Story of the Golcar Town School (1926) by John Griffiths

The following is the OCR text of a book and will likely contain conversion errors. This page is designed to be indexed by search engines. Click on a page number to view the book in your web browser.

The text is believed to be in the Public Domain.

Page 1





Page 4


GOLCAR TOWN SCHOOL, now KNOWL BANK COUNCIL SCHOOL. (Central Portion Erected 1816.)

Page 5





Page 6

Se Sole,



Page 7



1. Gudlagesare 2. The Site and How Obtained. The Inclosure Act and Award — 3. Golcar and Neighbourhood in 1816-


The Original Building —- The Original Trustees Elected in 18235 = 3. The School’s First ; Master - 4. Trustees Elected in 1850. - 5. Mr. and Mrs. Silvester Sykes — 6. Mr. Thomas Edward Sykes - 7. Mr. Stuckey and Mr. Watts —


1. Staving off the School Board - ~ 2. Enlargement. of School. Sens Committee Appointed ~ 3. Extension Compieted. Re- 3 of the School -—- —


dS —

VOLUNTARY SCHOOL. 38 1. “ Voluntary,’ a Misnomer — 2. Election of the sessile mes? of Trustees — ~ “

3. Mr. John Roberts ~ ae = (iii)

Page 8








Mr. F. W. H.C. Tuck — Mr. James Farnish ise an Mrs. Gledhill a = = Managers Appointed — ~ Mr. John Griffiths a = = Miss Ada Booth — ont


Payment by Results. Method of

Computing Grants -—- = Local Income of the School — _


ae ne

Exit Voluntary Management — The Golear School Board = - A Reminiscence — ~ ~ Enlargements - —- - Minor Activities in the Nineties


ol a dead

The Colne Valley es Sub- Committee _ - Progress and Death of Miss Booth. of Miss Eastwood — The Old-time Pupil Teacher System The Curriculum—Past and Present— The Present Staff - = ~


oo oF foe


Music — ~

Sport — Scholarships The Evening School Other Activities — ~ The Present Headmaster

ob RO Aes ea






96 100

Page 9






1. Longwood Grammar School and West

Riding County Minors —

2. Golcar Town School Centenary

Scholarships ~ -

3. Mr. A. Livesey, B.Se. —





MENT) - ~ ~ ~


- THE Scuoon’s Rott or Honour (GREAT War) —- ~ ~ ~ -




— 106

Page 10

ae Se ee

10. 11. 12. 13. 14. 15. 16. +7.



Bank (Frontispiece)

JosupH TAYLOR (A TRUSTEE) SILVESTER SYKES — - ss ~ Mrs. SILVESTER SYKES - = = = Mrs. Hath - - - - - - Witiiam Hirst (A TRUSTEE) - - - JOHN GRIFFITHS (WHEN APPOINTED IN 1890)

Tur SCHOLARS OF THE Town SCHOOL, 1892 Grovup 1 _ _ - _ _ _

Grovrp 2 - _ _ _ ~ _ Grour 3 - = = = ss Group 4 - = = = sa Ep@ar Woop CRABTREE- - - = JOE CROWTHER C.C. ~ ~ ~ THe Bank Scnoon Cuoir, 1922- ” 3 = » 1926- JOHN GRIFFITHS - - - - -



21 25 26 28 4) 48

50 52 54 56 58 67 77


92 99

Page 11


mere attainment of its Centenary by any Institution is in itself often considered a sufficient justification for the writing of its history. We believe however, that there are grounds other than a tribute of reverence to old age to justify the publica- tion of this little volume.

The School known at present as the Knowl Bank Council School reached its hundredth birthday in 1916, while the Great War was still raging. It therefore attains the age of 110 during the current year (1926). We found considerable difficulty in wun- earthing particulars of its early life, for those were the days when little thought was given to records, so that frequently only such records survived as the memory (often untrustworthy) of those taking part in the meetings could carry, to pass into oblivion along with the “passing away ”’ of the persons concerned. We feel, however, that though the early records are not as full as we could like them to be, the fact that the School as an educational institution has fulfilled a useful purpose, and is continuing to do so, makes it a worthy object for historical research. In the hope, therefore, that the information gathered concerning its past, and its various activities in more modern (vii)

Page 12

“times, may be preserved to future generations, we present to old scholars and the general public this Story of the School.

There is one gentleman to whom we owe much in the compilation of this little history—Mr. John Sykes, Solicitor, Market Place, Huddersfield. Mr. Sykes, a gentleman who has devoted much time to the study of local history, may be considered an authority on the subject. He most readily placed his wide and accurate knowledge at our disposal, and was thus largely instrumental in making the earlier sections of the book eminently trustworthy. We tender to him our sincere thanks.

We much regret that in spite of the most painstaking efforts, we have been unable to obtain photographs of the earlier masters of the School, beyond those of Mr. & Mrs. Silvester Sykes, which Mr. Edwin Sykes kindly lent.

We have enlisted the help (readily given) of twe former scholars—Mr. Edgar W. Crabtree and Mr. Alfred Livesey, the former to write a foreword to the book, and the latter a short chapter on the present Headmaster of the School. Our thanks are hereby offered to Mr. Crabtree and Mr. Livesey. Though in agreement with most of their statements, it may be as well perhaps to take the precaution usually taken by editors and say do not necessarily | identify ourselves with the views expressed.”’ JOHN GRIFFITHS.

Carlion Terrace, Golear, October lst, 1926.


Page 13


‘JN taking up my pen to write a Foreword for the Story of the Lower-Town—Knowl Bank School, I am struck with the similarity of its career to the human individual. A child is always looked upon kindly and helped by those around it. Afterwards, when it has grown up, it has to fight for its own hand, and in doing so it makes what might be called enemies, and at any rate faces difficulties and opposition.

The History, of which this book is a record, shows that at its start and for many years the School had the full support of all classes in this part of the town- ship. Afterwards, when it had arrived at maturity, other Educational Agencies had arisen, and it found itself, with many ups and downs, fighting hard against powerful and vested interests though always finding loyal and stout supporters, but the crucial time of its life was, however, during the early years of the first School Board. At that time the Huddersfield Board School at Goit Field, Longwood, was overcrowded, and as it contained a large number of Golcar children the Huddersfield Board, quite rightly, insisted that these children should be taken out and provided for by Golear. The Golcar Board considered the question, and a motion was introduced to close down the Town School, and erect a Board School at Scar Lane Bridge te meet the claims of the children at the Kast End of


Page 14

Golcar, and of those parents in the centre of the Town- ship who insisted on Undenominational Education, the remainder to find room in the National School. Bearing in mind the intense feeling of that day in regard to what was called the Religious Question, one can well believe that the proposal was strenuously debated, and had it won, would have been an end to the Town School. As, however, it did not pass, Crow Lane was built, and the Town School enlarged, with its name altered to Bank.” I am happy to think that the intolerance of those days on the Religious Question is now passing away, and hope that in the near future there will be only one type of Elementary School in the land, thoroughly up-to-date in buildings to ensure the health of the children, also in equipment, in staff, and above all an agreed system of sound religious education drawn from the teaching and lessons of the Bible.

In the past ‘‘ Knowl Bank’’ has done its duty. Old scholars can look back with pride and satisfaction on its work. To-day many of the children of the Township are within its walls. These children are the men and women of the future, and as an Educationalist I would like to ask the old scholars and parents to encourage all they possibly can the Educational Authorities and the Staff to see that its children have the fullest opportunity of having that Education which shall make them good and useful citizens, and so carry on the glorious traditions of the School.


Page 15





The Golcar Town School can boast of a history extending over rather more than a century. Golcar itself may claim association with the Domesday Book of William the Conqueror, 840 years ago, where we are told that it paid the sum of ten shillings (pre- sumably to the King) in the time of Edward the Confessor. One of William’s prime favourites was Ilbert de Laci, to whom he gave no fewer than 204 manors in Yorkshire. Golcar was one of them. The spelling of the name, how- ever, in the Domesday Book is very different from what it is to-day. Indeed, such a change has taken place in the name, that one modern writer ‘imagines that with no other place on earth has the fancy of illiterate writers played such tricks as have been played with the name of this village.”” In the Domes- day Book it appears as GUDLAGESARC. As to its derivation and meaning there is a divergence of opinion with regard to the latter 1

Page 16

half of the name, some holding that the ending signifies “‘ a rock, while others are of the opinion that it is “arg,” a shieling or cow-pasture, while others again make “ arg ”’ to mean an altar or sacred enclosure. All are agreed, however, that the first syllable “‘ Gol ”’ is a corruption of the personal name Guthlac. We have therefore to make our choice of (1) Guthlac’s Rock, (2) Guthlac’s Shieling, or (3) Guthlac’s Chapel, as our explanation of the word.

Golcar is referred to in the Domesday Book as follows :— In Gudlagesare (Golear) Leuine held half a carucate (60 acres) of land to be taxed, and there may be half work for one plough. Now Dunstan holds it of Ilbert, but it is waste. T.R.E. (Tempore Regis Edwardi = In the time of King Edward) it paid ten shillings. Wood pasture, 1 mile long, } Mile wide. A great Roman road, joining Manchester and York, passed near Golcar (through Slack, Outlane) where recent excavations have revealed the existence of a Roman camp, supposed to be the Roman Cambodunum.

It is interesting, even amusing, to note the various ways in which the name of this village has been spelt down the centuries. As we have seen, it is Gudlagesarc (and Gudlagesarge) in the Domesday Book (1086). The Wakefield Court Rolls in 1272 have it Gouthelagh- charthes, but the Yorkshire Inquisitions (1286) simplify it into Goutlacharres. In the 14th Century it takes two forms in the Wakefield Court Rolls, namely, Gouthlacharwes and Gouclocharwes. Dewsbury Church gives us 2

Page 17

another variant still in the 14th Century— Gouldelakekerres. Before the end of the 14th Century (1398), however, a much simpler form is given in Dodsworth’s notes—Guldecar. Yorkshire Deeds in 1438 have Gowlkar, and Halifax Wills (1481) Goulkery. It is worthy of notice that in Yorkshire Fines (1535), the present-day spelling is to be found—Golecar, though it must not be thought that that spelling was the invariable rule afterwards, for on a map of the Savile Estate, in 1715, appears Gowker, an attempt no doubt to make the spelling fit in with the native pronunciation. It will be seen then that Golear has something to be thankful for, in that it has not been saddled with one of the spelling monstrosities of the 11th to the 13th ' Centuries in regard to its name.


In order that the reader may understand how the land which formed the site of the School and Schoolhouse became vested in the Trustees for the benefit of the School, it is necessary to refer to the Golcar Inclosure Act and Award. Prior to the passing of the Act, there were two large tracts of common land, known as Wholestone Moor and Bolster Moor, together with numerous other smaller parcels of land in different parts of the Township, which contained in the aggregate an area of 330 acres, and as we shall see presently, it was upon one of these smaller parcels of waste or uninclosed land that the original School and 3

Page 18

Schoolhouse were erected in the year 1816, four years before the passing of the Act, which received the Royal Samet on the 20th June, 1820. Mr. William Pilkington, of Thorne, near Doncaster, and Mr. Frederick Jones, of Milnsbridge, two well-known Land Surveyors, were by the Act appointed Commissioners for the purpose of setting out, dividing, and allotting the common among the persons interested therein, and they had to make their Award within three years from the passing of the Act. The Commissioners were required (among other things) to set out and allot to the Surveyors of the Highways certain pieces of land, not exceeding in the whole 4 acres, for public stone quarries, for the purpose of getting stone and gravel for repairing the highways, and after all the stone had been got, the Act provided that the allotments should be sold by public auction, and conveyed to any person willing to become the purchaser, and that the purchase money should be applied in repairing the highways. The Commissioners made their award on the 21st June, 1823, and the two plots of land comprising the site of the School premises were awarded as follows :—‘‘ To James Hall, of Golcar, in the County of York, Innkeeper, an allotment or parcel of land situate on Golcar Hill containing 38 perches (including an encroachment containing 26 _ perches) bounded Eastward by an allotment sold and therein awarded to Joseph Hall, and an ancient enclosure belonging to Sir Joseph 4

Page 19

Radcliffe, Baronet, Westward by an allot- ment sold and therein awarded to John Taylor, Northward by the Golcar Hill and Swallow Lane Road, and Southward by an allotment therein awarded to the Surveyors of Highways for the Township of Golcar.”’ The other allotment was allotted to the Surveyors of Highways for a stone quarry by the following description :—“‘ One allot- ment, or parcel of land on Knowl Bank containing 35 perches bounded Eastward by an allotment sold and therein awarded to Joseph Hall, Westward by an allotment sold and therein awarded to John Taylor, North- ward by an allotment awarded to James Hall, and Southward by Knowl Bank Road” (now Handel Street). The first-mentioned allotment was conveyed by James Hall to thirteen Trustees, namely:— Matthew Sykes, Joseph Hall, John Pearson, William Ramsden, John Hinchliffe, Benjamin Hall, John Lockwood, George Livesey, Joseph Raweliffe, Daniel Ainley, John Taylor, John Ramsden, and Daniel Dyson, by a Conveyance dated 23rd September, 1823. The recitals in this Conveyance state that such of the several inhabitants within the Township of Golcar as were resident on the north side thereof, being desirous of erecting a school for the education of children, had entered into- voluntary contributions for that purpose, and that a school and schoolhouse had been built at considerable expense upon part of the waste lands then uninclosed within the said Township, called Golcar Hill, and that by 5

Page 20

the Inclosure Award the Commissioners had awarded for the use of the said inhabitants unto James Hall the allotment thereinafter described, “‘to the intent that he should convey the same upon the trusts thereinafter mentioned, that was upon trust for the establishment and upkeep of a school for the education of children and for the guidance of the Trustees in the management thereof.”’ It is quite clear that although the School was erected in 1816, the land upon which it was built did not become legally vested in the first Trustees until the 23rd September, 1823. We now pass on to another Conveyance to the Trustees dated 2nd April, 1839, by which the allotment which had been allotted to the Surveyors of the Highways became legally vested in the Trustees. This Conveyance was made between Joseph Gill, of Jammy Lane, Clothier; and Abraham Taylor, of Window End, Crimble Clough, Clothier, who were then Surveyors of the Highway, and Matthew Sykes, John Pearson, William Ramsden, John Lockwood, Daniel Ainley, John Taylor, John Ramsden, and Daniel Dyson, then the eight surviving Trustees mentioned in the Conveyance of the 23rd September, 1823. The Conveyance states that under the Inclosure Award there had been allotted to the Surveyors of Highways for the repair of the highways an allotment on Knowl Bank, containing 35 perches, and that the stone therein had been exhausted, and that the Surveyors in consideration of £20 paid to them by the surviving Trustees 6

Page 21

granted the said allotment to the surviving Trustees upon the trusts contained in the before-mentioned Conveyance of the 23rd September, 1823. It may seem strange that the School was erected by such of the inhabitants within the Township as were resident on the north side thereof. The explanation is that the in- habitants of the whole of the Township had determined that provision should be made for the education of all children in the Township. The inhabitants on the north side, that is on the side lying to the north-east of Heath House Brook, determined to build the Town School, and those on the west side of that Brook the old school at Wellhouse, which is shewn on an old plan of Golcar, dated 1823. A third school was subsequently built at Clough Head, for the children of Clough Head and Scapegoat Hill. In this way all the children in the districts mentioned. were provided for, so that none of them had a great distance to go to school.


It may be of interest to give a few par- ticulars regarding the surroundings of the School at the time it was built. There was at that time an ancient enclosure of land belonging to Sir Joseph Radcliffe, which extended from the eastern boundary of the School premises to the place where the Junction Hotel now stands. There were no buildings in this enclosure, nor were there any 7

Page 22

buildings on the land on the opposite side of the road between the School and the site of the Junction Hotel. Near this site there were some houses at Scar Head, but in the whole length of Scar Lane (then a lane not merely in name) there was not a single house until the Dolphin Inn was reached, just below the present Royal Hotel, and on the same side of the road. A little lower down, on the opposite side, stood Mill Row, the residence of Mr. Matthew Sykes, a figure that loomed large in the public life of Golear a hundred years ago, and, as we shall see later, a Trustee of the Golear Town School. It may here be remarked that Milnsbridge was an eminently desirable residential quarter at that time, one of its few residents being Sir Joseph Radcliffe, who lived at the large house, afterwards known as Armitage House. Coming back to the neighbourhood of the School, about 150 yards or so above the western boundary of the School premises, stood the old building now known as the ‘“* House of Lords,” which was then occupied as a Drysalter’s Shop. Beyond this was another close of land belonging to Sir Joseph Radcliffe, on which was erected the old covered shed recently pulled down, and the old stables occupied along with the Rose and Crown Inn. This ancient hostelry then belonged to Sir Joseph Radcliffe, and was occupied as tenant by James Hall, to whom, as we have seen, the piece of land upon which the School and schoolhouse are erected was allotted by the Inclosure Award to the intent } s

Page 23

that he should convey it to the Trustees of the School. The close of land upon which the old stables were erected was subsequently given by Sir Joseph Radcliffe as the site for the Church School, but the old covered shed was retained as an adjunct to the Rose and Crown Inn, so that teamers could pull their horses, carts, and waggons off the public highway, and the horses could eat their corn under cover, whilst the teamers partook of refreshments in the inn. Proceeding further westward, there was a close of land called the “ Pinnacle,’ which then belonged to Ashworth’s Trustees, and now forms part of the Church School premises. The remainder of the “ now forms the site of Clifton House and the grounds occupied therewith. On the opposite side of the road to the “‘ Pinnacle”’ was the house occupied by Mr. John Fisher, Cloth Finisher, the father of Mr. Mark Fisher, with the Cloth Finisher’s Shop in the rear. Next came the house formerly occupied as a Grocer’s Shop by Joseph Garside, who subsequently removed to Westwood. This house was afterwards occupied by Dr. Joseph Webster, and sub- sequently by his son, Dr. A. G. Webster. Then came the old buildings erected on the site of the Manor House and grounds. Next came a field belonging to Samuel Walker, now forming the site of the Vicarage grounds and the Church, and then two small pieces of land purchased in the year 1858, and added to the churchyard. A number of houses bordered the road on 2

Page 24

both sides at Town End and there were small clusters of houses at intervals down Ley Moor. The Ridings, as a residential quarter, then hardly existed, while houses were dotted on the slope past Handel Street (as now known) and Scarhouse. The canal was even then in existence, having been opened for traffic through Stand- edge in 1811, while the railway was a luxury unthought of. The degree of purity of the waters of the Colne in those days may be judged from the fact that baskets of fish were drawn from the river, and the Baptists of Pole Moor Chapel, the only one in the neighbourhood, resorted to its banks for immersion. A recent writer adds: “ Hardy the fish and firm the faith that would to-day brave the waters of the Colne.” There was no place of worship in the Township when the School was built. The nearest place where people could attend was the Church at Longwood, erected in 1749 on land given by Sir Joseph Radcliffe, which had to serve Longwood, Quarmby, Golcar, Milns- bridge and part of Linthwaite. Longwood Church was the recognised place where Vestry Meetings were held for transacting the business of the Township of Golcar, electing surveyors of the highways, passing surveyor’s accounts, and other parish business. Notices of Parish Meetings were given out in the church and posted on the church door, as this was then the only place of worship in the district where such notices could legally be posted. If any of the inhabitants wished to 10

Page 25

be married, they went to the Parish Church at Huddersfield, and when they died they were usually buried there, unless they resided in the west part of the Township, when they were buried at Slaithwaite. As to the other places of worship then in existence or built soon after, it may be here mentioned that Pole Moor Baptist Chapel was erected in 1790, Golcar Church in 1830, and the Golcar Baptist Chapel in 1835. . | John Wesley visited Huddersfield and district towards the middle of the 18th Century, but whether he actually preached in Golcar is not known. This is what he says of the people of this neighbourhood: “A wilder people I never saw in England. I preached near Huddersfield (would it be Golcar ?) to the wildest congregation that I have seen in Yorkshire. Yet they were restrained as by an unseen hand.” The people had just passed through that terrible time known as the “ Rising of the Luddites.”’ Trade was bad, bread was dear, and money scarce. There was no railway, and when people went abroad they had to walk. The roads were bad, and on winter nights were very dangerous. The people had to use candles for artificial light, and these were dear, on account of the tax upon them. When people went about at nights, they had to take a lantern with them, in which a short piece of candle was placed. It was a common practice for people to meet in each other’s houses on winter nights, and sit round the fire and talk by fire-light, to save the cost of 11

Page 26

candles. The nearest places where news- papers were published were Leeds and Manchester, and there was a heavy tax upon them. School books were very dear and very scarce, on account of the duty on paper. Exercise books, school furniture and equip- ment of various kinds, such as we have to-day were non-existent. History, grammar, geo- graphy and drawing were not taught. Children were taught the letters of the alphabet either by the horn book or a spelling book, the teacher pointing first to the capital and then to the small letters, and repeating them until the children knew them by sight. In some schools the children repeated the alphabet together in the following manner :— A, BOD, £, G, id L, M, N, O, zs Q, R, S, 25: Uy a Ye After learning the alphabet, the next book was one called “ Reading made easy,” which contained words of two, three, or more syllables. The name of this book was con- tracted to “‘ Readymadeasy.”’ The multipl- cation tables were repeated by the children together. There were very few books in the homes of the people. They usually consisted of the Bible, the New Testament, the Common Prayer Book, the Christian Psalmody, and Bunyan’s “ Pilgrim’ s Progress.”’


Page 27




The Golear Town School, known to the present generation as the “ Knowl Bank Council School,” occupies a prominent posi- tion near the summit of Golear Hill. From Manchester Road, across the valley, it can without much difficulty be located by anyone versed in the local topography, though situated in the midst of a maze of houses. The view of Golcar from Linthwaite is, indeed, a striking one. The steep hill-side is studded with houses, rising terrace after terrace to the summit of the hill. The district in which the School is situated is known as “‘ The Knowl ”’ or “‘ Knowl Bank,”’ and the road passing the School “ Knowl Road.” ** Knowl”? means a small bare hill or eminence of a more or less rounded form, as well as the top of such a hill. It is a dialect form of ‘“* knoll,’’ which comes from the Old English “ cnoll,”’ Anglo-Saxon “ cnol’’ and Welsh “ cnol,”’ all of which mean “‘ a hill top.” The word was written “cnol’”’ in Boethius in the year 888. Brockett gives ** Knoll, knowl, knowe, the top of a hill, a 13

Page 28

bare rounded W. Smith, who wrote in 1816, speaks of “‘ rounded hills which are called knolls or knowls.”” In Evelyn’s Diary (1686) we read “It stands on a knowle insensibly This exactly describes the site of Knowl Bank School. Bank comes from the Middle English “ banke, a mound of earth.” The oldest sense seems to have been hence “bank, a ridge of earth.” Both ‘‘ Knowl” and “‘ Bank’”’ are frequently found in place names.

At present there are two buildings on the site—the Mixed Department, on the higher ground adjoining Knowl Road, and the Infants’ Department, on a lower level along Handel Street. The building that has cele- brated its centenary, however, is the central portion of the Mixed Department, but, as it lies somewhat below the level of the road, it does not readily attract the attention of the passer-by.

The earliest educational establishment consisted of merely one room, measuring roughly, 40 feet by 20 feet, lying almost due east and west, and having its entrance door in the middle of the south wall. That is to say, its front was towards Linthwaite. This room is still standing, as there does not appear to be any reason to doubt that the present main room of the Mixed Department is the identical one erected in 1816. The stone recording this fact is now in the boys’ cloakroom, over the door of No. 1 classroom, though formerly it occupied a place over the 14 |

Page 29

entrance door. It is semi-circular in shape, bearing the following inscription :— 7


was erected by Subscription = Anno Domini 1816 &

Adjoining the schoolroom on the HKastern side was the schoolmaster’s house, connected with the School by a door-way. Indeed, it is open to question whether this house should not be considered as part of the School premises, as there are “old girls” of the School still living who can testify to having obtained practically all their education in the dwelling-house attached to the School. Besides the ground taken up by the School, the dwelling-house and outhouses, on the higher level adjoining Knowl Road, there was along Handel Street a small field or “ croft,” added later, as already shown, rented, in the earliest recorded years, by a Mr. John Whiteley. The whole estate was thus bounded on the north side by Knowl Road, on the south by Handel Street, on the east by a disused stone quarry, now occupied by a block of houses, and on the west by a footpath, still used, joining Knowl Road with Handel Street. In all it measures rather less than half an acre. _ The public generally at that remote period, were not alive to the advantages of education,

Page 30

and the many were disposed to regard it as a luxury for the few. Indeed, it is surprising at this time of day how many there are who still fail to realise the benefits of education. But one hundred years ago, even the Government of the country preserved a kind of neutrality—of indifference, one might say—towards the education of the masses, and left it to their option to “ take it or leave it.” It was then, in those dark days of indifference, that the Town School raised its head.


The original Trustees were thirteen in — number. Below are appended particulars of each Trustee, along with James Hall, to whom the allotment was awarded. An endeavour is made, where possible, to connect them with their descendants and relatives of the present day. We have seen that the allotment on which the School and schoolhouse were erected was awarded to James Hall, to the intent that he should convey it to the first Trustees, to be used for the purpose of a school. Mr. Hall was a man who was universally respected. He died on the 25th December, 1850, at the ripe old age of 82, and was interred in Golcar Church Yard. Before the Church at Golcar was erected, he was a_ regular worshipper at Slaithwaite Church. The Rev. C. A. Hulbert, M.A., who was formerly Incumbent of Slaithwaite, in the year 1864 16

Page 31

published a little work entitled “ Annals of the Church in Slaithwaite,’’ in which he refers to Mr. Hall as “a staunch member of the Church of England, of gentle manners, of unassuming deportment, benevolent and hospitable.”’ His son, Joseph, succeeded him . at the Rose and Crown Inn, followed later by the grandson, James Herbert Hall, whom many inhabitants of Golcar will remember. Another grandson of James Hall was John Hall, for many years the Golcar Postmaster. 1. The first Trustee named in the Convey- ance of 1823 was Mr. Matthew Sykes, of Millrow, Scar Lane, which was then the only house on the north side of the lane between the School and Milnsbridge. The house was situated on the present Fair Ground, the only vestige now remaining of the place being gate-posts near the road side. Mr. Sykes was an Attorney at Law, as Solicitors were then described. He took an active part in the town’s affairs, and regularly attended meet- ings for the purpose of appointing Surveyors of the Highways and of passing the Surveyors’ accounts. : 2. Joseph Hall, of Golcar Hill, the brother of James Hall, was a butcher, and an allot- ment adjoining the School premises was allotted to him by the Inclosure Award. 3. John Pearson, of Scar Bottom, Clothier, was a member of an ancient family of that name, who resided at Scar Bottom. The farm upon which he resided consisted of five or six closes of land situate in the centre of Sear Wood, with the farmhouse and buildings 17

Page 32

erected upon part of them. The lane leading to the farm was a continuation of Botham Hall Lane, and crossed Scar Lane at the point where the railway bridge now stands.

4. William Ramsden was a Shop-keeper, and carried on business at Scarhouse.

5 & 6. John Hinchliffe and Benjamin Hall were Clothiers, residing at Leymoor.

7. John Lockwood resided at Cliffe Ash, and was a Woollen Manufacturer. He had a daughter, Sarah, who became the first wife of Robert Taylor, of Myrtle Grove, and was the mother of Alice, the wife of the Rev. Dr. Callow.

8. George Livesey was a Shop-keeper at Golear Hill.

J. Joseph Rawcliffe, wasa Clothier, residing at Scar Top. 10. Daniel Ainley was a 1 Grocer at Golear Edge, and was the great grandfather of Mrs. Oliver Taylor. ll. John Taylor was a Clothier, and resided at the Rock. He had a son, Henry Taylor, who married Mary, the eldest duaghter of Benjamin Sykes, of Sharehill, Woollen Manufacturer. 12. John Ramsden was a Woollen Manu- facturer, and carried on business at Ramsden Mill. He was the father of Thomas Ramsden, and the grandfather of the late John Edward Ramsden, and of Thomas Henry Ramsden, Oakwell. 43. Daniel Dyson kept a shop on Golcar Edge, and subsequently removed to Birkby. 18

Page 33


A difficult question now presents itself. Who was the first Master of the School ? The complete list of the first Trustees remains intact. The facts are not nearly so re- assuring with regard to the first Master. An “old” scholar, Mrs. Mary Hall, formerly of Searhouse, told the writer some years ago that she had some recollection of a Mr. Bakes as Master of the School. Confirmation of that belief has come to hand, to the effect that in 1830 the Master of the School was John Middlebrook Bakes. Only so much is known for certain. But was he the first Master? From the building of the School down to 1830 is a period of fourteen years—no great span. There is very little doubt that he was succeeded by Mr. and Mrs. Silvester Sykes, in that the recollection of Mrs. Hall (a pupil of Mrs. Sykes) goes back to Mr. Bakes and to no other. There is no record of the termination of Mr. Bakes’ tenure of office, nor of the appointment of Mr. Sykes to throw light on the number of years Mr. Bakes was in possession after 1830. There is nothing left, then, but to surmise that in Mr. Bakes is to be found the first Master of the Town School, and leave it there.


By 1850, two only of the original Trustees were alive—Matthew Sykes and John Taylor. They were both desirous of retiring from the trust, and so took steps towards the appoint- ment of new Trustees. The earliest entry in 19

Page 34

the Minute Book has reference to the appoint ment of these Trustees “by a certain Indenture bearing date the 19th day of August, 1850.” The list is as follows :— 1. William Sykes, of Longwood, Attorney at Law, who was appointed in the place of his father, Matthew Sykes. Mr. Sykes was associated with his father in the practice of the law. He died whilst on a visit to Dublin, © on the 11th April, 1858, and was interred in Golcar Church Yard. 2 & 3. Thomas Ramsden and John Ramsden, brothers, of Ramsden Mill, Woollen Manufacturers, were appointed Trustees in place of their father ; Thomas being the father of the late John Edward Ramsden and the grandfather of the late Mrs. William Henry Sykes, of Bankfield; John Ramsden, the younger, being the father of Thomas Henry Ramsden, of Oakwell. 4. John Ainley, of the Market Place, Shop-keeper. Mr. Ainley subsequently re- moved to Lockwood. His son, Henry Ainley, was the father of Mrs. Oliver Taylor. 5. Jonathan Hirst, of Spring Cottage, Cliffe Ash, Cloth Finisher. 6. Richard Ainley, of Swallow Lane, | Golear, Woollen Manufacturer. He was the father of Alfred Ainley, Solicitor, and also of Ellen Ainley (who became the second wife of the late John Denison Sykes), and the erandfather of Richard Ainley, of Knowl Road, and of David Ainley, of Manchester (see appointment of Master in 1877). 20

Page 36

An Old Golcar Worthy. A Chairman of Trustees. JOSEPH TAYLOR,

Page 37

7. Joseph Taylor, of Small Lane, Woollen Manufacturer, who was part-owner of Victoria Mills, and was the grandfather of Mrs. Henry Edward Pearson, of Cliffe Ash, of William Edward Taylor, of New York House; of Fred Gledhill, of Acre House; of Edgar W. Crabtree; and of Edward Taylor, of Grasmere Road, Huddersfield, an old scholar, and now head of the firm of Allen Taylor & Co., Yarn Spinners, Meltham. 8. Thomas Fisher, of Golear Edge, Woollen Manufacturer. He was the father of the late Mrs. William Hirst, of Claremont, and the maternal grandfather of Thomas William Hirst, of Claremont. 9. Thomas Pearson, the younger. 10. William Taylor, of Rock, Clothier. ll. John Iredale, who resided first at _ Golear Edge and subsequently at Robroyd, Wellhouse. He was formerly a Clothier, afterwards becoming a Coal Merchant, his coal staithe being near the Railway Station, and approached by the road leading from Brook Lane. He had three sons, Levi, Walker and Henry, and two daughters, Ann and Abigail. Ann married Richard Baxter, of Linthwaite, and had two sons, one of whom was John Iredale Baxter, who resided at Station Terrace, and died a short time ago. Henry was the father of Herbert Willie Iredale, of Wellhouse. 7 12. John Wimpenny, of Golcar Hill, Drysalter. He had five daughters, namely, Sarah, who married David Taylor, and was the mother of Oliver, Albert and Fred Taylor;


Page 38

Harriet, who married James Hellawell, and whose children at present living are Joe Hellawell and James Hellawell; Enny, who married Christopher Noble, Waste Dealer; Deborah, who married James Quarmby, Woollen Manufacturer; and Elizabeth, who married Thomas Taylor. John Wimpenny died on the 16th January, 1864. 13. John Beaumont, of the Rock, Clothier. He was uncle to the late Seth Mitchell and the late Mrs. John Whiteley, of Lane End. Of the foregoing, the most prominent appear to have Ramsden, Jonathan Hirst, John Ainley, Joseph Taylor, Thomas Pearson and John Iredale. Meetings were only held once a year (in January), when the principal items of business, according to the Minute Book, were the Election of Chairman and the adoption of the year’s Balance Sheet. It will be seen from a perusal of the appended copy of one of the early Balance Sheets that this second item— the Balance Sheet—was not a very formidable

document. Cash Account up to 3rd Jan., 1853.

Receipts. £ s. d. Expenditure. £ s. d. Balance ...... 913 Per Mr. Hirst, Mr. Sykes, Rent 4 10 for Stove.... 7 O John Whiteley 10 | Silvester Sykes, ——_— for repairing 1413 7 door and for 12 1] Setting of Chamber Fire Range .... 5 1l hand .. 14 8 12 11


Page 39

From the foregoing it will be gathered that the Trustees had little to do with the manage- ment of the School, either financially or educationally. Apparently their concern with the educational interests of the School practically ceased when they had made the appointment of master and mistress. The curriculum, the staffing, the scholars’ fees,— all were left entirely in the hands of the Schoolmaster. Those were the days when the luxury of annual Government Grants was a thing unknown, so that the master and mistress were entirely dependent on the scholars’ fees as a return for the educational advantages given. One of the first acts of the new Trustees was to resolve “ That an opinion be taken of E. L. Hesp, Esq., whether such place where a notice for calling the meetings of the Trustees can be removed from Longwood Chapel to Golcar, or any other place as may be agreed upon.’ Apparently, then, from the date of erection of the Golcar Town School, in 1816 down to 1850, and even to a later date, the Trustees were called together by a notice posted in Longwood. This anomaly the new Trustees were anxious to bring to an end, for at the meeting held in January, 1851, whether as the result of a favourable reply from Mr. Hesp, or no, is not made clear, the Trustees resolved That great inconvenience having arisen from the fact of the notice calling meetings being posted at Longwood Chapel instead of some locality where the Trustees reside, in future all notices respecting 23

Page 40

the Trust be posted, one at Golecar Church, and the other at the Baptist Chapel.” This attempt on the part of the Trustees to bring the question of the posting of notices more in conformity with modern needs was not immediately successful, for a minute as to the election of new Trustees, in 1876, states: was resolved unanimously that notice be given in Longwood Chapel on March 12th and 19th (1876), according to custom, that a meeting be held in the School- room on Monday, the 3rd day of April, 1876, commencing at 7 o’clock, for the purposes of electing 13 Trustees for the above place instead of those deceased or intend resigning.” It seems, then, that sixty years were in- sufficient for the removal of such an anomaly. As the years went by, there was little to disturb the even tenor of the yearly meetings, with their Balance Sheets, until the year 1856, when some “extensive additions ”’ were made to the property, among others, new coal-houses, pig-sty, hen-roost, and fencing of school This involved an expenditure of £47 9s. 4d. The few pounds’ revenue was utterly inadequate to meet the cost, so that when the Balance Sheet for the year was presented in January, 1857, there was a balance owing to the Treasurer of £34 13s. lld. An instructive minute then follows: “‘ It was also arranged with Mr. S$. Sykes, the Schoolmaster, that he would pay 5 per cent. per annum interest for the amount owing to the Treasurer above and over his usual rent, which is £4 10s. Od. a year, the 24

Page 42

“If you cannot do anything with your boy, send him to Silvester Sykes, and he will make a man of him.”


Page 43

interest to reduce each year as the money due to the Treasurer diminishes.”’ The Trustees evidently felt the burden of debt somewhat keenly, but, year by year, it became a gradually diminishing amount, until at the meeting in January, 1868, eleven years afterwards, a minute records that “ the Trustees had the pleasure and gratification of learning that the School was free from debt.”’ Here it may be interesting to note the varying terms that the various Minute Secretaries applied to the School. “ Golcar Lower School” was quite a common name in the early records of the fifties and sixties, apparently to distinguish it from the Church School, two hundred yards higher up the road. Later, it was spoken of as “‘ The Golear Hill ‘*‘ The Golcar Hill Union School,” and “The Lower School, Golcar Hill.”” In the early seventies, however, the “Town School” designation seemed to gain favour to such an extent that, from that time onward, until the adoption of its modern name, that was the only name applied to it in the School records.


At the date when the School’s official records open (1850) Mr. and Mrs. Silvester Sykes were master and mistress of the School. As referred to in an earlier page, there is no record of the date of appointment of Mr. and Mrs. Sykes. The information to hand is that Mr. Sykes came into Golcar from either an 25

Page 44

Ilkley or'a Keighley school. Mr. Sykes had a good name as a disciplinarian and a teacher, so good, indeed, that there was a saying current of him: “ If you cannot do anything with your boy, send him to Silvester Sykes, and he will make a man of him.”’ Teaching was by no means Mr. Sykes’ sole qualification, for he practised dentistry as well, and was a qualified apothecary. As will be gathered from the Balance Sheet already given, the schoolmaster paid to the Trustees £4 10s. Od. as yearly rent. From an agreement in the Minute Book entered into with a later master, it appears that this sum was rent for the dwelling-house, but that the School itself was rent-free. Mr. Silvester Sykes continued as master of the Town School until his death on December 14th, 1858, at the age of 58. His wife, Sophia, survived him rather more than four years. Her death occurred on March 5th, 1862, at the age of 63. Both lie buried in the graveyard of the Golcar Baptist Chapel, only a short distance from the door of the Young Men’s Institute. A very graceful tribute is paid on the tombstone to Mrs. Sykes in the following words :—‘ Think what a wife and teacher ought to be: All that she was.” It will be interesting at this stage to refer to a pupil of Mrs. Sykes—a link with those far-off days—namely, Mrs. Hall, formerly of Golcar, but now of Matlock. Mrs. Hall, who has very clear recollections of her schooldays under Mrs. Sykes, was for a long time a 26

Page 45

“Think what a wife and teacher ought to be: all that she was.’


Page 47

prominent figure in the life of Golcar, as a devoted member of the Golcar Baptist Church, and, for several years, as the Golcar repre- sentative on the Board of Guardians. Charitable institutions and needy cases always found in her a willing helper. She has always retained a close interest in the School, and though now living away, continues to give practical proofs of her with the School’s activities.

The elder son of Mr. Silvester Sykes, Edwin John Sykes, conducted a school at Linthwaite for some time. His son, Mr. Frank Sykes, lives at 81, New North Road, Huddersfield, and is closely identified with the Oakes Baptist Church. He was choir- master there for thirteen years. He has been a member of the Huddersfield Choral Orchestra since 1887, and is at present the Honorary Musical Director of the Huddersfield Thespian Society.


A son, Mr. Thomas Edward Sykes, succeed- ed as Master of the School at the age of twenty-three, a position which he held for only about six years. The details again are most meagre as to his tenure of office. He had been apprenticed as a joiner, and whilst following his occupation had the misfortune to lose his arm. He apparently tired of the office of Schoolmaster before very long, for we read that he severed his connection with the School in December, 1864. While many of


Page 48

the older residents of Golcar will remember him as Master of the Town School, a much larger number can bring him to mind as Registrar of Births and Deaths, with a class- room at the Town School as his office. He held that position until his death on January 5th, 1898. He had many years before gone to live in Huddersfield, only visiting Golcar once a week in the course of his duties as Registrar. He also lies buried in the same grave as his father and mother in the Golcar Baptist Churchyard. | It may be noted here that one of his sons, Mr. Edwin Sykes, is a well-known townsman of Huddersfield, in practice as a Solicitor, in New Street.


The successors of Mr. T. E. Sykes were appointed at the Trustees’ Meeting, January, 1865. They were Mr. and Mrs. Stuckey. Their stay here was not long—just two years. Unfortunately, in the matter of records of the careers of the various schoolmasters, the Trustees’ Minute Book helps but little. Regarding Mr. and Mrs. Stuckey, for instance, the only information imparted by the Minute Book is that “ after due consideration it was agreed to appoint Mr. Stuckey and his wife as schoolmaster and Of their work at the School the book is silent. Even their departure is not considered worthy of any reference. Their resignation is to be inferred to have taken place, however, towards the close of 1867, from the copy of an agree- 28

Page 49

“‘Needy cases found in her-a willing helper.”

A pupil of Mrs. Sykes. Mrs. HALL.

Page 51

ment between their successor, Mr. Watts, and the Trustees, dated April, 1868. Mr. Henry Edwin Watts commenced, in all probability, his period of office in the early part of 1868. A perusal of the agreement referred to shows the Trustees to be by no means narrow in the matter of religious toleration, for one clause of the agreement reads: ‘‘ We, the Trustees, require of the master that he give his instruction free from principles, but will be allowed to teach from the Scriptures, and from books in harmony therewith.” Mr. Watts, well re- membered by some of the older inhabitants as a very strict disciplinarian, did not stay long at the School. His wife was Sarah, daughter of Mr. Mark Fisher, of Golcar Hill, whose sons, Mr. John Fisher and Mr. Edward Fisher, are well-known to the _ present generation. Present-day “Town School” scholars ought to know that it is to these two gentlemen that they are indebted for the ‘‘ Two Furrows ”’ Recreation Ground, on Golear Hill. Little beyond the Agreement referred to is given in the Minute Book as to the work of Mr. Watts. We know, from a reference to his successor, that he did not stay long at the School—probably twelve months. He died at Hoylake, West Kirby, in 1910, at the age of eighty-three, and lies buried, along with his wife, who had pre-deceased him by several years, in Golear Church Yard.


Page 52



Here it will be well to pause in our review of the various schoolmasters and take note of the widening activities of the Trustees. At the Trustees’ Meetings of the fifties and sixties, the most prominent members appear to be Jonathan Hirst and John Ainley. These two worthies practically shared the chairmanship of the meetings between them for a period of about twenty years, no very onerous task, as the meetings were seldom held oftener than once a _ year. More strenuous times lay ahead, however, when Joseph Taylor, locally known as “Joe 0’ Jim’s,’’ came into prominence, for during the busy years of 1873-1876, when meetings were frequent, and important decisions had to be made, Joseph Taylor was the recognised chairman. The Education Act had been passed in 1870, and, with State aid, greater possibilities were opening out in connection with the education of the young. A move was made in Golcar, and the first indication given in the Minutes is an entry for the 12th of May, 1873, as follows: “ It was agreed to call a Public Meeting to obtain the opinion of the Town as to the necessity 30

Page 53

of enlarging the School, so that it might obtain the Government Grant, and afford sufficient accommodation for the deficiency now known to exist.” There are many people now living who clearly remember the stirring events that the foregoing Minute gave rise to, and who delight in recalling the struggles of those bygone days. Minute Books, however, are stolid and unmoved when recounting even the most thrilling events, as the following account of the Public Meeting (taken from the Minute Book) will prove: “‘ The people of Golcar assembled in large numbers, when some persons desired to have a School Board. The question was discussed, and a vote taken, when a majority in proportion of 3 to 2 or 5 to 3 voted against having a School Board, and for the necessary alterations to be made to the School.” This is the only meeting of the kind recorded in the Minutes, though it was by no means the only one, as strenuous efforts were made by the supporters of School Boards in the direction of having one established in Golcar. The opponents of the School Board system prevailed for the time, for not until 1893— just twenty years after—did a Golcar School Board become an accomplished fact.


Now that the way was clear, the Trustees pushed forward proposals for the enlargement of the School, with a view to meeting the shortage of accommodation consequent on 31

Page 54

the passing of the Education Act of 1870, and obtaining Government Grant. By July, 1873, plans for the extension were in the hands of the Education Authorities in London. Hitherto, the School consisted, as has been pointed out earlier, of a single room—the present main room—with the schoolmaster’s house at the eastern end. To the west of the schoolroom there was vacant land in the possession of the trustees on which it was now proposed to build. A Building Committee was next appointed. In giving the names of the Committee-men it is thought advisable, for the benefit of the younger public of Golcar, to append brief notes to connect them, so far as is possible, with their representatives of the present day. The following formed the Committee :— John Lockwood, Town End, Golcar, Joiner, the father of Mrs. John William Quarmby and grandfather of John L. Quarmby. James Sykes, Manufacturer, Scarhouse, father of Arthur Sykes and Frank H. Sykes, 105, Station Road.

John Pearson, Manufacturer, Golear Hill, grandfather of Messrs. Pearson, Manufactur- ers, Victoria Mill. Edward Taylor Sykes, Edgerton, Hudders- field, formerly a Manufacturer at Bottom Hall Mills, Milnsbridge.

Joseph Fielding, Manufacturer, Small Lane, Golcar, father of the late Thomas Wilby Fielding, of Clay House, and of Mrs. Alfred Lockwood, of Swallow Lane. 32

Page 55

Christopher Noble, Flock Dealer, Swallow Lane, grandfather of Archibald Noble, of Scar Lane. Benjamin Whitwam, Manufacturer, Small Lane, later a member of the firm of B. & J. Whitwam, Ltd., Stanley Mills, and father of Joe Whitwam, Thomas Whitwam and Mrs. Edgar Sykes. John Dyson, Flock Dealer, Golcar Hill, father of Joseph Dyson, West End Road. George Haigh, Manufacturer, Crimble, Golear, father of Thomas Henry Haigh, Arthur Street. John Mitchell, Manufacturer, Golcar Hill, father of the late Seth Mitchell and the late Mrs. John Whiteley. Samuel Sykes, Manufacturer, Golcar Hill, father of Edgar Sykes, of Ashleigh, and of Harold Sykes, of 10, West End Road. John Whitwam, Manufacturer, Small Lane, brother-in-law of the late Rebert Taylor, of Holme Mills, Golear, Woollen Manufacturer. Jonathan Shaw, Golcar Edge, Painter, brother of Arthur Shaw, Architect, Arthur Street. T. H. Ramsden, Oakwell. More than a year elapsed, for some reason or other, before visible progress was made towards extension, for only on August 28th, 1874, it was decided “that the Committee get the work done forthwith.’ Frequent meetings were held relating to the enlarge- ment, the most interesting of which, perhaps, was that of Sept. 23rd, 1874, when the tenders for the various works were opened 33

Page 56

and decided upon. The names of the success- ful firms (in the principal trades), with the amounts of the contracts, will no doubt be interesting, especially in the light of present- dav prices :— Masons’ Work—Wm. Holroyd: £170. Joiners’ Work—Messrs. Thornton & Sons: £115 14s. Painting and Plastering—Jonathan Shaw : £41 15s. The important task of soliciting subscrip- tions towards the extension occupied the attention of the Trustees and Building Committee for the next few months, for usually the principal resolution at each meeting concerned itself with that subject, although there appears to be no record of the actual amount collected. There is, however, an interesting document on the subject in the possession of Mr. Edgar Sykes, who has very kindly shown it to the writer. It is a Subscription List towards the School Extension. Whether the list is a complete one, it is difficult to say. The largest sub- scription is that of “‘ Joseph Taylor & Sons: £20,” followed by “* Charles Whitwam & Sons, Small Lane: £15.” The remaining sub- scribers are: Richard Ainley ; Joseph Sykes, Cliffe Ash ; James Sykes, Joiner, Scarhouse ; Thomas Sykes, Town End; John Sykes, Chapel Lane; William Sykes, Golcar Hill ; Samuel Sykes, Golcar Hill; John Pearson ; Thomas Gledhill; Benjamin Whitwam ; Thomas H. Ramsden; E. T. Sykes; John Ainley; Joseph Pearson, Cliffe Ash;


Page 57

Christopher Noble; Robert Taylor; James Gledhill ; John Lockwood; William Sykes ; Benjamin Gledhill ; Richard Wood ; Benjamin Sykes, Scarhouse; and “a Friend from Linthwaite.” The list will no doubt be of interest to Golcar people, as although few of the foregoing are still alive, the older genera- tion will have little difficulty in recognising the names. During the alterations it was apparently impossible for the Trustees to meet at the School, so it was necessary to find other quarters. They were, it appears, able to find the necessary accommodation in the various public-houses. The Junction Inn, The Rose and Crown Hotel, and The Rising Sun Hotel were all favoured with their patronage, though the “ Rose and Crown” seems to have been the favourite, with the ‘‘ Junction ”’ a good second. The probability is that at the present day the Education Committee, in such a contingency, would make a serious attempt at discovering alternative accommo- dation. But—*‘ other times, other manners.”’


By the midsummer of 1875, the extension was completed, and arrangements were made at once for the opening of the School, that had been closed for nine months. Briefly, these may be stated in the words of the Minutes : “Proposed by T. H. Ramsden, seconded by C. Noble, that the opening of the School be next Saturday, July 3rd (1875), tea to be on 35

Page 58

the table at 4-30. Proposed by John Sykes, seconded by T. H. Ramsden, that for the occasion Golear Band be engaged, Band to commence at 3 o’clock.”’ An interesting list is also given of “ of the value of 10/— each, promised for the opening—thirty-two names in all being recorded. Nothing further can be traced as to the financial success or otherwise of the Re-opening of the School. It is very probable that it was on this occasion that the entrance door-way, occupy- ing a central position in the south wall, was built up and replaced by separate entrances for boys and girls. The boys’ entrance was from Knowl Road, through a diminutive cloakroom, so diminutive indeed, that it is a marvel that “My Lords ”’ ever sanctioned it. The girls entered from the “ ginnel,” and, while they were favoured with a larger cloakroom, they had to be content with a much more restricted playing space than the boys possessed. At the present day it is the girls that enter from Knowl Road, and the boys from the footpath and from Handel Street. | On Monday, July 5th, 1875, the School became a state-aided Voluntary School. Its ‘‘ private venture’ days were a thing of the past; henceforth it must comply with the regulations of the Education Department in London, as a condition of the payment of the Annual Grant. Here it will be convenient to note the one change of schoolmaster that had occurred since the days of Mr. Watts. Mr. Watts’


Page 59

term of office, as already stated, was only brief, for in the accounts relating to 1869 may be found the following reference to the new master, Mr. Roberts :— By Cash: Rent, Mr. Roberts £4: 0: 0. Probably, then, Mr. Roberts succeeded Mr. Watts in the early part of 1869, and on the same terms, continuing in office throughout the remaining pre-grant period.


Page 60




A new chapter in the School’s history now opens. Hitherto the School was let at a fixed rental to the schoolmaster, who had to make the best terms he could with his pupils, no outside financial assistance being available. Now the period arrives when support is forthcoming, in the shape of Government Grant, provided that the regulations of the Education Department in London are observed. Henceforth, registers must be duly kept, qualified teachers appointed, a specified curriculum followed, events of note entered in a log book, and accounts accurately kept and verified. From 1875, then, accurate records are available from the log book, the account books, and the Government returns. The School, from 1875 onwards, was known as a ‘Voluntary’? School, that is, a _ school supported by voluntary contributions. It must be confessed, however, one looks in vain through the accounts for any semblance of money gifts to the School. The nearest approach to “ voluntary ” contributions was the voluntary service which the Trustees rendered in the management of the School. 38

Page 61

Still, although strictly speaking a misnomer, ‘“ voluntary ’’ was the term used to designate that class of school, and for a period of eighteen and a half years it continued to be so known. In addition to the annual grant received from Government sources, school fees continued to be charged for many years, the amounts varying according to the position

of the child in school.


The appointment of the last body of Trustees almost coincides in point of time with the School’s debut as a Voluntary School. Early in 1876, the five surviving Trustees, elected in 1850, John Ainley, Joseph Taylor, John Iredale, Richard Ainley, and John Beaumont, decided to have a new body elected, so on April 3rd, 1876, nominations of new Trustees were made. The list of Trustees will be specially interesting to the older section of the inhabitants of Golear, as all of them were familiar figures in the township thirty to forty years ago. Their names are as follows :—- Charles Henry Taylor, Manufacturer, Small Lane, the eldest son of Joseph Taylor, of Small Lane, Woollen Manufacturer, a former Trustee. John Burnley Walker, formerly of Town End, but later of The Sycamores, Doctor of Medicine. George Henry Taylor, Manufacturer, Small Lane. 39

Page 62

Samuel Walker, Accountant, Carlton Terrace. His sons, William Albert Walker and Charles Walker, are still living at the same place. Henry Iredale, son of John Iredale, of Rob Royd, Wellhouse, Coal Merchant, and father of Herbert Willie Iredale, of Wellhouse. Alfred Ainley, Solicitor, Town End. His widow is now living in London. He was son to Richard Ainley, a former Trustee, and brother to Ellen Ainley, the second wife of the late John Denison Sykes. William Lockwood, Joiner and Builder, Town End. His widow is still living at Town End, and his son, Alfred, is carrying on the business. William Hirst, Manufacturer, Golcar Edge, afterwards of Claremont, father of Thomas William Hirst, Claremont, Alfred Henry Hirst, Blackpool, Mrs. Evans, Swansea, Mrs. T. H. Haigh, Arthur Street, Mrs. T. Atkinson and Miss Blanche Hirst. Joseph Sykes, Manufacturer, Cliffe Ash, father of Mrs. Henry Edward Pearson. John Edward Ramsden, Manufacturer, Ramsden Mill, father of the late Mrs. W. H. Sykes, of Bank Field. James Gledhill, Flock Merchant, Town End, a famous ‘“‘ memory ”’ player of Hymn Tunes. James Edward Sykes, Manufacturer, Scar- House, He was at one time Borough Organist for Huddersfield, but removed many vears ago to Australia. He was brother to Arthur and Frank Sykes, of 105, Station Road. 40

Page 63

Be ape


Page 64

Scrupulously exact and upright.”

A Chairman of Trustees. WILLIAM HIRST.

Page 65

Edward Ainley, Golcar Edge, formerly a Solicitor’s Clerk, son of Ephraim Ainley. Mr. William Hirst was appointed Chairman, a position which he held until, seventeen years later, the Trustees were relieved of their duties by the transfer of the School to the newly-formed School Board. Mr. Hirst will be remembered by those who came in contact with him as scrupulously exact and upright in his conduct, and as one who expected the same high standard in others. The Vice-chairman was Mr. Alfred Ainley, well known to the older inhabitants, but a name only to the majority of present-day The Treasurer and Secretary were respectively, Messrs. Charles H. Taylor and Samuel Walker. The work devolving on the new Trustees, or at least on the few that interested them- selves in the work, was of a more onerous nature than in the old days. Annual meetings were quite inadequate to meet the new conditions, and although regular monthly meetings, ‘such as the present generation is accustomed to as regards public bodies, were not the rule, it was necessary to meet at fairly frequent intervals, as the accounts, to mention only one thing, needed keeping uptodate. As has been already observed, little in- formation is obtainable as to the actual cost of the 1875 enlargement, namely, the two classrooms at the western end. The Cash Book, however, states that a balance was due . to the Treasurer on June 30th, 1877, of 41

Page 66

£136 18s. 103d. The extension referred to was, without doubt, responsible for this large debit balance, and during the whole seventeen years of its “‘ voluntary” existence, the School was burdened with a very considerable balance “‘ on the wrong side.”’


It may be well at this stage to deal with the various Headmasters since the brief tenure of office of Mr. Watts. So far as can be ascertained, Mr. Watts left towards the close of 1868, and it is probable that his successor, Mr. Roberts, commenced his work with the new year, 1869. For a period of six and a half years, that is, down to June, 1875, he carried on the School as a venture,” as his predecessors had done, and of this period we have little official record. Very many of the inhabitants of the district, however, have clear recollections of his sway, and can no doubt materially assist in filling up the gaps in official records. Mr. Roberts was married and had one son. During his stay in Golcar, he had the mis- fortune to lose his wife, a loss that apparently very considerably affected his life and work at Golear. As in the case of his predecessors, official records are dumb regarding the conduct of the School before the entry of the Government Inspector and the payment of Government Grants. This period of silence came to an end on June 30th, 1875, so that the remainder of Mr. Roberts’ tenure of office—some eighteen months—was spent as 42

Page 67

a Headmaster of a School under Government inspection. Evidently Mr. Roberts found it no easy matter to fulfil the comparatively stringent regulations of the Education Department, after having been, so to speak, his own master so long. As has been mentioned, the regula- tions demanded, among other things, the keeping of careful records in the matter of - attendance of scholars, as a condition of the payment of Government Grant. Failure to carry out this condition might involve the School in serious financial difficulties, by the witholding of the grant. Probably some such difficulty occurred, leading to the termination of Mr. Roberts’ mastership of the Town School. He severed his connection with the School, Christmas, 1876. Indeed, almost the first act of the new Trustees was the con- sideration of the termination of Mr. Roberts’ engagement, and the appointment of his SUCCESSOTF. |

‘Mid W. C.

Mr. F. W. H. C. Tuck succeeded Mr. Roberts, but his stay here was brief. It seems that the Trustees failed to obtain the sanction of the Education Department to the appointment, as the Department had not concluded an enquiry into a phase of his work while at his previous school—the Crosland Moor Board School. The Education Department has always looked upon the registration of scholars with a critical and jealous eye, and rightly so, for on the attend- 7 43

Page 68

ance of scholars, as shown by the registers, are based the Government Grants paid to the school. At the time the School Trustees were making the appointment, the Education Department were still considering allegations against Mr. Tuck of some irregularity in the registration while at Crosland Moor. Apparently, the decision eventually arrived at by “My Lords” caused the Trustees to dispense with Mr. Tuck’s services, with the result that he left in August, 1877, after a stay of barely eight months.


So the Trustees were again under the necessity of advertising for a master, and on July 21st, 1877, they met to consider the appointment. From the record of the meeting it appears there were two “ favourites”’ in the field—Mr. David Ainley, a well-known local gentleman, and Mr. James Farnish, of Dunstable. The voting on that occasion was, to use a Parliamentary phrase, “on strict party lines ’’—the four churchmen present voting for Mr. Ainley, and the seven non- conformists for Mr. Farnish. Thus Mr. Farnish was appointed, to commence his duties on August 20th, 1877. Mr. Farnish proved himself a gentleman who soon made friends in Golcar, and who found scope for his activities, not only within, but also outside the school walls, for there are many connected with Providence Methodist Church who still gratefully remember the valuable help rendered to the place in many 44

Page 69

ways by Mr. and Mrs. Farnish. Mr. Farnish was of a very genial, sociable nature, a useful trait in anyone for extending one’s circle of friends and admirers. This characteristic made him generally well liked. It is possible, nevertheless, that this very good nature, and a “hail, fellow, well met ’? manner ministered towards developing his peculiar weakness. It is to be regretted that our most amiable qualities can often prove a stumbling-block to the highest development of our nature. During his headmastership, the School grew in numbers, until in 1882 a critical period was reached, when the attendance far exceeded the number allowed by _ the Regulations. While the maximum allowed was 225, the average attendance for the year ending June 30th, 1882, was 261. This, in the eyes of the Education Department, was a serious breach of the Regulations, and the School Authorities were duly reprimanded. Some steps were taken to check it, but the efforts made were apparently not successful, for in the following year (1883) the Regula- tions were again infringed by an average attendance of 244. This repetition of the offence was viewed by ‘“‘ My Lords” of the Education Department in so serious a light that a large portion of the grant was withheld, and it was only after very pressing applica- tions and promises of amendment that the Department relented and paid over the portion withheld. The year 1884 showed a considerable diminution in the attendance, the number being 207, and there was a 45

Page 70

gradual decrease down to 138 in 1890, after which it rallied, and in time reached its former high level, and even passed it.

In examining then the records for the years 1882-1885 and observing the abnormal drop in the attendance in that period from 261 to 161, anyone ignorant of the foregoing details might easily infer it to be a reflection on the character of the work of the School. The foregoing explanation will serve to dispel any misunderstanding on that score, and that it was due to circumstances over which the Master had no control.

Mr. Farnish toiled on until the close of 1889. The Managers and he were apparently unable to see eye to eye on various points in the conduct of the School, with the result that his engagement came to an end in December, 1889. Having spent more than twelve years at Golear, and being sociably inclined, he had made many friends, both at the Liberal Club and at “ Providence.” Both he and Mrs. Farnish felt the severance keenly, and many Golcar people still look fondly back on the ties of friendship formed in those twelve years. Mr. and Mrs. Farnish went to live in Blackpool, where, after several years of

retirement, Mrs. Farnish, and afterwards Mr. Farnish died.


It will be fitting here to refer to a lady who for long had charge of the Infants. There are many who remember Mrs. Gledhill as 46

Page 71

Infants’ Mistress. She was a stern disciplin- arian, and it is told that when silence was required, it only needed the good lady to let fall her cane on the floor to work the miracle of “ stilling the storm.”” Though her discipline was strict, she by no means lacked a kindly disposition towards her little charges. In order to make her more than a mere name to the younger public of Golcar, it may be stated that she was sister-to Mr. D. J. Bailey’s mother.


In 1887 the Trustees made a distinctly sensible move, namely, in the appointment of Managers to assist them in the conduct of the School. The Managers appointed were the Revs. W. Gay and W. D. Bainbridge, Messrs. John Whiteley and Benjamin Collinson. Two years later, the Rev. R. Willan was added. These gentlemen were chosen as representing, in a measure, the various religious denominations of Golcar, or at least that part of Golcar which the School might be expected to serve. On the death of the Treasurer, Mr. Henry Iredale, in 1888, Mr. Collinson was appointed to the office, and held it for ten months. Mr. William Lockwood succeeded him as Treasurer, and held the position as long as the Trustees managed the school. He was for many years the sole survivor of the Town School Trustees, and served as a connecting link between the Past and the Present. This link was severed by his death on February 25th, 1921. 47

Page 72


The retirement of Mr. Farnish from the mastership of the Town School caused a vacancy, which the Trustees immediately took steps to fill. In response to advertise- ments, a large number of applications were received. These were reduced to two—Mr. Sharpe, of Golcar, and Mr. John Griffiths, of Batley. A meeting of the Trustees and Managers was called for November 29th, 1889, to make the appointment. The question was of sufficient interest to bring together eight Trustees: Mr. Wm. Hirst (Chairman), Dr. J. B. Walker, Messrs. Wm. Lockwood, J. E. Sykes, James Gledhill, Joseph Sykes, Samuel Walker and Edward Ainley. The occasion was remarkable in that the two candidates each received an equal number of votes. The Chairman, however, gave the casting vote in favour of Mr. Griffiths, who was thereby appointed. ae

The new Schoolmaster, although at the time hailing from Batley, was by no means a Yorkshireman, for, at the time of his appointment, his experience of Yorkshire had been merely one of three years’ duration. Born in South Wales, near the shores of Carmarthen Bay, he passed his early life amid rural scenes in a purely Welsh atmosphere. Indeed, his only contact with English thought and with the English language was at the day school at Llanstephan, for at home, at play, and at Divine Service, Welsh was the only medium of speech. 48

Page 73

Commenced Duties, January 1890.


Page 74

ae : . - 4 \ . . A : : ” ' : + s 2 : x , ms 4 8 Sena ea a lm mR se MEE ah 6 RMR WR oa ‘ AIR Ig By ME Sexe meee oe gl Re on ed ee ae Om NY = ae > en es c arta ae rey wie gts 8 : i . vege t ‘ < ee : ; fees ; ‘ ¥ f i i ns

Page 75

- He found in Golcar a School that had steadily declined in numbers since 1883, when the Trustees took drastic steps to avoid overcrowding, following the strong representa- tions made by the Education Department. When the new Master commenced his duties in January, 1890, the average attendance was only 142, a number little more than one half of the 261, eight years earlier. The balance due to the Treasurer had always been a large one, ever since the 1875 enlargement, ranging between £101 and £184, and showed no indication of falling, for not only had the numbers on the roll, and consequently the yearly grant, been diminishing, but the grant per head had a distinctly downward trend, so much so that in the year 1889 the amount per head had descended to 13s. 9d. Such a state of things naturally gave the Managers little encouragement to lay out much money in the provision of books and other materials —even necessary ones. The new Master then was faced with the problem of getting the School out of the rut it had fallen into, but with the encouragement which was readily forthcoming on the part of the Trustees, there was opened up a prospect of success. Mr. Griffiths lost no time in presenting the . Managers with a requisition for books and other equipment, involving just double the expenditure of previous years, with a view to placing the School more on a level with its neighbours. To the credit of the Trustees and Managers, who had during the preceding years little to induce them to spend more 49

Page 76

than the barest minimum, they readily agreed to the increased expenditure. Compared, however, with modern school equipment, the request was a very modest one. ‘This was an act of faith on their part towards the man they had recently appointed. In June, 1890, when the year’s Balance Sheet came to be drawn up, the balance against the Treasurer reached its highest point, namely £193. This large amount in the course of a month or so was partly met by the Government Grant falling due. This amounted to £104 10s. 9d., an increase on that of the preceding year of £16 9s. Od., in spite of the fact that the attendance had again fallen, namely, from 142 to 138. The amount earned per child was 17s. 3d., as against 13s. 9d. of the previous year.


In 1893, Miss Ada Booth was appointed Mistress of the Infants’ and later Headmistress of the Infants’ for on the enlargement of the premises, in 1896, the Infants were formed into a separate depart- ment. This position she occupied until her untimely death in 1917 (referred to in a later



Those were the days of “‘ Payment by Results.” The yearly Grant was made up of two shillings for this subject, a shilling for that, while the main portion of the grant— | 50

Page 77


Page 79

that for the three R’s—was computed in pennies. It may be of interest to explain in some detail the method of assessing the various sums. In Reading, Writing, and Arithmetic each child was examined in- dividually by H.M. Inspector, and a “ pass ”’ r “fail”? was given him, according to the result. The total number of passes was then obtained, and worked out as a percentage of the total possible. This-percentage number indicated the number of pence per child the school was to receive. To take, as an example, a school where 200 children were being examined. That would give a possible of 600 separate passes in all the three subjects. Assuming, however, that there are, in one subject or another, an aggregate of 60 ‘noughts,”’ indicating failure, a total of 540 passes would have been scored, that is 90 per cent. of the total possible. That school would receive 90 pence per child, reckoned on the average attendance for the year. The average attendance might be less than the above 200, say 180, which would give 7s. 6d. x 180, or £67 10s. Od. as its share of the grant, so far as the three R’s were concerned. As this portion of the grant formed the considerable item of support for the school, it was common in those days for teachers to enquire of one another what percentage of passes they had obtained, and for some, no matter by what unscrupulous methods they had attained it, to boast of a percentage approaching 100. Results of a kind were produced, ‘They were results that any third- 51

Page 80

rater could produce, if he was prepared to sacrifice his pupils to the god ‘“ Results.” For to achieve a high percentage meant forcing the pace of the mentally slow, often with the help of the rod, and by detention after school hours, at grave risk to the health of the children. Educationists combined to condemn.a system that developed on these lines, and more enlightened methods were about to be substituted. The computation of grant for the remaining subjects was less complicated, 2s. or ls. per head being paid for English, Geography, History, etc., according as the attainments of the scholars were “‘ good ”’ or “ fair” in the opinion of the Government Inspector. The Singing Grant was doled out in shillings, if the children were taught by note, and in sixpences if by ear. There was also a Merit where the general excellence of the school was weighed up, and in which ** discipline ”’ played an important part, the kind of discipline where folded arms, correct feet positions, and breathless silence literally won golden rewards. These, coupled with a small “ fixed’ grant of 4s. 6d. per head, made up the income of the school from Government sources. There were other subjects by means of which an ambitious master might increase the earnings of his school. These were certain Science Subjects as Mathematics and Chemistry that might be taken by the older scholars, the Grant being paid on each individual pupil studying the subject. Drawing was, it may be said, 52

Page 81


Page 83

allowed to be taken, but was examined by Inspectors from the Science and Art Department. Where a school took Drawing, an Inspector of the Science and Art Depart- ment visited the school on a set day, gave tests on well-beaten lines, and assessed the grant. Such, in brief, were the days of “‘ Payment by Results ’—a system that held full sway until 1890, when it underwent very consider- able modifications. The first year, then, of Mr. Griffiths’ mastership saw the dis- appearance of some of the more obnoxious phases of the system, principally that of the percentage calculation of passes in the three R’s. It is worthy of note here to observe that Drawing was early added to the curriculum by Mr. Griffiths, and that: from that time to the present it has occupied a prominent place.


The remaining income of the School in those days was made up by fees paid by scholars. The amounts per child varied from 2d. per week in the lower classes to 6d. in the higher. The fees were paid on the Monday morning, and the collection, entering, and totalling occupied no small part of the teachers’ time. This system was the one in vogue in the days of the so-called Voluntary Managers, and provided a substantial portion of the School income. It may be of interest here to note the conditions under which the Master at the 53

Page 84

Town School held office under voluntary management. The Managers agreed to pay to the Master “ the whole of the school-pence, plus two-thirds of the Government Grant, out of which he was to pay the teaching With the total Grant at £104 10s. 9d. (1890) and the receipts from school fees amounting to £100 or £120, it may easily be seen that with two Assistants, each receiving £50, the amount left to the Master was a distinctly modest sum. So, too, was the above £50. So, too, was the third of the grant retained by the Managers for school maintenance, including expenditure on school materials, wages of the Caretaker and general repairs. A comparison of present-day equip- ment at the Town School with that of thirty to forty years ago will show an amazing advance, many objects regarded as luxuries a quarter of a century ago being considered absolute necessaries at the present day.


Page 85


Page 87




The “ Voluntary’ system at the Town School was fast drawing to a close. The more immediate cause of its dissolution was the demand by parents in December, 1892, for free places at the School. The Act of 1892 did not give parents the right to demand free places at a school in which free places were not provided. Nevertheless, such a demand was a challenge to the local Managers, inasmuch as if they, or those of a neighbouring school, failed to provide.such free places, the Education Department had power to compel the locality to provide them, through the medium of a School Board. A _ petition, signed by forty-three parents, demanding free places at the School for their children, was duly presented to the Managers. Naturally, the Managers (or Trustees) were not in a position to carry on the School in face of this prospective substantial loss of revenue, and preparations were at once made, on the part of the Managers, for relinquishing their duties, and for the introduction of the now inevitable Golcar School Board. The petitioners (for free places) continued paying 55

Page 88

fees until the Town School was transferred to the School Board, namely, June 30th, 1894. No fees have been paid by any Town School scholar since that date. The eighteen months between the presentation of the petition for free places, and the actual granting of free education at the School were occupied in the election of the School Board and in making the necessary preparations for the transfer of the School to the School Board.


The Golcar School Board was elected in June, 1893. Strange to relate, the demand for free places was not the actual cause of the establishment of a School Board. Almost coincident with the parents’ demand for free places was the issue of a final notice by the Education Department in London directing that school accommodation for 160 children at Crimble should be provided within three months. The Golcar School Board actually came into being to provide this accommoda- tion; it was, however, destined never to fulfil the very object for which it was created, for, from that time to this, no school has been erected at Crimble, accommodation having been found in the surrounding schools.

The first School Board for Golecar was composed of the following seven members :—

Mr. William Crowther, Manufacturer, Field House, Crimble. Mr. Edgar W. Crabtree, Wellhouse. Mr. James Wm. Hanson, Milnsbridge. 56

Page 89


Page 90

j a


‘ tS i. 7 i $ 4 x 3 i

oop Te oS toe


Page 91

Rev. T. R. Lewis, Baptist Minister, Scape Goat Hill. Rev. Robert Willan, Vicar of Golcar. Dr. A. G. Webster. Mr. Herbert Whitwam, Scar Lane, Golcar.

Of the above, Mr. Crabtree, at present living at Linthwaite, and Mr. Whitwam at Blackpool, are the only surviving members.

Mr. Crowther was elected Chairman, retain- ing that position on the Board during its existence, and Mr. Crabtree (a grandson of Mr. Joseph Taylor, a former Chairman of Trustees of the Town School) was elected Vice-chairman. Mr. D. J. Bailey was appointed Clerk, an office which he held during the whole existence of the School Board—-a period of eleven years.

Elected in June, 1893, the Board only took over the management of the Town School on July Ist, 1894. One of its earliest acts was to change the name of the School. The familiar and, to many an old _ scholar, affectionate name of ‘The Golcar Town School,” the name by which it had been for so long known, was to be discarded ;_ hence- forth it was to bear the title of “‘ The Knowl Bank School.”

By the date of the transfer, the numbers had so increased that the School Board had decided to enlarge at the eastern end. To carry out the enlargement, the old school- house, so long the residence of the various masters, had to be pulled down, for the additional classrooms to be built on the site. 57

Page 92

3. A REMINISCENCE. One may, perhaps, be permitted a digression in order to dwell on this relic—the old school- house—before, as it were, bidding it a long, last farewell. The school-house stood on a much lower foundation than that of the School itself ; indeed, the bedroom floor was only a foot or two above that of the schoolroom. The house had a southern aspect, with a room on either side of the front door. In addition to these two front rooms, there was a narrow kitchen, or scullery, behind on the same floor, while the floor above comprised two bedrooms and a nar- row room behind, corresponding roughly with the lower rooms. Besides the front entrance, there was, as previously stated, another from the schoolroom, leading almost immediately into the bedroom, and down a flight of stairs into the dining room. In its later years the house had also a side door at the eastern end, leading into the small back kitchen. The narrow room above this kitchen, and on a level with Knowl Road, provided the earlier masters with convenient accommodation for a small shop, where various articles were on sale, where medicines were dispensed, and where, probably, dental, if not other surgical operations were carried on, at least in the days of Silvester Sykes; for, as already mentioned, he was a qualified chemist and dentist. Later, but long before the days of the School Board, the shop window, over- looking the road, was built up, the shop was closed, and the room turned to probably 58

Page 93

Vice-Chairman of the Golcar School Board.


Page 94

won ake vs with



4 z j re a a 4 4 2 a 3

Page 95

more domestic uses. The communicating door between the dwelling-house and the School remained in use until the house was demolished. Such was the old school-house, that had weathered the storms of seventy-eight years— the old school-house that not only provided for the domestic wants of the Schoolmaster and his family, but also for the educational needs of a section of the School, for the girls of old overflowed into it to be instructed in sewing by Mrs. Silvester Sykes—the old school-house that saw many an unruly child enter with dread to meet his punishment— the old school-house, that, if it had the power of speech, “‘ could many a tale unfold ” of the successes—aye, and the failures too—of those who strove to hold aloft the lamp of learning for three-quarters of a century—the old school-house now, alas, to be for ever swept away.


In 1894 the School Board decided to enlarge the “Knowl Bank School.’ As previously stated, part of the Town School property consisted of a “croft” adjoining Handel Street, at a much lower elevation than that of the school site. The enlargement proposals of the Board comprised the building of a new Infants’ School and a Board Room on this lower level, the enlarge- ment of the old School by the addition of two classrooms, the erection of boys’ and girls’ cloakrooms, the replacing of the old interior 59

Page 96

walls by glass partitions, and the provision of lavatory accommodation and suitable play- grounds. Down to this period both infants and older scholars were, of course, accommo- dated in the old Town School. As showing the necessity of increased accommodation, it may be stated that the infants occupied one classroom, 254 feet by 184 feet, with an average attendance for the year of 65. In the summer months this number was much greater, for occasionally 90 children were crowded into this one room. In the adjoining classroom (which, with the Infants’ room were added in 1874-5)—21 feet by 184 feet— Standards I and II, with an average attend- ance of 50, were taught. The remaining children (in Standards ITI, IV, V, VI, VII) occupied the main room. The playground accommodation, too, was scant, and the surface in a rough state. The need for improved conditions was, therefore, very acute. To Mr. J. Berry, the Huddersfield Architect, was entrusted the preparation of plans for the new Infants’ School, and the alterations to the old building for use by the older scholars. This was in October, 1894, but not until June, 1895, were the plans finally approved by the Education Depart- ment. The work was then immediately taken in hand. The delay arose in this way. A minority on the School Board were of opinion that one additional classroom, instead of the two proposed, would suffice, and they were so successful in their endeavours to curtail the extension proposals that eventually the 60

Page 97

Education Department refused to sanction more than the one classroom advocated by the minority. Probably considerable corres- pondence took place on the matter, as the minority, for one thing, were insistent on the fact that ample accommodation was to be had at the Church School near by. The net result was that one classroom only was then added. The whole work was completed by Septem- ber, 1896. The new Infants’ School was first: built, and was occupied by the scholars of the Mixed Department in June, 1896, the Infants being accommodated in Providence Sunday School during the alterations to the old building. No long time elapsed before the premises were in a fit state for occupation, as on September 28th, 1896, the older scholars took up their permanent abode on the higher level—the old Town School, while, at the same time, the infants entered into their new building on the lower level, having its entrance from Handel Street. It will be of interest to state here that the total cost of the whole work amounted to £3,034 14s. 7d. The following firms were the principal contractors:—Masons: A. & T. Haigh, Golear; Joiners: J. Varley & Sons, Slaithwaite ; Painter and Plasterer: Wilson Armitage, Golear; Slater: W. E. Jowitt ; Plumber: J. Marsden ; Heating Apparatus : F. Milan; Wood Block and Concreting: J. Cooke. The Architect provided at the western end of the Infants’ School a ‘‘ Board’? Room, for the use of the School Board, and later the 61

Page 98

District Council. He also arranged for a portion of the lower level to be allocated as a playground for the boys, approached from the School above by a sloping path and a flight of steps. The situation and arrange- ment can not be termed ideal, but, short of pulling down the old building and making all entirely new, a fairly successful result may be considered to have been achieved. Of the two buildings, the result in the Mixed Depart- ment was by far the more satisfactory. There the main room was already a well- lighted one, and the addition of large windows in the old classrooms, the provision of equally good lighting arrangements in the new class- room, and the substitution of glass partitions for the old dividing walls, added considerably to the comfort of both teachers and scholars. The Infants’ Department, on the other hand, occupied a low position, having on the northern side a very high wall, with the ‘* Mixed ” School towering even above that, the two combining to almost entirely shut out any glimpse of-the sky. The southern aspect is certainly lighter, but the dark grey houses across the narrow Handel Street prevent even that from being a well-lighted side. Whatever motives prompted the first Golcar School Board to take the course they did—patching up the old Town School— their action gave the venerable building another lease of life, and an opportunity of celebrating its centenary later. When the School Board came to write its second Triennial Report, in 1899, it was faced 62

Page 99

once more with the necessity of making another extension. The report states: “To remedy this drawback (crowded classrooms) it has been proposed that the girls’ cloakroom should be converted into a classroom to accommodate 50 children, and a new cloak- room built on its eastern side. The new Board will have to consider whether it is advisable to carry out this work, the cost of which is estimated at £200.” It is sufficient to say here that this enlargement was duly carried out—prevented, as stated above, in 1895, by a minority on the Board—and from that time to the present (1926) the premises have not undergone any further structural alterations.


The transfer of the School from the School Board to the County Council will be a con- venient point for a backward glance at the School’s activities. Many old scholars look back with pleasure to the concerts in the early nineties. “Punch’s Party,” ‘Don Quixote” and ** Beauty and the Beast’”’ only need to be mentioned to bring back a flood of interesting events. The Managers very much doubted the wisdom of taking so large a room as the large “‘ vestry under the Chapel, when Mr. Griffiths proposed it for his first concert, but when Mr. William Hirst, who was to preside, pushed his way with difficulty through the over-crowded room to the platform, he 63

Page 100

smilingly said to the master, ‘“ You were And it was in that room all the concerts were held afterwards, until the present commodious Sunday School premises were built. The Magic Lantern played a great part in the nineties in providing entertainments for children in the evening. The present genera- tion of school children may look almost with contempt on the primitive mode of instruction and entertainment afforded by pictures so very far removed from the “‘ movies”’ of the present-day cinema. Those children, however, were probably as fervid devotees of the old-time lantern as their successors of to-day are of the cinema, and there is no doubt the instruction and amusement gained was considerable. Prize-giving for regular attendance was another great feature of that time, a practice discontinued with the passing of the School Board in 1904. The list of prize-winners, although in the early nineties quite a modest one, grew to formidable dimensions, for in 1902 there were 73 prizes given, and in 1903 90. To entitle to any prize whatever, a child must not have missed more than twenty times. Two cases of wonderful attendance are worthy of special mention here. Rose Helena Whitwam, who left school in 1896, and Harriet Ann Haigh, who left in 1900, attended school for seven years without missing a single attendance—practically the whole of their school life-time. The first- named is now Mrs. Joe Livesey, 30, Heathfield


Page 101

Road, Scar Lane, and the latter Mrs. Herbert Hartley, 21, New Street, Golcar, at present one of the Centenary Scholarship Trustees, referred to later. Several of the fortunate perfect attenders of that day will also remember the trips to Blackpool and Scar- borough as rewards for their regular attend- ance.

Page 102



By virtue of the passing of the Education Act of 1902, the School in due course passed from the control of the Golcar School Board to that of the Education Committee of the West Riding County Council. This happened in 1904. This body exercises control over Education in the whole of the West Riding area outside the County Boroughs, such as Leeds, Sheffield, Huddersfield, etc. To ensure efficiency in administration, and to maintain local interest, the whole area has been divided into twenty- five divisions, each of which is managed by a District Sub-Committee. One such division is the Colne Valley. The Colne Valley Education Sub-Committee meets monthly, at Slaithwaite, and consists of twenty-three _ members. Mr. William Livesey ‘is the Chairman. To facilitate the work, the Committee is divided into two sections, having the oversight respectively of the upper and lower portions of the Valley. The Rev. W. H. Verity is the Chairman of the Upper Section and Mr. H. Wilkinson of the Lower. The Evening School section is © presided over by the Rev. W. H. Verity. 66

Page 104

A Live Representative. JOE CROWTHER.

County Councillor.

Page 105

At present (1926) the Colne Valley District Sub-Committee consists of the following ladies and gentlemen :—


Mr. Ambrose Crowther, Hope Terrace, Wellhouse, Golcar. | Miss Janet King, 23, John William Street, Huddersfield. (Recently left the district. ) Mr. J. W. Kenworthy, Longcroft, Golcar. Mr. Joe Crowther, C.C., Ashfield, Wellhouse, Golear. Mr. Wilkinson Cragside, Milnsbridge. Mr. Andrew Taylor, 63, Swallow Lane, Golear. Mr. Sam Holroyd, 30, Rufford Street, Milnsbridge. Mr. John Milnes, 5, Morley Lane, Milns- bridge. Mr. H. Haigh, C.C., Wesley House, 1097, Manchester Road, Slaithwaite. Mr. William Livesey, Beechwood, Balmoral Road, Morecambe, W.E. Mrs. Emily Townend, 8, Storthes Avenue, Cowlersley, Milnsbridge. Mr. Joseph Hirst, “992, Manchester Road, Linthwaite. Mr. E. Potter, Gatehead, Marsden. Major J. H. Crossley, White Lea, Marsden. Mrs. Arthur Armitage, Green Bower, Marsden. Mr. Geo. Walker, Daisy Lea, Scammonden. 67

Page 106

Mr. Joe Mellor, Carr Lane, Slaithwaite. Mrs. E. M. Varley, Norwood Place, Lewis- ham Road, Slaithwaite. Mr. J. W. Woffinden, Brentville, Slaithwaite Mrs. J. P. Haigh, Bank View, Slaithwaite. Miss Beatrice Hirst, Lindhurst, Botham Hall Road, Longwood. Rev. W. Verity, The Vicarage, Slaithwaite. Mr. Henry Wilkinson, Holly Bank, Western Road, Milnsbridge.

From the commencement, Mr. E._ T. Woodhead, L.L.B., was the Divisional Clerk, an office which he held until his death, in January, 1922, after a short illness. At the present time, the office staff consists of Mr. W. Heeley, the Divisional Clerk, Mr. A. J. Dempster, the Assistant Clerk, Miss Doreen Archer and Mr. Arthur Beardsell.

The School Attendance Officer for the Lower Section of the Valley is Mr. Nathan Haigh, who has held the position since January, 1907.


The numbers continued to increase, until in 1912 the County Council increased the accommodation by annexing the “ Board Room ”’ at the western end of the Infants’ Department, and utilizing it for Standard I. This was no gain, as regards the Infants’ accommodation, but the transference of Standard I from the Mixed Depa gave considerable relief there. 68

Page 107

The only other event worth mentioning, as giving relief in the matter of accommodation, was the erection of the movable wood and glass partition in the main room. It was put up in 1906, and proved a welcome improve- ment, for, when the occasion demands it, the main room may virtually be made into two classrooms. Having thus dealt with the structural alterations in some detail, it may now be useful to review the progress made in other directions. Great strides have been made in staffing arrangements. When the present master took charge in 1890, there was an average attendance, including infants, of 139 scholars. An Assistant Mistress (uncertifi- cated) had charge of the Infants, numbering about 50 scholars, another similarly qualified Assistant Mistress taught the First and Second Standards, with about 40 scholars, while the Headmaster had charge of the remaining Standards—III, IV, V, VI and VII —numbering about 50. To those conversant only with modern conditions at the School, the mere recital of such a state of things will cause astonishment. The conditions obtain- ing in 1890 were not allowed to last long. There was a gradual improvement until, in 1904, when the School was transferred to the County Council, the staff consisted of the Headmaster, the Infants’ Headmistress, four Uncertificated Assistants, two P.T’s and a Probationer. At the present time, with an average attendance of 264, the staff consists of two Head Teachers, five 69

Page 108

Certificated Assistants and two Uncertificated Assistants. The Assistant Mistress referred to above as in charge of Standards I and II was Miss W. A. Hollingworth, now Mrs. Thomas Freeman. She continued at the School until July, 1898,

3. DEATH OF MISS BOOTH AND APPOINTMENT OF MISS EASTWOOD. Here we may well refer to the only change in the Mistress-ship of the Infants’ Depart- ment since the appointment of Miss Booth in 1892. During the Christmas Holidays of 1916-17, Miss Booth was taken ill, and died somewhat suddenly early in the New Year, 1917.. A career of usefulness at the Town School, extending for a period of twenty-four years, was thus suddenly cut short. A life- like portrait of her, subscribed to by the teachers and scholars, hangs on the School wall. As successor to Miss Booth, the Education Committee appointed Miss Alice Eastwood. Miss Eastwood, a native of Hebden Bridge, came here from Leeds with excellent credent- ials. Imbued with high educational ideals, she has thrown herself whole-heartedly into her task, and has proved herself a most efficient and painstaking teacher.

4. THE OLD-TIME PUPIL TEACHER SYSTEM. Down to 1904, the pupil teachers received their education at the hands of the Head- master—one hour daily. This could not by any means be looked upon as a satisfactory | 70

Page 109

arrangement, for, although these probationers — no doubt often received sound practical training in the art of teaching, the more theoretical part of their training could not be considered satisfactory. This lasted until 1904, when the Education Committee made provision for their training at centres on certain days, the remaining time being taken up with teaching practice. Again, while during the last quarter of the nineteenth century, pupil teachers were looked upon as an important part of the school staff, and, numerically, bulked large as a general rule in the staffing of a school, the tendency of the twentieth century has been to reduce in importance and in numbers this grade of teacher; indeed, at the present day, the pupil teacher has no value as a teaching factor in the staffing.


As regards the curriculum of the Town School, in the light of the present day, it was in the “ nineties” of a somewhat narrow and restricted kind, though it was tar from being limited to the “3 R’s” with Needlework for the girls, as in earlier days. The following subjects sufficed in 1890 :—Reading, Writing, Spelling, Composition (Composition in Upper Standards only), Arithmetic, Geography, English Grammar, Object Lessons, Singing, Recitation, Needlework (for girls). The following have been added since :—Drawing, Handwork (Cardboard Modelling, leading to


Page 110

Bookbinding), Woodwork (for boys), Cookery (for girls), Citizenship, Composition (extended to Lower Standards), History, Swimming, Physical Training, including Organised Games. The mere mention of these subjects does not of course indicate the advance made educationally at the Town School, as the manner in which an old subject is presented is often of more importance than the intro- duction of new subjects. A very useful adjunct of the School is the Lending Library, comprising in all some two hundred volumes. These are distributed among the various classes in School, and scholars above Standard III are allowed to borrow books for home reading. As the books have been carefully chosen, and are widely read by scholars, the advantages accruing from this source must be considerable.


At present the staff in the Mixed Depart- ment (Standards II—VIII) consists of the Headmaster, Mr. John Griffiths, along with four Assistant Mistresses and one Assistant Master, and in the Infants’ Department, the Headmistress, Miss Eastwood, with two Assistant Mistresses. Miss Hanson, a native of Rishworth, has been on the staff as a Certificated Teacher since 1914. During the whole of 1924 she was in Australia, under the Empire Exchange of Teachers’ Scheme, gaining experience of Australian schools. During the time Miss Hanson was in Australia, an Australian lady, 72

Page 111

Miss F. Dora Frost, took her place for some time at Knowl Bank. Miss Frost, like Miss Hanson, came under the Empire Exchange Scheme, and with a similar end in view. It is interesting to note that several Knowl Bank girls are carrying on a correspondence with Australian schoolgirls, often exchanging photos and birthday gifts. Mrs. Wainwright, a native of Wrexham, and trained at Bangor College, North Wales, came in 1922 from Wellhouse Council School. Miss Chinn, of Huddersfield, came in 1913 from Scape Goat Hill Council School. Miss Kaye, of Denby Dale, is a Certificated. Teacher who has been on the School Staff, Mixed and Infants’ Department, since 1911. Mr. Kewley, of Marsden, trained at the Leeds Training College, came to the School in August, 1925, having previously taught in Lancashire. Miss Bradley (Infants’ Department), a native of Diggle, and trained at Bingley Training College, was appointed in 1924. Miss Kathleen M. Lockwood, of Hade Edge, Holmfirth, commenced duties on September Ist, 1926. It is fitting here to refer to the recent retirement of the Caretakers, Mr. and Mrs. David Whitwam. They have been Care- takers for a period of twenty-four years, and it is pleasing to be able to bear testimony to the most conscientious way in which they have always discharged their duties. They have been succeeded by Mr. and Mrs. George W. Knight, of Handel Street.


Page 112




i. THe Work, AND THE “ MRs.

The musical portion of the School’s activities furnishes an interesting chapter. Probably the best starting point will be the three concerts of 1898, 1899 and 1900, towards a new school piano. As the result of this triple effort, the School became, for the first time, the possessor of a piano. The last of the three concerts was memorable for the wonderful singing of Ida May Haigh, the marvellous child soprano. Her singing of ‘“‘ A Simple Little String ” was a performance worthy of a trained and accomplished artiste. Although not nine years old, she had already made her mark locally. Her fame spread, and before long she had many concert engagements. While thus going from success to success, a tragic fate was in store for her. When only twelve years of age, she became ill, and, after less than a week’s illness, passed away on September 22nd, 1904. Thus was a most promising musical career ruthlessly cut short. Those closely interested in the musical development of the School may be pardoned 74

Page 113

if they look upon Ida as the seed from which have sprung the School’s musical successes of later years.

It was in the autumn of 1905 that the School Choir was formed, an institution that has proved of real value to the School musically, and provided a starting-point to many a successful vocalist. Probably to the School Choristers of former years, the events that stand out most vividly in the mind are the various contests in connection with the Mrs. Sunderland Competitions and other Musical Festivals. Indeed, this is natural, for although the winning of a prize is quite a secondary matter, success at these competi- tions serves to give in some degree a *hall-mark ’”’ to the work of a choir, and affords encouragement for the future. It is worthy of note that in both the first and second essays in the Sunderland Competition in 1906 and 1907 the Choir won the First Prize, gaining in both years at the evening performance the highest number of marks possible. The Choir competed each year during 1906-1912, again winning in the last- named year the First Prize, and again gaining the maximum marks at the evening periormance. It retired then for a period, to reappear again in 1918, 1920, 1921, gaining the premier position again in 1920. In the above ten years the successes were :—

Four First Prizes. Two Second Prizes. Two Third Prizes.


Page 114

In 1912 the School Choir, numbering forty. voices, competed in the Royal National Eisteddfod* of Wales, held that year at Wrexham. For the Competition, two pieces were set, in one of which (Elgar’s “ The Snow ”’) the Knowl Bank School Choir gained the first position among fourteen competing choirs, falling behind, however, in the second piece (“‘ Welcome Springtide ’’—-Hughes). The result was that the School was awarded Third Prize. In most of the foregoing competitions Mr. Lewis Booth gave the Choir very valuable assistance as Accompanist. In the later competitions, having removed to Bradford, he was unable to continue his help. In his place, Miss North, of Messrs. Joshua Marshail’s, assisted on one occasion, and Mr. F. Sandford on another.

ii. THe 1922 Vistt tro THE EISTEDDFOD.

Just ten years later the Choir made a further acquaintance with the National Eisteddfod, by entering for the Children’s Choir Competition at Ammanford, South Wales. Its achievement on that occasion and the success of four years later, form perhaps the most brilliant events in the history of the School. The forty-four children, forming the Choir, were taken on August 6th, 1922, for a week’s stay at Llanstephan, a delightful little village on the shores of Carmarthen Bay, the native place of Mr. Griffiths, the Headmaster and Con- ductor of the Choir. Mr. A. E. Whiteley,

* Pronounce “Eisteddfod” as follows: “ Iee-téth-vod,” taking care to sound the “th” as in “this.”


Page 116

FIRST PRIZE WINNERS, NATIONAL EISTEDDFOP OF WALES, 1922. KNOWL BANK SCHOOL CHOIR. “One of the most charming performances we have ever heard.’’—Adjudicator.

Page 117


Choristers’ Names (Left to Right).

First Row (Top) :—Gertrude Whitehead, Connie Taylor, Edith Edwards, Hilda Sykes, Harold Walker, Olive Taylor, Alice Nixon, Mona Hirst, Emma Townend, Ida Townend, Jennie Taylor, Nellie Cooper.

Second Row :—Phyllis Howe, Arthur Knight, Reggie Stead, Nellie Field, Gladys Whitwam, Lena Whitwam, Geoffrey Taylor, Vera Stead, Irene Singleton, Emily Whitaker, Dick Lee.

Third Row :—Percy Ainley, Amy Whitehead, Elsie Whitaker, J. Griffiths (Conductor), Marion Renshaw, Amy Clayton, Lilian Harrison, Marion Stott (Accompanist), Emmie Knight, Alfred Hy. Whitwam, Marion Taylor, Violet Hirst. Fourth Row :—Elsie Clay, Marie Nixon, Annie Thorpe, Muriel Hirst,

Dorothy Garside, Evelyn Baxter, Jessie Iredale, Evelyn Whitwam, Dorothy Field, Ivy Brooke, Amy Cooper.

Page 118

Assistant Teacher at the School, also accompanied the party, and gave good service as Treasurer of the Trip Fund. Miss Marion Stott gave the Choir very valuable assistance as Accompanist at all the rehearsals, but did not accompany the Choir to Wales. Tuesday, the 8th of August, was set apart for a trip to Ammanford, thirty miles distant, to take part in the Competition. Twenty-eight choirs competed. The pavilion in which the final tests took place was built to accommodate 13,000 people, and when the Children’s Choirs competed they would pro- bably be singing to an audience of at least 8,000. The singing of the Knowl Bank School Choir, both in the preliminary and final tests, was a magnificent success, 98 per cent. of marks being gained both morning and afternoon. The adjudicators’ remarks, too, are quite in keeping with the marks gained, and are considered worthy of re- production here :—

Preliminary Test.—98 marks out of 100.

Shepherds’ Dance’ :—Beautiful tone, musical, refined, cultured. Perfect unanimity in the part singing. Their staccatos were wonderfully good. Perhaps there was a tendency to hasten the time a little. A master of interpretation.”

of May’:—The chording here was charming. The singing was beautifully clear, and the phrasing almost perfect. Their breathing was wonderful. The Choir was splendidly disciplined in this respect, and it had its obvious effect upon the excellence of phrasing, and the beautiful sostenuto.’


Page 119

Final Test.—98 marks out of 100.

“<«Forest harps’:—Beautiful tone, musical, refined, cultured. Perfect unanimity in their part singing,—the cohesion generally truly wonderful—everything was so excellently con- trolled. Their tempi were correct, and their intonation always secure. The melody for the sopranos was positively refreshing to the senses. It is certainly one of the most charming per- formances we have ever heard. We cannot say more than it was a masterly and artistic performance.’

Apart from this great event of the week, the holiday throughout was a memorable one for the children, and it may be added, for the parents and friends, numbering nearly thirty, that were in the party. Fourteen houses had to be engaged to accommodate the visitors, somewhat straining the “lodging” capacity of the little village. Arriving at Golcar Station at the end of the return journey on the Saturday, the party found itself welcomed by some thousands on the sloping ground above the Station. The Choir was awarded what may be termed an official welcome, Councillor Chappell, Vice-Chairman, receiving the Choir on behalf of the District Council.

On September 23rd, 1922, the Huddersfield Town Hall was filled with a most appreciative audience listening to a concert given by the Choir, for not only was the Choir successful in ensemble singing, but it contained several talented young artistes, who displayed ex- ceptional pluck and ability before the large - audience. 79

Page 120

As mementos of the victory, each child, as well as the Conductor, was presented with a solid gold medal, specially designed and struck for the occasion. On the obverse side is a bunch of lilies—the Golcar “lilies ” forming the Choir—along with the Welsh dragon, in honour of the Conductor’s nationality. Accompanying this design is the inscription: Known BANK CovuUNCcIL SCHOOL CHorr, GOLCAR. CONDUCTOR: JOHN GRIFFITHS. NATIONAL OF WatEs, 1922. The name of the recipient is engraved on the reverse side. This medal, along with a large photograph of the Choir and one of the Conductor, were presented to each chorister on December 8th, 1922. Ata very large gathering in the Golcar Baptist School, Mr. Fred Hinchliffe presiding, Mr.. William Crowther, for many years Chairman of the Golcar District Council and of the old Golcar School Board, made the presentations, and Mr. C. H. Dennis, formerly Assistant H.M. Inspector of Schools, Councillor Andrew Taylor, a member of the Colne Valley Educa- - tion Committee, and the Rev. G. R. Feakin addressed the meeting.

The public of Golcar were invited to subscribe to a Fund, in order to present to the children a memento of the occasion. This resulted in the children obtaining a further present of silver cups, which were handed to them by Mr. Oliver Taylor at a public meeting and concert in January, 1923.

A sad note must here be struck. Amy 80

Page 121

Chairman of the Golcar School Board.


Page 123

Whitehead, one of the most useful members of the Choir, was claimed by death on March 4th, 1926, after a lingering illness. She was of a bright, vivacious nature, and as a reciter was a most acceptable artiste at the Choir Concerts. The Choir attended the funeral, and one of the most touching portions of the service, at the Parish Church, the Rev. J. Leech officiating, was the singing of a hymn by the Knowl Bank School Choir. Miss Doris Pearson accompanied on the organ.

Before closing this account it must be placed on record that but for the timely intervention of the three brothers, Messrs. Stead, Thomas and Arthur Hirst, at a critical moment, when the project was about to collapse for want of funds, the Choir would never have had the opportunity of showing what it could do. They made the Welsh trip possible, so that it, and all the succeeding events, must be put down in the first instance to their credit. They, as well as many other good friends, are continuing to show their interest in the School and its Choir.

The Choir paid a third visit to the National Eisteddfod in 1925, when it was held at Pwllheli, and spent a most enjoyable week at this seaside resort, without however having, as in South Wales in 1922, the added pleasure of complete success at the Eisteddfod. Out of fifteen competitors, “ Knowl Bank” was placed third. Mr. Griffiths was again the Conductor, and Miss Lena Hirst the Accompanist. 81

Page 124

iii. Tue 1926 Vistr To THE EISTEDDFOD.

1926 has proved as memorable a year for “Knowl Bank” in Music as 1922. The School Choir paid its fourth visit to the National Eisteddfod, when History repeated itself in a remarkable manner. The Choir consisted of fifty-one members—seven boys and forty-four girls. The test pieces were :—_ (a) Three-part Song: “ By Dimpled Brook ” (Dunhill), (6) Two and Three-part Song: “Spring Song” (Hopkin Hvans). Twenty- four choirs competed. There was, as in 1922, a preliminary test, from which three choirs were chosen to sing in the final. The finalists were :—Knowl Bank, Kenfig Hill, and Mountain Ash. Knowl Bank were first to sing in the final test at the Pavilion, when probably 8,000 persons were present. Both songs were sung, and the marks were based on the final test. Immediately after the three choirs had sung, Dr. Hopkin Evans, one of the adjudicators, came forward to announce the complete success of the Knowl Bank School Choir, the result being as follows :— | (a) Piece. (b) Piece. Total. Knowl Bank ..95 marks 93 marks 188 Kenfig Hill ..91 marks 92 marks 183 Mountain Ash ..— a 179 The adjudicators’ remarks on the Singing of “‘ Knowl Bank ” were :— (a) (“By Dimpled Brook ’’) :— ‘‘ A charming tone. Purity in perfection. There

is a perfectly lovely balance and blend, and the result is an exquisite ensemble. The words


Page 126

First PRIZE WINNERS, NATIONAL EISTEDDFOD OF WALES, 1926. KNOWL BANK SCHOOL CHOIR. “A charming tone. Purity in perfection.’’—Adjudicator.

Page 127

Choristers’ Names (Left to Right).

Back Row :—Ethel Whitwam, Agnes Sykes, Jessie Singleton, Hilda Carter, Agnes Whitehead, Amy Taylor, Ethel Siswick, Winnie Harrison, Kathleen Howe.

Second Row :—Connie Priestley, Ethel Pearson, Nellie Whitwam, Mary Thorpe, Bessie Whiteley, Lilian Field, Irene Garside, Emmeline Iredale, Kathleen Mellor.

Third Row:—Raymond Taylor, Nellie Beaumont, Brenda Wrigley, Dorothy Garside, Muriel E. Hirst, Lilian Harrison, Ivy Brooke, Nancie Gee, Vera Swallow, Alice Armstrong, May Bates.

Fourth Row :—Norman Schofield, Harry Heeley, John Holt, Elsie Hanson, Evelyn Thorpe, Nellie Abbott, J. Griffiths (Conductor), Lena Hirst (Accompanist), Winnie Smith, Marjorie Harrison, Elsie Haigh, William Siswick, Bob Whitwam, Thomas Shaw. Front Row :—Ida Gledhill, Marjorie Whitwam, Josephine Mitchell, Mollie Kilner, Mary Kenworthy, Dorothy Richardson, Kathleen Hepworth, Elsie Whitwam, Marion Taylor, Amy Pearson.

Page 128

were simply and delightfully delivered. Perhaps a little suspicion on the ooe side on top of page 6.” (6) (“Spring Song ’’) :— “This again is absolutely superb. That loveiy lofty tone is ravishing to the senses. The phrasing is still more perfect. The way they dove-tailed the phrases was distinctly clever. A performance of high distinction. Tendency to chip phrases.”’

Valuable assistance as accompanist, both during the rehearsals and at the Competition, was given by Miss Lena Hirst. Her contri- bution has been no small one towards the honours gained.

Mrs. Wainwright, of the School Staff, also contributed very materially to the success of the trip, by the useful help she gave during the week in South Wales, as well as earlier in arranging the trip.

As in 1922, the Choir spent the week— from Aug. 2 to Aug. 7—at Llanstephan, and the arrangements followed in general those of 1922. The whole party, consisting of thirty- one adults and sixty children, left Golcar on Sunday night, Aug. 1, by the “‘ Bangor Mail.”’ On reaching Carmarthen at 9 next morning, a beautiful “chara” drive of eight miles brought the party to Llanstephan, where, divided up into “families,” they were to spend the week, thirteen houses having been requisitioned for the purpose.

Besides the journey by charabancs to Swansea on Tuesday, the Competition day, two other trips were arranged, one on 84

Page 129

Wednesday morning, round Llanybri, and Thursday,toTenby. A concert was given on Wednesday evening at Llanstephan National School to a large and appreciative audience. With the aid of delightful weather, the whole week proved to be a most enj joyable one. The party returned home on Saturday, Aug. 7, leaving Llanstephan in the early morning, and arriving at Golcar about half- past seven in the evening. Most of the inhabitants of Golcar had gone on holiday, but large numbers, including County Coun- cillor Joe Crowther, Councillor J. A. Bradley, Chairman of the Golcar District Council, and Councillor J. W. Kenworthy, Vice-Chairman, were at the Station to welcome the Choir on its return. Mr. Griffiths briefly replied to the welcome offered, after which the company dispersed. Apart from the victory on the Kisteddfod platform, the fact that the whole party— children and adults alike—returned home safely, without any accident whatever, was an achievement in itself. Mr. Griffiths naturally looks back with pride on having on two occasions scored such signal successes in his native land. While Yorkshire people may look upon the two events as Yorkshire successes, the Welsh insist on emphasizing strongly the nationality of the conductor. Indeed, the Daily Mail, in 1922, after referring to ‘the disappointing adjudication having been received by the Welsh audience in a sporting spirit, said: ‘“* Welsh pride is salved by the fact that the 85

Page 130

Conductor of the Yorkshire Choir is a Welshman.”’ Sept. 18 was set apart for a Concert at the Huddersfield Town Hall. Notwithstanding the summer weather prevailing, and the general trade depression, due to the pro- longed Coal Strike, more than a thousand came together to hear the children. The 1926 Choir, both individually and in the choruses, aided by Miss Mona Hirst and Miss Evelyn Baxter, of the 1922 Choir, delighted the large audience, an encore being demanded for almost each item rendered. The accompaniments were played by Miss Lena Hirst. As a result of the Concert, the choristers will each receive a gold medal and a photo- graph of the Choir—precisely as in 1922—in honour of the victory in Wales.

2. ART.

The work of the School in Art is less conspicuous than that accomplished in music. Probably, too, success in this direction is not as pronounced. Certainly there are no competitions that to so great a degree act as incentives to effort, and that publish to the world in general the standard reached. Nevertheless, a high standard is held con- tinually before the scholars. The best examples of a year’s work are on view during the whole of the following year, serving in much the same way as the School Choir does in music, to set a standard to reach and maintain. It should here be noted that a 86

Page 131

scholar, Leonard Livesey, during 1924-5, reached the highest standard of efficiency probably ever reached by a Town School scholar in pencil, pastel and water colours. It is hoped that he will endeavour to develop the exceptional talent he possesses, and be given opportunities for doing so. Another boy, Jack Harrison, was successful in 1925 in gaining one of the prizes offered by the West Riding Education Committee for a Health Week Competition Poster.


In the world of sport the School has been no less active, though, of the National Sports, little beyond Cricket and Football has been played. Until recently, no practice on proper ground was possible, as both the cricket and football played in the playground are, on account of the limited area, only a faint copy of the correct game. During the football seasons of 1924—5-6, however, a suitable field has been secured. 7 In cricket, too, good practice ground has been lacking. Latterly, recreation grounds have to some extent filled the gap. For matches, however, the Golcar Cricket Club has each year very kindly placed its ground at the disposal of the School team. For twenty-five years a Cricket Team was regularly entered for the Marshall Challenge Shield, with, as a rule, only a moderate degree of success. In 1914, however, the team succeeded in winning the Shield—the only occasion on which it has ever entered 87

Page 132

the Colne Valley. The Captain on that occasion was Andrew Taylor, at present a member of the Paddock Cricket Club. Another successful “* Knowl Bank ”’ cricketer may well be referred to here, namely, John Allen Meal. Both have made their mark in local cricket, and both have figured among the Yorkshire Colts. A most singular incident occurred on one occasion during a Marshall Challenge Shield match. ‘ Longwood Church” were playing Bank” on the Golcar Cricket Ground. Longwood batted first and failed to score one single run, either from hits or extras. ‘“‘ Knowl Bank” were thus able to win the match by merely making one run. Knowl Bank maintained its connection with the Huddersfield ‘‘ Marshall Challenge Shield’? Competition until 1917. In the following year, the School joined the Colne Valley Schools Cricket League, gaining the premier position three times—1920, 1921 and 1926. In both 1920 and 1921 Marsden Council School played in the final, while in 1926 Linthwaite Council School boys were the “runners-up.” The match was played on the Slaithwaite Cricket Ground, on Tues- day evening, Aug. 24. The Silver Cup, presented to the captain at the close of the match, will be held by Knowl Bank for twelve months.

4, SCHOLARSHIPS. While the subsidiary branches of school activities have thus much to show in the way 88

Page 133

of successes, it is well to note also that the more solid elements of education are receiving their due share of attention. Although not an infallible test of the character of the education given at the School, still the results as seen in the County and other Scholarship Examinations may usefully serve to indicate in some measure the success or otherwise of the teaching. ‘The earliest recorded scholar- ship was that won by Harry Taylor, in 1892, tenable at the Longwood Grammar School. During the intervening thirty-three years no less than sixty-five scholarships have been won—under the auspices of either the County Council or the Longwood Grammar School. As will be seen from a reference to the table given on another page, single scholarship successes were obtained on eleven occasions, double successes on seven occasions, three scholarships were won in the years 1907 and 1918, four in 1919 and 1926, five in 1920, 1921 and 1925, seven in 1924 and eight in 1922. The fact that as many as thirty-one have been won in the last six years shows that the School is alive to the need for encouraging children to continue their education beyond that obtained in the Elementary School. A full list of Scholarship winners is given on a later page.


The Evening School at Knowl Bank may be said to have had a chequered career. During the past thirty or forty years, it has had three periods, with a few years 89

Page 134

intervening. The first was carried on under the direction of Mr. Griffiths, the second for the most part in charge of Mr. R. Chappell, and the third, now running, under Mr. Alfred Livesey, headmaster of Clough Head Council School. The enrolment for the Session 1925-6 was 152, the girls largely outnumbering the boys. Mr. Livesey, the headmaster, is making a great endeavour to provide instructive and interesting courses during the coming session. Parents ought as a matter of duty to instil the idea of continuative education in the minds of their children, so that they may grow to look upon the Evening School as the necessary corollary of the Day School. When one considers the small sum charged for admission (to be returned for satisfactory attendance), admission without fee to those joining immediately on leaving the Day School, and free admission to the Technical College, after completing the Evening School Courses satisfactorily, it almost makes one wonder sometimes whether Education is made so cheap that the public have ceased to place any value on it. There appears to be no valid reason why the Evening Classes here should not be as successful as others in the Colne Valley, if only parents and children will combine to make them so.


Among the other activities of the School may be mentioned The Speech Day. This


Page 135

The Present Headmaster and Conductor of the School Choir.


Page 137

annual function was inaugurated in 1924, when Mr. E. F. Chaney, M.A., Headmaster of Royd’s Hall Secondary School, was the speaker. The proceedings consisted of Speeches and the Headmaster’s Report, interspersed by Songs and Recitations. Sir James P. Hinchliffe, Chairman of the West Riding County Council, was the speaker in 1925, and Miss A. Hill, M.A., Headmistress of The Greenhead Girls’ High School, in 1926. These meetings are well attended by parents and friends, while the older scholars are also privileged to be present. The Speech Day helps to bring the parent into closer touch with the School, by fostering interest in the various phases of school life.

Another useful feature—the Parents’ Visit- ing Day and Exhibition of Scholars’ Work, dating back, as now carried out, to 1910— gives the parents an opportunity of seeing the children at work and of discussing their prospects with the Headmaster or Class Teacher. The mothers take a great interest in the Visiting Day, and attend in large numbers. The Exhibition is kept open in the evening, to give fathers and others unable to come in the daytime an opportunity of seeing the drawings and other objects on view.

In 1925, the School, through the medium of a Jumble Sale, became the possessor of a 4-Valve Wireless Set. It has done and is doing excellent work, as with the aid of a “loud speaker,” a whole class, or even the 91

Page 138

whole school, may enjoy a concert or a lecture, as circumstances allow. When opportunity offers, from time to time the children are taken to the Theatre Royal to see Shakespearean plays, to Art Exhibitions in the Huddersfield Art Gallery, and to such exhibitions as “‘ The Hope of the World” Exhibition recently held in the Huddersfield Drill Hall. These exhibitions are often of a most educative character, and help materially to widen the child’s mental outlook. | Though placed last in the list of the School’s activities, the inculcation of thrift has been by no means least in importance and value to the children. Searching the records, the first transaction with the Yorkshire Penny Bank appears to have taken place on April 3rd, 1892. It is worthy of note that the connection then established with the York- shire Penny Bank has continued unbroken down to the present. This is one of the school subjects whose value cannot be measured by the examiner’s “ foot-rule.”’


(Contributed by Mr. A. Livesey B.Sc. a former scholar.)

Modesty is frequently the companion of genius, and it is modesty that furnishes the only reason for this chapter being written by another hand. Without some account of the career of the author of this book, the story of “Knowl Bank” would certainly not be complete. No great building was ever erected without a great architect, and no efficient school ever grew up without a great 92 .

Page 139

schoolmaster. Such a Master is Mr. Griffiths, who has planned and laboured to make such a success of his School. Born in South Wales, he had Park-yr-hendy for his home, a quarter of a mile from the village of Llanybri, where he received his first instruction in the National Infants’ School, and more than two miles from Llanstephan National School, to which he was transferred on passing the Infants’ classes. Here he was afterwards apprenticed, and had fortunately Mr. John Morgan for his master, who it may be mentioned in passing, was the father of Miss Lilian Morgan, of Longwood National School, and Mrs. Percy Whitwam, of Clifton House, Golear. Mr. Morgan’s personal interest and kindly advice were the means of stimu- lating the efforts of his charge, who repaid his old master with ready willingness and loyal affection; the result was that despite the absence of a training centre, of books of reference, and of that contact with fellow students which sharpens wits ‘“as_ iron sharpeneth iron,’ our friend came through his probation period with good success. The assistance and encouragement of his elder brother William, afterwards Headmaster of Marsden Town School, was another advantage he enjoyed, while he had good reason to be proud of and thankful for a worthy parentage, his father being a deacon with a long record of devoted work at the Congrega- tional Church at Llanybri. In 1884, however he had the misfortune to lose his father by death. This precluded for 93

Page 140

him the possibility of a Collegiate course, so he was obliged to hack his way through by dint of hard study during his leisure hours. Four months at Manchester and three years at Batley as assistant sufficed to enable him to complete his Certificate studies and pass the Examination equivalent to that which is taken at the end of a College course by students of two years’ training. Since his appointment to the Golcar Town School in 1890, he has presided over the School with continuous success, the magnitude of which can moderately be estimated from a careful reading of the present book. Suffice it for me to say that I have never known a more capable, thorough, earnest, and kindly master; he exacted the same obedient response from all, and though he was absolutely firm, his firmness was a means of saving us from far worse ills than his displeasure. Art and Music are the two hobbies of Mr. Griffiths. From the time when, in the Infants’ School, he was discovered making secret sketches of his country friends, and duly admonished for the same, on to the present day, his interest in Art has always been keen and lively. Particularly during his stay in Golcar he has developed his skill in water- colour painting to such a high degree that several of his works (eg ‘‘ Wessenden,” “ A Welsh Water Mill,’’) have been accepted at Exhibitions in Huddersfield, Bradford and other places. This artistic taste is reflected in the Art work of the children, which is a striking feature of the whole School, and 94

Page 141

serves to brighten the drab walls of the building with light and colour. The records of the School Choir clearly indicate the musical capacity of its Conductor and Founder, and serve to show us that we have with us one who knows what excellence can be attained in song by children, and how to secure that excellence. There is one honour bestowed on Mr. Griffiths by his native country, of which he is justly proud. In 1919 he was initiated into the Bardic Circle under the name of “ Ioan Taf” thus becoming a member of the ‘“*Gorsedd Beirdd Ynys Prydain,”’ (‘‘ Circle of Bards of the Isle of Britain’’). Throughout his stay in Golcar, Mr. Griffiths has spent and been spent in the interests of the School and its welfare. Many there are who owe to him their love for knowledge, their ambition, their success; many are those who can linger with deep affection on the happy memories of life in the company of this faith- ful friend and guide. May his life be long spared and his faculties preserved, to enable him throughout his retirement to enjoy his reading, his Art and his Music.



Page 142


The Centenary Celebrations in 1920-21 deserve special treatment. The School having been built in 1816, its centenary fell due in 1916, but on account of the War its celebra- tion was postponed. After the War had ended, a meeting of former scholars was held, to decide on some course of action. The following were the methods that found most favour for celebrating the event :—

1. A Field Day for the scholars. 2. Institution of a Scholarship. 3. A Public Meeting of old scholars. 4. Publication of a Booklet giving the History of the School.

The first two were immediately taken in hand. The Field Day for the children was held on Saturday, July 3rd, 1920, when very general interest was taken in the event, and the children spent a very enjoyable day.

Towards attaining the second of the objects, namely, the Scholarship Scheme, collectors were appointed to call on former scholars. Over £200 has been obtained by this means, | the interest accruing from its investment to be used towards the cost of educating one or more scholars at a Secondary School. 96

Page 143

As regards the third object, both a Public Meeting and a Concert (by former scholars, assisted by the School Choir) have been held.

The publication of this little volume is visible proof of the carrying out of Object No. 4.

With reference to the Scholarship Scheme, a short account of its development may well be given here. This scheme is a striking departure from the ordinary routine of an Elementary School. As stated above, a sum of over £200 was received in subscriptions. This was spent in the purchase of (Govern- ment) Local Loans, yielding a reliable and Although the Scheme, largely on account of the bad times the country was then passing through industrially, has not by any means fulfilled the anticipations of its promoters, it is nevertheless a tribute to the high educational ideals of old scholars, who feel that what was considered good enough for them educationally is not of necessity good enough for their children.

For the purpose of selecting the first scholarship holder, a qualifying examination was held a little prior to the midsummer holidays of 1921. Down to the present (1926) three Scholarships have been awarded, the names being given in Appendix [. Mr. E. F. Chaney, the Headmaster of Royd’s Hall Secondary School, has very kindly conducted the Examinations, and the winners go to Royd’s Hall Secondary School until the age of 16. : 97

Page 144

To put the scheme on a satisfactory footing, a Trust Deed has been drawn up, and a body of eighteen Trustees elected. The Trustees will concern themselves with the award of Scholarships from time to time, and the supervision of the holders during their stay at the Secondary School. The list of Trustees is as follows :—

Miss Alice Eastwood, 61, Carr Top, Golcar ; Schoolmistress. Fred Gledhill, Acre cas Golcar ; Power Loom Tuner. John Griffiths, Carlton Terrace, Golcar ; Schoolmaster. Herbert Harrison, 93, Station Road, Golcar; Confectioner. | Mrs. Harriet Ann Hartley, 21, New Street, Golcar. Andrew Hinchliffe, Claylands, Golcar ; Power Loom Tuner. Herbert Knight, 310, Scar Lane, Golcar ; House Decorator. Alfred Livesey, 54, New Street, Milnsbridge; Schoolmaster. Norris Livesey, 7, Brook Lane, Golcar ; Woollen Weaver. George Henry Lockwood, 23, Station Lane, Golear ; Railway Clerk. _ Tom Ripley, Ingle Dene, Leymoor Road, Golear ; Flock Merchant. Mrs. Elizabeth Mary Shaw, 36, Mary Brow, Golear. Bentley Singleton, Fern Lea, Ley Moor Road, Golcar ; Engineer. 98

Page 146

Chairman of the Town School Centenary Trustees.


Page 147

Mrs. Mary Sykes, 118, Ley Moor Road, Golcar. Oliver Taylor, 86, Church Street, Golcar ; Drysalter. Miss Amy Thorpe, 3, Chapel Lane, Golcar (deceased January 31st, 1926). Edward Whitaker, Claylands, Ley Moor Road, Golcar ; Book-keeper. Arthur Edward Whiteley, Holmecroft, Ley Moor Road, Golear ; Schoolmaster. At the first meeting of the Trustees, Mr. QO. Taylor was elected Chairman, Mr. A. E. Whiteley, Treasurer, and Mr. J. Griffiths, Secretary.


Page 148


Whilst the venerable building well served its day and generation in the past, it will not be counted ungrateful on the part of past scholars if they anxiously look forward to a more up-to-date and well-equipped establishment. The scholars may have just cause to feel, when viewing the erection of — commodious school premises in other parts of the valley, that they are somewhat handi- capped in the educational race. Nevertheless, fine buildings are not everything, as the school results amply verify, and scholars, past and present, may feel proud of an institution that has woven round itself such a web of successes, proud of an Alma Mater that is slowly but surely crystallizing for itself a sound healthy tradition. The need for better accommodation is very pressing. Immediately prior to the War, a site had been obtained and plans for a new school for the Mixed Department were in an advanced stage. The War, however, caused the project to be postponed, and even now, so late as 1926, there is little hope of its resumption, as still more pressing and needy cases are waiting to be treated. It was intended, on the removal of the Mixed 100

Page 149

Department into the new building, for the Infants to be accommodated in the present Mixed Department buildings, while the present Infants’ School buildings would be utilised for Woodwork and Cookery.

A new school would provide many desirable things that are now non-existent, or that are in an unsatisfactory state. Amongst others may be mentioned teachers’ rooms, children’s dining-room, a central hall for assembly, for drill, for parents’ visiting days, etc., containing also wall-space for the Rolls of Honour, Honours Boards, photographs of successful choirs, cricket teams, etc., space for which cannot be found in the main room of the present School. |

Such, at present, is merely a dream. Whatever the future may hold in store as regards buildings, one thing may be taken for granted—the School will not wait for the ~ millenium of palatial surroundings, but will, in spite of barriers and discouragements, go forward from success to success. Still shall it function for the children,

‘“‘that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.”


Page 150


1892 1895 1896 1896 1899 1900 1900 1901 1904 1904 1906 1906 1907 1907 1907 1908 1909 1910 1911

1912 1913 1913 1915 1916 1916 1917 1918 1918 1918 1919 1919

1919 1919 1920

Appendix I. |

Scholarship Winners.

C.M. indicates West Riding County Minor Scholarship.


Harry Taylor — Lilian Sykes, C.M. Tom Hartley — Herbert Harrison Arthur Priestley John Allen Meal, C.M. Elizabeth Ann Haigh, C.M. Willie Taylor — Hervey Tate - ~ Dan Pearson - - Wilfred Tate — Sam Sykes (Town End) Ernest Taylor — - Emily Ann Ramsden, C.M. Nellie Gledhill, C.M. Grace Annie Meal, C.M. —- Lucretia Taylor, C.M. - Hubert H. Whiteley, C.M.— John P. Hebb, C.M. (gained M.P.S. 1922.) - Kathleen Haigh, C.M. Charles Gledhill, C.M. Marion Stott, C.M. — Jack Hinchliffe Edgar Whitwam, C.M. Jessie Ramsden, C.M. Elvin Whitwam Frank 8. Meal Fred Garside —- John Hirst, C.M. Clara Hirst, C.M. Elsie Ramsden, C.M.

Albert Whitwam Frank Cheetham > Herman Hall -— -

Where Tenable.

Longwood Grammar School. Higher Grade School, Hudd. Longwood Grammar School. Longwood Grammar School. Longwood Grammar School. Higher Grade School, Hudd. Higher Grade School, Hudd. Longwood Grammar School. Longwood Grammar School. Longwood Grammar School. Longwood Grammar School. Longwood Grammar School. Longwood Grammar School. Huddersfield Girls’ High School. Huddersfield Girls’ High School. Huddersfield Girls’ High School. Huddersfield Girls’ High School. Huddersfield Municipal Sec. Sch.

Huddersfield Municipal Sec. Sch. Huddersfield Girls’ High School. Huddersfield Municipal Sec. Sch., Huddersfield Girls’ High School. Longwood Grammar School. Huddersfield Municipal Sec. Sch. Huddersfield Girls’ High School. Longwood Grammar School. Longwood Grammar School. Longwood Grammar School. Huddersfield Municipal Sec. Sch. Huddersfield Girls’ High School. Huddersfield Girls’ High School. (Matriculation success, 1924). Longwood Grammar School. Longwood Grammar School. Longwood Grammar School.


Page 151

Appendix I.—Scholarship Winners.—Coniinued.

Longwood Grammar School having been closed, all following are County Minor Scholarship Winners :— Year. Name. Where Tenable. 1920 Ethel Ripley - ~ Huddersfield Girls’ High School. 1920 Edith Johnson —- Huddersfield Girls’ High School. 1920 Phyllis Howe - ~ Huddersfield Girls’ High School. 1920 Donald Taylor -~ Huddersfield Municipal Sec. Sch. 1921 Hubert Hoyle. ~ Huddersfield Municipal Sec. Sch. 1921 Richard Lee - — Huddersfield Municipal Sec. Sch. 1921 Lena Whitwam ~ Huddersfield Girls’ High School. 1921 Edna Stephenson Huddersfield Girls’ High School. 1921 Bessie Meal — — Huddersfield Girls’ High School. 1922 Arthur Knight Huddersfield Royds Hall Sec. Sch. (Matriculation success, 1926).


LP Pie |

1922 Annie Thorpe - ~ ~ Huddersfield Royds Hall Sec. Sch. 1922 Alice Whitwam — Huddersfield Royds Hall Sec. Sch. 1922 Evelyn Whitwam — — Huddersfield Royds Hall See. Sch. 1922 Hilda Singleton -: ~ Huddersfield Royds Hall See. Sch.

(Matriculation success, 1926)

1922 Kathleen Ripley Huddersfield Royds Hall Sec. Sch.

| |

1922 Lilian Taylor — - ~— Huddersfield Royds Hall Sec. Sch. 1922 Charlotte Wood - —- Did not avail herself of the Scholarship.


1923 Elsie Whitaker 1923 Muriel I. Gledhill

Huddersfield Royds Hall Sec. Sch. Huddersfield Royds Hall Sec. Sch.

1924 Frank R. Lockwood — Huddersfield Royds Hall Sec. Sch. 1924 Harry Carter — ~ ~ Huddersfield Royds Hall See. Sch. 1924 Jessie Singleton — ~— Huddersfield Royds Hall Sec. Sch. 1924 Marie Whitwam ~ — Huddersfield Royds Hall Sec. Sch. 1924 Frank Hewison ~ —- Did not avail himself of the 3 Scholarship. 1924 Edward Milnes _ — Huddersfield Royds Hall Sec. Sch. 1924 C. Clifford Hellawell — Huddersfield Royds Hall See. Sch.

1925 Marjorie Harrison — 1925 Kathleen Howe 1925 Clifford Knight 1925 Harry Whitaker 1925 Leonard Halstead 1926 Catherine Hall 1926 Phyllis Holroyd

Huddersfield Royds Hall Sec. Sch. Huddersfield Royds Halli Sec. Sch. Huddersfield Royds Hall Sec. Sch. Huddersfield Royds Hall Sec. Sch. Huddersfield Royds Hall Sec. Sch. Huddersfield Royds Hall Sec. Sch. Huddersfield Royds Hall Sec. Sch. 1926 John Holt - Huddersfield Royds Hall Sec. Sch. 1926 Edward Ripley Huddersfield Royds Hall Sec. Sch.


sok | fF |

Year. Name. Where Tenable. 1921 Gertrude Whitehead ~ Huddersfield Royds Hall Sec. Sch. 1924 Percy Whitwam -— — Huddersfield Royds Hall Sec. Sch. 1925 Lawrence Hopkinson — Huddersfield Royds Hall Sec. Sch.

MR. ALFRED LIVESEY, B.Sc. Mr. Alfred Livesey, a former scholar, at present Head Master of Clough Head Council School, Golear, is a Bachelor of Science of Sheffield University, gaining the distinction in 1922.


Page 152

Appendix II. School Choir Successes.

Year. Name of Competition. Result. 1906 Mrs. Sunderland Competition —-— Ist Prize. ; (Medal for Conductor.)

1907 Mrs. Sunderland Competition —- Ist Prize. - (Medal for Conductor.) 1908 Mrs. Sunderland Competition - 3rd Prize. 1909 Mrs. Sunderland Competition - 3rd Prize, 1910 Mrs. Sunderland Competition - 2nd Prize. 1912 Mrs. Sunderland Competition - Ist Prize.

(Medal for Conductor. ) 1912 National Eisteddfod of Wales, at 3rd Prize.

Wrexham. 1918 Mrs. Sunderland Competition - 2nd Prize. 1920 Mrs. Sunderland Competition - _ Ist Prize.

(Medal for Conductor.) 1921 Milnsbridge Wesleyan Competition 2nd Prize. 1922 National Histeddfod of Wales, at Ist Prize. Ammanford. oe 1926 National Eisteddfod of Wales, at Ist Prize Swansea. Appendix III.

Cricket Team Successes.

Year. Name of Competition. 1914 Marshall Challenge Shield. 1920 Colne Valley Shield. 1921 Colne Valley Shield. 1926 Colne Valley Cup. Appendix IV.

List of Teachers from 1890.

(Mixed Department.) Miss W. A. Hollingworth (now Mrs. T. Freeman). Mrs. Gledhill (deceased). ; Miss Edith Lord (now Mrs. Dines). Miss Alice M. Taylor (afterwards Mrs. Shaw, now deceased). Mr. Harold Whitehead (now Head Master Holmfirth Council School). Miss Edith Longbottom (now Mrs. Heppenstall). Miss Florence Hamer (now Mrs. J. H. Whitwam). Miss Cadwell. Miss Annie Brook. Miss Mary Singleton. Miss Lilian Sykes. Miss Mary E. Oddy. Miss Eleanor E. Cockhill (now Mrs. Cavanagh). Mr. Albert Sykes. Miss Annie L. Whitehead. Miss Annie Singleton (now Mrs. Lewis Heywood). Miss Lilian Crowther (now Mrs. Thomas Gledhill),


Page 153

Appendix 1V.—List of Teachers from 1890 (Mixed Department. )—

Continued. Miss Emily Eastwood. Miss Florence Pilling (deceased). Miss Helena Mallinson (now Mrs. J. H. Hanson). Miss Florence M. Dutton (now Mrs. Dimenna). Miss Annie Wood (now Mrs. Bentley Singleton). Mr. John Herbert Morgan (killed in the Great War). Mr. Eldred T. Sykes. Miss Eliza J. Whitehead (now Mrs. S. Bell). Miss Clara F. Beaumont (now Mrs. Alex. Bolton), Miss Dora Kenworthy (deceased). Miss Kathleen Holroyd (now Mrs. Booth). Miss Elsie Sykes (now Mrs. W. Gledhill). Miss 8. M. Wilkinson. Miss Ida Haley. Miss Eva Tinker (now Mrs. Beaumont, Liscard). Miss Lily Wood (afterwards Mrs. Sutcliffe, now Mrs. Haigh). Mr. Arthur Littlewood. Miss Edith Kaye. Mr. Elvin Green. Mr. Cecil Ellison. Mrs, Mary Moorhouse. Mrs. Mettrick. Mr. Reginald Bagley. Mrs. Alway. Mrs, Sarah Bamforth. Mr. Arthur E. Whiteley. Miss Ward. Mrs. Sherwood. : Mr. Stanley Bell (deceased). Miss Blanche Chinn. Miss Fannie Hanson. Miss Amy E. Hellawell. Mrs. Milnes. Miss Annie Davies. Miss Knowles (now Mrs. Burritt). Miss Normanton. Mrs. Emily Taylor. Mrs. Jane E. Moorhouse. Miss Edith Crowther. Mr, H. Ashley Sykes. ' Miss Royston. Mrs. Annie Brooke. Mrs. Edith F. Ward. Mrs. Bertha Wainwright. Miss Eleanor Brooke. Mr. J. G. Ramsay. Miss Dora Frost (Australia—Empire Exchange of Teachers). Mr. Edgar Whitwam. | Mrs. Florence E. Gardner. Mr. T. C. D. Priestley. Mr. Harry Kewley.


Page 154

Appendix V.

Roll of Honour.

Former Scholars killed in the Great War, 1914—1918.


SH sdf


Hinde a oF

Page 156

bo hes ieee eee

oe thease pe

pe ee Hy Seip ante eerie, os

Pore wes

pre 2, poet eo PEE TS Pp Shove ener: 2 BERET tare Pet eg Be dys ees ze i : 4 SSIES eek She Siete he tn oi

ages capt ya a Rs as ere Roo % ; Po Scene E 3 koe moss =

3 z ia Pores Sok ae eee Ter See oa rire

no rete | Megs pe arse ent Fame Brag tes Eye tS

Si oy pei pees 3 z eater eng Ry aah ees pore Bisse 5 er PT oP elo id re as of raters cae er

foragers ci itis Segre Ere es eae rs 5 3 pep ses aH eek 2 : : 3 ieee sees ee pet 2 tf pel ss tye canes $53 Son eee $2 te i <> pe eee teat fe

be Sb fos were

iets i {her tein tap et

meetin es pee eee

ee yi Sood Aah Rae rer ere ot

as pranks Shere Hatt panes eee TP a ne oS < 7 ne Doc rai tenes nate pe ats Eres eke SP pen we pense eer ete Sx Se ior ca ces say seer decd

oe poe Seas ie

bys sees oe Pree red

ee ir


Seen ian pee re Ty = pera

pee Re oy ne cp aie Spon here cpap te teres atom righ rte tee sect eee eg seat Fe

Pee <3 Sys cece ski ae peas sie ae "aie Ba

fe tee es ihe

ape ae > tL ps : Fey CP Er eh sie . : : aan ees Sie 7 ee Stare pease, tees : Sires 2 eee BS ice = oo <5 a = fete tote tt oe eter Serv ree terior en 7 7 + mip tery : Rs v3 Ste; 3

pee LE eee Sets ; Ba Bese sed eee age ; PEE Pere cee sce Saat cess rae Mees oa aa 2 cite ( : : pap Repeater te


a A ee Seach prea ie bes oe tere pee ager e LETS LAE PEEL Sot ot ote torte ed Te Sa hae ages Rp TE ated A ee ta eats : 3 . mn

ft eke eer et rer teed ne 3 ne i

soos, J : a


cred feces os) ft ete rts bs Bares fe it A patie =) SES ESSE PST Rt oa he ss

PER ey Sl

S25 tf RRR

ee ate 7 Pee nts re: sr gy a rere Maer aide hte feof a 3 Poy oe ’ ty : seu Teg i = ty bat rs tes] a sees : =: cee ee erent atthe beg : iit @ Stay paren wad et ae ees i hte i sees Lehr EP aS See eA ttt aS) strats shes ; Ls area Teeter Ns eee ye stoves cree en Tae 3 ee aap soe tees te bet oi WR ss pee ee seat Jes angen fer nt Perey se toes Sore te et neta eet : cats oer eee fe PEEP sm, oy a +s mf Leer eer LOS oe ee hates Retest yd [3 cet a ind 3 hort ms “ ae haben ot yet Mee Parse Pees ‘ aed Sled 4 ess Peer | phe tp + fs PP oer pe rade eek eh eet es ge ne e283 3 "ee Sebel lets : ; sets 3 Ses > oe eb led ah ee ere oa SEES wpe fons ore a ees 3 Pigs Fe pak J etn. te ng te peep : : iid ss rot pi ates eta 1 Crate ese SIME he ate aint hs Patty ie Ree tes ete fe ae pees : peopel pees eae ie Fede ey tr pers ete tt pooh Be ; oe 4 ; ees wes rece Ty cheese es hos tee hed ae espe de Sete aoe ee pa = 4 ors tes as 2 as be agro tek st Sere eer ees aoe pe ts fe Senora er ees

baer * Ste ak: > oer es ea A viens Sed ee SSS * Sie tamer me Te Te Pet ee ee eed yg gee PS That ena agate fee 3 PSs 7 Se sz! 5 Hi ot Boe

+ 89. SAS a Late pera es canary es

ts ht

Sees ee ees


% re

wh ie ee

see , tsi ane tt et heb

22702 cert Soh 7s bat eee : tree THERES a td a

a ny 3 ve are > 9 Sone aie fey ar Seep Et thio wah = Thee 3s LER ae


set tein 3 TP ; dior oo ry best


fie eee 5G Cee epee sto)


og resin iar pee can eae ee sist Pies eee


rt ere rere pire en nay ; 2 ada oe aa ‘ CLI p ee gape ae ee ioe tears eae ETS SS sega


he Lag Lied

eT Teoh kee bert ene tt bie teak ts x ad Sto eee

Pert aa Rasen ar iets tap | spe ee Ts chad Sree] ey 2 “nas mane tree Teh

pce eta paige iter pier tet weir pie Pe : 7 a !

nok, eae ace She

pe ere cee rot re gear a Te ark

ory ae os ages parte ti ey eet


ies 30 ssh

bes Spa se te bees ree chee aise ord Har, reget Leer Beer Cat Peet rs BL je hey bee eet us aa Ces ire, 7 ey pero sips hips) Parabens epic hot gas st ee red Tee Renee Speer oh te. ttle fot threes te ie gs eke Sap dee eee aes ge ren Ripe at sce team ore Mts be rex Bors reer has se iyi tte ts or bake : f psa 26 Sekt Bee cree te eRe ea dd te : 3 sash Irie eee Sod "tS ih : ot ered rage Sed : sty a Repeat cer ten gate pepe et or ret rT Loe ed na) tha thle sete : 3 - re reed fe core Pees Peepers ; See egies ena cette eee ey aps Saisie 3 i eames ego SER ler Geng Sorry elie tie fetes ney hae Behe 3 : Bese er ta te nee Fes pope eats Ne epee ee he Se ee (dE oh =a tes oo seas $84 eet re ey ey a4

: 2 ; re se rancor ih sgt Eh pase reese en te rae > : Sek}

sire reper % ease rie phy a tts oe tram OF feet: eo pied reve pen et Hs Peet yes eb cae ay

> ti

ne Paes aS es

er pee ae shinee Ps PP Ls pipe ty ay

cere ert’ ps

Ste, ee

x 3 3 : SEER aay be AR Re aE, settee ie eases Oy hers tot st tit merida gs epi hogy ty oe pet ear shin Nit : times soc se ye : reyes gene er 5 feed ie iy + Lid in age tiger eerie Sapien gee estar : kes eee estos oe tan

tr Spm pts ey eats ts psig hy ss get AyD ES gre le tae 3: et tay tee teeter i Pees Ss teaser iis. Rear tree ears ee sore err . Sige recesses site ne Ds rape

be oe

yap) seis ears ech Speer Sea a tt Maar eae Pear ee ben) teers cea see Spee peng os ot ae cate rare Ree Net eel ey, Get eta tht ee see atic aS pera BEES per bees cope reaps zoe

es bape Sere 2: 3



erecta treet oon thet at a - Serie ion enone #4 pears eee teers : oe ee! ay

phe erica

pte ex a SE = pepe rt i errs x ow peers eee ead peta tater ps oe tage ne tbe ert seat rere ee ares epee ey teed tg ae ate, : peepee. et ESS eet eet co ed ms bien ere mie 8 hes 4 Pig oh tT ae a repay at teers Pa peer bets tir soa ee : tear rear se as



Es * “3s t aod

= o's

Bees merge Lees

ie ees ss SSA Sept. ages ia ota pray. eth weap py Spy setts Rta Cao tower kets res feet ene sey : ieee Ss rate

lege tote ee see Te Bee aged phy = iss arses pets Eo

par at ee | eis chee Lae, peste katate pee peut peep es

peeps Pe Fi

nee saree ae et RT a Ds poet se ay Ae eT

+ *

Return to the Huddersfield Exposed home page
View the list of other OCR'd books