rev. John Swainson, of Preston, both deceased. JANE, unmarried at Broseley. ELLEN, died at Broseley. IJANNAH, married the Rev. Joseph Cousins, Curate of Lock- wood, deceased. She is still living at Broadstairs, Thanet. WALTER WILLIAMS, married Jane, daughter of H. Taylor, Esq., of Knowle House, Mirfield—both living with IssuE, five sons and two daughters. Four children of Mr. and Mrs. Stables, senr., died in infancy. Mr. Stables is buried in a vault under the Parish Church, Hudders- field, where a street still bears his name.

THE BROOKE FAMILY, OF HONLEY.

The Register of Almondbury, which includes Honley, is vacant from December 22, 1639, to April 22, 1640, but we have a Marriage License, granted at York, thus recorded there : 1639. William Brook, Yeoman, of Huddersfield, to Sarah Armitage, of Almondbury (Dudmanstone). The following particulars will interest my readers with regard to this estimable family. I. John Brooke. II. John Brooke, of Greenhill Bank, baptized at Kirkburton, 1596, died 1662, leaving an only son. III. Matthew, baptized March, 1661, married 1698, Miss Hall, Mottram, Cheshire. IV. Witi1Am Brooke, of Greenhill Bank (brother of J. Brooke, II), died November, 1683. JOHN Brooke, III. IV. WILLIAM BROOKE, who came to Honley, in 1751, from Greenhill Bank. V. John Brooke, married Elizabeth Smith, of Kirkburton. VI. William Brooke was married at Almondbury (described in the Register as ‘‘Merchant”) to Miss Hannah Clapham, of Leeds, August 4th, 1789. Died March, 1846. They had issue four sons and five daughters :

Page 381

BROOKE FAMILY. 319

1. Ann, born 9th June, 1789; baptized at Honley August qth. Married Charles Brook, of Healey House, see preceding page. Still living. 2. William, who died at Clifton on the 2nd of November, 1813, in the 23rd year of her age; buried at Bristol. 3. John, born 26th May, 1794. Married JANE Laycock, daughter of William Laycock, of Nun Appleton, near York, in 1822. He died June 11th, 1878; late of Armitage Bridge House and Kensworth Park, Herts; buried at Sibton, Suffolk. Had one son, John William, of Sibton Park ; born in 1824; died 5th May, 1881, leaving three sons and four daughters. He married Jemima Charlotte Brittain. 4. Thomas Brooke, born 26th February, 1798; died August 31st, 1859. Married, October, 1828, Anne, daughter of Joseph Ingham, of Hunslet, Leeds, living. Children: five sons and eight daughters. 5. Edward Brooke, born March, 1799; died January 30th, 1871. Married Martha Smith, of Greetland, in 1827. Issue: five sons and three daughters. 6, 7 and 8. Elizabeth, Mary and Hannah; died in infancy. 9g. Sarah, born 1804. Married, 1823, John Allen, of Gledholt, Hudders- field (see pages 44 and 146). One son, Thomas Allen, living; and two daughters, Hannah and Sarah, deceased.

The following are the sons of Thomas and Anne Brooke, of Northgate House : Tuomas Brooke, F.S.A., of Armitage Bridge House, born May 1830. Married (1) Septr., 1854, Eliza, the daughter of Enoch Vickerman. She died, leaving one son, Francis Thomas, born at Fenay Lodge, who died August 27th, 1872, aged 17. He married (2) Amelia, daughter of David Dewar, of Islington, Middlesex. WILLIAM Brooke, of Northgate Mount, born December 2nd, 1834; married October 19th, 1871, Gertrude Elizabeth, the daughter of Joshua Ingham, of Blake Hall, Mirfield. Children : one son and one daughter. JosHua IncHAM Brooke, M.A., Rector of Thornhill and Rural Dean, born February 14th, 1836. Married in 1859, Grace Charlotte, the youngest daughter of General Godby, C.B., of Balheeston. Children: three sons and five daughters. Joun ARTHUR BROOKE, M.A., of Fenay Hall, born March 22nd, 1844. Married in 1873, Blanche, the daughter of Major Weston, of Morveck, Suther- land, and granddaughter of General Godby, C.B. EDWARD BROOKE, Vicar of St. John the Divine, Kennington, London, born July oth, 1847 ; unmarried.

Daughters of Thomas and Anne Brooke:

ANNE, died at Cappenhall Rectory, near Crewe, Cheshire, 1847, in the 16th year of her age,

Page 382

320 BROOKE FAMILY AND HONLEY TOWN.

ELIZABETH, died March 26th, 1849, in her 16th year. See Monument, page 295. SARAH, unmarried. FRANCES, married the Rev. Canon Bartlet, Vicar of St. John’s, Mansfield, living : with one son and two daughters living. Mary, married the Rev. Riou George Benson, Rector of Hope Bowdler, Shropshire, living: with six sons and six daughters. married Edward Brook, of Meltham Mills and Hoddam Castle, Dumfrieshire, living: with two sons and two daughters. Edith and Octavia, unmarried. Sons and daughters of EpDwarD Brooke, whose Religious Memorial is published under the title of ‘‘SqurrE Brooke,” of Field House, near Huddersfield, by the Rev. John Holt Lord, 1872; and Martha, his wife. He was energetic, earnest, eccentric. JouN, born 1829, married Elizabeth, the daughter of Mr. Wm. Greenwood, Surgeon, and secondly —, daughter of Thomas Mallinson, with issue. EDWARD, born 1831, married the daughter of Mr. Burkill, of Scarbro’. Issue. WILLIAM. HARRY, married Miss Bottomley, Grand-daughter of the late George Crosland, of Crosland Moor:

ALFRED. JANE, married Joseph Brook Turner: one son and four daughters. FANNY and ELIZABETH unmarried.

The following graphical description of HonLEy, characteristic of this country generally, is taken from the above mentioned work:

“ HONLEY, seventy years ago, was widely different from the Honley of the present. It was an antiquated town. The old houses were low roofed and roughly built of stone, quarried from the adjoining hills. The houses of later date were loftier and square looking, with large upper windows extending across the entire house front, that the weavers, who in ‘the good old times’ plied their looms at home, assisted by wife and children, instead of crowding in mills as now, might be well lighted for their work. And there were old hostelries with quaint names and quainter signboards, where the slow going stage waggon stopped, and travellers refreshed themselves; but which since railways have robbed the old roads of their traffic, have mostly degenerated into beerhouses.” “The town stood upon a somewhat lofty hill. It was ventilated by the breeze and washed by driving rains, and wore the aspect of

Page 383

HONLEY TOWN. 321

cleanliness and health. It looked down upon a valley of rare verdure, a trout stream wandered through rich pastures, its bright waters purling amongst the rocks and discoursing sweet music as they flowed. The hills on either side were covered with forest trees, which, drest in summer foliage, gave an air of seclusion and beauty to the scene, that might have suggested the classic tale of ‘The Happy Valley.’” “The highlands behind were mostly uninclosed ; what now are well fenced fields, tilled by the plough of the husbandman and yielding such harvests of golden grain, were then wild moors covered with blushing heather and flaming gorse. Those fragrant solitudes were well peopled with game. They were grand natural preserves, where hale generous sportsmen of the olden time, who had disdained the modern Jattue with its sickening slaughter and sordid traffic, loved well to range regardless of fatigue, and where a good shot might count on making a heavy bag, and supplying an extra course for the dinner table of his friends.” “The population of Honley was in keeping with its scenery. There were families which harmonised with the valley scene of such rare beauty, families well born and cultured, surrounded by all the refinements and elegancies of polished life. And there were people as rough and uncultivated as the unreclaimed wild moors amid which they dwelt.” Of old times, we may add, the clergy as well as laity were given to sports, and partook of the character of the scenery and the population. Such were some of those contained in our list; among them the Rev. J. Hanson (page 296); but they were not allowed entirely to slumber at their posts. Roused in the times of the Commonwealth by the Rev. Oliver Heywood and others, in the next century by Mr. Wesley and his followers ; until the same zeal and energy found its way into the regular pulpit of the Chapel, in the person of the Rev. Charles Drawbridge, an old soldier, to whose ministry the last generation was so greatly indebted for the deep and holy principles which still animate their descendants, and make them prominent in every good word and work. With

reference to Mr. Hanson, we find that his resort to Mr. Heywood PART III].—M.

Page 384

322 HONLEY TOWN.

in his last illness was the result of deep repentance for his unprofitable life as a Clergyman, rather than particular sympathy with his doctrinal views. And that he found wise counsel and faithful dealing on the part of this venerable counsellor, whose preaching many years before, in that Chapel, had much alarmed him, and to whom he sought in the hour of spiritual distress. He had sought consolation in company and drink ; but found, like the prodigal, that gay friends “flee the empty cask.” Much might be said in defence of field and other sports as recreations. But in a Clergyman, the matter requires more serious consideration, on account of their effect on the minds of others. The Rev. Henry VENN, Vicar of Huddersfield, when at Cambridge, was extremely fond of Cricket, and reckoned one of the best players in the University. After winning in a match between Surrey and All England, he threw down his bat saying “Whoever wants a bat, which has done me good service, may take that, for I have no further occasion for it.” His friends inquiring the reason he replied ‘“‘ Because I am to be ordained on Sunday, and I will never have it said, ‘Well struck, parson.’” To this resolution he strictly adhered, notwithstanding even the remon- strances of the Tutor and Fellows, and though his health suffered by a sudden transition from a course of most violent exercise to a life of comparative inactivity. Mr. Epwarp Brooke, who had been devoted to shooting, when he became decided for God and entered on a course of voluntary though irregular efforts to save souls, he knew that if he allowed himself in field pleasures, they might lead him astray, and with heroic spirit, he resolved to deny himself for Christ’s sake, and often said in the pulpit, suiting the action to the word, with characteristic humour, “This finger never pulled trigger more.” How energetically they both worked in the same neighbourhood successively their memoirs shew,

Page 385

CHAPTER’ LV.

THE New ParIsMES OF ST. BARTHOLOMEW, MELTHAM; ST. James, MELTHAM MILLS; CHRIST CHURCH, HELME;

AND ST. Mary’s, WILSHAw.

The Chapelry of Meltham, which, until this century, contained all the above districts, having been, rather by custom than any legal division, separated from that of Honley after the erection and consecration of the first Chapel in 1651, occupies an interesting amphitheatre of hills, open towards Crosland, and ascending to a great eminence of moorlands towards the west, in which are the remains of a Roman encampment. The History of the Township of Meltham had been written with great labour by the late excellent Incumbent, the Rev. Joseph Hughes; but left unpublished in 1864. It was “edited with additions” by his widow, and published in 1866 at Huddersfield. It is a very interesting volume of 300 pages, to which the reader is referred for complete details and authentic history of this important part of the ancient Parish of Almondbury. Before, however, entering on the general history we will visit “Helme,” the nearest portion, and which New Parish embraces part of the Township of South Crosland. The erection of the Bentley Silk Mill, in the intermediate valley, by Mr. Charles Brook in the year 1840, created a small village and employed especially many females. Its contiguity to the ancient Hamlet of Helme led to the erection eventually of Curist CHURCH, on an elevated spot in the direction of Meltham Moor. The Church is architecturally a beautiful specimen of a village sanctuary, in the style called “ Early English,” and with its Churchyard is in admirable keeping with the locality in which it is situated. It consists of a well proportioned Nave, Chancel, and two Aisles. It was erected as a Memorial of Mr. Charles John Brook (whose lamented death took place at Thickhollins, on

Page 386

324 MELTHAM.

February 17th, 1857) by his brothers and sisters. It was endowed by Mr. Brook and his eldest son with the sum of 45,000, and was consecrated by the Lord Bishop of the Diocese, Dr. Bickersteth, on Thursday, the 3rd of November, 1859. It forms a striking feature in the landscape and is a pleasing object from almost every part of the valley below. The interior of the building is enriched with a great number of Scripture texts, and is calculated to accommodate 300 persons; besides which it will seat 100 School children. It has a Spire and Bell. The following Inscription is to be observed on a table in the Baptistry under the Tower : For the Glory of God, This Church was built and endowed in Memory of Charles Sohn Arook, Of Thickhollins, By his Brothers and Sisters. He died on the 17th day of February, A.D. 1857, Aged 27 Years.

“The Memory of the Just is Wlessed.’’ The Foundation Stone was laid on the roth day of August, 1858, by his only Son. ‘Other foundation can wo man lay than that is which is FJesus Christ,”

His mortal remains repose in the Churchyard of Meltham Mills, and a White Marble Headstone which marks his place of Sepulchre has the text, “ With Christ which is far better. Be ye also ready.”

Mr. Hughes adds :

“‘Of the benevolent and estimable young man, whose early and lamented death is here recorded, much might be said in this place, for he belonged to the district by birth and education, was known and loved by all residing in it, and was felt to be, in the best sense of the word, the friend of all, his whole energies being devoted to the spiritual and temporal good of those among whom his lot was cast. To the poor and afflicted his ready sympathy with human suffering of every kind especially endeared him, and made his presence in the chamber of sickness and death both a solace and support. The name

Page 387

MELTHAM. 325

of ‘Charles John,’ as he was familiarly and lovingly called by his poorer friends, was a household word in every family, and will be long remembered as such in all the cottages of the working classes, whether scattered over the distant moors or situated in the nearer hamlets. Among the latter, that of Helme, was, from the remoteness of its position and want of spiritual privileges, an object of much interest to him, and it is to these combined circumstances, it probably owes its selection as the site for a Memorial Church. The Incumbent is the Rev. James Brook, and is much respected in the Parish.” The Rev. James Brook continued Incumbent until 1870, when he resigned on account of ill-health, and was succeeded by the Rev. Conrad Samuel Green, who had been Curate-in-charge for five and a half years. The patronage being vested in William Brook, Esq., of Ordsall, Northamptonshire, and the Rev. Canon Hulbert, as Vicar of Almondbury, was readily exercised in his favour, and Mr. Green became Vicar, the district assigned having become a new Parish, by the voidance of the Vicarage of Almondbury in 1866. But Mr. Green having also been constrained to seek a warm climate on account of ill-health, resigned in 1880, and was succeeded by the Rev. Thos. Henry Cook, the present Vicar, on the same nomination. The office of Churchwarden has been held by Messrs. J. Lunn, D. Bamforth and Samuel Mellor, Schoolmasters, Messrs. Gooddy, Thomas Beaumont, E. Lockwood and D. Roebuck. The VICARAGE RESIDENCE was built by Mrs. Charles Brook, but has not been conveyed to the living. She has also added £2,000 to the Endowment. The MEMORIAL SCHOOLS were erected by her and her children. The first Stone was laid May 3oth, 1871, in Memory of Mr. Brook, with a solemn Service, and a Sermon by the Rev. Arthur Brook, then Vicar of Holbeach, Lincolnshire, now of Hackney. The Architect was Mr. W. C. Barber, Halifax. The Schools, which were opened Whit Monday, 1873, and a Sermon preached by the Rev. Prebendary Blomfield, of London, are in a very flourishing state on Sundays and Week-days. These spiritual provisions are also indicative of the temporal blessings conferred by the family of Brook on the whole district ; by the kind and considerate treatment of the people who are employed in the great manufacturing establishments carried on in this valley; and who in times of civic commotion have shewn their attachment to their employers. Speaking of Bentley Mill, Mr. Hughes observes : ‘*In this factory, as in that of the Cotton thread at Meltham Mills, great numbers of women and young girls find employment ; preference being given in both to females, because of their superior delicacy of touch, which peculiarly fits them for the handling of the slight material, whether silk or cotton, which

Page 388

326 ST. BARTHOLOMEW'S CHURCH.

has to pass through their fingers. Precisely the same harmony is observed to exist here between the employers and employed as at Meltham Mills; nor would it be easy in any locality to find masters more deeply interested in the welfare of their workpeople than those at Bentley Factory.”

St. BARTHOLOMEW’S CHURCH.

This is now the Mother District Church of the flourishing and interesting valley, with its three well sustained daughters. Its origin is not like Marsden and Honley, wrapt in the mist of Medieval Antiquity. Its consecration took place in 1651, when the Episcopal Church of England had been superseded by the Presbyterians and Independents, under Cromwell’s Protectorship, and Henry Tilson, an Irish Bishop, then resident at Soothill, near Leeds, was called in to perform the sacred office; which he did, without hesitation, let or hindrance, albeit liable to penalty for the execution of Episcopal functions. ‘The See of York was then vacant, and not filled up until 1660. It was just two hundred years until Meltham was again visited by a Bishop, on the occasion of the Consecration of a New Churchyard by the late Bishop Longley, Nov. 14th, 1851. Since which time Episcopal visits have been frequent for Consecration and Confirmation. The Author of this work remembers Bishop Longley’s farewell look upon Slaithwaite valley as he accompanied him, on foot, over the Moor towards Meltham ; just before his Lordship’s elevation to the See of Durham in 1856. As has been already stated, this Parish has received the fullest Account from its late Minister ; edited by his devoted widow, Mrs. Catherine Hughes: who was assisted by the Rey. Thomas James, Incumbent of Netherthong, an able antiquary ; especially in the Annals of his native principality. Mrs. Hughes enjoyed the friendship of several eminent literary characters in the Lake District—especially of Mrs. Fletcher, whose Memoirs are published, with whom and her daughter, Lady Richardson, she was a frequent visitor—near Grasmere: she was thus familiar with the Lake Poets and Lake Scenery. The Author regrets that the ‘History of Meltham” is not better known. Mrs. Hughes was, at the same time, the spiritual mother of the village, and lives, as

Page 389

ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S CHURCH. 327

does her excellent husband, in the hearts of the parents, who were formerly her charge, in the Sunday Schools.

The following particulars will therefore be chiefly a summary of the details.

In Domespay Book (Bawdwen’s translation) we read: “In Hanleia and Meltham, Cola and Swen had 3 Carucates of Land to be taxed, and there may be 3 ploughs there. Ilbert now has it and it is waste. Value, time of King Edward, 4o shillings. Wood Pasture, 2 miles long and 1 % broad.” This is the first record ; and the name as at present, signify ‘‘Honey town,” Meltham, and in the Terrier of Almondbury, the tithe of Honey (Mel) is specified. The natives assert that from time immemorial, Bee hives were brought from all parts of the country, during what was termed the heathing time—that is when the heather was in bloom— and placed in long rows all round the village. An ancient Celtic or Druidical Stone existed until 1828, when it was wilfully destroyed. A Flint Weapon found above Wilshaw by James Redfearn is now in the possession of Mr. Morehouse. Whilst the remains of a Roman Encampment, below West Nab, on the property of the late Uriah Tinker, Esq., in which querns or hand mills for grinding corn were found, give indisputable evidence that the Romans were at one time living in close contiguity to the village. de Lacy received vast Estates from the Norman conqueror, among them this of which Cola was deprived; but Sweyn by some peculiar favour held this with Almondbury and other Manors. Ilbert built or strengthened Pontefract Castle.

In the reign of Edward II. Thomas Plantagenet, Earl of Lan- caster, was returned Lord of Huddersfield, Holme, AZeltham and Almondbury. This powerful nobleman, the first prince of the blood, and one of the most potent barons in England, was beheaded in 1322, at his own Castle at Pontefract. His death involved many others in the same fate, and the estates of all those were confiscated. Among others Richard Waleys, the Lord of Honley, barely escaped with his life. The next historical notice is found in the inquisition relating to Almondbury, in the reign of

Page 390

328 ST. BARTHOLOMEW'S CHURCH.

Edward III., which lasted 50 years. Two tenants from Meltham are named as paying Rent to the Lord of Almondbury. Again, in the inquisition made in the 26th year of Queen Eliza- beth, 1584, it is recorded that “ John Beaumont, of Meltham, holdeth certain lands and tenements within the said Manor of Meltham, by copy of Court Roll of Her Majesty, as of the said Manor of Almondbury.” ‘This gentleman’s descendants continued to reside, and held considerable landed property in Meltham, for many succeeding generations. ‘The same feudal law which, in Elizabeth’s time, connected Meltham with Almondbury, still continued in force during that of James I., from 1603 to 1625; nor are there grounds for believing that it had undergone any particular change in the time of his unfortunate son, Charles I. The population of the village at the time of the first Chapel’s erection could not be more than 200. The earliest intimation on record of the intended erection of a Church to meet the spiritual wants of the village and neighbourhood is a paragraph in the will of William Woodhead, a native of Meltham, bearing date Nov. rst, 1649, the year in which King Charles was beheaded: amongst other things the testator willed and directed “that John Water- house, his brother-in-law, should, out of the rents and profits of property in Saddleworth, pay towards the maintenance of a Minister to preach the Word of God, at Meltham, if there should be a Chapel there erected, the yearly sum of forty shillings,” and immediately after this “‘some of the chief inhabitants of Meltham expended considerable sums of money in erecting a Chapel.” This building was completed in the year 1651. It is said to have been greatly owing to the mother of Mr. Woodhead, whose growing age and infirmities prevented her going to Honley Chapel by a foot road across Harden Clough, still called “Chapel gate;” and who had a great dread of Popery. John Waterhouse followed the example, bequeathing the Saddleworth property to Meltham Chapel by will dated 1661. A third bequest, that of Godfrey Beaumont, of South Crosland, has been alluded to in the account of that Parish, dating 1672. The entirely spontaneous and indigenous origin of these benefactions is interesting as illustrative

Page 391

ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S CHURCH, 329

of the pious feeling of the neighbourhood. A fourth benefactor was the Reverend Abraham Woodhead, a nephew of the first promoter and endower of the Chapel. ‘‘ The troublous times” in which all this was done enhance the value of the energy and liberality displayed. In a letter written in the year 1643, from Bradford, by Sir Thomas, afterwards Lord Fairfax, the first Parliamentarian General, allusions are made to the defence of Ambury (Almondbury), not more than five miles distant from Meltham. Of this Mr. Woodhead a very elaborate account is given, tending to prove him to have been the Author of ‘“ The Whole duty of Man” and other works—a matter much discussed. The Chapel itself was a small and plain building, consisting of a Nave and Chancel having two doors, the upper and the lower, probably both on the South side; to the former there was a porch, such as exists in many old Churches built about that period. The Western Wall of the Nave had a single bell gable, with a bell 148 lbs. weight. In the body of the Church were four arched windows, each window consisting of three lights. The East window in the Chancel had four lights. On the erection of a new and more convenient edifice in the year 1786, these were inserted in a Cottage built about the same time, nearly opposite the Church, and are still to be seen there. The floor of the Chapel was of mud (or concrete), after the fashion of those rude and simple times, and was annually covered afresh with rushes at the feast of St. Bartholomew, on the demolition of the Rush Cart in vogue at that period. The village feast was then held on St. Bartholomew’s day, according to the old style.* The Pulpit was placed near the North Wall of the Chapel, about the centre of it. There was an Aisle in the middle, and on the South side ten or twelve pews, the remaining space being filled with forms. There was no Gallery for the Singers. They occupied the Chancel, and the Communion Table stood at the East end. A panel from the Old Pulpit is still preserved, and

* Several Chapels are similarly named after St. Bartholomew, as Marsden, Ripponden and Deanhead, probably from the same custom and like situation.

Page 392

330 ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S CHURCH.

was inserted in the New Pulpit presented by Mr. Joseph Hirst, of Wilshaw Villa, in 1857. It bears the following inscription carved in the wood, “Cathedra Veritatis, 1651 ”—the chair, or Pulpit of truth. Mr. Hughes adds, with characteristic piety, “a most suitable description for it and for every other in the kingdom ; and while it is believed that it has never been desecrated to any less sacred purpose than the making known the way of salvation to perishing sinners, through the all-atoning blood of the Lamb, it is hoped that the same blessed truths, which have been proclaimed by its various Ministers, from time to time, may continue to be held and proclaimed by the present and by successive Pastors throughout all generations.” No particulars respecting the Old Chapelyard have been preserved, beyond the fact that a goodly number of tall trees grew in it, probably Ash trees, as three or four of these had to be cut down when the Chapel, in 1786, was built; and more space required for the foundations. The ConsECRATION DEED, or rather Report of the proceedings which took place on that occasion, signed by the Bishop of Elphin, is still in existence, and is thought to be the only document of the kind ever drawn up and preserved. It specifies that the Chapel was consecrated on the 24th day of August, 1851, being the Feast of St. Bartholomew, after whose name it was called, and on which day the Village Feast is annually held; which, according to the new style, is the 5th of September. Preserved, it is supposed, by the Rey. Christian Binns, the first Curate of the Chapel. The ceremony is described and the prayers then used are given, followed by a Sermon and Communion. Very appropriate portions of Scripture are added. A Terrier, dated 1685, is signed by Will. Bray, Minr. of Honley ; Ran. Broome, Curte. of Meltham; Abr. Beaumont, Chappelwarden ; Will. Brooke, de Honley, Chappelwarden; Godfrey Brooke, Banks, Chappelwarden ; Edw. Taylor, Jo. Armytage, John Wilson, Ja. Beaumont, Ja. Armytage, Richard Morton. The Communion Prate.-—The Chalice was the Gift of Lady Beaumont, who was married, first to Richard Pilkington, Esq. ;

Page 393

ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S CHURCH. 331

afterwards to Sir Thomas Beaumont, of Whitley, Knight. As Sir Thomas Beaumont owned property in Meltham, and was one of the Lords of the Manor, her Gift of a Chalice was very appropriate. She was thena widow. There is no doubt but Sir Thomas Beaumont had been a liberal contributor towards the erection of the Chapel in 1650. On the Cup is inscribed : Deo Sacrum et Capellee de Meltham. Ex dono Dnz Mariz Beaumont, filiz natu Georgii Burdett, de Denbigh Hall, Armigeri. 1675. On the Flagon: The Gift of Elizabeth, daughter of Timothy Woodhead, to the Chappel of Meltham, 1784. On the Salver: The Gift of Elizabeth, daughter of Timothy Woodhead, 1784. The Old Chapel lasted till 1786, when the Rev. John Murgatroyd, of Slaithwaite, writes in his Journal on July 6th, 1786, ‘I hear they are this morning taking down Meltham Chapel.” The Bell, how- ever, was preserved. It came originally from Almondbury, and bore the date of 1736. It was, however, entirely forgotten and was claimed by the Masons who had contracted for the materials ; and who would not surrender it except on condition of its first being filled with Ale. It was continued in the Second Chapel for 50 more years, when it was superseded by the present Musical Peal. The New Chapel was ready for the Organ on the 19th June, 1788. The Chandelier in the centre of the building, at that time considered a specimen of superior workmanship and an object of admiration to all beholders, was brought into the village October 25th, 1788, and suspended by a chain November 2nd of the same year. In the year 1837 the taste for Church Improvement, which had been dormant for 50 years, was suddenly aroused and came upon the inhabitants with such irresistible force, that they resolved by the building of a tower to raise their Chapel to the dignity of a Church; and for the accomplishment of that end immediately determined to open a Subscription List. It was at the same time considered desirable to increase the accommodation in the Chapel by adding a North Aisle or Transept, capable of containing a sufficient number of forms for the children of the Sunday Schools, and placing a Gallery above it. A Faculty was obtained for these

Page 394

332 ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S CHURCH.

purposes, 25th February, 1835 ; and as 310 Free Sittings would be thereby obtained, in addition to the 750 already existing, the “ Incorporated Society for Promoting the Enlargement and Repair- ing of Churches and Chapels” gave a grant of £250. There was great harmony in all the operation; very handsome Subscriptions followed. ‘The square embattled Tower has a Vestry in the basement. The top stone of the Tower was reared on the 24th August, St. Bartholomew’s Day. Great were the rejoicings in the village on the occasion. Among other amusements, baskets, to which pulleys had been attached, had been provided to enable the more adventurous of the crowd to make easy ascents to the top of the Tower. One act of daring imprudence, which must have thrown all others into the shade, is still remembered. Joseph Taylor, afterwards “an older and a wiser man,” and Registrar of the Village, mounted a ladder used by the Masons in their work, with his little child, a year old, in his arms, and was holding her in triumph on one of the East pinnacles of the Tower. This he did in defiance of the entreaties and remonstrances of the byestanders, who hardly dared to look for his safe return with the child from so giddy an eminence. The cost of these additions and improvements was £1,500. The Rev. Lewis Jones, who held the Chapel for ten years on his Own nomination as Vicar of Almondbury, was then Incumbent in consequence of a Claim on the part of the Inhabitants to the appointment of the Minister, which caused great confusion and strife: but the question was finally settled in favour of the Vicar ; and he appointed Mr. Hughes. There still remained the lack of a Peal of Bells; this deficiency was, however, soon supplied—on the 2oth February, 1836. One of them was presented by Mr. Shaw, of Lingards; and £100 given by Messrs. Charles and Matthew Woodhead towards the others. The Bells have appropriate texts on them. Great enthusiasm was shewn by the inhabitants on the occasion. A Clock was soon after provided and pleasant Musical Chimes were added at the expense of the Eastwood family. In the year 1851, during the Incumbency of the Rev. Joseph

Page 395

ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S CHURCH. 222

Hughes, the Church and Churchyard were closed, by an order of the Queen in Council, against further interments; when active steps were taken by the Churchwardens (Mr. Hirst, of Wilshaw, and Mr. Edwin Eastwood, of Meltham) to provide ground for a New Churchyard, and a rate laid for its purchase and enclosure. It was, as before stated, Consecrated Nov. 14th, 1851, by Bishop Longley, who kindly occupied the pulpit in the evening, and preached the annual Missionary Sermon. Mr. Hughes adds: the following Sunday, November 16th, two admirable and appropriate Discourses, the one by the Rev. D. James, of Kirkdale, the other by the Rev. C. A. Hulbert, of Slaithwaite, were delivered from the same pulpit. The text taken by the former was from Exodus xv, 11: ‘‘ Who is like unto Thee, O Lord, among the gods? Who is like Thee, glorious in holiness, fearful in praises, doing wonders?” The text of the latter was from Daniel ix, and the latter part of the 25th verse: ‘‘ The street shall be built again, and the wall,

2?

even in troublous times.”” The Bishop’s fine musical ear immediately discovered

and appreciated the sweetness of the Bells, and the correctness with which they were rung to hail his visit. On each occasion the attendance of the inhabitants was very large, and unqualified satisfaction was expressed with each of the Discourses.” A new Heating Apparatus was introduced in 1857 and the new Pulpit erected. A new Organ also erected in 1859, presented by Mrs. Beaumont, the beloved wife of Mr. Alfred Beaumont, then of Park Cottage, near Huddersfield. This amiable lady, the only child of Mr. Joseph Hirst, of Wilshaw Villa, was removed suddenly by death at the early age of 27, a short time before the Organ was opened. At the same time, carpets, hangings, &c., for Pulpit and Reading Desk were given by Mrs. Uriah Tinker; a complete set of new books for the Communion Table and Reading Desk by Mr. Laycock, of Huddersfield; and a second Silver Chalice or Cup was added to the Communion Plate, on which is engraved the following inscription: “This Cup was presented by the Rev. Joseph Hughes and Catherine, his wife, to Meltham Church ; Whit-Monday, 1857.”

The appointment of the Rev. Joseph Hughes to the Incumbency of Meltham, in the year 1839; on the resignation thereof by the Rev. Lewis Jones, the Patron, led to the erection of the Parsonage

Page 396

334 ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S CHURCH.

House, in that year. He residing the intermediate time in the Gothic Building erected at Meltham Mills, combining Church, Schools and Residence—but which was taken down, and the place supplied by the present existing New Church, Schools, and separate Parsonage House on an adjoining site. On a portion of the Glebe land situated above Meltham, an ex- cellent Parsonage House with suitable offices was also erected. The building of this house was an event of great interest to all the inhabitants of Meltham, for in addition to the prospect held out a resident Incumbent, one whose blessed vocation should be, as has been well said, ‘‘to do the greatest amount of good to the greatest number of persons,” its elevated position, overlooking the village and visible from many points of view, led them to expect that it would be not only a most prominent, but also a most pleasing feature in their landscape. Nor were they disappointed in their hope, for its completion fully justified their anticipations—and we may add the occupation has fully realised the moral benefits fore- shadowed. A stone scroll over the front door bears the following inscription : A* DD? 1850.

RESTORATION OF THE CHURCH.

The CHurRcH has undergone a further RESTORATION and improvement internally, under the Incumbency of the Rev. Edward Collis Watson. Memorial Schools have been erected and other improvements effected by Faculty, granted 8th February, 1877, and was addressed to “ Edward Collis Watson, Vicar; James Battye, Samuel Haigh, Churchwardens ; Edward Brook, Daniel Ashton Bamford, Abraham Broadbent, Lewis Creaser, Nimrod Earnshaw, Michael Firth, Joseph Hirst, Thomas Henry Lauford, William Robinson, Charles Rayner, Thomas Denton Scholes. Chairman, Mr. James Battye. Secretary, Mr. Daniel Ashton Bamford.” Most of the seats were cheerfully given up without valuable consideration. The Subscriptions received towards defraying the alleged claims of certain persons to pews, and the obtaining of a Faculty to carry out the necessary improvements

Page 397

ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S CHURCH. 335

amounted to £373 14s. 4d., cost of Renovation, £3,536 2s. rod. ; total, £3,909 17s. 2d. Towards this Edward Brook contributed, to satisfy alleged claims and towards Faculty, 497 14s. 8d., for Renovation, including the building of Chancel, 43,131 7s. 2d.; total, £3,229 1s. tod. The same gentleman has recently given the Carillon, 14 tunes, to the Church—at a supposed cost of about £600. Great praise is due to Edward Brook, Esquire, late of Meltham Hall, and now of Hoddam Castle, Dumfrieshire, and others, for the trouble and cost they have been at, in rendering the building more fit for the purpose for which it was designed. A new Byzan- tine Chancel has been added, faced with stone inside and out, with a bold Chancel Arch of Norman character supported upon two short shafts, and lighted with a triplet lancet window at the East end. The whole of the old ceiling has been removed, and a new red deal pannelled ceiling put in its place; the old galleries removed and new ones substituted, and the whole Church re-seated. The Seats are free and unappropriated, and accommodate 700 persons. Handsome Screens are formed to the entrance doors. The Choir Stalls and Precentor’s Desk are carved oak. The old sashes have been removed from all the windows and they are now glazed with ornamental Cathedral glass. The handsomely carved PuLpit, by Marsh and Jones, of Leeds, is the gift of an unknown donor. The carved Caen stone Font is given by Mrs. Hartopp and Miss E. A. Brook (sisters of Mr. E. Brook). The Communion Cloth by Mrs. Webb; the Holy Bible, Common Prayer and Books of Office by J. C. Laycock, Esq, of Huddersfield; Brass Lectern by Mrs. C. J. Brook, in memory of her brother, Lewis Lloyd Jones ; Surplices, Cassocks, for the Clergy and Choir, and Kneeling Mat by Mrs. E. Brook. Two Chairs, with Cushions, by Mrs. Cecil Drummond. Alms Dish and Bags by Mrs. D. A. Bamford. Mr. Arthur Calrow Armitage has recently given Mats for the Seats throughout the body of the Church and Chancel. The Font is a copy, in the upper half, of a Norman Font in the Parish Church of Ancaster, near Grantham; a model of which was in the Great Exhibition in 1851.

Page 398

336 ST. BARTHOLOMEW'S CHURCH.

The Organ was built by Messrs. Conacher and Co., of Hudders- field. The new Instrument includes portions of the Organ presented by Mrs. Beaumont, with a new and ornamental frame— designed by the Architects, Messrs. J. Kirk and Sons, Hudders field, and Edward Birchall, of Leeds. The re-opening of the Church took place on Friday, the 3rd May, 1878, in the presence of about 30 Clergy and a large number of Parishioners. The Lord Bishop of Ripon preached the Sermon in the Morning from 2 Cor., iii, 6: ‘“ The letter killeth but the Spirit giveth life.” The Evening preacher was the Rev. Herbert Armitage James, B.D., Head Master of Rossall School. The opening Services were continued on Sunday following. The Morning Sermon by the Rev. Canon Hulbert, M.A., Vicar of Almondbury, was from the xlv Psalm, 13th verse: “The king’s daughter is all glorious within: her clothing is of wrought gold i and in the Evening the preacher was the Rev. Arthur Brook, M.A., Rector of Hackney, Prebendary of Lincoln and Chaplain to the Bishop of London. The congregations were large. Collections £28. During the Restoration Divine Service was held in the Memorial School. A Sermon was preached there on behalf of the Restoration of the Parish Church of Almondbury, with a collection of £13, by Rev. Canon Hulbert : when he retraced the History of Meltham Chapel and its connection with the ancient Mother Church, and the generation that had passed away, preaching from Zechariah i, 5: ‘“‘ Your fathers, where are they? and the prophets, do they live for ever?” The residuary portion of the ancient customary Chapelry of St. Bartholomew, after deductions by the formation of the Districts attached to Meltham Mills, Helme, and Wilshaw Churches, was constituted a Legal District by Order in Council, dated 7th July, 1874, published in the London Gazette; and by arrangement with and consent of the Vicar of Almondbury, Patron, acquired all the rights of a New Parish, with the Easter dues and fees, which had not been commuted in 1850. The Vicarial Tithes still belong to Almondbury ; but are under partial by the new Act for that purpose, passed in 1879. Thus the Incumbent Curate

Page 399

ROMAN eee ak / / f i } ' i 4 \ { { \ 5 et = eee ee eo cCROUNOD ee ies OF

Page 401

ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S CHURCH. 3347

became the Vicar of St. Bartholomew’s Parish. ‘The History of the Endowments is fully given by Mr. Hughes, but the following interesting note occurs in Eastwood’s History of Ecclesfield, page 135. ‘Similar documents relate to Grants from the impropriate Rectory of Ecclesfield, of the yearly value of £30, to the Minister of the Chapel of Meltham half, within the Parish of Almondbury, Oct. 18th, 1651; £30 to the Minister of the Chapel of Marsden, in the same Parish, January 7th, 1652; with the further sum of £20 from the Rectory of the same Chapel, granted March 18th, 1652; £50 to the Minister of the Chapel of Bolsterstone, granted July 23rd, 1652.” The Rectorial Tithes of the Township have been purchased from H. F. Beaumont, Esq., by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners for the Vicar of the New Parish; some of them have lately been redeemed, and the purchase money invested by Queen Anne’s Bounty Board. The Saddleworth property has also been advan- tageously sold, and the proceeds invested by the same authorities. The Church contains MONUMENTAL TABLETS to I, Hannah, wife of CHARLES WOODHEAD, died July 18th, 1833, in her 43rd year. CHARLES WOODHEAD died Septr. 21st, 1845, in his 55th year. II. Jos—EPH GREEN ARMITAGE died Octr. 3rd, 1841, in the $2nd year of his age. Ann, wife of J.G.A., died July 1oth, 1819, in her 53rd year. John Armitage, son of Anthony A., died Sept. 28th, 1801, aged 70 years. William, son of Anthony A., died May 23rd, 1807, aged 65 years. III. Jonas Brook, Meltham Mills, died January 14th, 1836, aged 60 years. William Brook, died December 14th, 1806, aged 72 years. Martha, widow of William Brook, died February ist, 1834, aged 87 years. William Wilson Brook, son of Jonas Brook, died Octr. 21st, 1836, aged 15 years. IV. Sacred to the Memory of the REVEREND JOSEPH HUGHES, for 25 years Incumbent of St. Bartholomew’s, Meltham. A faithful shepherd of the flock committed to his charge. He was born on Sunday, the 3rd of April, 1803, and died on Sunday, the 4th of November, 1868. “ Follow peace with all men, and holiness, without which no man shall see the Lord.” —HEB., xii, 14. From Hunters Church Notes in the British Museum, No. 24,439, P- 197, we read : Meltham Chapel, Parish of Almondbury. In the Quire on a Stone: H.L., James Taylor, Lieutenant to George, Duke of Buckingham, buried

July ist, 1685. PART III.—N.

Page 402

338 ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S CHURCH.

A Brass, on a Seat, belonging to Armitage, of Thickhollins, an acrostical inscription by William Crosley, of Honley: W ith building and temples some have seemed, I n former dayes their soules to have redeemed ; L ying in Lymbus, from all penal crimes, L et into paradize ; Yet these our times I n this last age, most men are far more wise A nd yet much less devote; for most denyes M erritts. But yet one faith by workes men tries.

C ome see this building free from superstition, R ejecting merrittes, voide of all ambition, O f faith not worthy, witnesse few there bee S uch workes that doe, that men their faith may see L et after ages celebrate his fame E gregious praise is tribute to his name, Y t faith and workes doe justifie the same. A.D. 1652.

NATIONAL SUNDAY AND MEMORIAL SCHOOLS.

Next to the Church, the Schools in connection with it, claim a brief notice. The earliest intimation on record of the School- master being in Meltham is contained in a clause in the will of one Matthew Lockwood, “dated May 23rd, 1715, by which he directed the interest of £20 to be paid to a Schoolmaster for teaching children in the town of Meltham—English or Latin.” Whether there was at that time a Schoolhouse in existence is not certainly known, though it may be inferred that there was not from the fact that one was required and built in the village in 1737, the wood for which was given by Mr. Benjamin Armytage, of Thick Hollins, and there is no tradition extant of a previously erected Schoolroom. The building stood on the same site as that of the School existing (in 1866), but of much smaller dimensions and ruder construction. Gross ignorance no doubt prevailed previously. In 1721 when the principal inhabitants met to elect new Trustees for the Chapel, under the will of the Rev. Abraham Woodhead, only 12 persons out of 44 were able to subscribe their names. But this was not peculiar to so remote a village as Meltham.

Page 403

ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S CHURCH, 339

The village of Meltham owes its first Sabbath School to the exertions of Mr. William Whitacre, uncle of the late John Whitacre, Esq., founder of Woodhouse Church, Huddersfield; a gentleman who, in the year 1788, was appointed one of the Commissioners to inquire into the state of the neighbouring Chapel of Slaithwaite. His attention was probably then called to the important subject of Schools, for it was only a year later that he succeeded in establishing one at Golcar Hill. A second Sunday School was set on foot in the village of Meltham, in 1806, by some gentleman whose name cannot be ascertained. It was held in the Week-day School, and when that ceased to be large enough to contain all who sought admission, a third School was opened in a Cottage opposite the Church, subject to the same rules and under the same manage- ment as the preceding ones. And from that day to this the institution of the Sabbath Schools has never lost its hold upon the affections of the people of Meltham. This testimony of his beloved friend, the Author of this volume, can confirm. ‘There was a very pleasant interchange of Services between Mr. Hughes and himself, as Incumbent of Slaithwaite for nearly 20 years, on Palin Sunday there and on Whit-Sunday, at Meltham, where they in turn addressed very large Congregations on the Sunday School Anni- versaries. And which practice has been frequently repeated during the Incumbencies of the Rev. E. C. Watson, at Meltham ; and C. A. Hulbert, senior and junior, at Slaithwaite; and also by the Author, at Almondbury; on one occasion, 1877, interrupted by a serious accident to him on the way. In evidence of this continuous Sunday School zeal may also be adduced the testimony of Mr. J. W. Carlile, in 1864, the year of Mr. Hughes’ decease, at a Meeting of the Mechanics’ Institute

held in the village : ** Average attendance of Children at Meltham Church School, 265; Meltham Mills School, 270; at Greave School (Wilshaw), 87; at Helme School, 138; at the Baptist School, 117 ; and at the Wesleyan School, 240; making a total of 1,117. The number of Teachers, giving only one to each Class, is 122, making the total of Teachers and Scholars attending the different Sunday Schools, 1,239; or one in every four of the population.” The old Village School of 1737 was taken down in 1823 and a

Page 404

340 ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S CHURCH.

new one erected, and again enlarged in 1844-5. From that period it became a NATIONAL SCHOOL, and was at the same time placed under Government inspection. Mr. Lawford, who is now retired and resident near the Vicarage, was the efficient Master, as the testimonies of Her Majesty’s Inspectors fully testify.

The Baptist Society had for above 40 years the Ministry of the Rev. THomAs THOMAS; a native of Oswestry, in the Author’s native county of Salop; and known to him in early years as a tenant of his father at Shrewsbury—with whom a singular and pleasing recognition took place when the latter visited the Author at Slaithwaite, and Mr. Thomas and he met unexpectedly on the Moor after 40 years had elapsed. Mr. Thomas had been first impressed by Wesleyan ministrations, but ultimately became a Baptist. He commenced his Ministry at Meltham in 1829, uniting the office of Schoolmaster with that of Minister. He was of a cheerful piety, and moderate in his doctrinal views ; was much respected by Mr. Hughes and the Clergy around. He continued his pastorate until the Sunday immediately before he was 80 years of age, the 4th September, 1868, and died on the 29th, 1870, aged 82.”

On the decease of Mr. Hughes in 1864, SCHOOLS were proposed in Memoriam; and in 1868 the Ground was presented by Charles Brook, Esq., late of Meltham Hall and Enderby, valued at £4500 ; and the total cost was about £2,000. The Education Department granted £80; and the Ripon Diocesan Society, £20; Edward Brook, Esq., £400; Joseph Hirst, £250; James William Carlile, Esq., £200; C. Brook, Esq., and family, £100; E. C. Gooddy, Esq., Miss E. A. Brook, Miss M. Brook and Mr. T. D. Scholes, each £50; Miss Hirst, Mr. T. A. Haigh, Rev. Lewis Jones, J. C. Laycock, Esq., Mr. James Ramsden and Mrs. Brooke, Honley, each F10. The sum of £20 was collected by house to house Visitation. Mr. E. C. Gooddy was Honorary Secretary to the Building Committee. The Ceremony of laying the Foundation Stone was performed

on Saturday Afternoon, November, 1866, by Miss Jane Gwenhyfar Hughes; and a large Tea Party and Meeting was held the same

Page 405

ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S CHURCH. 341

Evening, at which all religious parties in the village united to express their respect for the Memory of her father. These MEMoRIAL SCHOOLS were erected in 1864-5, on 1,946 square yards, given as before stated. INFANTS’ SCHOOL, 1,573 square yards; and MastTeEr’s House, 144 square yards were also erected in 1874-5. Cost, together, 41,692 16s. r1d._ Principal Subscribers: Ed. Brook, £820 12s. 4d.; J. W. Carlile, £300; Joseph Hirst, £250. These Schools are conveyed unto the Vicars of Almondbury, Meltham, Meltham Mills, Helme and Wilshaw; are in union with the National Society ; and the Funds and Endowments are under the sole management of the Vicar of Meltham for the time being. The Trust Deeds are dated 7th August, 1866, and 11th June, 18609.

CuRATES OF MELTHAM, 1651—1881.

Before entering on the list of these it is but just to the Memory of him who, in those perilous times, opened the door for their Ministration, BisHop TILson, to relate something of his history. Henry Titson was born in the Parish of Halifax, in 1575 ; was entered as a student at Balliol College, Oxon, in 1593; became B.A. in 1596; M.A. in 1599; and was elected Fellow of University College. In October, 1615, he succeeded, in the Vicarage of Rochdale, Mr. Rd. Kenyon, who had become Rector of Stockport. He resided there for some years, and on the 4th day of June, 1620, was married by license at Milnrow, to Grace, daughter of — Chadwick, probably a branch of the Chadwicks of Healey, though unnoticed in the elaborate pedigree of that family in the College of Arms. Six children were baptized at Rochdale. He became Chaplain to Thomas, the great Earl of Strafford, about 1630, and accompanied him to Ireland when appointed Lord Lieutenant. To this distinguished nobleman he was indebted for his unhappy promotion, He became Dean of Christ Church, Dublin, Pro

Page 406

342 ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S CHURCH.

Vice-Chancellor of the University there, and lastly was consecrated Bishop of Elphin on the 23rd September, 1639. On April 3rd, 1635, he resigned the Vicarage of Rochdale, and in the letters of resignation styles himself, “‘ Henry Tilson, Clerk, M.A., Dean of - the Cathedral Church of the Holy Undivided Trinity in Dublin. His prosperity was of short duration. The miserable Irish Rebellion broke out with awful fury, and on the 16th August, 1645, his palace was attacked and pillaged, his library burnt, his goods destroyed, and, what added to the Bishop’s troubles more than all, his son Captain Henry Tilson, the Parliamentarian Governor of Elphin, joined with Sir Charles Coote in urging on the rebels. The Bishop fled from the scene of devastation to England, and found an asylum, through the liberality of Sir William Wentworth, of Wentworth Woodhouse, and Sir William Saville, the relatives of Strafford, at Soothill Hall, in the Parish of Dews- bury. Here he performed all the functions of his Apostolic office, and it is somewhat remarkable that he privately ordained in the “ Bishop’s Parlour,” at Soothill, candidates for Holy Orders during the suspension of Episcopacy. His Lordship’s circumstances were poor and precarious, and he eked out his scanty income by officiating at the small Chapel of Cumberworth for several years; and even, when more than a Septuagenarian, travelling weekly upwards of 12 miles, to perform the duty for less than £16 a year. The Bishop was buried in Dewsbury Church on the 2nd of April, 1655, in his 8oth year, where a mean Monument, with his Lordship’s Arms, and what had been designed as an effigy, still remains. He was not an Author. Whitaker’s History of Whalley gives these and other particulars. He was patronized by Mr. Wentworth, of Bretton, in whom CUMBERWORTH was vested as a Donative, as at present in his successor, Wentworth Blackett Beaumont, Esquire. The Rev. Laurence Farington, Rector of Emley, was his Gaius or Host. He found the people preferred two Sermons of 20 minutes to one of an hour long; a taste not extinct in the rgth Century; but the Puritans required two Sermons of full dimension: sometimes turned the ‘hour glass on the Pulpit,

Page 407

ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S CHURCH. 343

He was in his 74th year when he Consecrated Meltham Chapel. ob eruditionem et Pietatem insignis,’ says his tomb. Te remarks himself that all his Ecclesiastical livings and preferments had come without his seeking or suit. It is well to see the cloud move ! I. CHRISTIAN Binns, B.A., the first Curate of the first Chapel or Church in Meltham, was the only son of the Rev. John Binns, who was for about 18 years Minister of Honley Chapel, and for ten, of Holmfirth; where he remained until his death in 1646. He was born at Over Brockholes, and having received his elemen- tary education, was sent to Trinity College, Cambridge. His residence there was during the exciting period of the great national struggle or civil war. He took his B.A. degree in 1646. It is probable that he took up his residence on his paternal estate at Over Brockholes (Bank End), from which he never removed. Dr. Tilson had declined to ordain him Deacon as he hesitated to take the oath of the King’s supremacy. He, however, on the 3rd of October, 1650, was ordained Presbyter by the Bishop of Elphin, at Emley Church, and was the following year appointed to the Curacy of Meltham, and continued unto his death, which took place at Bank End. He was interred at Kirkburton the 27th of June, 1669. His will was proved in the Court of Saint John’s, of Jerusalem—a peculiar, 1670. He devized his estate to his sister Elizabeth, wife of Mr. Anthony Armytage, of Thickhollins. She was buried January 23rd, 1687, and her husband September 8th, 1674 (Morehouse ). II. GerorcE Crostanp, B.A., of Trinity College, Cambridge, received the cure of souls at Meltham, znd May, 1669. Of this gentleman and the character of his ministrations no tradition now exists. He was probably related to the two Croslands, George - and Nephew John, successively Vicars of Almondbury. There is a tombstone to a George Crosland, son of the former Vicar, dated 1666. But no record of the Curate of Meltham. He married a lady named Martha Bannister, by whom he had two daughters, baptized 1675 and 8o. IIIl.—Timoruy His name occurs as exhibiting his

Page 408

344 ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S CHURCH.

license in 1674, and also that of the Rev. DENNIS Hayrorp in 1683. We find in the Register of Almondbury, ‘‘Septembris, 1674, Timothy Ellison et Anna Dison, nupt. 21°.” But their term of service as Curates must have been very short, as George Crosland held the Curacy in August, 1676, and how much longer we know not. “Their Memorial is perished with them.” IV. RANDALL Broom. He exhibited his licence in 1683. He officiated at a marriage—that of the Rev. Carus Philipson, Vicar of Almondbury, December 17th, 1683, He held the Curacy 22 years, but during that period resided at Linthwaite Hall, near Slaithwaite. He died December 17th, 1705, in the 63rd year of his age, and was buried in Meltham Churchyard, where his tombstone, with the following inscription, may still be seen :— Here lies the body of Mr. Randall Broom, Curate of this place, who departed this lyfe in the 63rd year etatis Suz.

His burial is registered at Almondbury Dec. 20th, 1705, as taken from Meltham Register. Mr. Hughes observes : ‘* All that we can learn respecting him is to be gathered from the Diary of the Rev. Robert Meeke, Incumbent of Slaithwaite, between whom and Mr. Broom a great intimacy existed, which seems to have led to frequent intercourse and occasional exchange of clerical duties. Mr. Meeke was a faithful and conscientious Pastor, greatly beloved by his people, and a friendship with him gives us a favourable impression of Mr. Broom’s character.” Their journey together to York to the election of Sir John Kaye, 1690, is given in page 202 of this work.

V. Joun Kaye. Mr. Broom died in 1705, but Mr. Kaye did not take the Curacy before 1710. It must have been filled by some other person whose name is unknown. He was a member of an old and respectable family residing at Netherthong, and it is supposed he lived there. A flat stone in the Churchyard of Almondbury has the following inscription :

Here lyeth the Body of the Reverend Mr. John Kaye, late Curate of Meltham, who died December the 24th, in the 45th year of his age. Ano. Dno. 1723. Interesting fragments of his Sermons remain, nearly obliterated, of a very spiritual character, quoted by Mr. Hughes,

Page 409

ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S CHURCH, 345

VI. A gentleman of the name of SUNDERLAND was, after the death of Mr. Kaye, nominated, but we have no further record. VII. Joun StaynTon, B.A., took the cure of souls in Meltham, 1724. Nominated by the Rev. R. Slater, Vicar of Almondbury. Probably a descendant of the Robert Staynton, Vicar, who died in 1598. The Vicar’s son, Henry Staynton, was Curate of Marsden in his father’s lifetime. Rev. John Staynton only held the Curacy four years. VIII. A Mr. Littlewood, of whom no record remains except the name, succeeded. IX. RopBERT SAGAR, nominated July, 1728, by the Rev. Edward Rishton, Vicar of Almondbury. He seems to have occasioned much annoyance by his negligence respecting Registers to Mr. Rishton, who was very conscientious and exact. See pages g9 and 106 of this volume. The commonplace books of the Rev. John Murgatroyd, Master of Slaithwaite School, contain various references to him. He frequently supplied the Chapel gratuitously. Mr. Hughes records: “ Persons not long deceased remembered how this good man (Mr. Murgatroyd) used to toil on the road from Slaithwaite to Meltham, book in hand, preparing his sermon, regardless alike of the heat of Summer and the storms of Winter.” Mr. Sagar came originally from Colne, in Lancashire, and was at the same time as a Mr. Littlewood, an applicant for the Curacy, after the death of the Rev. John Staynton. He was married in 1742 to Mary Broadbent, of Cradin Holes. It is noted that the marriage took place at Meltham, and by Mr. Marsden, Curate of Marsden ; by express consent of the Vicar, the banns being first published at Almondbury. He held the Curacy 42 years, went to bed in his usual health and was found dead in his bed at 8 in the Morning April 26, 1770. His grandson, Mr. William Sykes aged 85, a vigorous old man, with all his faculties unimpaired, gave the following caustic and humorous lines with reference to his former disappointment in being superseded in his application, when applied to after the death of Mr. Sagar ;

Page 410

346 ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S CHURCH.

LITTLEWOOD is gone, GREATWOOD, you have none What need can you have of a SAGAR.

“Sagar” in the dialect of Meltham means Sawyer.

Two gentlemen’s names occur in Archbishop Sharpe’s Book ; those of SAMUEL BROOKE, in 1730, and JONATHAN LEATHER- BARROW, in 1733, who must have been Assistant Curates.

The Rev. Samuel Brooke, see page 297, was Head Master of Almondbury School. X. Epmunp ArmiITsTEAD. ‘The last Curate who officiated in the Old Chapel was nominated by the Rev. Robert Smith, Vicar of Almondbury, in 1770. He occupied the Pulpit there 16 years, and the second chapel 42 years, altogether 58. From 1770 till: his decease, October, 1828, at the advanced age of 85. His remains were brought from Netherton, where he had resided during the whole time of his Incumbency, and were interred under the Communion Table in Meltham Church. Mr. Murgatroyd has several entries of his visits and ministrations at Meltham in 1782.

JosEpH HuGHEs, a native of the principality of Wales, whose Bardic name was Carn-Ingli. Very earnest in promoting the interests of the Church in Wales—one of most active members of the Society of Clergy in Yorkshire for that object, of Cambrian origin, referred to page 75; and in particular he addressed a letter to his fellow-countrymen on “Church Abuses in Wales,” dated July tst, 1852. He was a good Latin scholar, and still more an earnest and interesting extemporary preacher in the English language, as well as his native tongue. Mild and simple in manners; decidedly Evangelical in doctrine—and how much beloved by his people has been already shewn. He married Catherine, daughter of Wm. Laycock, Esq., of Nun Appleton, near York, who survived him. He was one of several active and devoted Clergymen whom the late Vicar of Almondbury introduced into this parish, eminently fitted by simple piety, strong health and frugal habits ;. familiar with hily scenery, so formidable to many from the Southern and Midland Counties of England, and free and popular in manners. As having enjoyed his friendship

Page 411

ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S CHURCH. 347

for 24 years the Author gladly quotes the following notice from the posthumous History of Meltham, page 181. “Tn the year 1838 the Rev. Joseph Hughes was nominated to the Incumbency of Meltham on its resignation by the Rev. Lewis Jones, Vicar of the Parish, and Patron of the living. The appointment was viewed with entire satisfaction by all at the time it was made, and what was thought of it 25 years after, when this faithful Pastor was removed from his charge by the hand of death, on Sunday, the 8th of November, 1863, is best known to those who remember the village of Meltham on that Sabbath day ; a day of darkness and distress to all its inhabitants, and one on which we may not dwell in this place. His memory is enshrined in the hearts of the people, and all those who loved him best are content to leave it.” The beautiful monumental tablet erected to his memory in the Church has already been given. THE MEMORIAL SCHOOLS were opened on Saturday, January 11th, 1868, after Divine Service held in the Church. The Sermon was preached by the Rev. George Hough, Incumbent of South Croslaud, from Psalm Ixxvii, v 5-7. There was a Tea Party and After-Meeting, at which 500 persons were present, under the presidency of the Rev. E. C. Watson, the Incumbent. The School is a parallelogram, 65 feet by 30 feet within the walls, and 26 feet high to the ceiling, and has separate entrances for boys and girls by means of a double porch. ‘There are two classrooms also. In the gable over the principal entrances there is an elaborate inscription stone: “S. BARTHOLOMEWS CHURCH SCHOOLS, 1867. Jn JMemoriam.” The whole work has been finished in the style of the Gothic of the 13th century, under Messrs. Kirk and Sons, Architects. The site had been purchased in accordance with a wish for a School, casually expressed by Mr. Hughes to Charles Brook, jun., Esq., who purchased it only a week before Mr. Hughes’ death, and became a liberal donor.

The Funeral Sermon, from 2 Timothy ii, 6-8, preached by the Rev. E. C. Ince, then Incumbent of Meltham Mills, at St. Bartholomew’s, contains the

Page 412

348 ST. JAMES’ CHURCH.

following particulars: ‘‘ At 17 years of age he was gently brought to Christ ; the seed of grace was sown in his heart while young and tender, to bear fruit to God for the space of 44 years. After holding two or three Curacies in Wales, he came into this neighbourhood at the age of 27, and held the Incumbency of Lockwood for seven years. He then removed to Liverpool where, fcr about a year, he laboured as Curate to that eminent servant of God, Dr. McNeile. There he had a Service weekly in the Welsh language (in which he was a fluent preacher) for the poor from the Principality ; who, when he removed thence to Meltham, crowded round his house and wept at losing their devoted Pastor. You know his course from that time. He has passed a quarter of a century among you. Twenty-five years ago to the very day on which he died (November 8th) he first stood up before you in this Church to preach that Gospel of which his first text gave the very note, and from which he has never deviated. That first text was, ‘‘I am sure that when I come unto you I shall come in the fulness of the blessing of the Gospel of Christ (Rom. xv, 29).”’ Exactly that day 25 years he finished his course, and ‘was not for the Lord took him.”

St. JaMes’ CuurcH, MELTHAM MILLs.

The next ecclesiastical edifice connected with this village is St. James’ Church, erected by the zeal and benevolence of the same family, who felt the serious responsibility of increasing wealth, and who had erected the temporary Church, in 1838, of which the first licensed Minister was the Rev. David Meredith. It had accommodation for 250 persons, but which soon became in- adequate to the increasing congregation. The beautiful Gothic Church was so rapidly decided upon and erected, that it was ready for Consecration by the Bishop Longley, on the 11th of November, 1845 ; and contains 730 sittings. The worthy founder, as well of the temporary as of the permanent Church, James Brook, Esq., of Thornton Lodge, and afterwards of Thorp Arch, did not live to see its completion, having been called to his rest some months before its consecration ; the work was completed by his sons. The following Monuments in the Chancel faithfully

depict their character. In this Chancel lie the mortal remains of JAMES BROOK, Esq., aged 71 years, who was born July 1, A.D. 1773, and died April 27, A.D. 1845. Humble, sincere, cheerful and. benevolent, an affectionate husband, an

Page 413

7 ? ST. JAMES’ CHURCH. 349

indulgent father, a faithful friend, a kind master and an upright merchant. As the founder of this Church he left a lasting Memorial of his care for the poor, and of his faith and piety towards God. His three surviving sons erected this Monument, in affectionate remembrance of his many Christian virtues. Also the remains of JANE BROOK, relict of the above, who died September 1, A.D. 1849, aged 60 years. Faith, Hope, Charity, these three; but the greatest of these is Charity, On the opposite side is the following tablet : Consecrated to the Memory of Charlotte, the beloved and affectionate wife of William Leigh Brook, Esquire, of Meltham Hall, and third daughter of Joseph Armitage, Esquire, of Milns Bridge House, who died the roth day of October, 1847, aged 37 years.” She ‘being dead yet speaketh.” Also in Memory of William Leigh Brook, Esquire, who died of Cholera, at Cologne, September roth, 1855, aged 46 years. Also of Emily, his second wife, youngest daughter of Joseph Armitage, Esquire. of Milns Bridge House, who died of Cholera, at Frankfort-on-the-Maine, September 17th, 1855, aged 33 years. Their remains are interred in the Cemeteries of the places where they died. “Lord make me to know mine end, and the measure of my days, what it is, that I may know how frail I am.” Charles Armitage Brook, youngest son of the above William Leigh and Emily Brook, died March 31st, 1856, aged 2 years.— Revelation xiv, v 13. The affecting circumstances referred to in the two latter Monu- ments have already been described in page 246. The news arrived by telegram on the day when the mills were adorned with flags and other decorations, on the occasion of the fall of Sebastopol : they-were soon lowered, and ‘the victory that day was turned into mourning unto all the people.” The Rev. E. C. Ince preached on the occasion, in St. James’ Church, a Sermon entitled “ Zhe House of Mourning,” from Ecclesiastes vil, 2, in which he says: ‘*How melancholy are the outward circumstances attending this solemn event! The husband and wife both taken within a few hours of each other, leaving

five children, three of whom are too young to know and feel their loss: dying also far from home, and their remains rest among strangers separated from

Page 414

350 ST. JAMES’ CHURCH.

each other, and far from the bones of their family. Mr. Brook was a true Protestant and a Patron of the Great Religious Societies ; and always ready to promote any plan laid before him for the temporal or spiritual good of the people.” Mr. Ince also quotes the testimony of the Author of this work, given the preceding Sunday in the Parish Church, Huddersfield, where he married Mr. Brook to his first wife in 1841 : generous friend, the upright Magistrate, the kind master, the tender father availed nothing! First the terrible foe snatched the sweet and delicate partner of his joys, reckless of her moral loveliness or personal charms, her maternal fondness or their mutual love. Another blow and the strong man bows himself—and in a strange land—they give up the Ghost!”

‘*The thunder came! the bolt hath blighted both The oak’s firm texture and the lily’s growth.” And nothing is left us but to mourn—to smite our breasts—and ‘‘to hear the rod and who hath appointed it.” The message written upon it is this: ‘‘ Work while it is day, for the night cometh when no man can work.”

There is also a Monument to James Brook, youngest son of James Brook, Esq., of Thornton Lodge, who died on the 12th day of February, 1840, in the 24th year of his age. Renunciation of self and a sure trust in his God and Saviour were the foundations of his character in life and the unfailing source of his hope and peace during his last long illness; he left behind him those who will never cease to remember how kind and dutiful he was as a son, and how affectionate as a brother. His remains are interred in a Vault beneath this Church. Also—In Memory of the Rev. David Meredith, the first Incumbent of this Church; who, after a faithful and earnest Ministry in the Gospel of Christ, fell asleep, January xxvii, 1853, aged xl. “Those things which ye have both learned and received and heard in me do, and the God of Peace shall be with you.” A beautiful East Window was, in 1865, placed in the Chancel by Mr. Charles Brook, junior; the subject of which is “The Ascension.” It bears the following Inscription: “ I ascend unto my Father and your Father, to my God and your God.” The Church contains several Memorial Windows : I. In Memory of Charles John Brook, who died Feby. 17th, 1857, aged 27 years. II. Charles Armitage Brook (as above).

Page 415

ST. JAMES’ CHURCH. 351

III. This Window was presented by the workpeople in the employ of Jonas Brook and Bros., of Meltham Mills, as a tribute of affection to their late master, William Leigh Brook. IV. This Window was presented by Charles Brook, junr., Esq., in Memory of Charlotte and Emily, the wives of his late brother, Wilham Leigh Brook. V. In Memory of Clara Jane Birchall (daughter of W. L. and Charlotte Brook, and wife of J. Dearman Birchall, Esq., ot Leeds), who died at Bonchurch, March 4th, 1863, aged 22 years. VI. Thomas Brook, of Ackworth, County of York, died Feb. 23, 1852, aged 40; and Caroline, his relict, died Dec. 28, 1858, aged 41. Both interred in Kensall Green Cemetery, London. VII. Presented by their children as a tribute of affection to the Memory of Jonas and Hannah Brook, 1876. VIII.—To the Memory of Charles Brook, junr., Esq., born Nov. 18, 1813; died July 10, 1872. The gift of the workpeople of Messrs. Jonas Brook and Bros., Meltham Mills.

INCUMBENTS.

The Rev. Davip MEREDITH, whose talent and piety had been amply tested in the Church and Village of Meltham, was the first Incumbent of the New Church. But he had been compelled, in 1841, from failing health, to resign his post and try the effects of a dry and warm climate, strongly recommended by his medical advisers. The place of his destination was Smyrna: and after witnessing much that was interesting in that scene of a Primitive Church, he beyond expectation, but to the delight of his former flock, in the year 1845, again reached the shores of England, and resumed his pastoral charge in the New Church. His place during absence having been supplied by the Rev. H. P. Brancker, who had been appointed to the Incumbency, but relinquished it before Mr. Meredith’s return. The latter continued to officiate until the year 1850, when he removed, as Incumbent, to Elland, in the Parish of Halifax, and died there in 1853. ANDREW Frost, M.A., succeeded Mr. Mere-

Page 416

352 ST. MARY'S CHURCH.

dith in 1850; and was a useful and able minister until 1853, when he went out to India in connection with the Church Missionary Society ; and after many years faithful labour in that field is now at Croxton, Ulceby, Lincolnshire. EpWaRD CummING INCE, M.A., succeeded in the same doctrine and fellowship; and continued until 1867, when he became Vicar of Christ Church, Battersea, Surrey: but is now retired and resident at Sunbury House, Watford, Herts. JosHuA RICHARD JAGOE entered upon the Incumbency in 1867, and is still in active efficiency ; as also Chaplain of the Meltham Mills Convalescent Home. The same evangelical spirit and doctrine have been providentially vouchsafed in the appointments made under the patronage of the family of the Founder. Assistant Curates have been: Edward Collis Watson, 1860; C. E. Bagshaw, 1862; J. MacCarthy, 1865; Albert Willan, 1867 ; Henry J. Cheesman, 1874; A. W. Smith, 1877; E. H. Gniffith, 1880.

St. Mary’s CHURCH, WILSHAW.

On an elevated plain beyond Thickhollins Hall, and the Holly Wood which gives it name, was the Hamlet of GREAVE or Wilshaw, that is the Grove, or Willow Grove. Of small note, bordering on the Townships of Upper and Netherthong, and the extremity of that of Meltham towards the south east. Mr. Joseph Hurst, a native of Lingards, having carried on very successfully the Woollen Manufacture ; with the reputation of the purest materials ; greatly improved and enlarged the buildings, erected and endowed Sr. Mary’s CHURCH AND SCHOOL near his own residence. It was intended as a Memorial of his beloved and only child, Mary, the wife of Mr. Alfred Beaumont, then of Park Cottage, North Crosland, whose early death took place June gth, 1859. The first stone of the edifice was laid by Mrs. Hirst, on the 31st of March, 1862, and it was Consecrated by the present Lord Bishop of the Diocese on the 27th of April, 1863. The School which forms part of the building is a spacious room, well adapted to the purpose for which it was designed as a Sunday School. It

Page 417

ST. MARYS CHURCH. 353

contains above roo scholars; which are under the superintendence of the Rev. John Scott Ellis Spencer, M.A., Dublin, the first and present Incumbent. The Church accommodates 220 persons, including the children. The population of the New Parish is about 400. It was constituted a New Parish by Order in Council dated 23rd October, 1876, including portions of the New Parishes of Meltham, Meltham Mills, Netherthong, Upperthong and Holmebridge. The style of the architecture is that called Romanesque. Nothing can exceed the beauty of the stone masonry without the Church, equalled only by that of the wood- work within; the carving of which is greatly admired, while everything connected with the Church bespeaks the care and attention bestowed upon it. A handsome East Window, by Clayton and Bell, bears the following inscription : In Memory of Mary, the only child of Joseph and Eleanor Hirst, who died June oth, 1859. And on each of the North and South windows in the Chancel these lines are inscribed : In Memory of Mary, the beloved wife of Alfred Beaumont, Esq., 1864. Mrs. Eleanor Hirst erected in 1871 six Almshouses, semi- detached, with beautiful surroundings. They are endowed so that each inmate (twelve persons male and female) receives seven shillings per week and coals. Mr. Hirst purchased an estate at Thornton Hough, in Cheshire, where he resided great part of his latter years, until his death, December 11th, 1874, in the 7oth year of his age; and was interred on Wednesday, 16th, in a vault in the garden adjoining to his residence at Wilshaw Villa and the Church. Mrs. Hirst, who has recently, 1881, died, has by will increased the Income of the Church (before 4300) by an addition of £100 per annum, and also bequeathed the Villa as a Vicarage House, for the use of the Vicar for the time being, with the greatest part of the furniture, pictures and other valuable effects: and has provided a further £100 per annum to keep up the Garden, Mausoleum and Vicarage. The Church contains an elaborate and exquisite white marble

Monument to Mr. Hirst—a basso relievo representation of the PART III.—o.

Page 418

354 ST. MARY’S CHURCH.

Good Samaritan, by Mr. J. Forsyth, of London—with the motto “Go and do thou likewise” and the following inscription :

To the Memory of JosEPpH of this place, the founder of the Church and School. This tablet is erected by his neighbours and workpeople.

The Font is a white marble Pillar, with inscriptions: “One Lord, one Faith, one Baptism. The Word, the Spirit and the Blood.” It is inclosed in a Baptistry of Oak Rails. The Pulpit and Reading Desk are also of Oak. ‘The Founder's Pew is likewise inclosed. The Commandments, Lord’s Prayer and Creed are painted on the East Wall. Over the Norman Arch of the Chancel is written: “Glory to God in the highest, and on earth good will. Holy, Holy, Holy, Lord God Almighty. Alleluia. Amen.” Over the entrance: “ Being justified by faith we have peace with God.” In the adjoining grounds, which are beautifully planted and laid out, is a large Tomb or Mausoleum ; octagon, with niches and circular arches highly ornamented on each side. Towards the Church are marble figures, in niches, of Mr. Hirst and Mrs. Beau- mont, and in the centre a long inscription to the memory of Mrs. Beaumont, detailing her many virtues, filial, social and charitable, and that she died suddenly, aged 27 years. On the East side, surmounted by an urn and a shield of arms, carved in stone, is inscribed : “In Memory of JosepH Hirst, J.P., of Wilshaw, the Founder of this Church and Restorer of the Village. He died Decr. 11th, 1874, in the 7oth year of his age. His remains rest, with those of his only child, within this Tomb, awaiting a joyful resurrection, through our Lord Jesus Christ. His widow, after a happy union of 43 years, desires to record her sense of his Christian character and her hope of a glorious reunion with those beloved ones; who are not lost but gone before.” She has doubtless now realised her hope. She died April 26th, 1881, aged 67 years. Mr. Hirst had also created a “happy village” at Thornton

Hough.* He had returned unwell to Wilshaw a short time before

* The Estate has now (July, 1881) been purchased by H. Dyson Taylor, Esq., of Newsome and Huddersfield, with the best auguries for the tenantry,

Page 419

THICK HOLLINS. 355

his death, but reviving, resumed his duties as a Magistrate at Huddersfield ; but was engaged so long on the last occasion that he was completely exhausted. He was in all respects a typical Yorkshireman; a frank, generous and laborious character. His medical attendant, Mr. H. J. Morehouse, had to communicate the sad intelligence that he had heart disease, and which rapidly ended his labours. His benevolence was not confined to bis own property, but extended to various objects of charity and piety in the surrounding parishes. He was a strong supporter of the free and un-appropriated Church movement (as see the account of the Restoration of Almondbury Church), and he supplied in several instances, mats, cushions and other conveniences, on condition of Bibles, Common Prayer Books and Hymn Books being provided. The Author of this work records with gratitude his gift of £100 extra, towards the restoration and enlargement of the Side Chapels of his Church, out of personal respect, and contrary to his usual limitation to the Nave. His nephew, Henry Arthur Hirst, Esq., represents him at Wilshaw, who married Septr. 13th, 1877, Harriet Jane Owen, second daughter of William Webb, Esq., of Larchville, Brimstage, Cheshire; and John C. Hirst, Esq., also married. The manufacturing establishment has now become a Joint Stock Company. A Funeral Sermon was preached on his death by the Rev. J. S. E. Spencer, from Philippians i, 23, “Having a desire to depart and be with Christ,” at St. Mary’s Church, December 2oth, 1874, and was published by request.

Tuick HOLLINS.

This ancient residence is often referred to as the property of a branch of the family derived from John Ermitage, of the Hermitage, Honley, see page 240, but who have maintained the distinction of spelling as Avmytage. Thomas, the youngest son, first settled at Thickhollins, in the township of Meltham, and Anno 18 Hen. viii (A.D. 1527), is named as one of the executors of his father’s will. He died 4th Elizabeth, buried 26th August, 1561, at Almondbury.

Page 420

356 THICK HOLLINS.

Mr. Nowell has traced the pedigree elaborately in his MS.

through seven generations tg the last male representatives : I. John Armytage, of Thick Hollins, eldest son and heir of Anthony A. and Martha Green, only daughter of Christopher Green, of Greenhouse, in the Graveship of Holme. Marriage settlement dated 3rd Feb., 1729. He was afterwards of Kettlethorpe, in the County of York. He married Elizabeth Crosland, of Lindley, and died without issue in Sept., 1801; buried at Meltham. She at Huddersfield 1776. 2. Anthony Armytage, of Richmond, in Surrey, brother of John, died unmarried 24th July, 1761. 3. William Armytage, of Almondbury, Attorney-at-Law, then of Thick Hollins, died unmarried 23rd May, 1807; buried at Meltham. By his will dated the preceding day, proved at York and London, he devized all his Estates, &c., to his cousin, Joseph Green, subject to his assuming and using the surname of Armytage. He was sometime of Round Green, in the County of York, son and heir of Luke Green, of Field End or Greenhouse; born at Field End 21st Sept., 1760; bapt. at Holmfirth 18th Oct. following. By the King’s royal signet and sign manual, dated 26th June, 1807, he assumed the name of Armytage in addition to that of Green, with the Arms of Armytage. He married Anne, eldest daughter of Benjamin North, of Lockwood, by Ellen his wife; daughter of James Crosland, of Holme; married at Almondbury 17th Decr., 1787; obiit 1oth July, 1819; buried at Meltham. Issue: Ellen, Edward, Anne, Benjamin, James, Mary, William, Margaret, Jane, and John North. The heir apparent was the Reverend BENJAMIN (Edward having died young), in whose family the property is still vested. The last female Armytage is represented by Mr. William Eastwood, Banker, of Bradford, and Mr. John Adam Eastwood, of Manchester; the latter of whom, a native of Meltham, interested in its history, is a Member of the Yorkshire Archeological Society. Reverting to Mr. Hughes’ History, page 223, after referring to the manufacture of woollen cloth having been, as early as the reign of Edward III, practised in Meltham, he observes: the pursuit of agriculture, however, the first place was necessarily given by persons, nearly all of whom were freeholders, and as in the documentary evidence respecting property in Meltham, from the time of Elizabeth to that of Queen Anne, the terms, Yeoman and Husbandman are perpetually applied to the various persons therein named, it is natural to conclude that most of the inhabitants were landed proprietors ; those on a larger scale were called yeomen, and those on a smaller one husbandmen, and both

freeholders. Perhaps to the preponderance of this class may be

Page 421

THICK HOLLINS. 357

traced the excessive love for their district, so many of whose acres were their own, which ever distinguished the inhabitants of Meltham; and also that strong independent self-will and impatience of restraint which they have on many occasions evinced. The tanning of leather must be added to the tilling of the soil and the working of woollen cloth, though not to a great extent, considering the abundance of oak bark to be had in the neighbourhood and the constant supply of water.” But this branch of trade has long since left the place, and Mr. Benjamin Armytage, who resided at Thick Hollins in 1731, as far as is known, was the last person connected with Meltham who embarked largely in it. Several respectable families were engaged in this trade, as the Shaws at Broadfield, Lingards, and Croslands at Almondbury. But the introduction of Cotton Spinning has thrown all else into the shade. The world-wide fame of “ Brook’s Sewing Cotton” represents one of the largest manufacturing establishments in the kingdom, and having been uniformly carried on in connection with principles of justice, religion and benevo- lence, the proprietors have raised the township of Meltham to the highest state of privilege and prosperity, and the proprietors have become possessed of large estates elsewhere. Of THICKHOLLINS House itself, from its antiquity and beauty, the boast and ornament of the district, it is to be regretted that no particular records remain, and that, beyond the generally admitted fact of its having been always ranked as “the Great House of the neighbourhood,” and was always admired for its ancient respecta- bility, tradition gives no clue to the date of its erection ; nor is the name of its founder preserved. The first allusion to it is to be found in the time of Edward III, when a John de Thickholyns, probably the lord of the soil, was in sufficient favour with his sovereign, to ask and obtain a special grant at his hands to cut wood in the Willow Shaw. But though no conjecture can be formed as to when or by whom the first mansion at Thick Hollins was built, the present one is supposed to stand on its site, and may probably retain the old foundation, but it has been often enlarged and remodelled. The following notices of the family survive.

Page 422

358 THICK HOLLINS.

The earliest entry of any one bearing the Armytage name in the Almondbury Register, is the following : 1558, Feb. 11—Anthony, the son of John Armitedge, bapt., of Thickhollins. A sister of Christian Binns, the first Curate of Meltham, married an Anthony Armitage, probably sometime between the years 1651 and 1669; the mother of Abraham Woodhead was an Armitage ; one of his Thickhollins cousins was at University College, Oxford, when Dr. Obadiah Walker was Master of it about 1675 ; his eldest cousin, John Armytage, of Thickhollins, in the year 1676 married Mary, the relict of Godfrey Beaumont, of South Crosland, yeoman; but she died the following year after the birth of her first child, who was baptised the same day when his mother was interred. His son, John Armitage, of Thickhollins, “‘ ARMIGER,” was one of the Grand Jury at York, in 1716, and that he died on the 14th of November, 1747. One more glimpse of this ancient family is afforded in the Meltham Register, in 1752, where it is noted that “old Mrs. Mary Armytage, o’th Thickhollins, was buried in the Chancel, July 27.* The Author of these Annals has been favoured with the sight of a Charter in the possession of Joseph Batley, Esq., Town Clerk of Huddersfield.

It is dated at Meltham, in the vigil of the Ascension of our Lord (mdxcv), 1595. Whereby Adam, of Thickholynes, grants to William Hepworth, Chaplain, and Ada Stonne, one messuage and one bovate of land, and all the lands and tenements he has or may have in Thickholynes, within the bounds of Meltham, or in any other place, to hold to the said W. Hepworth and A. Stonne, their heirs and assigns, freely, quietly, well and in peace, according to the service due and of right customary to the capital Lords of that fee. And (he says) I, the said Adam, de Thickholynes, and my heirs will warrant and defend the aforesaid messuage and bovate of land, &c., to the said William Hepworth for ever. Sealed and witnessed by Will. Wilson, Will. Smyth, de Honley, Johanna

* The Yorkshire and Topographical Journal, part xxii, gives a copy of the Roll of the Poll Tax of 2 Richard II, for the Wapentake of Agbrigg, and under ‘‘ North Crosland,” Willielmus del Ermytache et Agnes ux. ejus iijd, Other extracts will follow hereafter.

Page 423

THICK HOLLINS, 359

Bery, Roger Taylor, John Oldfelde and others. On the back ‘“€arta Ade Thickholynes, Willmo Hepworth, Ade Stone.

Among fines, 29 Hen. 8th, Ebor, we find:

Thomas Hepworth, quer, et William Tyas, de Tickhill, deft., of Messuages and Land in Farnley Tyas, Thick Hollins and Almondbury. 244,458, f. 264, a, British Museum: John Appleyard, of Longley, held lands in Almondbury which had descended to him by a daughter of John Hepworth; and Richard Blackburn had Fletcher House in the right of his wife, the daughter and heiress of Thomas Hepworth.

Almondbury Register. May, 1639, Thomas Blackburne and Sara Hepworth married xt. The family, but not name, of Hepworth still remains in the village of Almondbury, formerly of much note. The late Rev. J. N. Green Armitage was a man of much piety and talent: his son is Minister of an English Congregation at Nice. The house and park at Thick Hollins were occupied by Mr. William Brook, the father and founder of the original firm of Jonas Brook and Brothers ; and subsequently by Mr. C. J. Brook, his grandson ; more recently by James William Carlile, Esq., now of Pondsbourne Park, Herts; and at present by Edward Hildred Carlile, Esq. ; and by them the ancient hospitality of the place has been fully kept up: both are partners in the present firm. MELTHAM HALL has also arisen to share the ancient prestige. It was built and occupied by William Leigh Brook, Esq., until his death, as already recorded, in 1855. Since that time by Charles Brook, Esq., junior, who also removed to Enderby Hall, near Leicester ; afterwards his cousin, Edward Brook, Esq., now of Hoddam Castle, Dumfrieshire, and at present by Julius Hirst, Esq., married, June 16th, 1881, to Esther, second daughter of the late Mr. Charles John Brook, of Thick Hollins. The is at present undergoing great improvement. DuRKER Roop is also a mansion, recently erected and occupied by Arthur Calrow Armitage, Esq., of the Highroyd and Milnsbridge family. See page 245. -Bent House, Meltham, was formerly the residence of Uriah Tinker, Esq. ; one of the Lords of the Manor of Meltham ; whose relict survives him at Meal Hill, Township of Hepworth. For

Page 424

360 THICK HOLLINS.

more elaborate details with reference to manorial rights, &c., the Author refers the reader to the History of Meltham; the scope of his work being more Ecclesiastical, and the limits of its extent forbidding enlargement on the family history of the Radcliffes, Waterhouses, Beaumonts and Brooks, except incidentally. The INSTITUTION, the Baprist and WESLEYAN CHAPELS, the News Room and LENDING LIBRARY, the WATERWORKS and Raitway and other improvements would invite attention as indicative of piety, intelligence and prosperity; but the crowning glory of the place are the

CONVALESCENT HOME AND PEOPLE’S PLEASURE GROUNDS,

Both were the gift of Mr. Charles Brook, junior. The Grounds were laid out by Mr. Major, the celebrated Landscape Gardener, and are not only picturesque to the eye but beneficial to the health of those who resort to them; and have now, in above twenty years growth, attained a degree of perfection and beauty to which their natural situation, though very near the Mills, has evidently conduced. Here the weary Mechanic and his family may recreate amidst the beauties of nature, and reflect that a principle of Divine love, far higher than nature, has spread this little Eden. The ConvaLescent HomE is a large and handsome building, on another Meal hill, at the West end of the valley of Meltham, erected and endowed at the sole expense of Mr. Charles Brook, junior, then of Enderby ; not when failing health bid the heart relax into consideration of those posthumous arrangements which men make when they mzs¢ part with all the treasures of the world, but in the full vigour, as it then appeared, of health and enjoyment. It is a refuge for those who, having suffered from severe illness, have found relief, in the Huddersfield Infirmary or in private but often crowded homes; so as, by the aid of pure air, good food and good books, moderate exercise and religious privileges, they may recover strength and return to their family circles and useful employments with renewed strength and a lively sense of gratitude to the Author of all good, and of veneration for the memory of the large hearted Founder. The total cost for building and

Page 425

THICK HOLLINS. 301

endowment was £40,000. Bordering on the moors—where the blue and yellow heather blooms, the bees sip the honey and the grouse fatten on the berries—they may stray to the summit, which commands a view extending to York Minster,* while Deerhill, West Nab and Cop lend variety and interest to the view. The Foundation Stone was laid with full Masonic honors by the then Earl, now Marquis, of Ripon. The plans and designs were prepared by Mr. Birchall, of Leeds, and were carried out under the immediate supervision of Messrs. J. Kirk and Sons, of Huddersfield. It is in the domestic Gothic style, finely relieved with elegantly designed windows, all of stone. The land appro- priated to the Building and Recreation Grounds is 11 acres in extent. There is accommodation for 30 inmates of each sex. The establishment is under the direction of a local Committee, and due care is taken in the admission of inmates for a month: and their religious wants are duly attended to by the Rev. J. R. Jagoe, the Vicar of St. James’ Church and Chaplain ex-officio of the Home. “Although no Chapel has been erected in connection with the house, Services are very conveniently conducted in the dining hall, which indeed closely resembles a place of worship ; and on Sundays the officials, and such of the patients as desire, can attend the Service at St. James’ Church.” The day the Foundation Stone was laid there were from 10,000 to 12,000 spectators, in addition to the Freemasons, Oddfellows, Ancient Shepherds, Foresters and others joining in procession. The OpeninG CEREMONY took place August 3rd, 1871, and was a high holiday. The Freemasons, the Board of Guardians of the Huddersfield Union, the Mayor and Huddersfield Corporation, County and Borough Magistrates, Trustees of the Home, the Founder, accompanied by the Venerable Archdeacon Musgrave, Clergy and Ministers of other denominations, headed by Bishop Ryan (attending for the Bishop of Ripon), the Infirmary Board, the Chamber of Commerce and the Medical Profession, by their

* By the kind permission of Miss Hughes we present our readers with the View of Meltham from that eminence.

Page 426

362 THICK HOLLINS.

gathering in procession, evinced the universal feeling of gratitude. The religious office was performed by Archdeacon Musgrave ; and Mr. John Freeman, Solicitor, read a Synopsis of the Deed of Trust, dated December roth, 1870, vesting the property in Edward Brook, Esq., the Vicar of Huddersfield (Rev. W. B. Calvert) ; Vicar of Meltham Mills (Rev. J. R. Jagoe) ; J. C. Laycock, Esq., President of the Huddersfield Infirmary ; George Armitage, Esq., Chairman of the County Magistracy; James Wrigley, Esq., Chair- man of the Board of Guardians; C. H. Jones, Esq., Mayor of Huddersfield, and the Mayor of Huddersfield for the time being ; the gift was accepted by the last named official. The founder and visitors expressed themselves in suitable addresses, and the day will long be remembered.

It was then little expected that Mr. Brook would so soon be called to the reward of his labours. In July, 1872, pleurisy and bronchitis seized him, and on Friday, the 5th, he expired at Enderby, amidst, there as well as here, the deep regret of the numerous friends to whom he had rapidly endeared himself. He was buried on the 15th, in Enderby Churchyard, at two o’clock. Solemn Special Service was held at the same time in the Parish Church of Huddersfield, which was completely filled, and an impressive Sermon preached by the Vicar, on ‘‘ Occupy till I come,” Luke ix, 13. Similar Services were held at other Churches at the same time ; and appropriate Sermons preached the following Sunday, at Almondbury by the Vicar, from Isaiah lvii, 1-2: ‘“ The righteous perisheth and no man layeth it to heart; and merciful men are taken away, none considering that the righteous is taken away from the evil to come. He shall enter into peace; they shall rest in their beds, each one walking in his uprightness.”

Mrs. Brook survived him until January 27th, 1879, residing chiefly at Enderby. The Birmingham Daily Gazette observed of Mr. and Mrs. Brook: ‘‘ Both were most generous supporters of the Church ; indeed it has been estimated that their joint benefac- tions amounted to no less a sum than £140,000. A Monument in the centre of Enderby testifies to the respect and esteem with

Page 427

THICK HOLLINS. 363

which the late Mr. Charles Brook was regarded by all classes of the community.” He is represented now at Enderby Hall by Captain Cecil Ashton Drummond and Charlotte Amelia, his wife, daughter of the late William Leigh and Emily Brook, see page 247. The pen would fain linger on this scene, fraught with associations ; and record more than the names of departed men of intelligence and science, such as Mr. George Creaser, who was highly skilled in Dialling ; Mr. James Hollingworth, an octogenarian, 86, who died in 1879, leaving nearly 100 descendants; Mr. John Allen Wood, an amateur astronomer, died 1880; Mr. Thomas Eastwood, and other veteran heroes under Wellington; and Mr. Joseph Taylor, a useful neighbour: but we have already devoted a disproportionate space to this ancient Chapelry, and must wing our way back over the Moor to the valley of the Holme. But we are called to record the death of Mrs. Hughes, which took place October 4th, 1880; and that she sleeps with her partner at Meltham; aged 78. “Truly they were lovely and pleasant in their lives, and in death they are not divided.”

Page 428

CHAPTER. V.

ALL Saints’ CHURCH, NETHERTHONG ; ST. JOHN’s, UPPERTHONG;

AND St. Davip’s, HOLMEBRIDGE.

ALL Saints’ Netherthong, was one of the four erected by the aid of the Parliamentary Grant, referred to in page 258. It is situated in the midst of the village of Netherthong, which derives its name from the form of the Township, as a narrow slang ; as does its more westerly neighbour, Upperthong. It is highly elevated above the Holme Valley, but running down from the Moor adjoining Wilshaw to Thongsbridge; where is a considerable Hamlet near the River Holme, for the convenience of which a Mission Room has been recently erected on the Holmfirth side of the Valley and Bridge, by the Vicar of that Parish. A portion of the Township of Honley, including Deanhouse, forms part of the Ecclesiastical District of the new Parish of Netherthong. The Church was erected in 1829-30; the first stone solemnly laid, March 13th, 1829 ; and Consecrated on the znd of September, 1830, by Archbishop Vernon Harcourt ; but is said to have been opened by License for Divine Worship previously; at all events five baptisms took place there on Sunday, 22nd of August. The plans for the Church and that of Emmanuel, Lockwood, were accident- ally transposed, and the mistake not discovered until it was too late to rectify it. They were originally somewhat similar, and still have only a Cupola to each, and not a Tower or Spire; but were very plain within, having Galleries on three sides. The architecture is Gothic, from plans of Mr. R. D. Chantrell, Leeds; Mr. John Woodhead, Churchwarden, was donor of the site; and the Church contains 700 sittings. Total cost 42,869 12s. 1d. The Church having originally only £800 endowment in 1831, and £200 added in 1832, by lot, afforded but a small income, and was, therefore, liable to frequent changes. There were five Incumbents before the Rev. Thomas James. The first was the Rev.

Page 429

ALL SAINTS’ CHURCH, NETHERTHONG. 365

John M. Evans, who, Mr. James informed the Author, was lineally descended from Sir Walter Havard, who came into Breconshire with Barnard de Newmarch, about the year 1096, from Normandy. He was also descended from Roderick the Great, King of all Wales. He was brother of the Rev. William Evans, Vicar of Usk, in Monmouthshire.

The first interment in the Churchyard took place October 25th, 1830, by Mr. Evans. The Rev. J. North Green Armytage appears to have been in charge of the Parish from about June, 1834, to December, 1835. ‘The Rev. George Docker Grundy, M.A., appears on the books, July, 1836. The Rev. David Meredith was in charge for a few months before. The Rev. David Hughes was Incumbent from March, 1839, to March, 1842. The Rev. James Tidemore followed, the first entry is May 4th, 1842; he retired in 1846. ‘The names of the Rev. Parsons James Maning and Josiah Rogers appear in the meantime as officiating Ministers; Mr. Maning is now Vicar of Farsley, Leeds, and Mr. Rogers was, in 1877, Curate of North Stoke, with Newnham Murren, Oxon. The first Marriage Ceremony was performed by Mr. Hughes, 27th March, 1842. The Rey. G. D. Grundy built the Vicarage, which is on a small scale, and it is proposed to enlarge it or build one nearer the Church. It is situated at the head of the Deanhouse Valley, near which is placed the New Union WorkuouseE; which is within the Parish; and is an important part of its Parochial charge, having no Chaplain attached. The duties were during many years, when the Rev. Thomas James was infirm, very kindly and freely discharged by the Rev. J. S. E. Spencer, of Wilshaw. The living was augmented to #150 per annum by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners, at the same time with the other Churches, having a population of at least 2,000 attached to them. Netherthong was formerly called Meltham half. Mr. Grundy, who is the only living Incumbent, except the present Vicar, became, in 1838, Perpetual Curate of St. John the Baptist’s Chapel, Hey, Lees, in the Parish of Ashton-under-Lyne,

Page 430

366 ALL SAINTS’ CHURCH, NETHERTHONG.

near Oldham, in the Diocese of Manchester. He is Author of an excellent explanation of the Church Catechism. The Rev. Thomas James became Incumbent in 1846. He was younger brother of the late Rev. Dr. James, and like him was addicted to Welsh literature. He was retiring in habits, and did not mix much with the other Clergy. He was a great contributor to the “ Huil” and other Welsh periodicals. He wrote Memoirs of the Rev. Lewis Jones and of the Rev. Joseph Hughes in a Biographical Dictionary of the distinguished natives of the Principality, published at Liverpool in Welsh. He was one of the earliest members of the Yorkshire Society in 1867. He married Jane, daughter of the late Wiliam Hamnett, Esq., of Plymouth, October 29th, 1870; but was seized with paralysis, August, 1871. Mrs. James having previously had epileptic fits, consequent on a thunderstorm in the afternoon of July 29th, 1872, and died at one the same evening without any previous illness. Mr. James became in consequence a recluse; and called to his aid, successively, the Revs. E. A. Jones, Benj. Franklin Couch, and John Prowde, M.A., the latter in 1874,who continued his Curate for five years, until Mr. James’ death ; and was very active in reviving the Congregation and Schools, and in improving the Structure, and restoring the School and Service at Oldfield. Mr. James died in August, 1879, and Mr. Prowde succeeded, on the appointment of the Vicar of Almondbury, upon an unanimous request of the Parishioners, in an address presented by Messrs. Cookson Stephenson and Thomas Turner, Churchwardens, after the funeral. He was publicly inducted by Canon Hulbert, September 6th, 1879, and continues in active work. The Mission Room at Thongsbridge was opened on Saturday, Nov. 17th, 1877, and following Sundays, by a series of Services. The total cost was about £1,200, including Special Donations. On Monday, December 3rd, the Church at Netherthong was re-opened by Special Services, after alterations and restoration, and Sermons by the Rey. J. Ingham Brooke, M.A., Rector of Thornhill and Rural Dean; and on the following Sunday by Revs. Canon Hulbert, E. C. Watson and Thomas Newton,

Page 431

ST. JOHN’S CHURCH, UPPERTHONG. 367

In July, 1879, a Reredos was erected from the design of Mr. W. Swindon Barber, of Halifax, and the work executed by Messrs. Cox and Son, London; it is of richly carved oak, with croquets and terminals and illuminated panels, with emblems representing the four Evangelists, Agnus Dei, &c. The cost of the whole was about 4130, defrayed by Subscriptions. The Shrewsbury Chronicle of August 15th, 1879, gives the following particulars : ‘*The Rev. Thomas James, M.A., LL.D. (Llanllwg), was born on the 21st of August, 1817, at the old Rectory of Manordeify, near Cardigan, County of Pembroke. He was ordained and served the Curacy of Much Wenlock, Shropshire, and afterwards held a Curacy in Derbyshire, where he stayed until 1846, when he was appointed to the Incumbency by the Rev. Lewis Jones. It was his dying wish that his Library, which was rich in Cambrian lore, should go to the University of Aberystwith; he thus gave full proof of his lasting love for his native land.” Elis nephews, the Rev. Herbert Armitage James, B.D., and Arthur Oswell James, B.A., see page 245, and the Kev. Wm. George Jenkins, brother-in-law, carried out his wishes.

The Oldfield Mission Room was altered and restored in 1874, at a cost of #200, and the Organ from the Church sent thither; when a new instrument was procured after the Restoration of the Church in 1874. In Advent, 1880, two ancient Oak Chairs were presented to the Church by Mr. James Littlewood, of Ashton-under-Lyne, who is a native of this village. The Burial Ground attached to the Church having been enlarged, the new portion was Consecrated by the Lord Bishop of Ripon, on Saturday, July 24th, 1875. His Lordship remained as the guest of Mr. Stephenson, and preached on Sunday at the Morning and Evening Services of the Church to very crowded congrega- tions, and collections were made for the Purchase Fund.

St. Joun’s CHuRCH, UPPERTHONG.

The following particulars relative to this flourishing district were furnished to the Author by the late lamented Vicar, the Rev. William Flower, M.A., in the year 1875.

Page 432

368 ST. JOHN’S CHURCH,

“The Township of Upperthong forms part of the large Village or Township of Holmfirth; but ecclesiastically it is part of the ancient and extensive Parish of Almondbury. The Church is one of a great number erected in the large Parish of Almondbury during the Incumbency of the late Vicar, the Rev. Lewis Jones. It isa handsome cruciform structure of the early English style, with a massive square tower, and will contain 700 people. The Foundation Stone was laid on the 12th of November, 1846, by the Rev. Thomas Gleadow Fearne, M.A., the first Incumbent, after a Service in Holmfirth Church, where an impressive Sermon was preached by the late Archdeacon Musgrave, from these words: ‘What shall it profita he gain the whole world and lose his own soul.’ ‘The late Canon Stowell also delivered a very impressive address in the Churchyard, on the occasion of laying the Foundation Stone. The total cost of the erection was between £4,000 and £5,000. A similar structure could not now be erected for £6,000. Mr. James Charlesworth, of Holmfirth, was the largest contributor; but the late Joseph Charlesworth, Esq., J.P., the late Mr. Joshua Charlesworth, the late Mr. R. Bower, Mr. Nathan Thewlis, Mr. G. Thewlis, and the late Mr. James Hobson Farrar were all liberal subscribers to the Building Fund. In fact the people of the Parish generally did their share in the good work. When the District was formed into a Peel Parish the population was a little over 2,000; and more than £2,000 were contributed by the Parishioners. Of this sum the Working Men’s Committee raised £100. Grants were also made towards the Building Fund by the Incorporated Society, and by the Ripon Diocesan Church Building Society. The Church has since been enriched by the insertion of five fine stained glass Windows. The East Window, erected by subscription ; two others given by Mr. James Charlesworth, one in memory of five infant children, the other in memory of his late wife; another has been erected in memory of the late Mr. and Mrs. Joshua Charlesworth by their nephews and nieces; and the fifth was erected in memory of Mr, R. Bower, by Mrs. Bower and her family.

Page 433

UPPERTHONG, 369

“The Church is now (August, 1875) undergoing extensive alterations and improvements; dry rot having affected the timbers underneath the structure, it was decided, not only to remove the mischief, but to make certain other much needed alterations ; such as erecting an Organ Chamber, ornamenting the Chancel, carving the stone corbels in the Chancel, painting the inside of the Church, pointing the outside, erecting new gates and gateway, &c. This work is now in progress, under the superintendence of Messrs. Magnall and Littlewood, Architects, Manchester. The estimated cost, including the enlargement of the Organ, will be about 4,800, and when the work is completed the Church will be a very beautiful structure.” “The Church was Consecrated on the 4th May, 1848, and was re-opened on Saturday, October 16th, 1875, when Special Services were held and Sermons preached by the Right Rev. Bishop Ryan, Vicar of Bradford and Archdeacon of Craven.” “The most important of the alterations was the removal of the Organ from the Gallery to a space between the Chancel and the Vestry. In order to effect this two archways had been constructed ; one in the Chancel and the other in the Transept; and the Vestry had been materially enlarged; a Reredos placed of pitch pine, and the whole Church cleaned; additional Pews provided, the whole of them varnished. The Harvest Thanksgiving Services were combined with the above. The next day (Sunday) the Services were also special, and Sermons were preached by the Vicar of Almondbury and other Clergy.” The Author fully relied on the continuation of these particulars by his departed friend, but he was called away very suddenly while these sheets were prepared. The Authorcan only add such fragmentary information as he has been able to remember and collect. He recollects that before any Church was erected Divine Service was conducted in a School-room in the District, where many of the most active contributors had laboured for many years as Sunday School Teachers, before and after the appointment of Mr. Fearne as Curate, under the Rev. Rd. Ebenezer Leach,

Incumbent of Holmfirth. From whom the Author derived, in PART

Page 434

370 ST. JOHN’S CHURCH,

1851, one of his most useful Curates at Slaithwaite, the Rev. Stephen Pering Lampen; who, having been educated at the Church Missionary College, Islington, had, through failing health, not gone abroad, but acted as Lay Assistant to Mr. Fearne. He was subsequently Incumbent of Scammonden, in Huddersfield Parish—removed to New Wortley Vicarage, Leeds, by the Bishop of Ripon—and is now Rector of Tempsford St. Neot’s, by appoint- ment of the Crown. The Author has before him a Letter of the late Lord Bishop of Ripon, printed by the Additional Curates’ Society, dated April 4th, 1847, in which his Lordship relates the case, though without the name, in behalf of the Society which had aided the work, before it became a Peel District—first endowed with £120 per annum for a Mission Room, and afterwards £150 for the permanent Church. The Bishop says :— An attempt had been made some years since by the Incumbent of the Mother Church without success ; and the additional Clergyman had not been more than two years in his district, and see what he has done. His Lordship gives a paper relating in detail the circumstances under which a _frs¢ Subscrip- tion of £1,350 was raised in a fortnight ; and adds: ‘‘In the Autumn of last year I was on the spot and spoke to many of the contributors. To one I said how deeply gratified I was by what I had heard of the efforts made towards building the Church.”” He said: ‘‘ Ah! my Lord, I think we shall take more shares in that concern yet.” I said: ‘‘I think you cannot have a better investment.”” The speaker was Mr. James Charlesworth. Mr. Fearne, appointed by the Crown, continued until 1856. He was two years absent, before his going to Natal, in South Africa; where he has been for many years Archdeacon. The Cure was served during his absence by the Rev. Samuel Bardsley, M.A., afterwards Rector of Christ Church, Spitalfields, London, and Rural Dean, and now Rector of Finchley; and the Rev. Jonathan Ward Town, now Vicar of Lindley, Huddersfield. The Nave contains another Window, ‘‘In Memory of Mr. James Charlesworth, born rst May, 1797, died 15th March, 1877,” representing the Good Samaritan, in two compartments. In the Chancel is a plain White Marble Monument, inscribed: “Sacred to the Memory of wife of NatHAN THEWLIS,

Page 435

UPPERTHONG. 371

of Lane House, in this Parish, who died July 28th, 1870, aged 71 years. Also, of the above NATHAN THEWLIs, who died Novr. 18th, 1873, aged 83 years.” He was upwards of 50 years Teacher and Superintendent of the Sunday Schools of the district. The Font is of stone, Octagon shape. The Pulpit pitch pine. In the Churchyard, near the East window, rest a Headstone and Gravestone, railed in and inscribed: In affectionate remem- brance of SARAH LEacu, wife of the Rev, R. E. Leach, Incumbent of Holmfirth, who died in the Lord Jan. 14, 1864, aged 65 years. From suffering and from sin released, And free from every snare. Also of the above Reverend RicHaRp EBENEZER LEacu, who, after being Incumbent of Holmfirth for about forty years, died on the 4th January, 1873, in the 78th year of his age. “‘He giveth his beloved sleep.” On the stone underneath: In affectionate remembrance of RuTH Watton, died May 31st, 1873, aged 64 years. CATHERINE WALTON, died June 12th, 1873. Sisters of the above Sarah Leach. The Rev. W1LLIAM FLowe_r, M.A., of Trinity College, Dublin, was born the 11th February, 1825, and died 11th July, 1881. He married Penelope Sarah, daughter of Joseph Charlesworth, Esq., J.P., his relict. He was Curate of St. Paul’s, Huddersfield, 1851-56; when he became Incumbent of Upperthong by appointment of the late Bishop Longley—the living being alternately in the gift of the Crown and the Bishop of Ripon— such being the terms of the Act under which the Church was endowed. He was an exceedingly diligent and affectionate Minister, and paid almost daily attention to the Schools. His views were Evangelical, with a due attention to Church Order and the beauty of the Service, which was both Choral and Congregational. The great attachment of the people and regard of the Clergy were manifested on the occasion of his interment. He had an attack* of paralysis in February, consequent on too great mental exertion in both taking Divine Services for his brethren in the ministry, and in acting as gratuitous Diocesan Inspector of several National Schools in Religious Knowledge ; in

Page 436

372 HOLY TRINITY CHURCH, HOLMFIRTH.

which work he much excelled. He did not, after his seizure, entirely abstain from duties at home, and had been much engaged in business relative to an estate to which he was Executor the week before his death: which took place at Harrogate, by another fatal stroke. His successor is the Rev. J. W. Jeffery, by appointment of the Crown. May 29th to 31st, 1876, a Bazaar was held in the Holmfirth Town Ifall to defray the expenses of the alterations and improvements then recently carried out in St. John’s Church. It was opened by James William Carlile, Esq.; and produced 41,018. Great zeal and liberality were thus manifested. The following gentlemen have served the office of Churchwar- dens successively from 1848 to 1881 :—James Hobson Farrar, George Thewlis, James Charlesworth, Rich. Bower, Nathan Thewlis (for 10 years), Joseph Crosland, John Hoyle, John S. Battye, William Haigh, Joshua Hoyle Hill, Edward Trotter, C. B. Marples, Thomas Haigh (10 years), John Hirst -Hampshire, Jonas Hoyle, Walter Crosland, John Lawton, W. B. Iveson. Commodious New Schools at a cost of £1,100 were opened in 1871, and in 1877 a new Master’s House at a cost of about £600.

Hoty CHURCH, HOLMFIRTH.

which had previously included, as an Ancient Chapelry of Kirkburton, by custom, the portions of the Parish of Almondbury, now assigned to the Churches at Upperthong and Holmbridge, in addition to the Township of Cartworth and the greatest part of Wooldale, was constituted a new Parish in the year 1865, when the living was augmented to £300 by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners. The Registers of Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, within the Almondbury portion, were regularly transmitted to the Parish Church there until 1813 ; when the first Registration Act, with printed forms, came into operation. The Church was rebuilt, on the site of an older building, in 1778. of a plain Doric style of architecture, substantial in its character and appearance, and central in its position. It underwent very important alterations and improvements internally in 1875; when the body of the Church was re-seated with open

Page 437

DISSENTING CHAPELS IN THE HOLME VALLEY. 373

pitch-pine benches of a substantial and ‘comfortable character. New staircases were erected to the galleries at the West end of the Church, access to which was formerly made from the outside only. A handsome Pulpit, of polished pitch-pine, supplied the place of the old three-decker, and an excellent Organ of good power and compass, containing three Manuals, built by Messrs. Conacher, of Huddersfield, was placed on the ground floor at the east end, with Choir Stalls on each side of the Chancel and a new Clergy Vestry. Messrs. Fawcett, of Huddersfield, who were Contractors for the woodwork, gave to the Church a Carved Lectern, in polished pitch-pine; and the Architect, Mr. J. Little- ‘wood, of Manchester, presented a polished Brass Desk for the Pulpit. A handsome Alms Basin and Velvet Bags were presented by Mr. and Mrs. Hinchliff, of Nabb House; and a chaste Silver Paten by Mr. and Mrs. John Ramsden, of Rose Cottage, Cliff, in memory of their son, the late John Francis Ramsden, who died

. young.

The Church was re-opened, after the improvements, on the 9th December, 1875. The Lord Bishop of Manchester also preached on December 23rd, in aid of the Restoration Fund, on which occasion £69 were collected. The entire outlay on the various works was £2,218 13s. 11d.; which amount was raised by voluntary contributions, Church Collections, Bazaar and Sales of Work. It need not be observed that on such occasions the talents of both sexes are amply and freely consecrated. The reader is referred to Mr. Morehouse’s History of Kirkburton for copious accounts of Holmfirth generally.

DISSENTING CHAPELS IN THE HOLME VALLEY.

Of the PRESBYTERIAN or UNITARIAN Chapel at Lydgate, Mr. Morehouse observes: “This religious Society takes its rise from the preaching of the ejected Ministers nearly two centuries ago, in the reign of Charles II, and is the only Chapel which was founded through the labours of those worthy confessors, within a District comprising the Parishes of Kirkburton, Almondbury,

Page 438

374 DISSENTING CHAPELS

Huddersfield and Kirkheaton; comprehending the valleys of the Holme and Colne (or Marsden valley) down to Cooper Bridge ; including (1861) now a population of more than one hundred thousand souls.” Soon after the restoration of Charles II the Act of Uniformity was passed by which nearly two thousand Ministers were ejected from their livings because they could not conscien- tiously comply with its provisions. Before we proceed to the immediate history of the Chapel it may not be uninteresting to take a rapid survey of some of the adjoining parishes, in order to ascertain how far the Clergy and people appear to have been influenced by the enforcement of this Act. The adjoining Parish on the North-West is Almondbury, of which the Rev. Thomas Naylor had been appointed Vicar during the Commonwealth, and had taken “ the engagement;” but at the Restoration he conformed. We find, however, that his Curate— a Mr. Dury, of Honley Chapel (Church)—did not conform, yet kept possession of his Church; from which circumstance we may infer that Mr. Naylor was not disposed to exact a very strict obedience to the law: the living was too inconsiderable to excite attention. The Parish of Kirkheaton was differently circumstanced. The Rev. Christopher Richardson, the Rector, refused to conform, and was ejected. The living was a valuable one, and the Parish formed a pleasant and retired district. On resigning his Church he took up his abode at Lassels Hall (see page 202 of this volume). It is not certain whether he continued to preach there from the period of his ejectment, until the year 1672, when the was granted; but it is not improbable, as he then licensed his house for religious worship. He finally removed to Liverpool, where he died in 1690, aged 80 years. In the Parish of Penistone the Rev. Henry Swift, by the favour of the Bosvile family, retained his living though he did not conform. Cumberworth was held by Bishop Tilson, of whom we have already spoken: as also of the Rev. Oliver Heywood, Minister of Coley, in the Parish of Halifax. He resigned. His Diary has been published by the Rev. Joseph Hunter. He was the most

Page 439

IN THE HOLME VALLEY. 375

important agent in spreading the principles of Nonconformity in many parts of the West-Riding. The place of their most frequent resort here was the house of Godfrey Armitage, of Lydgate, who is stated “to have been a great friend of Mr. Oliver Heywood.” The house was pulled down a few years ago. It.was licensed in 1672; but when the “indulgence” was revoked in 1675, the Service was carried on with much caution and difficulty. But, on the accession of William III, Protestant dissent was tolerated, and in 1694 the Congregation built their Chapel at Lydgate, which was finished early in the following year, when Mr. Oliver Heywood preached at the opening. He records on the 28th March, 1695 : “Rode to John Armitages, preached in their new Meeting-house the first Sermon, on Exodus, 24 chap. 1-2, a dedication of it; there was a full assembly ; then administered the Lord’s Supper to about forty.” Rzse of the Old Dissent, 1630 to 1702. The Rev. Joseph Briggs, Vicar of Kirkburton ; in which Parish Lydgate Chapel is placed; by the publication of “Sound considera- tions for tender consciences” and Sermons, endeavoured to recover and retain the members of the Established Church. The family of Morehouse, of Stoneybank, were among the first and most constant supporters of Lydgate Chapel. It has received several endowments, from Mrs. Mary Hutton and two successive George Morehouses. The Chapel was re-built in 1768 ; in 1786 a Gallery erected, and in 1801 an Organ added. In 1839 George Morehouse Hebblethwaite, of Moorcroft, gave and assigned a piece of land, adjoining the Chapel, for additional Burial Ground, and also for the site of a Parsonage House and Schoolroom. In 1842, both the latter were erected in the Elizabethan style, at a cost of £750. In 1848, the Chapel underwent extensive repairs, improvements and additions. The Chapel was surmounted by a Cupola. The entire expense amounted to above 4250. ‘The interior of the Chapel has more the appearance of an Ecclesiastical Structure than usually appertains to Dissenting Chapels. The Windows are ornamented with stained and grained glass. The Pulpit and Reading Desk are within the Communion Rail, opposite the entrance. In a

Page 440

376 DISSENTING CHAPELS IN THE HOLME VALLEY.

recess in the Communion Table are the works of Archbishop Tillotson, three volumes folio, chained to the table; these have been there from time immemorial. A volume of Sermons, stated to be by David Clarkson, was formerly in the same depository, but has now disappeared. The Author, when shown the above Works by his valued friend, devoutly wished that they were released from their captivity and elevated to the Pulpit. “In regard to the foundation deed of this Chapel, there is no stipulation with respect to doctrine; nor has any confession of faith for membership been required ; and in conformity with these principles, the English Presbyterian Congregations generally adopted the practice of ‘Open Communion.’ It seems proper here to remark (says Mr. M.) upon the gradual change of doctrinal sentiments which took place among the English Presbyterian Divines and Congregations from the period of ‘the ejectment’ to the middle of the last century. Calvinistic doctrines for the most part obtained among them at that memorable period, but before the close of the seventeenth century a considerable change took place from Calvinism to Arminianism, and before the end of the first quarter of the eighteenth century a large portion had adopted Arian sentiments, which, half-a-century later, resulted in Unitarianism.” Another illustration of the original conformity of doctrine to the chief of the 39 Articles,‘is the friendship which existed between the Rev. Robert Meeke, Curate of Slaithwaite in 1689, and George Morehouse, of Stoneybank, originally attached to the Established Church; Mr. Meeke records a visit to Lydgate, a place licensed for private meeting. It is a singular coincidence that the present direct descendant of Mr. Morehouse, the Author of the History of Kirkburton, was associated with the Author of this volume in the publication of Extracts from Mr. Meeke’s Diary, which had come into the Author’s possession as a distant successor, for 28 years, of Mr. Meeke at Slaithwaite. Differing indeed evidently in the ¢eory of faith; but endeavouring to hold their opinions in the bonds of charity and peace. The Chapel has had an able succession of 19 Ministers from

Page 441

LANE INDEPENDENT CHAPEL. 377

1694 to 1881 ; among whom the Rey. Joseph Marshall remained for nearly 50 years. The late Minister, the Rev. John Owen, came from Warminster in 1846, and has lately been succeeded by the Rev. Benjamin Glover. The Chapel contains Monumental Tablets to Mr. Marshall, who died Feb. 14, 1814, and Mr. John Morehouse, 1811, and Elizabeth, his wife, eldest daughter of William Newton, late of Stagwood Hall, 1839, parents of the Historian. The Chapel is licensed for marriages. The Register of baptisms commences in 1743, that of burials in 1700.

LANE INDEPENDENT CHAPEL.

In the Township of Upperthong, and near the Church of St. John, is the above Chapel. Mr. Morehouse, on the information of the late Rev. John Cockin, attributes the origin of the Independent Body at Holmfirth to the Ministry of the Rev. Henry Venn, before alluded to, from 1759 to 1770; whose doctrinal views he describes as highly Calvinistic, as they would no doubt be deemed from his point of view; but they were not extreme in reality, but very clear on the Universal Atonement and the necessity of true Conversion by the Spirit. His extensive usefulness reached to Holmfirth ; but the distance was so great that his hearers naturally wished to be accommodated nearer home: hence arose the desire for a new place of worship. At Holmfirth, however, they were too few in number and feeble in strength to erect for themselves a Chapel, and as the Methodists were similarly circumstanced, both parties united in building a small place at Netherthong (see page 304), which was to serve them both, and which each was to occupy on alternate Sabbaths. This scheme, however, did not answer long to the satisfaction of either party. From the preaching of conflicting statements differences arose, which ultimately led to a separation between the two parties—the Methodists holding the Chapel, and the Independents relinquishing their right. After considerable delay (during which worship was conducted in a cottage) the Independents erected for themselves

Page 442

378 ST. DAVID’S CHURCH,

a Chapel at Holmfirth. The Trust Deed bears date May 14th, 1777, and on the 2nd of May, 1778, the Chapel was duly registered as a place of public worship of Almighty God for Protestant Dissenters. About the month of August following, the Independent Church was formed; those who composed it agreeing “to walk together in the faith and order of the gospel.” In May, 1779, they succeeded in securing the services of a settled Minister, the Rev. RopertT GARLAND, who died in 1801; and was succeeded by THomas BuRTON; JOHN HammMonD, 1801-4; JOHN Cock1n, 1806, his labours continued longer than any of his pre- decessors ; he resigned in 1849. During his ministry the Chapel was twice enlarged, the Chapel House enlarged, two Schoolrooms built, and additional Burial Ground bought—the whole at a cost of £1,500. JaMES MACFARLANE, 1849, resigned, 1855. The Chapel House rebuilt and branch Schoolroom erected at Burnlee at a total cost of about £600. Rosertr WILLAN succeeded, 1856 ; additional Burial Ground again secured and gas supplied at a total cost of £500. Succeeded by the Rev. John Colville, the Pastor in 1877, when the Centenary ot the Chapel was kept, under the presidency of Alderman Woodhead, then Mayor of Huddersfield ; when very interesting testimony was given to the several Ministers, especially the Rev. John Cockin, who though a Calvinist was not an Antinomian. The Rev. R. Willan was also present, who referred to various Preachers sent out from that Chapel. The Chapel contains various Monumental Inscriptions from that of the Rev. Robert Galland to the present day.

St. Davip’s CHURCH, HOLMEBRIDGE.

The New Parish attached to this Church consists of the Town- ships of Holme and Austonley, and constitutes the extreme West of the valley of the Holme—rendered famous by the terrible catastrophe of the Holmfirth flood in the year 1852. The Town- ship of Austonley, in which St. David’s Church is situate, is about two miles South-West of Holmfirth, in the Graveship, and is one of the vills mentioned in the Domesday Survey as Adstanilie. It comprises the greater part of the populous hamlets of Holmebridge

Page 443

HOLMEBRIDGE. 379

and Hinchliff Mill, contiguous to each other and situated on the banks of the river Holme. It is separated from the Township of Holme by a narrow deep valley, at the upper part of which Bilberry Reservoir is situated, which burst its embankment in 1852. The District above the Reservoir is called Bradshaw, which is composed of small scattered farms, and is. bounded by high moorlands. There is no village at Austonley, but a small retired mansion or messuage is known by that name, which for several generations has been the residence of the Greens—a branch of the Greens, of Greenhouse, in Cartworth, and of Yateholme. The Church was erected in 1838 at a cost of £2,500, and is dedicated to St. David. It is a neat Gothic structure, with a tower, and is surrounded by a buria! ground. A commodious Vicarage House is situated below Austonley, and also the Sunday and Day Schools connected with the Church. The distance from which is an inconvenience, but the gardens are spacious and retired. The Rev. Eldred Woodland was Incumbent until 1846, when he was succeeded, by exchange, with the Rev. John Fearon, M.A., who died suddenly May 4th, 1880, and was succeeded by the present Vicar, the Rev. James Theodore Wilkinson, M.A., then Curate of the Parish Church, Huddersfield. The patronage is vested in the Vicar of Almondbury. It was built through the exertions of the Rev. Lewis Jones; who held a Meeting at Holmebridge to consider the propriety of erecting a Church, at which only two persous besides himself attended. When he presided, one gentleman proposed and the other seconded, and it was resolved—and with his usual perseverance Mr. Jones carried out the design. Thus begun in faith, during the great flood the Church was surrounded and the floor burst up—but it stood firm, an emblem of the spiritual Church—the torrent swept by and carried all else before it ! ~The Church was re-opened after Restoration by Special Services, December 15th, 1852; and Sermons were preached by the Venerable Archdeacon Musgrave, D.D., and the Rev. T. B. Bensted, M.A., Rector of Lockwood.

Page 444

380 ST. DAVID’S CHURCH, HOLMEBRIDGE.

Elizabeth, the wife of the Rev. John Fearon, was an excellent woman; had been previously married. “She entered into rest March 2nd, 1877, aged 73.” Mr. Fearon was, in his later years, severely afflicted with blindness, but could say the prayers from memory and preach also. The lessons being read for him. Among his faithful supporters were Messrs. Barber, Kenyon and Haigh. Mr. John Barber has died since the appointment of his successor, the Rev. James Theodore Wilkinson, M.A., who had been the laborious Curate of Huddersfield for ten years, having special charge of the Mission Church; and had thus commended himself to the selection of the Vicar of Almondbury ; and at an interesting service he was duly inducted to the living. Mr. Morehouse and the late Mr. Fairless Barber agree that the annual payment of £2 6s. 8d., made by the Vicar of Almondbury to that of Dewsbury, in common with the other ancient Churches, arises from an endowment of Earl Warren, and is derivable from the Tithes of his estate at Holme, Austonley and Upperthong. Land Tax is paid by the Vicar of Almondbury on property in Austonley, which is not known. An old paper found in the Church Chest at Almondbury speaks of a Bill before Parliament for inclosure of Land at Austonley, in 1813 and 1815; in which £45 was proposed to be awarded to the Vicar. The passing of the Bill is not recorded. ‘‘The Commissioners are directed to award and allot so much of the said Common as shall, within 12 months after the allotment there- of, be let to good and sufficient tenant or tenants for the term of 21 years, for the sum of £45, and which shall be in lieu of Tithes for Land, as well woodlands as otherwise, which are already enclosed. John Hirst says that Austonley was formerly in the Rectory of Dewsbury, that in 1607 King James did grant to Christopher Naylor the two Rectories of Wakefield and Dewsbury, then lately parcel of the possessions of the King’s Free Chapel of the Blessed Virgin within the King’s Palace of Westminster; paying yearly to the King, heirs and successors, for the said Rectories in fee farm for ever, paying yearly to the King, £97 1os.; ‘being within the town fields or hamlet of Austonley.’ Opposed to this are the facts of Austonley being within the Parish of Almondbury and paying rates to the Mother Church.” North Crosland Acts of Parliament passed in 1799. Q. 1.—Where to find the Bill mentioned in page 10, in which £45 is offered in lieu of Vicarial Tithes ? On the decease of Dame Elizabeth Saville, who on'the 7th of June, 1635,

Page 445

FLOODS IN THE HOLMFIRTH VALLEY. 381

sold and conveyed to John Hirst in fee, all and singular the tithes of corn, sheaves, grain, grass, hay, wool, flax, hemp, wood and lambs, and all other within the said fields. Q. 2.—By what right did they sell that property? The above paper appears to have been a case laid before some barrister. It is endorsed “ Austonley Tithes—Fee Farm Rents,” and is given here as a curious record, and as possibly leading to the solution of the question, wherefore the Vicar of Almondbury is called to pay 3s. per annum, Land Tax? Especially as application has been made to him to let land supposed to belong to him, but of which he has no account. By the Commutation (in 1850), £15 per annum are assigned for Tithes to the Vicar in Austonley, and £8 15s. for Easter Dues, &c. For Holme £7 Tithes and £3 15s. Easter Dues, &c. The portions for Easter Dues, &c., are now surrendered to the Vicar of Holmebridge.*

FLooDS IN THE HOLMFIRTH VALLEY.

“The mountain streams which converge in this valley, become quickly swollen into rapid torrents, from the sudden melting of snow, a rainy season, or a heavy thunderstorm, and sometimes acquire extraordinary magnitude, rushing forward with irresistible fury. Numerous instances are on record of very large floods having occurred there, which have been attended with more or less destruction to property, and at times with loss of life.” The most remarkable were: in 1738—-When the flood forced its way into the Church of Holmfirth while the Congregation was assembled ; exciting great consternation and alarm, as the water

* I take the opportunity of inserting a kind communication which fills up a vacancy in the List of Rectors and Vicars in page 94 of this volume: **Patent Rolls. Richard III, 11th Sept., 2nd year: Presentation of Edmund Chaderton, Clk., to the Parish of Almondesbury (York Dioc.), in the King’s gift, by reason of the Temporalities of the See of Ely, being in the hands of the Crown.” App. ix, Reports, p. 95.—A. S. ELLIS. Query.—Can it be Z/y instead of by error of the transcribers, as we know of no connection between these distant Dioceses?>—C. A. H.

Page 446

382 FLOODS IN THE

rose to a considerable height in the Pews. 1777—Had this occurred in the night many persons in these exposed situations must have been surprised in their beds. The estimated loss by the destruction of property is stated to have exceeded £10,000. A general brief went throughout the kingdom, and it is said that a large sum of money was obtained and distributed for the relief of the sufferers. This was for more than seventy years designated GREAT FLoop. 182s—A sudden and alarming flood occurred about seven in the evening and subsided before ten, but the inhabitants did not dare to retire to rest. 1852—By far the most calamitous flood which this district ever sustained, was occasioned by the bursting of the BILBERRY RESERVOIR at the head of the Holme Valley, early in the morning of the 5th February, 1852. In the year 1837, by Act of Parliament, power was given to erect eight reservoirs on the streamlets, emptying themselves into the River Holme—and which ultimately cost £70,000. The Bilberry Reservoir is situated at the head of a narrow gorge or glen, leading from Holme Bridge to a high bluff of land called Good-Bent, and supplied by two streams, draining the Moors of Holme Moss on the one side, and hills running up to Saddleworth on the other. The confluence of the streams takes place between two large hills, called Hoobrook Hill and Lumbank, that run parallel to each other, and the valley then opens out and forms an extensive oval basin, of not less than three hundred yards in diameter. The Reservoir is formed immediately above this basin, by a large embankment across the valley some 340 feet long and go feet high : enclosing about seven acres of surface available for storing water. The construction, owing to a spring, was defective, and the bye-wash, which was intended to carry off surplus water, was allowed by the Commissioners, who had been involved in a Chancery suit, to become stopped up: so that from the rush of water the outer and the puddle bank burst; and just as if the whole had been struck with lightning, the whole mass of earthwork gave way with a loud thundering crash, and the pent up waters, which formed this gigantic Reservoir, rushed with fearful velocity

Page 447

HOLMFIRTH VALLEY. 383

through the opening thus made. ‘The terrible outburst was described by one of the spectators who were on the neighbouring hills as being awfully grand. The Moon was shining brightly and the rain had ceased, when, about one o’clock, the embankment gave away: but the wind howled fearfully, as though some portentous event was about to happen. The torrent first swept away Bilberry Mill and part of Digley Upper Mill, with Machinery—and the family barely escaped. It continued its course becoming dammed up; and by another sweep clearing all before it, through Digley Mill and Bank End Mill. The valley here widens, until it comes to Holme Bridge—a small hamlet comprising two or three hundred inhabitants. Here the stream was crossed by a bridge of one arch, the greater part of which was swept away. About forty yards on one side of the stream stands Holme Bridge Church, in the centre of the Grave- yard. The walls around the Church were washed away, and the few trees planted in the Churchyard were uprooted. The interior of the Church and Churchyard presented a melancholy spectacle. Inside the Church the water had risen about five feet ; the floor was torn up, the pews had been floating, and there was a deposit of sand and mud several inches thick. In the centre of the Aisle was laid the body of a goat, which had been washed from Upper Digley Mill; and within a few feet of it, and on the seat of one of the pews, lay the coffin and remains of a full grown man, which, with other bodies not found, had been washed from the graves by the whirlpools formed by the current as it passed over the Churchyard. Thus far there had been no sacrifice of human life; but at the village of Hinchliffe Mill there was a loss of forty lives; and proceeding down the valley to Holmfirth, where the banks of the river were closely built upon, other fatalities. Bridges, factories, and houses were invaded. The Wesleyan Chapel and Graveyard at Holmfirth were flooded; and the torrent rolled on towards Honley, Lockwood, and the broad and fertile level, with its high banks, was strewn with timber, broken machinery, dead cattle, human bodies, mud, stones, and all kinds of debris. Armitage

Page 448

384 MEMORIAL ALMSHOUSES.

Bridge Church was surrounded; but the mills and factories were not seriously injured. The loss of property sustained was ultimately estimated at £67,224 10s. 9M.; exclusive of a claim of 433,000, made by the Mortgagees of the Reservoir; not including, however, many losses not reported, and the suspen- sion of business and labour. The total loss of life was eighty one persons. The calamity awaked the kind and liberal interest of the whole nation. Meetings were held and in various large towns Sermons preached. Foremost of the local gentlemen were John Brooke, Esq., J.P., of Armitage Bridge, Chairman of the United Huddersfield and Holmfirth Committee; the late William Leigh Brook, Esq., J.P., of Meltham Hall; J. C. Laycock, Esq., and John Freeman, Esq., Solicitors, Huddersfield, Honorary Secretaries. Also the Messrs. Charlesworth, who visited various places—and the subscriptions amounted to £69,422 8s. 4d. £7,000 were awarded for repairs of the Reservoir; but the claim of the Mortgagees was negatived. £31,344 18s. were distributed among the sufferers, and the losses having been over estimated #31,011 11s. 1d. returned to the subscribers. A balance still in hand was, on petition of the inhabitants, appropriated to the erection of Five MEMoRIAL ALMSHOUSES ; for which a piece of Land was generously given by Cookson Stephenson, Esq., for the building site, near to the Railway Station at Holmfirth. The funds still wanting to complete the erection and endowment were supplied by the ladies of Holmfirth, by means of a Bazaar, in September, 1856, when the noble sum of 41,000 was realised. The design and plans of the Almshouses were furnished by Mr. Hill, Architect, of Leeds. The Foundation Stone was laid on the 21st April, 1856, by C. S. Floyd, Esq., on behalf of the Provincial Lodge of Freemasons. In its exterior the building is very orna- mental, having a small but elegant spire, and from its elevated situation is rendered a very conspicuous object. The interior of the houses is rendered very complete and comfortable. In a niche in the tower a tablet is placed, bearing the following inscription :- -

Page 449

MEMORIAL ALMSHOUSES. 385

In Der GLORIAM. These Almshouses built and endowed by public subscription, and by the proceeds of a Bazaar promoted by the Ladies of the neighbourhood, as a Memorial of the Holmfirth Flood, caused by the bursting of the Bilberry Reservoir on February 5th, 1852; by which 81 lives were lost, and an immense amount of property destroyed; and as a further Memorial of the National munificence for the alleviation of that calamity ; are dedicated to the Poor of the Townships of Holme, Austonley, Cartworth, Wooldale, Upperthong, Netherthong and Honley, for ever.

Inscription over the entrance gateway :— The following are the names of the 14 original Trustees appointed by the Deed of Trust, made between Cookson Stephenson, the donor of the Land, of the one part, and the several Gentlemen whose names are appended, on the other part. Holme: J. E. Morehouse, S. Wimpenny. Austonley : C. Brook, jun., J. Harpin. Upperthong: J. Moorhouse, J.P., Jas. Charlesworth. Cart- worth: G. Hinchliff, James H. Farrar. Wooldale: Joshua Charlesworth, J.P., James Bates. WNetherthong: C. S. Floyd, M. Kidd. Honley: G. N. Nelson, G. Robinson. William Hill, Architect.*

* The above account has been chiefly extracted from the very copious one in the History of Kirkburton; but the Author of this volume paid a visit to the scene a few days after the event—and was the medium of a donation of £200 from the late William, Earl of Dartmouth.

PART III.—Q.

Page 450

CHAPTER, Vie

St. STEPHEN’S CHURCH, RASHCLIFFE; ST. LUKE’S, MILNSBRIDGE; AND CHRIST CHURCH, LINTHWAITE ;

MILNSBRIDGE HousE, CROSLAND HILL, AND LINTHWAITE HALL.

‘* Time, like an ever rolling stream, Bears all its sons away.”

The sweeping torrent and the course of the Holme have brought us back to the Village of Lockwood ; of which the lower and chief part is in the Township of North Crosland. Having first passed through the wide and well cultivated valley between Berry Brow and the Bentley Brewery, crossed by the gigantic Railway Viaduct of thirty arches, referred to in page 274. The Church and Rectory House of Lockwood stand safely perched on the South side, near . the old coach road, in that part of the New Parish of Lockwood called Salford, being part of the Township of Almondbury. Here the flood met the Bridge, and taking a bend under the cliff beneath Primrose Hill, flowed in a deeper channel till it joined the Colne River, with several falls, below Folly Hall. The twin streams rushing forward joined the Calder at Colnebridge ; and, in succession, swelled the waters of the Ouse and the Humber, till they were lost in the German Ocean. The level ground forming the lower and most important part of the Village of Lockwood, below the bridge, contains the Baptist Meeting House, the New Board School, Lockwood House, the Public Baths, the Fenton Memorial Schools; several extensive Factories; the Lockwood and Rashcliffe Estates (now almost covered with houses), till the village terminates at Folly Hall, where are bridges over the Colne and the Huddersfield and Manchester Canal; near which are situated the Iron Foundries and Engineering establishments of Mr. George Kirk, Mr. G. W. Tomlinson and Mr. J. N. Calvert.

Page 451

ST. STEPHEN’S CHURCH, RASHCLIFFE. 387

We venture to conjecture that this plain was originally a Marsh, or even Lake (Loch), with an extensive wood adjoining—from which two features it may have been called Lockwood. On the North side it is bounded by a long ascending ridge, called Rash- cliffe—or Rushcliffe—now crowned with dwellings; and which has given name to the Ecclesiastical District of

ST. STEPHEN’S CHURCH ;

which stands below, now entirely surrounded by houses ; but with its Vicarage House on an elevated position; where it is to be regretted that the Church was not placed. But the feeling prevailed that “highlanders would descend, but lowlanders would not ascend” readily to Church; on the same principle on which the Churches of St. David and St. Paul had been placed at Holme- bridge and Armitage Bridge. The site was also found to contain springs, which caused much after expense. The Parochial District includes Primrose Hill, separated from it by the river and ascending above the plain. It requires nearer Church accommodation. It includes the Great Board School at Style Common. The Nonconformists have been in advance of the Church on this hill. The attention of the late Rector of Lockwood had been long called to the growing population of Rashcliffe; and Divine Service was conducted in the Fenton MrEmoriAL ScHoots for five years, before the Church was erected and Consecrated. He engaged the Services of the Reverend William Henry Girling in 1860; who had then been three years Curate of Slaithwaite; and who continued four years with much laborious energy at Lockwood ; until accepting the Donative Living of Newton Solney, near Burton-on-Trent, by the appointment of Sir Henry Every, Bart., in 1864. He was succeeded as Curate of Lockwood and Minister of the Rashcliffe Congregation by the present Vicar of Rashcliffe, the Rev. Daniel John MacKimm, M.A., of Trinity College, Dublin. The temporary occupation of premises in Lockwood, by the Meltham Mills Company, under the special observation of James William Carlile, Esq., led to the formation of a Committee, in 1862, for building the Church; including the late John Brooke,

Page 452

388 ST. STEPHEN’S CHURCH,

of Armitage Bridge; Charles Brook, junior, of Meltham; Bentley Shaw and Robert John Bentley, Esquires, of Lockwood (which two Gentlemen gave the sites for the Church and Parsonage); the late Vicars of Almondbury and Lockwood—all now deceased. J. W. Carlile, Esq., now of Ponsbourne Park, Herts. ; Thomas Allen, Esq., of Huddersfield ; the Rev. James Brook, of Helme; the Rev. W. H. Girling, present Rector of Lockwood; and the Author of this work, then Incumbent of Slaithwaite, are still surviving members. The first stone was laid on Thursday, March 26th, 1863, by Mrs. Bentley Shaw, with a solemn Service largely attended by the Clergy and Laity. The total cost of the Church was about 43,700. The Church was Consecrated by the Lord Bishop of Ripon (Dr. Bickersteth), on Thursday, 14th July, 1864, who preached a most earnest and impressive Sermon from Numbers x, 29. The Consecration Services were continued by the Rev. A. F. Woodford, M.A., Rector of Swillington, Rev. C. A. Hulbert, M.A., and the Rev. Canon Fawcett, M.A. Soon after the Consecration the Vicar and Churchwardens began their efforts to obtain a suitable Organ for their beautiful Church; the work of collecting was carried on vigorously; in afew months the necessary sum was realised and a splendid instrument built by Messrs. Conacher and Co., having three manuals and 28 stops, was opened on the 6th of April, 1866, by Doctor Spark, Organist of the Town Hall, Leeds ; who pronounced the Organ as perfect in every particular. The Church was erected from the designs of Messrs. Blackburn and Mitchell-Withers, of Sheffield. It is cruciform, and contains 650 Sittings, open; of which half are free. —The Chancel Window, representing the Raising of Jairus’ daughter, was the gift of Robert Rawlinson, Esq., a celebrated Engineer in the Crimean War, who is represented in a print of the Heroes thereof. It was erected in Memory of his daughter, Emma, the wife of Samuel Falkland Thornton, B.A. The Ten Commandments, Lord’s Prayer and Belief are painted beneath. There are Oak Stalls in the Chancel ; the Pulpit and Reading Desk are of pitch pine. The VICARAGE, a large and commodious house in the Gothic

Page 453

RASHCLIFFE, 389

style, was erected in the year 1867, ata cost of £2,210. The whole amount of which was collected by the present Vicar. The whole amount collected by the Vicar and his friends for Church purposes, during his Vicariate, exceeds £12,000, to which may be added £600 laid down by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners for Endowment of his Church. Among the first and principal contributors during Mr. Girling’s Curacy were Charles Brook, Esq., junior, of £500; J. W. Carlile, Esq., and Joseph Hirst, Esq., each £100; Messrs. John Brooke and Sons, 450; total £2,150. The Ripon Diocesan Society gave £500; the Incorporated Society, London, £250. Subscriptions were also obtained towards Endowment, included above. In consequence, however, of a heavy debt remaining upon the Church, the Services of the Lord Bishop of Manchester were secured ; who, in the kiridest manner, came and preached on the Evening of the 22nd May, 1871; which was, we believe, his first Sermon in Yorkshire after his promotion to the See of Manchester. The Church was cleaned and richly but suitably, decorated, through the kindness of an esteemed member of the Congregation, Henry Terry, Esq., of Lockwood House, who made himself responsible for the whole debt, amounting to a little over £230. However, in his very laudable object of beautifying the House of God, he was assisted by the contributions of a few friends. Under the wall plate and windows are texts of Scripture. The stone font has emblems and flowers. The work was finished ‘and the Church re-opened August, 1873, when the Right Honourable and Reverend the Earl of Mulgrave preached the Sermon. In the year 1878 it was found that the Church required repairs of a very expensive character. The whole floor was in a state of advanced decay, in consequence of the lodgment of water beneath the Church. In the following year a new system of drainage was adopted, a new floor of the best description laid down, and the whole Church put in a state of thorough repair. The Earl of Mulgrave once more kindly accepted the invitation of the Vicar and preached the opening Sermon on the 14th Nov., 1879.

Page 454

390 ST. STEPHEN’S CHURCH, RASHCLIFFE.

On this occasion a massive Brass Lectern was presented by Henry Davison, Esq., one of the oldest and most generous supporters of the Church and its Schools. The first Vicar of this Parish, appointed in 1864, has been assisted, as Curates, by the Revs. J. W. Harker, J. W. Dickson, now Rector of Cumberworth, and at present, J. S. Charlton, B.A.

On the decease of the Rev. T. B. Bensted, the District Chapelry of Rashcliffe became a new Vicarage, and is in the patronage of the Rector of Lockwood. It includes Spring Vale, Edward Fisher, Esq.; Thornton Lodge, John Woodhead Crosland, Esq.; Park Cottage, Mrs. E. Whiteley; Lane Ends, Frederick Robert Jones, Esq.—near which is the residence of Mrs. Charles Crosland, Crosland Moor, but in St. Luke’s District. In 1874 Mixed and Infants’ Schools and a Master’s residence were erected at CRosLaND Moor by donations and grants, in which the ladies, especially Mrs. F. R. Jones, were particularly active. It was stated by Mr. MacKimm at the Opening Meeting, June 24th, 1874, that she had written ten thousand letters on its behalf. The chair on that occasion was occupied by George Armitage, Esq., who gave £200 when he knew that Church Services would be held in the Schools: which is the case. Two Services, with Sermons, are held every Lord’s Day; and are a valuable addition to the spiritual provision of the New Parish, under the License of the Bishop. The Site was given by the late Sir Joseph Radcliffe, Bart. The Fenton MEMORIAL SCHOOLS bear the following Inscription in front : A.D. 1859. ‘Erected by Public Subscription as a grateful Memorial of James Crosland Fenton, of Lockwood, and of his many virtues, among which shone conspicuously his unbounded liberality to the Church and Schools of the Parish of Lockwood.”

The above School not affording sufficient accommodation for the wants of the Parish was, in the year 1873, enlarged, a new wing and two Class Rooms being added by the present Vicar at a cost of about 4700.

Page 455

CROSLAND MOOR AND HILL, 391

CROSLAND Moor anp HILL.

The Township of North Crosland ascends from Lockwood in a Westerly direction; and beyond the School and Mission Room, just described, we have the CRosLanp Moor WoRKHOUSE, being the largest in the Huddersfield Union. It is a handsome structure and commands a fine view of the country. Divine Service is held every Sunday Afternoon and Wednesday Evening, in rotation, by the Clergy and Dissenting Ministers of Huddersfield, Almondbury and Lockwood, in which last Parish the House is locally situated. The Rev. Wiliam Henry Girling has offered to supply a regular Morning Service, but the offer was declined by the Guardians of the Poor. A Boarpb is also adjoining. Riding along the Old Manchester Road, near Dry Clough, we pass the wood from which, in the time of the Luddite troubles, 1812, the ill-fated Mr. of MaRsDEN, was shot returning from Huddersfield. JosEpH Esq., of Milnsbridge House, Longwood, just within the Parish of Huddersfield, was in a similar danger but was preserved. His services as a magistrate in promoting the return of order and the detection of the conspirators, obtained for him the honour of a baronetcy from the Prince Regent in 1813, upon the recommendation of the Earl of Wentworth-Fitzwilliam, Lord Lieutenant of the West Riding. He was a man of very popular character. In an article on his death in the “Gentleman’s Magazine,” he is spoken of as “ one of the few remaining examples of Old English Hospitality.” There are many stories told about Sir Joseph, all turning on a certain rough, but hearty, courageous English manner, which perhaps helped to make him so great a favourite amongst his neighbours. His fine portrait by Owen, now in the Court House at Wakefield, of which the equally fine engraving by Sharpe is so frequently to be seen in the old houses of the neighbourhood, is highly characteristic. Milnsbridge House was always the centre of influence in the Marsden or Colne Valley.* It was rebuilt about the year 1756,

* The Chapel of Longwood served for the four Townships of Longwood and Quarmby and part of Golcar in Huddersfield and Linthwait in Almond-

Page 456

392 CROSLAND MOOR AND HILL.

in the handsome Roman style represented in the view, and the interior is adorned with Italian plaster. It was occupied by the Pickford and Radcliffe until 1820, when it was let on lease by the late Sir Joseph Radcliffe, of Rudding Park, the second baronet, to the late Joseph Armitage, Esq., of High Royd, and sold to him in 1823, who resided there to within a few years of his death in 1860; as did his eldest son, the late Mr. George Armitage, after him. The estate still belongs to the family, but, being surrounded with numerous manufacturing buildings and cottages, has been divided into several residences. One of the factories is named after Sir FRANCIS BURDETT, Bart., who laid the first stone, and was the guest of Mr. Armitage. Loncwoop CHURCH was originally a private Chapei attached to Milnsbridge House, but was rebuilt about 1750, and it has recently been taken down and a new one erected, during the Incumbency of the Rev. Charles Packer, as also the Grammar School founded by Mr. Walker, of Wakefield. Returning to North Crosland; we reach CRosLaND HILL, an old Elizabethan residence ; originally occupied by a family of the name, standing among the remains of one or two avenues, and although divided into Cottages, it still shews traces of its former importance. Thomas Crosland was living there in the year 1560. The Old House and Estate were sold by the Rev. Thomas Crosland, who died unmarried in 1707, to Matthew Wilkinson, Esq., of Greenhead, whose daughter and sole heiress married Sir John Kaye, Bart., of Denby Grange. It was sold by the Kayes, in 1783, to John Battye, Attorney-at-Law, son of David Battye,

bury. Rev. John Murgatroyd in his Journal says: ‘‘ December 12, 1750— Gave James Sykes, Linth’ Hall, 5s., a Subscription to Longwood New Chapel; by whom the first stone was laid.”

+ The ‘‘ History of Meltham,” by Mr. Hughes, contains an account of the Radcliffe Family, and the Beaumonts, with whom they were connected ; and Mr. G. W. Tomlinson, in his ‘‘Some Account of the Founders of the Huddersfield Subscription Library,” gives a full account of Sir Joseph Radcliffe and his pedigree. Sir Percival Pickford Radcliffe, the present Baronet, has joined the Romish Church.

Page 457

CROSLAND MOOR AND HILL. 393

Attorney, at Huddersfield. There an extensive legal business was catried on, it is said, occupying fifteen clerks. From the Cros- lands, of Crosland Hill, were descended those of Dudmanstone, Fenay, and Lockwood. ‘They are buried in Almondbury Church- yard. Mr. Nowell also connects them with the Rev. George Crosland, M.A,, Vicar of Almondbury, who died in 1636 (see pages 96 and 97). The Estate is still in the Battye family.

The intended Park, recently presented by Henry Frederick Beaumont, Esq., of Whitley, to the Corporation of Huddersfield, stands on this hill.

On Crosland Moor, near Butter Nab, we have remains marked on the Ordnance Map ‘‘Camp.” These are probably those referred to by Rev. John Watson in his History of Halifax, 1775. Speaking of a piece of ground in Rishworth, on Booth Moor, called *‘ STABLE,” inclosed within trenches, he conjectures it to have been made for the use of cattle—and he says :

**But what gives us the clearest idea of the subject is:--A couple of remains, at a very small distance from each other, on Crosland Moor, in the Parish of Huddersfield (should be Almondbury). One of these is seventy seven yards by sixty four; but the greatest part of it, when I saw it in 1759, was inclosed with a wall; and intended to be plowed up. The other is ninety eight yards by eighty seven. The vallum of this last was six yards and about one foot wide. The smaller has the appearance of a quadrangle, the larger was rounded off a little at the corners. In the larger of them was found, when it was plowed up, three ancient Millstones, each a foot in diameter, and eleven hollow places, two or three yards long a-piece and three quarters deep or thereabouts. Now these, one would think, if anything of this sort could put in its claim for a Military Station, might be looked upon in that light; and yet most assuredly they were never intended for any such purpose. Their name shews their use; the country people call them Srot-Fo.Lps, without knowing the meaning of the expression, which proves them to be of some antiquity. Our Saxon ancestors, it is well known, were fond of horses, and took great pains in the breeding of them, both for war and private purposes ; they had great numbers of them taken care of together, and made proper inclosures for that purpose, with suitable conveniences therein, both for the cattle and those who attended them ; these inclosures they called Stot-folds,” and he quotes the Monasticon, Vol. I, p. 260, for the description in Anglo- Saxon—where the limits of a certain place are so described—and adds: on Crosland Moor, were so considerable, that the people who were

Page 458

394 CHRIST CHURCH,

to make some stay here found it necessary to have Mill-stones with them to grind their corn, and no doubt but the hollows above-mentioned were where their huts were placed. To me it seems likely that these works belonged to the Garrison at Castle Hill, near Almondbury, from which they are not very far distant, and the roads through each of them pointed that way. If this be so it affords a presumptive argument that Castle Hill was, what I have attempted to prove it, a Saxon station.* See the first volume of the

Archzeologia, p. 221.

CHRIST CHURCH, LINTHWAITE.

We turn however with pleasure from these Folds connected with the elements of war, to the peaceful inclosures of Christian pasture. The first New Church in the Parish of Almondbury was Christ Church, Linthwaite, on the Northern side of Crosland Hill, almost on the highest point of the elevated ground, extending, with some interruptions, from lLongroyd Bridge, near Huddersfield, to Marsden in Almondbury, a space of about seven miles. The Church was consecrated in 1828. On the opposite hill of Golcar was erected, about the same time, St. John’s Church ; both having Spires and in the same style of Architecture, with lofty Lancet Windows. They were erected at the public expense (see Chapter I, page 260) and have been compared to the Pillars of Hercules. The land for the Church and Churchyard was given by Mr. James Roperts, of Broad Oak, in Linthwaite, near whose residence, and in the centre of the Township, they are situated. But although on a bleak hill and remote on either side from the population at Hoylehouse Clough and Linthwaite Hall on the West, and Milnsbridge on the East, the Congregations were soon large, under the ministrations of the Rev. Nicholas Padwick, the first Minister, a most laborious and Evangelical Pastor. He not only laboured in the Pulpit and from house to house, but he also published various tracts, and a periodical of an interesting character, entitled the Christian Monitor. Mr. Padwick was

* It is agreed that Roman stations were always rectangular (as Old Sarum). Dr. Bosworth, in his Anglo-Saxon Dictionary, gives the same description of Stot-folds. Is it not probable, for the same reasons, that the fortification above Meltham was also Saxon? Mill-stones were also found there.

Page 459

LINTHWAITE. 395

compelled to resign his charge about Christmas, 1836, by the failure of his wife’s health, and the small amount at that time derived from his benefice—about £30 per annum. He became Incumbent of Milnthorpe, in Westmoreland, and died Noy. 3oth, 1860. He was succeeded by the Rev. John Leighton Figgins, who removed to the Incumbency of St. Clement’s, Manchester; a person of highly Calvinistic views, and who is now deceased. A Schoolroom was built at Milnsbridge, in which Divine Service was also held, assisted by a very early grant of the Church Pastoral Aid Society. Mr. Padwick also erected the Parsonage, but on a small scale, having no family; and also the present National Schools near the Church. In 1838 the eccentric and well known Joseph Wolff, D.D., Dublin, originally a Jewish Missionary and Traveller, was ordained to this Incumbency, and continued until March, 1840; with his devoted but scarcely less eccentric wife, the Lady Georgiana Walpole, daughter of the Earl of Orford. They were parents of the present Sir Henry Drummond Wolff. Dr. Wolff adopted very High Church views, as they were then thought ; he dwelt much on prophetical subjects, and was frequently called from home. He, however, induced several of the Clergy to study the Hebrew language. We became Rector of Isle Brewers, Somerset, and died there about 1852, having survived his Lady a few years. » The income of the Church was raised to #150 per annum by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners at the same time with the other Churches. The Rev. Samuel bBonghurst, B.A., of Queen’s College, Cam- bridge, was the next Incumbent from 1840 to 1850; when, having lost his wife, he resigned and removed to the Isle of Man, and died there in 1851. He was a man of learning in Hebrew, Greek and Arabic, and published ‘‘A Common Place Book, or Com- panion to the New Testament. Richmond, 1833.” The Rey. JosEpH RHODES CHARLESWORTH, B.A., son of Joseph Charlesworth, Esq., J.P., of Holmfirth, succeeded in 1851; but

Page 460

396 CHRIST CHURCH,

exchanged with the Rev. JoHN FREDERICK RyLAND, B.A., Vicar of Elstead, Surrey, in 1854. He-was son of the Rev. R. H. Ryland, M.A., Chancellor of the Cathedral of Waterford, and who was author of “The Psalms Restored to the Messiah.” Mr. J. F. Ryland removed to Ireland in 1864; and is now Archdeacon of Waterford. He added a Porch and Bay Window to the house. Mr. Charlesworth is still Vicar of Elstead. The Rev. GEorRGE Epwin Witson, M.A., Dublin, Curate of South Crosland, succeeded Mr. Charlesworth at Linthwaite, and was very active, and the house was further improved. He was promoted to the Vicarage of St. John’s Church, Huddersfield, in 1868, by Sir John William Ramsden, Bart., where he still remains. All the preceding Appointments were made by the Rev. Lewis Jones, as Vicar of Almondbury. The Rev. William Henry Girling was presented by the Rev. Canon Hulbert, succeeding Vicar of Almondbury, in 1868. The necessity of an experienced Assistant Curate, probably a married man, was felt from the increasing population, 3,500 in 1874, and now 4,000; and a Curate’s House was erected at Hoyle House, at a cost of £397, on a site given by Sir Joseph Radcliffe. The first stone was laid at Easter, 1877, by Mrs. Charles Brook, Junior, of Meltham Hall, who being a native of Collersley, in the Township, took great interest in the undertaking. It was originated by an aged parishioner, John Roberts, who gave effect to his suggestion by a, for him large, contribution of 45. Mr. and Mrs. Brook gave 450, George Mallinson and Edward Brook, Esquires, gave £10 each; and the whole cost, 4397, was eventually raised by Subscriptions and a Sale of Ladies’ Work. The Vicarage House was also much enlarged to receive a family of patriarchal number, by Mr. Girling, who, on the sudden decease of the Rev. T. B. Bensted, January 1st, 1878, was presented to the Rectory of Lockwood; and was succeeded by the Rev. Henry Epwarps ; formerly Curate of Almondbury, then Curate of Stanhope, Durham ; who is the present esteemed Vicar. The Church underwent considerable restoration in 1873, and was re-opened November 12th; when Special Sermons were

Page 461

LINTHWAITE. 397

preached by the Lord Bishop of Ripon; the Rev. Canon Roberts, M.A., Rector of Richmond; Rev. T. N. Farthing, Rector of Mossley; and Rev. N. R. Lloyd, Vicar of Milnsbridge. The total cost about #250. Canon Roberts is the son of Joseph Roberts, Esq., and Mrs. Roberts, of Height, in Linthwaite, who both died on the same day, February 18th, 1853, and were buried at Slaithwaite. The Rev. C. A. Hulbert preached on the occasion from II Sam. ii, 23: “ Zhey were lovely and pleasant in their lives and in death they were not divided.’ The event was rendered striking to him as it was his own father's birthday, who had very recently before visited them. The Church has Galleries on three sides, and the Organ in the West. The Pulpit, Reading Desk and Font are in front of the Communion. The Commandments, Lord’s Prayer and Belief are painted under the East Window. There is one Bell in the Tower. The National Schools were on the point of further enlargement, at the instance of Mr. Richard Roberts; when he was suddenly, in December, 1878, taken away, and the scheme has been deferred ; his intended arrangements not having been completed, but are in prospect, partly from his benevolence. The Church was licensed for Marriages in 1844, compensation being made to the Vicar of Almondbury for probable loss of fees. The following Mural Monuments are in the Church : I. On the East wall over the Gallery, on the South side, in White Marble : Sacred to the Memory of James Rosgerts, Esq., of Broad Oak, obt., March 18th, 1836, et. 71 years. And JANE, his wife, obt., February 28th, 1838, zt. 60 years. This Tablet is erected by an affectionate family as a tribute to their many Christian virtues. True friends of the poor, and faithful in every relation of life. They were the chief promoters of this Church, and Donors of the site. The foundation was laid April 9th, 1827, and the Church was Consecrated October 16th, 1828. TZhey sleep in Jesus. II. In Affectionate Remembrance of WILLIAM RoBERTs, born at Broad Oak, June 29th, 1807, died at Huddersfield, January

Page 462

398 ST. LUKE'S CHURCH,

28th, 1863. For ever with the Lord. Blessed is he who considereth the poor and needy. Psalm xli, v. 7. Also Susanna, widow of the above, died January 13th, 1874, aged 68 years. III. In Affectionate Remembrance of ANNE ROBERTS, eldest daughter of JAMEs and JANE RoseErtTs, of Broad Oak, Linthwaite, born March 7th, 1802, died January 29th, 1877. Zhe Lord Jehovah ts my strength and my song: He also is become my salvation. Isaiah xii, v. 2. IV. Ona plain Marble Tablet : In Loving Memory of GEoRGE RoBErts, eldest son of James and Jane Roberts, of Broad Oak, who died on his passage from Dublin to Holyhead, on the 6th Novr., 1860, aged 57 years. What I do thou knowest not now; but thou shalt know hereafter. V. Under the South Gallery, a Tablet, with a Weeping Willow above : In Memory of EMMANUEL EDMUND, son of EDMUND and ELIZABETH WALKER, of Holy Well, Linthwaite, who died July 31st, 1847, aged 4 years and 9 months. Also ALBERT, their son, who died Octr. 4th, 1848, aged 7 years and 5 months. Suffer little children to come unto me, and forbid them not; for of such ts the kingdom of Heaven. Aso, In Memory of Edmund Walker, Esquire, father of the above children, who died November 2oth, 1872. Zhe Memory of the Just ts blessed.

St. Luke’s CuurcH, MILNSBRIDGE.

The necessity of the population attached to Christ Church, Linthwaite, in the Eastern direction, found a supply in the erection of the above Church, Parsonage and Schools ; with a new District attached consisting of a portion of the Townships of Linthwaite and Lockwood. The Church was opened for Divine Service on Sunday, Septr. 28th, 1845, by license from the Bishop of Ripon (Dr. Longley), and was Consecrated by his Lordship Novr. 12th, 1845. The first Sermons were by the Rev. David James, the Venerable Archdeacon Musgrave, and the Rev. John Richardson, the

Page 463

MILNSBRIDGE. 399

Incumbent, on the former date. Mr. Richardson had _ been previously Curate of Kirkburton. He was B.A. of Trinity College, Dublin; and nominated Incumbent of St. Luke’s by the Rev. Lewis Jones, as Vicar of Almondbury. He left for the Incumbency of St. Anne’s, Manchester, in August, 1847 ; afterwards Vicar of St. Mary’s, Bury St. Edmund’s; and now Incumbent of Camden Church, Camberwell, and Honorary Canon of Rochester. The Rev. JoHN JonEs; also Curate of Thurstonland, in Kirk- burton ; of St. Bees College, succeeded and remained till Nov., 1864, when he was appointed to the Incumbency of St. Mary’s, Honley. The Rev. NEwron Luoyp, previously Curate of Kirkheaton; and then Incumbent of Moldgreen, in that Parish ; succeeded and continues at Milnsbridge. The Church was built after the designs of Mr. Wallen, in the Norman style of Architecture. A spacious Nave and Chancel, containing Stalls, and a circular Apse in which are painted the Commandments, Lord’s Prayer and Creed. A beautiful stained Window represents St. Luke. In the Apse are a handsome Oak Communion Table, two Chairs and two small Lecterns of Oak. The Pulpit is lofty and stands in the Nave, with Reading Desk in front. The Church had originally only a West Gallery for the Organ, Choir and Scholars; but the echo was found so great, owing to the large amount of surface in the walls and lofty plastered ceiling, that North and South Galleries were erected and the ceiling supplied with timber supports. The Sittings were originally 602, of which 270 were free: with the above addition they are about 1,000. The Organ has been recently enlarged and the central seats improved. Over the North door the Arms of the See of Ripon are represented in stone. The sites of the Church, Churchyard and Vicarage were given by Sir Joseph Radcliffe. The Vicarage, which is in the same style with the Church, was erected, as well as the Schools, during the Incumbency of the Rev. John Jones. The conveyance of the site of the National Schools by Sir Joseph Radcliffe and others, in

Page 464

400 ST. LUKE’S CHURCH,

Trust to the Minister and Churchwardens of St. Luke’s Church, is dated 2nd Novr., and enrolled in Chancery 5th December, 1855. The whole are situated on the North side of the new Manchester Road, above the village of Milnsbridge; which is now very populous; with large Manufactories on both sides of the River Colne and the Canal, which run nearly parallel, dividing the great Parishes of Almondbury and Huddersfield. There is also a Station of the London and North Western Railway. There is also a large Baptist Chapel. The population has increased from 2,281 in 1851, to 4,500 in 1881. The District is about two miles in length and three quarters in breadth. It was assigned by an order of the Queen in Council, published in the London Gazette, March 27th, 1846. It was augmented by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners to A150 per annum, and on account of its present population has a claim to further increase. The Ministers have always been laborious and Evangelical. Canon Richardson and Mr. Lloyd are powerful preachers. The following Monuments are in the Chancel : I. Ona Marble Tablet, surmounted by an Urn, in a vault on the South side of this Church rest the remains of ANN, the beloved wife of JOSEPH ARMITAGE, of Milnsbridge House, Esquire, who died February 5th, 1854, in the 72nd year of her age. She was a bright example of excellence as a wife, mother, relative and friend, and to the poor a kind benefactress. But the crowning part of her character was her sincere and simple piety. The daily study of the Holy Scriptures cheered and sustained her declining years. An affectionate and numerous family mourn her loss. ‘May my last end be like hers.” Also the above named JOSEPH ARMITAGE, Esquire, Justice of the Peace, and Deputy Lieutenant of this Riding, who died August 17th, 1860, aged 82 years; and was interred in the same vault with his beloved wife. He filled many offices of trust, both public and private ; and his endeavour was, at all times, to do his duty fearlessly and independently. In private life an affectionate husband, father, and friend.

Page 467

Bde ak at ¢ YW aren SANIT EE NY rare epee ot ST Seer. Cee era FTO

c

ye Hvpverspiatp .

Page 469

MILNSBRIDGE. 401

II. Ona Tablet, with a weeping figure, in white marble: In Memory of MARIANNE, second daughter of the late GEorGE ARMITAGE, Esquire, of High Royd House, J.P. She died on the 13th January, 1861, aged 76 years, and was interred in the family vault of this Church. She was a Christian of distinguished piety; self-denial and benevolence; a liberal supporter of religious societies; the principal donor towards the erection of this Church; and sole founder of the Church at Brockholes. Of her it might be truly said, as of another Mary: “ She hath done what she could.” III. Ona Marble Tablet : In Memory of James ARMITAGE, Esquire, Resident Magistrate of the Waikato District, New Zealand; youngest son of the late Joseph Armitage, of Milnsbridge House, Esquire; who, during a war between the English Settlers and hostile natives, was shot on the River at Waikato, whilst in the discharge of his duty under the Colonial Government, Septr. 7th, 1865, in the 41st year of his age. IV. Ona brass plate on the North wall: In Memory of EpirH ArmitacE, of Milnsbridge House, who died October 3rd, 1866, aged 18 years. ‘“ Of such is the kingdom of Heaven.” The Author adds that the last named was daughter of George Armitage, Esq.. J.P.; who also reposes in the family vault, having died February roth, 1878, at Nunthorpe, York, which he had purchased and had resided there since leaving Milnsbridge House, where, since the death of his father, he had exercised the hospitality and exemplified the virtues of the family. A Memorial Window is erected in Almondbury Church (see page 24) representing the Good Samaritan. He was an active and liberal friend of both Milnsbridge and Longwood Churches, and exemplified in all the numerous offices he fulfilled, the family motto, SEMPER PaRaTUus.” Travelling westward we arrive at Hoylehouse Clough, running down from Blackmoorfoot to the River Colne; where are the extensive Woollen Mills of Messrs. George Mallinson and Sons, and

* Always prepared. PART III.—R.

Page 470

402 LINTHWAITE HILL.

where the first Wesleyan Chapel was built in this neighbourhood. The present larger one was chiefly erected and is still supported by them. There is also the CuratEs’ House attached to Linthwaite Church. But the most interesting object is

LINTHWAITE HIL1,

A substantial stone Mansion, of the Elizabethan date and style, about half-a-mile from the Village of Slaithwaite looking towards the North, but with a garden on the South side. It adjoins the new Manchester Road, and is just within ‘Gledhill Dyke,” a small ditch which here separates the Honor of Pontefract from the Manor of Wakefield. The Manor of Lingthwaite (the clearance of the Ling) belonged to the Duke of Lancaster in 1361, as part of the Honor of Pontefract. The adjoining Township of Lingarths also appears to have belonged to the Duke.* In the Rolls of Lay Subsidies,j Anno 2 Rich. II, 1378, we have VILLATA DE CRosLaND FossE, ‘Thomas Lokewood et Isabella, uxor ejus ; Willelmus de Lokewood and Elizabeth de Lynthwayte, each ilijd. We have mentioned, page 305, that John Dyson, of Brockholes, in Thurstonland, granted that estate in the reign of Edward III, to John Dyson, son of Adam Dyson, of Lynthwaite. This may have been the occupant of the Old House, called “the Kitchen,” attached to Linthwaite Hall, but nearer Slaithwaite, and where the family of Dyson remained until about 30 years ago, when the last member Mr. Nicholas Fenay, of Fenay Hall, married Jane, daughter of Mr. Joshua Thornton, who was second son of Tempest Thornton, of Thornton and Tyersall. Tempest Thornton was baptised in

* See Dr. Walker’s account in Annals of the Church in Slaithwaite, page 38. + Yorkshire Translations, 1880, page 168.

t A blacksmith of eccentric character; the Author received from him several old papers, including one relative to the Manor of Meltham, which he gave to the late Mr. Uriah Tinker, one of the Lords of the Manor. Mr. Tomlinson says, ‘‘The seat of the Lockwoods was at the picturesque old place, known as ‘Old Linthwaite Hall,’ which has lately been put into excellent repair by its present owner, Sir Percival Radcliffe.”

Page 471

LINTHWAITE HILL. 403

1600, and married Margaret, daughter of Joun Lockwoop, of Linthwaite, gent. Thus the Hall came into the family of Thornton. The Rey. Robert Meeke, in his Diary, mentions dining with Mr. Richard Thornton, who was then Recorder of Leeds, and the friend of Thoresby, the Antiquary, at Linthwaite, December 3rd, 1691. The Hall was then occupied by Mr. Meeke’s brother-in-law, — Brooksbank ; and the Rey. Randall Broome, Incumbent of Meltham, lodged with him, and rode over from there to his duties. Captain Thornton lived there in the time of Cromwell, and (it is the tradition) beat up for recruits on behalf of the Parliament, at Pighill, in Slaithwaite, when the Chapel “loosed” on Sunday Evening. Mr. MorREHOUSE observes, in a note of the above Diary, page 46: Judging from the strong and durable masonry, and the very large Oak Timbers of which it is composed, the builder would seem to have had a special desire that it should endure many generations ; if such were his wishes they have been realised, notwithstanding that it has suffered much from neglect. The Lockwoods acquired the estate from a family of considerable local importance, the de Lynthwaites ; they have been seated from an early period of the Plantagenets, down probably to the middle of the 16th century ; during

which period we find their names in Charters, either as principals or witnesses. The Lynthwaytes in their collateral branches did not become extinct in the

neighbourhood till about 1615. The Estate passed from the Lynthwaytes toa branch of the Lockwoods, of Collersley, but whether by marriage or purchase is uncertain. From the heirs of Mr. Thornton, above mentioned, it was purchased by Mr. William Radcliffe, of Milnsbridge, an attorney, and is now the property of Sir Joseph Percival Radcliffe, of Rudding Park, in this County, Baronet. The family of SyKes, of Flathouse, in Linthwaite, removed to Linthwaite Hall about 1729, and occupied it until 1847. When the Author of this work became Incumbent of Slaithwaite, in 1839, two venerable brothers, James and Thomas Sykes, and a single sister were living there. James was born in 1760 and died in 1842, unmarried. He was a man of very simple habits and pious contemplation, and kept a diary chiefly meteorological ; for which reason she resigned the farm to his younger and married brother, Thomas; and, to use his own description of himself,

Page 472

404 LINTHWAITE.

lived as “a lad at home;” doing farming work for his mainten- ance. ‘They were members of the Ancient Moravian Church ; but with another venerable man, Samuel Cotton, resident in a cottage near, attended very regularly at Slaithwaite Church ; except when they walked over to Fulneck, once a month, to the Services and Communion of the United Brethren. The Moravians came over once a month and held a Service in the Old Hall, as long as any of the family remained there; which was until the death of Mr. Thomas Sykes and his widow, about 1847. When these pious and and aged persons were unable to go to Fulneck they gladly commu- nicated at Slaithwaite Church, and lie buried in the Old Burial Ground there. The family occupied the Hall for four generations. Below the Hall, partly in the Townships of Linthwaite and Golcar, are the SLAITHWAITE MINERAL BaTus, begun by Mr. Richard Varley about 1824. At the extremity of the Township of Linthwaite, and forming practically part of the Village of Slaithwaite, is a populous and thriving adjunct, which includes the WESLEYAN CENTENARY CHAPEL, erected in 1839, and the PROVIDENCE or PARTICULAR Baptist CHAPEL, an off-shoot from the Baprist CHAPEL at PoWLE, in Scammonden, differing on the ground of the Law as a Rule of Life. The Rev. John F. Higson was a laborious Minister from 1828 to 1840. The Rev. H. W. Holmes, of Powle Chapel, of the General Baptist persuasion, was a most devoted and pious Minister for 45 years. Rev. James Evans, present Minister. The StairHwairE Mecuanics’ INSTITUTION is also situated in Linthwaite. The Institution was commenced in 1847. The building, of more recent date, 1870, is also occupied as a Day School on “ Unsectarian Principles.” Councillor John Sugden was for many years Secretary. It was honoured in November, 1880, by a visit from the Lord Bishop of Manchester, Dr. Fraser. There was a praiseworthy attempt to establish an Institution made by Mr. Jabez E. Mayall and others in 1841, and they held correspondence with Dr. Chan- ning, the eloguent American writer, which appears in his memoirs. He was much gratified by this testimony from this side the Atlantic

Page 473

LINTHWAITE. 405

to the usefulness of his work on Self Culture ; but it remained for a less scientific but faithful Churchman, Mr. James Bamforth, of Holm, in Slaithwaite, to originate the present Institution in 1847. Rey. C. A. Hulbert, being consulted, became the President for more than two years ; when some difference arose on the subject of the religious and moral constitution. The Institution was, however, carried on through the exertions of Mr. Edwin Sugden and others. Mr. Jabez E. Mayall, of Linthwaite, was one of the most eminent natives of the Village. He carried on Dye Works, and studied Chemistry and other sciences in general. Slaithwaite was scarcely a sufficient sphere for his genius, and he emigrated to the United States, where he took up the then infant Art of Photography; which he much improved by his experiments and discoveries. He returned to England and obtained even Royal Patronage as a Photographer. He kindly furnished the Portrait of the Author for the Annals of Slaithwaite in 1864. He has retired to Brighton ; resigning his art to his sons. He lost his wife in 1870. The inhabitants of his adopted town have elected him Mayor of Brighton, which office he served with much credit. When he last visited Slaithwaite he delivered an interesting Lecture on “The Transmission of Light through the Universe,” in the National School. Fle still resides - at Hove Place House, Brighton, promoting intellectually Heaven’s first command, “ Let there be Light.” The diversity of opinions in this neigbourhood is rather a token of the spiritual life which existed during the last and present century in the district round Slaithwaite Church, and which still continues. The climax was probably reached in 1855, when, on Whit Monday, the Author was able to collect ten Sunday Schools, at the suggestion of Mr. Joseph Mellor, to Divine Service; four connected with the Established Church, and six of other denominations ; amounting to 2,160 teachers and scholars, and 1,140 general congregation; total, 3,300 counted at the door. The sight was most impressive, and the singing simple but powerful. The text was: “J saw the dead small and great stand before God.” Rev. xx, 12. The most perfect harmony and order

prevailed.

Page 474

CHAPTER Vii.

SLAITHWAITE-CUM-LINGARDS, ST. JAMES’ CHURCH, FouR NATIONAL SCHOOLS, MEEKE AND WALKER INSTITUTE, MARSDEN-IN-ALMONDBURY, ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S CHURCH,

SCHOOLS, AND CONCLUSION.

The Township of Lingards, although in the Parish of Almondbury, has always been united with that of Slaithwaite-in- Huddersfield, as constituting the Manor of the Earl of Dartmouth, the sole proprietor. The Chapelry of Slaithwaite-cum-Lingards is counterminous and in the patronage of the Vicar of Huddersfield, as that of Marsden in both Parishes is in the Vicar of Almondbury ; governed by the fact that the Churches or Chapels were reciprocally in Huddersfield and Almondbuty. Lingards, until recently, was a Township engaged in agriculture with only domestic manufacture. The few old families of Sykes, Mellor, Varley, and Shaw, carried on Woollen and Dyeworks ; the Corn Mill of Messrs. Varley, still adjoining the river and canal within the Village, and formerly the Tannery at Broadfield. ‘There was no separate School or Place of Worship, but all attended at Slaithwaite Church and Sunday Schools, or more recently at the Places of Worship and instruction in the adjoining Township of Linthwaite, already mentioned. In 1840, the Rev. C. A. Hulbert, who was instituted to the Incumbency of Slaithwaite-cum-Lingards, June 7th, 1839, re- opened a Sunday School at Holthead in connection with the Church; in a building which had been for some time before occupied by the party who now carry on the “General Sunday School,” on Meltham Moor; and this led ultimately to the erection of the Lincarps NaTIONAL ScHOOL and MastTeEr’s at Hilltop.

Page 475

SLAITHWAITE-CUM-LINGARDS, 407

The following inscriptions will relate the facts. TABLET engraved on stone over the entrance : LINGARDS CHURCH SCHOOL,

Erected A.D. by the Right Honourable William, Earl of Dartmouth ; was conveyed in Trust to the Minister and Chapel- wardens of Slaithwaite-cum-Lingards ; and united to the National Society for promoting the Education of the Poor in the principles of the Established Church. The Rev. C. A. Hulbert, M.A., \ First John Dransfield and John Varley, On a framed Chart in the School : Lincarps NATIONAL SCHOOL, Erected A.D. 1851. The Rev. Charles Augustus Hulbert, M.A., Incumbent. Mr. John Varley, Lingards, Treasurer. Fredk. Thynne, Esq., Westminster, Agent and Architect.

Trustees.

ScHOOL BUILDINGS. Ay Spite 1851.—The Site was given and conveyed in trust to the Minister and Chapelwardens of Slaithwaite-cum-Lingards, for a School united to the National Society for promoting the education of the poor on the principles of the Established Church, by the Right Honourable William, fourth Earl of Dartmouth, who was at the sole cost of the building,

OL re caters cae ciarelersielsic 640 O 1851.—Fitted up by aid of Grant from.the above Society, of .... 45 Collected by Hannah Cock, for 6 310 1857.—Collected by Mr. J. T. Bamford, first Schoolmaster, for 6 on 4 = oie nie 4 550. stole, nine’ 16) 31.08 By the Right Honourable William Walter, fifth Earl of Dartmouth, for eee 10 10 O Ditto., for New Floor............ [01 10.16 Committee of Council on Education, for ditto. .......... 19 19 6 £748 5

MASTER’S RESIDENCE. 1864.—Erected and additional Site given and conveyed as above, yo Se ete Ss. The Earl of Dartmouth expended..... ran -. 206 10 O

Page 476

408 SLAITHWAITE-CUM-LINGARDS.

The Committee of Council on Education................ 65 oO Messrs. F. G. and E. L. Thynne, Westminster.......... 21) 0-40 The Rev. Charles Augustus Hulbert, M.A., Incumbent .. 2 Charles Brooks 5 @

Mr. John Horsfall, Churchwarden, £2; Mr. Joseph Varley, Varley’s Fold, £2; Mr. John Varley, ditto., 41; Mr. Samuel Dowse, Cellars Clough, £2; Mr. John Farrar, Slaithwaite, £2; Mr. James Crowther, Lingards - 42 ioe « Mr. Thos. Allen, Huddersfield, £1 1s.; Friend of Educa- tion, £1; Mr. Joseph Quarmby, Lingards, £1; Bentley Shaw, Esq., J.P., £1; Mr. Richard Shaw, Broadfield, £1; Mr. R. Varley, Corn Mill, £1; Mr. Abm. Cotton, Lingards Wood, £1; Mr. J. T. Bamford, £3; Mr. Wm. Roberts, Surgeon, Ios. 6d.; Sums under 10s., 16s. 6d. ; Broduceloteay Christmas clave else TOO

4305 18 oO

The Sunday School was removed thither from Holthead, and continues unto this day. There was a small Sunday School in the house of Mr. Michael Taylor, of Hollins, in Lingards, very early in this century. He lived to the patriarchal age of 79, and died in the faith, Augt., 1849. The relatives of this good man, resident at Hilltop, took an active interest in the New School. The children were conducted to the Church on Sunday Afternoons ; but Services were soon instituted, and are still supplied by the Incumbent Curate, or Lay Agent, by license of the Bishop. “Mr. JosHua BamrorpD taught a Day School at Slacks in the highest part of the Township of Lingards for 50 years, and a large number of the intelligent elder inhabitants of this district were instructed by him. He was a Mathematician and Natural Philosopher, occasionally delivered Lectures, and corresponded with several Scientific Periodicals. Mild rather than severe in his discipline, he was a timid Churchman. He died, January, 1851, aged 70 years. His son, Isaac TAYLOR BAMForRD, who succeeded him in his School, was, upon the opening of Lingards National School in 1852, appointed Master, and fulfilled tke office with the assistance of his wife until his death, when, April 7th, 1875, he

Page 478

“OC NYY

we I WY 7 wee ood eee a Ve oz \)' 7 aa ——_ ~ ee id ST fe a tino ) Be ne a A . ety ig < 157% be — EY Lh) 4 A «Oras at dh UI a ~: 5 me oth; NY avenge) ‘a 4 My) cy She 2 J ths Wie? sas eas > DP MR SNL Pi <7 OS rf ba ~ oT yee wd) cn save sy AUNT %

So ess ao Sa 2 MUWF Wil ESE

oe =

i a ee ie eS st SS ees = =

JIVE A

Page 479

SLAITHWAITE-CUM-LINGARDS. 409

was buried at Slaithwaite with much respect by his former Minister. The present Master is Mr. Samuel Mellor, formerly Master of the Meeke and Walker School, Slaithwaite, Son of the venerable Sunday School Superintendent, Mr. George Mellor, who for 46 years occupied that office in connection with St. James’ Church, and who died March 31st, 1857, aged 78 years. The Annals of the Church in Slaithwaite, published by the Author in 1864, will afford fuller particulars of all those venerable and godly men, who, relics of a former Ministry, welcomed him, and formed what he called his “SENATE,” on his entrance single handed upon the arduous care of 5,000 souls, now 42 years ago. An attempt at introducing, what is now called a Higher Class Education, was made in 1824, shortly after the opening of the new Manchester Road, which was an era in the history of the district ; the former roads having run on high ground far above the population. A PROPRETARY GRAMMAR SCHOOL was erected on the rising ground in Lingards, in 1824, by the permission of the late Earl of Dartmouth. Mr. J. Butterfield was Master; but it did not succeed. His Lordship purchased the shares. The building was ultimately united to the Meeke and Waiker’s Institution, and the Slaithwaite National School, as Residences for the Masters and Teachers of those establishments, being conveyed as endowments, on easy terms, to the several trustees in 1866, by the present Earl. The building is now called ScHooL TERRACE, and is situated on The VaARLEY Roap, made by the late Earl as a means of employment at a time of manufacturing distress, leading from Slaithwaite to Meltham Moor. The neighbourhood is now being rapidly occupied by respectable buildings. New life having been instilled into the Manor of Slaithwaite-cum-Lingards by the sale of plots of land, or grants of long leases by the present Lord—for which the Author of this work claims the privilege of having given the first suggestion; as kindly acknowledged by his Lordship in the Huddersfield Chronicle on one occasion. The adjoining Townships of Golcar and Linthwaite were becoming covered with buildings erected on safe tenure; by his Lordships tenants, who

Page 480

410 ST. JAMES’ CHURCH,

would gladly have expended their capital on his estate, but could not safely do it on parole tenure. Sites for Four ScHooLs have been freely given by the successive Lords ; and the SLAITHWAITE CONSERVATIVE ASSOCIATION is a handsome and commodious building: near the Corn Mill, Lingards. In the present chapter we can only glance at these educational matters, which will be found more at length in the “Diary of the Rev. Robert Meeke and the History of Slaithwaite Schools,” by H. J. Morehouse and C. A. Hulbert, 1875; and in the fourth part of this work. But as our volume professes to contain “ Annals of the Church in Almondbury”—those edifices, which have that character, and are supplying the spiritual wants of any part of the ancient Parish, have a primary claim on description.

ST. JAMES’ CHURCH, SLAITHWAITE.

The origin of Slaithwaite Old Chapel dates before the Reforma- tion : From the Votitia Parochialis, or returns made by Incumbents of Livings to queries sent them by a divine whose name is unknown, in 1705. ‘An ancient Chapel, much decayed, was repaired and enlarged at the charge of John Kaye, Esq., and his tenants and other neighbouring inhabitants in 1593. No endowment, but contributions something better than £20 per annum; a gift of 4s. yearly left by the will of one — Eastwood, of the Binn, in Marsden. It is charged on the Binn Land, and now paid by Samuel Haigh, Widow Kaye, and James Hirst, the occupiers.” We have learned (see page 194) that two generations of the Kaye family, Arthur and John, retired from Woodsome to Slaith- waite, leaving the Hall and its cares to their eldest sons successively. Arthur built the Manor House here; the more ancient Hall on the extremity of the Township, near Marsden, being only a single bay, situated on an elevation near the narrow road from Marsden to Halifax. The Chapel was enlarged and improved by the Rev. Robert Meeke in 1719; with the Grammar School adjoining. After various alterations the Chapel was entirely taken down in 1788—low walls only remaining—and the present spacious but lofty and plain

Page 481

SLAITHWAITE, 411

structure was erected by subscription on a site given by William, second Earl of Dartmouth, in 1789; and was consecrated by Archbishop Markham in August of that year. All sittings in the former Church were removed and provided for; and the increased Seats were allotted by ballot, and purchased and termed Seats, so as to form a fund for building. The Rey. Thomas Wilson, a man of vast energy in preaching and action, was the minister, from 1777 to 1809; and the Church, containing provision for 1,500 persons in pews, was crowded every Sunday; there was then no dissent in the valley; and there had been a remarkable succession of devoted and Evangelical Ministers (with one exception) for above a century, and which has happily continued until this day. The Rev. John Murgatroyd, one of the Masters of Slaithwaite School, resided in Lingards for 70 years, officiating at nearly all the Churches within 20 miles, including the Parish Churches of Huddersfield and Almondbury. He married a Miss Mellor, of Lingards, and has left behind him interesting Manuscripts.

The CHuRCH consists of a lofty Nave; go feet long and 26 broad—with Galleries on three sides; and a very lofty Pulpit at the West end; the whole area closely occupied with pews. The Chancel was very small, until enlarged at the expense of the present Earl of Dartmouth, in 1865, in a handsome manner, with Stalls on either side. It contains a MremoriaL to the late Earl of DARTMOUTH, representing the Good Samaritan; executed by the late Mr. David Evans, of Shrewsbury, from an old Master. Various improvements on the very plain original structure took place during the Incumbencies of the Author and his Son; but the chief ornament is the excellent Congregation, still kept up by their successor, the Rev. Henry Harold Rose, M.A. The following inscription is under the window : Erected in Memory of WILLIAM, FouRTH EARL OF DARTMOUTH, who died Nov. 22, 1853, <et. 68. Born Nov. 29, 1784. By the grateful Tenantry of this Manor, A.D. 1858. Luke, chapter x, v. 36: ‘‘ Which of these three, thinkest thou, was neighbour unto him that fell among thieves? 37: And he

Page 482

412 ST. JAMES’ CHURCH,

said, He that shewed mercy on him. Then said Jesus, Go, AND DO THOU LIKEWISE.” The Chancel also contains the following Inscriptions, on Marble Tablets : I. Sacred to the Memory of the Rev. Thomas Wilson, 32 years Minister of this Chapel. Who departed this life July 2nd, 1809, in the 65th year of his age. An Israelite indeed. II. On the South side, surmounted by a cross: Sacred to the Memory of the Rev. Thomas Jackson, B.D., of Queen’s College, Cambridge, six years Curate of the Parish Church, Huddersfield, and sixteen years Minister of this Church. The Cross of Christ was that in which alone he gloried; the precious truths of the Gospel he fervently, faithfully and affectionately preached ; its holy precepts he exemplified in his life and conduct ; and its rich consolations he realized in the solemn prospect of eternity. He departed this life May 11th, 1839, aged 50 years, and lies interred near this Chancel. This monument is erected by his afiectionate widow. III. Ona separate Tablet, in the North Aisle, surmounted by a Cup: In Memoriam, Sophia, wife of the late Thomas Jackson, B.D., formerly Incumbent of this Parish, died May 16th, 1865, aged 67 years. I am, there shalt also my Servant be.”—S. JOHN xii, v. 27. IV. Sacred to the Memory of John Lawson Varley, of Lingards, who departed this life January 24th, 1829, aged 72 years. He was one of the Trustees for the erection of this Church, A.D. 1789, and, with the Rev. Thomas Wilson and Mr. Samuel Wood, had the chief management and responsibility. “ Zord, thou hast been our dwelling-place in all generations.” —Ps. xc, v. I. Also of Mary, relict of the above, who died May roth, 1830, aged 69 years. Also of Joseph, second son of the above John Lawson and

Mary Varley, who died July 25th, 1865, aged 76 years. ‘* Behold the upright :” **The end of that man is xxxvii, v. 37.

Page 483

SLAITHWAITE. 413

V. A Marble Monument, with a representation of a Commu- . nion Table, presented by Mr. Varley, and a Scroll depending from it, inscribed : Sacred to the Memory of John Varley, son of John Lawson Varley, of Lingards Fold, in this Chapelry, who fell asleep in Jesus, September 14th, 1843, aged 48 years. To a blameless conduct before men he added an humble Spirit before God. Looking only for Salvation by Faith in the blood and righteousness of Christ he endeavoured ‘‘To adorn the doctrine of God, his Saviour, in all things,” and warmly attached to the Church he was a liberal supporter of all her plans of piety and usefulness, especially in this his native village. “* Be thou faithful unto death, and I will give thee a crown of life.”— REV. ii, 10, This Monument is erected by his mourning widow. VI. Sacred to the Memory of Richard Varley, eldest son of John Lawson Varley, of Lingards, who died December 12th, 1847, aged 63 years. A man of sound religious principle and amiable manners, who promoted the improvement of this Manor, of which he was Steward, by the erection of Public Baths and Schools, and by justice and kindness to all the tenants. ‘Tt is required in Stewards that a man be found faithful.”—1 Cor: iv, v, 2. Also of William Edwin, second son of Richard and Jane Varley, of Lingards, who died October 21st, 1860, aged 34 years, ‘*Tn the midst of life we are in death.” Also of Richard, third and youngest son of Richard and Jane Varley, who died December 17th, 1864, aged 33 years. ‘Then Jesus beholding him loved him.”—Mark x, 21. Also of Jane, relict of the above Richard Varley, son of John Lawson Varley, who died May 31st, 1867, aged 72 years. ‘“They were lovely and pleasant in their lives and in death they are not divided.” Also of John, eldest son of Richard and Jane Varley, who died February 15th, 1875, aged 52 years. VII. Sacred to the Memory of Ann Sykes, younger daughter of Samuel and Hannah Sykes, of this Town, who departed this life December 6th, 1839, in the bloom of piety and promise, aged 14 years.

Page 484

414 ST. JAMES’ CHURCH,

Dear child, whose infant feet were found Within thy Father’s shrine, May all our fleeting years be crowned With grace and truth like thine. Also of the above Samuel Sykes, who, having been many years Chapelwarden, departed this life June 23rd, 1855, aged 68 years. ‘*Lord, I have loved the habitation of thy house, and the place where thine honour dwelleth.”—Ps. xxvi, uv. 8. Also of Hannah, relict of the above Samuel Sykes, who died at Halifax, Novr. 24th, 1863, aged 75 years. all died in Faith,” and they ‘‘ Rest in Hope” ina Vault in the adjacent Chancel. VIII. Over the Ministers Pew, in the North Aisle: The Reverend James Lacy, B.A., of St. John’s College, Oxford, Incumbent of Golcar, in this Parish, and only son of James Lacy, Esqr., of Islington, Middlesex, died September roth, 1836, aged 24 years, and rests with his Fathers in Chichester Cathedral.

Mary, relict of the above James Lacy, Esqr., died suddenly at Slaithwaite, October 7th, 1841, aged 57 years, and rests in Prestwich Church. Anna Louisa Hulbert, second daughter of the Rev. C. A. Hulbert, M.A., Incumbent of this Chapelry, and Mary, his wife (eldest daughter of the above J. and M. Lacy), was born August 31st, 1845, died April 6th, 1847, and is buried in the North-East corner of the adjoining Churchyard. ‘*Vour life is hid with Christ in God.”—COL. iii, v. 3. IX. A Marble Monument representing an Organ, with Mourning Drapery, on which is the following Inscription: In grateful Memory of Mr. John Schofield, of Mallingfield, Slaithwaite, for nearly 54 years the able and gratuitous Organist of this Church, who died May 24th, 1843, aged 76 years. This Monument is

erected by the Minister and Congregation. The Lord in this His ‘‘ Lowest” room, Long heard him lead the Choir ; Then called him to the heavenly dome, “*Come, faithful Servant, higher.” S. LUKE xiv, 8; xix, 17.

Page 485

SLAITHWAITE. 415

X. Sacred to the Memory of Samuel Wood, of this Town, who died Novr. 22nd, 1838, aged 84 years. He was most active and zealous in the erection of this Church, in which he worshipped God for so years. During his long and useful life every benevo- lent Institution in this Township had his constant support. ‘¢ And the same man was just and devout, waiting for the Consolation of Israel.”—S. LUKE li, v. 25. XI. Sacred to the Memory of Thomas Haigh, of Colne Bridge House, in the Parish of Huddersfield, who departed this life February 14th, 1853, aged 78 years. Also of Betty, wife of the above Thomas Haigh, who departed this life May 12th, 1849, aged 69 years. ‘*The memory of the just is blessed.” PROV. x, v. 17. This Monument is erected by their affectionate sons, Samuel Wood Haigh and Jonathan Haigh. XII. Sacred to the Memory of Joseph Seddon Scholes,* who departed this life September 2nd, 1865, aged 52 years. REV. xiv, v. 13. Also of Ellen, daughter of the above, who died December 9th, 1850, aged 2 years and 7 months. The Orcan, which stands in the West Gallery, was built by a York firm either in 1790 or gi. As originally built it was what was styled a “Short Octave Organ.” Mr. John Schofield, of Mallingfield, Slaithwaite, was the first and gratuitous Organist: a position which he held for nearly 54 years. His successor was Mr. John Mellor, Schoolmaster ; from 1844 to 51. He gave way for Mr. Henry E. Pearson, who was appointed Organist June 22nd, 1851 ; a position which he held with much credit for 2914 years ; resigning his duties December 23rd, 1880. When he was appointed the Rev. C. A. Hulbert, senior, was Vicar; Mr. John Dransfield and Mr. John Varley were Churchwardens ; Rev. S. P. Lampen,

ee ES

* Mr. Scholes occupied Cotton Mills near the Slaithwaite Baths. He came from High Bank, near Prestwich, Lancashire. He was a very useful and liberal supporter of the Church and Schools while resident at the Baths Cottage. He returned to Lancashire, and died at Crumpsall Hall, as did his relict, Matilda, daughter of Thomas Southey, Esq., of Islington, London.

Page 486

416 ST. JAMES’ CHURCH, SLAITHWAITE.

Curate. In 1852 great improvements were made in the Organ, and others subsequently. Mr. J. A. Eagland is now Organist. Mr. Richard Mellor, Musician, of Huddersfield, has given interesting details relative to Mr. Schofield, in the Veteran Organist. ‘The first verse of Luther’s Hymn, God what do I see and hear,” &c. which he frequently accompanied with solemnizing effect, is engra- ven on his tombstone in the Churchyard. The Font is of stone and was removed from the Old Chapel, and bears the inscription R.M. 1721. There are Benefaction Boards in the Ante-chapel, which will appear in the appendix ; and one bell in the Tower, formerly Tenor Bell in Huddersfield Parish Church. A Clock also, put in by Subscription in 1816. The ParRsONAGE conveniently situated near the Church, was built on a lease of 50 years from the then Earl of Dartmouth, in the year 1789, at the cost of the Rev. Thomas Wilson; and left by him in 1809 to the succeeding Incumbent. It was, however, claimed by his heir; and bought for the use of the Minister by Mr. Wm. Bamforth, a venerable man; and was occupied by the Rey. Charles Chew, Samuel Walter and Thomas Jackson, until early in 1839, when Mr. Bamforth, Mr. Jackson, and the Lease all expired; and the property reverted to the late Earl. His Lordship and successor, though retaining the freehold, have virtually made it a Parsonage. It was greatly enlarged at his Lordship’s expense in 1839, and again in 1847; and has been enjoyed by the Author, his son, and the present Incumbent freely. The CHURCHYARD has received two additions. In 1841, when a portion of Mallingfield, on the North side, was added; and was Consecrated October 7th, by Bishop Longley ; and another June 7th, 1855, by Bishop Bickersteth. Two Churchyards also exist in the village—one the site of the Old Chapel ; and the other given by Sir John Kaye, Bart., in 1688. The ancient Manor Houss, in the Village, is now occupied as an office for the purposes of the Manor, by Messrs. Eagland. Catr Hey, the residence of Mrs. Samuel Horsfall, was erected by the late Thomas Haigh, Esq., who resided there many years,

Page 487

FREE SCHOOL,

SCHOOL AND H-:

Page 488

an “a ; areas ere

¥ ‘ny

Page 489

THE OLD FREE SCHOOL. 417

but removed to and died at Colnebridge House, Huddersfield _(see Monument). He came originally from Marsden. He continued a useful Trustee of, and Benefactor to, the Old Free School. Having married the daughter of Mr. Samuel Wood, of Slaithwaite, one of the Trustees, and also the Treasurer of the Church Building Fund, in 1788-9. He and his sons, Samuel Wood Haigh, J.P., and Jonathan Haigh, were chief originators and supporters of the Church at Bradley, in Huddersfield, and are much lamented. William Gilstrap, Esq., of Fornham Park, Bury St. Edmunds, who married Mr. Haigh’s daughter Elizabeth (see page 205), has lately presented his native town of Newark, Notts, with a Free Library.

THE OLD FREE SCHOOL.

There appears to have been a Town School provided by the Rev. William Meeke, junior, elder brother and predecessor of the Rev. Robert Meeke (as lately discovered), and which School was carried on under the latter from 1694 to 1724. In 1721 he endowed it by his will anda Deed executed previously. Almost at the same time Mr. Thomas Walker, of Wakefield, made provision for a “School of Good Literature, at Slaithwaite.” But both endowments were united, and the original Schoolhouse adjoining the Church was extended, in 1749, by Mr. Murgatroyd. It was in a ruinous state, and the School suspended, when the Author became Incumbent in 1839. It was, however, re-built on an enlarged site by the Trustees, and opened as a Grammar School in 1846. Difficulties having arisen respecting the constitution of the School, under the differing Trusts of the two Deeds, a new Scheme was obtained from the Charity Commissioners ; founding what is now called the MEEKE AND WALKER INSTITUTE, of which a full account is given in the “History of Slaithwaite School.” Its benefits extend to inhabitants of the four Townships of Slaith- waite, Lingards, Golcar and Linthwaite.

. NATIONAL SCHOOLS. In 1839 the only Public School in Slaithwaite was one conducted in the Vestry or Crypt, under the Church, by Mr. John Mellor ,

by appointment, three years before, of the Rev. Thomas Jackson. PART IlL—S.

Page 490

418 NATIONAL SCHOOLS.

And there the Sunday School had been held for many years. The Free School having been suspended after the death of Mr. Har- greaves, the last Master, in 1837. The Lower Slaithwaite National School was erected in 1840, and successively, those at Upper Slaithwaite in 1846, and West Slaithwaite in 1860, with residences for Masters attached. The Township was thus provided with ample School accommodation, and, consequently, has not required a School Board. All these institutions have the liberal support of the Earl of Dartmouth; being founded on the principles of the Established Church. The late Frederick Thynne, Esq., of Westminster, the Agent for the Estate, greatly assisted the Incumbent in their establishment, and in all other works of beneficence and usefulness, most of which were recorded in the Decennial Reports of the Incumbent in 1849 and 59. And the same encouragement and help are afforded still. The population 1s rapidly increasing. Vast Manufactories are being erected on the fields between the Village and the Baths ; which, though diminishing the picturesque beauty of the scene, are sources of wealth and comfort to the people. The SLAITHWAITE Gas LicuotT Company; whose works are in that direction, requested the Author to devise a Seal and Motto; which he did, in allusion to local circumstances. The “ Slaith- waite Half Moon” has long been a current phrase, in allusion to the story of a youth from the Village, who, visiting York, was surprised by all he saw during the day; but when night came exclaimed: “Well! if there is not the Slaithwaite Half Moon!” The meaning of the name (Slaigh-thwaite) is the Svoe-Clearance. Hence the Crescent rising out of a Wood was the device—and

the motto: E LUCO LUX,

Out of the grove comes light! May spiritual light long emanate, as it has remarkably: done for two centuries, from the valley; through which formerly the Squirrel could leap from bough to bough. There the Author hopes to rest, until £ Zuco lux surgat, or, in the words of his early friend, Robert

Montgomery : **The dust of ages sparkles into life.”

Page 491

INCUMBENTS. 419 INCUMBENTS.

The Registers commence in 1679. ‘The first entries appear to have been those of the Rev. William Meeke, junior, son of an excellent Clergyman of the same name, at Manchester; who conformed to the Presbyterian Classis; but was imprisoned by the Independents under Cromwell. We have no record of either, but we find among OxFoRD GRADUATES : MEEKE, B.A., St. Mary’s Hall, 30th Oct., 1677. And in Hunter’s Church Notes, the following entries :—William Meeke, Curate of Slagh-thwaite, buried at Huddersfield, 8th August, 1684. We have, likewise, James Marcroft, Predicator Verbi Dei apud Slaithwaite, 14 July, 1621. Ralph Johnson, Curate of Slagthwaite, 22 Mar., 1622. Hannah, wife of Thomas Gunner, Curate of Slaithwaite, 26 Ap., 1639. At the time of the Parliamentary Survey, 1651, there was no Minister. It was “recommended to be made a New Parish, Linfitt- in-Almondbury being added.” The Rev. Ropert MEEKE, brother of the above, became Incumbent in 1694; and continued until 1724; and is buried where was formerly the Communion Table in the Old Chapel, with the following Inscription on an upright stone : “Neare this place is interred the body of Mr. Robert Meeke, who was Curate of this Chapel 29 years and 5 months, to the satisfaction of his auditors. He left four pounds per ann: to the School at Slaithwaite, for teaching ten poor children; and the interest of nine pounds for bread and wine; and one hundred and thirty three books for succeeding Curates. He departed this life May 31st, 1724, in the 67th year of his age. Joun SuTcLirFE succeeded and died 1727. An elegy on his death, by Thomas Boulton, Schoolmaster, invokes him as “ Pious Sutcliffe.” He took A.B. St. John’s College, Cambridge, 1718. THorNs—a scholar; but not an eminent Minister ; addicted to Sports; and was presented by the Chapel Warden to the Archdeacon of York. The Trust Deeds of the School were, however, settled by his means, and the Book of Homilies set up

Page 492

420 INCUMBENTS.

in the Chapel. He died Sept. 13th, 1760. He was A.B. of Trinity College, Cambridge, 1725; A.M. 1732. SAMUEL FuRLY, A.B. Queen’s College, Cambridge, 1758. His son, Sam. Furly, A.B. 1783. The Father was an Evangelical Preacher, appointed by the Rev. Henry Venn, and acquainted with the Countess of Huntingdon, who visited him here (see her life). Removed to the Vicarage of St. Roche, Cornwall; became blind. A pious address to his Parishioners here is extant. Succeeded in 1767 by MatTTHEw Powtry, M.A. Another excellent and able divine. He removed to the Vicarage of Dewsbury, in 1777, by the interest of William, Earl of Dartmouth. His wife was only daughter of Mrs. Unwin, the friend of Cowper the Poet. He died at Dewsbury in 1806; and she has a Monument in Trinity Church, Ripon, where she died gth November, 1835, aged 89 years. Tuomas WILson, the Apostle of the Valley for 32 years, 1777 to 1809, A Yorkshireman of plain energetic character and eloquence; in whose time the New Church was built and Consecrated. The Church Missionary Society, instituted in 1799, had Sermons here in 1803; and he was very early in adopting Sunday Schools. He had no Academic Degree, but was ordained by Dr. Drummond, Archbishop of York; first as Curate to Mr. Powley, and afterwards was his successor. The Rev. William Roberts was his able Assistant-Curate, and remained until the appointment of CHARLES CHEW, by the Rev. John Coates, a Graduate of Oxford and able divine from Leicestershire ; whither he retired, and was followed by his Assistant-Curate. SAMUEL WALTER, M.A., St. Edmund’s Hall, Oxford ; formerly, for 23 years, Curate of Madeley, Shropshire; also appointed by Mr. Coates. He was a zealous promoter of the Church Missionary and Bible Societies; but his strength was nearly worn out when he came to Slaithwaite in June, 1815. He died there June 7th, 1823, aged 59 years, THomas JACKSON, B.D., of Queen’s College, Cambridge, Curate of Huddersfield, had been a preacher among the Wesleyans ; also

Page 493

INCUMBENTS, 421

appointed by Mr. Coates. He composed a Hymn Book for the use of the Congregation. [His health failed for several years before his death, May 11th, 1839. He commenced the National School, as before observed. The first Confirmation was held in this Church by Bishop Longley, August 17th, 1838, and has continued trienially The present Lord Bishop preached to a Congregation of 1,800, October 17th, 1858. CHARLES AuGusTus Hutsert, M.A., of Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge ; Curate of St. Mary, Islington, London, from 1834 to 1839; appointed by the Rev. James Clark Franks, M.A., June 7th, 1839. He worked alone until 1844, when a Grant towards the Stipend of a Curate was obtained from the Additional Curates’ Society; which had been applied for by Mr. Jackson, and is continued in a reduced form to this day. He continued till April 7th, 1867, when he was instituted as Vicar of Almondbury, by nomination of Sir John William Ramsden, Bart. He is also Surrogate for Marriage Licenses, &c., for the Diocese of Ripon. He was formerly Crosse Theological Scholar and also Tyrwhitt Hebrew Scholar of the University. The former appointment brought him acquainted with the Venerable Archdeacon Musgrave, who was chiefly instrumental in its foundation by the executors of the Rev. John Crosse, Vicar of Bradford, and conducedto his appoint- ment by Mr. Franks. He became Honorary Canon of Ripon, 1866. CHARLES AUGUSTUS HULBERT, Junior, M.A., of Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge, succeeded his father, April, 1867, by appointment of the Rev. William Bainbridge Calvert, M.A. He had been previously Curate of Trinity Church, Tunbridge Wells, Kent, and then of Bowdon, Cheshire. Appointed Vicar of St. Stephen’s, Burmantofts, Leeds, by the Trustees, in 1879; and now, 1881, Rector of Nether Broughton, Leicestershire, by nomi- nation of the Hon. P. P. Bouverie. Henry Haroitp Rost, M.A., Cambridge, formerly Curate of Lockwood, and Trinity Church, Huddersfield, succeeded C. A. Hulbert, Junior, in 1879, and is the present esteemed Incumbent. The living is a Perpetual Curacy with the customary district of Slaithwaite-cum-Lingards attached ; but has not yet received a

Page 494

422 INCUMBENTS.

District assigned by the Crown. The Tithes and Easter Dues are commuted and held by the Vicars of the Ancient Parishes. There is a large Reservoir for supply of the Huddersfield and Manchester Canal; and the supply of water is highly favourable to manufacture. Lingards and Linthwaite are not mentioned in Domesday Book.

In Parliamentary Writs, 1318, Edward II, are named John Tyas, Slaighwaite, Richard Tyas, Farnley. Among the possessions of the Earl of Lancaster, are Lingarthys, Lepton, Holm, iu vill, Co. Lancast. Since the publication of the account of the Tyas Family, in Part II of this Work, page 187, a complete pedigree or account of the Tyas or Teutonicus Family has appeared in Part XXV of the Yorkshire Archeological Journal; to which the reader is referred. It is probable that Slaithwaite Chapel was originally built by the Tyases. The late Dr. Walker informed the Author that they were owners under the Earl of Lancaster before the breaking out of the Civil War between the Houses of York and Lancaster. When the Earl was executed, Henry Tyas was condemned and executed. No mention of John or Richard Tyas. The Beaumonts took no part. The Ellands lost estates. The suit in the reign of Henry VIII, for the Manor of Slaithwaite, between Charles Yarburgh and Arthur Kaye, is mentioned in page 189. In Valor Ecclesiasticus, Henry VIII time, Rent in Stainland, Slaghwaite, Rastrick. (Hudd., 1s. 8d.) From Rental of the Manor of Almondbury, 1584. Waterfarms in Slaughwet, Most of the above notes were furnished by departed friends, and were given in the Azmnals of the Church in Slaithwatte, in 1864; and with them the Author must bid farewell reluctantly to the scene of his mid-life labour, joy and sorrow. On which memory fondly lingers ; dwelling on those who have passed away and are no more seen—“ but their works do follow whom it is vain

to invoke, for ‘* They shall hear nothing till the judgment morning, When the great trump shall thrill them with its warning.”

Page 495

MARSDEN. 423

But whose heart-enshrined record may stimulate him, if spared, to toil a little longer, according to his family motto : Pro Aris ET Focis.* In the Churchyard are Monumental Stones to Mr. John Roberts, Surgeon; Mr. John Mellor, Schoolmaster; Louisa, wife of the Rev. C. A. Hulbert, junior; Dr. William Dean, Surgeon ; Mr. John Farrar; and the families of Varley, Horsfall, Haigh, Sykes (Holthead), and many others. The Rev. John Murgatroyd and the Mellor family in the site of the Old Chapel; and the Rev. Thomas Wilson in the Old Churchyard. Rey. S. Walter and his second wife lie buried near the Chancel; beside Rev. T. Jackson and Mr. S. Samuel Sykes. MARSDEN.

Marsden, or the Marsh Dean, that is Vale, is situated at the head of the Valley of the Colne River. The portion of Marsden which is in the Parish of Almondbury, is considerably larger than that which is in Huddersfield; and begins near where now is a new bridge over the Colne, erected by the Earl of Dartmouth, and connecting it with Slaithwaite. A School has been erected at Lingards Wood, in Marsden, by the Particular Baptists, who had for many years a Sunday School in a Room at Bank Nook, in Slaithwaite. The West Slaithwaite Church School also supplies that neighbourhood with sound education. CELLARS CLouGH House, erected and formerly occupied by Samuel Dowse, Esq., is pleasantly situated and is now the residence of his son-in-law, Joseph Collins, Esq., late Major of the 34th West York Rifle Volunteers; and in the valley below are his extensive manufactories. Lawton and other authorities say

Marsden is a very ancient Chapelry. “Tt is a Perpetual Curacy, by custom including Marsden-in-Huddersfield and Almondbury. The living is in the gift of the Vicar of Almondbury. The two Townships have, however, been united legally by a Chapelry District, assigned by the Queen in Council December 3rd, 1868; but the Patronage is reserved to the Vicar of Almondbury. In the Parliamentary Survey, Crom-

* For the Altars and Hearths,

Page 496

424 MARSDEN.

well’s time, vol. xviii, page 297, it is stated: ‘About 250 families; £2 Ios. maintenance; to be made a Parish.’ In 1707 it was only £3 6s. 8d., besides contributions. Archbishop Sharp gives an account of the profits of the Curacy. Augmented in 1742 with £200, Queen Anne’s Bounty ; in 1738 with £200; and in 1775 with £200 to meet a benefaction of 4200 from Mr, Haigh, Clothier ; and in 1793 with £200 to meet a benefaction of 4200 from Mr, Luke Campinet; and in 1816 with 4600 from the Parliamentary Grant, by lot; and in 1824 with £300 from the same Grant to meet a benefaction of #200 by Subscription ; and in the same year £200 from the same Grant, by lot. It is now returned at £170; Church Room, 620; Acreage, 645 (Diocesan Calendar, 1881). 1oth May, 1758, Faculty to rebuild and enlarge the Chapel, a brief having been granted in 1754; and leave to dispose of seats therein. 16th April, 1798, an additional Burial Ground was Consecrated, on the North side, by Dr. Watson, Bishop of Llandatt, who resided at Calgarth. The Glebe House is fit for residence. The Manor Court (of Sir Percival Radcliffe) claims the right of granting Probates and Letters of Administration. Archbishop Sharp’s MS., vol. i, page 189.” The Registers commence in 1738. Lawton gives them 1776; but an older one has been recovered from the descendants of the Rev. J. H. Marsden. 1776 to 1812 follows ; the last entry being by the Rev. Lancelot Bellas. 181 5. Thence regularly. The Church is dedicated to St. Bartholomew. The Chapelry of Marsden was endowed by Edward IV, with four marks, in 1462, The money to be paid annually by the Lord of the Manor of Marsden, out of the fee farm rents. The Grant was confirmed by order of the most excellent Queen Elizabeth, in 1592, and has been paid ever since. This renewal of the Grant still exists. It is in the form of an Indenture between Queen Elizabeth and Edward Jones, gentleman. It is dated at the Palace of Westminster, under the seal of the Duchy of Lancaster, and is signed Gerard,* Councillor or Chancellor. It grants the Manor of Marsden to him, and he has to pay the four marks annually to the Minister. The above is taken from a translation made, as far as possible, by the late Dr. Walker, of Deanhead—the Deed is now much worn and difficult to read.

a * We are indebted for this information to the care of Mr. James Pounder Whitney, B.A., of King’s College, Cambridge, son of the Incumbent of Marsden and formerly Prizeman at King James’ School, Almondbury.

Page 497

MARSDEN. 425

Old Slaithwaite Hall, which is still remaining, near the boundaries of Marsden-in-Huddersfield, was probably the residence of the prevailing family, at the time of the first endowment. It is situated on a steep hill, surrounded by places called Park Gate, &c., and has some old stained glass ; denoting the residence of a family of note, probably the Tyases, ancestors of the Kaye family, who built the Manor House at Slaithwaite. A primitive road from Marsden to Halifax passes near Slaithwaite Hall. The Author possesses a claymore, taken in 1745 from a Scotch rebel and preserved there ; matching one similarly taken by his ancestor, Joseph Mottershead, at his residence of Northen Etchels, Cheshire, at the same period, when Prince Charles Edward advanced to Derby. The latest addition to the Burial Ground was made in 1852. Just two centuries after the time when, during the Commonwealth, the Consecration of Meltham Chapel, 1651, by Bishop Tilson (see page 326) took place. In Eastwood’s History of Ecclesfield, as quoted before respecting Meltham, we read that a pension of £30 was assigned January 7th, 1652, to the Minister of the Chapel of Marsden, from the Impropriate Rectory of Ecclesfield, with a further sum of £20 from the Rectory of Sheffield to the same Chapel, March 18th, 1652. These payments, if ever realised, probably ceased at the Restora- tion, 1660. There is no vestige of them now. During the Incumbency of the Rev. David James, in 1866-67, the foundations of a New Church were laid within the New Burial Ground ; but the work has not been proceeded with. But in the time of the present Incumbent, Rev. Thomas Whitney, in 1874, the Church was restored and the Ceiling removed, at a cost of £700, and a New Organ (£300) put in. Opening Services were held on Sunday, July 18th, and Sermons preached by the Rev. Thomas Whitney, Rev. Wm. Shaw--a native of Marsden, and the Rev. Canon Hulbert. The following Ministers’ names occur in the Registers of Almondbury (see page 113):—1558, Edmundus Norrham Sacrifi- ciens de Marsden; 1575, John Handeley, Minister of Marsden ;

Page 498

426 MARSDEN.

1742, John Marsden marries Mr. Sagar, of Meltham. Among the Clergy mentioned in the Churchwardens’ Accounts as preaching at Almondbury are: Isaac Walton, who died in 1728; and Mr. Bellas (see page 103 for general list). The following are the Curates mentioned in the Registers at Marsden :—John Marsden, 1734; Lancelot Bellas, 1779; Abraham Horsfall, 1815 ; Edward Edwards, 1823; James Morris. Maxfield, 1839; David James, 1854; Thomas Whitney, 1857. The four last were appointed by the Rev. Lewis Jones. The Rev. JoHN MarspEN was born at Howsgill, Yorkshire, 1703; died at Marsden March 17th, 1779, aged 76; son of the Rev. John Marsden, a long time Incumbent of Howgill. Not getting a benefice immediately, he kept a School at Coulton; taking Sunday duty in different directions through several counties. His first charge was the Incumbency of Mellor, in Derbyshire, Noy. 15th, 1730. On the 30th March, 1734, he entered on his Incumbency of Marsden. Married Feb. 19th, 1735, to Mary, daughter of Luke Marsden, of Wellsyke, Marsden, at Saddleworth Church, by the Rev. Wm. Higginbottom. His wife died May 3oth, 1763. He left one son, James Marsden, who lived and died at Wellsyke; leaving an only son—only one of whose four sons, T. P. Marsden (left in England, at Ardwick, Manchester), furnished these particulars to the Rev. T. Whitney, in 1877 ; and Mr. Marsden has lost two sons—at Shanghai and in Bombay respectively. Of the Rev. LANCELOT BELLAS little is known, except that he kept a School; that he came from Height, in Saddleworth. He was buried at Marsden 17th Oct., 1815. In the Annals of the Church in Slaithwaite, p. 18: Rey. JoHN MurGAtTROoyD, Master of Slaithwaite School, officiated at Marsden very frequently; and in the year 1779—when a vacancy in the living occurred—he expected to be appointed, and it seems with reason. But he met with very rude treatment from some of the inhabitants, who seem to have favoured Mr. Bellas, with whom, however, Mr. Murgatroyd was always on good terms, and often preached for him. But who was, as tradition reports, a man of very different habits; and who bid the people follow his

Page 499

MARSDEN, 427

words, not his deeds. In consequence of which many of them came to Slaithwaite Chapel. The following are curious extracts from Mr. Murgatroyd’s Diary. 1779, March the 28th, at Marsden, and the Chapelwarden, encouraged by the Methodistical party (?) kept the door locked again, so we’d no Service. I dined at Waterside and got well home, Mr. Marsden came with me to this side Shaker wood. The 12th the Chapel door was kept locked again. Mane (Morning). For the same reason V. (Evening), They got foolish Taylor, of Saddleworth Church, to interfere and do the duty. They, at noon, kept the Chapel door quite fast, and turned the people in at the other door. Shameful work. ‘So on the 18th. April 25th—At Marsden and the door locked still. As I went up three or four men were placed in Mr. Marsden’s wood to abuse me, who did so in a shameful manner. They were placed there again at night, but Mr. Marsden being with me, they walked off without giving me any abuse. Bellas, of Height, came to do duty for them, Vesp. Robert France, of Blakestones, brought me a message April 24th, from Mr. Smith (Vicar of Almondbury) to persist in going, which encouraged me to go again. Must such work be unpunished? May the 2nd, at home. Oh pity! Mr. Marsden was to acquaint me if the bell rang, but, hearing nothing from him, I stayed at home. Snow fell this day. The 9th at home. Oh! pity! The same continues the next month. We have no further account. Mr. Murgatroyd was ordained to and was Curate of Almondbury

from 1754 to1767. Heafterwards officiated occasionally at nearly all the Churches within twenty miles of Slaithwaite; going on horse- back; and he declares that he never received more than ten shillings for a Sunday’s work, except once a guinea from the widow of the Vicar of Huddersfield, which he returned to her. He lived seventy years in Slaithwaite and Lingards. A holy and learned man. He died Oct. 30th, 1806, aged 87 years. He was married to a member of the old family of Mellor, of Lingards Fold. The Rev. ABRAHAM HoRSFALL was a man of great piety, was roughly treated at Marsden; resigned the living, and never took

another. The Rev. Epwarp Epwarps was born gth August, 1788, near

Meifod, Montgomeryshire; was ordained at York in 1821, as Curate of Liversedge; was also Curate at Trinity Church, Huddersfield, under the Rev. Henry Maddock, and appointed Incumbent of Marsden 1823. He left through failing health, in 1839, for the Curacy of Wrexham ; where he remained till 1849.

Page 500

428 MARSDEN.

During his Incumbency of Marsden the Parsonage was erected on the Huddersfield side, on a field purchased from Mr. Benj. Holroyd, of Roughlee. “He commenced the Sunday School in Marsden, first collecting a few scholars in the Vestry of the Church, and afterwards, as numbers increased, removing to an old building called ‘the Stripping Room.’ Eventually a suitable building was erected, in which the Sunday and Day School were carried on from 1829 until 1856, when the new National School was opened. The old School in Church Street, after having been used in the meanwhile for various purposes, was restored in 1874 as a Church Infant School, at a cost of £450, under the Rev. Thomas Whitney. The following remarks, made by the Author at the opening of the new Schools, in 1856, he is glad to repeat here :—“ The Rev. Mr. Edwards was the pioneer of modern civilization in that district. Slaithwaite could date back 100 years. But when Mr. Edwards commenced his work in the valley in which they were assembled, the village of Marsden was in a comparatively barbarous state; as appears in the case of Mr. Murgatroyd. Religious Education had thus been introduced by Mr. Edwards, and since promoted by the late Incumbent, Mr. Maxfield. He was glad to see Mr. Edwards himself present on.that occasion ; and who had expressed his satisfaction at the sight of that noble Church School, and the prospect of a new Church.” Mr. Edwards remained at Wrexham until his appointment, by Bishop Short, to the Rectory of Penegoes, in the Diocese of St. Asaph; where he remained until his death, Sept. 1st, 1869, at the ripe age of 82. “Mr. Edwards,” says the Rev. Thomas James, in the Huddersfield Chronicle, an uncompromising opponent of Tractarian doctrines and practices, which he always controverted whenever a suitable opportunity presented itself. His style of preaching was deliberate, earnest, pointed, and intelligible. He was the Author of several works, some of which were published whilst he was at Marsden, and others subsequently. The following are the titles of some of them: ‘Pastoral Recollections, 1836 ;’ ‘Twenty-one Sermons, 1838;’ ‘Letters to the London Union on Church Matters, 1851;’ ‘Address on Education, 1856.’ He

Page 501

MARSDEN. 429

was Editor of ‘ Heylin’s Right of the Bishops to sit and vote in the House of Peers, 1835.’ Besides the foregoing, several tracts and letters on Church matters were published by him ; in some of which he strongly and unequivocally condemned the iniquitous practice of appointing English Clergymen to Welsh livings and Welsh sees. It was his opinion that such appointments would eventually prove the ruin of the Church in Wales.” It is a matter of congratulation that the exertions of Mr. Edwards, Dr. James, Mr. Hughes, and other Welsh Clergy in Yorkshire have had their weight in abating this evil (see page 75). On the occasion of the opening of the new School, the late John Brooke, Esq., of Armitage Bridge; John Bower Robinson, Esq., of Marsden; and the Rev. Sam. Robinson also delivered interesting speeches relative to the progress of religious and secular educa- tion, under Mr. Webster, in the Town School; and in the National School under Mr. Richard Bamford. The former died in 1874; and the latter has recently retired, after a period of forty years labour. He had been trained at Slaithwaite, under the Rev. C. A. Hulbert and Mr. John Mellor. The Rev. JAMEs Morris MaxFIELD was first Curate and, for a short time there, successor to Mr. Edwards. He was born at Rawmarsh, near Sheffield, February 13th, 1806. Educated for the Church under the Rev. Hammond Roberson, who built Christ Church, Liversedge, and who is the reality of the Rector in Miss Bronte’s novel of Shirley. Archbishop Vernon Harcourt received Candidates for orders, who had been under such tuition, with favour. One of Mr. Maxfield’s fellow pupils and friends was the Rev. H. Bailey, of Drighlington, Author of “The Liturgy compared with the Bible;” and both were preferred about the same time to livings out of the Diocese, by Bishop Longley. They were all strict Rubricians; but free from Romanizing tendencies. Mr. Maxfield was ordained as Curate of Liversedge, and came to Marsden to assist Mr. Edwards in 1837 ; and, on his resignation, was presented to the Incumbency in January, 1839. He found much bitterness and opposition to the Church; but, by his judicious and impartial conduct in managing parish affairs and

Page 502

430 MARSDEN.

meetings, he reduced them from stormy scenes to orderly and business like assemblies. A new Burial Ground was purchased by general rate in 1852, attached to the Church; but it is related that he afterwards regretted that it had not been made a general Cemetery. It was Consecrated by Bishop Longley. He raised subscriptions amounting to £2,000 towards a new Church; which were expended on the land and foundations, but which still, through adverse circumstances, are without any superstructure. These were, perhaps, placed in too low a situation; like those at Rashcliffe. Mr. Maxfield married Miss Oates, of Heckmondwike, in 1838, who survives him. He was elected, in 1839, Guardian of the Poor for Marsden-in-Huddersfield, and the year following Chairman of the Board; an office for which he was eminently fitted, by a natural dignity and courtesy; and held the office twelve years, until presented to the Vicarage of Norwell-cum- Carlton, Notts, by the Bishop of Ripon, who became personally acquainted with him, more particularly by staying at his house when he Consecrated the new Burial Ground. He left Marsden in March, 1854; but paid many visits afterwards ; especially on the occasion of delivering, in the Marsden Mechanics’ Hall, January sth, 1871, a most interesting Lecture, consisting of “Forty years personal recollections of Marsden.” His health failed and he died August 13th, 1873. He published “ Marsden Tracts;” and his Farewell Sermon, April 9th, 1854, from 1 Thess. v, 13th and r4th verses, entitled : “A Peace Offering,” which was printed, by request, having been delivered to a large congregation. He lost three daugh- ters shortly before his death, and left two sons and two daughters. When Mr. Maxfield was appointed to the Marsden living, it was worth only £87 per annum ; when he left, in 1854, it was nearly double that sum, mainly by the result of his exertions. First, in 1842, by a Grant from the Ecclesiastical Commissioners ; and, secondly, by the sale of property at Shaw Hall, in Saddleworth, which originally cost £400, and sold for #1,112, which amount was, at the time of sale, invested in the English Funds for the benefit of the living. The Rev. Davip Jamzs, M.A., Doct. Philos, came to Marsden

Page 503

MARSDEN. 431

in 1854, as Incumbent; having;been formerly Curate of Almond- bury (see his Monument, page 41) ; Incumbent of Christ Church, Kirkdale, Liverpool ; and Principal of the Collegiate Institution, ; which last office he then resigned. His energies were soon employed; and a new National School erected on a lofty situation on the Almondbury side; and on a large scale. It was observed by one of the speakers at the opening, Whitsuntide, 1856: “When he beheld the beautiful exterior of that building, he was yet unprepared for its noble magnificence within—almost reminding him of Westminster Hall. (Hear, hear.) May it be like that—a building where truth and justice should be dispensed from age to age.” As before observed, the foundations of the Church were laid.* Dr. James found many liberal supporters ; among whom were John Tallents Fisher, John Dowse, Samuel Dowse, and John Bower Robinson, Esqs., of Marsden; John Brooke, Esq., of Armitage Bridge, and George Armitage, Esq., Milnsbridge. The total cost was over £2,000. The Architect was Mr. William Cocking, of Huddersfield. Dr. James enlarged the Parsonage and also purchased some Cottages situated near the entrance, by the advantageous sale of some, property at Saddleworth. He conciliated much esteem by a faithful Ministry and general liberality of views and conduct. He was called to the Rectory of Panteg, in Monmouthshire, in January, 1857, and there died August 2nd, 1871. The Rev. THomas WHITNEY succeeded, and is still Incumbent of “the Consolidated Chapelry of Marsden,” having been previously Curate of Almondbury. The improvements he has effected have been already named, including the warming of the Church and the New Organ, on which occasion a Bazaar was held.

MoNUMENTS IN THE CHAPEL. I. In the North Aisle: Mary Marspren, wife of James

* The Schoolroom is 75 ft. by 30 ft., clear open; the roof is open timber, 30 ft. from floor to ridge. It is capable of accommodating an audience of 750

persons, or, allowing a square yard for each 250 scholars,

Page 504

432 MARSDEN.

Marsden, of Well Syke, died 1830, aged 66. JAMES MARSDEN, died 1814, aged 76. Mary, their daughter, d. 1806. On the same Tablet: JosEPH, son of John and Hannah Dowse, of Hay Green, died 1840, aged 11 months; and Hannah, died 1847 aged 13. II. Joun Haicu, d. 1766, aged 36. Samuel Hall, his son, d. 1766, aged 2. Hannah, his daughter, d. 1779, aged 21. Erected by Sarah Haigh, 1780. III. JosrEpH of Hay Green, died 1838, aged 65; and Hannah, his wife, died 1833, aged 58. IV. In the Chancel: JoHNn Dowse, of Hay Green, died 1863, aged 64. Hannah, his widow, died 1860, aged 7o. V. Gallery: Children of Joseph and Hannah Dowss, of Hay Green: Margaret, d. 1830, aged 15; Joseph Hall, d. 1831, aged 247; Elizabeth, d. 1851, aged 45. Sarah, widow of Richard Tuton, d. 1874, aged 66. VI. Samuel Whitehead, died 1850, aged 71; and Mary, his wife, d. 1850, aged 72. VII. In the South Aisle. Wooden Tablets. I. The Rev. Mr. Isaac Walton, Curate of this place 32 years (Primi), was interred on the 25th August, in the 56th year of his age, A° Dom. 1728. Also Mr. Isaac Walton, his son, student at St. John’s College, in Cambridge, was interred June 29th, 25, An° Dom. 1730. II. Hannah, daughter of Mr. Isaac Walton, Curate of Marsden, was here inter’d ye 24th of November, 1720, aged 22 years and one month. It cannot be discovered whether the Waltons were related to the famous Angler and Biographer of that name; but the nearness of date and similarity of Christian Names are strong presumptive evidence. The Author of the CoMpLETE ANGLER died 15th December, 1683, and his son Isaac Walton, Junior, died at Salisbury, of which he was Canon Residentiary, in 1716.* The

* In the course of the improvements going on in the City of London at present, the dwelling of Isaak Walton 257 years ago, in Chancery Lane, is about to be removed. The Zimes says: ‘‘ Happily literature is independent of localities.”

Page 505

OTHER PUBLIC BUILDINGS. 433

children of the Walton family, of Marsden, were baptized at Slaithwaite; owing to some previous connection with the respectable family of Varley there. Mr. John Varley, who died in 1843, forwarded the following documents and manuscripts; which he lent Mr. Maxfield, accompanied by a letter to him, which is now preserved with them : I.—Rev. I. Walton’s Letters of Orders. II.—His License, dated September 19th, 1694. III.—A Manuscript Book by Wm. Mitchell, on “the Soul’s Travell from Egypt to Canaan,” very quaintly worded, and probably older than Mr. Walton’s Sermons. IV.— A Collection of Mr. Walton’s Sermons. Among them is a Funeral Sermon, shewing the gain of death to a godly Christian ; preached three times in all, and the third time at the funeral of the Rev. Mr. Sclater, September 8th, 1720, at Almondbury. There is a little slip inserted in the Sermon, which contains some references to this Mr. Sclater (see page 95), his loss to the Parish and family, &c. It says: (Mr. Sclater) never affected funeral encomiums ; but said—the fewer words the better on such occasions.”

OTHER PuBLic BUILDINGS.

The Town ScHoot was the first effort after public education ; it was commenced in the year 1818 by the principal inhabitants, both Churchmen and others, and is inscribed: “School built in the year 1820 by Voluntary Subscriptions.” Mr. Joseph Webster was the first Master; and was obtained by advertisement and examination, and elected 28th June, 1820. He continued until within three years of his death, in August, 1876, and received as Testimonial, a lifelike picture of himself. He was always highly and justly esteemed as a Master and a Christian. There are WESLEYAN and Baptist CHAPELS; but the most imposing building is the Mecuanics’ INsTITUTION, of which Mr. J. B. Robinson has long been President ; and which is maintained on “unsectarian principles.” Many useful and interesting lectures are given, and there is a library for the use of the Members. It is hoped that these various provisions for mental and spiritual

Page 506

434 OTTOWELL’S HOUSE.

improvement may concur, though in separate lines, to promote “Glory to God in the highest, peace on earth and good will towards men.” One of the most interesting objects in the Village is

OTTOWELLS HOousgE,

Famous for being the residence of Mr. William Horsfall (referred to in page 391), who was shot by the Luddites, on Crosland Moor, on the 28th April, 1812. The ruins of a Barricade, which was thrown up against them, with loopholes for cannon and musketry, still remain. The history has been woven into an interesting tale, entitled : “Daisy Baines;” which appeared in the Huddersfield Weekly JVews in the year 1880; with a view of the remains of the house and barricade ; wherein it is observed: ‘‘A portion of the old arch, however, yet clings to the gable, as though loth to part from the support which sustained it through other troubles and trials than those of the winds and storms that often fall from the cloud-enticing hills, which, in strength arrayed, lift up their hands around and about.” OTTowELLs was for forty years the residence of Mr. John Tallents Fisher; whose woollen works were in the Wessenden Vale above; afterwards carried on by Messrs. Benjamin Sykes and Sons, formerly of Holthead, in Lingards. Mr. Fisher was a native of Newark, Notts, where he is buried. He died May 31st, 1868, aged 65 years. He was a strong Churchman and an old Tory—long Chapelwarden of Marsden, in conjunction with Mr. John Dowse, in the time of Mr. Edwards and Mr. Maxfield. A bachelor of hospitable and generous habits. His personalty was sworn under £40,000. The salubrity of Marsden may be illustrated by the record of the burial, November x, 1595, at Almondbury, of Joanna Haighe, of Gatehead, in Marsden, widow, aged one hundred years. There appears to have been no bridge over the Colne at Marsden, until 1775 ; and the one then erected was rebuilt in 1821. The Tunnels of the Manchester and Huddersfield Canal and of the London and North Western Railway now connect the village,

Page 507

’ OTTOWELLS HOUSE. 435

under the mountain called “Standedge,” with Saddleworth and Lancashire. Ten Coaches formerly crossed the Moors daily. The Waters of the hills flow East and West, from Springs, which first form large Reservoirs, to the German Ocean and Irish Sea respectively. On the Western side is “ Bill-o’-Jacks,” the scene of a famous robbery and murder. The whole Manor belongs to Sir Joseph Percival P. Radcliffe; of which for many years the late Mr. Frederick Robert Jones was Agent, and who vastly improved the estate, in Linthwaite and Golcar, by his management. Mr. F. R. Jones, jun., his son, is Solicitor and Clerk of the Court of the Manor. The distant Parishioners of ancient times shewed their attach- ment to the Mother Church of Almondbury by frequenting it, even from the farther side of “ Pule”—the name of the highest point of the mountain ridge—probably on account of the natural pool there. We have accounts in Mr. Meeke’s diary of funeral parties being detained all night at Marsden, when heavy snow prevailed. From the summit, not only parts of the thirteen Town- ships which we have now described, are more or less visible, with Almondbury hill which gives name to the Parish; but even York Minster can be descried on a clear day. We have now closed our general history and circuit; but, in the concluding part, we hope to give Biographical Sketches, Documentary Evidence, and Monumental Memorials; including the whole of the Gravestones in the Churchyard of Almondbury, and perhaps thereby secure for them a more durable existence. Still more may we hope that, ourselves treading in the foot- steps of the departed saints, and looking to the Heavenly Sion, we may attain a happy consciousness that, as Christians, “ We are come to the General Assembly and Church of the first-born which are written in heaven. To God, the Judge of all. and the spirits of just men made perfect.” Heb. xii, 23. RV.

ALMONDBURY VICARAGE,

NOVEMBER IST, 1881.

END OF RPARE GETS,

Page 508

ADDITIONS AND CORRECTIONS. UES ails

Page 146.—/inthorpe House. In consequence of the death of Mrs. Dowgill, ‘‘22nd 5th month, 1881” this property has been disposed of to Sir John William Ramsden, Bart.

Page 173.—A New Scheme for the management of the Grammar School, and the absorption of the Wormall Charity Funds into the same Trust, has been sanctioned by the Queen in Council. New Scholarships are founded to the Grammar School, and to the 7Zéechnical School at Huddersfield, to be obtained by competition, by boys from any part of the great Parish.

Page 208.—For 1760 read 1660.

Page 240.—Armitage Family. Instead of paragraphs marked (2) and (3) read, (2) Joseph Armitage, bapt., Aug. 9, 1716, buried Aug. 15, 1785, at Almondbury ; he married Mary Wilson, of Holmfirth ; buried Dec. 14th, 1798, aged $3, and had two daughters; Sarah, who married William Fenton, of Spring Grove, Huddersfield (mother of Captain Fenton, first M.P. for Huddersfield), and Martha, married Richard Bassett, of Glentworth Hall, near Gainsborough; and (3) George Armitage, J.P., born Nov. 21, 1738, died Dec. 16, 1815, married April 16, 1776, Sarah Walker, of Lascelles Hall, born April 7th, 1748, and died July 18th, 1834; they had issue, Joseph ; Sarah, married Mr. Richard Wilson, of Seacroft Hall, near Leeds; Mary Anne, died single, and Rachel, died at 16 years.

Page 244.—Read (4) Joseph Armitage, 5 George Dowker, 6 Edith, 7 Frances Vernon. Page 249.—Add Frances Loyd, M. — Stopford, Esq. In all five daughters.

«UU:

Page 296.—Read Jonathan Hanson. He had a daughter baptized at Almondbury, Dec. 3rd, 1672. Page 331.—For 1851 read 1651. October 8th, 1881. The Corner Stone of an Infant School and enlarged Mission Room, at Lowerhouses, Longley, was laid by Mary, wife of the Rev. Canon Hulbert, M.A., Vicar. Mr. A. J. Taylor, Architect. Grants having been obtained from the National and Diocesan Societies, Sir J. W. Ramsden, Messrs. Brooke, and others. The Rev. E. G. Falconer is Curate.

Page 510

REY, THOMAS WILSON,

MINISTER OF SLAITHWAITE, 1777 TO 1809.

Page 511

ANNALS

OF THE

PARISH OF ALMONDBURY.

BIOGRAPHY, PROOFS, ILLUSTRATIONS,

AND GRAVESTONES.

PART IV.—AUGUST, 1882.

HUDDERSFIELD:

DAILY CHRONICLE STEAM PRINTING WoRKS LORD STREET. 1882.

Page 513

TO

BROOKE, F.S.A,,

VICE-PRESIDENT OF THE YORKSHIRE ARCHAOLOGICAL AND TOPOGRAPHICAL SOCIETY, AND

PRESIDENT GOVERNOR OF ALMONDBURY GRAMMAR

~

SCHOOL ;

THESE SUPPLEMENTARY ANNALS ARE RESPECTFULLY

PRESENTED BY HIS FRIEND,

C. A. HULBERT, M.A, Admondbury Vicarage,

August, 1882.

Page 514

‘ i, . 7

CALE 28H a ee

<a

ROA SIE LET eS 0’:

oes se el TARO ASAP EEL | A a | eared, ae zk 3 4 oe A

FORA i

“at Mion

ety 2 J a = be ra pnw stg’ 2 ra 4

ee aS ; i ce a ome.” | te ade oe ot st ; a Lt Br oo 1 2 baie eae ae” “Slr! ary > ee Se cm) os 7 ap ; 7a ; > > ey a 4 a fi ns ; pote GE SETI e ny be = Te é 7 / At : x » P| ee 7 ioe : Se pee SE 7 - ' 4 % ‘ P Di a Sa OE ; 5 a ore

Page 515

ANNALS

OF THE

CHURCH IN ALMONDBURY.

PART. iV.—CHAPTER | I. INTRODUCTORY.

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES, DEEDS AND ILLUSTRATIONS.

It has been the tendency of the preceding Annals, to consu!t the convenience and taste of the general reader, by avoiding long quotations or footnotes, which interrupt the interest and continuity of the pages; but adding, at the conclusion of the Work, such documents, additions and corrections as might protract that interest, and stand as memorials to be consolidated and incrusted by the frost of time. The memory of those departed ones who were his predecessors in the work, or who appear on the monuments or in the history, demands a notice ; and the Author would use the language of one of them—the late Joun Guest, Esq., F.S.A., of Rotherham—‘ It is remarkable how the names of some of the best and ablest men are suffered to pass into oblivion, whilst those of others, not more eminent perhaps, except for crimes, are kept buoyantly floating on the wave of history, arresting the notice of generation after generation, as it would seem, to the end of time.” This occurs at the beginning of a paper on THOMAS DE ROTHERHAM,

and his College of Jesus, at Rotherham, read before the Rotherham PART IV.—T.

Page 516

438 THOMAS DE ROTHERHAM,

Literary and Scientific Society, roth November, 1867, by John

Guest, Esq. ; illustrated with a portrait and views ; kindly presented to the Author of this Volume by him. He published, not long before his death, a valuable folio volume, entitled: “ YORKSHIRE. Historic Notes oN RoTHERHAM, Ecclesiastical, Collegiate and Civil, by John Guest, F.S.A., with many illustrations.” We read in the Vorkshire Post, of July 23rd, 1880: Mr. Guest was “a venerable historian and sanitary reformer. He was interred, July 22nd, in the Church of England portion of the general Cemetery. The funeral was of the fullest general character. Before joining the procession, the members of the Conservative Club held a special meeting, and passed a resolution deploring the death of Mr. Alderman Guest. In every respect the funeral was a most solemn and impressive one, and daring the time of interment the shops and places of business in the town were shut.” The interest of the subject consists in the ancient connection of the College of Jesus at Rotherham with the Rectory of Almond- bury; referred to in page 12 of this volume. Mr. Guest says, Archbishop Thomas Scot de Rotherham was born, as he tells us himself in his remarkable will, at Rotherham, and as we are told more in detail in Cole’s MS.S., was the son of Sir Thomas Scot, alias Rotherham, in the County of York, Knight, and of Alice, his wife. He was born on St. Bartholomew’s Day, August 24th, 1423, and took his name, say the writers who mention him, as was usual with ecclesiastics at that day, from the place of his birth ; but in this instance the observation will not hold good, as both his father and brothers were called so too. Sir John Rotherham, his brother, in the reign of Edward V, being Lord of the Manor of Somereys, in Bedfordshire, and High Sheriff of that County. In his will before alluded to, the Archbishop says, “ Because I was born in the town of Rotherham and baptized in the Parish Church of the same town, and so, at the same time, was born into the

world and born again by the Holy Bath flowing from the side of |

Jesus, whose name, O if I had loved it as I ought and would ! Lest I should seem, notwithstanding, an ungrateful forgetter of these things, I will that a perpetual College of the name of Jesus,

| | ! |

Page 517

a i ¢ , Mh zi

Page 518

IIH MAP I

TH a ye Yo RKSHIRE. : =

we Mune ica Shu aie sre) ie 2 + Lang oleer oe

~ ~

~ .

MARSDEN .

Ae YP MARSDEN: we ararone

v7" <1

Page 519

4x CARTWORTH

rd

oe, “se bed =

Os ;

Se-G7

aed)

marked tus + Ratcways thus

Rauway Stations —a

M ANs10NS a

Hie, WWWAYS

emmy Ue

Tewnsaips te ee

. -~<

ae —_ where Astinct -frem town Ships - --

‘ 6 ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ A ¢

Page 520

J

GN OT 4

Hak ti hag Cth Di i

Page 521

THOMAS DE ROTHERHAM. 439

be raised in the foresaid town, in the same place at which the foundation was laid at the feast of St. Gregory, in the 22nd year of King Edward IV, and in which I was born. In which place also was a teacher of grammar, who came to Rotherham, by I know not what fate, but I believe it was by the grace of God he came thither ; who taught me and other youths, whereof others, with me, reached higher stations. Therefore, desiring to return thanks to the Saviour and to magnify that cause, lest I should seem unthankful and forgetful of the benefits of God and of whence I came, I have determined with myself: firstly, to establish there an instructor in grammar, teaching all persons gratuitously. And because I have seen the Chantry Priests boarding separately in laymen’s places, to their scandal and the ruin of others; I have willed, secondly, to make a common place for them.” After stating in his will the purposes of his College, he says, “ And to support them I have appropriated to the said College, the Provost and Fellows of the same, the Parish Church of Luxton, which is worth twenty pounds clear. Also I have appropriated to the said College, the Provost and Fellows of the same, the Parish Church of Almondbury, which is also worth twenty pounds four shillings yearly, &c.” Thus the Rectorial Tithes, Glebes and Advowson of Almond- bury were, in 1485, transferred to the College ; but a Vicariate was established. Mr. Guest, in his letter to the Author, April 21st, 1875, says, “The only place mentioned in Edward IV’s License to Archbishop Rotherham to build his College at Rotherham, is Luxton, in Nottinghamshire.” But it would appear that the Archbishop had the authority of the Crown for his proceeding, as the patronage was vested therein by forfeiture of the Duke of Lancaster. The first appointment by the College was in 1488, “Dominus Thurstanus Kaye,” and it continued vested in the College until its dissolution in the reign of Edward VI, when it lapsed again to the Crown, until Philip and Mary bestowed it on Clitheroe School; which retained it until our own time; when the Advowson passed by purchase to Sir John William Ramsden, Bart., whose first appointment was that of the present Vicar, in 1867.

Page 522

440 THOMAS DE ROTHERHAM,

The Glebe Lands were however sold to the Fenay family at the time of the dissolution and remain with their representatives. Mr. Guest kindly furnished the Author with the following Schedule of property in Almondbury, belonging to the College of Jesus, at Rotherham, from “ Certificates of Colleges,” probably 2nd Edward VI.

Thomas Grene, two houses in Almondbury, vs. iiijd. Widow Bateley, one tenement with certain landes there, xxijs. William Anneson, one cottage there, ijs. | William Nettleton, one tenement with certain land there, xjs. Thomas Kaye, one tenement with certain land there, xviijs. ilijd. ; one cottage now vacant, ijs) Edmund Hermytage, j cottage there, ijs. Robert Kaye, one tenement with certain land there, xxijs, vjid. John Hanson, one house there, vs. Thomas Overall, one tenement with certain lands there, vijs. ilijd., the house of Incumbent, iiijd., in all in the said town, cviijs. xd. William Ramsden, one barne with the tithe corne of the Parsonage of Almondbury and Longley, Cs. Arthur Kay for the tythe corne of Fferneley, xls. The residue of the tythe corne is in the occupation of dyvers persons of the same paryshe, xli. xvijs. ijd., in all the said town, xvijs. ijd. A messuage with four small closes called le Flattes, in Almondbury, demised to William Nettleton, under Common Seal of the College, 21 Oct., 32 Hen. VIII; rent li. ijs. A messuage, in Almondbury, with a croft containing one acre. A piece, called ‘‘le Chapell Yard,” of half an acre. A close called Le Over-flattes, and a stable with a piece of ground called ‘‘tenter croft,”” containing iij rodes, demised to Katherine, late wife of Wm. Kaye, of Almondbury, and Laurence Kaye, her son, by indenture, under Common Seal of the College, 20 March, 16th Hen. VII, rent 18s. iiijd. A cottage in Almondbury, now occupied by William Emerson at will from year to year, rent 2s. A cottage, now occupied by Richard Langfield, rent vid. A cottage there, occupied by Margaret Baylie, widow, vid. Woods nor underwoods there is none growinge in or uppon the premysses, other than the hedges, which are insufficient for the fensing thereof. Extracted per Hen. Savile, Supervisor ibidem. We have also: CHETHAM SOCIETY, vol. xxii, page 321, note.

“The School (of Clitheroe) was founded by Queen Mary, on the gth August, 1554, and endowed with the Rectorial Tithes and the Advowson of the Vicarage of Almondbury, in the West Riding of York, then lately belonging to the College of Jesus, at Rotherham. The Vicarage being ordained by Archbishop Rotherham, the founder of the College, June 15th, 1488,”

Page 523

~

THOMAS DE ROTHERHAM. 441

It would appear, therefore, that Almondbury Church did not derive any benefit from Archbishop Rotherham’s foundation ; except that a man of learning was appointed from the College, on any vacancy, as Vicar, with only the small tithes ; that the glebe, having ceased to be parochial, was lost to the Church, and became absorbed, under even the Protestant Sovereign, Edward VI, and the Roman Catholics, Philip and Mary, for ever; and the Advow- son and Rectorial Tithes, until conferred on the School of Clitheroe by the latter. The Governors, however, also appointed learned men, as evidenced by the Registers, which are beautifully written; and in which even the Godparents ( Susceptores) are given ; shewing the connection or intimacy of families.

The Archbishop acted, however, as a patriot as well as a Christian, in promoting the best interests of his native town: and, with the Royal sanction, there appears to have been a Deed of Impropriation of the Living to the College of Jesus, at Rotherham, of which we have no copy; but the Author is indebted to his late venerable friend, Joun KenwortHy WALKER, Esq., M.D., for a copy of the original Latin of the “‘ NEw REFORMATION AND ENDOWMENT OF THE VICARAGE OF ALMONDBURY.”

The same, translated into English and published by the care of the late Rev. Davip James, Doct. Philos., then Incumbent of Kirkdale, Liverpool, was printed there by Lace and Anderson, in 1847. ‘Translated from a copy of the original Latin of the Instrument in the Register Book of Archbishop Rotherham, now remaining in the Registry of the Consistory Court of York; the copy having been therewith duly compared and examined by William Hudson, Esq., Notary Public,” is as follows :— To all the sons of our holy mother Church, unto whom these present letters shall come, and whom the matters underwritten do or may hereafter in any manner concern: Thomas, by divine permission, Archbishop of York, &c., wishing by these presents everlasting salvation, and undoubted faith in the Lord. Whereas, we lately for the honour and exaltation of the name of our Saviour Jesus, with the consent and assent and will of the Dean and Chapter of our Cathedral Church of York, and of all others having an interest in this matter, have rightly and lawfully united, annexed, incorporated, and appro- priated to our College of Jesus at Rotherham, and also to the President and

Page 524

442 THOMAS DE ROTHERHAM.

Fellows of the same, and to their successors in the same, to promote by our authority the establishment of the faith, the improvement of divine worship, and the increase of knowledge and virtue, the Parish Church of Almondbury, with all its rights and appurtenances, and the perpetual Vicarage of the same Parish Church of Almondbury, to possess for their own use for ever; and have appointed, assigned and limited a certain portion in coined money of the fruits and emoluments of the same Church for the maintenance of one perpetual Vicar, who should have the cure of souls in the same Church, reserving to our- selves, among other things, full power of correcting, reforming, adding to, and diminishing from this our Ordinance, concerning the assignment of the portion of the Vicar of the aforesaid Church for the time being, and the charges and penalties imposed by us to be borne by the same Vicar, as often as it shall seem to us expedient or seasonable to be done, as is more evidently contained in our letters at that time executed, containing the Decree of this appropriation. Now, we from certain reasonable causes, moving our minds in this matter, and chiefly, because a Vicar of the aforesaid Church for the time being, who zs bound constantly and personally to reside at the same, will be able by his own watchful attention and industry to collect, levy, receive, and dispose of, and convert to his own benefit and advantage for maintaining hospitality and supporting housekeeping, the Tythes of Lambs, Hay, Wool, Oblations, Mortu- aries, and other small Tythes, in a better and more exact manner than the President and Fellows of the said College who reside at a greater distance from the same :—by the will assent and consent of the said Dean and Chapter of our Cathedral Church at York aforesaid, and of all others who are concerned in this matter, we proceed in this manner to the correction, reformation, and addition of the portion of the same Vicar, and the imposition of the charges and penalties to be supported and borne by him. In the first place, we will, appoint, ordain, and decree that the perpetual Vicar of the Parish Church of Almondbury whosoever for the time being, who shall administer have and exercise the cure of the souls of the parishioners of the same Church, do have and receive for his own due and portion and main- tenance in future for ever, all and every the Zythes of Hay, Lambs, Wool, Calves, Foals, Pigs, Geese, Ducks, Chickens, Doves, Eggs, Bees, Honey, Wax, Milk, Flax, Hemp, Apples, Woods, Trees, Coppices, and other small Tythes Mortuaries and Oblations whatsoever, within the said parish anciently and by right due and customary to the Rector of the same:* But that the President

* IN PRIMIS enim volumus statuimus et ordinamus ac decernimus quod Vicarius Perpetuus Ecclesie Parochie de Almondbury quiscumque pro tempore existens qui curam animarum Parochianorum ipsius ecclesie geret habit et exer- cebit pro sua congrua porcione et sustentacione habeat et participiat perpetuis futuris temporibus omnes et omnidas decimas feni agnorum lane vitulorum pul-

Page 525

THOMAS DE ROTHERHAM. 443

and Fellows of the said College and their successors, do receive, have and hold, without any diminution, for their own use for ever, the total entire and every the Tythe of Sheaves of Corn of the said Parish whencesoever arising, also the entire Glebe, Lands, Tenements, Messuages, Enclosures, Meadows, Pastures, Rents, and Services whatsoever of old or recently belonging to the Rectory of the same Church and other emoluments whatsoever in any manner appertain- ing to, arising to, or concerning the said Church, excepting only the portion heretofore assigned to the Vicar :— To which Vicar whomsoever of the said Church, we moreover will and decree to limit and depute for ever for his Parsonage House, one part or por- tion of the dwelling or Rectory House, of old and hitherto held and occupied as the abode of the Rector, by an inquisition and procuration of view, to be hereafter taken by our authority. The repairing, supporting and rebuilding as often and whensoever it shall be necessary of which said part or portion thus assigned and limited for the abode of the Vicar; and also the Bread, Wine, Wax, and Lights sufficient for the said Church, and the procurations and synodals accustomed to be defrayed and paid by the Rectors of the same Church, the Vicar of the same Church for the time being shall, at his own costs and charges, perform, support, defray, pay, bear, and acknowledge.

And, moreover, the President and Fellows of the said College and their successors, and the Vicar aforesaid and his successors, shall equally among themselves, and at their own equal and like costs and charges perform, pay, acknowledge, bear, and support the repairing, supporting, and rebuilding when it shall be necessary of the Chancel of the same Church of Almondbury. The payment of Royal Tythes and subsidies to be hereafter granted, and other ordinary and extraordinary charges whatsoever, not above recited, to be sup- ported by and chargeable on the same Church: excepting, nevertheless, that the President and Fellows of the aforesaid College shall entirely, faithfully and effectually pay and cause to be paid for the indemnities of us and our said Dean and Chapter and their successors, to us and to the Archbishops of York our successors, six shillings and eightpence ; and to the said Dean and Chapter three shillings and fourpence ; and to our Archdeacon of York twenty-pence ; likewise two shillings to be distributed every year among the poor parishioners of the same Church of Almondbury, at the terms and feasts assigned and limited by us for this purpose in the Decree and appropriation of the same

Church.

lorum equinorum porcellorum ancarum anatum pullorum columbarum ovorum apum mellis cere lactis lacticinii lini canabi pomorum siluarum arborum et bos- corum et alias minutas decimas ac mortuaria et oblaciones quocumque infra dictam Parochiam ab antiquo Rectori ibidem debit et de jure consuet ; * * * *

Page 526

A44 THOMAS DE ROTHERHAM.

And also, we will, appoint, ordain, and decree that whosoever in future is to be presented to the said Vicarage, do in his admission and institution take before the person admitting him a corporal oath that he will not obtain any dispensation contrary to the form of the constitutions of the Legates promulgated respecting the residence of Vicars; nor will in any manner make use of any obtained by or granted to him: And if he shall offend by not making constant and permanent residence in the aforesaid Vicarage, from that time we will, appoint, and decree by these presents that the Dean and Chapter of our said Church of York do receive and retain for the use and advantage of the fabric of the same Church, and of the Canons residentiary or Canon residentiary in the same, one half part of all the Tythes, Mortuaries, Oblations, and other profits and emoluments whatsoever by us assigned and limited as aforesaid for the portion and maintenance of the aforesaid Vicar; and that the President and Fellows of the said College as proprietary of the Church of Almondbury aforesaid, shall receive the other moiety to be applied, converted and disposed of under the name of a penalty to their own use and advantage and benefit :— Provided that the said Dean and Chapter, and the President and Fellows of the aforesaid College, out of these Mortuaries, Oblations, and other emolu- ments of this kind received by them, do provide for the cure and duty of the same Church, and do equally among themselves perform, bear, acknowledge, and faithfully pay other charges devolving upon the same Vicarage, and also forty shillings and no more to the Vicar aforesaid not making personal resi- dence in his said Vicarage, according to the form of the Constitutions of the Legates as is aforementioned, until the aforesaid Vicar shall make personal and constant residence in the same. Moreover, we annul, make void, and abrogate all and singular the things written or contained in whatsoever regulation of the said Vicarage, and assign- ment of the portion of the same Vicar, heretofore made by us contrary to this our Correction, Reformation, or addition, or by which the force and effect of the same our Correction or Reformation may in any manner be hindered. But all and singular other things by us heretofore decreed, appointed, settled, disposed, and ordained not contrary to nor contravening this our Correction or Reformation, we will, decree and declare to remain in their force and to be inviolably observed. In witness and confirmation of all and singular which premises, we have caused these our Letters sealed with our seal to be henceforth made testimonial. Given in our Manor of Southwell, the fifteenth day of the month of June, in the year of our Lord one thousand four hundred and eighty eight, and the eighth year of our Translation.—And we the Chapter of the aforesaid Cathedral Church, the Dean of the same being in distant parts, do approve, ratify, and as far as in us lies confirm by the tenor of these presents for ourselves and our

ia i a ie

Page 527

JOHN KENWORTHY WALKER. 445

Successors all and singular the things contained in these same Letters of the aforesaid Most Reverend Father and Lord in Christ, Lord Thomas, by divine permission, Archbishop of York, Primate of England, and Legate of the Apostolical See, having bestowed upon them in our Chapter the solemn and diligent consideration which in this case is required. In witness of which our Common Seal is attached to these presents. Given in our Chapter House at York, the eighteenth day of the month of June, in the year of our Lord one thousand four hundred and eighty eight.

The Author was indebted also to Dr. Walker for several curious Records, and for much encouragement to undertake the Restora- tion of the Parish Church, and ultimately also the present Work. The following OsiruaRy, communicated to the Auddersfield Chronicle, March 22nd, 1873, has received the approbation of his family.

JOHN KENWORTHY WALKER, M.D.

More than a generation has past since the subject of these remarks was actively occupied in Huddersfield as a Physician of learning and practical experience, and at the same time a promoter of every humane and benevolent object—physician to the Infirmary, and to his death an extraordinary Referee. John Kenworthy Walker, Esq., was the son of Mr. (afterwards Sir William) Walker, of Leicester, and through his mother, a Miss Kenworthy, of Hades, near Holmfirth, he obtained his second name. He was cousin to the late Joseph Walker, Esq., of Lascelles Hall, and connected with several of the principal families in this neighbourhood. He graduated at Caius College as M.B, in 1811, and M.D. in 1820. The writer has heard him relate that, on his first arrival at Cambridge, he found that he had to be examined the next day for a scholarship, in the Olynthiacs of Demosthenes ; which he actually read through for the first time the same night. Dr. Walker’s connection with Huddersfield stretches through between 50 and 60 years. He was very greatly instrumental in the foundation and establishment of the Infirmary and the Savings’ Bank—using much labour and influence in promoting their objects ; as also ot the Sea-bathing Infirmary at Southport.

Page 528

446 JOHN KENWORTHY WALKER.

Dr. Walker was a learned scholar as well as physician ; and his learning was always employed on the side of religion and virtue. He met with some losses of property which occasioned him at one time to retire from active life ; in which he was the most kind and considerate friend and adviser, especially of the clergy, to whom | he was never known to charge a fee. He purchased, above 20 years ago, a small estate at Deanhead, in Huddersfield, romantically situated at the head of a woody glen; and in this most retired valley, seemed almost as much shut out from the world as if in the happy valley of Rasselas, Prince of Abyssinia. Thither he retired, and passed his life in study and administering free and gratuitous advice to all who applied to him. He at one time conducted a reading and Bible class for young men. He was well acquainted, not only with the classics and medical science, but with Hebrew and Arabic, and studied the sacred Scriptures with much care and critical attention. He was also an antiquary, and well acquainted with the local circumstances and family history of the town and neighbourhood of Huddersfield. He was a contri- butor to the Magazine, the Yorkshire Archeological Journal, and other periodicals. He attained to the patriarchal age of 86, retaining his mental faculties to the last. Only a fort- night before his death he wrote an elaborate letter to the Vicar of Almondbury on an antiquarian subject, and concluded with some solemn and almost prophetic words of his approaching end. He seems to have realised the description of the sage and his retreat, in Milton’s IL PENSEROSO.

And may at last my weary age Find out some peaceful hermitage ; The hairy gown, and mossy cell Where I may sit and rightly spell Of every star that heaven doth shew, And every herb that sips the dew, Till old experience do attain To something like prophetic strain.

And it was satisfactory to the same friend to receive the almost dying testimony of his faith from his lips. He may well be entitled

Page 529

JOHN KENWORTHY WALKER. 447

*‘ The Beioved Physician,” consecrating his science and his skill to the glory of God in the service of his fellow-man. He took an active interest in the rebuilding of the Church at Deanhead, as well as the erection of the Parsonage and improvement of the Schools. And also in a less fortunate undertaking—a mill, which it was hoped would give employment to people of the valley of Scam- monden and Deanhead—but which stands untenanted and unoccupied. The explorations at Slack were also an object of great interest to him, and he was from the first on the Council of the Archzological Society, which then embraced only the neigh- bourhood of Huddersfield, but now has extended itself to the whole of the county of York. Dr. Walker married late in life, and leaves a wife and daughter to lament his loss. He was born July 16th, 1786, and died at Spring Grove, Deanhead, March 18th, 1873, after a short illness, and is buried in the quiet churchyard at Deanhead. There he has erected a monument, in the Church, to the memory of his father, Sir William Walker. He leaves also a sister, the wife of the Rev. Dr. Bowles, Rector of Stanton Lacy, Shropshire. (They are both since deceased.) An appropriate Funeral Sermon was preached, at Deanhead Church, by the Rey. Henry Collins, M.A., Vicar, from Psalm Ixxviil, 2. ‘‘ My heart and my flesh faileth, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion for ever.” Sir William Walker, of Leicester, was originally a Cloth Mer- chant. He was chosen Mayor of that town, and created a Knight on the occasion of his presenting a loyal address to “the good old King” George III. Dr. Walker had much to do with the discovery and description of the Roman remains at Slack, and the description of the Crom- lech and the Druidical remains near the site of CAMPoDUNUM, from which he derived the name of the adjoining Township of Scammonden. He also wrote the able article on “Almondbury in the Feudal times” (see page 6 in this volume). He also published a “Topography of Huddersfield,” quoted by Mr. Baines in his Gazetteer of the County of York.

Page 530

448 JOHN NOWELL.

Dr. Walker has contributed to the Library of the Archzological Society at Huddersfield a quarto Manuscript Volume, containing his own Collections respecting Campodunum, also Claypit House, and a complete Copy of the OF THE MANOR OF ALMOND- BURY, on behalf of Queen Elizabeth, as parcel of the Duchy of Lancaster, made by Edward Stanhope, Esquire, dated Die Lune, xxix Junii, 1584. With the aid of various gentlemen as witnesses. Also other Documents, Wills and Memoirs; to which Manuscript Volume the Author has frequently been indebted. But the SURVEY is too copious for insertion in this volume: but may be consulted as above, with the consent of G. W. Tomlinson, Esq., F.S.A., the Secretary and Librarian; as also an ancient copy given to the Author by Charles William Frederick Taylor, Esq., of Almondbury, and which is deposited with other Documents in the Parish Chest. These and other collections, such as those at Whitley Hall, see