St John's, Upperthong (Albert T. Pile)
Between April and October 1952, the Huddersfield Examiner published a series of 26 pen and ink drawings by Brighouse artist Albert T. Pile in the weekend edition of the newspaper.
Saturday 10 May 1952
From An Artist's Sketch Book — 5
By Albert T. Pile
A Church of the Holme Valley
Upperthong can boast of a church which architecturally is much superior to the Parish Church of Holmfirth. Upperthong, too, is the older parish. St. John the Evangelist's at Upperthong was dedicated in 1848, when Holmfirth was still a chapel-of-ease to Kirkheaton. The architect was Edward Hugh Shellard, who followed the Perpendicular style and designed this handsome building with its eighty-foot tower.
When the dedication festival took place on Sunday a new Bible and a new processional cross was used for the first time. The preacher was the Rev. P. Millard, and a special service for the children in the afternoon was conducted by the vicar (the Rev. D. S. Davies). Lessons were read by Michael Howarth and Margaret Bradshaw. Mr. W. Barrowclough was the organist.
|collection:||Paintings, Engravings & Etchings|
|tags:||1950-59, 1952, Albert Thomas Pile (1882-1981), Churches, Drawings, Newspaper and Journal Illustrations, St. John's Church (Upperthong), Upperthong|
|creator:||Albert Thomas Pile (1882-1981)|
|date:||10 May 1952|
|rights:||© Estate of Albert Thomas Pile|
|date added:||25 October 2022|