Jubilee History of the Corporation of Huddersfield (1918) by Owen Balmforth

The following is the OCR text of a book and will likely contain errors. This page is designed to be indexed by search engines. Click on a page number to view the book in your web browser.

The text is believed to be in the Public Domain.

Page 2

MaYyor, 1897-8. 1898-9. 1916-17. 1917-18.

Page 3

CHAPTER I.

PrEuiminary : BEFORE INCORPORATION.

We sleep, and wake and sleep, but all things move ; The sun flies forward to his brother sun ; The dark earth follows wheel'd in her ellipse ; And human things returning on themselves Move onward, leading up the golden year. _ -Tennyson. EN order to estimate at its true value the important work ~ accomplished by the local Municipal Authority, it is necessary to glance at the conditions which prevailed prior to the Charter of Incorporation being granted in the year 1868. Such a review will also show that just in proportion as the basis of representation upon municipal bodies has been widened, so the conveniences and improvements in modern

town life have progressed and developed.

COURT LEET AND CHURCH VESTRY.

Down to the year 1820 the town was governed by a " Court Leet," which was granted to the Ramsden family, as Lords of the Manor, by the Crown in the sevententh century, though it had been in existence for hundreds of years previous. Among the duties performed by this Court Leet was the appointment of various officials, including the Chief Constable and Inspector of Weights and Measures ; also the Pinder, whose duty it was to impound stray cattle ; the Bellman, to " ery aloud *" for the missing inhabitants ; and the Collector of dead cats, dogs and vermin from the rivers

Page 4

70 MAYOR'S ATTENDANT, &c.

Mr. Willans Sharp, the present Superintendent of the Town Hall, was appointed to that position in April, 1881. Three years later, the further duties were given to him of Mayor's Attendant and Mace-bearer.

MACE, MAYOR'S CHAIN, &c.

The original Mace was made of wood, and is now stored away in the Museum at the Technical College. The present gold-plated silver Mace, which has a very elaborate and artistic appearance, was purchased during the mayoralty of the late Mr. Godfrey Sykes, in 1890. The Mayor's Badge and Chain were presented by Nir J. W. Ramsden, Bart., in 1880. The Mayor's Robe was purchased by private subscription and presented to the Corporation.

The Mayoress' Chain and Pendant was presented in 1909 by the Ladies of Huddersfield.

PRESENTATION PORTRAITS.

Visitors to the Municipal Buildings will notice a number of large portraits in oil which have been either given by in- dividual donors, or purchased by private subscription, and presented to the Corporation. The portraits include the following :-Her Late Majesty, Queen Victoria ; C. H. Jones, Esq., Wright Mellor, Esq., and Joseph Blamires, Esq., Past Mayors of the Borough. Alderman Chas Hendinning, Sir Chas. Wm. Sikes, Knight, Lt.-Col. Sir Albert K. Rollit, K.B., LL.D., Hon. Freeman of the Borough, Joseph Batley, Esq., first Town Clerk, and Chas. Mills, Esq., Secretary to the Chamber of Commerce and Magistrates' Clerk. As these pages were passing through the Press, it was decided to purchase by private subscription the portrait of the present

Mayor, Alderman W. H. Jessop.

There is also a large oil painting hung on the staircase-a copy of Leonardi's " Last Supper," which was presented

by the Misses Sykes, of London.

Page 5

76

ROYDS HALL ESTATE.

In the year 1913, the Council purchased, for the sum of £16,908, the Royds Hall Estate, situate at Paddock. It was intended to utilize the Estate for the erection of dwelling- houses, a school for physically defective children, recreation grounds, open-air swimming bath, &c. Unfortunately the outbreak of war caused the postponement of these schemes although a number of houses have already been built on the site, in addition to the Hospital for wounded soldiers.

POPULAR GONCERTS.

Each winter, for over twenty-seven years, the Borough Organist (Mr. A. Pearson) has organised on Saturday evenings Fortnightly Concerts in the Town Hall. The charges for admission have been fixed at a very low figure, and both numerically and musically the Concerts have been of a very successful character.

ROYAL VISITS.

There have been three Royal Visits to the town. The first was in 1883, by their Royal Highnesses the Duke and Duchess of Albany for the purpose of opening Beaumont Park. Alderman John F. Brigg was Mayor on this occasion.

The second Royal Visit was on July llth, 1912, by Their Majesties King George V. and Queen Mary, who visited certain manufactories. At this time, Councillor George Thomson was Mayor. 'The Education Committee decided to close the Schools in the afternoon. Arrangements were made for all the scholars (excluding infants) with the teachers to proceed to Greenhead Park, where they were marshalled along each side of the pathway through which the King and Queen drove. Over 11,000 children assembled, and it was satisfactory to know that no accident of any kind happened, although many of the children had long distances to travel.

The last occasion was on May 30th, 1918, again by the present King and Queen, for the purpose of inspecting certain

Page 6

77

factories and chemical works. - This was during the Mayoralty of Alderman W. H. Jessop. Their Majesties visited the Town Hall, where a number of ladies and gentlemen were introduced to them by the Mayor. - Leading citizens occupied the balcony, while the area, gallery and orchestra were filled by school children and teachers. Several songs were rendered by the children under the conductorship of Mr. (G. Cooper.

The King and Queen expressed to Mr. Cooper their apprecia- tion of the singing.

QUEEN JUBILEES.

The local celebration of the late Queen Victoria's Jubilee took place on June 20th 1887, and was organised by the Council with the assistance of a large number of ladies and gentlemen. Included in the proceedings were the following : In the morning, a public procession of the members of the Town Council and other bodies from the Town Hall to the Parish Church, where a special service was held.

In the afternoon, a similar procession to St. George's Square, where 20,000 Sunday School Scholars and Teachers were assembled, who sang appropriate hymns under the conductorship of Mr. D. W. Evans. About 22,000 medals were presented to the scholars. A Tea was given to 3,000

adult poor people, to the blind, and to the inmates of the Model Lodging House.

In the evening, a bonfire was lighted on Castle Hill ; bands played in the Parks, and the town was illuminated. The Drinking Fountain in the Market Place was presented by Sir J. W. Ramsden, Bart., in commemoration of the Jubilee.

The Diamond Jubilee was celebrated on June 22nd, 1897, and practically a similar programme to the above was carried out. An important addition, however, was the opening of public subscription lists, as follows :-

Local Rejoicings .. . .. - £1655 9

Public Library and Art Gallery .. £16083 7 4 Nurses for Sick Poor .. - £2919 11 3

Page 7

78 OTHER COMMITTEES.

In addition to the undertakings described in the two - preceding chapters, the Council is directly interested, financially and otherwise, in a number of public bodies and institutions. These include the following, upon which the Council is represented, but as the work of these committees is not confirmed by the Council, it is not necessary to give any details regarding them :--War Pensions Committee, National Health Insurance Committee, Old Age Pensions Committee, West Riding Rivers' Board, West Riding Asylums Board, Almondbury and Longwood Grammar Schools, and Disposal of Trade Refuse Committee.

SUSPENSION OF ELECTIONS.

Under the provisions of an Act of Parliament, passed as a War Measure, there have been no Town Council Elections by the ratepayers since 1914, those who were members at that date continuing in office up to the present time. Seven casual vacancies have occurred, but these have been filled in accordance with the Act by the Council co-opting members.

THE HONORARY FREEDOM OF THE BOROUGH.

By the Honorary Freedom of Boroughs Act, 1885, entitled : " An Act to enable Municipal Corporations to confer the Honorary Freedom of Boroughs upon persons of distinction," the City or Town Council of every Municipal Borough may admit to be Honorary Freemen of the Borough persons of distinction and any who have rendered eminent services to the Borough.

The passing of this Act of Parliament associates itself with Huddersfield, firstly, through its Senior Honorary Freeman, Lt.-Col. Sir Albert Kaye Rollit, who suggested this Municipal privilege in acknowledging his re-election as Mayor by the City Council of Hull, in 1884 ; and, secondly, in that a Bill in Parliament having been drafted for the purpose, it was

Page 8

79

introduced in the House of Lords by the late Marquis of Ripon, K.G., who, as Viscount Goderich, was elected Member of Parliament for Huddersfield in 1853, and who, as High Steward of the Corporation of Hull, said in his speech in moving the Bill, that " The Citizens of Hull desired the proposed power of conferring the Freedom." In the House of Commons, Mr. C. M. Norwood, one of the Members of Parliament for Hull, moved the Bill; which was duly passed, and which enables Corporations to bestow, by election, what is regarded as a high and most acceptable honour indicative - of popular appreciation of National, Municipal, and Local Public Service.

Present Honorary Freemen of the Borough.

. Date when Name. Freedom conferred.

Lt.-Col. Sir Albert Kaye Rollit, LL.D., D.C.L., Litt, D., J.P., , D.L. _.. 28th Aug., 1894.

Major Charles Brook _... .._ 23rd May, 1901. Major Harold Wilson _... .._ 23rd May, 1901. _ William Brooke, Esq., J.P. _... 15th Oct., 19183. _

Honorary Freemen elected on the of the Celebration of the Jubilee of the Incorporation of the Borough, in September, 1918, and who then, or had in the past, served as members / of the Corporation.

Names, etc.

Alderman William Henry Jessop, J.P. (Mayor). Alderman Ernest Woodhead, M.A., J.P. Councillor George Thomson, J.P. Benjamin Broadbent, Esq., M.A., J.P. John Arthur Brooke, Esq., M.A., J.P. James Edward Willans, Esq., J.P.

Page 9

80

Past Honorary Freemen.

Date when Honorary Date of Name. Freedom conferred. Decease. Alderman Wright Mellor , J.P., D.L. ... 25th Sept., 1889 17th May, 1893 Henry Fredk. Beaumont, Esq., J.P., D.L. _... 28th Aug., 1894 - 6th Oct., 1913 James Nield Sykes, Esq., . J.P. ... ... 12th Mar., 1895 4th Mar., 1903 Joseph Woodhead, Esq., J.P.... 0... =... 28th Oct., 1898 _ 21st May, 1913 Sir Joseph Crosland Knt., J.P., D.L. ... ... 28th Oct., 1898 _ 27th Aug., 1904 Sir Thomas Brooke, Bart., J.P., D.L. ... ... 25th July, 1906 - 16th July, 1908 The Rev. Robert Bruce, M.A., D.D. ... ... 25th July, 1906 - 6th Nov., 1908

John Sykes, Esq., J.P.... 15th Oct., 1913 Oth Aug., 1914

Alderman W. H. JESSOP (Mayor).

Alderman W. H. Jessop, who occupies the honourable position of Mayor in the present Jubilee year, and whose portrait forms the frontispiece of this book, was born at

Longroyd Bridge on January 11th, 1841.

Notwithstanding his advanced years, Mr. Alderman Jessop is vigorous and energetic in mind and body. He exhibits great zeal in the multifarious work of the Council and the public life of the town generally. He is the " Father of the Council," having first entered it in the year 1882. During the thirty-six years he has been a member, he has held the unique position of never having had to fight a contested election. As a Councillor he was always returned unopposed, and in the year 1892, was elevated by his colleagues to the Aldermanic Bench. In the year 1897, he was elected Mayor of the town, and held the office for two years. Again, in 1916, he was elected Mayor, and has continued in that onerous position to the present time (October, 1918). His long con-

Page 10

81

nection with the Council gives him an unrivalled experience and knowledge of local and municipal affairs. His position, as Mayor, gives him the membership of all the Corporation's Committees, and he has been or is Chairman or Vice-Chair- man of nearly all the important Committees, as the following list will testify :-Sanitary and Health, Gas, Watch, Education (Finance and Works), Food Control, Mental Deficiency, Old

Age Pensions, War Pensions, Parliamentary, Military Service Tribunal.

In 1889, Alderman Jessop cut the first sod in connection with the Sewage Works at Deighton ; in 1896, he laid the foundation stone of the Sanatorium at Mill Hill ; in February, 1898, he opened the Reading Rooms at the Public Library ; and in September of the same year, he opened the new Police Station in Peel Street. He has represented the Council on the West Riding Rivers' Board, and for many years he has been an influential member of the West Riding Asylums Committee.

In May, 1899, when Lord Roberts visited the town to lay the foundation stone of the Drill Hall, he was entertained by Alderman Jessop, who was then Mayor. In acknowledg- ment, Lord Roberts presented him with a copy of his book, '* Forty-one Years in India." Among other notable person- ages hospitably entertained by Alderman Jessop are the Marquis of Crewe and the Archbishop of York, who came to address meetings in the Town Hall.

On numerous occasions Alderman Jessop has very fittingly represented the town at Conferences and Meetings held in

different parts of the country to consider various aspects of municipal activity.

In connection with the Jubilee Celebrations this year, the Council have conferred upon Alderman Jessop the highest

honour it has in its power to bestow, namely, the Freedom of the Borough.

In 1896, Alderman Jessop was made a Justice of the Peace.

Page 11

82 Alderman Jessop has not confined his energies to the Town Council. He has been an active member of the body of Freemasons ; for many years he has been a Vice-Chairman of the Huddersfield Building Society ; and has held the office of President of the Local and National Association of Building Trades Employers. He is a member of the firm of Messrs. (Graham and Jessop, who have constructed many important roads in the district and erected many schools, churches and other public buildings. It is interesting to note that his firm carried out the structural alterations for the first Municipal Offices and Council Chamber, at the premises fronting the old Philosophical Hall. In 1917, he was admitted to the Freedom and Livery of the City of London in the Feltmakers' Company.

To illustrate the many-sided activities of Mr. Alderman Jessop, it may be stated that he held the office of Constable under the Court Leet, and when that ancient body discon- tinued its meetings, he was presented with the Constable's staff, which bears the following inscription :-

"* Constable's Staff, presented to Alderman W. H. Jessop _- by the Great Court Baron of Sir J. W. Ramsden, Baronet, Lord of the Manor of Almondbury." , 26th October, 1895.

Mr. Alderman Jessop has had a long and strenuous career, and he has the best wishes of his fellow-citizens that it may be continued for many years to come.

Page 12

83

_CHAPTER V. Tur CouncIL AND THE GrEAT War.

Thy neighbour ! 'tis the heart bereft Of every earthly gem, __ Widow and orphan helpless left, Go thou and shelter them.

A NY account of the work of the Town Council would be ® _ incomplete which did not include some reference to its work in connection with the present war. Ever since the war began, four year ago, the two Mayors, Alderman J. Blamires and Alderman Jessop, devotedly helped by the Mayoresses, the members of the Council assisted by the general public, the school teachers, and the clerical staffs of the various _ departments, have worked nobly and - energetically in numberless ways to meet the varied demands of the time. '

Public subscription lists have been promoted for the relief - of distress at home and abroad, for sending comforts to the soldiers and sailors, for providing hospitals for the wounded, for housing and maintaining the Belgian refugees, and for augmenting the pensions allowed to dependants by the State. Committees have been organised and hundreds of mestings held for disbursing the funds subscribed ; for promoting the success of the various War Loans ; for obtaining recruits for the Army and Navy ; for increasing the food supply by the cultivation of allotment gardens ; and for controlling the Sale of Food in accordance with the Government's rationing schemes,. Let us glance at some of this work in detail,

Page 13

84

SUBSCRIPTIONS.

It has been stated that no other town the size of Hudders- field has equalled it in the generosity of its financial contri- butions to philanthropic funds. The Borough Treasurer, Mr. E. Dyson, has supplied the following list of sums sub- scribed to the various funds named, in response to appeals made by the Mayor or Deputy Mayor of the Borough :-

£ Huddersfield War Relief Fund .. - 24,315 Belgian Refugees Relief Fund .. -_ 4,313 French Relief and Red Cross Joint Fund ... 2,240 Serbian Relief Fund . 3,340 Huddersfield & Dlstrlet Volunteer Corps c.. - 3,260 Mayor's Troops Entertainment Fund 197 Soldiers' and Sailors' Cigarette Fund .. - 4,329 Military Hospital Fund .. 32,179 War Horse Fund 1,216 Mayor's Russian Red Cross Fund 627 Mayor's Poland Fund 934 Mayor's Fund for " Huddersfield Hut * for Soldiers in France _ ... 1,810 Mayoress's Fund for Beds for Wounded ' Soldiers sek ov... 1,369 Mayoress's Fund for Comforts for Soldiers and Sailors _ ... .. - 12,182 Mayoress's Red Cross Ambulance Fund c.. - 2,486 Sick and Wounded Soldiers and Sailors (and gifts in kind-Warm Clothing, Com- forts, etc.) __... . 7,475 Christmas Gifts for Huddersfield 5th Battalions and 168th R.F. A. 205 Y.M.C.A. Flag Day ... ... -_ 1,661 Huddersfield War Concert Party Fund 201

Huddersfield Sailors' Day Fund _ ... ... -_ 1,333 Huddersfield Day Nursery Fund .., .. - 1,240

Page 14

4

and streams. A practical blow was given to the Court Leet when the inhabitants of Huddersfield resolved to appoint a Constable of their own. Mr. Hobkirk, in his History of Huddersfield, says :-*" In the church books of vestry meet- ings it is recorded in the minutes that a resolution was passed on May 22nd, 1812, that ° a Standing Constable, to act as a Police Officer, is highly necessary, and shall be elected for this township ; and that John Fernaby, late porter of the Leeds Infirmary was then elected.'" Again, four years later, on January Oth, 1816, there appears the following entry :-" In pursuance of legal notice having been given in the Parish Church, of the 28th December last, a general meeting of the inhabitants of Huddersfield was this day held for the purpose of taking into consideration the present alarming state of the country and the more effectual preservation of the peace. ._. _. . When, after duly deliberating on the enormous burglaries and other depredations recently committed, we have thought it necessary to advertise for and engage an active and experienced man who will devote the whole of his time to the discharge of his duty as an assistant constable, &c." In 1816, therefore, Huddersfield had one Chief Con- stable, appointed by the Court Leet, and a force of two elected by the inhabitants in vestry meeting assembled. What a contrast to the Police Force of the present day !

The Ancient Court Leet, and Church Vestry also, were found eventually to be out of harmony with the requirements of the inhabitants. Accordingly there followed the reign of the

LIGHTING AND WATCHING COMMISSIONERS, 1820.

In the year 1820 an application was successfully made to Parliament for an Act for the better " Lighting and Watching of the town of Huddersfield." - For twenty-seven years, down to 1848, the town continued under the jurisdiction of the Commissioners appointed under this Act. But as early as 1841, dissatisfaction with this new method of government began to manifest itself. And no wonder, when we remember the narrow and exclusive basis of its constitution. It appears

Page 15

85 SUBSCRIPTIONS-Continued.

Huddersfield Rose Day Fund, balance for £ Royal Infirmary, Huddersfield __ ... 141 5th Duke of Wellington's WR. Cadet Battalion . 210 National Institute for the Blmd (St. Dunstan s Institute) 1,172

Ambulance Train Exhibition £550 -_- Less amount included in Soldiers' and Sailors' Comforts' Fund £150

--- 400 West Riding War Fund _ ... .k - 1,147 Irish Flag Day Fund 431 Roumanian Relief Fund _ ... 351 Lifeboat Flag Day _... . 688 Huddersfield National Baby Week 139 Syria and Palestine Relief Fund _... 243 Seaman's Orphanage Hull, Flag Day | ... 104 Dr. Barnado's Home.. .. 124

The above list does not represent all the monies subscribed in the town, large sums having been raised for kindred objects by the " Huddersfield Examiner," the Young Men's Christian Association and other organisations.

In connection with the active steps for Recruiting, the 168th Brigade of Royal Field Artillery was formed and equipped locally and during the period of raising and training the Borough Treasurer was the Accounting Officer to the Brigade.

The Local War Pensions involving the distribution of from £200 to now over £300 a week, the financial arrangements in connection with the provision of War Hospital accommoda- tion totalling 2,000 beds, the financial operations of the Food Production, Food Control, and the National Kitchen Com- mittees, the Belgian Refugees' Relief Committee, the Mayor's Fund for providing Soldiers and Sailors with Tobacco and Cigarettes, the Juvenile Organisations Committee and the

Page 16

86

War Aims Committee, all these have involved additional work upon the Borough Treasurer's Department.

WAR HOSPITALS.

The estate at Royds Wood, Paddock, owned by the Cor- poration, has been utilized for the erection of an open-air War Hospital, which was built and fully equipped, at a cost of over £30,000, by voluntary subscription. Both the medical and military authorities have spoken in high terms of the value, suitability and efficiency of the hospital. 600 beds are provided, and since its erection, in October, 1915, to October, 1918, no fewer than 17,200 soldiers have been accommodated.

The newly-built Sanatorium for tuberculosis patients, at Bradley (Gate has also been placed by the Corporation at the disposal of the military authorities for the use of wounded soldiers.

During the past eighteen months the Education Committee have also granted the use of the two departments at the Paddock Council School as an auxiliary hospital.

BELGIAN REFUGEES.

The mansion on the Royds Wood Estate, which is now occupied by War Hospital Nurses, was previously granted by the Corporation for the use of Belgian Refugees. When the Hospital was built, these Refugees were accommodated in smaller houses in various parts of the district. The first convoy of sixty men, women and children arrived in the town on October 7th, 1914. Approximately 450 Refugees have been accommodated in the Borough and surrounding districts. The public have subscribed a large sum of money for their maintenance, but at the present time, in consequence of the prosperous state of trade, practically all the Refugees are able to maintain themselves. The Committee, with Mr. B. Riley as chairman, have devoted a great deal of time in making satisfactory provision for the Refugees,

Page 17

87 RELIEF OF DISTRESS.

The local committee for the Relief of Distress caused by the War raised the large sum of £24,315. The Committee was divided into two sections-Military and Civil. _ In the former section, in addition to money received direct from the State, a sum of £14,387 has been disbursed in support of soldiers' dependants. In the latter section, in consequence of work being plentiful, only £1,425 has been expended in the relief of distress. In addition, £2,000 was handed over to the Prince of Wales' Central Fund, and £2,450 to the local

Prisoners of War Fund.

WOMEN'S COMMITTEE FOR PROVIDING COMFORTS FOR SOLDIERS & SAILORS.

The Women's Committee for prowdmg comforts for the Soldiers and Sailors have done an immense amount of work in making and forwarding abroad large quantities of all kinds of clothing to men engaged in the Army and Navy, also in supplying hospital requisites. The work has received the approval of the War Office. Hospital requisites of every kind-dressing gowns, pyjamas, blankets, shirts, bed- jackets, slippers, etc., including many thousands of bandages, are despatched to Casualty Clearing Stations and Hospitals at home and abroad. Over 70,000 articles have been sent to our local War Hospitals, besides 30,000 to France for the use of French wounded. For the troops in the field, socks, shirts, mufflers, mittens, cardigans, &c., are continually being sent out ; to the local battalions of the Duke of Wellington's Regiment 500 pairs of socks per week are sent. Since August, 1914, over 400,000 articles have been sent out, and during last year alone over 101,000 were despatched. No personal appeal is ever refused, whether from a soldier, for his personal needs, or from an officer for the men under his charge.

The fund subscribed has realized up-to-date £18,344, and goods to the value of £10,000 have also been given.

The large Central Committee of ladies and numerous workers in the town and district have exerted themselves most strenuously in this gigantic task.

Page 18

88

BELGIAN REFUGEE CLOTHING COMMITTEE.

The Belgian Refugee Clothing Committee was formed on September 10th, 1914. The work finished in June, 1915, as the Belgians were then able to work and look after them- selves, and the appeals from away were less frequent. During the nine months 175 men, 158 women, 163 children, a total of 496, were clothed ; 26,262 garments were distributed, of which 16,212 were despatched abroad in 47 consignments.

Total Receipts £302 2 4 Total Payments 255 12 11 Balance ... 46 9 5

This was handed over to the Women's Committee for Soldiers and Sailors.

PRISONERS OF WAR COMMITTEE.

This extensive organisation is also excellently managed by the ladies. Parcels of food are regularly sent to between 500 and 600 prisoners of war, at a cost of £3 7s. 6d. each per month. The food sent is a great boon to the prisoners, as without it they would undoubtedly suffer great privation. The cost of the parcels for October, 1918, was £1,691 8s. 8d. The amount subscribed to date is £16,800, all of which has been expended. All money received goes to pay for the parcels, as the working expenses are privately covered.

The Committee of ladies has worked indefatigably for the success of the organisation.

CIGARETTE FUND.

The Committee for providing the Soldiers and Sailors with Cigarettes has done a great deal of work from time to time in organising various schemes for the collection of subscriptions. Judging from the communications received from the men in the services, the parcels of Cigarettes have been very much appreciated. Mr. E. Robinson is the chairman of the Committee, and Mr. J. V. Rothery the secretary.

Page 19

89 VOLUNTEER CORPS.

The Town Council has granted two sums of £1,000 and £300 to the fund raised for the equipment of the Volunteer Corps. "

PROPAGANDA WORK.

A large number of meetings has been organised for the purpose of explaining to the public the aims and objects of the war, and for the obtaining of recruits, Many of these have been held in the suburbs, but a series of large and - influential meetings, under the auspices of the Mayor, have been held in the Town Hall. The speakers at the latter have included Lord Desborough, Mr. A. Sherwell, M.P., Mr. G. H. Roberts, M.P., Mr. Chas. Duncan, M.P. 'The last, and one of the most successful meetings, was held on July 3lst, 1918, when the principal speaker was His Grace The Archbishop of York (Rev. C. Gordon Lang). A large quantity of literature has also been distributed through the school and other channels.

WAR SAVINGS' COMMITTEE.

At the request of the National Organising Committee for War Savings, the County Borough Council, on April 3rd, 1916, appointed a Local Central Committee, comprising nineteen members of the Council and a large number of other representative ladies and gentlemen. The Mayor, Alderman J. Blamires, was elected chairman, Mr. Lawrence Crowther, - hon. secretary, and Mr. R. V. Rigby, hon. treasurer, and the first few months were spent in organising meetings at mills, factories, workshops, schools, etc., explaining the Govern- ment Scheme and the formation of War Savings' Associations for the purpose of collecting money weekly to be invested in War Savings' Certificates and other Government issues. The work progressed very satisfactorily and in January, 1917, the Committee were invited to carry out a big compaign in connection with the Issue of " The Victory War Loan,"

Page 20

90

which took place in that and the following month of February, during which period Huddersfield contributed a sum of upwards of £4,500,000.

The work of the Committee continued until April, when a request was sent from the National Committee asking that a Campaign should be organised for the purpose of " Food Economy " and immediately a Sub-Committee was formed for this purpose, Mr. C. H. Dennis (Sub-Inspector of Schools) being appointed as Secretary, and, as everyone knows, especially the ladies of the town, the Campaign was carried out most successfully.

In the Autumn of 1917, the War Savings' Committee was again urged to devote the whole of its energies to the forma- tion of further associations, and to impress on all classes the absolute necessity of saving and lending money to the Government for the further prosecution of the War.

In October, an issue of National War Bonds was made to which special attention was given by the Press, and an energetic advertising campaign entered upon until early in January, 1918, when the Committee organised a °" Tank Week," which was held in February. The Opening Ceremony was performed on the 18th February by Sir William Raynor, J.P. and His Worship the Mayor (Alderman W. H. Jessop, J.P.) presided, supported by a large body of ladies and gentlemen of the town. This week was a memorable one, - everybody doing their utmost to make the effort a success. During the week no less a sum than £2,689,000 was invested in War Bonds and War Savings' Certificates, which represents over £24 per head of the population. '

The work of the Committee continued until July, when it was again called upon to make another special effort, and a " War Weapons Week " was arranged, with a result that during the period, 10th to 18th July, £604,902 was invested in War Bonds and War Savings' Certificates. The following is a copy of a letter received from Sir R. M. Kindersley,

Page 21

91 K.B.E., Chairman of the National War Savings' Committee, on the 3rd August, 1918, in regard to War Weapon Week :-

"* In reading the report upon War Weapons Week, which has been placed before me, I note with particular satisfaction the remarkable success achieved in Huddersfield as the result of your Committee's efforts. Such a result affords striking proof, not only of the skill and resourcefulness with which your appeal was made, but also of the patriotism of those to whom it was directed.

I would, therefore, ask you to convey my cordial thanks to all who contributed towards the success of this undertaking, which will, I am confident, react beneficially upon the good work of your Committee in stimulating the War Savings' habit.

There is one result of this habit which is, to my mind, too often overlooked both by those who are regular War-Savers and by those who have yet to become such. The publica- tion of the total amounts invested weekly in National War Bonds and War Savings' Certificates means much more than the mere publication of certain figures. The real significance of these figures lies in the fact that they are the measure of _- the extent to which the people of this country are determined to back up the heroic efforts of the men who are steadfastly defending their liberties. For this reason every citizen worthy of the name should not only take a personal interest in the totals as they appear weekly in the Press, but should also make it a point of honour and account it a privilege to contribute towards their maintenance at the highest possible level."

On the 15th August, the first £1,000,000,000 was reached in connection with the War Bonds Campaign which com- menced on the lst October, 1917. Huddersfield's quota per week was put down at £53,000, equal to 10/- per head of the population, and for the period, lst October, 1917, to l5th August, 1918, the amount invested in War Bonds, was over £105,000 par week, or more than double the quota asked for, which placed Huddersfield in the Seventh position

Page 22

92

in Great Britain, per weekly quota per head of population, and the following is a copy of a telegram received from the Chancellor of the Exchequer in reply to congratulations sent from the Huddersfield Committee Very gratified to receive telegram of congratulation. Recognise what a splendid contribution Huddersfield has made in the past to National War Bonds, and I rely with confidence upon a continuance of their generous and patriotic efforts.-Bonar Law."

Since the formation of the Local Central Committee, £9,384,925 has been invested in War Loans and War Bonds, and £1,166,592 14s. 6d. in War Savings' Certificates, besides which large sums were invested by townspeople in the various issues of Exchequer Bonds.

There are at present 271 War Navings' Asoociations in existence, whose members are investing money week by week. '

WAR-WORK IN THE SCHOOLS.

On May 4th, 1916, the first meeting of the Schools' Thrift Sub-Committee was held at the Town Hall.

Mr. Councillor George Thomson, J.P., Chairman of the Education Committee was appointed Chairman. The object of the Committee was to stimulate " saving " ways-money, glass-ware, paper, string, etc.

in all possible

A Mass Meeting of Teachers was held at the Technical College, on Friday, May 19th, to discuss the best means of attaining the end in view, and it was decided to continue, for the present, the system of saving through the Schools' Saving Banks, and as a pupil accumulated 15/6, to advise the parents to transfer the same into War Savings' Certificates. In the case of schools having no School Bank, it was decided to introduce the system of saving by purchasing 6d. stamps and affixing them to a War Savings' Card. At the same time, a scheme was adopted for the systematic collection of jam jars, glass-ware, etc. and their disposal.

Page 23

93 As a result, every school or department in the Borough was affiliated as a War Savings' Association. Just before the Christmas Holidays, 1916, War Savings' Christmas Cards with a coupon attached (the coupons being exchangeable

for a free sixpenny stamp) were distributed to all children on the school registers between the ages of 5 and 14.

14,761 cards were distributed. By February Oth, 1917, 460 of these Christmas Cards had been filled up and exchanged for War NSavings' Certificates. The great " War Loan " week was now at hand, and to encourage the boys and girls to complete their War Savings' Cards by the 16th February, an offer was made to add two stamps to the first 3,000 Christ- mas Cards filled in with 29 stamps, and one stamp to cards belonging to children who had already filled up their Christmas Cards. The offer was taken up with enthusiasm. On several days every 6d. stamp in Huddersfield was bought

up, and teachers ordering £50 worth and upwards of stamps were fairly common.

During the week, February 10th to 16th, 2121 cards were filled up and exchanged for War Savings' Certificates. By the end of February, 11,581 Certificates had been obtained by the children, representing a sum invested of £8,975 5s. 6d.

In the meantime, large numbers of bottles, jam jars, etc. were collected by the children and up to date a sum of £116 14s. 4d. has been realised by the sale of these. This sum has been invested in War Savings' Certificates,

and will be expended in some way hereafter to be determined by the Committee. '

In September, 1917, a new War Savings' Card-The Santa- Claus Card-was issued to school children making application for them, and through the kindness of certain local gentle- men, a sixpenny stamp was given to each child who, having placed 30 stamps on its card, handed the card to his teacher on or before December 19th. 1,273 War Savings' Certificates _ were obtained in this special effort.

Page 24

94

The pupils have obtained Certificates regularly since that date, and by August 31st, 1918, 21,800 Certificates had been purchased by school children, equivalent to an investment of £16,895. Besides these War Navings' efforts, the scholars have accomplished a great deal of other useful work, among which may be mentioned the following. A large number of sand and chaff bags have been made for the military - authorities ; thousands of mittens, scarves, shirts, bandages, &c., have been made for the soldiers ; collections were made in the schools for the Sailors' Flag Day, which realized £76; the "Jack Cornwell" Memorial Fund and the Belgium Famine Fund. For the last three years the money realised by the Annual School Concerts in the Town Hall, has been handed over to the various War Funds, as follows :-

£ 0s. d. 1916 79 3 6 1917 111 11 3 1918 108 9 9 Total _... ... £299 4 6

In July, 1916, the pupils at the Girls' High School, by an Entertainment and Sale of Work, realised the sum of £200, which was handed over to the British Red Cross Society and the Star and Garter Home, at Richmond, for totally disabled Soldiers and Sailors.

NATIONAL REGISTRATION ACT, 1915.

The huge task in connection with the work of National Registration was undertaken by the Town Clerk's Depart- ment. With voluntary assistance of a large number of helpers, about 75,000 names were speedily registered. It will be seen how onerous this work is when it is explained that there are between six and seven thousand alterations annually, owing to removals and changes of address.

_ LOGCAL - TRIBUNALS.

The Local Tribunal, appointed under the Military Service Acts by the Town Council, held its first sitting December 2nd,

Page 25

5

the " Lord of the Manor" possessed the right to appoint three of the Commissioners, and all the rest were self-elected or nominated.

The Lighting and Watching Act received the Royal Assent on June 30th, 1820, the first year in the reign of King George IV. By the Act, power was granted to appoint such number of able-bodied men as the Commissioners shall judge proper to be employed as watchmen, and as a patrol, under such regulations, and subject to such orders as the Commissioners shall make from time to time. Power was given, also, to provide proper watchhouses, watchboxes, or places for the reception of such watchmen and patrol, and to impose a fine not exceeding 20s. on any watchman or patrol for neglect or misbehaviour.

The Commissioners met at the Old George Hotel, which stood near the Kirkgate end of John William Street, and by the Act were required to meet every twenty-one days. The Commissioners appointed to carry out the Act were named in the first clause, and were fifty-four in number. Among the names are found Sir John Ramsden, Benj. Haigh Allen, Wm. Walker Battye, Richard Clay, Thomas Firth, Ed. Hawksby, Joseph Kaye, Joshua Lockwood, Henry Nelson, Joseph Scholefield, Wm. Rhodes, John Riley, Geo. Starkey, Wm. Wigney, and others. ‘ '

Each Commissioner had to take an oath that he was possessed of a personal estate of the value of £1,000 over and above what would pay his just debts. They were each appointed for life, and it was " further enacted that when any of the Commissioners herein named shall die, or shall for the space of one year refuse or neglect to act, such death, refusal, or neglect, being declared at a meeting of the said Com- missioners, then and in every such case, the surviving or remaining Commissioners, or any five or more of them, . . . shall nominate, elect or appoint fit persons . . . to be Com- missioners in their place, providing they be approved by the Lord of the Manor of Huddersfield." One peculiarity of the Act was that all dwelling-houses and other property below

Page 26

95

1915, and up to date has held over 100 meetings. The Tribunal has dealt with about 30,000 claims for exemption from military service. Mr. Ald. J. Blamires was chairman until August, 1918, when he resigned in consequence of serious ill-health, Mr. Ald. Jessop being appointed his successor. The Advisory Committee which deals with similar claims prior to them coming before the Tribunal, has held a much larger number of meetings. The chairman is Mr. Robert Ramsden.

ALLOTMENTS.

Prior to the Spring of 1917, there were no Allotments in Huddersfield under the Corporation, although there were some under private management.

In December, 1916, the Corporation in view of the food shortage appointed a Committee, with Mr. J. H. Robson as Chairman and Mr. Coun. Topping as Vice-Chairman, to con- sider what could be done in the way of food production by the encouragement of Allotments.

Considering it advisable to get independent expert advice and help, the Committee approached several gentlemen who consented to be co-opted members of the Committee and to give their services.

The Committee so constituted had first to consider the provision of suitable land, and it was decided to try and arrange to take over land owned by the Housing and other Committees. 'This land was mostly in the occupation of Farmers who, at considerable sacrifice, allowed the Com- mittee to take over at once the land required for the Allotments and they asked for no compensation.

The land immediately taken comprised about 9 acres, which was divided into Allotments of 200 square yards each. It was also decided, as an experiment, to take over three tips, namely, Carr Pit, Meltham Road and Waterloo for Allot- ments and this provided another 6 acres of land. 'The tips

Page 27

96

were split up into lots of a size to suit the individual applicant ; there are now some 44 tenants.

That the movement was a great success, was proved by the

Show of Vegetables held in the Town Hall at the close of the 1917 season.

The 1918 season brought a greatly increased demand for land for Allotments which demand was met, and the Com- mittee now has under its management over 60 acres of land in the occupation of more than 1,000 Allotment Holders. There are some 40 sites spread all over the Borough, from Bradley and Sheepridge on the North to Taylor Hill and Lockwood Road on the South and from Waterloo on the East to Outlane on the West. -

Further, the Committee have under direct cultivation some 20 acres of land at Heaton Lodge, which had practically gone out of cultivation. This year the bulk of this land was under potatoes, and it has produced 100 tons, which have been sold at 8/- per cwt.

The Committee have given a very healthy stimulus to gardening throughout the Borough, and there can be no doubt of the social and moral advantages which have accrued.

Mr. J. R. Clynes, M.P., the Food Controller, said at the Ministry of Health, on August 14th, 1918 : " We had reason to be thankful for the good harvest, and for the large family of small Allotment Holders, who had worked well to supple- ment the yield of agriculturists all over the kingdom."

FOOD CONTROL.

This Committee commenced its work in September, 1917, the Committee being constituted as follows :-

7 members from the Town Council ; 1 representative of the Huddersfield Industrial Society, Ltd. ; I 1 from the Trades and Labour Council ; 2 from the Local Food and General Economy Com- mittee.

Page 28

97 The Mayor (Ald. W. H. Jessop, J.P.) and Alderman Calverley

were appointed Chairman and Deputy-Chairman respectively.

Office accommodation was obtained at the Temperance Hall, Princess Street, and a staff consisting of an Executive Official (Mr. L. G. Thornber, the Education Committee's School Inspector) and nine clerks commenced work on Mon- day, September 24th, 1917.

Their first task was the rationing of sugar to manufacturers, caterers and institutions, and afterwards the issuing of sugar Cards to the general public. Sugar was rationed to in- dividual consumers as from January lst, 1918.

In all, 170 manufacturers were allotted sugar to the amount of 2,093 cwts. for a six monthly period ; 130 caterers were allotted 294 cwts. for the same period, and 75 institutions 148} cwts. 105,000 Sugar Cards were issued to individuals, giving an allowance of 110 tons per month, this being dis- tributed to the general public through 388 retailers.

From the first, the rationing of Sugar was a success.

In the latter months of 1917, and the month of January, 1918, the Committee were much concerned at the numerous and long food queues prevalent in the town-particularly queues for Butter and Margarine. On several occasions large stocks of Margarine were commandeered from a multiple shop and re-distributed to retailers, but this method was not a great success, and the Committee decided to adopt a local rationing scheme of an elastic nature.

As Huddersfield is the natural distributing centre of a much larger area than the Borough itself, the neighbouring Food Control Committees were invited to a Conference at which an outline ration scheme was submitted, discussed, and ultimately adopted for Huddersfield and 24 neighbouring Food Control Areas. An Executive Committee was appointed to adjust supplies.

The necessary arrangements for the whole area were carried out by the Huddersfield Food Control Committee, and by

Page 29

98 February 23rd the whole of the population in what might be called the Huddersfield Rationing Area were obtaining

Butter and Margarine on individual food cards, the ration _ being 4 ozs, per head. ' '

The difficulties in carrying out the scheme were very great. Butter and Margarine were not, as yet, supplied to retailers according to the number of their registered customers, but the Executive Officer had to requisition supplies weekly from shops having excess stocks and re-distribute these through the local wholesalers.

During the period, 25th December, 1917 to March 25th, 1918, Margarine to the value of £4,698 10s. 4d. was thus requisitioned and re-distributed. But from March 25th onwards, a much more satisfactory scheme was introduced by the Ministry of Food, by which the Margarine for the whole area was sent direct to the Executive Officer and by him distributed, partly direct, but mainly through the whole- salers to the retailers in the Huddersfield area. The weekly quota thus distributed is 19 tons 13 cwts.

While the Butter and Margarine difficulty was being dealt with, there came a very serious shortage in Meat. From January 7th onwards, the supplies to Butchers were cut down to 50 per cent. of their supplies in October, 1917 ; a new and successful method of Meat distribution was evolved, leading to the formation of a Meat Supply Association, consisting of most of the retailers in the town, and the buying of live stock and the distribution of meat on a co-operative basis. Occasionally, the markets failed to produce supplies, but the Area Live Stock of the Ministry of Food requisitioned cattle for the Food Control Committee and saved the situation.

Meat, however, was not rationed to the general public ; but the Ministry of Food decided to introduce a National Meat Rationing Scheme. 'The issue of individual Meat Cards to the general public was a huge task, in which pupils from the

Technical College and the Girls' High School and teachers

Page 30

99

from the Elementary Schools of the Borough lent very efficient help. The Meat Rationing Scheme came into force on April 7th and worked very satisfactorily, Meat being distributed through 81 retailers to a Meat population of 103,000 persons. '

The coupon system of the Meat Card was found to be very elastic and easy of modification according to supplies avail- able. Meat coupons were made available for Bacon and Ham, other forms of Meat, Meat Meals, etc.

Meanwhile, it was found that the Meat Ration was not adequate to the needs of manual workers, and the Rationing Scheme was modified by issuing Supplementary Ration Cards available for Bacon and Ham, Meat, other than Butchers' Meat, or Meat Meals to workers engaged on heavy manual work. Supplementary Ration Cards were also issued to adolescent youths of 14-18.

2,120 books were issued to youths and 15,566 to heavy workers. I

But, so far, the National Rationing Schemes were for Sugar and Meat only, and the Ministry of Food saw the need of absorbing all the various Local Rationing Schemes into one National Scheme. Accordingly, individual Ration Books, containing coupons for Sugar, Fats, Meat (including Bacon), Lard, and allowing of extension to other commodities were distributed, and the Scheme came into operation as from July l4th. The issue of the books was the biggest task undertaken as yet by the Food Office Staff, and as the Schools in the Borough were closed for an epidemic, the Teachers and other Officials of the Education Committee lent willing help, and to them the Food Control Committee accorded their grateful thanks. By July 14th, 105,844 Ration Books and 15,104 Supplementary Ration Books had been issued. There were still left upwards of 2,000 applications forms without addresses, but these were gradually cleared and books issued.

The remaining period has been a comparatively quiet period at the Food Office, clearly showing the success of the

Page 31

100

rationing scheme. But in the month of August upwards of 40,000 forms were dealt with by the Food Office Staff.

The latest rationing statistics for the Borough are as follows :-

Registered Registered Retailers. Customers. Sugar | ... 400 105,271 Butter & Margarine 372 . 105,097 Lard 387 103,625 Meat 81 108,002

A National Kitchen's Sub-Committee has been formed and premises rented at Aspley from the Education Committee. This first National Kitchen was opened by Alderman Calverley, on Tuesday, 30th July, 1918. The staff consists of one supervisor and four assistants, and 380 to 400 dinner tickets are being sold daily.

WAR BONUS.

In common with other large employers of labour, the Town Council is paying to many of its employees a liberal allowance in the shape of war bonus. This bonus ranges generally from 16/- to 25/- per week to various classes of employees. ' o

MILITARY SERVICE.

The number of Corporation employees who have joined the Forces is 678. The Council is generously paying many of these their full salary, less military pay and allowances. The number of casualties among the employees is 55 killed and 54 wounded, and the number who have been discharged from the Army is 76. ~

S 7D

o

E

Page 32

101

CHAPTER VL.

The common problem, yours, mine, everyone's, Is-not to fancy what were fair in life, Provided it could be-but finding first, What may be, then how to make it fair Up to our means. -Browning.

1.-List of Mayors. 2.-List of Members of the First Council. 3.-Liist of Members of the Present Council. 4.-List of Members of the Council, Past and Present. 5.-Liist of Present Co-opted Members of Certain Committees. 6.-List of Chief Officers of the Various Departments, Past and Present.

THEE lists given in this Chapter contain the names of those = who have assisted in building up the present municipal government of Huddersfield from small beginnings to its present gigantic dimensions as portrayed in the preceding pages. It would be difficult and somewhat invidious to specially mention any individual names, but it may be pointed out that the earlier group of men laid well and truly the foundations of the superstructure ; those of the middle period began many important additions, such as Tramways, Electricity, Schools, Parks, &c.; while those of the later period brought all the undertakings to their present successful condition. It will be admitted that all have worked with zeal and energy to promote the civic welfare of the ratepayers. If some individuals loom larger in the public eye than others, it should not be forgotten that the largest part of the work does not consist in public speech-making, but is done in the privacy of the Committee-room.

It would be an unjust act of omission if no acknowledg- ment were made here of the very valuable assistance in the

Page 33

102

work of the Council rendered by the Co-opted Members. From the time of the first formation of certain important Committees, such, for instance, as the Technical College Governors, the Education Committee, and Public and Art (Gallery Committee, a large proportion of non-members of the Council have been chosen to serve upon them. In this manner many leading citizens, both men and women, have ungrudgingly devoted a large amount of time in performing most useful public work. Some of these members have actually served as Chairmen or Vice-Chairmen of their respective Committees.

During recent years a number of New Committees have been constituted, and in accordance with Government regulations, they also contain a large number of non-members of the Council. These Committees include the following :- Old Age Pensions, National Health Insurance, War Pensions, Food Control, and others.

As these are Statutory Committees, and their business does not come under review by the Borough Council, the names of these Co-optative Members are not given. :

LIST OF MAYORS.

Charles Henry Jones, Esq., J.P. ... - 1868 Charles Henry Jones, Esq., J.P. _ ... c.. 1868-9 Charles Henry Jones, Esq., J.P. ... 1869-70 Charles Henry Jones, Esq., J.P. c.. - 1870-1 Wright Mellor, Esq., J.P., D.L. .. 1871-2 Wright Mellor, Esq., J.P., D.L. .. - 1872-3 Henry Brooke, Esq., J.P. .. _ 1873-4 David Sykes, Esq., J.P. .._ 1874-5 John Fligg Brigg, Esq., J.P. ... c.. 1875-6 Joseph Woodhead, Esq., J.P. 2.0 1876-7 Joseph Woodhead, Esq., J.P. c.. 1877-8 Alfred Walker, Esq., J.P. ... 1878-9 Alfred Walker, Esq., J.P. ... _ 1879-80 Thomas Denham, Esq., J.P. ... .. _ 1880-1 John Fligg Brigg, Esq., J.P. ... ... _ 1881-2 John Fligg Brigg, Esq., J.P. ... ... _ 1882-3 Wright Mellor, Esq., J.P., D.L. .. 1883-4 John Varley, Esq., J.P. sek ... - 1884-5

John Varley, Esq., J.P. .. 1885-6

Page 34

1083

LIST OF MAYORS--continued. . . 1886-7

Wright Mellor, Esq., J.P., D.L. Joseph Brooke, Esq., J.P. Joseph Brooke, Esq., J.P. Godfrey Sykes, Esq., J.P. Godfrey Sykes, Esq., J.P. Reuben Hirst, Esq., J.P. Reuben Hirst, Esq., J.P. John Joshua Brook, Esq., J.P. John Joshua Brook, Esq., J.P. John Lee Walker, Esq., J.P. ... John Lee Walker, Esq., J.P. ... William Henry Jessop, Esq., J.P. William Henry Jessop, Esq., J.P. George William Hellawell, Esq., J.P. Robert Mac Shaw, Esq., J.P.... Ernest Woodhead, Esq., M.A., J.P. ... Frederick Calvert, Esq. Richard Henry Inman, Esq., J P.o ... Benjamin Broadbent, Esq., M.A., J.P. Benjamin Broadbent, Esq., M.A., J.P. Owen Balmforth, Esq., J.P. ... Owen Balmforth, Esq., J.P. John Holroyd, Esq., J.P. John Holroyd, Esq., J.P. George Thomson, Esq., J.P. ... George Thomson, Esq., J.P. ... Joseph Blamires, Esq., J.P. Joseph Blamires, Esq., J.P. Joseph Blamires, Esq., J +P. Joseph Blamires, Esq., J.P. William Henry Jessop, Esq., J.P. William Henry Jessop, Esq., J.P.

Held 7th September, 1868.

1887-8 1888-9 1889-90 1890-1 1891-2 1892-3 1893-4 1894-5 1895-6 1896-7 1897-8 1898-9 1899-1900 1900-1 1901-2 1902-3 1903-4 1904-5 1905-6 1906-7 1907-8 1908-9 1909-10

1910-11 1911-12

1912-13 1913-14 1914-15 1915-16 1916-17 1917-18

MEMBERS OF THE FIRST COUNCIL OF THE BOROUGH.

ALDERMEN. Wright Mellor George Scholes Henry Brooke David Sykes Alfred Crowther Nathaniel Berry Thomas William Clough John Crawshaw James Crosland John Day David Binns John Priestley

Charles Henry Jones , Thomas Denham

Page 35

104

COUNCILLORS. WEST - WARD. William Lidster Charles Hirst Charles Henry Jones * Joseph Woodhead

David Sykes James Jordan

NORTH WARD.

Wright Mellor * Edward Clayton Robert James Hadfield

Henry Hirst, Junior John Fawcett

CENTRAL WARD.

Thomas William Clough * John Hellawell Joseph Hirst '

EAST - WARD.

Robert Appleton Joseph Benson Read Holliday

SOUTH - WARD.

John Eccles William White John Priestley *

anentrmensteme...s

MARSH WARD.

James Crosland * - ___ Alan Brook Haigh Daniel Calverley

FARTOWN WARD.

George Scholes * __ Joseph Stork Henry Lister -

DALTON, BRADLEY & DEIGHTON WARD.

Henry Brooke * Joseph Starkey James Scholes

MOLDGREEN WARD.

John Day * ’ _Joseph Byram Isaac Robson

* Elected Aldermen at the first meeting, viz., 7th Sept., 1868.

Page 36

6

the annual value of £6 were exempt from paying all rates levied by the Commissioners.

BOARD OF HIGHWAY SURVEYORS, 1840.

About the year 1840, there also existed a Board of Surveyors which met at the Pack Horse Hotel, in Kirkgate. This board was appointed by the inhabitants in vestry meeting assembled. Its duty was to keep the roads in good repair, and collect rates to defray the cost of same. If this duty was neglected, complaint might be made to the magistrates, who had power to grant a summons thereon, and if it was found that the highway was not in thorough repair, they might convict the surveyor in a penalty of five pounds, and order him to repair it within a limited period. A case is on record of a ratepayer residing in Thomas Street, who refused to pay his rate when Mr. Aquilla Houghton, the collector, demanded it, alleging as a reason that the road was in very bad condition. He also threatened to indict the board for their neglect of duty. This threat had the desired effect. Thomas Street was repaired, and the rate was duly paid. The right-hand man of the Old Board of Surveyors was Mr. Sam Sykes, who for many years was the working Surveyor.

PAROCHIAL CGONSTABLES ACT, 1845.

In 1845, the new Parochial Constables Act came into operation, which provided for the nomination and election of Day Constables by the inhabitants in public meeting assembled. In that year the late Wm. Townend (well-known to many now living) was appointed a Day Constable at a town's meeting, held in a room in the old Ramsden's Arms Yard, Cross Church Street, before the present hotel was built. A committee of ratepayers was also appointed at that meeting, which included Joshua Hobson and Laurence Pitkeithly, and this committee also appointed Mr. Sedgwick as a second Constable. Both Townend and Sedgwick were under the orders of the Chief Constable appointed by the Court Leet, viz. : Jonathan Leech, tinner and brazier, who had a shop in King Street, and who filled the office for several years,

Page 37

105 LOCKWOOD WARD.

Alfred Crowther * _William Dale Charles Crosland '

ALMONDBURY & NEWSOME WARD.

John Varley , Roger Houghton George Arlom

LINDLEY-CUM-QUARMBY - WARD.

Alfred Walker Benjamin Hall Hattersley Edward John Wood Waterhouse

__ MEMBERS OF THE PRESENT COUNCIL.

ALDERMEN.

_Joseph Berry, "'The Elms," Vernon Avenue, Architect & Surveyor. William Jepson, 66, Bentley Street, Lockwood, Boot & Shoe Maker. Wm. Hy. Jessop, J.P. (Mayor), Springfield, Moldgreen, Contractor. Hy. Pullon, M.B., C. M., The Crescent, Paddock, Physician & Surgeon. James Schofield, 107, Church Street, Paddock, Printer. Carmi Smith, J.P., 117, Victoria Road, Lockwood, Butter Merchant. Fred Lawton, 71, Perseverance Street, Primrose Hill, Yarn Spinner. Ernest Alexander Beaumont, 28, Queen Street, Chartered Accountant Joseph Blamires, J.P. (Deputy Mayor), Bradley Lodge, Manufacturer Brook Calverley, Quaker Row, Luck Lane, Marsh, Gentleman. Richard Hy. Inman, J.P., Colne Villa, King's Mill Lane, Mineral ' Water Manufacturer. Fred Marsland, Northfield, Thornhill Road, Brewer. Wm. Wheatley, J.P., 24, Portland Street, Newsagent. Ernest Woodhead, M.A., J.P., Grasmere Road, Gledholt, Journalist. James Albert Woolven, 21, West Parade, Wine and Spirit Merchant.

COUNCILLORS. No. 1.-LONGWOOD WARD. No. of Burgesses 1481.

Sam Brearley, 67, Thornhill Road, Longwood, Boot and Shoe Maker. John Wood Pilling, 923, New Hey Road, Longwood, Farmer. Stephen Stephens, 90, Longwood Road, Longwood, Druggist and Chemist. o

* Elected Alderman at the first meeting, viz., 7th Sept., 1868,

Page 38

106

No. 2.-LINDLEY _ WARD. - No. of Burgesses 1607.

Thomas Wm. Barnes, 2, Thomas Street, Lindley, Painter and Decorator. Richard Henry Robinson, 87, Cleveland Road, Master Plasterer. Ben Bottomley, 44, Holly Bank Road, Builder and Contractor.

No. 3.--BIRKBY WARD. - No. of Burgesses 1769.

Thomas Woffenden, 4, King Cliffe Road, Birkby, Printer. Arthur Sykes, 33, Birkby Crescent, Architect. Alfred Willis, Oakfield Road, Birkby, Wholesale Clothier.

cose

No. 4.-FARTOWN WARD. - No. of Burgesses 1431.

Arthur Stocks, 25, Fartown Green Road, Butter Merchant. George Thomson, J.P., Oakleigh, Regent Road, Worsted

. facturer. Thomas Canby, 10, Richmond Avenue, Fartown, Cloth Finisher.

No. 5.-DALTON, BRADLEY AND DEIGHTON WARD.

No. of Burgesses 1238. Rowland Mitchell, "The Grange," Newlands Road, Kirkheaton, Manufacturer. Law Taylor, 26, Clifton Terrace, Deighton, Postal Inspector. Thomas Topping, J. P., 121, Coweliffe Hill, Engine Driver.

No. 6.-MARSH WARD. - No. of Burgesses 1627.

Louis Demetriadi, M.D., D.P.H., Elm Crest, Queen's Road, Edgerton,

Doctor of Medicine. Hedley Peckett, Braeside, Blacker Road, Edgerton, Woollen Manu-

facturer. Emmanuel Hoyle, Heaton Road, Gledholt, Woollen Manufacturer.

No. 7.-PADDOCK WARD. - No. of Burgesses 1530.

Sam Hollingworth, Gowan Lea, Mount Joy Road, Gentleman. William Singleton, 157, Luck Lane, Paddock, Joiner. Thomas Shires, "Glenroyd," 67, GHedholt Bank, Yarn Spinner and Woollen Manufacturer.

No. 8.-WEST CENTRAL WARD. - No. of Burgesses 1292.

James Edward Jagger, 9, Fitzwilliam Street West, Grocer. Edward Harold Brown, Swiss Cottage, Crosland Moor, Printer and Stationer. Charles Buckley, 67, New North Road, Brush Manufacturer.

Page 39

107

No. 9.-NORTH CENTRAL WARD. - No. of Burgesses 1379.

John Hubert Platts, 268, Halifax Old Road, Gentleman. Josephus Schofield Gibson, Woodland View, Leeds Road, Wholesale Tripe Dresser. Henry Kilburn, 159, Bradford Road, Fish and Game Dealer.

s

No. 10.-SOUTH CENTRAL WARD. - No. of Burgesses 1353.

Albert Victor Day, Braeside, Dalton, Gentleman. George Hellowell, Glenfield, 64, Gledholt Road, Auctioneer & Valuer. John Edward Wood, 16, South Parade, Fish, Game and Poultry Dealer.

No. l11.-MOLDGREEN WARD. - No. of Burgesses 2067.

Arthur Halstead, 23, Lister Street, Moldgreen, Gentleman. John Herbert Robson, 48, Birkhouse Lane, Moldgreen, Dyer. Albert Quarmby, Pond House, Moldgreen, Gentleman.

s ae sett

No. 12.-ALMONDBURY WARD. No. of Burgesses 1719.

Joseph Kaye, Mayfield, Ashenhurst, Woollen Manufacturer. Arthur Samuel Moulton, 2, Kidroyd, Somerset Road, Printer. George EFrnest Beaumont, 18, Wormald Street, Almondbury, Traveller.

No. 13.-NEWSOME WARD. - No. of Burgesses 1727.

(George Alfred Boothroyd, 52, Taylor Hill Road, Lockwood, Textile - Worker. ' W. Dawson, Dudmanstone, Berry Brow, Stock Broker. Ernest Herbert Sellers, Glebe Royde, Blacker Road, Yarn Spinner.

qummmmmin w.

No. 14.-CROSLAND MOOR WARD. - No. of Burgesses 1888.

John Sykes, 5, Crosland Street, Crosland Moor, Commercial Traveller. William Robertson, 11, Westbourne Road, Marsh, Physician and Surgeon. Joe Shaw, "Lee Mount," 60, Blackmoorfoot Road, Crosland Moor, Quarry Owner.

No. WARD. - No. of Burgesses 1722.

John Beaumont Wood, 1, Meltham Road, Lockwood, Chemist and Optician. Walker Thomas Priest, 174, Woodside Road, Crosland Moor, Yarn Spinner. . Sam L. Quarmby, 6, Meltham Road, Lockwood, Furniture Dealer.

Page 40

108

MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL, PAST AND PRESENT.

Name.

Wright Mellor, J.P., D.L.

Henry Brooke, J.P. .. Alfred Crowther, J.P. Thomas Wm. Clough James Crosland, J.P. Do. David Binns ...

Charles Henry Jones, J P.

George Scholes David Sykes, J.P. Nathaniel Berry . John Crawshaw, J.P. John Day, J.P. John Priestley Thomas Denham, J.P. Joseph Woodhead, J.P. John Varley, J.P. Joseph Byram James Jordan Do. .. John Fligg Brigg, J.P. Henry Lister ... . Joseph Barrowclough Henry Hirst ... Reuben Hirst, J.P. ___Do. Alfred Walker, J.P. ... Do.

John Eccles ... Charles Glendinning J.P. Law Hopkinson .. Joseph Hirst (M.G.) ...

B. Schofield, J.P. (Edgerton)

George Brook... Godfrey Sykes, J.P. ... Joseph Brooke, J.P. Enoch Heppenstall .. Benjamin Hanson

Armitage Haigh

ALDERMEN. Entered.

1868 1868 1868 1868 1868 1879 1868 1868 1868 1868 1868 1868 1868 1868 1868

1871 ...

1871 1871

21-9-1872 19-10-1898 21-9-1872

1872 1873 1874 1874 1887 1874

. .. 21-3-1900 William Henry Aston, J.P. ...

1875

-1877

1883 1883 1883

1884.

1884 1885 1886 1886 1887 1887

Retired.

1892

. Oct., 1883

1874

Oct., 1872 Jan., 1874 .. .. 20 Jan., 1897... 1874 -

1872

Oct., 1872

1879 1871 1875

1871 _

1871 1883

April, 1887 .

1886

1873 1883 1883 1887

30-6-1903

1886

15-9-1908

1885 1892 1887 1888

1895 1895

... _ ... Dec., 1893 (a)... ... Feb. 6, 1894 4, 1906

1901

Died.

.. May 17, 1893

Nov., 1883 April, 1881 Dec., 1872

April 18, 1913

1874

.. Aug. 28, 1884

Dec., 1872

... Nov. 8, 1889 ... Nov. 5, 1890 4, 1875 ... Aug. 16, 1882 ... May 1, 1891 28, 1892

21, 1913

... Aug. 30, 1890 .. Oct. 18, 1884

... Oct. 17, 1899 22, 1899 ...Sep. 14, 1898 ...Feb. 4, 1900 6, 1896

.. May 9, 1910 . Dec. 8, 1909 4, 1877

1885

4, 1898 ... Mar. 10, 1903 ... Mar. 16, 1907 ... Nov. 30, 1906 ... Feb. 5, 1901 .. Feb. 13, 1896

Oct. 6, 1911

memes..

a Re-entered as Councillor, Nov.

Ist, 1903.

Page 41

109 ALDERMEN-continued.

Name. Entered. Retired. Henry George Duggan .. _ 1888 John Joshua Brook, J.P. ... 1890 ... John Taylor, J.P. ... .. 1890 _... 1895 William Schofield _ ... .. - 1891 _... Ben Stocks _... .. 1892 ... 1901 William Hy. Jessop, J P. ... 1892 ... John Lee Walker, J.P. .. - 1892 _... 10-11-1901

Geo. W. Hellawell, J.P. _ 17-1-1894 ... 15-8-1910

John Wm. Denham ... 21-2-1894 ... 16-10-1899 ... ... Feb. 4, 1904 ... Feb. 15, 1909 ... April 21, 1909

Frederick Calvert - ... ... ©1895 ... Sam Kendall ... .. 1895 ... 1907 Robert Mac Shaw, J.P. ..- 1895 _...

Richard Hy. Inman, J.P. Edward B. Woodhead 17-2-1897

Jimmy Firth . . 18-10- 1899 Ernest VVoodhead M. A ., J.P. 24-10- 1899 John Sugden, J.P. ... 24-10-1899 ... _ 1904 (6) David Hoyle Whitehead 20-2-1901 ... 1904

John Arthur Brooke, M.A., J.P. 1901 ... 1907

James Edw'd Willans, J.P. ... 1901 ... 6-11-1908

William Jepson .. __

Allen Gee, J.P. .. __ 19-2-1904 _... 10-11-1913 ...

Thomas Henry Moore, J.P. 1904 _... Owen Balmforth, J.P. .. 1904 _... 5-5-1909 Benjamin Broadbent, M.A., J.P.

15-3-1905 ... 10-11-1918 ... 11, 1911

J ohn Holroyd J.P. ... _- 25-4-1906 Henry Pullon, M.B., C.M. 17—40—4906 Andrew Chatterton ... .. 1907 _... . James Henry Aston ... .. 1907

Chas. Fredk. Sykes ... 30-10-1908 ... 16-10-1912 ... Edmund Swallow - ... 26-11-1908 ... 10-11-1913 ... Carmi Smith .. - 16-6-1909 _... sek 00 Elliott Hallas .. 1910 _... .. Ernest Shaw ... .. - 21-6-1911 ... 10-11-1913 ... James Taylor .» -- 4-12-1911 _... . Albert Whitworth _... 21-2-1912 ... 10-11-1913 ... James Schofield .. _- _ 19-6-1912 Joseph Berry c.. _ _9-11-1912 Ernest Alexander Beaumont _ 1913 Joseph Blamires, J.P. .. 1913 Thomas Cartwright ... c.. 1913

Died.

. Dec. 2, 1891 ... Dec. 20, 1896 ... Mar. 29, 1906 ... July 27, 1892 ... Feb. 27, 1911

23-1-1905

...June 2, 1911 ... April 5, 1906 ...July 23, 1916 . July 9, 1909

13-4-1916 3-2-1915

4-1-1914

6-5-1917

... Mar. 19, 1914

b Re-entered as Councillor, Oct. 29th, 1907, and retired lst Nov.,

1908.

Page 42

110 ALDERMEN-continued.

Name. Entered. Retired. William Wheatley, J.P. .. 1913 James Albert Woolven .. 1913 Fred Marsland 1-4-1914 Brook Calverley 17-5-1916 Fred Lawton ... 18-7-1917 COUNCILLORS. Name. _ Entered. Retired. William Lidster 1868 1873 Charles Hirst, J.P. ... 1868 1869 Joseph Woodhead, J.P. 1868 1871* James Jordan, Senr. 1868 1872* Do. _ 1889 1898 # Robert Skilbeck, J.P. 1868 1873 Henry Hirst ... 1868 1869 Do. _ ... 1869 1874* Edward Clayton ... _ 1868 1869 James Hadfield __ 1868 1868 John Fawcett 1868 Joseph Hirst (C) 1868 1870 Do. 1871 John Hellawell 1868 1871 Robert Appleton 1868 1870 Read Holliday 1868 1869 Joseph Benson 1868 1871 John Eccles 1868 William White 1868 1874 Daniel Calverley 1868 1875 Alan Brook Haigh 1868 1874 Henry Lister ... 1868 1873 Do. 1887 1890 Joseph Stork ... 1868 1871 James Scholes 1868 1869 Do. 1873 1888 Joseph Byram 1868 1871 * James Starkey 1868 Isaac Robson 1868 1870 Do. 1872 1875 Charles Crosland 1868 1868 William Dale 1868 1869 John Varley, J.P. 1868 1871 * George Arlom 1868 1875

Died.

Died.

... May 6, 1883 ... May 17, 1884 ... May 21, 1913 ... Oct,. 17, 1899 ...Jan. 13, 1894

... Dec. 6, 1896 ... Nov. 30, 1889

1869

... Nov. 22, 1872

... May 1, 1881 .. Oct. 22, 1881

Jan., 1885

3, 1888

1883 1884

... Aug. 23, 1907 ... May 1, 1878 ... May 20, 1877

... Sep. 14, 1898 ... Feb. 18, 1892 ... Nov. 13, 1896 .. Oct. 18, 1884

Jan., 1873

... May 25, 1885 22, 1870 ... Aug., 13, 1881 ... Aug. 30, 1890 ... May 11, 1884

* Elected Alderman.

Page 43

111

COUNCILLORS-continued.

Name. Roger Houghton Alfred Walker, J.P.

Edw. J. W. Waterhouse, J. P '

_Benjamin H. Hattersley John F. Brigg, J.P. ...

William Henry Aston, J.P.

Oates Bairstow Benjamin Thornton ... William Marriott, J.P. Do. (Ginnethon Dyson Joseph Barrowclough Law Hopkinson Enoch Sykes ... John Shaw (Lockwood) Reuben Hirst, J.P. Richard Porritt Do. James Christie John Turner ... Do. John Kirk - ... Joseph Wild ...

Sir Joseph Crosland, Kt., J. P.

Benjamin Dickinson Do. Daniel Eastwood John Eastwood Do. Benjamin Hanson Do. John Whitfield Walter Haigh... . Charles Wm. Keighley, J. P John A. Hopkinson ... _- Do. Do. Do. Joel Denham Henry Crosland Anthony Knowles Kaye Joseph Vickerman, J.P. John Crosland

Entered.

1868 1868 1868 1868 1868 1868 1868 1868 1868 1874 1868 1868 1868 1868 1868 1868

__ 1868

1873 1869 1869 1872 1869 1869 1869 1870 1881 1870 1870

1874 _ ...

1870 1884 1870 1870 1871 1871 1878 1884 1893 1871 1871 1871 1871 1871

Retired. 1874 1874* 1872 1871 1875* 1870 1872 1873 1880 1870 1883* 1870 1873 1874* 1871 1884 1878 1872 1874 1872 1872 1872 1873 1884 1876 1873 1877 ©1884 1887+ 1876 1872 1874 1877 1880 1887 1874 1874 1883 1874

...Jan. 25, ... Feb. 1

1 Died. 18, ... Dec. 8, ... Nov. 26, 1874 ... Sep. 22, ...July 4, ... Feb. 27, ... May 10,

... Oct. 6, ...July 20, ... Feb. 4, 10, 19, . 1874 . May 9,

.. Sep. 16, . _ July

... May 2, ... Mar. 11, ... May 19, .. Aug. 27,

2

...Jan. 12, . Feb. 6, ... Nov. 16, .. Sep. 13,

... Oct. 6, ... May 9, .. Oct. 22,

Nov.,

. July 7, ...June 6,

1881 1909 1880

1899 1877 1889 1876

1897 1878 1900

1903 1886

1910

1886

1, 1887

1879 1886 1891 1904

1896 1884

1891

1894 1908 1903

1895 1883 1877 1878 1893 1911

* Elected Alderman.

Page 44

112

COUNCILLORS-continued.

Name. Henry Pogson John Glaisyer Do. Henry Barker Samuel Binns... William Cocking William Marsden James Kenworthy Titus Calverley John Tetley Peter Conacher James Stott Joshua Whitworth Benjamin Beaumont Tom North Swift John Priestley

Charles Glendmmng, J P.

Charles Kaye William Radcliffe Do. Robert Whiteley Henry George Duggan Do. Allen Jackson Byram Littlewood George Henry Hanson Thomas Midgley John Haigh John Lunn John Broughton Benjamin Hall Abraham Horsfall Jonas Craven William Atkinson William Haigh Dyson William M. Jackson ... William Murphy Joseph Hirst (M.G.) ... William Hirst Do. Nathaniel Berry _ _-_ Do. Joseph Brooke, J.P.

Entered.

1872 1872 1875 1872 1872 1872 1872 1872 1872 1872 1873 1873 1873 1873 1873 1873 1873 1873 1874 1884 1874 1874 1883 1874 1874

1874

1874 1874 1874 1874 1874 1875 1875 1875 1875 1875 1875 1875 1875

__ 1898

1875 1881

-1876

Retired.

1874 1873 1879 1875

1875 1875 1875 1882 1876

1876 1876

_- 1876

1875

1883 *

1879

1878

1893 1877 1877

1888*

1880 1882 1886 1880 1883 1878 1886 1876 1876 1875 1878 1878 1887 1884

1884 1901 1878 1883

Died.

Mar.,

...-- Oct., ... Sep. 20, ... Aug. 8, . July 3, .. April 10, ... Mar. ... Feb. ... Mar. 6, ... Jan. 3, ... May 1, 1891 4, ... Jan.

... J an.

_ Feb. 5,

... Dec. ... Dec. ... Feb. 9, ... Mar.

.. Oct.

10,

14, 28,

10, 18,

. Dec. 2, ... Jan. 2, ... Aug. ... Dec. ... Mar. ... Mar. ... Mar. ... Nov. 25, .. June 9,

... Mar.

31, 25, 11, 21, 21, 14,

22, Ts 29, 16, F

... Nov. 5,

... Nov. 29, 1883

14, 1897

1873 1874 1890 1913 1876 1888 1894 1891 1906 1899 1883

1898 1900

1907 1885

1891 1907 1893 1905 1884 1895 1891 1886 1888 1878 1892

1887 1913 1895 1907 1909

1890

* Elected Alderman.

Page 45

Name. George Brook...

Benjamin Halstead ... Enoch Heppenstall ...

Do. Hiram Burley Do. Armitage Haigh John Wilson ...

George Gelder Edward Ellis ...

B. Schofield, J.P. (Edgerton)

Richard Riley Do. Do

James Sheard Kiurk ...

Abraham Spivey

Edward Greenwood ... B. Schofield (Mountjoy Rd.)

Thomas Drake Thomas Chrispin Do. Edwin Hedhill Joshua Littlewood

Godfrey Sykes, J.P. Edward B. Woodhead

Do. William Fillans Charles Vickerman John Sugden, J.P. Do. Do. Benjamin Oxley John Wimpenny

Anthony Huddleston

William Schofield Henry Horsfall

Thos. Godfrey Woodhead Daniel Fredk. Ed. Sykes

Joseph Clark ... George Walker

Edmund Henry Walker

John Cowgill ...

113 COUNCILLORS-continued.

3,

Died. ... Feb. 5,

28,

Oct. 6,

... Dec. 8,

.April 4,

...June 5,

..April 17,

... Nov. 30,

. Nov. 1,

15,

. Aug. 6, ...Jan. 28, ...April 21, . Oct. 27,

... Nov. 15, ...April 17,

. July 8,

... Feb. 13,

2,

...Jan. 14, 26,

... July 23,

...Jan. 18,

2, 27,

4,

... June 28, ... Oct. 5, ...April 26,

Entered. Retired. 1876 1884* 1876 1882 1876 1886* 1903 o 1876 1879 1880 ... 1889 1876 ... 1876 1888 1876 1879 1876 1882 1877 1884* 1877 1880 1883 1886 22-8-1898 1901 1877 1880 1877 1880 1877 1880 1878 1884 1878 1881 1878 1890 1892 1892 1878 1881 1878 1881 c.. 1878 1885* .s 1879 ... 1887 30-8-1892 ... 17-2-1897* 1879 1882 1879 1882 1879 1888 ... 23-10-1895 ... 24-10-1899*... 29-10-1907 1908 1880 1883 1880 1883 1880 1883 1880 1880 1886 1880 1883 ._ 1880 1883 1881 1881 1882 ... 1882 1888

1901 1896

1911 1891 1906

1891 1899

1904

1906 -

1917 1911 1903 1887 1891 1913

1901 1890 1902 1896 1911. 1902 1895

1916 1916 1901 1892

1897 1884 1892 1906

* Elected Alderman.

Page 46

114

COUNCILLORS-continued.

Name. Entered. Ephraim Mellor ©.. .._ 1882 Do. .. .._ 1885

William Hy, Jessop, J.P. ... 1882 (George William Hellawell, J.P.

Benjamin Wade __ ... ... 1882 Fred Carter _... ... 1883 John Hirst _ ... ... - 1888 Do. ... - 1891 Thomas Littlewood ... ... - 1888 Abraham Hellawell ... o... _ 1888 Ernest Alexander Beaumont 1883 Joseph H. Batley | ... ... 1883 Joseph Smith .. 1883 Do. c.. - 9-12-190l1 _... John Lee Walker, J.P. ... - 1883 Frederick Calvert - ... ... - 1883 R. H. Inman, J.P. ... ... - 1884 Do. .. 1886 R. Welsh .. - 1884 John Joshua Brook, J P. ... 1884 William Day ... .. 1884 Joseph Goodwin c.. 1884 Sam Kendall ... Col.. ... 1884 Robert Newton .. 1884 Joseph Brierly .. 1884 Ben Stocks - ... ... - 1885 John Scholes ... ... 1885 John Moorhouse ... 1885 Joseph Rayner ©. .. 1885 Benjamin Broadbent, M A., J. P. Aprll, 1886 John B. Matthewman ... 1886 George Moxon ... 1886 Do. .. - 1894 Henry Holland ... 1886 Do. ee .. - 1891 Peter MacGregor, J. P ... 1886 Do. ... 1890 John Shaw (Fitzwilliam St.) 1886 John Wm. Denham ... 19-5-1887 George Garton .. 1887

1890 1889

1898 1907 1912 1906

1905 1904

1907 1896 1914 1897 1909 1886 1893 1911 1901 1905 1900

1904 1904 1894 1917 1907

1905

Retired. Died. 1885 1904 1892* _ 17-1-1894* ... 1885 ~ 21, 1885 ... Nov. 1, 1884 1897 ... Dec. 27, 1891 1895 1886 ... Dec. 27, 1913* 1890 ...June 2, 1889 ... Feb. 1, 1892* ...Jan. 23, 1895* . Feb. 4, ° 1884 20-1-1897* ... 1891 ... Oct. 3, 1890* ... Dec. 20, 1890 ... Mar. 26, 1893 ... Mar. 3, 1895*¢ ... Feb. 15, ... - May, 1891 27, ... Feb. 27, 1891 ... May 17, 1903 ... Feb. 6, 1889 ... Sep. 26, 15-3-1905* ... _ 1887 ...June 8, 1889 1897 ... Feb. 10, 1889 ... Dec. 26, 1890 1892 ... Nov. 15, . 1888 ...Jan. 21, 21-2-1894* ... 1893 1890 . May 3,

John Culley _... ... 1887

* Elected Alderman.

Page 47

7 INCORPORATION REFUSED, 1841.

As already intimated, dissatisfaction arose with the system of local government then in operation, and in the year 1841, a committee of influential inhabitants was formed and public meetings were held in favour of applying for a Charter of Incorporation. A petition in support of the scheme was signed by 2,505 inhabitants representing a rateable value of £23,021. There was, however, considerable opposition raised by a wealthy minority, and a counter petition was organised with only 133 signatures, but representing a rateable value of £18,385. The application came before the Privy Council in due course, but the Charter of Incorporation was refused. It is believed the charter was on the eve of being granted, when, unfortunately, a change of government took place. The town had, therefore, to wait other twenty-seven years before receiving incorporation. Who can estimate the loss sustained by the inhabitants in various ways by this long interregnum %

IMPROVEMENT COMMISSIONERS, 1848.

The failure of the above attempt to obtain a charter was very discouraging to many people, and led them, a few years afterwards to make application for a new Local Improvement Act. In 1848, Parliament granted the Act which gave much greater powers for local improvement than previously existed, although its application was confined to the old boundary comprised in the Lighting and Watching Act of 1820. The Board of Improvement Commissioners, constituted under the Act of 1848, consisted of twenty-one members. Nir John Ramsden-as under the previous governing body-had the right of appointing three members ; the remainder were elected by the ratepayers annually, six retiring each year by rotation. The Commissioners' qualifications were either £30 ratal, or to be possessed of £1,000 personalty. The electors' qualifications were : Under £50 rating one vote, over £50 and under £100 two votes, and so on up to six votes if rated at over £250 per annum.

Page 48

115 COUNCILLORS-continued.

- Died. ... May 1, 1908 ... Nov. 25, 1907

21, 1910

...June 20, 1901 . Jan. 1, 1897

... 20-12-1893 11, 1907

... Dec. 27, 1912 ... Feb. 12, 1912

... July 20, 1898

.. Aug. 22, 1899

..Sep. 16, 1910

. 18-10-1899*... April 5, 1906

April 13, 1916 ... July 9, 1893 ... April 21, 1909

...June 11, 1915

... Feb. 15, 1912 24, 1916 June, 1899

... June 5, 1912 ... Mar. 26, 1897 -

... Sept. 1, 1902 ... June 14, 1900 11, 1893

Name. Entered. Retired. Thomas Bland, J.P. ... 1887 1896 John H. Stuttard _ ... ... _ 1888 1888 John Addy _ ... ... _ 1888 1891 Do. .. 1893 19-5-1899 John Taylor (Bradford Rd.) 1888 1891 William Dyson ... _ 1888 Joshua Drake c.. 1888 =... 1890 . William Jepson ... _ 1888 _... July 15, 1903* John Allen Sykes _ ... ... __ 1888 1890 James Isaac Brierley ... 1889 George Hesketh ... 1889 1892 Do. ... 1898 1899 Do. ... 1903 1912 John Sutcliffe ... 1889 1892 Henry Pullon, M.B., C.M. ... 1889 . 1901 Do. .. 1904 _ 17-10-19083*... David Whitford Orr ... _ 1889 1892 John Lee ... 1890 1895 (George Mellor .. 1890 1894 Henry Blamires ... 1890 1893 Jimmy Firth ... 2k .. 1890 Tom Brook _... .. 1890 1893 Do. .. 1903 1906 J. H. Aston _... .. 1890 1902 Do. .. 19083 1907 * Ephraim Poole c.. 1890 o... Robert Mac Shaw, J.P. ... 1890 1895* Benjamin Hirst .. 1890 1892 Alfred Ainley ... 1890 1891 Do. .. 1897 1906 Joseph Crosland (Lidget St.) _ 1890 1897 Do. do. 26-2-1906 _... 1906 . Abraham Graham _ ... ...- 1891 9, 1893 ... Elliott Graham ... _ 1891 1894 Frederick Crosland _... ... _ 1891 George Robert Munroe .. 1891 1894 John Brearley .. _ 1891 1897 J. H. Sterry ... .k 1892 1900 Joe Marshall ... .. 1892 James Redfearn k ... 1892 J. A. Woolven .. 1892 1913* Furness Longbottom .. 1892 1904

.. Sept. 7, 1911

* Elected Alderman.

Page 49

- 116 COUNCILLORS-continued.

Name. Entered. Retired. Died. Allen Gee, J.P. .. 1892 _... 19-2-1904* ... Oliver Oxley ... .. 1892 ... 1904 J. Walter Sykes 21-10-1892 _... 1894 .. David H. Whitehead 26-10-1892 ... 20-2-1901* ...July 9, 1909 Charles Moon .. 28-6-1893 ... 1898 ... July 21, 1912 Henry Roebuck .. 1898 =... 1899 ... Nov. 29, 1912 James Briggs .. 1898 =... ... Aug. 1, 1896 John Holroyd, J.P. ... .. 1893 ... 25-4-1906* 11, 1911

Alfred Jubb ... __... Dec. 22, 1893 ... _ 1894 Thomas Mellor (Fartown) ...Jan. 4, 1894 _ 1898 18-2-1901

Alexander Wallace ... 6-2-1894 Ernest Woodhead, M.A., J.P. Mar. 9, 1894 _ 24-10-1899*... Frederick Arthur Barras - ... 1894 1903 Fred Marsland 1894 _... 1900 Do. 7-9-1910 _... 1-4-1914* J. Lewis Sykes .. 1894 1897 F. H. Johnson 21-4-1894 1897 Benjamin Shaw 12-1-1895 1897 .. Do. 1900 ... Mar. 13, 1901 George Spivey 1895 1901 . Do. _ ... - 1904 .. April 18, 1906 James Shires ... 25-11-1895 ... .. 16-6-1901 Edward Cooper Armytage 25-11-1895... 12-11-1901 ... 8-6-1902 Joshua Oldfield 27-11-1895 1896 H.A. Whittell 22-8-1896 Thomas Cartwright ... ... _ 1896 1905 Do. 9-12-1908 ... Mar. 19, 1914 Thomas Lockwood ... 1896 1902 .. April 8, 1913 S8. A. Robinson 4-2-1897 1901 T. H. Moore, J.P. 2-3-1897 1904* .. E. Brooke, J.P. 4-5-1897 o... 28, 1898 E. Swallow 10-5-1897 ... 1903 .. Do. .. 1904 . _ 26-11-1908*... O. Balmforth, J.P. ... - 13-4-1897 1904* James Wilkinson -_ 1897 1900 .. Thomas Shaw 1897 ...Jan. 31, 1903 Tom Albert Cockin ... 1897 ... 1903 ©. Richard Garner 1897 _ ... 1903 .. Dec. 4, 1905 _- Joel Crosland 1897 ... Nov. 20, 1901 Joe Frost 6. 1898 1901 Geo. Thomson, J.P. ... 1898

* Elected Alderman,

Page 50

117

COUNCILLORS-continued.

Name. Entered. Elliott Hallas 7-6-1899 Alfred Beevers co... ... 1899 Joseph Berry ... 1899 John Quarmby .. ... 1899 Do. ... 1906 Alfred Sykes (Marsh) ... 1899 Charles Fredk. Sykes, J.P. ... 1899

William Carver Marshall 29-6-1900 Charles Herbert Bates 20-9-1900

William Joseph Barras .. 1900 Do. 22-11-1904 John Freeman Dyson ... 1900 Andrew Chatterton ... _ 29-1-1901

James John Finlayson __ 11-3-1901 George Holden Holdroyd - 2-4-1901

Henry Lawley .. 5-6-1901 Ernest Gordon Learoyd _ 6-7-1901 Charles Rolfe, B.A., M.D. ... 1901 Alfred Sykes (North) ... _ 1901 F. W. Robinson, M.D. ... 1901 Ernest Shaw ... .. 1901 Benjamin Briggs Dobson _... 1901 Charles Thomas E. Haigh ... 1901 Isaac Pogson ... c.. 1901 Ernest George Coward, M.B., C.M. ... ... _ 1901 Joshua W. Robson, J.P. 4-12-1901 William Henry Cook .. 1902 =... Harry Coulson Gledhill .. 1902 George Fredk. Spurdens _ ... 1902 James Taylor .. _- 24-2-19083 Allen Priest ... .. _- 29-7-1903 Albert Whitworth _ ... .. 1908 J. R. Ewart ... ... 1903 James Tetlow . ... _ 1903 Do. .. 1907 Jonathan Brook 5-3-1904 William Eastwood _... .. 1904 William Pickles .. 1904 James Schofield .. .. 1904 Carmi Smith ... ese o... 1904 William Wheatley, J.P. .. 1904

Do. .. - 1911

Retired. 1908

Died. 4-1-1914

9-11-1912* ...

1902 1909 1905

1901 1903 30-1-1905 1907+ 1901 1906 1908 1903 1907

1904 1904

... __ 3-2-1915

3-9-1900 14-5-1907

19--8-1910

... Oct 30, 1908 19-1-1917

_ 21-6-1911* .

1904 1910 1904

1904 1905

1905 1911

4-12-1911* ...

_ 21-3-1912* ...

1906 1906 1913 1904 1913 1910

1910 1913*

Oct., 1907 ...

... Jan. 7, 1905 ... Dec. 6, 1904

26-1-1917 17-6-1908

6-5-1917 ... April 28, 1906

... 19-6-1912* ... _ 16-6--1909* ...

bi Elected Alderman.

Page 51

Name.

Edgar Whiteley

Benjamin Riley, J.P.

John Dawson Ben Bottomley (G. H. Beaumont Lewis Ellis _ ... J. W. E. Seaton H. Thomas J. Walker J. H. Noble J. Walmsley ... (G. A. Boothroyd _- Do.

W. H. Murgatroyd

J. W. Lawton Law Taylor Do. Fred Lawton .

John William Malhnson Thomas William Barnes

Jabez H. Shaw E. H. Sellers ... Do. S. Padgett

118

COUNCILLORS-continued.

A. E. T. Hinchcliffe, LLB 22-11-1907...

T. S. Sparke ... Smith Ainley J. Blamires B. Calverley ... J. Cudworth ... C. E. W. Hallas W. Neaverson T. Shires S. Stephens Allen Marsden David Midgley Sam Brearley Rowland Mitchell Do. Joseph Haywood Arthur Halstead John Sykes

Entered. Retired. .. 1904 1907 22-11-1904 1909 - 1-3-1905 1909 4-4-1905 1905 .. 1905 1908 1905 1908 1905 1908 1905 1911 7fl5a1906 1911 [-I 1906 1907 17-5-1906 1906 15-12-1911 31-10-1906 1906 ... 1906 1909 1910 1906 .. 1906 1912 1906 .. 1906 1909 c.. 1907 1913 25-11-1913 1907 1913 1908 22-11-1907 1912 1908 1911 1908 1913* ... 1908 _ 17-=5-1916* ... ._ 1908 1911 1908 .. 1908 1911 1908 1908 .. 1~7 1909 1913 11-9-1909 1914 1909 .. ... 1909 2-3-1915 ... 1909 1912 1909

1909

Died.

24-4-1917

.. Oct. 19, 1909

. April 7, 1912

1-12-15

.. Aug. 20, 1909

ree

* Elected Alderman.

Page 52

119 COUN OILLORS—continued.

J. 8. Gibson _... H. Kilburn W. Robertson W. Schofield ... . V. Day . E. Beaumont Buckley Hollingworth . Hoyle . Hellowell ... . Quarmby ... . H. Robinson Wilfred Dawson Joseph Kaye ...

# >» o 8 m o o»

25-11-1913 25-11-1913 25-11-1913 25-11-1913 24-4-1914 1914 .. 1914 11-6-1916 18-10-1916 17-1-1917 21-3-1917 15-3-1917 99-11-1917

16-8-1916

Name. Entered. Retired. Died. J. E. Kaye 6-11-1909 _... 1911 30-14-1917 Jos. Barlow 1910 _... 21-2-1917 J. T. Armitage 1910 _-... 1913 T. W. Hesketh 22-11-1910 1914. A. Sykes --- _ b-7T-1911 J. H. Platts _- 24-10-1911 -T. Canby . 1911 S. L. Quarmby 1911 J. Shaw 1911 _... F. Sheard 1911 _ 20-12-1916 ... T. Topping, J.P. 1911 A. Willis c.. 1911 J. E. Jagger ... 8-3-1912 E. H. Brown ... W. Singleton ... 3-7-1912 T. Woffenden 1912 A. Stocks , 1912 Lt.-Col. LL. Demetriadi, M.D., D.P.H. 1912 26-10-18 J. B. Wood 1912 J. E. Wood 21-11-1912 H. Dawson 1913 18-7-1917 H. Peckett 1913 J. W. Pilling ... 1913 W. T. Priest ... 1913 A. S. Moulton 1913 J. H. Robson 1913

NoTE.-Where the month of the year is not given, the member entered or retired in November of that year.

Page 53

Year appointed.

1907 ©1912 1903 1917 1903 1917 1914 1912

1885 1899 1906

1907 1907 1908 1910 1912 1913 1914 1915 1915 1916

1917 1917 1917

1897 1908 1909 1909 1903 1910 1898 1898 1897 1916

120

PRESENT CO-OPTED MEMBERS OF CERTAIN COMMITTEES.

EDUCATION - COMMITTEE.

Name. Mrs. R. Nelson Mrs. H. Glaisyer Mr. J. A. Brooke, M.A., J.P. Mr. F. K. Sykes Mr. J. E. Willans, J.P. Rev. Canon A. D. Tupper-Carey, M.A. Rev. D. C. Tincker Rev. M. McCarthy

cmmunmen wat

TECHNICAL COLLEGE - GOVERNORS.

Mr. J. A. Brooke, M.A., J.P. Mr. J. E. Willans, J.P. County Alderman P. R. Jackson, J.P. (representing W.R.C.C.) Miss Siddon Mr. 1D. R. H. Williams _ Dr. E. Walker Mrs. Nelson Mrs. Glaisyer County Councillor S8. Jagger (representing W.R.C.C.)

Rev. D. C. Tincker

Mr. J. Lockwood Mr. J. Turner Professor J. B. Cohen (representing the University of Leeds) Mr. H. A. Bennie Gray

Rev. Canon Tupper-Carey Mr. F. K. Sykes

4D com . mons

PUBLIC LIBRARY AND ART GALLERY COMMITTEE.

Mr. F. W. Armitage Mr. A. E. T. Hinchcliffe, LL.B. Mr. W. H. Hughes Mr. J. W. Piercy, LL.B.

._ Mr. G. T. Porritt, F.L.S.

Mr. William Ramsden, J.P. Dr. Edward Walker Mr. John Watkinson Mr. J. E. Willans, J.P. Mr. A. Whitworth

Page 55

J. HENRY FIELD, O.B.E., LL.B.

TowWwN CLERK.

Page 56

121

CHIEF OFFICERS OF THE VARIOUS DEPARTMENTS.

Year appointed.

1868 1885 1890 1895 1903

BOROUGH _ TREASURERS AND

ACCOUNTANTS :-

1868 1876

TrEAsURERS :-

1868 1877 1886 1900 1910

1868 1879 1897

1873 1877 1890 1896 1901

1869 1871 1882 1891 1912

PAST AND PRESENT.

TOWN CLERKS.

Name. Joseph Batley George Ballamy Nalder Henry Barber, LL.B. Frederick Charles Lloyd Joseph Henry Field, LL.B.

ACCOUNTANTS.

(George Swanson Samuel Collins Potts

Edward Sikes Edward Watkinson George Dunhill Moxon Samuel Collins Potts Ernest Dyson, F.S.A.A.

BOROUGH - ENGINEERS.

J. B. Addy, M.Inst.C.E. R. S. Dugdale, M.Inst.C.E. K. F. Campbell, M.Inst.C.E., M.LM.E.

MEDICAL OFFICERS OF HEALTH.

J. B. Pritchett, M.D.

J. Spottiswoode Cameron, M.D., M.R.C.S8. J. R. Kaye, M.B., D.P.H. E. (¢. Annis, M.R.C.S., LR.C.P. S. G. Moore, M.D., D.P.H.

WATERWORKS - MANAGERS. C. K. Hare

... _ J. B. Abbey

J. H. Stanway J. W. Schofield J. W. Armitage

Page 57

Year appointed.

1871 1892 1898 1915

1885 1901 1904

1891 1916

1891 1894 1897

1876 1880 1888 1906 1908

122 GAS ENGINEERS.

Name. J. Burgess W. R. Herring E. A. Harman H. Singleton, M. Inst.C.E.

.... cam + one m atat

TRAMWAYS - MANAGERS.

J. Pogson H. N. Thomas , R. H. Wilkinson, A.M.I.E.E.

ELECTRICAL - ENGINEERS.

A. B. Mountain M.Inst.C.E., (Consulting Engineer) J. W. Turner, A. M.I.E.E.

sSUPERINTENDENTS OF SCAVENGING DEPARTMENT.

J. W. Wilson James Jackson W. J. Downey

vip

SUPERINTENDENTS OF MARKETS.

J. A. Wheelan Robert Wray George Matthewman Frank Matthewman William Ellis Harris

INSPECTORS OF WEIGHTS AND MEASURES.

1876 1906

1867 1875 1879 1897 1917

Geo. Matthewman Wflliam FE. Warwick

CHIEF CONSTABLES.

James Withers Henry Hilton John Ward John Morton John W. Moore

Page 58

8

For twenty years this was the local governing body having jurisdiction, however, in that portion of the township only which is within a radius of 1,200 yards from the centre of the market place, and including a population of 24,100, with a rateable value of £100,108.

The Improvement Commissioners performed many useful acts. They opened the Cemetery and the Model Lodging- house ; they constructed new streets, laid down over eight miles of main sewerage, leased the market tolls from Sir John Ramsden, and provided an effective Police Force.

SECOND AGITATION FOR INCORPORATION, 1867.

In 1867, the movement in favour of applying for a Charter of Incorporation was renewed, not because of any dissatis- faction with the Commissioners, but because the town was increasing in importance and population. It should be remembered that in the area included in the present County Borough there were prior to its incorporation no less than eleven governing bodies :-The Huddersfield Improvement Commissioners, and the Local Boards of Marsh, Deighton, Bradley, Fartown, Lindley, Lockwood, Moldgreen, Almond- bury, Newsome and Longwood. Each of these had separate and independent jurisdiction, and it will be readily under- stood that it was impossible under such cireumstances to secure that harmony and unity of action on subjects of common importance which the public welfare required. For such purposes as increasing the water supply, and im- proving the drainage, and methods of local government generally, it was felt desirable that the outlying populous districts should be joined to the existing borough.

Accordingly, in May, 1867, the Improvement Commissioners unanimously adopted the following resolution :-* That, having regard to the position of Huddersfield and adjoining districts, with respect to population, unity of commercial and public interests, and necessity of increased water supply, for which, and for other purposes, a more united system of local government would be advantageous, it is, in the opinion

Page 59

123

PRINCIPALS & SECRETARIES-TECHNICAL COLLEGE

SECRETARIES ;-

Year appointed. Name.

1842 G. P. Beaumont and J. F. Brigg 1845 R. Neil 1846 (+. S. Phillips 1854 F. Curson 1862 W. F. Crook 1864 J. Bate 1879 D. Sharman 1882 A. Keen 1894 T. Thorp PRINCIPALS :- 1894 G. F. Turpin 1896 _... S. G. Rawson 1904 _... J. F. Hudson, M.A., B.Sc. CLERKS TO THE SCHOOL BOARD AND SECRETARIES OF EDUCATION. 1871 Otho Giles Abbott 1881 & 1903 ... George Gaunt 1909 Owen Balmforth, J.P. PUBLIC LIBRARIANS AND CURATORS. Year appointed. Name. 1897 A. G. Lockett 1909 F. C. Cole

(00

REGISTRARS - OF

1857 John Cork 1872 Thomas G. Hutchinson 1876 James Firth 1895 Joe Firth

REGISTRAR - OF

EDGERTON CEMETERY.

LOCKWOOD CEMETERY.

1902 Joe Firth STATIONERY MANAGER. 1914 Samuel Guise

Page 60

124 BOROUGH ORGANISTS.

Year appointed. Name, 1881 ... Joshua Marshall .._ J. E. Sykes , , 1891 _.... Arthur Pearson, Mus. Bac., F.R.C.0O.

SUPERINTENDENT OF TOWN HALL. 1881 _... Willans Sharp

MAYOR'S ATTENDANT AND MACE BEARER. 1884 _... Willans Sharp

Page 62

PRESENTATION OF THE FREEDOM OF THE BOROUG

Page 63

125

CHAPTER VII. (Suprormmntary).

Tur JUBILEE CELEBRATIONS. Ring out the old, ring in the new.-Tennyson,.

A S the work of compiling this book was not completed ® © _ until after the Jubilee Celebrations of the Incorporation of the Borough had taken place, it was deemed advisable that some account of those proceedings should be included herein.

The following account is re-printed from the " Hudders- field Examiner '" of September 21st, 1918 :- '

BOROUGH JUBILEE.

Six New Freemen.

Members of the Borough Council celebrated the Jubilee of the incorporation of the Borough on Wednesday afternoon by making six gentlemen, ° persons who have rendered eminent services to the borough," honorary freemen of the borough. Previous to Wednes- day afternoon, the roll of freemen contained four names only-Lieut.- Colonel Sir Albert Rollit, Colonel Charles Brook, of Durker Roods, Meltham, Colonel Harold Wilson, Mirfield, and Mr. William Brooke, of Honley. Seven previous presentations of the freedom had been made, but on no single occasion were there more than two gentlemen the recipients of the honour, so that the ceremony was without pre- cedent in the large number of the new freemen. The six gentlemen presented with the freedom were the Mayor (Alderman W. H. Jessop), Alderman E. Woodhead. Councillor G. Thomson, Mr. B. Broadbent, Mr. J. A. Brooke, and Mr. J. E. Willans.

The ceremony was held in the Town Hall, and there was a large attendance of the public. . Members of the Council were seated in half- circle on the platform, and the ceremony was conducted in the manner of a special meeting of the Council, open to the view of the Town Hall

Page 64

126

audience. - In each case the resolution that the freedom of the borough be conferred was carried unanimously, and the new freemen then signed the roll of the freedom, and was presented by the chairman with an illuminated seroll. - The new freemen were each to be presented with the seroll in an oak casket, but unfortunately the caskets were not completed, so that the presentation of the casket will have to be made on a later occasion.

The sceroll is a beautifully-designed vellum. The design surround- ing the wording of the Council's resolution conferring the freedom is illuminated in several colours and gold. - Beneath the words " County Borough of Huddersfield " are the borough arms in heraldic colours, - supported on both sides by a spray of conventional white roses for Yorkshire, over a panel containing the words °" Certificate of Free- dom." Issuing from behind the panel and drooping down the side of a suggested scroll edged with gold, is an ornament of quiet colours terminating in a few bell-shaped flowers. - The whole work has a quiet, rich effect, and is executed in the best style of illuminating art. It is the work of Messrs. Brook and Learoyd, Huddersfield.

In further commeration of the Jubilee it has been decided to provide four tablets to be placed in the Council Chamber, recording the names of the past Mayors and Town Clerks, members of the first Council, members of the present Council, and honorary freemen, and a book recording important events in the life of the municipality, to be edited by Mr. Owen Balmforth, is to be published. - "Jubilee scholar- ships '' are also to be established, and £500 per annum has been set aside for this purpose.

A holiday was given in all the public schools on Wednesday to impress the occasion on the minds of the children, that they might in after years be interested in public service and a suitably designed card was presented to each scholar as a memento. 'The head teachers of the schools in many cases explained the meaning of the occasion to the children, and at the Girls' High School, (Greenhead, Alderman Wood- head, chairman of the Education Committee, gave an address on the invitation of Miss Hill, the head mistress, in which he encouraged the girls to utilise the period of education as fully and as long as possible in order to qualify for the much greater share, direct as well as indirect, which women were going to have in the public life of the country.

HISTORIC OCCASION."

Before the proceedings began the Council met in the Council Chamber and elected Alderman E. A. Beaumont to preside. The Town CrErK (Mr. J. H. Field) read letters of apology for non-

attendance from the following :-Alderman Blamires (Deputy Mayor), Alderman Inman, Messrs. T. W. Armitage (Clerk to the Guardians),

Page 65

NTATION CASKET

AINING CERTIFICATE OF THE FREEDOM OF THE BOROUGH,

O N

~C A

C

PRES

18TH SEPTEMBER, 1918.

Page 67

CERTIFICATE OF THE FREEDOM OF THE BOROUGH, PRESENTED 18TH SEPTEMBER, 1918

Page 70

127

Col. Liddell, John Stewart, Major Chas. Brook, Colonel Harold Wilson, Arthur J. Brook, Lady Brooke, Messrs. P. R. Jackson (Skelmanthorpe), William Gibson (Manchester), William Warde (Liverpool), J. E. Broadbent (Reading), Geo. Falkner (Mayor of Altrincham), Miss Siddon, and Councillor Mitchell.

The CHAIRMAN regretted the illness of the Deputy Mayor, with whom they all sympathised, and hoped he would have a speedy recovery,. - The absence of Alderman Blamires placed him in the honourable position as the second member of the Council to preside on that historic occasion. They were met to mark the completion of the first fifty years of municipal authority. If the times had been normal they would doubtless have celebrated the occasion in typical Yorkshire fashion. - But it was felt that they could not let the occasion pass by without some recognition ; it was only right that they should mark the event in a manner consistent with the terrible times through which they were passing. 'There were six candidates for the freedom of the borough, and he was confident that the new freemen would not value the less the caskets because they were not of so costly a type as hitherto. - After referring to the other means of celebrating the Jubilee of the borough, the Chairman said that a few months ago he ventured to suggest the creation of a greater scheme for Huddersfield, and he hoped that fifty years hence his successor in that position would be able to congratulate the " city ' on having exceeded his ideas of to- day. The times were strenuous, but he hoped they would march forward and make the town second to none on earth. They had exceptional opportunities, and they must push on. A great responsibility rested upon the new electors to send to the Council Chamber the best men, not simply as politicians, but men who had the welfare of the town at heart. They had with them that day, and cordially welcomed them, two of their freemen. - Lieut.-Col. Sir Albert Rollit-(applause)-was the senior freeman. Just over forty years ago he made Nir Albert's acquaintance in his own court at Hull. (Laughter). He remembered asking Sir Albert if he would put his case first as he wanted to get home, and Sir Albert said he would do anything for those who came from Huddersfield. (Laughter). Sir Albert gave him a verdict and costs-(laughter)-and he came home with a very high impression of him, which had never lessened since. (Laughter and applause). - Their second freeman, Mr. William Brooke- (applause)-was the most beloved and highly-esteemed man in the district. To mention his name was enough, for it represented all that was good and true. (Applause).

THE MAYOR'S LONG RECORD.

Councillor J. S¥yxEs moved the formal resolution to add the name of Alderman W. H. Jessop, Mayor, to the roll of honorary freemen of the borough. He differed from the Mayor politically, and had no doubt there were many "isms ' on which he and the Mayor did not

Page 71

128

agree. - But the freedom of the borough was a great and public honour, and the price of it was a good name well earned in service for the public good. ""Something attempted, something done." By this test Alderman Jessop stood well. (Applause). He had rendered yeoman service for the public good, and was doing so still. (Applause). When _ he read, sometime ago, the career of Alderman Jessop in the °" Hudders- field Examiner,'' and remembered that the newspaper was not noted for Conservative leanings, but rather for public criticism, he said, '* Well done, Alderman Jessop." Alderman Jessop had left foot- prints in the streets not only of Huddersfield, but of other towns. But public monuments or any stone arrangements did not account for the estimation in which Alderman Jessop was held. In voluntary and self-denying labours he had done what he could to make Hudders- field a desirable place to live in, and he had not laboured in vain. He had filled many important offices, and had discharged the duties to the satisfaction of all with whom he had been connected. His municipal career had been unique. He had never had the pleasure of being opposed at municipal elections, or the experience of being dropped as _ an alderman in the Council. (Laughter). Such an experience might have developed patience, and patience experience. But now it was too late; he had out-distanced the conditions. (Laughter). Alder- man Jessop had carried the fame of Huddersfield into other towns, and London itself had forestalled Huddersfield in granting him honours such as they were seeking to confer upon him that day. Officials had come and gone, but Alderman Jessop had remained all along, until he had now become father of the Council, and a good-looking father he was. (Applause). The Council had reason to be proud of their pro- genitor. - During Alderman Jessop's present Mayoralty there had been war-time sorrows and war-time honours, and his services had been readily and sympathetically given not as Mayor, but as a man. (Applause). He had frequently heard the remark, " We shall never forget the kindness of Alderman Jessop." These were gems for his freeman's crown. (Applause).

The CHAIRMAN, in seconding the resolution, said it was difficult to deal as he had with the Mayor's private career, for his worship did not always let his right hand know what his left hand did. He (the speaker) had had the privilege of over forty years' close and intimate friendship with him, and regarded him as his dearest friend. They had worked together in public and private, and so far a cross word had never passed between them. Alderman Jessop had in hundreds of cases acted as a benefactor to his fellow-men, and had been a true and sympathetic friend to many. Few men had lived such a long and useful life, and he was held in esteem and affection by countless numbers of people.. Might many years elapse before he heard the Great Architect of the Universe say °" Well done, thou good and faithful servant," (Applause). '

Page 72

a*~ E p e cc“ J

3) 'r commemoration of the of the 0000 -_ Incorporation of the Borough 00000000 het Presented to each in attendance at the Schoot's of the Education Huthority.

PVH Yesac.

MmMAYyorR

0 e * & U O ** & * ® « + ** , *% R U e *

September 1918.

Town Hall, HUDDERSFIELD. -

PRESENTATION CARD TO SCHOLARS, SEPTEMBER, 1918.

Page 74

129

The Mayor, in reply, said it was not easy to reply to such a resolution. Like every public man he had had kind things said about him in friendly gatherings, and at other assemblies he had heard things said that were not quite so friendly. (Laughter). But on that occasion he was specially indebted to the proposer and seconder of the resolution {or the kind things they had said. He had heard it said that voluntary service was not worth very much, and to use a vulgar term that public men got more kicks than ha'pence. This, however, did not apply in his case. The voluntary service that had entitled him to be placed on the roll of freemen of the borough had been a work of pleasure . (Applause). Like all men who rendered public service he had had to sacrifice leisure and pleasure, but he had done it cheerfully, and enjoyed it. - He had had very great compensations, and the event of that day-- when he had been thought worthy of the highest honour the Council could confer-was one of the greatest compensations he could have. (Applause). The honour was enhanced by the association with him in that event of five colleagues who had rendered long and faithful - service to the borough. He hoped they would have another opportunity of celebrating the Jubilee of the borough. He expressed particular pleasure at the presence of his friends Sir Albert Rollit and Mr. Wm. Brooke. He had the honour of speaking to the resolution when the latter was made a freeman, and as Mayor twenty years ago he was present when the father of one of his colleagues, Alderman Woodhead-(applause)-and Sir Joseph Crosland-(applause)-were presented with the freedom of the borough. He was proud of his native town, and hoped it would realise the prospect of the great future that seemed to be opening out before it. (Applause).

A FAMILY - RECORD.

Alderman BERRY, in moving that Alderman Ernest Woodhead be admitted a freeman, said that Alderman Woodhead's splendid record of public service was widely known. He entered the Town Council in March, 1894, was elected alderman in November, 1899, and occupied the position of Mayor in 1901-2. He had always taken a very active part in the work of the Corporation, having served on the following committees : Education, Electricity, Finance, Highways, Housing and Town Planning, Health, Public Library and Art Gallery, Parlia- mentary, Watch and Waterworks-a record of varied activity which spoke for itself. Alderman Woodhead officiated as chairman of the Finance Committee from 1899 to 1901 and from 1908 to the present time. During the whole of the latter period from 1908 the borough rate has been fixed at 7s. 6d. in the £, with the single exception of the year 1915, when it was increased to 7s. 10d., being, however, again reduced to 7s.6d. the following year. Although Alderman Wood- head was not responsible for all the spending departments of the Corporation, he, as chairman of the Finance Committee, had kept a watchful eye on expenditure, and the present healthy financial position

Page 75

130

was highly satisfactory to all ratepayers, especially when the extra- ordinary expenditure caused by the war was borne in mind. - He was a member of the old School Board, and is now one of the governors of the Technical College. Last year he accepted the very important position of chairman of the Education Committee, a position requiring much time, patience, and ability. - Many important matters had arisen out of the new Education Bill, and they had every confidence that under the guidance of Alderman Woodhead as chairman these matters would receive proper and just consideration. Alderman Woodhead occupied what he (the speaker) considered a somewhat unique position. He was the only member of the Borough Council, since its formation, who had followed his late father, firstly as a member of the Council, secondly as an alderman, thirdly as Mayor, and fourthly now as an honorary freeman. With the exception of a period of six years the Woodhead family had been represented on the Town Council ever since the borough was incorporated. This was indeed a record of which the family might be justly proud. (Applause).

Councillor STEPHENS, in seconding, said that he had known Alderman Woodhead for 35 years as a useful worker in this town. - The conferring of this honour upon Alderman Woodhead was not a polite intimation to him that they would have no further need for his services. (Laughter). It was to signify to him that he had served well as a faithful public servant, and it was one way to express our gratitude to him for his valuable services, and also their regard and friendship for him. - They felt grateful that in Alderman Woodhead they had a good man, a true friend, a loyal citizen, who was eminently qualified to undertake the many exacting demands made upon his time. He was fortunate in having had parents who discovered early that he was in the world to do some good work, so they gave him a liberal education and thus enabled him to prepare himself for his life's work and to help the world along. While they were thankful to Alderman Woodhead for his services they owed much to the good people who gave him his training. The town owed much to the house of Woodhead, and he said with pride that the world was all the richer in knowledge because of the researches, discoveries, and writings of Col. Sims Woodhead, who was known not only in Europe but was famous throughout the world for his contributions to science. Might Alderman Woodhead's - influence and his example as a public man be a call to other men and women to render service to the town which gave them home and pro- tection, so that good men might not be wanting when important and difficult work was to be done. In conclusion, Councillor Stephens read a letter from a girl attending the Spark Hall Council School thank- ing the members of the Corporation for the good things provided for the people during the past fifty years.

Alderman WOODHEAD, in reply, thanked the mover and seconder of the resolution for their most kindly references to himself, and the

Page 76

131

appreciation of any services that he had endeavoured to render to the town. He had not half realised what he would have liked during his thirty years' experience of the Corporation and the School Board. If he might claim any credit at all for work done in connection with the Council it was because he was not sure on looking back that it was exactly the work that he would have chosen as that for which he was most fitted. As a lad he had ambitions and aspirations of becoming an author. Circumstances over which he had no control prevented him from having the choice of his career. With his succession to his father in the conduct of the newspaper which his father founded, he succeeded naturally to much of the public work that his father had done. The result had been on the whole to make him highly satisfied not to have made his own choice. He had found, however, that the newspaper with which he had been associated had been a great deal limited, and had had to suffer, from the fact that first his father and then himself had been connected with the Council. It would have been unfair to discuss at length in the newspaper matters which one had had an opportunity of debating in the Council. A great deal of comment had had to go by the board because they had thought it unfair to make use of information obtained from "inside" the Council. That day they did not merely celebrate the lapse of fifty years but the work that had been done and the progress that had been achieved during that period. People who were born amongst present conditions could not realise the great progress those fifty years had witnessed. The very fact that they were born into those conditions, when it was possible to live enlightened and satisfactory lives, carried with it the respon- sibility of increasing the benefits for those who came afterwards. The Council had recognised not so much individual merit as the service of others who had been filled with the same desire for the public good and the same determination that Huddersfield should in future make such strides as would be worthy of the high ideals and aims and the warm wishes of those who dwelt in it, and who loved it so well. (Applause). In concluding, he thanked those, often unseen and unrecognised, who by their self-sacrificing work enabled those whose work was recognised to do what they succeeded in doing-in his own case the able and loyal officials of the Corporation, his father and brother in partially freeing him in business, his wife in warding off many of the worries of life and setting him free for public work, and his colleagues in the Council for

support and courtesy and consideration when they differed in opinion. (Applause).

"ACTIVE FOR HIS TOWN'S GOOD."

Alderman WuratLEy, who moved that Councillor George Thomson be admitted to the freedom, said that five years ago he had the pleasure of supporting the admission of Mr. William Brooke. He had great pride in doing that, and that day he had as great a pride in moving

Page 77

132 that resolution. A citizen who had passed through life over seventy years onwards, and who had not been torn to pieces by the public was worthy of the freedom of the borough. (Laughter and applause). Councillor Thomson had been active for his town's good, for his country's good, for the last fifty years. For a long time he had taken an interest in the old Mechanics' Institute, and he had played a gallant part in watching over the management of the Technical College. He had also had the honour of being chairman of their excellent Education Committee. They all knew him. They all had seen him travelling from this institution and that doing their work, doing it for them. The Council had chosen wisely in selecting that citizen to receive that honour. (Applause).

Alderman WoorvEn seconded, and congratulated upon his return to more robust health. Councillor Thomson, he said, had been a member of the Huddersfield Town Council for nearly twenty years. - 'They didn't always see eye to eye, but in Councillor Thomson they had always a temperate man in whatever subject they discussed. He had always taken a great interest in education, and had been chairman of the Public Library and Art Gallery Committee. He (the speaker) had met him on the Finance, Electricity, Highways, and Mental Deficiency Committees. He had also represented the Council on the West Riding Asylums Board, and he served as Mayor in 1910-11 and 1911-12. Any man who sought information on Corporation matters went to Councillor Thomson. The firm with which he was associated was transformed into a co-partnership concern in 1886. He thought it was a great pity that other firms had not followed in the same way. The concern was on the right lines, and it would secure better feeling between capital and labour.

Councillor 'F'x®omsoNn, returning thanks, said that he was born in Lowerhead Row in 1842, and whilst his mother was nursing him the factory of Swain and Webbs was attacked by the plug rioters. His earliest share in public life was his appointment as hon secretary for the Mechanics' Institute. He was also the hon. secretary of the com- mittee to put forward Nonconformist and undenominational candidates for the School Boards. As chairman of the Education Committee he had helped to achieve what had been partly the dream of his life- the establishment of good secondary schools. And they (the secondary schools) had done wonderfully for them. (Applause). He had marvelled when he saw the young girls from the high school with their fine general bearing. (Applause).

Alderman CARMI SMITH, in moving the resolution in regard to Mr. B. Broadbent, referred to the influence of Mr. Broadbent's parents, his brother, the late Sir William Broadbent, and other members of the family. Mr. B. Broadbent served on the Town Council from 1886 to 1913, a period of twenty-seven years' continuous service. He was Mayor for two years, 1904-5 and 1905-6. It was a great joy to him

Page 78

133 (Alderman Smith) to enter the Council in the year that Mr. Broadbent became Mayor, and he had very pleasant recollections of the wonderful speech when he made his offer to every child born in Longwood who lived twelve months. That set on foot a movement which had been widely copied. In connection with baby welfare the name of Broadbent had spread throughout the whole wide world. (Applause). The scheme had been for the good not only of Huddersfield but of the country generally, and he believed it would influence baby life all the world over. Mr. Broadbent was the chairman of the Health Committee for eleven years, and managed to close about fifty cellar-dwellings. Since then they had closed 200 out of 300, and he was proud to have been associated with him in that kind of work. Mr. Broadbent had not been as successful in regard to slum areas. - Such areas in Hudders- field were not very large and not very numerous. They could not deal with them as freely as they ought to do, but when better times came he hoped that some enthusiast like Mr. Broadbent or himself- (laughter)-would be able to do better than they had done. (Applause).

_- Councillor Law Taymor, in seconding the resolution, endorsed all that Alderman Smith had said. It was the least they could do to confer the honour on Mr. Broadbent. On such occasions they might be guilty of just a little bit of flattery, and say all the nice things. But in regard to that particular resolution no flattery at all was necessary and they meant all they said. (Applause). Whatever honour they could confer on Mr. Broadbent it was only repaying the honour which undoubtedly had been conferred on Huddersfield by the wide-world recognition of his public work. (Applause). He had served for many years on the Health Committee under Mr. Broadbent, and knew from experience the enthusiastic desire he had to improve the health conditions of the town. Mr. Broadbent realised that good health was the best source of wealth and happiness. They did not always give sufficient credit to their spending departments like the Health Committee and the Education Committee. There was a great work yet to be done in that direction. The conditions were nothing like what they ought to be. Mr. Broadbent in his crusade for infantile life was engaged in very useful work, which had reduced the infantile mortality of the town from something like 150 to under 100 per 1,000. They would realise what a great saving in child life there had been in that town, in addition to the better start in life which hundreds and thousands of children had received. The profits were greater than could be measured in £ s. d. He also referred to Mr. Broadbent's - work in connection with the Public Health Union, the establishment of the day nursery, and his educational work. Mr. Broadbent was well deserving of the highest honour they could confer upon him. (Applause). " Mr. BroapBENT was profoundly conscious of the great honour conferred upon him. It was all the more gratifying because it was

Page 79

134

connected with the Jubilee of the borough. For twenty-seven and a half years he was glad to have served the Town Council, but he was kept from over-estimation of what he had done by recognising that ' there is a Divinity that shapes our ends, rough hew them how we will." Now that he was nearing the close of the day he saw he had done nothing of what he set before himself in the first wild fancies of his youth. Under that Ruling Hand he owed much to the com- panionship and inspiration of his wife, to his brother, who allowed him opportunities and time for his public business, and the official help he always received from the officials, many of his colleagues on the Town Council, and in particular Dr. Moore, the medical officer of health, especially in connection with the most difficult and most gratifying portion of his public work, that of the care of infancy. He had also the help of many members of the medical profession in London, and the direct encouragement of Her Majesty the Queen, then Princess of Wales ; nor must the part of the ladies of the Public Health Union be omitted. He claimed that he had always served the town with a singleness of purpose. - He was never worried by the considerations of party. He set the interests of the public before all other considera- tions, and looking back he found no cause for regret in anything he had any share in bringing about. He had many regrets that he was not able to do more in many directions. He would like to have done more for the health of the town and for the babies. 'To that day he was convinced that more could have been done. Perhaps it was his own fault, and he blamed no one but himself. He had also served the town without expectation or desire for reward, and if it were possible he would gladly do something more for motherhood and infancy in Huddersfield. (Applause).

A NOTABLE LOCAL FAMILY.

Councillor moved the resolution concerning Mr. J. A. Brooke. They all knew the Brooke family, and the resolution required no words of his to commend it to the meeting. Mr. Brooke was an alderman from 1901 to 1907, and during that time rendered valuable service on the Waterworks Committee as chairman and deputy chair- man, and on the Education Committee as chairman of the Higher Education Committee, a position which he still retained. He had been a governor of the Technical College for thirty-three consecutive years, was president from 1886 to 1890, and again from 1899 until to-day. During the interval between 1890 and 1899 he filled the responsible positions of vice-president, chairman of the Classes Com- mittee, which then dealt with the entire educational work of the institution, and chairman of the Building Committee, which carried out the last extension of the premises at a cost of about £35,000. - Mr. Brooke's connection with the foundation of Almondbury Grammar School dated from January llth, 1877, and he was elected one of eight co-optative governors in August, 1881, of whom the only ones

Page 80

iPH IRST TOWN CLERK,

Page 81

135

now living were himself and his brother, Mr. Wm. Brooke. His qualification, as a magistrate, for Huddersfield dated from February 7th, 1876. His unfailing support of educational and religious matters in the borough was well known, and his many benefactions were widely appreciated. He had the unique distinction of following two brothers, Sir Thomas and Mr. William Brooke, on the roll of freemen. Long might the name of Brooke be associated with the history of Hudders- field. (Applause).

Alderman PuUuLLON esteemed it a great honour to second the resolution, and associated himself with all the mover had said. They were delighted that Mr. J. A. Brooke had not confined his interest in educational matters within narrow limits, but that the Technical College and the educational authority of the town had had the benefit of his educational experience, which as a graduate of Oxford University was particularly valuable. His practical knowledge of the staple industry of the district, too, had enabled him to render great services as representative of Huddersfield on the University Court of the University at Leeds. It was a special feature in his case that he was the third brother honoured by the imprimatur of his fellow townsmen and had been made a freeman of his native town. The family was held in great esteem, and the honour that had been conferred upon it was well deserved. They wished for Mr. and Mrs. Brooke long life and happiness. (Applause). e

Mr. J. A. BROOKE, in returning thanks, said that if that was the greatest honour in their power to confer it was the greatest honour it was possible for him to receive. To be honoured at home, amidst one's own friends and neighbours, who had it might be a rough and imperfect idea of one's life, was to his mind the greatest honour that could be conferred on any man. Referring to the fact that he was the third brother to be thus honoured, he said that to put him on a level with two men whose brain power and intellect he knew full well were immensely superior to his own was a great honour. His eldest brother's was almost a colossal intellect. His second brother was not very far from being equal to him in that and other respects. (Laughter). " He is quite deaf," added Mr. Brooke parenthetically, glancing at Mr. Wm. Brooke, " and so I may say almost what I like about him in that respect."" (Renewed laughter). He acknowledged the kindness of the mover and seconder, and said he felt he owed his position that day, in addition to his brothers, to the excellent deputies he had had in Councillor Sellers and Mr. Willans, who ought to have been the chief instead of himself. There ought in his opinion to be a very great enlargement in respect of the Technical College. They had three great branches-textile, chemical, and engineering-and with regard to the whole of them they were determined to place Hudders- field in a better position than it had ever been before. (Applause). They felt they owed this to themselves, but above all to those gallant

Page 82

136

young men who in their thousands had gone out to fight our battles on the Continent. They owed it to them and their children that they should have better educational opportunitiee-the best that could be afforded-when they came back, which he hoped would not be long. They were all agreed that peace when it came must be a permanent one that would prevent, they hoped for all times, any repetition of the horrors of the last few years. (Applause). In the great reconstruction that was to follow the war he hoped they would not be too intent upon destroying foundations that already existed, but rather upon building better upon them, so that this great war might turn out a source of benefit to the country rather than the reverse. He congratulated the Council upon fifty years of useful work, and hoped men would be found to carry on the work the present members had initiated for the benefit of citizens yet unborn. (Applause). '

"TRUE EDUCATIONIST WITH NO FADS."

Councillor PrATTs moved a resolution that the freedom be conferred upon Mr. J. E. Willans. - Mr. Willans' name and person, said Councillor Platts, were familiar to the inhabitants of his native town. He had taken a prominent and a large part in the political, commercial, social, and educational activities of the borough. In the commerical world he had not neglected the duties that successful business men should perform. He had been a member of the Chamber of Commerce, and was one of its past presidents. He had also rendered great services on the Royal Infirmary management, the Royal Albert Asylum, Lan- caster, and the Crossley and Porter Orphanage, Halifax. With Mr. John Arthur Brooke he had the longest service on the borough bench. Education had invariably received his strong support. Mr. Willans was a true educationist with no fads. He had given thirty years' voluntary service on the old School Board and the Education Com- mittee. He was a governor of the Technical College, and he repre- sented the Corporation on the Leeds University Council. The town's high position in the country in educational matters owed much to Mr. Willans. He must also be proud of the fact that he was a member of the family that had given a Prime Minister to England. (Applause).

Councillor WorrENDEN, who seconded, said that they were doing honour to a man who had made things easier for them to-day. The fact that they to-day found things easier was because of the self- sacrifice and untiring service of such men as Mr. Willans. Some men disdained public work, but there was no greater service than rendering service to the town to which a man belonged to help to make the town better. Those men had made Huddersfield what it was to-day, and men like Mr. Willans were the true patriots, the bulwarks of the State. (Applause). l

Mr. J. E. WirraxNs, after signing the roll, said it was with a feeling of embarrassment that he rose to accept the honour which had been

Page 83

137

conferred upon him. He felt that it was a great honour, the highest honour they could possibly give. It was a singular fact, he continued, that four of the freemen had passed the allotted span of the Psalmist. It had been a great pleasure for them that any little service they had been able to render had been recognised. It was the duty of every citizen to do what he could to help the town. If he was spared, he hoped to help still further. (Applause).

THE HONORARY FREEDOM. A MUNICIPAL ORDER OF - CHIVALRY.

Lieut.-Col. Sir ALBERT K. K.B., LL.D., D.L. (Yorks. W.R.), in moving a vote of thanks to the chairman, thanked the Mayor for his invitation to attend such a Municipal Festival ; and, as he had filled every municipal office, including the Presidency of the Municipal Corporations' Association of the United Kingdom, he felt able to form some comparative judgment of Municipalities. _ Huddersfield occupied a very high place as a County and Parliamentary Borough, and the gift of its Freedom was therefore the greater honour. (Applause). Huddersfield was a well-built town-if he might say so without being prejudiced by the fact that his grandfather, Mr. Joseph Kaye, built much of it, including its Railway Station and its Classic Square. (Hear, hear). It was also a well-governed and administered town. - Its elementary education had been good, and its secondary teaching owed much to its College, which had evolved a Prime Minister in Mr. Asquith, (hear, hear), whilst the Technical College had supplied a national want by the application of science to industrial instruction ; and it was not a coincidence, but a fair inference, that Huddersfield, owing to being thus educationally equipped, got its exceptional hold upon, and had carried on, the key-trade in aniline and other dyes. Huddersfield had held high the lighted torch of knowledge applied to industry, and was now rightly securing the development of the large British Dyes Works in her suburbs. (Applause). Again, Hudders- field had been supplied with the prime necessities of civic life in purity and plenty, and thus the main objectives of Local Government had been largely attained, chiefly by regard for the public health-whence the strength, and the wealth, and the welfare, of the People, and all that goes to make life worth living even for the poorest. This social wellbeing had also been provided for by their excellent Savings' Bank, the Centenary Commemoration Meeting of which he had the honour to address officially-and also as a depositor in the fortiee-that morning, as Chairman of the Savings' Bank Statutory Inspection Committee, one of the former Trustees of which was his friend, the late Mr. Charles Sikes, of Huddersfield, who was knighted as the pioneer of the Post Office Savings' Bank, a national development which was thus con- nected with the history of Huddersfield. (Applause). And for the recognition and encouragement of such Local Public Service the Honorary Freedom of Boroughs was devised., It was a titular

Page 84

138

designation, without any decoration or insignia, for, though Sovereigns could confer stars and favours, the People alone, through their representatives in Council, could elect and bestow such Freedoms, as an Order of that Chivalry, which, in the present age, consisted in the performance of public and private duty, and it had thus become the most acceptable gift from Corporations even to Prime-Ministers like William Pitt and David Lloyd George, who had lived and fought for their country's and the world's Freedom. (Applause). And, with the history of this high ensign of honour Huddersfield, again, was associated, for he, their senior Freeman, made the suggestion to his Council on his re-election as Mayor of the City of Hull, (of which he also had the Freedom, as of the City of London), in 1884. The Council approved his proposal, and accordingly a Bill was drafted, and introduced into the House of Lords by the Marquis of Ripon, High Steward of Hull, and formerly M.P. for Huddersfield (as Lord Goderich), who said in his speech that the Corporations of Hull and Huddersfield desired the privilege for which the Bill was asked. The Bill passed the Lords, was introduced into the Commons by one of the members for Hull, and, becoming an Act, gave to the Municipal Boroughs the right of conferring their Honorary Freedom on persons of distinction and others who have rendered eminent services to the borough. Amongst such being the Borough of Huddersfield, its Honorary Freemen, old and new, valued their Freedom, and joined in the Jubilate which hailed the Celebration of the first fifty years' work of the Corporation. (Applause). In conclusion, Sir Albert Rollit paid tribute to the very long and able municipal service of the Chairman, to whom he moved that the best thanks of the Jubilee Meeting be given by acclamation. (Loud applause).

Mr. Wirrramx BrookrEr, who had an enthusiastic reception, seconded. He thanked the Council for giving him that opportunity of taking part in that interesting ceremony. He remembered the time when there was no Huddersfield Corporation, and though he had a good deal to do with a rather more important place three or four miles up the Holme Valley-(laughter)-yet he was connected with Huddersfield in some way or another long before the Corporation was established. He congratulated the borough upon celebrating the Jubilee of its incorporation, and hoped the town would improve as much in the next fifty years as it has done in the last fifty years. He congratulated that afternoon's recipients of the honour which had already been conferred upon himself, and hoped that in the afternoon of their lives-he would not call it evening ; they were young men to him-they might have the comfort of feeling that the work which they had done so effectually for the town had been recognised. He also hoped that there might be in this town many young men ready to follow those present in the work they had done, not for the sake of being honoured, but because it was

their duty, and he had no doubt in doing their duty they would find

Page 85

139

very great pleasure, so that when the centenary of Huddersfield took place-which he (the speaker) thought he perhaps should not live to see-there might be a great progressing people who would make the town worthy of the past, and greater and still greater in the future.

(Applause).

The Mayor put the resolution, which was carried, and Alderman Beaumont's response closed the formal proceedings.

Afternoon tea was afterwards served.

CONCLUSION.

The foregoing pages contain a record of municipal progress of which the citizens of Huddersfield have every reason to be

proud.

What of the future ?: There can be no doubt that immense progress will be made in the next few years. Now that the war is over, the City Fathers will strive to further increase the amenities of the town. Among these will be additional Schools for both Elementary - and Higher Education ; Special Schools for Defective Children ; a new Public Library and Art Gallery ; the erection of hundreds of Dwelling Houses ; new Public Baths ; an extension of its Tramway system, &c., &c., all of which will add to the comfort and convenience of the inhabitants.

We close with a fervent hope that the town will continue to flourish, that its trade and commerce will increase in prosperity, and that its citizens, by their moral and intellectual qualities, will contribute to the highest well-being of the nation.

The following Note has been forwarded to the Editor :-

THE CENTENARY OF THE HUDDERSFIELD SAVINGS BANK.

It may be recorded, incidentally, and as a coincidence with the celebration of the Jubilee of the Corporation, that the Centenary of a

Page 86

140

very important and useful Local Institution occurs this same year- that of The Huddersfield and Upper Agbrigg Savings' Bank, founded in 1818, of which the Rt. Hon. The Earl of Dartmouth is President, Sir John Frecheville Ramsden, Bart., and Mr. H. R. Beaumont, Vice- Presidents, Colonel Freeman, J.P., Chairman of the very representa- tive Board of Trustees and Managers, and Mr. George Smith Brook, the Actuary.

The Centenary of the Huddersfield Savings' Bank was celebrated on the same day as that of the Jubilee of the Huddersfield Corporation by a Special Meeting of its Honorary Trustees and Managers, the chairman of whom (Col. Freeman, J.P.) presided, and at which a Commemorative Address was delivered by Sir Albert Rollit, Chairman of the Statutory Inspection Committee of the Savings' Banks.

By a remarkable coincidence the Centenary of the Savings' Bank was the Jubilee of Mr. Brook's service in the Bank and also of Colonel Freeman's service on the Board of Management.

Page 88

9

of this Board, desirable that a Charter of Incorporation for Huddersfield and the adjoining districts should be applied

2 2

for.

On May 290th, a public meeting of ratepayers was held in the Theatre, Joseph Turner, Esq., in the chair, at which the foregoing resolution was confirmed with only five dissentients. Petitions were signed by ratepayers resident within the districts proposed to be incorporated for and against the charter with the following results :-- Rateable Value.

Signatures. £ s. d For .. _-_ 4,933 106,782 1 2 Against _... 2,040 16,750 10 11 Majority in favour __ 2,884 90,031 10 3

On November 18th and 19th, 1867, Captain Donnelly, the Commissioner appointed by Her Majesty's Privy Council, held a public enquiry at the new George Hotel, St. George's Square, at which evidence was tendered for and against the proposed incorporation. At this enquiry the case for the petitioners was presented by Mr. Joseph Batley, the Clerk to the Improvement Commissioners, subsequently the first

Town Clerk of Huddersfield. The petition was supported by Sir John Ramsden.

INCORPORATION GRANTED 1863.

Ultimately, on July 7th, 1868, the Charter was granted, and Huddersfield became a Municipal Borough. At that date the population was estimated at 72,455, rateable value, £199,477, acreage 10,436. There were twelve wards, with fourteen aldermen and forty-two councillors.

In closing this chapter, the reader may be reminded that on the eve of the Charter of Incorporation being granted, the area of the Huddersfield township was very limited in extent, containing a small population. The water and gas supply were of a very restricted nature, and owned by private com- panies. - There were no tramways, no electric light, no parks,

Page 89

10

no Town Hall, no public library, nor any publicly-managed schools wherein to educate the rising generation. How all these undertakings and other amenities were established by the enterprise and public spirit of successive Town Councils will be outlined in the following pages.

Page 90

JUBILEE HISTORY

OF THE

Corporation of Huddersfield.

1868 to 1918.

Compiled at the request of the Council's

Jubilee Committee

BY

OWEN BALMFORTH.

HUDDERSFIELD : ALFRED JUBB & Son, LTD., PRINTERS. 1918,

Page 92

a

R P

2 wal

t

u

3

wa a

a

Sou

a

e

3 Al Ao

%

5

a

Sl {7:14

l m

d

a

o

He

2

33:5 a

ws

Mn ne es Maii

4

uo Aenon M fUW i Men i Wne mfifimx

Morton a Alne nein p t ae e s & 3&5ng e sea e Mle wae wee a ae neeson ace a we wae

a

e 5 i 2 snene a mawatfiwmfiaw Me v e a es 6 e le 4

Sol l

so 4

2 d a ae Q?“ w

0 240

e

CHAS. HY. JONES,

First Mavor.

ma

Page 93

1 1

CHAPTER II. Trapima or REvEnUuEr PRODUCING UNDERTAKINGS.

All before us lies the way, Give the past unto the wind, All before us is the day, Night and darkness are behind. ' -Eimerson.

HAVING now traced the growth of our local governing == - bodies, let us show in detail the achievements under the newly established system of municipal government. This may be done by examining the various works and institutions which they have created, and which the Borough Council now has under its control. It is proposed to deal in this chapter with the Revenue producing or Trading undertakings as follows :-

WATERWORKS : OLD AND NEW.

In the year 1743, the Ramsden family were obliged to construct waterworks for the domestic use of the inhabitants, which they did from the river Colne. Fancy imbibing the waters of the Colne at the present time! The following interesting account of these primitive waterworks was published forty years ago by " An Old Resident." - He says :- * The source of our water supply was the river at Folly Hall, or Engine Bridge. In a cottage near to Mr. Eastwood's dyeworks, was erected a forcing engine or pump. This was driven by a waterwheel, and sent the turbid water up to Huddersfield. The main pipes that conveyed the water were large tree-trunks, with a 3% inch hole bored through them

Page 94

12

lengthways. They were tapered down at one end, and the bore at the other end widened a little to admit the tapering end, thus making what is called a fucet joint. These wooden _ pipes ran under the canal, up the hill to the top of Qutcote Bank, then along what was called the Upper Road, to the higher part of the town, and finally discharged their water into a small reservoir which stood near the bottom of George Street. From this reservoir the town received its scanty supply. You may judge of the size of the mains from the following incident :-It so happened that the supply to one part of the town was stopped. Much digging and searching was done to discover the obstruction, until at last the cause of the mischief was revealed. Imagine the astonishment of all when it was found that a large trout had stuck fast in one of the pipes. Connected with these waterworks was an old woman named Betty Earnshaw. She carried a large turn- key on her shoulder to turn on the water in the various parts of the town. The servant girls, who had to rise early on washing mornings, well knew how to get an early supply of water for their work. Betty also professed to tell fortunes for the silly lasses, so that with water turning and fortune telling, old Betty managed to turn many an honest penny. Whilst a lad, I had to go to Lockwood for milk, as we had no milk-hawkers in those days. As I passed Folly Hall I used to be attracted by the screeching and groaning of the old pumping engine. It sounded as if it had not had a drop of oil for 12 months or more. I would peep in through the broken window and watch the crazy thing at work. It would make a desperate effort, stand for a few seconds, and then groaningly move off again. Thus painfully and laboriously was the scanty supply of water pumped up from the polluted river."

As time rolled on, and the number of mills and population increased, these waterworks were found insufficient for the wants of the town, and in 1827 a number of gentlemen, known as the Waterworks' Commissioners, under the authority of a Special Act of Parliament, provided a fresh supply, known as the Longwood Reservoirs. One of the clauses included in the

Page 96

'YIOAMYUMHSUY

Page 97

13

above Waterworks Act provided that, although the Com- missioners found the money and incurred all the risks of the enterprise, the interest on the shares subscribed should in no case exceed five per cent., and that when the income from the water rents exceeded five per cent. and the necessary expenses, the water rents must be reduced.

These waterworks were purchased by the Corporation in 1869 for the sum of £58,663.

The first full year's revenue after incorporation only amounted to £6,513.

The Corporation almost immediately commenced to carry out works to improve the supply of water for the town, by constructing additional reservoirs. Deerhill and Blackmoor- foot were commenced in 1870 and 1871 respectively, and other - works followed as they became necessary. In October, 1873, certain springs in the Wessenden Valley were collected into a tank and the water conveyed to Lindley and there

distributed. These Springs were estimated to realise about 350,000 gallons per day.

Below is a complete list of the Reservoirs constructed by the Corporation since 1868, viz :-- "

Name of Reservoir. Date of Completion. Capacity. Deerhill |_ ... ... Sept., 1875 _ 160,000,000 gallons. Blackmoorfoot __... Dec., 1876 675,000,000 _ do. Wessenden Head ... Aug., 1881 82,000,000 _ do. Blakeley _ ... _... Aug., 1903 80,000,000 _ do. Butterley _... ... Dec., 1906 403,000,000 _ do.

Wessenden Old Reservoir, with a capacity of 107,000,000 gallons, was purchased from the Wessenden Commissioners in 1890 and Deanhead Reservoir was also purchased in 1913. This latter reservoir holds about 100,000,000 gallons, but owing to the war, it has not yet been put into use for supplying water to the town.

The total impounding capacity of all the reservoirs is

about 1,675,000,000 gallons.

Page 98

14

A large number of break-pressure and service tanks have also been constructed to supply particular districts, as follows, viz. :- '

Name of Tank. - Date of Completion. Capacity. Snodley ... Mar., 1874 1,250,000 Lindley ... Jan., 1875 570,000 Longwood _... ... Feb., 1876 140,720 GHeadhill _ ... ... Nov., 1876 280,000 Berry Brow ... May, 1879 184,000 Kirkburton ... July, 1879 46,000 Hall Bower ... Aug., 1879 90,000 Clough Head, Golear Nov., 1880 280,000 Cowlersley ... ... Sept., 1891 _ _... 128,000 Windy End ... May, 1901 200,000 Scapegoat Hill ... Oct., 1901 1,500,000 Shepley _ _ ... ... Oct., 1904 2,000,000

As the water from certain sources was not considered to be of a sufficiently high quality for dietetic purposes, it was decided, in 1899, to put down Sand Filters at Deerhill, and

these were completed in July, 1900, and are still working very satisfactorily.

Owing, however, to the large area of land required for this method of filtration, and also to the heavy cost both in capital and upkeep, it was decided, in future works, to adopt Mechanical Filters, which take up much less room, cost about half the amount in capital, and are worked on a very much cheaper basis than Sand Filters.

These have been installed at Longwood, Scapegoat Hill, Blackmoorfoot (both sides), and an installation is now in course of erection at Cowlersley.

All the water now supplied to the public, with the exception of the Spring Water, can be efficiently treated by filtration.

Parliamentary powers were obtained in 1869-71-76 and 80 to supply certain districts outside the Borough, and the total area now authorised to be supplied by the Corporation, amounts to 51,824 acres.

Page 99

15

-The total length of water mains is nearly 350 miles.

The following figures, taken at intervals of 10 years, shew the growth of the undertaking, viz :-

Population No. of gallons Year. Supplied. per day. Receipts. 1878 .. __ 88,245 ... 1,600,000 _... £21,098 1888 ... 121,755 ... 3,004,880 _... £47,143 _ 1898 ... 128,682 ... 3,445,000 _... £51,632 1908 .. 145,716 _... 3,964,800 ... _- £62,210 1918 ... 164,162 _... 6,525,260 _... £112,057

In addition to the above quantities 3,370,000 gallons of water per day is paid out from the various reservoirs as compensation.

For the financial year ending March 3lst last, the receipts were £112,057 13s. Od., which left a credit balance of £1,334 2s. 11d. This sum was transferred to the Depre- ciation and Contingencies Account, making a total of £24,582 0s. 2d. Down to last year the total capital expendi- ture reached £1,831,611 0s. 6d., which includes the large sum of £31,586 for Parliamentary expenses in connection with the same. The total number of houses now supplied is 39,776.

GAS WORKS : OLD AND NEW.

In the old days oil lamps were used for lighting the streets of our town ; but in 1821 gasworks were established in Leeds Road by a private company, composed of some of the leading inhabitants, and in 1822 Huddersfield was, for the first time, lighted with gas. In 1830, the Parish Church was first lighted with gas. The gasworks when first erected were only on a small scale, occupying a site of 843 square yards of land, and the entire capital for constructing the works was £3,400. In 1861 an Act of Parliament was obtained, whereby the company was incorporated and its capital fixed at £60,000. It is needless to say, that the gasworks have repeatedly been greatly enlarged. In 1821, when the gasworks were first established, the yearly production of gas was very small ;

Page 100

16

in 1849 the yearly production had risen to 33,000,000 cubic feet, and in 1866 to 140,000,000 cubic feet, while last year the quantity sold was actually 868,600,000 cubic feet. What a huge contrast these figures represent! The Town Council, in January, 1871, purchased the gasworks from the Hudders- field Gas Company for the net sum of £130,336 ; also the Moldgreen Gasworks from Mr. Anthony Kaye, in 1874, for

£17,000.

In 1894 the works were re-modelled and enlarged to meet the growing demand for gas. Further considerable improve- ments have been effected during the last five years, namely : A 4$ million cubic feet capacity gas holder has been erected. A 3,000,000 cubic feet per day water-cooled condenser has been installed. A large new sulphate of ammonia producing plant has been installed. A carbonizing plant complete with power house, mechanical coal and coke handling plant, capable of producing 2,000,000 cubic feet of gas per day has been erected. A complete coal tar distillation plant has been put in, which is capable of distilling twenty tons of tar per day. The products from the tar distilling process are :-crude naphtha, containing benzol and toluol used for dyes, explosives and motor-spirit ; light oil containing benzol, toluol, heavy naphthas or solvents, and carbolic acid, which is used as a disinfectant ; creosote, used now mainly as fuel oil by the Admiralty ; anthracene and naphthalene, both of which are used for road-making, and dehydrated tar for spraying roads. - Besides the production of gas and coke a large quantity of sulphate of ammonia is manufactured, which is in great demand for agricultural purposes, and sulphur which is used in the manufacture of vitriol. When the carbonization of coal is considered in respect of the bye-products which are recovered, it is most necessary in the national interest that all bituminous coal should pass through the process of carbonization.

Heating by gas has been adopted in almost every kind of business, a few examples of which are :-Furnaces for harden- ing, annealing and welding steel ; furnaces for drawing and

Page 102

17

tempering wire ; the melting of metals, glass and enamels, &c., &c. Prepayment or " Penny-in-the-slot " meters, and also cooking stoves have been extensively supplied by the Corporation, and at the present time there are 20,000 of the former and 25,000 of the latter in use.

The works cover an area of twelve acres and supply gas through more than 200 miles of mains. The prices for gas are amongst the lowest charged by any municipality in England. The revenue account for the financial year ending March 31st, 1918, shows the receipts for gas and meter rentals were £123,061 ; for the sale of products, such as coke, tar, ammonia, &c., £37,346, or a total, including sundries, of £165,408. The account shows a nett surplus of £4,384. Down to the end of the financial year in 1917, the capital expenditure upon the gas undertaking reached £335,249. Since the works were purchased by the Corporation in 1871, the sum of £174,087 in the shape of profits has been handed over for the relief of the rates of the Borough.

The following figures, supplied by Mr. H. Singleton, Gas Engineer, will prove interesting :-

Year ending (Gas Sold. No. of June 30th. Cubic Feet. Consumers. 1873 - ... 187,000,000 1883 - ... 326,000,000 .. 1899 - ... 509,000,000 ... 19,000 1900 _ ... 578,000,000 .. 22,0637 1909 _ ... 745,000,000 .. 28,549 1918 _ ... 868,600,000 32,486 TRAMWAYS.

Huddersfield was the first municipality to construct; operate and develop its own Tramway System.

The question of constructing Tramways was first con- sidered in 1877 in connection with a Parliamentary Bill

Page 103

18

introduced by the London Tramways and General Works Company, for the construction of Tramways within the Borough of Huddersfield, and application was made to the Corporation for their consent, as required by the Standing Orders. The Corporation, after full enquiry and considera- tion, decided that it would be to their advantage to retain the maintenance and control of the roads in their own hands and withheld their consent to the Company obtaining powers of construction. The Bill was proceeded with, notwith- standing, and the Corporation opposed it, with the result that it was defeated on Standing Orders. In 1879, the Corporation promoted a Bill in Parliament for powers to construct the Tramways, and the Act was passed in the Session of 1880. The construction of the Tramways com- menced in 1881 and as the Act did not empower the Corporation to work the Tramways, it was decided to lease them. During the period of construction the Corporation made every effort to effect a lease for working the Tramways, but without success. The Corporation then decided to work the Tramways themselves, and made application to Parliament for the necessary powers which were granted by a conditional licence of the Board of Trade, as provided for in the Hudders- field Corporation Act of 1882. The licence was granted subject to the following terms and conditions :-" That the Board of Trade reserved the power to revoke the licence to the Corporation if, in their opinion, a Company made a satisfactory offer to lease the line."

It was decided to adopt Steam Haulage, and an engine and car was purchased for trial purposes. The trial run of the engine and car took place on November 13th, 1882, on the steep gradient in Chapel Hill, and was considered to be satisfactory .

In 1883 the Hallidee Cable Company entered into an agree- ment with the Corporation to rent two of the Sections, and expended a considerable amount of money in excavating and partly building a Power Station in Manchester Road, but

Page 104

19

eventually they abandoned the undertaking with the consent of the Corporation on terms.

The agreement with the Hallidee Cable Company having been abandoned, the Corporation eventually purchased six additional Engines and Cars. The first Engine and Car commenced to run for passenger traffic on the Lockwood Section on January 11th, 1883. As the work of construction proceeded, other sections were opened, and with the exception of the Moldgreen Section, which was completed in 1885, the whole of the Tramways were worked by Steam haulage. This section was opened for Traffic in May, 1885, and worked by horses. Steam haulage was substituted in April, 1888.

The Tramway Depot, which was a large wooden structure in Northumberland Street, soon became insufficient to accommodate the Rolling Stock, and a new Permanent Depot was erected in Great Northern Street, and was occupied in June, 1887.

In 1897, the Corporation made application to Parliament, and obtained absolute powers for working the Tramways. After the trams had been running a few years, it was found necessary to substitute the four-wheeled cars with larger cars of the bogie type, and as the engines were unsuitable for this type of car they were substituted by engines of the locomotive type. The increased traffic soon began to have a serious effect on the Permanent Way. The system of construction proved unsuitable and of insufficient strength to withstand the wear and tear. In 1891, the general re-con- struction and re-paving of the Permanent Way was commenced and was carried out without interruption until the end of 1893. The cost of the re-construction was charged against the Revenue of the Department.

In January, 1898, the Corporation were approached by the Urban District of Linthwaite, and requested to extend the Tramway System into that District. The application was favourably received by the Corporation, and eventually an C

Page 105

20

agreement was entered into on a rental basis, and a joint application was made to Parliament, the Linthwaite Urban District Council obtaining powers to construct the Tramways, and the Corporation powers to operate them. The line was opened for traffie on May 1900. In 1902, the Tram- ways were extended from the Borough Boundary at Berry Brow to the Urban District of Honley. This section was opened for passenger traffic on June 5th, 1902. The extension of the Tramways into Outer Districts raised the question of providing additional Rolling Stock for working the extension.

The Tramways Committee decided not to purchase any more engines and cars, but to consider converting the whole of the system to Electric Traction. The work of converting the system from Steam to Electric Traction commenced in 1899 and was completed in 1902. The Power Station was erected at Longroyd Bridge on a site that was intended for a Sanitary Depot, and part of the buildings which had been erected for this purpose were utilized. The necessary plant having been installed, the electric service of cars com- menced to run in February, 1901, and the whole of the system had been converted by the end of July, 1902. The Sunday running of Trams commenced June 9th, 1901 _ During 1908, the Permanent Way was re-constructed from single to double line on Lockwood, Moldgreen, Birkby and Edgerton sections. The Corporation also completed negotiations with the Linthwaite Urban District Council for the purchase of the Linthwaite Tramway Track, subject to the Tramways Com- mittee relaying the track with double lines. The re-con- struction of the track commenced in August, 1910, and was completed in the following October. In 1913, Parliamentary Powers were obtained for further extensions of the Tramways, which included extensions outside the Borough to West Vale and Marsden. The West Vale extension was carried out in two stages : Birchencliffe to Elland Town Hall, which was opened for traffic on January 14th, 1914, and Elland Town Hall to West Vale, opened for traffic May 30th, 1914. This extension was the means of linking up the Huddersfield

Page 106

21

Corporation Tramways with the Halifax Corporation ways. The Marsden extension was opened for traffic on

October 3rd, 1914.

The route mileage of 'IT'ramways in operation is 344$ miles, or 56 miles of single track. In order to meet the demands arising from the increased mileage and traffic during the growth of the undertaking, additional Generating Plant has been installed at the Power Station. The Plant at present consists of :-Four Inverted Vertical Compound Engines, Seven Lancashire Boilers and Two Motor Converters. The Motor Converters were installed for the purpose of taking an additional Power Supply from the Electricity Department.

The carriage of parcels on Tram Cars has been greatly developed since it was first instituted in 1887. - Parcel Depots krave been introduced along the line of route, by which means, the delivery of parcels has been facilitated. Further develop- ments of the system are to be made in the near future. The revenue from the carriage of parcels for the year ending

March 31st, 1918, is £1,567.

The haulage of Coal along the Tramways by means of specially designed trucks was commenced in September, 1904, as the result of arrangements made with Messrs. Martin, Sons & Co., Ltd., of Lindley, for the conveyance of coals from the Hillhouse Railway Niding to their Works. The system has since been extended and two other mills are now being served. The quantity of coal carried during the 12 months ending March 3lst, 1918, was 13,652 tons. The Revenue

derived from this source is £756 per annum.

The Rolling Stock at present consists of 106 Cars and Two Electrically-equipped Coal Trucks. Letter Boxes are attached to the Cars and are cleared by the Postal Authorities every hour from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. on ordinary days, and from 4-30 p.m. to 7-30 p.m. on Sundays.

The following is a brief account of the financial position of - the Tramways :-From the commencement in 1883 to the

Page 107

22

financial year ending 1905, the Tramways were worked at a loss, and the undertaking had to be subsidized from the rates to the amount of £73,041. At the end of the financial year of 1907, the undertaking began to be self-supporting, and to contribute to the relief of the rates, and had continued to do so yearly up to the present, the amount repaid amounting to £79,978, which is £6,937 more than the amount borrowed from the rates. The capital outlay up to March 31st, 1918, is £477,507. '

In connection with the working of the Tramways the Corporation have had the misfortune to have the following accidents :-On July 3rd, 1883, an engine and car from Lindley was descending the gradient in Westgate when the engine got beyond control, and when rounding the curve leading into Railway Street, the car overturned. _ Seven persons were killed and 28 injured. On June 3rd, 1891, a fire box shell of one of the steam engines burst whilst the engine was standing at the passing place at Longroyd Bridge. A youth (who was employed as a cleaner in the sheds) happened to be standing immediately in front of the furnace door and was killed. The driver was badly scalded, and a number of passengers and pedestrians slightly injured. On June 28th, 1902, an electric car got out of control when descending Kidroyd, Almondbury Section, and on reaching the curve at the bottom of Somerset Road it left the track and collided with the Somerset Arms and adjoining buildings. Three persons lost their lives in this accident and several

others were injured.

The appended schedule gives particulars of Income and Expenditure on Revenue Account at stated periods :-

Page 108

| REVENUE ACCOUNT.

Year ending.

Receipts. |Expenditure.

Gross Surplus.

APPROPRIATION

OF SURPLUS.

Interest and Redemption

of Debt.

Amount Carried to

Depreciation

Account.

Amount Carried to Relief of Rates.

Deficiency Paid from Borough Rates.

Passengers - Carried.

Miles Run.

March 3lst, 1901... £37,702 £28,580

March 3lst, 1905... £67,576 £31,476

March 31st, 1910... £90,828 £47,466

March 31st, 1915... £127,059 £13,978

March 31st, 1918... £174,292 | £117,490

£9,121

£36,100

£43,362

£53,081

£56,802

£14,222

£23,384

£24,305

£29,106

£31,078

£12,013

£12,249

£15,574

£15,039

% oe e

£6,807

£8,400

£6,750

£5,485

6,080,000

12,838,150

17,925,058

23,933,065

32,389,732

600,000

1,666,262

2,027,077

2,197,276

2,822,606

23

Page 109

24

ELECTRICITY.

In 1888 the Corporation were approached by certain gentle- men with the view of obtaining their consent to the formation of a local company to supply Electricity, and appointed a Committee to investigate what had been done in other towns. This Committee visited several towns, in a few cases found works being constructed, and almost everywhere a determina- tion to keep the supply under the control of the municipality.

The Corporation, after considering the views of the Com- mittee, decided to ask for competing tenders from responsible firms for putting down a system of supply, and allocated a position of the then vacant land on the north side of the Gas

Works facing St. Andrew's Road, as the site for the Generating Station.

The Brush Electrical Co. submitted a tender which was considered the most suitable, and an order was placed with the firm in 1891, the plant comprising four Babcock & Wilcox's Boilers, one 30 Kilowatt and two 100 Kilowatt Generators, together with duplicate high tension mains for conducting the energy at 2,000 volts from the works to four sub-stations in the central portion of the town, and a system of low tension mains in the principal streets for distributing

electricity at a pressure of 100 volts to the consumers' premises. ‘

The Gas Committee were responsible for the adoption of the scheme and the erection of the works, a separate Electricity Committee being formed in 1892, and the supply commenced | in July, 1893, when 38 consumers were connected. At this

time the supply was for lighting only and the charge sixpence per unit.

The supply was soon appreciated, many more consumers being connected and the mains extended to the residential districts.

Page 110

25

In 1898, a demand was created for electric motors for driving all kinds of small machinery from the existing single- phase mains, and in 1899 the works were extended, more Boilers and Generating Plant being provided, and in 1904 and 1905, the mains were extended to supply the outer districts, including Milnsbridge, Linthwaite and Golcar.

In 1907, the demand for energy for power purposes had so much increased, and the prospects of supplying power in large quantities to the Mills appeared so good, that the Corporation decided to install additional Boilers and Generat- ing Plant and distribute the energy on the three-phase system at a pressure of 6,500 volts. This plant was completed and the three-phase supply commenced in May, 1908,

In 1910, the Corporation considered various schemes for destroying the town's refuse and generating steam. The Destructor Works, in St. Andrew's Road, were erected and have successfully converted the refuse to steam, saving the Electricity Department approximately 4,000 tons of coal per year.

The continuous growth of the demand for Electricty for power purposes made it necessary, in 1915, to install additional Boilers and Generating Plant, and this has been of great benefit in meeting the demand for power for War purposes.

The undertaking has been financially successful, excepting for a deficiency of £5,985, which was provided by the rates during the years 1893-4-5 and repaid to the rates in 1904. In 1912, the undertaking commenced to contribute one penny in the pound toward the relief of the rates, which has been continued. In 1891, Mr. A. B. Mountain was appointed Electrical Engineer to the Corporation, holding this appoint- ment until 1916, when he resigned and was retained by the Corporation as their Consulting Electrical Engineer. Mr. J. W. Turner was appointed Borough Electrical Engineer. _

The amount received for rentals, &c. in the year ending December 31st, 1917, was £87,588 3s. 2d., leaving a surplus

Page 111

26

balance of £23,637 15s. 7d. After providing for repayment and interest of debt and depreciation, there was a balance of £2,250 carried to relief of rates. The Depreciation and Con- tingencies Account amounted to £11,971. The progress of the undertaking is shown by the following statement :-

. R Connec- /nxponditure| charged. |Consumers in'forgy, | ""t 804% | Income | £ d. £ £ 1893 39,000 6 112 320 43,224 | 1,067 | _ - 1898 94,600 6 806 | 1,805 593,377 | 11,866 | 6,936 1903 | 170,454 4} 1,888 | 4,417 | 1,559,960 | 26,005 | 13,378 1908 | 200,454 4 2,843 | 8,139 | 2,462,046 | 31,614 | 12,013 1913 | 249,637 4 5,418 | 16,718 | 7,983,119 | 49,886 | 18,215 1917 | 293,637 5 6,851 | 26,203 | 14,340,187 | $7,588 | 23,637 MARKETS : OLD AND NEW.

As far back as 1272, the village of Almondbury boasted a weekly market. When this market was discontinued is not known, but probably (says Canon Hulbert) when a market was granted to the Ramsden family for Huddersfield, 400 years later. The Huddersfield markets were formerly held in the open air in the Old Market Place, New Street, and also on the site of the present Market Hall, in King Street, which was then called " The Shambles." The terms made between the Ramsden family and the stall-holders were not always satisfactory to the latter, and many disputes resulted, which ripened into rebellion by the tenants about the year 1857. This dispute was settled by the then Local Authority-the Improvement Commissioners-taking the market tolls on lease and subsequently, in 1876, the Corporation purchased from Sir John Ramsden all the market rights and tolls of which he was possessed for the sum of £14,453.

The foundation stone of the present Market Hall, in King Street, was laid on September 5th, 1878, and the erection of

Page 112

PREFACE:

TxE® Jubilee of the Incorporation of the County Borough of Huddersfield is the reason for issuing this volume. I venture to say that there are few towns which can show such remarkable municipal progress in the first fifty years of their existence. In some ways this progress has been unique, as Huddersfield was one of the first (if not the first) towns to municipally own its Tramway System, its Workmen's Dwellings, and its Model Lodging House. It has also municipalised practically every department of communal service, including Water Supply and Gas Supply. I have no hesitation in saying that every inhabitant of the town, and especially the past and present members of the Town Council, have every reason to be proud of the work accom- plished as set forth in the following pages. When I was honoured by the invitation of the Council to compile this book, my first impulse was to decline, in consequence not only of the pressure of other duties, but on account of medical advice. In consequence of the latter fact, any imperfections detected by the reader may be excused.

In conclusion, my warmest thanks are due, and are hereby given to the following for their kind assistance :- The chief officials, for furnishing me with certain particulars of their respective departments ; to Mr. S. Guise, for obtain- ing the photographs ; to Mr. H. Barratt, for revising the printer's proofs, and last, but not least, to my daughter, for not only assisting me in the compilation, but also in writing out the copy for the printer.

OctoBER, 1918. O. B.

Page 113

27

the building was completed in March 1880. The estimated cost of the building was £31,325, and the site, which was bought from Sir J. W. Ramsden, cost £6,491. The length of the building is 270 feet, and the width 101 feet 6 inches. There are 55 shops in and around the Market Hall, which let at an average annual rental of about £46, and 76 stalls, the average weekly rental being about 11/-. During the erection of the Hall, the Cloth Hall was used at a yearly rental of £50 as a market, and was, in the meantime, internally altered at

a cost of £1,609. The capital expenditure on the building up-to-date is £53,571.

The Income and Expenditure on Revenue Account are shown in the following table :-

Year. Income. Expenditure. £s. d. £0 s. d. 1881 2. - 5,822 7 8 &. -- 1,074 2 10 1891 .. - 5,427 9 2 1,801 18 5 1901 .. - 5,231 17 8 2,212 16 7 1911 .. __ 58,8394 18 .. - 2,168 5 1918 .. _- 5,868 10 11 .. - 2,217 15 8

In 1888, a Covered Wholesale Fruit, Vegetable and Fish Market was erected in Brook Street, at a cost of £14,700, including £6,000 for the site, which is 3,619 square yards in extent. The capital expenditure up to date is £14,721.

The following table shows Income and Expenditure on Revenue Account :-

Year. Income. Expenditure. £s. d. £ s. d. 1889 803 19 10 175 10 6 1896 849 7 8 267 19 10 1906 1,187 10 10 329 2 5 1916 1,339 11 4 362 O 7

1918 .. - 1,815 19 7 3172 9 1

Page 114

28

Prior to the Market Rights being purchased from Sir J. Wm. Ramsden, slaughtering of animals for food was carried on under most unfavourable conditions in an old building at Aspley. The Corporation in 1877 acquired from Sir J. W. Ramsden at a cost of £16,115 land in Great Northern Street upon which to erect the present Nlaughter-house, and also to form a Cattle Market. This has since, from time to time, been improved, and is now considered typical of what is necessary for the requirements of a large modern Borough. The total cost exclusive of the land has been £16,590, and the area is 7,333 square yards. The building may be classified as follows :-- . '

(a) Slaughter Hall and lairage for beasts, sheep, calves, and pigs. _ (b) Dead Meat Market. (c) Blood and Gut Rooms. (d) Cold Storage Rooms.

The number of animals slaughtered therein each year averages 7,000 beasts, 3,000 calves, 23,000 sheep and 9,500 pigs. The accommodation is far in excess of the above numbers.

The statement herewith relative to the Income and Ex- penditure on Revenue Account will be interesting :-

Year. Income. Expenditure.

£ 00s. d. £ s. d. 1883 .. 693 9 6 426 7 11 1891 .. 729 14 6 .. 409 18 7 1901 ... 879 1 8 .. 399 6 5 1911 ... 974 11 4 ... 482 3 5 1918 .. - 1,374 4 11 .. - 1,029 7

On July 5th, 1900, Cold Storage premises at the Public Abattoir were officially opened. The total capacity of the Stores is 21,000 cubic feet, made up of 9,000 cubic feet of freezing space, and 12,000 cubic feet of chilling space. There

Page 115

29 are seven cold storage rooms, very effectively insulated with

Messrs. Newall's " Non-Pareil " Cork Slab. Perishable goods of all kinds are taken into Stores. '

The capital expenditure to date amounts to £3,621. The following table shews the Revenue Account :-

Year. Income. I Expenditure. £s. d. s. d. 1901 91 12 164 3 2 1911 288 19 6 250 12 11 1918 645 8 4 3ST 3 6

Prior to the year 1877, the Cattle Market was held on ground now known as the Beast Market, and also at the Swine Market, in the precinets of Victoria Street.

On May 14th, 1881, the present Cattle Market and Fair Ground in Great Northern Street were opened.

The amount of purchase money paid to Sir J. W. Ramsden was £16,115, subsequently additional land was acquired at a further cost of £4,901 14s. 5d., the excavating, and form- ing site, constructing shelter pens, fencing ground, street paving, etc., cost a further £6,960 Ils. 1d., making a total capital outlay of £27,976 15s. 6d. The Cattle Market is in close proximity to the Public Abattoir, being separated therefrom only by a boundary wall. The Market is held each Monday during the year, a fully qualified Veterinary Inspector being in attendance for the examination of all animals passing through the gates into the Market. A plentiful accommoda- tion is provided for all classes of animals, part of the Market area being provided with a covering, and the whole of the area is well penned; the area is paved with impervious material, enabling it to be easily and effectually cleansed after each Market. The Market is in close proximity to the main railway, a cattle dock being erected thereon for the discharge and shipment of cattle to and from the Market, if required. There is ample space for extension, if necessary.

Page 116

30

The Income and Expenditure on Revenue Account are shown in the following table :-

Year. Income. Expenditure. £ s. d. £ sg. d. 1883 22 228 12 6 82 11 9 1891. .. 620 19 1 51 4 11 1901 l.. 654 16 7 60 11 2 1911 h 814 17 2 97 13 11 1918 .. 881 11 244 13 11

The citizens of Huddersfield have reason to boast of its series of Markets, unsurpassed by any borough of equal size.

The receipts from all the Markets for the year ended March alst, 1918, were £10,542 17s. 7d., leaving a deficiency of £298 ls. 2d. The total capital expenditure on Markets and Slaughter-house reaches the sum of £121,849.

HOUSING.

Huddersfield was one of the first municipalities to avail itself of the Artisans' Dwellings Act.

The Artisans' Dwellings erected by the Corporation in 1880-2 comprise 160 houses situate at Turnbridge. The rents derived last year reached £2,168, and the expenditure on interest on the capital outlay, ground rent, rates, &c., was £2,113, which left a surplus for the year. The total capital expenditure upon these dwellings is £28,944. The weekly rents range from 3/10 to 6/3. For the past five years there have been no empties and no leakages.

In consequence of the great shortage of housing accom- modation in the Borough, the Council have erected a number

Page 117

31

of tenements and houses during recent years, as per the following list :-

Situation. Number of Houses. Date. Moldgreen _ _ ... ... __ 38 Tenements April, 1912 Do. 2. 0s 22 do. Aug., - 1913 Do. .. 6 Scullery Houses _ Aug., 1913 Kirkgate .. ... __ 36 Tenements Jan., _ 1914 Meltham Road ... _- 30 Scullery Houses _ May, 1914 Salendine Nook .. _- 24 do. March, 1914 High Royd (Moldgreen) _ 20 do. Jan., _ 1915 Bradley .. 2. _- 25 do. March, 1914 Royds Wood ... .. _- 48 do. May, 1914 15 do. June, - 1916 12 do. Sept., 1917 276

The capital outlay in connection with the above land and buildings up to March, 1917, was £64,366.

There still remains a considerable shortage of houses, but in consequence of the war further building operations have had to be suspended. So recently as May, 1918, the Council passed a resolution expressing the opinion that after the war a minimum of 1,200 houses should be built.

CEMETERIES.

The Cemetery at Edgerton was opened in 1855, by the Improvement Commissioners, at a cost of £11,500 and was subsequently acquired by the Corporation. It has since been enlarged at an additional cost of £6,600, and now covers 18 acres of ground, tastefully cultivated ; one-half being con- secrated, and the other half unconsecrated. There are two chapels-one for each portion of the ground-and, says Mr. Hobkirk, " these are apparently joined by a wide arch spanning the road of division." The word °" apparently " is a most fitting word, because they are not really joined, as the curious may see on close examination there is a niche

Page 118

32

between the supports of the arch and the two chapels. These two niches were purposely left in order to clearly separate the consecrated chapel from the unconsecrated. Such was the compromise arrived at by hot disputants representing Church and Dissent sixty years ago !

During the past year there were in this Cemetery 723 interments, bringing the total number up to 44,683.

The revenue account reaches £1,490, with a credit balance of £1,008.

The Lockwood Cemetery was acquired in 1898. The estate was purchased at a cost of £5,131, and there has since been expended in erections and laying-out the grounds, &c., the sum of £7,798. Last year there were 150 interments, making a total number of 2,009. The nett expenditure for last year reached the sum of £687.

MODEL LODGING HOUSE.

The Model Lodging House, in Chapel Hill, was constructed by the Old Improvement Commussioners out of an old ware- house in 1854, at a cost of nearly £6,000. It was stated at that time to be the only Lodging House in England constructed and supported out of the public rates. It was enlarged in 1879, and now contains 186 beds. Last year the number of lodgers accommodated were :-

Males at 6d. per night oe .._ 14,893 Males at 4d. per night ... _ 44,620 Single Females at 4d. per night _ ... ... __ 3,898 Married Couples at 8d. per night _... ... - 2,006 Total No. .. - 65,417

The total receipts from lodgers last year amounted to £1,388,

Page 119

3J

PUBLIC BATHS.

The Central Baths in Ramsden Street were first erected in 1847 as a Public Hall-known as the Gymnasium Hall. The Corporation purchased the property in 1888 for £2,000 and converted it into Public Baths. Last year the number of persons using the Slipper Baths reached 31,110. The Swim- ming Bath, in consequence of war conditions, was only opened for eleven weeks, and was patronised by 16,320 bathers. The receipts last year were £931 and the expend- iture reached £2,970, which included a considerable sum for new filtering plant, &c. The total capital expenditure is £6,684. There are also some Corporation Baths at Lockwood on the left bank of the river Holme. These were originally opened in 1827, purchased by the Corporation in 1870 for £910, and enlarged in 1881. This Swimming Bath was closed last year owing to shortage of labour, the Slipper Baths only being open, which were visited by 5,741 persons. The receipts last year were £100, and the expenditure £467. The total capital outlay is £3,748.

In consequence of the shortage of labour during 1917, arrangements could not be made for the instruction of the School Children in Swimming, and therefore they did not attend the Baths. In the previous year 18,000 visits were made by the school children.

The above Baths have been found utterly inadequate to meet the public requirements, and the committee have pre- pared plans for new Baths near St. John's Road. Unfortunately the war has prevented the work being carried out

SUMMARY.

To summarize the aforesaid undertakings, the following particulars, prepared by Mr. E. Dyson, the Borough lreasurer will prove interesting.

The first is for the year ending March 3lst, 1917, and the second gives the total figures from the beginning of each undertaking to March 31st, 1918,

Page 120

UNDERTAKING.

Amount of

Stock and Loans.

Income.

Expenditure (excluding Interest, _ &e.)

Gross Surplus.

Surplus

Percentage

on Capital Outlay.

Interest and Contribution towards repay- ment of debt.

Depreciation and Contingencies.

In aid

of Rate.

Waterworks ... Gas Works ... Electricity _... .. Tramways _... .. Markets .. .. Edgerton Cemetery... Lockwood _ do. ... Model Lodging House

Artizans' Dwellings...

Baths

Lockwood Baths - ...

1,815,182 11

£ s. d.

326,000 293,637 10 483,755 121,856 6,750 - 12,953 6,492 3 I 28,944 14 11

6,684

3,747 18

Totals ee £

3,106,004 _ 2

10

<_ 3 8 O8 0d -J J

£ 101,049

143,920 77,698 152,536 9,523 1,585 1,135 1,188 2,171 999 253

16

10

12

< w

£ 18 28,932 120,285 53,046 95,805 4,459 18 1,381

476

Q _-_ Q <<## ® $0 pf r=

1,177 1,132 1,496

& - _ ® I-

6 1 391

s. d.

18 10 13 2 19 19 1 5

O) - M -- MN - ® - N

15

14

LQ _-_ @ -_ ®

11

72,116 19

23,634 13 24,651 16 56,730 2 5,064 9 204 12 11 658 10 4

10 15 6

1,039 3 11

Do oo O o -- ~

375 7'25 8:39 1173 415 300 16 359

s. d. 69,849 9 4

15,643 2 1 20,552 32,561 8 4,760 3

Do o <0 <F OA ob O O0 N _ O <F I- I- 1C

£ 0s. d. 2,267 10 3

1,164 150 2 1,899 5 10 15,368 13 11

492,062

5 10 | 308,586

13 10

183,475 12

597

145,973 14 6

20,700 5 2

11,000

34

Page 121

Department.

Tramways Undertaking ... ._ 202,470

Waterworks do.

Gas Works do. Electricity do. Markets do. Lockwood Cemetery Undertaking Totals ... o

35

Received

from the Rates.

73,041 3,230 5,985 4,209

11,202

6 7 6 O0 16 6 18 9

0

Paid

to the Rates.

79,977 19 25,846 10 177,317 10 18,735 16 2.530

1 3 4 6 7

. £300,139

7 10

£304,407 16

9

Page 122

36

CHAPTER III. Nor-RrvEnur PropucInNg UNDERTAKINGS.

Say not, the struggle naught availeth, The labour and the wounds are vain,

For while the tired waves, vainly breaking, Seem here no painful inch to gain, Far back, through creeks and inlets making, Comes silent, flooding in, the main, And not by eastern windows only, When daylight comes, comes in the light, In front, the sun climbs slow, how slowly But westward, look, the land is bright. -Clough.

H N this chapter it is proposed to deal with quite a different = group of departments, which though unremunerative in the ordinary sense, are admittedly of the greatest im- portance. - Let us take first the

EDUCATION DEPARTMENT.

Educational Institutions must obviously have had great influence in moulding the moral and intellectual character of the people.

Eighty years ago, the facilities for education were very indeed. Before a select committee of the House of Commons, which sat in 1832, the following evidence was _given by two Huddersfield witnesses. Abram Whitehead, said : °" There is not any possibility of children employed in the mills obtaining any instruction from Day Schools ; but since this Factory Bill was agitated, when I have been at mills, the children have gathered round me for a minute or two as I passed along, and have said, " When shall we have to work ten hours a day ? Will you get the ten hours' bill ?

Page 123

CONTENTS.

CHAPTER I.

PAGE Preliminary : Before Incorporation ... 3-10 Court Leet and Church Vestry 3 Lighting and Watching Commissioners, 1820 4. Board of Highway Surveyors, 1840 ... 6 Parochial Constables' Act, 1845 6 Incorporation Refused, 1841 7 Improvement Commissioners, 1848 ... 7 Second Agitation for Incorporation, 1867 8 Incorporation Granted, 1868 ... 9 CHAPTER IL. Trading or Revenue Producing Undertakings 11-35 Waterworks : Old and New ... 11 Gas Works : Old and New _ ... 15 Tramways 17 Electricity .. 24 Markets : Old and New 26 Housing ... 30 Cemeteries 31 Model Lodging House ... 32 Public Baths - ... 33 Summary 33 CHAPTER III. Non-Revenue Producing Undertakings 36-70 Education Department 36 Technical College 43 Public Health Department _ ... 46 Borough Engineer's Department 55 Scavenging Department 59 Police and Fire Brigade Station oul. 62 Parks and Recreation Grounds 64 Town Hall and Municipal Offices _ ... 65 Public Library and Art Gallery 66 Weights and Measures Department ... 68

Stationery Department ©.. .. .. .. 69

Page 124

37

We shall have a rare time then ; surely somebody will set up a night school ; I will learn to write, that I will !'" The other witness, J. Habergam, said : °" When at the factory I had not any opportunity of learning to read and write-only a little on the Sabbath Day. I have tried to learn to write within these last ten or eleven weeks. I do not think there is above one in a hundred in the factories that can write."

The Blue Book for 1864 gives the total attendance at Elementary Schools in the Borough as 2,500.

The Elementary Education Act having been passed in 1870, the first Huddersfield School Board was elected on February 6th, 1871. Several temporary schools were opened in the following year, and no time was lost in erecting a number of new school premises.

The following are the Elementary Schools belonging to the Local Authority, the dates they were opened, and the number of scholars they will accommodate :- ,

Almondbury __... ... Sept., 1875 ... _ 391 Beaumont Street ... Aug., 1874 ... _- 9830 Berry Brow ... Nov., 1875 .. - 557 Brierley Wood _... ... April, 1875 70 Birkby _... c.. -... July, 1911 .. - 600 Crosland Moor ... ... April, 1877 .. - 612 Deighton ... May, 1874 ... _ 386 Goitfield, Longwood _ ... 1884 .. - 3l7 Hillhouse ___ ... ... August, 1878 ... - 859 Moldgreen ... August, 1876 _... 1194 Mount Pleasant ... August, 1875 ... 1460 Oakes _ ... ... Jan., 1875 ... - 1058 Outlane ... ___... 1877 .. - 410 Paddock ... ... August, 1884 _ _... - 722 Spring Grove | ... ... Dec., 1880 ... _ 1085 Stile Common _... ... August, 1876 _ _... _ 804 Spark Hall, Longwood ... 1888 .. - 402

Total accommodation ... 11,857

Page 125

38

These Schools contain 41 departments. In September, 1918, the number on roll in the Council's Elementary and

Secondary Schools was 9,574, and the average attendance 8,486.

The first School Board Offices were situate in Byram Buildings, Westgate, and in January, 1882, they were removed to the Municipal Offices. The School Board Offices in Peel Street, near the Town Hall, were opened in August, 1890, at a cost of £8,753, which sum included £1,700 for the site. In all the Board Schools the fees were abolished by resolution of the Board in September, 1891. Following the Education Act of 1902, the School Board terminated its existence, after a successful career, and on September 29th, 1903, all the Board Schools and the Denominational Schools passed under the jurisdiction of the Council. These latter, number 23, with

44 departments and an average attendance, in September, 1918, of 5,786, and the number on roll 6,753.

In the year 1870, not a single penny was expended from the rates upon education and in Huddersfield only about £2,000, in the shape of grants by the Government. Last year £50,625 was expended from the local rates upon Education, and £47,000 by the Government-that is £97,600 ”to-day, as against £2,000 forty-eight years ago. o

In 1870, the daily attendance at public schools in the Borough was only 4,000, while to-day it reaches 14,272. _- There was then no school accommodation for thousands of children of school age, the number of places being only 7,863, although there were 13,596 children. Actually one-half the children were either running about the streets, or at work, receiving no education at all, and of those comparatively few children whose names were on the books, only about one- half were in regular attendance. - How different to-day, when practically every child is at school. Such was the condition

Page 127

~

(ICIPAL SECONDARY SCHOOL FOR BOYS.

COLLEGE MUL

Page 128

39

of education in this district in the old days. Child labour rampant, through long hours, and at such an early age as effectively prevented children from attending school. The schools which were provided were utterly inadequate for the needs of the time, and the education given was of a very rudimentary and unsatisfactory type. Need we wonder at the ignorance and crime, the political and social servitude which then obtained. The accommodation now provided in Council and Denominational Schools is 21,559. The figures for 1870 show the average daily attendance to be 4,000, or about 50%, of the number on books, to-day the number in attendance is 14,272, a percentage of 87.2, which shows the greatly increased regularity in attendance.

The number of Teachers employed by the Committee is 565. ‘

The Half-Time System has been long abolished in Hudders- field. While Halifax, Bradford and many Lancashire towns retain thousands of Half-Timers, since 1902 we have had none at all. Again, the leaving age has been raised. Children do not now leave school for work at seven and eight years of age. Out of 1,753 children who left school in this Borough last year, only 4 were under thirteen. In connection with Juvenile Labour, a special enquiry was instituted in 1912, and it was discovered that 967 school children, boys and girls, between seven and eleven years old were working out- side school hours, from six up to forty hours a week, for wages varying from 6d. to 4/6 weekly, the great majority earning 2/6 or less, mainly selling newspapers and running errands. In 1914, with the approval of the Home Office, bye-laws were adopted to regulate the ages and hours of Juvenile employment and Street Trading. In the first seven months 500 offences were discovered, but last year there were only 13. As a result, there are now only 10 boys under sixteen years

Page 129

40)

of age licensed to sell newspapers in the streets and only two of these are school children. Girls below sixteen are not now allowed to engage in Street Trading.

Scholars' Savings' Banks have been established, and last year a sum of £7,262 was deposited by the children.

Also, in many of the schools, there are lending libraries for the use of the scholars.

In the year 1906, the system of Medical Inspection of school children was adopted. Later this was extended to include the medical treatment of children, and in 1912 the School Clinic was opened in Ramsden Street. All this has been of inestimable value in safeguarding the health of the children. The personal cleanliness of the scholars has greatly improved. Defects of eyesight and hearing, defective teeth, throat and skin diseases, and many other ailments have been pointed out to the parents, and in a large number of cases have been remedied. In this department there are engaged a Chief School Medical Officer, one Assistant Medical Officer, one Dentist, four Nurses and a Clerk. For many years free breakfasts have been given to necessitous school children, though it is pleasing to record that owing to the prosperous condition of trade, at the present time, there are no children receiving meals.

_- For many years a number of Evening Schools have been organised in different parts of the Borough. These schools are co-ordinated with the Technical College. This year 53 Evening School Students have been admitted to the Technical College free, and 87 at half-fees. The Evening Schools thus form a very useful link between the Day Schools and the advanced work of the Technical College.

The Huddersfield College, in New North Road, was erected in 1838, and was owned by a body of private managers.

Page 131

MUNICIPAL HIGH SCHOOL FOR GIRLS.

Page 132

41

After a useful career it was closed in 1893. The School Board purchased the building, and re-opened it in the year following as a Higher Grade School for boys and girls. In the year 1909, the newly erected High School for Girls, at Greenhead was opened, and the girls were transferred there ; the Higher (Grade School being transformed into a Secondary School for boys only.

These two Secondary Schools have been very successful, both numerically and educationally. The Boys' School is at present overcrowded and its enlargement is now under consideration. Several of its pupils have won very valuable Scholarships, tenable at Oxford University and other in- stitutions for higher education. In this way a ladder has been constructed enabling scholars, by the aid of free scholar- ships, to pass from the Elementary School to the highest

Universities. This year, the number of boys in attendance

is 380.

The (Girls' School also has proved insufficient to accom- modate all who desired to enter, and last year the large house near the school, known as °" Longdenholme," formerly occupied by the late Joseph Woodhead, Esq., has been acquired on lease as an extension. At present there are 420 pupils in the school.

The Higher Elementary School at Hillhouse for boys and girls was opened in 1909. _ It occupies a position educationally midway between the elementary and secondary schools. At present there are 309 pupils.

The following table will prove interesting :-

Page 133

EXPENDITURE.

Elemen-

tary.

Higher.

Total.

GOVERNMENT

Elemen- tary.

GRANTS.

Higher.

Total. |

| i | |

|

Elemen-

tary.

RATES.

Higher.

Total.

RATE IN £.

Elemen- tary.

Higher.

Total.

1871 1881 1891 1901 1918

£ 400 29,012 32,215 35,880 63,244 85,391

9,839 17,480

£ 400 29,012 352,215 35,880 73,088 102,871

£

5,045 7,385 14,546 28,907 41,407

2,654 5,313

5,045 7,385 14,546 31,561 46,720

£ 400 13,000 14,500 22,300 34,310 45,100

3,812 4,400

£ 400 13,000 14,500 22,300 38,122 49,500

1 10% 1/1 1/6 1/8}

r/o

1/01 10% 1/1 1/8 1/103

*In 1904 the Town Council became responsible for the maintenance of the Denominational Schools.

42

Page 134

CONTENTS. A vil.

CHAPTER IV.

PAGE Other Interesting and Important Topics ... 71-82 Coat of Arms _... 71 Borough Magistrates _... rill _ Constitution of the Council _... 72 Uniform Rating ee ee 72 County Borough oe 73 Acreage ... 73 Population 73 Rateable Value, &c. ... 73 Debt or Capital ? 74 Number of Employees 74 Mayor's Attendant, &c. 75 Mace, Mayor's Chain, &c. 75 Presentation Portraits 75 Royds Hall Estate 76 Popular Concerts 76 Royal Visits _ ... 76 Queen Victoria's Jubilees 77 Other Committees | _. ... sek .}. 78 Suspension of Elections .. .. 78 The Honorary Freedom of the Borough 78 Present Honorary Freemen of the Borough 79 Honorary Freemen elected at the Jubilee Celebration 79 Past Honorary Freemen .s. 80 Alderman W. H. Jessop (Mayor) _ ... 80 CHAPTER V. The Council and the Great War - ... ... 83-100 Subscriptions _ ... 84 War Hospitals ... 86 Belgian Refugees 86 Relief of Distress 87 Women's Committee for Providing Comforts for Soldiers and Sailors ... 87 Belgian Refugee Clothing Committee 88 Prisoners of War Committee ... 88 Cigarette Fund ... 88 Volunteer Corps 89 Propaganda Work -__ ... 89

War Savings' Committee .. {.. .. .. 89

Page 136

TECHNICAL COLLEGE.

Page 137

43

TECHNICAL COLLEGE.

In the month of May, 1841, the Institution commenced its work in the British School Room, OQutcote Bank, with 30 members, and was then designated as " The Young Men's Mental Improvement Society." Classes were established in Reading, Writing, Arithmetic, Grammar, Geography, Draw- ing, Design, and French, and at the first Annual Meeting the number of members had reached 100, mainly young men of from 16 to 24 years of age, while a Library of 121 volumes was also in existence. In 1843, more suitable premises were necessary, and Nelson's Buildings, New Street, were secured, and the name of the Society changed to ° Mechanics' In- stitution." Progress continued to be made and a writer in Tait's Magazine, in 1849, speaking of the Huddersfield In- - stitute, said : °" It is essentially a people's college, numbering between 600 and 700 students, who are divided into 52 classes, and taught by 42 voluntary and paid teachers." In 1850, larger premises again became necessary, and the Institution removed into Wellington's Buildings, Queen Street, purchased at an outlay of £1,600. Here the classes continued to be held and to prosper, so much so, that the Committee decided to erect a special building for the work. A suitable site was secured in Northumberland Street, and a building put up at a cost of £4,700, the foundation stone being laid by Lady Goderich, afterwards Lady Ripon. The classes were removed here in February, 1861. By this time the Library numbered 3,000 volumes, and was a very useful feature of the Institution's work. A flourishing Penny Bank (first commenced in 1850, at the suggestion of the late Sir C. W. Sikes) was also in existence. The subjects taught in the classes were as follows :-Reading, Writing, Arithmetic, Grammar, Geography, Drawing, Shorthand, Book-keeping, Mathematics, French, Singing, and Weaving. The building had been designed to provide more than the accommodation absolutely necessary, and considerable development was realized. Many new subjects were added to the curriculum, and the classes began to be examined by, and to earn grants

Page 138

44

from, the Science and Art Department (now Board of Education). By 1870, the accommodation was found to be somewhat insufficient, and year by year, the inadequacy of the premises became more and more apparent. Nothing was done, however, until 1877, at which time the local Chamber of Commerce was seriously considering the advisability of establishing a °" Trade School." As the result of negotiations (much facilitated by the fact that the President of the In- stitution, Mr. Thomas Brooke, was also President of the Chamber), a joint committee was formed in 1878 to carry out the establishment of such a school as was desired to be styled ''The Technical School and Mechanics' Institute." A subscription list was opened and the memorial stone of the present building was laid in 1881, and the Classes, Library, etc., were transferred from Northumberland Street in 1884. To celebrate this, a Fine Art and Industrial Exhibition, opened by the Duke of Somerset, was held, lasting six months and attended by 329,639 visitors. The new premises, which had cost £21,000, rendered a large extension of the work possible, and Day Classes in various subjects were established. For many years progress continued to be made and the name Technical College was adopted in 1896. The purely elementary work gradually disappeared, but excellent pro- vision was made for the teaching of Science, Art, Technological, Literary, Commercial and other subjects. A further exten- sion of the premises became necessary, and this was carried out at a cost of £35,000. The extension included new Biological, Chemistry and Physics Laboratories, Engineering Lecture Rooms and Workshops, a School of Art, Gymnasium Museum, etc. '

The new buildings were completed in 1903, and on April 1st of that year, the College was transferred to the Corporation. Since that date the work has expanded in all directions and the present accommodation has become quite inadequate. Further considerable extensions are now being contemplated on the Textile, Engineering, and Chemistry sides. The subscription lists opened to defray the cost of the proposed extension of the College has, up to the present, realized over

Page 139

45

£32,000. In addition, it is arranged that the Employers in the Engineering and Textile Industries will generously under- take the equipment of the new premises with the necessary machinery.

A new department for specialized study and research in Coal Tar Colour Chemistry was established two years ago.

The following list of the chief departments of the College will indicate the character of the work carried on :-

Coal Tar Colour Chemistry. Chemistry. Wool and Cotton Dyeing. Cloth Manufacture. Civil and Mechanical Engineering. Physics and Electrical Engineering. Pure and Applied Mathematics. Biology, Materia Medica and Pharmacy. School of Art. Languages and Literature. Economics and Commerce. Education. Domestic Economy.

It should be stated that J. A. Brooke, Esq., M.A., J.P., the President of the College, has worthily occupied that position now for twenty-three years.

The Museum at the College was established about the year 1903 with collections of natural history objects, mainly given by Mr. S. L. Mosley, and transferred from his Museum near Beaumont Park. A large and valuable collection of minerals was presented by the late Mr. Samuel Learoyd. Additional bequests have been made from time to time. For a period, at the beginning, Mr. Mosley generously gave his services voluntarily as Curator. The Museum is of great assistance to the teaching staff and students at the College, and is growing in extent, importance and usefulness. Already it is overcrowded and contains collections of great value. Mr. Mosley, the Curator, is always willing to give information to all inquirers.

Page 140

46

The comparison given in the following table will be of

interest :- Year. Students. Teazlfiiflg Fe£es. Goaigrllllzlsfnt Expengiture. 1841 30 |No record |No _ Nil. | No record 1851 441 27 3 T8 80 640 1861 1,744 32 3T2 Nil. 775 1871 1,056 30 437 13 913 1881 1,027 27 674 362 2,027 1891 1,477 209 - 1,316 878 4,019 1901 1,335 33 1,319 - 988 7,271 1911 1,711 74 1,486 | 3,419 12,151 1918 1,861 106 1,897 5,747 16,525

PUBLIC HEALTH DEPARTMENT. PrEvyEnTtivEr MEDICINE.

The Medical Officer of Health (Dr. Moore) has kindly supplied the following statement :-

The first report of the first Medical Officer of Health for Huddersfield, is dated in June, 1873. It might appear from this, that the Authorities had been remiss, seeing that nearly five years had elapsed from the Incorporation of the Borough to that date. ’

That, however, is by no means the case. To form a true judgment, it is necessary to reflect that 50 years ago the need for attention to the health of the people by the Government of the country, either central or local, was only just com- mencing to be perceived. It was only some 10 years before Huddersfield was incorporated, that the first Public Health Act was passed. Prior to that, almost the sole conception of Government, in relation to the Public Health, had been to exclude exotic infectious diseases, by means of maritime quarantine measures. The Local Government Board was not itself constituted until August the 14th, 1871, although

Page 141

47

Local Medical Officers of Health had been appointed under local acts, for some years previously ; thus, Liverpool appointed Dr. Duncan in 1847, and London appomted a Medical Officer of Health a couple of years later.

In Sir John Simon's " English Sanitary Institutions," folio 335, the functions of such officers are described as follows :-

" An © Officer of Health ' was understood to have two - distinguishing marks : first, as to qualification, that he was an Expert and in some degree a Specialist in regard to knowledge and skill applicable to the pre- vention of disease ; and secondly, as to duty, that he | had undertaken to act as impartial Public Accuser and Adviser as to whatsoever unwholesome influences in his district, should be removable under the Sanitary law."

A Borough Corporation which appointed a Medical Officer - of Health two years after the establishment of the Local (rovernment Board, was clearly by no means behind hand in setting about what every clear thinker recognizes as being its most important task, namely, by wise care of the health of the inhabitants, upon which alone can be built their happi- ness, to promote the welfare of the population entrusted to its government.

'The following quotations from the Report of the first Medical Officer of Health, referred to above, shed much light upon the deplorable conditions under which the people existed in those days :-

* Before the water flows into the Reservoirs at Ash Brow, it is polluted by drains coming from W. A.'s premises, and from a Public House and also from the High Road, the soap wash and other refuse from Ash Brow Mills does not appear to enter the stream, but is taken by an open superficial drain on to some grass fields, many feet above the level of the Beck, lower down, drains from cottages and a mistal of Mr. J. W.'s enter the stream and pollute it with urine, excrement

Page 142

48

and washings ; lower down still the drains from Mr. H. D.'s stables pours its contents into the water, which, by these com- bined mixtures of animal matter, is converted into a fruitful source of enteric disorders.

I have, therefore, to advise that all the inhabitants of Fartown Green, who use the water from this Stream, should be prohibited doing so, and that owners of property there should be compelled to supply town water to all their houses not at present having any supply, ample provision having been made for the same by the Corporation recently putting down mains as far as the houses in which the Beck water is now used."

6 6

E. S. owns and lives in a house, at Berry Brow, which is not fit for human habitation, the windows are all broken and patched up by flags and boards, and even rags, the chimney is fallen down and the roof is broken backed, and the flag- slates gape enough to let you see through it by looking through the transparent portion of the window, the hillside forms the back of the house, and you walk from the bank on to the - roof which I suddenly expected to fall under the weight of me walking two or three steps on it, this house should be newly roofed, and have new chimneys and window sashes."

"The water trough from which nearly 100 folks in Kirk- heaton draw all the water they use, is situated about 50 yards within the Borough and is filled with water from a well, 19ft. Gin. deep, in the middle of the Church Yard, from which it flows under a mistal and manure heap not far from the surface and is then conducted into a stone trough, this water is. contaminated with animal matter and has recently caused diarrhoea to prevail amongst all those who use it, there is no other water available within a considerable distance and it is important that as soon as possible, good water should be taken to them." ,

* This morning, small-pox was reported in the house of J. C., Lowerhead Row. Inspected the house with Mr. Black and found his daughter, L., aged 17 years had been suffering from small-pox for one week, lying in a bedroom where her

Page 143

49

father and mother regularly sleep in another bed, the father going about his business of making and taking out to public houses, ginger beer and other waters in the day-time. The case is so bad that I did not consider it safe to take her away to the hospital, but I prohibited them taking away from the house or selling anything until the house is pronounced pure, warning them of the penalty they would involve by dis- obeying."

* RrEsorution.--That the Medical Officer of Health and the Inspector of Nuisances shall be and are hereby authorised to institute and carry on any proceedings which the Sanitary Authority of the Borough is authorised to institute and carry

on under the Nuisance Removal Acts or the Sanitary Acts of 1866 and 1872."

* Should Cholera appear, we may have power to call upon the Chief Constable for a staff of men sufficient to isolate any case or locality by preventing the ingress or egress of any one to or from the house or yard, excepting those actually engaged in the treatment or nursing of the patient, until such patient has been removed to a hospital (if thought advisable) and the premises and everything polluted by the patient may have been disinfected or destroyed, inasmuch as although it is not a matter of experience that a person not being ill of the disease can carry it to some other person (as in the case of - Scarlatina and Small-pox) still contact with the patient inhaling the breath or vapour immediately arising from him may infect a visitor and may develop Cholera in him at his own residence, and thus spread through a whole community."

The reference to the condition of individual insanitary dwellings, reveal also, conditions which would not be per- mitted nowadays for a moment, but they are too numerous for quotation in this brief account.

The extracts given above, largely speak for themselves, but it is desirable to point out how far we have progressed since it was contemplated leaving a person suffering from Small- pox at home, attempting to establish quarantine of portions of the town, and since it was supposed that Cholera was

Page 144

50 spread by "inhaling the breath or vapour immediately arising from the person suffering from the disease."

The resolution advised in his first report to the Sanitary Authority, by the first Medical Officer of Health, to the effect that himself and the Inspector of Nuisances, should be authorised to take necessary action without incurring the delay associated with reference to Committees, is endorsed, '* proposed, but not passed," notwithstanding that the Sanitary Acts of 1866 and 1872 contemplated such authorisation.

_-_ The first file of Monthly Bills of Mortality, as the reports of the Registrar General of Births, Marriages and Deaths were then known, also afford good reading to interested persons. They commence three months earlier than the report from which the foregoing quotations are taken.

The first death rate quoted is 25.1 on a population of 72,000. _ It included two deaths from Small-pox.

The same report contains internal evidence that the presence of Small-pox in the town, was so commonplace as to give rise to little comment. - Typhus Fever, also, is referred to casually. To-day, of course, we regard both of these diseases as being practically extinct. The last case of Typhus Fever arising in Huddersfield occurred sometime in the last century. '

Though there is much of interest which might be set forth, exigences of space are such that it is only permissible to give an outline of outstanding subjects.

Among other facts which emerge from a perusal of the extant reports to the Sanitary Authority, is the early recogni- tion in Huddersfield of the need for learning of the occurrence of cases of disease in different parts of the Borough. In the early days, as will readily be recognized, the work of pro- tecting the health of the people was very primitive in its conception and operation-thus, the Sanitary Authority had no established means of learning of the existence of even the most grave and dangerous epidemic diseases. Frequent

Page 145

vill. CONTENTS. CHAPTER V.-continued.

War-work in the Schools National Registration Act, 1915 Local Tribunals _- Allotments Food Control War Bonds Military Service...

CHAPTER VI.

1.-List of Mayors . 2.-List of Members of the Flrst Gouncll Ditto Present Council... 4, - Ditto Council : Past and Present 5.-List of Present Co-opted Members of Certain Committes

6.-List of Chief Officers of the Various Departments Past and Present _

CHAPTER VII.

The Jubilee Celebrations } Presentation of the Freedom of the Borough &c

Conclusion

Note.-The Centenary of the Huddersfield Savings' Bank

PAGE 92 94 94 95 96 100 100

101-124

102 103 105 108 120

121

125-139

139

139

Page 146

51

reference to this occurs in the reports of the Medical Officer of Health, but it was not until three years after Dr. Pritchett's appointment, in 1876, that a clause, No. 67, in the Hudders- field Waterworks and Improvement Act, was obtained, requiring medical practitioners, resident or practising in the Borough, and in cases where a medical man was not in attend- ance, then the parent, or the person having the charge or control of the building or room where the patient was, to

notify to the Medical Officer of Health the common infectious diseases. '

It will be a source of satisfaction to the descendants of these pioneers in public service, to learn that it was not until 1889 that similar clauses were adopted by Parliament and made applicable to the whole country, although other Sanitary Authorities had obtained clauses similar to that in the Act referred to above.* This action, in relation to in- fectious diseases, was supported and extended by the provision of Hospital Accommodation, first at Birkby, and subsequently in the present admirable institution at Mill - Hill. , The utility and advantage to the inhabitants of the Borough,

of their Hospital, is amply displayed in the following tabular statement :-

Mortality among cases of Diphtheria, Scarlet and Typhoid Fevers, treated at home and treated in the Mill Hill

Hospital.t Disease. Cases Renegved 13121123 flzrgifiy giggfi? Notified Hospital. at Home. H oslgital. ngtne. Scarlet Fever 5308 | 5010 298 2.7 - 6.7 Diphtheria ...] 985 |_ 675 310 10.5 28.7 Typhoid _ ...! 657 |- 502 155 16.5 41.3

* It is difficult to ascertain exactly, whether or not, Huddersfield was the first to secure this provision. - The writer has it in mind that one other town was before Huddersfield in this matter.

t There is particular need for much extension of Hospital Accom modation for infants and children.

Page 147

52

The public water supply, sewers, sewage purification, and other phases of Local Government, have not only a bearing on, but are provided, either principally or exclusively, for the benefit of the health of the people, but because they are administered in other Departments, do not fall to be dealt with here ; while drainage of houses, which is dealt with in the Public Health Department, presents no outstanding features, beyond the fact that owing to the hilly character of the district, and to the consequent irregularity of the dis- tribution of houses upon land, greater difficulty is experienced in securing proper drainage than happens in districts occupy- ing level sites.

No account of the care of the public health in Huddersfield would be complete without a statement of the special work which has been done to combat those influences which are injurious to the lives and health of infants. .

In 1904, the writer submitted a preliminary report on the whole subject, and in the following order : a complete report which embodied the results of investigations into the subject, both in this country and on the continent. One outstanding need was made apparent in that report, namely, the prompt notification of the fact that a birth had occurred, to the - Medical Officer of Health. This need, may perhaps best be set forth here, in the words of the Medical Officer of Health, in reply to a question addressed to him while giving evidence before a Police and Sanitary Committee of the House of Commons, in March, 1906 :-" The heaviest mortality of infants occurs at the earliest stages-the first week, the first month, the first quarter, and the first year. It follows from that, that if anything is to be done to prevent the excessive mortality to which I have referred, we must have information of the existence of the child, or else, manifestly, we cannot do anything. Now, under the system of civil registration, which permits the registration of the birth to be delayed for as long as 42 days, we find that the mean age in Huddersfield at which the registration take place is 34 days. That, of course, is too late. The notification should be made to the

Page 148

53

Public Health Department very early, because the prime need of the infant is to be suckled by the mother. All other methods of feeding can only be substitutes. If a mother intends to refuse her infant breast milk she takes means of arresting the secretion of the breast milk almost immediately after the birth by applying medication. Now it is found that at the time of birth the mother's mind is in a very plastic and malleable condition. She is more open to receive advice -and to be guided by advice than later on, when the child has become a sort of ordinary member of the household. For these reasons it seems to me, in my judgment, to be imperative that if anything is to be done to save the lives of these help- less infants we must know of their existence almost immediately after their birth, because we cannot do anything and nobody can do anything if we do not know of their existence."*

The result was the Notification of Births Clause in the Huddersfield Improvement Act of that year.

The superficial effects of this and other measures on the fatality among infants in Huddersfield, is best set forth graphically, as in Chart L.

The insight gained into the diverse causes of ill-health and fatality among mothers and their infants, resulting from the special Notification of Births, led to the perception of the need to carry efforts to improve matters to a still earlier period of existence. After much consideration, and in face of considerable opposition, a voluntary system for the Notifica- tion of Pregnancy to the Medical Officer of Health was inaugurated and finally approved by the Sanitary Authority in 1915. Many ill-omened prophecies were indulged in by different persons (some very highly placed indeed). Principal among these, were statements such as the following :- ** Notification of Pregnancy would be a violation of the holiest instincts of woman." " It would destroy the sanctity of the home," and so on, and so forth.

* Similar powers were applied to the whole country by the Imperial Parliament in the following year

Page 149

54

Another set of statements found their key-note in threats of

opposition and resentment to which such provision would inevitably give rise.

The numbers of Notifications received were :-

1916 - From January to December ... .. - 217 1917 From January to December ... esky 1918 From January to October _ ... c.. - 446

The number of Births during the corresponding periods, were :--

1916 - From January to December ... ... _ 1906 1917 -From January to December ... ... 1650 1918 - From January to October _ ... ... 1240

It will be observed that these Notifications of Pregnancies are increasing year by year, and already constitute a con- siderable proportion of the total pregnancies.

The system is voluntary. The numbers are the more satisfactory on that account, while the dismal prophecies have been entirely falsified. But even if that were not the case, the fact that several lives have been saved and much suffering alleviated, would justify the measure even in the face of an opposition, which, however, is entirely absent- quite the reverse ; the visits of the Assistant Medical Officers of Health are welcomed, their advice is followed and acted upon. If an attempt were made to do the work by means of Health Visitors, or even if the work were done by male medical practitioners, the result might well be different. It can only be satisfactorily accomplished with the assistance of Women Doctors. _

Chart II., showing the death-rate over a long series of years will repay a careful study, and is worth pondering over.

It will be seen that the reduction in the death-rate is from an average of 22 during the first half-dozen years to 14 during the last half-dozen years ; a difference of 8. What does this mean ? It means that with respect to each person living in

Page 150

55

the Borough, it was 44 to 1 that he or she did not die during the year, whereas, in the last half-dozen years, the odds were 71 to 1 that he or she did not die during the year.

BOROUGH ENGINEER'S DEPARTMENT.

The first Borough Engineer and Surveyor appointed for Huddersfield was Mr. John B. Abbey, M.Inst.C.E. He took office under the then Commissioners in 1868 and carried on an extensive private practice, as well as his public duties under the Local Authority. He continued to carry out in an able and satisfactory manner his municipal work until 1879, when, on account of the increased duties in connection with his private practice, he retired from office. The principal work which has been carried out by Mr. Abbey, and stands as evidence of his professional skill as an Engineer, is the erection of the Town Hall and Municipal Buildings.

On Mr. Abbey's retirement, Mr. R. S. Dugdale, M.Inst., C.E., was appointed in 1879 and was the first Borough Engineer to give the whole of his time to the duties of the office. For some 19 years Mr. Dugdale devoted his great talent as an Engineer to the town's interest. He designed and carried out the first system of Steam Tramways, which at the time was the first Municipal Tramways authorized by Parliament in any town in the country. He also designed and carried out the Main Intercepting Sewer and a number of Secondary Sewers. The first instalment for Sewage Purification Works was initiated and carried out by Mr. Dugdale, but the leading projects which, perhaps more than any other, remain to remind the public of the great services which Mr. Dugdale has rendered to the town in his official capacity is the manner in which he carried out and designed Greenhead Park, Beaumont Park and Norman Park. These stand as samples not only of professional skill, but unmistakeable evidence of an artist of high attainments. - The following additional works were carried out by Mr. Dugdale :-Artizans' Dwellings, Divisional Police Stations and the present Police Offices in

Page 151

56

Peel Street, Sanitary Depot, Refuse Destructors. - He resigned office in the year 1897, and was succeeded by the present Borough Engineer, Mr. K. F. Campbell, M.Inst C.E., M.L. M. E. V

During Mr. Campbell's term of office several important works, involving a large expenditure on capital account, have been carried out. Primarily, the extension and electri- fication of the Steam Tramways within the County Borough and the linking up of a number of populous districts adjacent to and outside the Borough, with an effective Tramway Service. The outcome of such an up-to-date system of Electric Tramways, so necessary in a town containing large commercial interests, has resulted in the undertaking being a financial success. New Sewage Disposal Works to deal with the increased flow from not only Domestic, but from the Trade establishments, has been for the first time established to deal with the total sewage flow of the Borough, under the most modern methods of sewage purification. Three new schools have been erected from Mr. Campbell's designs, viz : Girls' High School, Hillhouse Higher Elementary School, and Birkby Elementary School. Housing and Town Planning under special legislation have engaged the attention of the Corporation. Since the Act was passed 96 tenement dwell- ings and 180 houses have been erected for the working classes.* A Branch Library has been erected in Almondbury - district of the Borough. A new Cemetery has been established in the Lockwood area, which includes the required place of Worship under the Burials Act.

Through the public spirit and patriotism of a few of the leading gentlemen in the town and adjacent districts, a hospital for the treatment of our wounded soldiers was erected in 1915, during the mayoralty of Mr. Alderman Joseph Blamires, on a site at Royds Hall acquired for housing pur- poses. - To carry out this very laudable project the following _ gentlemen were appointed :-His Worship the Mayor (Mr. Alderman Blamires, J.P.), Mr. Alderman Jessop, J.P., Mr.

*For particulars of these see Page 31.

Page 152

57

Alderman Woodhead, J.P., Mr. Alderman Wheatley, J.P., Sir Wm. Raynor, J.P., Mr. J. H. Kaye, J.P., Mr. T. Julius Hirst, J.P., Mr. Wm. Broadbent, Mr. Joe Lumb, J.P., Sir Charles Sykes, J.P. For such an important undertaking, it was deemed advisable to consult Professor Sims Woodhead, of Cambridge, as to the class of Buildings to be erected, as well as the suitability of the site chosen. This eminent authority on Hospital construction recommended that the Pavilions should be designed on the open-air system, on similar lines to the Hospital erected by the War Office, on the Professor's recommendation at Cambridge. The site was considered an ideal one. The Committee fortified by his advice lost no time in initiating and carrying out the work. Within three months of the time when the proposals were first introduced the hospital, completely equipped in all essentials, was erected and handed over to the War Office free of charge on October 4th, 1915. Since that date, the results which have been anticipated from the erection of this notable institution during good weather and bad, have been completely achieved under the able direction of Lieut.-Col. Marshall, C.M.G. and his efficient medical staff. The accommodation provided represents 600 beds with Quarters for Medical and Nursing Staff, Operating Theatre, Gymnasium, Recreation Room and R.A.M.C. quarters complete. The cost of the build- ing has been spontaneously covered by private subscription _ at the instance of the Acting Committee ; the Corporation providing drainage, land and the services of the Borough Engineer and his staff in the design and the carrying out of the work.

In 1917, the Corporation, through the Health Committee, completed the erection of a hospital for the treatment of tuberculosis patients. In this connection a site comprising 14 acres of land and standing some 400 feet above ordnance datum admirably sheltered by a belt of trees from North to North-east, was selected at Bradley Gate, and presented to the town by the late Mr. John Sykes, J.P., of Acre House, Lindley. Mr. Sykes, who took great interest in all matters

Page 153

58

appertaining to public health, erected at his own cost and on the advice of Dr. Gauvain, of Trelore Children's Hospital, Alton, Herts., a building for the exclusive treatment of children suffering from tuberculosis. It contains two large wards, four cubicles, day-room, operating theatre, X-ray room, plaster room, dispensary, laboratory, sisters' room, kitchen, with the necessary sanitary accommodation. This extensive building was erected from the designs of Colonel Cooper, F.R.I.B.A. To complete the hospital in accord- ance with the provisions of the Insurance Act, a handsome block of buildings for administrative purposes, as well as a pavilion for the treatment of adult patients of both sexes, has been erected by the Corporation. The administra- tive block, pavilion and laying out of the grounds were designed _ by the Borough Engineer (Mr. K. F. Campbell, M.Inst.C.E.) On the 2nd March, 1917, the buildings were opened by the Mayoress (Miss Jessop), and the Mayor (Mr. Alderman Jessop) handed over the buildings, free of all charges to the War Department, to Surgeon-General Bedford of the Northern Command, R.A.M.C., who accepted them on behalf of the War Office for use as a hospital for wounded soldiers.

Naturally, in a Borough covering so extensive an area as Huddersfield, large sums of money have been expended by the municipality upon various public improvements. About half-a-million has been spent in the making of new roads, constructing drainage and sewers, making and widening of bridges, and in the purchase of slum property for purposes of demolition. A large clearance of slum property was made near the bottom of Kirkgate. Somerset Bridge, Aspley, was opened by Lady Ramsden, on Whit-Monday, May 25th, 1874. The bridge was erected at a cost of £13,000, towards which the county contributed £3,000, and Sir J. W. Ramsden £1,000. . Among other bridges widened and re-built may be mentioned those at Colne Road, Lockwood, Longroyd Bridge, Folly Hall, Gasworks Street, and near Queen's Mill.

The following table shows the number of houses built during the periods named. In 1868, on the Incorporation of

Page 154

59

the Borough, the number of houses was approximately 18,000 :-

During 13 years ending 1881 No. of house built - 2,968

, -_ 10 $3 1891 $5 940 9 9 10 2 9 1901 9 9 1,634 , -_ 10 $3 1911 $3 3,005

ye 7 1918 1,694

Total ... 10,241

SCAVENGING DEPARTMENT.

To be charged with the cleansing of a Town is to have opportunities for exercising a beneficent and far-reaching influence, for it is to be entrusted with the comfort, con- venience and health of the citizen.

The area of the Town is 11,870 acres, but the density of population is far below that of other towns with a similar number of inhabitants. Air spaces are abundant, to the consequent benefit of the Town from a health point of view : on the other hand the cost in cleansing such a large area is not comparable with that where the population is analogous and the area one-third. V

The average citizen has no idea of what is involved in cleansing operations : his view is limited to the dust cart and receptacle van, as he sees them on their daily rounds. He sees the removal of the refuse, but not its disposal. Work is begun as early as four o'clock in the morning, when a large number of horses are fed and watered ; and an hour later teamers begin to check on preparatory to turning out for the daily work, all of which is arranged according to the distance to be traversed.

For the collection of refuse, the Town is divided into 19 districts ; 90 per cent. of the refuse is carted to the Destructors for cremation, whilst the remaining 10 per cent., usually unsuitable for cremation, finds a resting place at the Tips.

Page 155

60

Within recent years the Corporation have authorised the provision of Dust Bins for all new property, thereby giving to each house an additional amount of air space, and in turn bringing about a more frequent and clean system in dealing with the accumulation of refuse which each householder has to dispose of from day to day.

Few towns have been more enterprising than Huddersfield : hygienic principles of disposing of refuse have been in operation many years, particularly during the past seven, for in 1911, a further step towards bringing the Town to the forefront municipally was made, and St. Andrew's Road Destructor built. The utilzation of refuse, by cremation in furnaces of high temperature for steam raising in high pressure water tube boilers, is now an accomplished fact, and from the 80 tons of refuse disposed of daily at this Destructor, the Depart- ment is able to give a constant supply of steam to the Electricity Department of the Corporation, which would drive a 1,000 h.p. engine. Thus is the bulk of the refuse disposed of.

The average yearly value of steam supplied to and paid for at the Electricity Department for the seven years ending December, 1917, was £1,656. There is no Destructor Plant in the Country doing better work, and the Corporation can now claim to possess not only an up-to-date Plant, but one which is carrying out its work efficiently.

Such material as is unburnable, is picked out and sold. The residuum from the fires is partly disposed of in making mortar, four mortar mills being employed on this work ; it is also used for sewage filters, road-making and other purposes.

Work at the St. Andrew's Road Destructor Plant starts at 5 a.m. and continues without interruption until 11 p.m., when the fires are banked for the few hours of rest that inter- vene ere the first shift of men commences work again.

A part of the work which calls for special attention, is the daily removal of offal from the Nlaughter-houses and the garbage from the Wholesale Markets : clinker from public

Page 156

ILLUSTRATIONS.

1.-Ald. W. H. Jessop, J.P., Mayor, 1897-8, 1898-9,

1916-17, 1917-18 . . 2s. Flontlspleoe 2.-Joseph Batley, First Town Clerk .._ Facing Page 9 3.-Chas. Hy. Jones, First Mayor ... . e 11 4.-Butterley Reservoir . .. e 5.-College Municipal Secondary School for Boys os 39 6.-Municipal High School for Girls as 41 7.-Technical College , $5 43 8.-Greenhead Park Fallen Heroes' Memorial o 64 9,.-Beaumont Park ... as 64 10.-Town Hall.. . ao 66 11.-J. Henry Fleld O0.B.E., LL B., Town Clerk e yy, -_ 121 12.-Presentation of the Freedom of the Borough 18th Sept., 1918 » -_ 125 13.-Presentation Casket containing Certlfioate of the Freedom of the Borough o 126 14.-Certificate of the Freedom of the Borough , - 126 15.-Presentation Card to Scholars ... , -- 128 CHARTS. 1.-Infantile Mortality since 1877 ... as 52 2.-Death Rates from 1870 to 1917 as 54

Page 157

61

buildings, churches, chapels and schools also is regularly removed.

_- Bo long ago as 1872, the then existing system of privies or earth closets called for consideration and a system of tubs, or what is still known as the " Rochdale system *" was intro- duced. This method has grown until now there are in use over 15,000 closet receptacles. To cope with this branch of the work of the Department, the Town is divided into Districts, and the Vans employed have a given number of tubs to collect daily so that no part of the work is left to chance ; every man is checked in and out by a recording clock ; the recept- acles or tubs are brought to the Depot, and after the contents are disposed of, each tub is thoroughly washed and disinfected before it is allowed to pass out of the Works ; lastly, each Van is likewise swilled before it passes again into the streets. The present system is undoubtedly an expensive one, largely due to the fact that double service is rendered to almost every house, first by collecting the refuse from the ashpit or dust bin, and secondly, by the exchange and removal of a closet

receptacle.

The question of the conservancy system in dealing with fecal matter has received the serious and careful considera- tion of the Health Committee on several occasions, and at last it may be said that steps towards abolishing the tub system are being taken. - When the War is over, and a normal state of affairs exists, further progress hereon will, it is hoped, be reported.

Every effort is thus made to keep as alert as medical science demands, and to barricade the avenues of disease and secure conditions that make for health.

The following figures will shew the advance made in the collection and disposal of the town's refuse during the last twenty years : in 1897, the Department emptied 58,237 ashpits and dust bins ; in 1917, 381,463 ; in 1897, 556,614 closet tubs were collected compared with 793,654 in 1917, and the cremation of refuse in 1897 was 6,988 tons, and in

1917, 18,016 tons.

Page 158

62

POLICE AND FIRE BRIGADE STATIONS.

At the time of the Incorporation of the Borough, the Police Station was situated at the corner of Victoria Street and Bull and Mouth Street. An inner door from the offices led into a yard where the cells were situated, which were used for both males and females. The premises were altogether out of date and unsuitable long before the new premises were provided.

__ The foundation stone of the present Police Station, in Peel Street, was laid by the late Alderman J. J. Brook, J.P., in 1896. The building was formally opened on September 15th, 1898, by the present Mayor, Alderman W. H. Jessop, who was also Mayor at that time. The cost of the building was £11,450.

On leaving the old premises, the strength of the Force was 113. The present normal strength is 138, but owing to the war has been depleted by about 44 men.

During the past few years great changes have taken place in the Police and Fire Brigade Departments. _ A " Local Taxation Department " now exists from which all licenses are taken out. During the last twelve months 6,295 licenses were issued to motor drivers and others.

The " Finger Print" system of identification has been introduced, and has been a great help in the detection of crime and identification of prisoners. Rapid strides have also been made in the photographing of prisoners. Soon after commencing at the new Police premises, a horse ambulance was obtained, but about six years ago this was superseded by a motor ambulance, a great improvement upon the hand ambulance which was in use at the old Police Station. A Lady Police Assistant was brought into requisition about three years ago. She was appointed under the Shops' Act, and in that connection her duties are to see that the regulations are observed. - Her other duties include attention to cases of indecent assault on females, and rescue work.

Page 159

63

Since the outbreak of the war the duty has devolved upon her of making inquiries and reporting upon the conduct of the wives of soldiers and sailors, and upon the cireumstances of soldiers' and sailors' dependants. The work has grown to such a degree that two Lady Assistants are now required. For a few years past the conveyance of prisoners to gaol has been done by motor, a motor van having been specially built for the purpose. The old way was to remove them from the Police Station to the Railway Station in a horse-driven vehicle, known as °" Black Maria," and thence by train to Wakefield or Leeds, the remainder of the journey being done by tramcar or on foot. The amount paid last year in pensions to fifty-one policemen reached £3,362. The gross total cost of the Police Force last year was £16,945, the Government contribution towards this being £7,024, leaving £9,921 to be recovered from the rates.

The following tabulated statement has been kmdly pre- pared by Captain Moore, the Chief Constable :-

TRIED SUMMARILY.

, Persons Offences Year. Crimes Ap- Non- by Drunkenness. Committed | Indictable | Indictable | Juveniles. Offences. | Offences. 1869 |_ 160 85 85 2132 -- 598 f 452 M 1878 8 63 6: 25 47 5 J 7 8 ) 3 ial i 90 [I 38 T , | . 279 M . C P3 5) F0:- 1 2 e J ' 1888 99 55 5J 501 (U) 392 113 F 1898 |_ 265 122 9.) 1221 25 222 { 165 M | 57 F 1908 | 256 _| 102 71 | 761 17 | ars 1408 3,1 | 53 I C) 221 | 125 | 120 | 913 | 102 | 177 1152“? 3

The Fire Brigade Station is situated in Princess Street, and adjoins the Police Station. It was erected at a cost of £3,200. This department has seen very marked changes since the Incorporation of the Borough. From 1868 to 1879

Page 160

64

the Brigade consisted of volunteer firemen. The Town Council then took matters over and made it into a Police Brigade, and the Chief Constable was appointed Captain. The only fire appliances then were two hose carts, one-horsed fire engine and fire escape, and horses were supplied by a local cab proprietor in case of fire. 'The only means of notifying the firemen of an outbreak of fire was by one of the firemen blowing a fog-horn at the main entrance in Princess Street. In the year 1899, the Brigade had been brought more up-to-date. Five horses were then kept at the Fire Station, and the appliances consisted of two steam engines, two escapes, two hose-carts and a horse ambulance. The fire- men resided in close proximity to the Fire Station and had electric alarms in the houses. Twenty-nine telephone fire alarm boxes had also been fixed in the streets in different

parts of the Borough in direct communication with the Fire Station.

In 1914, the Brigade was brought further up-to-date by being supplied with two motor fire engines with ladders and escapes attached, and all the horses were dispensed with. The number of fires reported last year was forty-two, and the damage caused thereby was estimated at £7,215.

PARKS AND RECREATION GROUNDS.

Beaumont Park, Lockwood, the land for which was pre- sented to the Borough by H. F. Beaumont, Esq., of Whitley Hall, was opened by His Royal Highness the Duke of Albany, in the year 1883. It covers an area of twenty acres and presents some very romantic and rocky scenery. Last year £601 was spent in keeping the park in good condition. The total expenditure on capital account reaches the sum of £31,654.

The other large Park is situated at Greenhead, near to the centre of the town. It was opened in September, 1884. The statute in the Park was erected by public subscription in memory of the Huddersfield men who lost their lives in the Boer War, and was unveiled by Lord French on May 20th,

Page 161

HEROES' MEMORIAL.

GREENHEAD PARK-FALLE]

Page 163

BEAUMONT PARK.

Page 165

65

1905. The two Drinking Fountains were presented by the Huddersfield Temperance Society and Band of Hope Union. Last year £1,226 was spent in keeping the Park in good con- dition. The capital sum expended upon this Park is £58,120, which includes £30,000, cost of the land purchased from Sir John Ramsden, towards which he gave a donation of £5,000.

Norman Park, at Birkby, was opened in 1896. This Park covers a very small area, but rivals the other two in beauty and wealth of foliage. £142 was spent on it last year. The capital sum expended is £4,198, towards which £1,611 was derived from the Old Waterworks Surplus Value Account.

For many years during the summer months, the Parks Committee have engaged a number of first-class bands to play in (Greenhead Park. These performances have been greatly enjoyed by many thousands of people.

There are a number of Recreation Grounds in various parts of the Borough, which are owned or rented by the Committee. The principal of these is the one situated at Salendine Nook, and was presented to the Corporation in July, 1914, by T. H. Moore, Esq., J.P.

TOWN HALL AND MUNICIPAL OFFICES.

The Town Hall, in Princess Street, and the Magistrates' Courthouse were opened in 1881 at a cost of about £57,000. The Town Hall is beautifully decorated ; it boasts a

magnificent organ, and will seat about 2,250.

The Municipal Offices adjoin the Town Hall, facing Ramsden Street, and were erected in 1878 at a cost of about £19,000, Here will be found, in addition to the Council Chamber, the Mayor's Reception Room, Mayor's Parlour, and numerous departmental offices. There is internal communication between the two buildings, and for all practical purposes, the Town Hall and Municipal Offices may be regarded as one huge and handsome building. '

In consequence of the increase and extension of Municipal Undertakings, these offices have for many years proved

Page 166

66

inadequate, consequently other premises have been purchased at the corner of Ramsden Street and Peel Street, in order to accommodate the Medical Officer of Health and the Borough Engineer's department. Prior to the Incorporation of the Borough, the Offices of the Improvement Commissioners were situated at the corner of Manchester Road and South Parade. After the Incorporation the Municipal Offices and Council Chamber formed part of a building in Ramsden Street, fronting the old Philosophical Hall, which stood on the site now occupied by the Theatre Royal.

PUBLIC LIBRARY AND ART GALLERY.

The Public Library and Art Gallery was established as part of the local scheme for celebrating the Diamond Jubilee of Her Late Majesty Queen Victoria. It is situated in premises in Somerset Buildings, Church Street, held on lease from the Ramsden Estate, which together with the contents were taken over by the Corporation in April, 1898 from the trustees of the fund, amounting to £1,603 7s. 4d., subscribed for the purpose of its establishment. For the first ten years, Sir J. Ramsden generously charged only a nominal rent.

The Reading Rooms were opened to the public on February 14th, 1898, by Alderman W. H. Jessop ; the Lending and Reference Libraries being opened on 22nd April, 1898, by The Marquis of Ripon. The Library, which has rapidly increased in size and importance, comprises the following departments, Lending, Reference, and Patent Libraries. The original tenancy was quickly outgrown, and in 1899, it was necessary to take over an additional room to which the Reference Library was transferred, the News Room being extended into the room it previously occupied. A Reading Room for Boys was also inaugurated. Further extensions were made in 1900, the Reference Library being transferred to an upper floor, allowing for an extension of the Lending Library ; an additional Magazine Room being also provided.

The accommodation in the Reading Rooms consists of two News Rooms, a Ladies' Room, and two Magazine Rooms.

Page 168

TOWN HALL.

Page 170

67

The Art Gallery, consisting of three rooms, was opened by Lady Gwendolen Ramsden, at the same time as the Libraries, the Inaugural Exhibition consisting of works kindly lent from private local collections. Other Loan Exhibitions have been organised and Annual Exhibitions of the work of the Huddersfield Art Society and Autumn Exhibitions of invited works have been held, and Special Exhibitions of Photo- graphs, Arts and Crafts, Etchings, Lithographs, Cartoons, and works by indvidual artists have been features of interest. A Permanent Collection is in course of formation. It at present consists of 37 Oil Paintings, 17 Water Colours, 85 Engravings and Lithographs, 100 Arundel Society Chromo- lithographs, and 7 Sculptures (3 in Bronze). Of these, 144 items have been presented and 102 purchased. - The Library and Art Gallery are maintained by a rate of one penny in the £.

In February, 1906, a Branch Library, at Almondbury, consisting of Lending Library, News and Magazine Rooms, the cost of which was defrayed by Dr. Andrew Carnegie, was opened by Sir Thomas Brooke, Bart., J.P. The Branch, which is opened on two days a week, contains 3,757 volumes, the issues for the past year being 5,717. The number of Borrowers is 678.

The progress of the Libraries may be gauged by the follow- ing table :- _

STOCK. ISSUES.

, , 2 \ Borrow- ending | Ref. Lending | Daily ' Ref. | Patent | ers. Library. | Library| Library. | Average Library. Library.

At Opening ...} 4890 486 z . Mar. 31, 1899 7124 | 1104 |_ 97015 386 | 1765 . 4584 $5 1903 | 14771 | 3034 | 156478 598 g2458 17136 | 5202 $5 1908 | 22004 | 4909 | 186548 | 691 | 4827 | 1002 | 5631 $ 1913 | 28263 | 6658 | 218305 824 | 5425 931 | 6753

$s 1918 | 31486 | 8119 | 225834 863 | 7254 572 | 7417

Page 171

68 During the years 1899 to 1913, fifteen Courses of Oxford Extension Lectures were organised, together with sixteen other Lectures on Literary and Scientific subjects, but owing

to the falling off in attendances their promotion was dis- continued.

A system of School Libraries was established in March, 1906, consisting of 31 boxes of books, 1,840 volumes in all. These were distributed among the Elementary Schools in the Borough outside a radius of 1 mile from the Central Library, being changed round periodically. Six additional boxes of books have been added since for certain schools. The cost of provision and upkeep is met by the Education Committee, the services of the Borough Librarian and his staff being, by. consent of the Public Library Committee, given to the whole of the work of administration.

The first Librarian and Curator, Arthur G. Lockett, who was appointed in December, 1897, organised the Library prior to its opening in the following April, and held the office until his death in June, 1909. Fredk. C. Cole, the present Librarian and Curator, was appointed Deputy Librarian in February, 1898, and succeeded to the post of chief in July, 1909.

It is proposed that after the War, a New Central Library and Art Gallery be erected as a Memorial to the brave men of this Borough who have offered, and many of them given their lives, for their country.

WEIGHTS AND MEASURES DEPARTMENT.

From 1868 to the year 1875, the duties in this department were carried out by the police ; from 1876 to 1906, Market Superintendents of the Borough acted as Weights and Measures Inspectors.

On the death of Mr. George Matthewman, in consequence of increased inspection and supervision having become necessary, the combined offices were separated. In accordance with the Weights and Measures Act of 1889, it was also required that

Page 172

69

all inspectors should possess the Board of Trade Certificate of qualification.

In December, 1906, Mr. William Edward Warwick, of Sheffield, who obtained the Board of Trade Certificate at Westminster in 1903, was appointed Inspector of Weights and Measures, subject to his entering into the usual recognizances to the Crown, as required by the Statute.

The Offices are in Bull and Mouth Street and here are housed the Local Standards of Weight and Measure, together with the necessary balances. The local standards are required by the Act of 1878, to be verified by the Board of Trade ; the Weights and balances once every five years and the Measures once every ten years. ‘ '

The Standards, by which are controlled the Trade Weights and Measures of the Borough, are provided out of the local rates and not by the State ; the following is a list of those owned by the Borough :--Weights : Avoirdupois, Apothe- caries, Troy, Metric ; Dry and Liquid Measures of Capacity ; Apothecaries' Measures ; Measure of Length.

For the year ending March 31st last, the number of outdoor visits made was 2,642, and the number of Weights and Measures examined was 24,116, of which number 4,170 were incorrect. 'The number of Weights and Measures verified (indoor) was 11,999, of which 3,179 were rejected.

STATIONERY DEPARTMENT. The Huddersfield Corporation, as befits the governing body

of a town whose ruling powers have always been noted for their progressive spirit, early considered the question of establishing a Stationery Department. We find that in 1889, and again in 1896, the Finance Committee considered the question of having a Stationery Department, but for various reasons the project was not carried out. However, in 1913, it was definitely decided to appoint a Stationery Manager, and the Department was opened on January lst, 1914,

Page 173

70

The Department orders all Printing, Stationery and Account Books (except School Stationery) required by the various Departments of the Corporation, and the benefits accruing to the Corporation are many. There is a centralization of Stock Stationery, avoiding waste and securing quick delivery of miscellaneous requirements. Its establishment has tended to financial economy and has ensured that supplies shall be up to the standard of specification. It is also able to check extravagances as regards quality of materials requisitioned by Departments.

The difficulties occasioned by the War have further shewn the foresight of the Finance Committee in establishing the Department.

Np Aw

Page 174

71

CHAPTER IV. Oturr IntErEstiNo anp Important Tortcs.

For the structure that we raise, Time is with materials filled ; - Our to-days and yesterdays Are the blocks with which we build. --Longfellow.

APART from the departmental information given in the 4 S two preceding chapters, there are certain other matters of general interest which are deserving of mention, and which concern the Council, as a whole, rather than any partleular

coat oF ARMs.

When the Borough was incorporated in the year 1868, its Coat of Arms was registered in the College of Aer London as follows :-

Or on a chevron between three Rams passant Sable as many towers argent And for the Crest On a Wreath of the Colours A Ram's head couped argent armed Or gorged with a Collar sable in the mouth A Sprig of the Cotton—

tree slipped and fructed proper.

2 9

The motto is " Juvat Impigros Deus," which is variously translated as follows :-" God helps those who help them- selves," or " God helps the diligent." '

BOROUGH - MAGISTRATES.

At the time of the Incorporation, the Borough was under the jurisdiction of the County Bench of Magistrates, with

Page 175

72

Mr. J. C. Laycock as Clerk. In the year 1870, however, the first Magistrates for the Borough were appointed, consisting of the following gentlemen :-Chas. G. Legge, Chas. Hy. Jones, George Armitage, Wright Mellor, Joseph Crosland, - Edward Huth, Jere Kaye, David Sykes, Alfred Crowther, William Shaw, John Crawshaw, John Day, J. Fligg Brigg, C. J. W. Waterhouse, Charles Hirst. Mr. Laycock continued _- as Clerk to the Justices until 1872, when Mr. Charlee Mills was appointed. - Mr,. Mills has very ably filled the position for the long period of forty-six years, and he resigned the office on account of ill-health in October, 1918. Mr. A. J. Slocombe, who has been assistant to Mr. Mills for about forty years, has been appointed to succeed Mr. Mills.

CONSTITUTION OF THE COUNCIL.

From the date of the Incorporation to the year 1890, the number of wards in the Borough was twelve, and the Council comprised fourteen Aldermen and forty-two Councillors. In the latter year, Longwood was added to the Borough, and the number of Aldermen and Councillors was increased to fifteen and forty-five respectively, which are the numbers at the present time. In 1908 the Home Office made an order by virtue of which the Borough was divided into its present number of fifteen wards. The total membership of the Council, however, was not increased, but the representatives of certain wards were reduced in number, and allocated to the newly-created wards.

UNIFORM RATING.

Up to 1906, a system of differential rating obtained throughout the various wards in the Borough. In that year, for instance, the rate in Bradley Ward was only 6s. 7d., while in Almondbury Ward it was 7s. 11d. This method of rating was considered to be inequitable, and in 1906, the Council resolved to adopt the principle of uniform rating, which has proved to be a more sound and just administrative policy.

Page 176

73

COUNTY BOROUGH.

By the Local Government Act of 1888, Huddersfield was created a County Borough from April lst, 1889, the status of the town being thereby raised to a position commensurate with its municipal progress and enterprise.

ACREAGE. The present acreage of the Borough is 11,870.

POPULATION.

There can be no doubt that apart from the Corporation's own Housing Schemes and the generally prosperous trade of the town, the many and varied undertakings of the municipality have induced people to reside in the Borough. The following table shows the increase of the population at stated periods. It should be remembered that when the Borough was incorporated in 1868, its boundaries were con- siderably enlarged ; and that in 1890, Longwood was added to the Borough :-

1801 .k - 7,268 1861 34,874 1811 .. - 9,671 1871 70,253 1821 .. 13,284 1881 81,841 1831 .. 19,035 1891 95,417 1841 .. - 25,068 1901 95,043 1851 ... 30,880 1911 .. - 107,821 1918 Estimated __... _- 116,000 '

RATEABLE VALUE, &c.

The following interesting table has been supplied by the Borough Treasurer :-

Year. Rateablg V alue. Rate indthe £. Loan Iigebt. 1869 210,596 2 1 125,923 1878 272,723 o 6 1,132,493 1888 358,808 -a 9 1,782,357 1898 442,566 D 2,614,409 1908 498,678 7 5 3,821,896 1918 604,452 17. 6 4,177,351

Page 177

74 DEBT OR CAPITAL ?

At the end of the financial year 1917, the net debt of the Borough amounted to £3,333,942 2s. 1d. This works out - at about £31 per head of the population. This appears to be a large figure, and has often been seized upon by critics of our municipal expenditure as illustrating its extravagance. But - why should it be stigmatised as " debt ?" The money similarly used by private companies is termed «< capital,"" not ' debt." And this three millions is really so much capital invested by our municipality in its various undertakings, as exemplified in the preceding pages. A portion of it is spent upon health and sanitary improvements, hospitals, sewage works, street improvements, education, parks, etc. But a large proportion is expended upon remunerative under- takings, which are wholly or partly self-supporting, or which, after meeting all expenses, hand over a surplus towards relief of rates. Therefore, this so-called " debt" represents very valuable assets. - It is unlike our National Debt, which stands chiefly for the cost of wasteful wars, and is not represented by good assets. Surely the money spent upon gas works or a school, or a park, cannot be classed with money spent, say, upon a continental war, or in fighting against American in- dependence. If an individual borrows £1,000 and spends it on fireworks, which he throws into the air, he is in a vastly . different position to the man who invests a like sum, say in cottage property. The one has some valuable assets to show, while the other has nothing but smoke. Therefore, in con- sidering the question of municipal liabilities or " debt " we must at the same time take into account the value of the assets which those liabilities represent.

NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES.

As illustrating the great extent to which the Corporation are employers of labour, it may be stated that the total number of employees is 2,400, of which 644 are in the Education Department.


Return to the Huddersfield Exposed home page