The following is the OCR text of a book and will likely contain conversion errors. This page is designed to be indexed by search engines. Click on a page number to view the book in your web browser.
Please note that the text is not in the Public Domain and should not be reproduced further without the express permission of the copyright holder or their estate.
- licence: CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
Meltham in Focus
Organisations, Societies & People
Year Description Volume I Page 1939 New, David Brown, Tractor Works at Meltham Mills B 5 1936+ I David Brown Tractors B 7 David Brown’s Tractor Plant, Aerial Photograph B 8 1866C I Meltham Mills, Drawing B 9-10 1936+ I David Brown Tractors Forty Years on, 1936 -1976 B 11 1972 David Brown Tractors, Atlantic Alliance B 12 1936+ I David Brown Tractors - Past and Present B 13-18 1900+ I Meltham Silica Firebrick Company B 19 1922+ I Fire Service B 20 1941 Fire Service Pump Drill Competition B 21 1861 Railway - Public Meeting in Support B 25 1877 Examiner Letter by “Drinking Trough” B 26 1864+ I Railway - Cutting the First Sod / Construction, Description and Use B 27-42 Buses - 1850 Onwards B 43 1856 First Paid Meltham Policeman B 44 1989 Meltham Community Policeman B 45 1998 Meltham Community Police - Patrol Car Loan B 46 1871-2 I Deerhill & Blackmoorfoot Reservoirs - Laying of Foundation Stones B 47-50 1882 High Moor Reservoir - Cutting of the First Sod B 51 1941 Meltham Water Supply - New Filtration Plant Opened B 52 1934+ I Digley Reservoir - History and Construction B 53 19C+ Water Supply B 55 1855+ I Gas Supply B 56 1855 Meltham Gas Works B 59 1879 First Use of Electricity in Meltham ? - Floodlit Football B 60 1920+ I Electricity Supply B 61 1892+ I Sewage Works - Bent Ley B 62 1972 New Oil Fired Incinerator B 63 1960 Meltham Reconstructed Sewage Works Opened B 64 1973 Meltham Sewage Works Extension Officially Opened B 64 1900 Meltham Sewerage Works - Cutting of the First Sod B 65 1904 Meltham Sewerage Works - Official Opening B 67-68 1899+ I Meltham Telephone Exchange B 69-70 1874 Meltham Parish Church District Chapelry Boundary B 83 1919 Meltham Parish Church Bell Ringers Concert Programme B 84 1922 Meltham Parish Church Consecration of New Burial Grounds B 87 Meltham Parish Church History / Campanology B 91-2 1866 Meltham Parish Church Bells B 93 Meltham Church, Historical Sketch of First 200 Years B 95-6 1878 Meltham Parish Church, Re-opening B 97 1851 Meltham Parish Church, Consecration of New Burial Ground B 98 1921 Meltham Parish Church, Dedication of New Memorial Tablet B 99 1927 Meltham Parish Church, Dedication of the New Organ B 103 1936 Meltham Parish Church, Centenary of the Bells B 104 1879 Meltham Parish Church, Ten Bell Carillon B 105-6 1922 Meltham Parish Church, Consecration of New Burial Ground B 107 1899 Rev. E. Watson, the Vicar of Meltham, Obituary B 108 1863 Rev. J. Hughes, Incumbent of Meltham, Death of B 111
Year Description Volume I Page 1860 Meltham Mills Church, Re-opening B 112 1861 Meltham Mills Church Tea Party B 115-6 1937 Meltham Mills Church, New Organ Officially Opened B 119 1945 Meltham Mills Church Centenary B 120 Meltham Mills Church, History B 121 Helme Church, History B 122 1858 Helme Church, Provision of B 123 1858 Helme Church, Laying of the Foundation Stone B 124 1859 Helme Church, Consecration of Christ Church B 125 1884 Helme Church, Vestry Meeting Re Clock B 126 1965 Helme Church, Extension to the Graveyard B 127 1872 Helme Church, Organ Opening B 128 1951 Dorothy Brook, Death of B 131 1959 Helme Church, Centenary B 132 Joseph Hirst and Wilshaw, History B 133-5 1890 Wilshaw, Sketch Map B 136 1874 I Joseph Hirst J.P., Funeral at Wilshaw B 137 1977 Wilshaw, Jubilee Celebrations B 138 1963 Wilshaw Remembers the Generosity of the Hirst Family B 139 1963 Wilshaw Church, Centenary / Dedication of a Garden of Remembrance B 141-2 Wilshaw Church, History B 143-4 1858 Miss Mary Hirst of Wilshaw, Wedding B 145 1859 Mrs Alfred Beaumont, Funeral of B 146 1863 Wilshaw Church, Consecration of the New Church B 147-8 1864 Wilshaw Church, Re-opening After Re-decoration B 149 1870-1 I Wilshaw, New Almshouses, Laying of a Corner Stone / Opening B 151-2 1862 Wilshaw, St. Mary’s School, Laying of a Corner Stone B 153 1881 Mrs Hirst, Funeral of B 154 1852 Wilshaw, Opening of the New Sunday School B 155 1867 Meltham Wesleyan Schoolroom, New Day School B 156 1926 Meltham Wesleyan Chapel, Re-opening of Organ, Programme B 157 1903 Meltham Wesleyan Sunday School, Two New Classrooms B 161 1884+ I Meltham Wesleyan Methodists Chapel, Construction B 163 1977 Meltham Methodist Church, Opening of the New Church B 164 1919 Meltham Wesleyan Church, Centenary Celebrations B 165 1936 Meltham Methodist Church, Jubilee Celebrations B 167 1969 Meltham Methodist Church, 150th Anniversary B 168 1795+ I Methodism in Meltham, History B 169 1810+ I Meltham Baptist Church, History B 170 1788+ I Rev. T. Thomas, Baptist Minister, History B 171-2 1862-4 I Meltham Baptist Chapel, Laying of the Foundation Stone / Opening B 173 1866 Meltham Baptist Sunday School, Opening of New School B 174 1887 Meltham Baptist Chapel, Re-opening After Renovation B 179 1910-1 I Meltham Baptist Sunday School, Stone Laying Ceremony / Opening B 180-2 1913 Meltham Baptist Chapel, Centenary Celebrations B 183-4 1963 Meltham Baptist Chapel, Jubilee Celebrations B 185 1921 Meltham, Meltham Mills & Wilshaw War Memorials, Unveiling and Dedication B 187-9 1920 Helme War Memorial, Unveiling B 190
New Tractor Work's at Meltham Mills November 1939
How the home production of tractors will be greatly increased by the taking over of Meltham Mills for the production of the David Brown tractor .This product of the world famous firm of gear specialists has become too big to shelter any longer under the same roof as the parent company,and is moving to new quarters at Meltham,where there is unlimited scope for its development. Moving from Lockwood has taken place chiefly by night,so that there might be as little disturbance of production as possible the machines were working at Lockwood one day and at Meltham the next. The factory at Meltham is not new,but neither is it very old, and it is ideal for adapting to the needs of quantity production There is for example one section in which there is a strech from end to end of nearly a quarter mile all under one roof.It is here that the conveyor rail has been installed for assembling the trac- tors by the most up-to-date flow-production methods. Down one side of this section are the stores from which such things as magnetos batteries,radiators,etc are drawn,to travel along sub-conveyors to the main assembly line.Another section is to be devoted to the manufacture of ploughs and implements. The ease and accuracy with which some of the machines do their work is a joy to behold.One concerned with the back axle does a job in 17 minutes which previosly took 24 hours.The accuracy to which these machines work is something that the layman has diff- iculty in understanding. They have instigated at the new tractor works a complete and foolproof system of inspection.In every section are highly skill- ed inspectors equipped with the very latest testing devices,and they select parts at random and subject them to exhaustive exam- ination. Last week saw production under way and the first of the tractors built in the new premises ready for distribution.
Case Tractors Sports Club
A former thriving sports and Social Club is set to close its door at the end of April 1991. Case Tractors Sports and Social Club,which has had its head- quarters at Meltham Hall for over 20 years,is likely to fold because of financial difficulties. In recent years club subsctiptions have slumped following dras- tic cutbacks in the Case workforce.At its hey-day Case,formerly David Brown Tractors,employed over 3,000 people at its Meltham operation-now only 250 people work there. The personnel mamager said "this is a very sad day.Obviously when we had 3,000 people working here things were very different Nowadays we are in a no-win situation.To attract people into the club we have to provide an artist,but by the time an artist has been paid there is nothing left financially. We only have to look in Meltham itself to see the number of pubs and clubs that we are in competition with. Meltham Hall prmises have been leased over the years from Mel- tham Town Council —a lease which comes up for renewal in June 1992.The council has leased the building to Case for the past 22 years.Different sections of the club-bowling teams,a wine circle, photographic club-will now be faced with finding alternative meeting places.Other local organisations including a table tennis club,keep fit group and dance club also use Meltham Hall
David Brown Tractors
Engineering firm David Brown first became involved in the farm machinery industry in 1936 when it linked up with Mr.Harry Fer- guson.The ground breaking Ferguson Brown Tractor were built init- ally in the corner of the David Brown Gear factory,Lockwood.The Ferguson Brown model was the first production tractor to be equi- pped with hydraulic lift and converging 3-point linkage. In 1939/40 David Browns took over the Jonas Brook's factory at Meltham Mills,but it was through chance that they became involved A building was avaiable at the time they needed one,and there was also the prospects of being able to re-train a good number of tex- tile workers who would have to seek work elsewhere. The coming of Browns gave a much needed boost to employment in the area,and it gave new life to industrial developments in Mel- tham. The first David Brown solo effort after severing relations with Mr.Ferguson was exhibited at the Royal Show of 1939,But the pro- duction of tractors in Meltham not really get under way till after the war years,as like many others,they were engaged in the war effort.Techniques developed for making tractors were adap- ted for aircraft towing and recovery vehicles.The firm also made gearboxes for tanks and supercharger gearing for Spitfires. In 1946,the Meltham plant switched back to the peacetime pro- duction of farm tractors.Although the company was a relatively late starter,in the highly competitive business of farm machinery production,it acquired a global reputation for quality and inven- tive design,at one stage four out of every five tractors were sold overseas.The labour force in 1948 had trebled to nearly 4 4,000 personal,and approx.40% of these lived in Meltham, giving work to a goodly proportion of Meltham people. The influence of Browns in the area,gave rise to other com- panies setting up business in the area.The most obvious example of this was the opening of a tyre depot at Bent Ley by the Dunlop Tyre Company,to supply tyres for the wheels of the tractors,and later W.H.Shaws set up a new factory to box the tractors,and parts, for transport to the various docks. In the early 1970s David Brown Tractors boasted Europe's most technologically advanced tractor assembly complex,and it was Brit- ain's third largest farm tractor manufacturer. This high international profile earned the attention of Texan firm Tenneco Inc.which in 1972 bought David Browns Tractors and then affiliated the company with J.I.Case. The company's 500,000 tractor came of the production line in 1977 and was painted silver to take pride of place at a Royal Show marking the Queen's Silver Jubilee. At its peak,the 78 acre site saw a tractor produced every four minutes.in 1983 the name David Brown was dropped and the firm became Case Tractors.and then in Aug 1987,it was announced that tractor production was being wound down giving workers time to plan for their future,then on March 11th 1988 the final tractor rolled off the assembly lines,bringing to an end 50 yrs of Trac- tor making in Meltham. It was finally closed in 1993,when the old Jonas Brook's Mills were pulled down and various smaller units were established in the area,now called Meltham Mills Industrial Estate. Lawtons Carpets took over the latest extension,whic Browns had built on the old Meltham Mills Cricket Ground.
David Brown's Tractor Plant Meltham Mills
Meltham Mills, circa 1866
The year 1972 marked another significant milestone in the company’s development. David Brown Tractors Ltd. was acquired in that year by the international conglomerate, Tenneco Inc. of Houston, Texas, and was affiliated to another world-famous Tenneco subsidiary, the J I Case Company, of Racine, Wisconsin, USA.
Under the Tenneco banner, David Brown Tractors and Case are actively and successfully co-ordinating and expanding their combined production, marketing and distribution facilities. Early visible evidence of this powerful new alliance came in 1973 with the adoption of a new unified colour scheme throughout the full range of David Brown and Case farm tractors; a combination of orchid white, power red and black.
DBT Distributors and Dealers in the UK and in several other parts of Europe now offer selected machines from the Case company’s compiementary range of farm tractors. In other parts of the world also many joint DBT/Case
franchises are being established. Additionally, an increasing number of Case construction equipment products employ engines and transmission units manufactured by David Brown Tractors Ltd.
The Meltham Company has three subsidiary companies in Scandinavia; David Brown Traktor A/S, Denmark; David Brown Tractors AB, Sweden; and David Brown Tractors Oy, Finland. These subsidiaries market not only DB and Case agricultural tractors but also Case construction equipment. There are two additional European subsidiary marketing companies, David Brown Tractors (France) SA and David Brown Tractors GmbH, German Federal Republic. The Company operates a series of retail outlets in the East of England and in Northern Ireland and has a further subsidiary in the Republic of Ireland. Former DBT marketing companies in South Africa, Canada and Australia have been absorbed into the J I Case subsidiaries in those countries.
Case/David Brown tractor line-up
David Brown Tractors Ltd. is closely linked with the United Kingdom manufacturing subsidiary of J I Case, located near Leeds, West Yorkshire. This company retails a range of construction equipment products within the United Kingdom and also manufactures crawler tractors for export.
David Brown tractors — past and present
Ferguson — Brown Type A
The following notes relate to principal wheeled tractor models manufactured by David Brown Tractors Ltd. since 1936. Other lesser-known models, some of which were supplied exclusively to certain countries, are listed on pages 10 and 117.
1936 — 1939 Ferguson-Brown Type A
This model painted battleship grey was built by David Brown to the design of the late Mr. Harry Ferguson at Park Gear Works, Huddersfield, and at the present Meltham Mills tractor factory. It had a 4-cylinder water cooled petrol (gasolene) or petrol/TVO (gasolene/kerosene) engine. The first 500 tractors built had a Coventry Climax type ‘E’ engine. The remainder of the 1,350 machines built had a David Brown engine of 2,010cc capacity, developing 20hp (14-9kW) at 1,400 rev/min. There were 3 forward and 1 reverse gears and independent .wheel brakes.
1953 — 1959: 50D
The 50D was based on the 6-cylinder 50hp (37-3kW) power unit developed for a track-laying tractor. A rugged, heavy machine, it was ideally suited to towing operations and featured a 4-speed PTO unit. It was unique amongst David Brown tractors in having a side mounted belt pulley instead of the more familiar rear mounted unit. The 50D was the first David Brown tractor to be available only with a diesel engine. Number manufactured: 1,260.
1953 — 1958: 30C and 30D
The 30C petrol (gasolene) and TVO and 30D diesel engines had overhead valves and coil ignition or direct injection with powers of: diesel — 34hp (25-3kW) at 1,800 rev/min; petrol (gasolene) — 41hp (30-6kW) at 2,300 rev/min; TVO (kerosene) — 37-6hp (27-6kW) at 2,300 rev/min.
In 1954 the new series 30C and 30D models were equipped with TCU — the subsequently world famous Traction Control Unit and the first controlled weight transfer system for tractors. In 1955 a special hitch to give the advantage of TCU in hauling heavy trailers was introduced. TCU is still the most efficient and by far the simplest method of obtaining controlled weight transfer. Number manufactured: 16,073.
1953 — 1958: 25 and 25D
The diesel version developed 31-3hp (23-1kW) at 1,800 rev/min and the petrol (gasolene) model 31-7hp (23-2kW) at 2,000 rev/min. These were the first small tractors to have the advantage of TCU. Also featured were a 2-speed PTO and belt pulley unit and a 6 forward 2 reverse speed gearbox. I Number manufactured: 24,742.
1956 — 1961: 2D
Ideally suited to precision market garden work, the 2D was also used as a specialist rowcrop machine on larger farms. It had a lightweight, rear mounted, air cooled 2-cylinder
David Brown 30D
diesel engine of 14hp (10-4kW) with 4-speed gearbox and was designed for use with mid-mounted implements. A rear
David Brown 2D
1956 — 1958: 900
The 900 was available with four alternative engines; diesel — 40hp (29-8kW); TVO (kerosene) — 37hp (27-6kW); petrol (gasolene) — 40hp (29-8kW), and high compression petrol (gasolene) — 45hp (33-5kW). The diesel model pioneered the use of the now familiar distributor type fuel injection pump and also featured dual category linkage with the David Brown patented swivelling ball type top link and detachable bonnet (hood).
In 1957 the 900 Livedrive was introduced, the first David Brown model with a dual clutch giving live hydraulics and a live PTO. Number manufactured: 13,770.
1958 — 1959: 950 (T and U series)
The 950 was similar in design to the 900 but had increased power — diesel 42-5hp (31-3kW); petrol (gasolene) 42hp (31kW). A much improved recirculating ball type steering unit was fitted and the universal drawbar was dimensioned to comply with British Standard 1495: 1958 SAE Standard J718. Number manufactured: 5,574.
1959 — 1962: 950 Implematic
The introduction of the 950 Implematic offered farmers, for the first time, the opportunity to use depth (gauge) wheel or draught (draft) control with equal facility. Automatic weight transfer was available through the Implematic draught (draft) control or controlled weight transfer through the TCU system.
In 1961 the V and W series was superseded by the 950 Implematic A and B series which had improved front axle clearance and multi-speed PTO to provide both 540 and 1,000 rev/min standard speeds. Number
1960 — 1965: 850 Implematic
The A and B series 850 Implematic tractors had a 4-cylinder diesel engine giving 35hp (26-1kW) at 2,000 rev/min. Petrol (gasolene) versions were also offered. The Implematic hydraulic system enabled this small tractor to give an outstanding performance with mounted implements. The later C and D series had diesel engines only and featured the multi-speed PTO and improved front axle clearance. From April 1963 height control was included in the hydraulic system. Number manufactured: 14,242.
1961 — 1965: 880 Implematic
A higher speed range than the 950 Implematic made the C and D series 880 an ideal tractor for the
1965 — 1970: 770 Selectamatic
Powered by a 3-cylinder 33hp (24-6kW) diesel engine, the 770 was the first tractor to have the outstanding simple Selectamatic hydraulic system, which proved so successful that it was introduced on all tractors in the David Brown range in October 1965. The 770 also had a 2-lever 12 forward 4 reverse speed gearbox. Early versions of the 770 were finished in hunting pink. In October 1965 the 770 was upgraded to 36hp (26:9kW) and at the same time was completely restyled and painted ina distinctive new colour combination of orchid white and chocolate brown. Number manufactured: 12,206.
Right: DB 885 Bottom left: DB 995 High Clearance model
Bottom right: DB 1212 Hydra-Shift
1971: 885 Synchromesh
This model superseded both the 780 and 880 Selectamatic tractors. It has a 3-cylinder direct engine cross-flow diesel engine of 48 DIN hp (35-8kW) and 12-speed gearbox with synchromesh. Standard specification for most markets includes live Selectamatic hydraulics, multi-speed PTO, full road and field lighting, alternator, trailer socket, hydraulic take-off valve and coupling. An 885 Narrow version is available for specialist work in orchards, vineyards, market gardens and similar confined spaces.
Also available in selected markets as 885 Highway model.
1971: 990 Synchromesh
This third version of the best-selling 990 series has a 4-cylinder engine of 58 DIN hp (43-2kW). In other respects the standard specification is generally similar to that of the 885 model. Available in some markets with factory- fitted high clearance conversion unit and as DB 990 Highway model.
1971: 995 and 996 Synchromesh
Both are powered by a 4-cylinder engine of 64 DIN hp (47-7kW), otherwise the standard specification of both machines is generally similar to that of the 885 model. The 996 model is additionally equipped with fully independent hand-operated PTO clutch.
Both the 995 and 996 models are available in some markets with high clearance conversion unit. The 995 is additionally available as a Highway model. In certain countries the 996 is marketed as a special version of the 995 model.
1971: 1210 Synchromesh
Powered by a 72 DIN hp (53-7kW) 4-cylinder engine the 1210 incorporates the extensive basic specification common throughout the David Brown range. Additionally it has independent PTO and live engine-driven hydraulic pump. A 4-wheel drive version is
available. This model has on-the-move engagement of front wheel drive and hydrostatic power steering as standard equipment. A high clearance conversion unit is available in some markets.
1971: 1212 Hydra-Shift
Fitted with the same 72hp (53-7kW) 4-cylinder engine as the 1210, the 1212 tractor was the first model to be equipped with the patented Hydra-Shift semi-automatic transmission. This
unique David Brown development
provides on-the-move clutchless changes to any of 4 ratios in each pre- I selected working range — Creep, Field, Road or Reverse. These changes (up or down) are effected through a simple hand lever mounted on the fascia. The changes are effected smoothly without loss of power and without loss of engine braking. The Hydra-Shift transmission earned the Company a
completely new internal layout; rubber- covered spacious floor area; main manual controls grouped at right hand; instruments and steering column enclosed in single soundproof housing; armchair seat; easy access to rear-mounted implements.
The basic specification of all tractors fitted with ‘Q’ Cabs was extended to include: hydrostatic power steering; hydraulically operated balanced braking.
The DB Quiet Cab went into production in January 1976 and soon afterwards was a Standard fitment on all tractor models marketed in the UK.
Supplied to the UK market only, DB Highway tractors, painted a distinctive yellow, are based on three of the Company’s range of highly successful farm tractors — the lightweight manoeuvrable 3-cylinder DB 885 of 48hp
Meltham Silica Firebrick Company
Associated with the small coal seam on Royd Edge is a band of fireclay which occurs beneath the seam of coal. It was this band of fireclay and the local Ganister Stone,which led
In 1922 the Local Council at one of their Council Meetings decided to form a Local Fire Brigade.On Sat.Aug.9th 1922 six Council Employees volunteered to form a Fire Brigade,to be stationed at Town Bottom,Near Lane,in an old house and mistal converted into an office and garages. The station continued until 1953 when the W.R.C.C. decided that a new station should be built,after a lot of discussions at the Council Meetings,in spending such a lot of money it was finally opened by Clr. E.V.Quarmby on land formerly used as allotments on Holmfirth Road,on Dec.11th 1954, It had a compliment of 15 men and 6 A.F.S. girls on its books,12 men were needed for full cover. When the new Fire Station opened it became the first new fire station to be built and put into operation by the West Riding Fire Service since 1948,when they took over many of the local brigades. It had been erected at a cost of £10,500 and for its size was regarded as the cheapest,yet the best retained fire station in the country.There was accommodation for two appliances and a van which was permanently housed there, while adjoining, is a control room,equipped with the latest type of control board. The drill tower was the only one of its kind in the country and inside the tower is apparatus for drying hoses in a heated chamber. The drillground which is by the side of the tower,is provided with flood- lights,so that part-time members and A.F.S.personal can carry out drills and practice at night. There is also a spacious recreation room,with kitchen adjoining,offering facilities for preparing drinks and light warm snacks after fires,besides ample toilet and washing facilities with showers. Station Officer F.Ellis a fireman since 1940 who was in charge at the old continued at the new,till he retired in later years. In 1974 all Fire Stations in West Yorkshire were put under one control, with
A pump drill competition for firemen,the first of its kind locally,was held at Meltham on Sunday 14th Sept.1941.The following teams took part;Three teams from Colne Valley,two teams from Holm- firth,two from Messrs David Brown Tractors Works,Meltham,and three from Meltham Fire Station.After a very keen brought out the splendid efficiency of all the teams,Meltham
Meltham Railway Bill
On Monday afternoon 18th March 186l,about three o'clock,a spec- jal messenger arrived at the Rose and Crown Inn,bearing a tele- graphic message from London,announcing that the bill before parl- iament for the proposed branch railway from Lockwood to Meltham had been passed by the Committe of the House of Commons,not with- standing the efforts made by Mr.Bentley Shaw in opposing it. The welcome news spread with incredible rapidity from house to house, and every countenance bespoke one common sentment of gratitude for the boon thus far obtained,The bells of Old St.Bartholomews Churchnow caught the strain,and began to peal forth merrily,as if determined not to be outdone.In the evening,the Meltham Mills Brass Band paraded the streets,playing their favourite musical airs,and the band-bell ringers also contributed their quota in the general rejoicing.
Meeting on the Railway Bill
At a public meeting held in the Oddfellows Hall on Tuesday evening 19th March 1861,the following resolutions were unani- mously adopted by a crowded assembly:-"We,the inhabitants of Netherton and South Crosland,feeling ourselves aggrieved at the conduct of Mr.Bentley Shaw,in his determined and persevering opposition to a bill now pending in parliament to enable the Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway Company to make a branch line of railway from Lockwood via Netherton to Meltham,resolve there- fore that we will refrain from drinking any ale,beer or porter brewed by the firm of Bentley and Shaw,till the train shall run on the said line through our village."Resolved also "That the thanks of this meeting be given to Messrs C.Brook,jun.,J.Wrigley, J.Ibbetson,James Kilburn,Edwin Eastwood and J.Ramsden for their indefatigable and praiseworth exertions in defending the bill for the aforesaid line of railway."
Public Meeting of the Railway Question March 19th 1861
On Tuesday evening a public meeting was held in the National School-rooms,for the purpose of taking into consideration what steps ought to be taken,in consequence of the opposition offered to the contemplated branch of railway between Meltham and Hudders- field.Mr.Jas.Battye presided.The room was crowded,and the meeting one of the most enthusiastic which has been held in this town for some time. The chairman said he joined heartily with them,and wished them every success.He had done his utmost to further this branch line,in the shape of fixing the price of his land at as low a rate as possible,and then threw no obstacles in its way. He then gave the meeting a short outline of the proceedings of the committee in London,as given to him by one of the gentlemen who had been present Mr.John Beaumont moved the first resolution,and entered at length into the benefits which the branch line would confer both on the manufacturer,the farmer,and the inhabitants generally.Coal was a commodity which was of the utmost value,and now they had to pay dearly for the carriage of it,but this would be remedied by this line,and they would be able to have coals as cheap as other people.Seeing then that all these benefits would arise what object could Mr.Bentley Shaw have in view in opposing it! Certainly the inhabitants of this town could not class him as their friend,and if not why support him! The resolution was as follows:-"That it is unnatural and unreasonable to support an enemy".This was seconded by Mr.Abraham Woodhead,and was carried, amidst loud applause.Mr Benjamin Armitage said "He quite agreed with what Mr.Beaumont had said.Whilst Slaithwaite,Marsden and all other small towns arund them had their railways,was Meltham to be left out and left behind?.Surely not;who would dare to prevent it and yet there was opposition,and from a quarter in which above all others it ought not to be looked for,Mr.Bentley Shaw was rea- lising large profits from inhabitants of Meltham;and yet when the town was about to receive a boon,he stepped forward to hinder it. Instead of doing Mr.Shaw any harm they had supported him well.Was a whole town to suffer merely for the sake of this one man.His opinion was that had Mr.Bentley Shaw spoken candidly his mind before the select committee,that the objection he had to urge was not the annoyance to his house,but that if this branch line was proceeded with,six public houses on the road from Huddersfield to Meltham would be dried up.He concluded by moving"That it would be madness on the part of the inhabitants of Meltham to continue to support Mr.Bentley Shaw,in consequence of his determined oppostion to the intended line of railway,and that we pledge our selves not to drink any of his ale or spirits"This was seconded by Mr.Beaumont and carried amidst cheers Mr.Edward Garside spoke a few words urging them to keep their pledge-Mr.Lewis Creaser proposed "That the thanks of this meeting be given to C.Brook jun.,Messrs F. Eastwood,James Kilburn,James Wrigley andIbberson,for theirhelp in promoting the interesrs of this township.This was seconded and carried.A vote of thanks was unanimously voted to the chairman, and responded to,after which the large assembly dispersed.
Taken from the Huddersfield Examiner 10th March 1877
The wail of an old public servant
My only claim to your notice is that I,like yourself,have been for many long years a servant of the public,humble,it is true,but useful,I hope.My residence is Spring Vale,about two miles from Huddersfield,on the Meltham Turnpike Road,and my occupation is (or perhaps more correctly was) that of water bearer for the animals,biped and quadruped,that were in the habit of travelling of in this direction.However,since the horse of iron began to run in this locality,I am supposed to be in the position of another well-known character,"Othello's occupation's ago it was my pride and pleasure to minister to the wants and desires of the animals of all degrees that travelled this way,from the animals of various ages,colours,and conditions of Old Harrop.the stone waggoner,to the handsome thoroughbred coachhorses of Messrs Hodgson and Haley,from the youngster of Six romping along to school to the old familiar form of Charley, best known for his ability and skill in making a D in a teacake. But,alas! my powers for usefulness are gone.Some time ago the limped stream with which I used to quench their throats was turned in another direction,and as I hear its rippling stream going past my home,and running waste and useless away I mourn my sad and helpless condition,and as the form of friend after friend passes by without a single look at me,my lot is hard in- deed to bear.Occasionally some old friend who has not been this way for years will come towards me,but alas,there is no water, and away he goes,muttering vengeance on me,for faults that are not mine,and now I feel forlorn and sad.
Yours truly Drinking Trough.
Cutting The First Sod of the Railway April 4th 1864
The long expected ceremony of cutting the first sod of the Hudd- ersfield and Meltham Railway took place on Monday afternoon,April 4th,amid a continual downpouring of rain.The large assembly pres- ent,however,appeared to care little for the weather,their interest in the undertaking being sufficiently great to withstand personal inconvenience,and they were probably further buoyed up by the ad- age,that what is commenced in a storm frequently ends in sunshine Afew minutes before three o'clock, Charles Brook,junior,arrived on the ground,there being then assembled more than a thousand persons.Amongst those present were Messrs J.W.Carlile,Thickhollins Edward Brook,Benthouse;James Wrigley,Netherton;Alfred Beaumont, Greave;Rev.Thomas Thomas (baptist)Meltham;Edwin Eastwood,Melthan; T.A.Haigh,surgeon,Netherton;W.Kilburn,Netherton;Joseph Taylor,of Golcar and Meltham;Ramsden W.Wrigley,Huddersfield;T.Dunderdale, steward to H.F.Beaumont;Henry Tinker(Geo.Tinker and Son),agents to Messrs Brooks;Varley,manager for the late Mr.Ibbotson,Nether- ton;G.Dyson,solicitor,of the firm of Laycock and Dyson,Hudders- field;Mr.Watts,the resident engineer to the Lancashire and York- Shire Railway Company,Manchester;Mr.Perring,surveyor to the
Cutting the First Sod cont.
He concluded by thanking the promoters sincerely,from the bottom of his heart,for the honour they had done him by selecting him to perform the ceremony of the day.Three cheers were then given to celebrate the laying of the first sod,three for the first workman (Mr Brook),three for the directors of the Lancashire and York- shire Railway Company,three for the contractors,and three for the Queen.On the call of the Rev.Mr.Thomas,three hearty cheers and on more were given for Mr.Wrigley,who briefly returned thanks,and the asswmbly broke up,-The contemplated line will be,as above st- ated.about 34 miles long,and will be a single line,the total cost being estimated at £70,000,or 20,000 per mile.It will commence at the Huddersfield end of the Lockwood viaducts,passing behind Wood- field House,the residence of Bentley Shaw,by a deep cutting about half a mile in length,the average depth of which is 40 feet,and the proceeding by a tunnel 200 yards long.through rock inder"Butt- ernab"This tunnel will be followed by an embankment 200 yards long and 80 feet deep,passing by a culvert over the stream that runs to Armitage-fold,then passing through a small cutting and approa- ching Netherton through a small tunnel,from which it will emerge on to another embankment 60 feet high;then through a tunnel of rock and shale 335 yards long,ending in a cutting a quarter of a mile in length.It then passes along an embankment the whole length of the "big valley"behind Healey House.The average height of the embankment will be 20 feet,and it will be fully half a mile in length.It next traverses a small tunnel about 30 yards in length, under the grounds of Healey House,then through a shale cutting a third of a mile long,averaging 25 feet in depth,and then proceeds forward by an embankment half a mile long,averaging 20 feet high, crossing the Lockwood and Meltham turnpike road by a skew bridge 36 feet span and 16 feet high on to"Gill-up rudes",the place where the sod was lifted,passing on to the terminus at Meltham proper just below the church,where will be the station.A short branch will diverge at "Gill up rudes"passing under the grounds of Meltham Hall by a open cutting,which will afterwards be arched over,then filled up level,then by small cuttings and embankments on to Meltham Mills,the whole length of the branch being 700 yds. The Railway Company will construct the first 300 yds of this line to the end of their boundary lines of deviation,and Messrs Brook the remainder.Another short branch will join the main line near where the sod was taken up,and run to the silk mills at present occupied by Messrs Ainley and Taylor.The gradients will be 1 in 60 at one part, 1 in 120 at another,the remaining small portion being level.It is expected that the line will be completed in less than two years,the company being compelled to have it work- ing before the expiration of five years from obtaining the act. which received the royal assent in June 1861.The proceedings on the ground being over,between 20 and 30 gentlemen proceeded to the house of Mr.John Bray,the Rose and Crown Inn,where they sat down to a first class dinner.Charles Brook,jun.,occupied the chair. The usual loyal,patriotic and complimentary toasts having been given and responded to by the various gentlemen present,the com- pany seperated shortly after eight o'clock.The church bells rang merry peals,with firing at intervals,during the afternoon and evening. Commencement of the work.The works on this undertaking commen- ced on Wednesday 6th April 1864,when a number of navvies were em- ployed removing the soil,at the place where the first sod was tak- en up.On Thursday morning a number more men were set to work at the end of the intended embankment leading to the Netherton tunnel
and in a short time the work promises to be pushed vigourously forward.
Opening of the Railway August 10th 1868
The opening of the branch line to Meltham,from the Lancashire and Yorkshire Company's line,took place on Monday 10th Aug.The although only a short single one,has been a long time in con- Struction.The first sod was cut early in April,1864,and accord- ing to the contractors specifications,it was to have been opened in March,1866.The numerous unforeseen difficulties which beset the undertaking frustrated the contractors in their operations,and not until Monday was the line opened to the public.The first train consisting of two engines,tenders and 17 wagons,heavily laden with coal and lime,left the Huddersfield Station at half-past nine o'clock,the train being in charge of Mr John Collins,super- intending inspector,Wakefield.The engines were decorated with two flags,and cheers were raised at various points.At an early hour of the morning large numbers of persons of all ages began to
The New Railway August 12th 1865
The works on this undertaking are progressing satisfactorily at the Meltham end of the line.The huge bridge crossing the turn- pike road above the silk mills connecting the Meltham with the Healey House portion of the line is in course of completion.On Thursday morning
Opening of the Branch Line of Railway to Meltham 1869
After innumerable predictions,the opening of the Meltham Branch Railway is an accomplished fact.On Monday morning the 5th of July the line was opened for passenger traffic,and although no public demonstration took place the inhabitants of the valley were highly delighted with the event,The first train consisting of en- gine,tender, and eleven carriages-with a large number of passeng- ers left Huddersfield station for Meltham.The engine was under the care of Mr.McConkey,who was accompanied on the engine by Mr. Normanton,the assistant superintendant of the Lancashire and York shire Railway Company;Mr.Thornton,superintendent of the locomotive department;Mr.Goldstraw,the contractors engineer;Mr.Thompson,the Huddersfield station master;and other officials.As the train moved from the platform fog signals were fired.At Lockwood about a score of passengers were taken up,and fog signals were fired as the train left the station.At Netherton a large number of persons congregated and welcomed the arrival of the train with hearty cheers.Flags were flying at the station and across the line,and a large number of fog signals were discharged.Hundreds of the
Opening of the Meltham Railway
On Wednesday 30th June 1869,Colonel Yolland,the inspector of the Board of Trade made an examination of the Meltham Branch line to ascertain if the suggestions and improvements pointed out by him on his previous inspection had been properly carried out.The following gentlemen accompanied the colonel in his tour of inspec-— tion:-Mr.C.S.Meek,chief engineer of the Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway Company;Mr.J.W.H.Brown,C.E.;Mr.P.Goldstraw,engineer for the contractors;Captain Binsted,Mr.J.Fielding,the company's in- spector;Mr.Normanton traffic superintendent;Mr.W.Brown,inspector of permanent ways;G.Armitage,J.P.;Messrs E.R.Jones,sen.Josh Wrig- ley,netherton;E.Fenton and J.H.Abbey,the latter gentlemen being trustees of the Huddersfield and Meltham turnpike trusts.The party ptoceeded in a saloon carriage to the Lockwood Junction, where they alighted,and the colonel minutely inspected the bridge at Dungeon,and also the turnpike road by the old toll bar house, and other portions of the line.A suggestion was made that a fence Should be erected,similar to the one near Berry Brow Station,as a protection to horses travelling on the road to prevent their being frightened by the approach of the engines passing up and down the line.The inspector did not see the necessity for the fence in as much as the level of the line at this place was 53 ft above the level of the road.Near Woodfield House the inspector was met by Mr.S.Learoyd on behalf of Bentley Shaw,who suggested that the inspector should withhold his certificate intil the claims of Mr.Shaw against the company should be satisfied.To the suggestion however no reply was given.The party then proceeded on foot along the line to Meltham,the works signals,&c., being very carefully inspected by Colonel Yolland.On arriving at the Meltham station a first-class luncheon,provided by Mr.G.H.Bray,of the Rose and Crown Hotel,awaited them in the ladies waiting-room,Mr Meek presided,and the vice-chair was occupied by Mr.J.W.H.Brown. In the afternoon the party returned to Huddersfield by train.The inspector having certfied that the line is in perfect condition, the opening for passenger traffic was fixed for Monday next.On Wednesday afternoon a large number of tickets for various station on the Lancashire and Yorkshire Company's lines arrived at Healey House and Netherton stations,so that,it would appear,after many disappointments,there is now some probability of the line being opened on the day in question.
The Opening of the Meltham Railway July 17th 1869
The people of Meltham appear to appreciate the opening of the new railway,and have not been slow to avail themselves of the new mode of travelling to and from Meltham.During last week nearly two thousand tickets were issued from the Meltham Station.Several parties in Meltham have had it in contemplation to arrange a cheap trip by railway, but nothing has been decided upon.While these parties have been debating the probabilities of success,the Lanca- shire and Yorkshire Railway Company have stepped in and arranged the first special trip from this place.The company having
Chapter Five - MELTHAM BRANCH Acts of Parliament 7.6.1861
Dungeon Wood/ Woodfield Station Netherton Station
Healey House Station Meltham Mills Halt
passengers opened 1. 7. 1884 closed 30. 7. 1884 opened 5. 7. 1869 temp-closed WN/A re-opened
Lockwood to Meltham
Last Train To Meltham May 21st 1949
Passenger trains to and from Meltham ceased to run after Sat. evening May 21st 1949-because of lack of public support.In recent years a mere handful of regular passengers had travelled on the trains,everyone else went by bus,which was cheaper and provided a more frequent service. Small wounder,then,that the station staffs at Huddersfield and Meltham and the intermediate stations opened wide their eyes when they saw the crowds of men,women and children-many with cameras over their shoulders who travelled over the route for the last time on Saturday. The Huddersfield inspectors and porters thought it was remark-— able when,as many as fifty-six set off from Huddersfield at 6.29 p.m. for the last trip up to Meltham.Amazement was written on their faces when they watched over 150 alight at the end of the return trip. It was indeed more like a day excursion to the seaside than a journey of a humble branch line.In this spirit they came to take part in the last rites,and at the same time to celebrate and commemorate. Last train to Meltham,shouted the inspector as the engine drew its customary three carriages into Huddersfield station at the Start of the outward run. Guaerd Laurie Simpson of Low Moor,waved his green flag and the train chugged out bang on time. After a forty-minute wait at Meltham,the terminus,the return trip began punctually at 7.25 p.m.with a toot on the whistle,and as the train neared Healey House signal detonators went of.At Netherton another batch of passengers,and a flurry of waving handkerchiefs from the little crowd left behind and on to Hudders- field.
And so ended the Meltham Railway line started in July 1869.
Dismantling of the Meltham Branch Line September 1966
By any historical rating,the story of the Meltham branch rail- way,currently being dismantled,is worthy of commemoration,for rarely has any line of less than four miles length boasted the shortest tunnel,the deepest cutting,a private halt,a very short lived station in addition to having been twice opened and twice closed. The construction of this railway,which diverges from the Penis- tone line near Lockwood Viaduct,was marred by innumerable mishaps to its earhworks,in particular by a heavy fall of rock in Nether- ton tunnel on August 19th,1865,and whose contour changes shape three times within a length of 333yds remains as visable evidence to this day.While the first train reached Meltham on May
Iron Railway Bridge,Meltham Mills
On Saturday night,November 19th 1966,the railway bridge which spanned the Lockwood to Meltham Mills Road,and was fitted on September 2nd 1865,was pulled down.The overnight disappearing act was the way demolition experts brought to an end the familiar landmark of the railway bridge.Traffic was diverted via Netherton while the bridge was pulled down.Sunday afternoon it was the usua Sunday scene on the road-minus the bridge of course.
Melthams Historic Bridge
The Historic Bridge spanning the valley from Near Lane to the Mills and then to Mean Lane is on the move to a new home. Workmen with cranes moved in on Thursday March 11th 1999 to take it to Wortley Forge Museum in Thurgoland,where it will span the river Don.The Bridge was there in 1893,but when it was fitted we dont know. The 63ft long wrought iton structure had to come down to make way for a Safeway supermarket and housing development in Station Street
Before the railway came to Meltham,people wanting to go to Huddersfield or beyond had either to walk to Slaithwaite for a train or go by Omnibus(Horse Drawn) which ran twice caily.
Railways -Meltham Line (cont)
The new station at Woodfield was opened on June 1st 1874,and was provided with gas lighting one of the first in the district to be so furnished.Unfortunately despite the good passenger facilities,receipts rarely averaged more than a shilling per day,and the station was closed for good just 30 days later.This was a pity as a few years later Beaumont Park was opened.During its history the line won many awards for well-kept station gardens and these enhanced the scenic beauty of the line.After leaving the main Penistone line at Lockwood,the
In 1850 the only way to get to Huddersfield by Omnibus was to take the Horse- Drawn Omnibus which ploughed twice daily,between Meltham and Huddersfield. Then on 11th December 1920 the Olympia Engineering Company asked for permission to run Motor Buses between Meltham and Huddersfield,this was granted and in April 1923 an hourly service was running. On Jan 26th 1924 Baddeley's buses announced that they were going to:.run a service leaving Meltham and Lockwood on the hour and half-hour,in conjunction with Huddersfield field Corporation who would at ten minutes past the hour at Lockwood,and forty
Meltham's First Paid Police Constable
On Sunday February 19 1856,Mr.Sedgwick our new paid cons- table commenced his duties amongst the people of Meltham.He was introduced by Supt.Heaton, both of whome attended the church,and along with some of our parochial constables visited many of the public houses,where they found good order.
Meltham Community Policeman 14thJuly 1989 Meltham Parish Council chairman,Clr.Bob Ashton,left gives the keys of the new police contact point at Church House,Greens End Road,Meltham to Pc Bret Mellor,Meltham community policeman. Chief-Insp.Charles Walker looks on.In December when initial plans for the base were revealed,Clr.Shirley Watson said;We have tried for a couple of years now to get an office or a box in the centre of the town.I think it is a very good idea and will be very useful."Supt Allan Dobson,of Holmfirth Police Sub-division, said the office "will provide a regular and local point of con- tact and can only enhance the service for the people of Meltham
Meltham's Community Police
Meltham's Community Constables had loaned to them a four-wheel drive 1700c Hussar,after hearing the village had no patrol car of its own. The Meltham Action Team community organisation masterminded an 18 month fund raising drive to raise the money to buy the Lada. Cash to buy it came from Green End Road charity shop Crossroads, a donation from West Yorkshire
Laying of the Foundation Stone Deerhill Reservoir
The Blackmoor Foot Waterworks Laying of the Foundation Stone,October 5th 1872
The works at Blackmoor Foot reservoir having now become ready for the laying of the foundationstone of the shafts and culvert, the Waterworks Committee arranged for Mr.Hawksley,the engineer to visit the works on Saturday,for the purpose of inspecting the work,and the Mayor laying the foundation stone. In accordance with the arrangements,a large number of members of the Town Council met at the time and place specified.Starting punctually,they were conveyed to the waterworks at Blackmoor Foot in a waggnette and two omnibuses,each drawn by four horses.The morning was fine but an October chillness predominated over an autumn sun.Nothing of any moment occurred on the road,the chief subject being the near progress of getting for Huddersfielf a plentiful supply of,good pure water.The splendid views however of the great Colne Valley,excited involuntary words of admiration as now assending,now descending,they rattled along the cloud-cap- ped heights around,the far stretching valley,and the silvery Coln below,until at length the last hill was scaled and the vehicles drew up at the boundaries of the works.This was about one o'clock The party proceeded to inspect the works,directing their chief attention to the locomotive steam engine "Huddersfield"the power- ful stone-crushing machine,the great trench on which the embank- ment is to be raised,and the general situation of the site chosen for the reservoir.This it appears,will be of sufficient dimension to hold 600,000,000 gallons of water when the reservoir is com- pleted.Assembling once more at the offices,near the entrance gate the members of the Council formed in procession and walked two abreast with the Mayor and Mr.Hawksley,along a newly cindered pathway to the main shaft and culvert. It should be sated that the foundation stone of the shaft and culvert was laid in the centre of the valve shaft,in the great embankment.It measured 6ft diameter,by 3ft in thickness,and was five and a half tons in weight,and was placed on a brick found- ation,25ft in diameter.The top of the shaft will be 60ft above that stone at high water mark,and will be 12ft diameter by the inside measurement.The tunnel through which the water is to run will be 400ft in length,and the quantity of water which the entire reservoir will be capable of holding is 600,000,000 gallons. Laying the stone. Mr.Hawsley said Mr.Mayor,on behalf of the aldermen and burgesse of the borough of Huddersfield,on behalf of my esteemed Mr.Crow- ther,who I am sorry to say,is not able to be present here to-day and on my own behalf,I beg leave to present you with this trowel The Mayor replied I have very great pleasure in receiving at your hands this beautiful trowel.I must confess that at one time I did not expect to be so greatly honoured on this thank the Corporation for their findness,and can only say if everyone does his duty in connection with this work as you have done yours,we shall never have any reason to regret having under- taken this work,but it will be an honour to all parties concern- ed. Mr,Alderman Crawshaw the presented the Mayor with the mallet. The Mayor said Ihave much pleasure in accepting this handsome mallet,and hope that it may be able to lay the stone firmly and well. The trowel was a beautiful silver one,with a spendid ivory handle,and on the upper side of the blade bore the following inscription Presented to Wright Mellor.J.P.,D.L.Mayor of the boro ugh of Huddersfield on the occasion of his laying the foundation stone of the Blackmoorfoot Reservoir on the under side of the blade of the blade the followingnames were engrossed Alderman Charles Henry Jones,Chairman of the Waterworks Committee.Messrs
T.and C.Hawksley George Crowther and Son,engineers;Joseph Batley town clerk,and John Stanway manager of works.
Blackmoorfoot Reservoir (cont)
The mallet was made of polished mahogany,and bore the follow ing inscription,engraved on a circular siver plate:- Presented by the Executive Committee of the New Waterworks to Wright Mellor,J.P.,D.L.Mayor of the Borough of Huddersfield on the occasion of his laying the foudation stone of the Black moor foot reservoir Oct.5th 1872. The Mayor,having laid the mortar,and the huge mass of stone having been laid inits right place and adjusted said I have great pleasure in declaring this foundation stone well and truly laid. After the ceremony had finished they returned to the Queen Hotel,Huddersfield,where a luncheon had been provided.
Cutting of the First Sod,High Moor Reservoir Monday 12th June 1882
On Monday afternoon,the members of the Local Board,and other gentlemen of the district interested in its welfare,met at High Moor,where a large number of people had already assembled to witness the cutting of the first sod of a new
Meltham Water Supply,New Filtration Plant Opened June 14th 1941
Saturday 14th June was a red-letter day in the annals of the Meltham Urban District Council for on that day a new filtration chlorination and hardening plant of the water supply at Colders Tank,Meltham,was officially opened.Many representatives of neigh- bouring authorities were present. Councillor Greenwood who presided said that some two years ago, consequent on the sad happenings at Croydon as the result of pol- luted water,the County Council held a survey of water supplies. On test the Meltham water was found to be reasonably there were some defects,and they,as a Council,decided that only the best was good enough for Meltham.In return for an expenditure of about £1,530 they had a plant that was second to none. The filtration removed all dirt and colour from the water,chlor- ination removed bacteria,etc and ensured a pure and wholesome supply and hardening had the effect of counter-setting any effect the previous treatment might have on the service pipes. Meltham,he mentioned,had the lowest water rate in the whole country;it worked out at less than ld per week per head of the population,Yorkshire people liked "summat for nowt" and in the case of the water supply they were getting
Digley Reservoir was opened by the Earl of Scarbrough on Oct. Oth 1953 when a large crowd turned out to witness the Earl of Scarbrough turning the wheel of an outlet valve on the embankment and water gushed from it.
In the early 19th Century,26 watering places made up of wells,pumps and troughs were listed.One of these troughs can still be seen on the lowside of Meltham Church at the bottom of Westgate. There was no reservoir and the inhabitants were entirely dependent on the springs and wells for their supply,and many had to carry it great distances. It is said that,during a drought,people stayed up all night to secure water for the following day's wash. In1861 the Water Works Committe of Meltham got permission to sink a tank in the Vicarage Grounds to take water from Fearn Nook Springs on High Moor,(The dip in the ground can still be seen)on May 5th 1862 this water was connected to the mains In 1869 new supplies were sought,because the supply from Fearn Nook was proving inadequate,so in 1881 land was bought for a new reservoir on High Moor, which allowed the board to divert Fearn Nook springs into the new reservoir in 1884,and in 1889 Clark Spring was also diverted,mains water was now extended, because in 1889 Public Water troughs were condemned as unfit for public use. Before this in 1853 Mr.George Crowther first suggested that Huddersfield should take formal possession of Meltham Water,to meet growing demand for water in Huddersfield by fixing a rain qauge on the hills West and South West of Meltham In 1861 a deputation came to Meltham to look for suitable sites,and in 1865 an application was made to parliament to get an increased supply for Huddersfield from Meltham. In 1866 this bill was considered by the House of Lords,but was rejected but in 1869 when Huddersfield got its charter,permission was therfore granted. Deer Hill Reservoir was begun in 1870 to catch water by means of a conduit from streams which flow down the Western Slopes of West Nab and Shooters Nab,this was filled in 1875. Blackmoorfoot Reservoir was begun in 1871 to catch water from the North Side of Shooters Nab and the Eastern Slopes of West Nab then by mains drain from Royd Edge over Brow Graines,Lawnd below Meltham Cop to the Reservoir this was full in 1876. Black moorfoot Reservoir holds 700 million gallens, and covers 102 acres when full, cost £260,000 to build.The village of Black Moor is a small village on the old Turnpike Road from Huddersfield to Manchester. In June 1941,Saturday the 14th was a red letter day in the annalg of the Meltham Urban District Council for on that day a new filtration,chlorination and hardening designed to overcome the slight defects in the water supply at Colders Tank was officially opened by Clr.Butterworth.
Other dates of interest
In 1961 the U.D.C. water undertaking was transfered to Huddersfield Council on the 1st April. Digley Reservoir was opened by the Earl of Scarbrough on Oct 9th 1952. Wilshaw area was connected by water main,installed by Huddersfield Council and completed in May 1957.
Gas was first introduced into Meltham in November 1855 when the Gas Works near Mean Bridge(bottom of Station St.)were completed at a cost of £2,250. The Gas Works were purchased by the Council in 1886. feltham Church had gas installed on 24th December 1865 at a cost of £50. and the four faces of the church clock were lit in 1878. The Local Board in 1875 agreed to start installing street lamps and in 1878 they kept the Town Lamps burning all night. Gradually further lamps were installed in 1337 the board agreed to instal lights from the old Toll Bar to Town Bottom,then on November 19th 1896 the Market Place Centre Lamp was lit for the first time. During the time gas
Local Goverment Enquiry at Meltham Thursday February 24,1887
On Thursday morning Major Constantine Phipps Carey held an
Local Goverment cont
There had been no test of the illuminating power of the gas,and there wre no appliances for testing.There was no station meter to test the quanity of gas made.The Local Board are the water autho- rity for the district,having their own water works,and they were not aware of any other works for which they would have to ask for powers,believing that if they obtained this order they would be pretty complete as a local authority.With reference to the price to be paid,he believed he could satisfy the inspector that it was a reasonable and proper price,and that the Board had made the best bargain practicable.They had given no more than they could help, and aS a commmercial undertaking,tested by its actual income for several years,the price was not excessive.The only difficulty,so far as opposition was concerned,was from Messrs Jonas Brook
Meltham Gas Works November
Football Match at Meltham Was this the first use of Electric Power in Meltham?
On Saturdayevening March 8th,1879 as reported in the Hudders- field Examiner of that date,a large number of people assembled in a field at Meltham to witness,by the aid of the electric light,and the moon-but more particularly by the former, a foot- ball match under association rules,played by Meltham Mills and the Armitage Bridge Clubs. There were two lights used-looking diagonally across the field so that nearly all the light was conveyed to the centre,and at the corners of the field the light was somwhat faint.
The lights were managed by Messrs Walsh and Scott,Manchester engineers
The first application to supply electricity to Meltham was made on August 21st 1920 vy Huddersfield Electricity Company and Yorkshire Electricity
Sewage Works Bentley
In 1892 the matter of Sewage Disposal was discussed by the Local Board, due to these discussions a site was chosen at Bentley,being outside the centre of the village and near to the Meltham Dyke. Discussions then took place with the agents of the Radcliffe
Meltham's new oil-fired Incinerator lst Sep.1972
Meltham's new oil-fired incinerator,built at a cost of about £40,000,will be ready for receiving refuse in a week to ten days. The plant is capable of burning refuse at the rate of tons an hour,and will comfortably accommodate all the domestic refuse in the area,plus the trade refuse from David Brown Tractors and other large firms. The only catagory of inflammable rubbish the incinerator will not dispose of is garden refuse,which will have to be tipped. With a capacity load the furnace can reach a temperature of 850 deg. Originally Colne Valley and Meltham Councils were to build a joint incinerator on a site in Meltham.Colne Valley dropped out of the scheme and Meltham decided to go ahead on their own. When it was first put forward the Council had difficulty in gaining Ministerial approval.The Ministry felt that an incin- erator to meet Meltham's requirements could not be built for less than £2m. The plant will make little difference to the efficiency of the Council's refuse collection service apart from the fact that the collecting vehicles will not have to travel so far with their loads. What it will do is play a vital part in combating pollution in the area. The Councils Chief Public Health Inspector,Mr.T.J.P.Hendry,said that the Yorkshire River Authority had been pressing for an
Meltham Sewage Works
The opening of the reconstructed sewage works of Meltham Urban District Council took place on Wednesday evening June 29th 1960 before an attendance which included the Mayor of Huddersfield,Ald N.Day,and chairman and representatives of neighbouring authorities Coun.H.Bastow,chairman of the Council presided over the ceremony and the re-opening was performed by Coun.J.W.Hollingworth,chair- man of the Public Health and Plans Committee. The sewage works were constructed in 1906,but owing to the in- crease in the water carriage system during recent years had been inadequate for some time.The improvement and modernisation has been carried out by Messrs J.Wimpenny and Co.Ltd of Linthwaite,as main contractors. Coun.Hollingworth, before setting the mechanical screening plant in motion,commented that the district now possessed a modern works that should be adequate for its needs in the next fifty years.The four year old project had also included a further £18,000 expenditure on the sewering of the hamlets of Wilshaw and Helme. The cost of extension and reconstruction was £70,000. Refreshments were afterwards served at Meltham Hall.
Meltham Sewage Works Extension 17th September 1973
Melthams sewage works extension was officially opened today when Clr.R.C.Ashton,Public Health Committee Chairman,unveiled a plaque,and Clr.Rev.C.Stott,Council Chairman welcome visitors. Mr.H.R.Brooksbank of the consulting engineers,described the scheme,the overall cost of which is about £315,000.The exten- sions are designed to cater for a future population of 7,250.
sewerage Works For Meltham 17th March 1900
A practical step was taken on Saturday for the acquisition by the Urban District of Meltham of sewerage and sewage disposal works The occasion was the cutting of the first sod by the chairman of the Council,Counciler J.Dur rans,and it is expected that the work of making the two intercepting sewers will be commenced as soon as possible by the firm to whom the No 1 contract,which in- cludes only the formation of the sewers,has been
Opening of Meltham's Sewerage Works Friday April 8th 1904
On Friday afternoon April 8th 1904 the sewage outfall works constructed by Meltham Urban District Council at Bent Ley were formally opened by Mr.J.Moorhouse,the chairman,in the presence of several members and officials of the Council.The total estimated cost of the works,including internal sewers and casements,is £14,000.The question of the admission of trade effluents has not yet been decided.If they are admitted the works will require en- larging,but the sewers are of sufficient capacity to take in both domestic sewage and trade effluents. The works are constructed on what is known as the bacterial oxidation system of purification.The sewage flows along the inlet channels into the detritus tanks,of which there are three,and which have a total capacity of 32,550 gallons,or over six hours dry weather flow,calculated at twenty gallons per head for a pop- ulation of 6,000 or 120,000 gallons per day.In these tanks the insoluble matter precipitatea to the bottom,and will be flushed out into sludge bars.The sewage passes from these tanks under a scum board,and over a weir or sill into the chamber which feeds the anarobic bacteria beds.These beds are also three in number, with a working depth of four feet and are formed of broken stone of various sizes.The sewage flows upwards through the material and the effluent is collected in submerged collecting torughs placed beneath the surface of the beds.Each collecting trough delivers into a main trough through a three-inch rising outlet pipe,fitted with a disc adjusting cover,so that the quantity of effluent delivered by each trough is under control,and the uniform working of the whole of the bed can be ensured.In these beds the sewage is subjected to the action of anaerobic bacteria where liqued action is obtained.The efflent,after leaving the main trough,flows along the aerating channels for a distance of 290yds in order to dispose of,by slow oxidation,any adorous gases con- tained therein.From these channels the efflunet passes into the three storage chambers,which have a stoage capacity for two min- utes dry weather flow.EFach chamber is fitted with an automatic intermitter,which,when the effluent reaches the required depth, discharges the contents through a valve which is connected by a supply pipe to one of the three mercury sealed automatic revolv- ing sprinklers,and delivered on to a filter bed composed of clin- ker with a small mixture of polarite.During storm time,when there is a larger volume to deal with the intermitters automatically adjust themselves to the flow.The purified affluent as it leaves the filter beds,is collected by means of pipes into the effluent chamber,and delivered into the stream.All storm water in excess of twice the volume of the dry weather flow will pass over the sill in the screening tank for treatment on a bed which has not yet been prepared.The outfall works have been constucted by Mr. Fred Earnshaw of Meltham,from plans prepared by and under the superintendence of Messrs J.B.Abbey and Son,engineers,Huddersfield Mr.J.B.Abbey,the engineer,after explaing the operation of the works,expressed regret that the ceremony did not lend itself to the presentation of a key to the chairman as a memento of the occ- asion.The contactor would only have been too pleased to provide something of the kind,and he hoped Mr.Moorhouse would take the will for the deed. Mr.Moorhouse,after drawing the sluice and turning on the sewage said he was not at all sorry that there was nothing in the way of a key or anything else to present to him.In the very fullest de- gree he took the will for the deed.Though at first he did not see the wisdom of spending such a large sum of money in order to pur- ify water which did not require much purification,his opinions
had undergone a change since he had visited Leeds and seen the
bad condition of the stream owing to the refuse which other people lower down had sent into it.He was pleased that the works had been
Sewerage Works (cont)
consructed without accident,Mr.Abbey,the engineer,had carried out his duties in an extremly satisfactory manner,and had always been kind and gential.He had not met Mr.J.W.Mallinson,the contractor for the internal sewers,before that day.with regard to Mr.Earnshaw the contractor for those works,he remarked that they could not carry out an undertaking successfully and leave Meltham out,and thaey had only to look round the works in order to ascertain his ability.He hoped the works would prove successful and whilst they had pure air and clean water from the hills,he hoped that as far as possible they would be able to purify the water they had fouled and send it in that condition to the people lower down the stream He proclaimed the works open The formal proceedings when terminated,the company inspected the effluent as it was discharged into the stream,and found it remarkably pure,so much so,in fact,that several gentlemaen ven- tured to consume a small quantity with an admixture of something which is reputed to be stronger than water, Subsequently a well served dinner was pertaken of at the Victoria Hotel.Covers were laid for about thirty persons.Mr.J.B. Abbey,the engineer had kindly provided the meal
the inceming STD code was also changed to one that was proper to Huddersfield’ 0484 then the Meltham number.
Initially the new exchange could cater for 1,000 subscribers but the building was designed for an ultimate capacity of 1,500 and could be extended if growth was needed.
In 1992 on the same site in Near Lane the exchange was again
Proposed Boundary Extension at Meltham.June 1895
On Tuesday morning June llth 1895,an enquiry,promoted by the West Riding County Council,regarding an application by the Meltham Urban District Council for an extension of their boundaries,was opened in the
Boundary Extension cont.
23rd February.1895 drawing attention to the unanimity of the rate payers of Meltham Mills and Shady Row in favour of the proposed transfer,pointing out the advantages that would be gained by the change,and expressing the hope that the subject would be discusse in an amicable and courteous manner.The answer to this letter was a flat refusal to have anything to do with the proposed change. The grounds upon which Mr.Learoyd asked for the order so far as Meltham Mills and Shady Row were concerned seemed to him to be overwhelming.In the first place Honley had done nothing for Mel- tham Mills for many years except to collect rates in Meltham Mills and spend them in Honley.Meltham Mills were 24 miles from Honley, but practically formed part of Meltham.Meltham Mills were in the Same watershed and drainage area as Meltham,and not of Honley.It had never lighted any part of the district,or contributed any thing to obtain gas for it. Meltham had its own gasworks,and had an ample supply.Honley had not supplied any water to the district and it could not do so because of the ridge;unless it was pumped over the hill.There was no community of interest between Honley and Meltham Mills,and they had no trade in common.Honley had give notice of opposition to melthams scheme,and this involved a Local Board enquiry.He could understand that if Honley could do nothing else for Meltham Mills they could oppress them. The Rev.J.S.E.Spencer,vicar of Wilshaw,said he had known that district intimately for 32 years.He had a strong conviction that it would be for the benefit both of Wilshaw and Greave to be ad- dded to the Meltham district.The sewage works carried on in Neth- erthong,the road made from Netherthong Church to Holmfirth,and the waterworks contributed to by the ratepayers of Wilshaw and Greavw,and were of no benefit to them.Henry Arhtur Hirst of Wil- Shaw,called by Mr Learoyd.stated that he was the owner of 100 acres of land and abiut 25 houses,Nearlly all the houses were in the village of Greave,and in his opinion,it was desirable that the part of Netherthong proposed to be added to Meltham should be taken from Netherthong and so added.He thought it would be impracticable for Netherthong to drain the village of Greave on account of the gradient.. As far as water was concerned they had a fairly good supply. The rates of Netherthong were higher than those of Meltham,so that it would be a considerable saving if Wilshaw were transferred Mr Turner,on behalf of Netherthong,emphasised what had been said as to the extreme impropriety of the present application which was really an attempt on the part of Meltham to enlarge its own boundaries,irrespective of the consequences to Netherthong and Honley. It seemed to him that the application was directly in the teeth of the Local Goverment Act,the spirit of which was to foster village life and not stamp it out.Netherthong was the victim of circumstances.In order to take away the glaringness of their application,Meltham appeared to have looked at the map and seen that by taking the ridge as a boundary they could snip off a portion of Netherthong. Mr.Learoyd,in the course of his reply,admitted that the inclu- Sion of Wilshaw and Greave was not the primary object of
The Proposed Extension of Meltham,April 18th 1896
The General Purposes Committee reported that the Question of the proposed extension of the urban district of Meltham which was referred to them at the last meeting of the County Council had received their very careful consideration and they had further had the advantage of having the views of each member of the Comm-— ittee of Enquiry.They concurred in the recommendation submitted to the County Council and recommended:- That the application of the Urban District Council of Meltham for an extension of their district by including therein the portions of the urban districts of Honley and Netherthong indicated in the map now produced be acceded to,and that an order to the effect approved by them.
The Proposed Extension of Meltham Township Honleys appeal against the County Councils Order Thursday September 17th 1896
The Proposed Extension of Meltham Township cont.
with Meltham Mills sewage, but if the Local Government Board were of opinion that that sewage ought to be treated by Honley they would treat it. Their opinion was, however, that Meltham, coming into Honley with their sewage works, ought to take the sewage of Meltham Mills, and if the two Councils were unable to agree as to terms the Local Government Board could agree for them, so that it was not a case of Honley being physically unable to sewer Meltham Mills. As to _Water, Meltham said Honley had done nothing to supply Meltham Mills. That
inquiry that the money had come ont of
I _ Wirnkss said they had maintained muoh more I I of the rondways than Honley, and had supplied I I water to some of the houses. They had also used I I some of the Meltham water for
The Boundaries of Meltham and Honley Wednesday December 23rd
In October 1896 a inquiry was held by the Local Goverment Board to consider an appeal by Honley Council not being satis-— fied with the decision of the West Riding County Council's to add to Meltham district a portion of Meltham Mills,which was in Honley District Council's area. On Wednesday night at the Meltham District Council meeting the Clerk read a communication from the Local Goverment Board con- firming the decision of the West Riding County Council that the Meltham Mills portion of the townships of Honley and Netherthong Shall be annexed to the township of Meltham as from September 29th 1896.Thus Meltham Mills,part of Honley district,and part of Neth- erthong district,will come under the control of the Meltham Urban. District Council,and a serious difference will be made to Honley by the abstraction of Meltham Mills from the Council's area.
Meltham St.Bartholomews Church Proposed Assignment of District Chapelry 1874 Description of Boundaries
The District of St.Bartholomews,Meltham comprises so much of the Township of Meltham as lies within the boundaries and limits hereinafter described ,that is to say, commencing at a point upon the boundary between the Township of Meltham and the Town- Ship of Lingards at the Northern Angle of certain Waste Land called Deer Hill End,and numbered 1631 on the Tithe Commutation Map of the said Township of Meltham and on the Map hereunto annexed,and extending along the Southern boundary of the District of Helme in the said Township first towards the Southeast,along the boundary of the said Waste land which divides the same from the closes numbered respectivly 1646 and 1647 upon the said Maps to the middle of Blackmoor and Deer Hill End Road thence towards the North- east along the middle of the said Road until it is joined by the Road known as Hassocks Road,thence towards the
It is very meet, right, and our bounden duty, that we should at all times and in all places give thanks unto Thee, Holy Lord, Father Almighty, Everlasting God ; through Jesus Christ our Lord, Who is the everlasting Day, the Eternal Glory, Who commanded His follow- ers so to walk that they may escape the darkness of
CHURCHES Meltham Church
From the earliest times Meltham formed part of the Parish of Almondbury, together with the townships of Lingards,Linthwaite,South Crosland,Lockwood, Almondbury,Farnley Tyas,Honley Netherthong,Upperthong,Holme and half of Marsden. was the only church to be able to hold Weddings,Christenings, Funerals and Holy Communion as Meltham is 7 miles from Almondbury,it was a long walk,but there is evidence that people did walk. When Honley got its church in about 1503,this became the nearest churche In 1651 the first chapel of rest was built,with the help of a William Woodhead,who provided the impetus to the building,because he did not like his mother having to walk all the way to Honley,over Harden Clough,where young ruffians used to pelt her with sods. The chapel was consecrated in 1651,by the exiled Bishop of Elphin in Ireland,who was now living in Dewsbury.He had seen his palace in Ireland destroyed by fire by his son,who had joined the Cromwell organisation. As Oliver Cromwell was ruling England at this time,the official religion of the country was Presbyterian,and Bishops were against the law,but out of the way places like Meltham were alaw to themselves. The chapel had a porch at the South West Door,a gable at the West End, with a bell weighing approx.148lbs,four arched windows of three lights each, and one at the East End of four lights.The flopr was of mud,covered annually with fresh rushes,on the feast of St.Bartholomew Augs24th. In the centre of the North Wall,a pulpit was attached,an aisle in the middle,and on the South Side 10 or 12 pews were installed,with simple forms for the poorer people.This chapel stood for 135yrs,with one Cristian Binns(1651- 1669)being the first curate.
A Memorial Window to the late Canon Roberts vicar of Meltham (1940-1952)was dedicated by the Bishop of
Meltham Parish Church Bells February 20th 1886
Fifty years ago the bells in the Meltham Church tower were rung for the first time on the 20th February 1836.It was thought by some of the old stages that it would be fitting opportunity to celebrate this jubilee by having the bells rung once more in the original way,viz,by ropes instead of by machinery,as they are now regularly rung,and have been since the year 1879.Accordingly no sooner was the matter mooted than it was taken up in a spirited manner,and Messrs Abraham Woodhead and R.H.Wood were selected to look after the necessary arrangements.The sanction of the Vicar and church officials was obtained,and subscriptions were obtained for defraying expenses which might be incurred.At three o'clock, therefore,a set of ringers from Almondbury ascended the tower and rang a peal ina very creditable manner.Hundreds of people were assembled in the Market-place and in the vicinity of the church, and no sooner did the bells strike off than the inhabitants of al- most every house threw open their doors and seemed to rejoice in listening to the sweet-toned bells,the sweetest and most harmon- ious peal of bells in Yorkshire.After the Almondbury ringers had finished,the Meltham set entered the tower,and condidering that they were out of practice,they rung well.and it was generally expressed opinion that it was a great pity they were not so rung on Sundays and at other stated times.At the same time they were glad of the present opportunity of hearing them,and whether their wish of having them ring again as of yore,is a matter for the fut- ure A scratch set rung,consisting of many old veterans including Abraham Woodhead,Jonathan Hoyle,Joseph Shaw,Eli Hoyle,James Rat- cliffe and George Brook some of whom rung in the prise ringing in 1836.Some of the ringers and friends were very hospitably enter- tained by Mr.Armitage,the Victoria Hotel,whilst the Meltham ring- ers with the vicar,church wardens and other invited friends dined at the house of Mr.Alfred Bray,the Rose and Crown Inn.The prin- cipal rendesvous,however was at the house of Mr.Henry Hirst,the Waggon and Horses Inn,where nearly 60 sat down to supper,after which the chair was occupied by Mr.Edwin Taylor.The health of the vicar and churchwardens were drunk,and votes of thanks were given to Messrs Abraham Woodhead and Richard H.Wood.Votes of thanks were also accorded to the hosts and hostess,Singing took place at intervals,and the eveningwas very agreeably spent,terminating with the singing of the National Anthem.
Historical Sketch of Meltham Church in the First 200yrs
The present site of the church was consecrated in the year 1651 At that period it was far from being respectable to be a church- man,as that great opponent of all atate religions,Cromwell,was then at the head of affairs.There are no records in existence of any preaching place being in existence in Meltham before that time The district was in the chapelry of Honley,to which place or still further,-even to the parish church of Almondbury,-the piously dis- posed people used to wend their way each Sabbath morning,to listen to the words of truth from the lips of some man of God,who clung to the church through all the trials to which it was subjected during the turbulent period preceding the consecration of their own.We stand on some one of the heights which command a view of the valley towards Honley.It is a Sunday morning about the comm- encement of the seventeenth century.The massive looking farm- houses scattered over the district
Sketch of Meltham Church(cont)
He was succeeded by Timothy Ellison,who exhibited his license in 1774.The next mentioned is theRev,Randoll Brome(or Brook),who exh- ibited his license in the year 1684,and died in 1/705,buried in the churchyard.The Rev.John Kaye exhibited his license in 1716,he was the officiating minister before the above date,then we found that the Rev,John Staunton succeeded into the office but we dont no when.Mr,Staunton was succeededby the Rev.Robert Sager in 1/728 and died in the year 1770,during his ministry he had two curates, Samuel Brom(or Brook).who was appointed in the year 1730;and Jona- than Leatherbarrow,in 1733.The above gentleman was succeeded by theRev.Edward Armistead,who was appointed incumbent in
Re-Opening of Meltham Parish May 3rd 1878
The church built and consecrated in 1789,was inferior in an architectural point of view to the first building,having galleries three parts round and no chancel.The inhabitants feeling that their parish church was not as well adapted for divine service as it ought to be aided by the liberality of Edward Brook Esq. of Meltham Hall,called in the professional assistance of Mr.Edward Burchall of Leeds.and Messrs John Kirk and Sons of Huddersfield to advise them what was best to be done to remedy the original defects in the building.The architects at once saw it was imposs- ible to change the outward form of the church without completely pulling it down,but much might be done with the interior.This entirely re-modelled according to the prsent tastes,and a new chancel added,would materially alter its unsightly appearance.The vicar and churchwardens,acting upon this advice,employed the arch itects jointly to prepare the drawings and carry out the proposed alterations and additions Several alterations took place.A New Stone Chancel was added to the east end of the building,in the Byzantine style,but very lib- erally treated so as not to form too great a contrast to the ex- isting building.The old galleries have been completely removed, and new ones substituted at the west end and north transept,supp- orted with ornamental iron columns.These galleries framed and had moulded panel fronts,the upper portion being formed into small open or pierced panels,with small turned shafts,caps and bases.The upper portion of the north transept has columns,acting as supports,carried up above the gallery with wooden heads,or arches and trusses formed over them into a triplet-arched arcade. This has a very pleasing effect.The whole of the old plaster ceiling was removed.and a new red deal ornamentally panelled one put in its place,The nave and galleries have been entirely reseat- ed with pitch pine benches.The church, which is free,and unappro- priated by faculty bearing date Feb. 8th 1876 now seats over 600 persons.Two handsome scteens enclose the entrance doors,the lower panels being moulded and the upper panels filled in with stained glass.The choir seats and precentor's desk are made out of oak, handsomely carved.All the glass,was removed and replaced with cathedral hand-painted glass,in ornamental lead lights.The organ which was built by Messrs Conacher and €0,of Huddersfield,is placed in the north side of the chancel,and shows two fronts of pipes richly ornamented in gold and colours,and is in harmony with the general woodwork of the church The contractors for the various works,which have been most
Consecration of the New Burial Ground
On Friday 14th November 185l.the good people of Meltham,whose expectations had been raised to a great height by the anticipation of a very impressive ceremony being performrd in their usually quiet village,were honoured with a visit from the Bishop of Ripon who had come among them for the purpose of consecrating the new burial ground,which has been enclosed near Mill Moor.The service was commenced by the usual form of evening prayer being gone through in the church.by the worthy incumbent,the Rev.Joseph Hughes,after which the following ministers,led up by the church- wardens,followed by the bishop,proceeded in procession to the ground-The Bishop of Ripon,the Rev.Josiah Bateman,rural dean;the Rev.L.Jones vicar of Almondbury;the Rev.R.Collins,vicar of Kirk- burton;the Rev.G.Hough,incumbent of South Crosland;the Rev.C.A.- Hulbert,incumbent of Slaithwaite;the Rev.C.Wardroper,incumbent of Farnley Tyas;the Rev.T.G.Fearne,incumbent of Upper Thong;the Rev. J.Fearon,incumbent of Holmbridge;the Rev.A.Frost,incumbent of Meltham Mills;the Rev.J.Jones,incumbent of Milnsbridge;the Rev S. P.Lampen,curate of Slaithwaite;the Rev.T.B.Bensted,incumbent of Lockwood;the Rev.F.Wilson,curate of Lockwood;the Rev.David JAMES, of Liverpool;the Rev T.James,incumbent of Netherthong; and the Rev.William Flower,curate of Upperthong. The bishop and clergy having taken up their places,the regist- rar proceeded to read the deeds of conveyance by which the ground was made over to the church,for the purpose therin set forth,and afterwards a petition to his lordship,graciously requesting him to consecrate the said ground.The Lord Bishop then went through the ceremony of consecration,after which the whole assembly re- peated the Lord's prayer ina kneeling posture,at the conclusion of which the 4th hymn was sung and benediction invoked by the bishop.The company returned to church in the same order in which they had proceeded to the ground,and the ceremony from commence- ment of the service in church to its completion occupied about an hour and a half.There were present on the occasion about four to five hundred people,they displayed no small portion of relig- ious feeling,by the respectful and reverent manner in which they watched the proceedings.
Meltham Parish Church.
Commemoration of the fallen.
LMIGHTY GOD, we commend to Thy loving kindness the souls
Meltham's Sweet-Toned Bells
One hundred years ago to-day 20th Feb.1936 the bells of Meltham Parish Church,six in
Meltham Parish Church Dedication of New Organ and Organ Recital Wednesday 24th Aug.1927
Meltham Parish Church has just acquired a new organ and elec- tric lighting system,and the dedication of the former took place, at evensong on Wednesday,being St.Bartholomew's Day,the Patronal Festival. The new three-manual organ has thirty-one stops and twelve couplers;the blowing is done by electricity,and it is cased in selected oak. There was an excellent congregation at the service,which was conducted by the Vicar,the Rev.H.F.T.Barter.The special psalm was the ninety-second.The lesson was read by Mr.G.H.Barter.The two hymns sung were "Christ is made the Sure Foundation" and “Lo Round the Throne a Glourious Band."The dedication was performed after the Lesson by the Ven.Arch-deacon Harvey,of Halifax. The sermon was preached by the Archdeacon,who took as his text the fourteenth and fifteenth verses of the third chapter of the second Book of Kings;Elisha said,Bring me a minstrel,and it came to pass when the minstrel played,that the hand of the Lord came upon him".They were thinking of music and its influence,that night he said,and he thought it would be well to notice the place of music in a church.People thought of it in connection with services aS a means of expressing gratitude to God.He wanted them to notice another idea of the purpose of music-that it led into the pres- ence of God.He wanted them to consider the use of the unquestion- able influence that music had.Why was this power of suggestive- ness not used more often in the services of the church?. Music Should be that suggestion which leads into the prsence of God Himself,and another influence for which music was useful was to draw people's attention to the reason why they were in church. The latter part of the dedication service was devoted to an organ recital by Mr.Hayden Sandwell,organist of the Huddersfield Parish Church. Mr.Sandwell also was at the organ for the service except for the first hymn which was played by the church organist,Mr.T.Roye. The organ cost £1,600 and the lighting system £200,in
The Garillon at Meltham Church
The work of furnishing the tower of the recently renovated Church of St Bartholomew,Meltham.with a carillon of ten bells has just been completed,and the opening changes will be rung on Sat. June 28th 1879 afternoon,at two o'clock.Messrs Gillett Bland and Co. of the steam factory and the church bell foundry,Croydon,have furnished the carillon,and the work has been done under the super- vision and instruction of Messrs John Kirk and Sons,architects,of Huddersfield and Dewsbury.The parishioners are indebted to Mr. Edward Brook of Meltham Hall,for this addition to the attractions of their parish church. I The carillon,or chiming machine,is constructed on Messrs Gill- ett and Bland's improved patented system the first of the kind having been put up by them at Boston Church,Lincolnshire and that plays 28 tunes on 44 bells.Since then they have patented further improvements,which they have introduced in the machines they have got up at Manchester,Bradford and Rochdale Town Halls,Worcestor Cathedral,Sligo Cathedral,Christ Church Cathedral,Dublin and num- erous churches throughout the country.The carillon machine is fixed in the same chamber as the old clock,to which the necessary connections have been made for telling off the tunes at the pro- per hours,and it plays 14 tunes on ten bells as follows:- Barrel No l.
The Carillon at Meltham Church cont
large towers that these chiming machines could be erected at all. In Messrs Gillett and Bland's patented system all the defects in the old system have been entirely overcome,and the principles of the construction of the machine under notice are entirely differ- ent to all others upon which it is a very marked improvement.It is only 3ft.2in long 4ft high,and 3ft.2in wide,and had it been made upon the old system,it would have been more than double the Size.One of the most novel features and advantages of this auto- matic musician is,that instead of the hammers having to be lifted and let off by the musical barrel,as on the old system,the two actions of lifting and letting off the hammers are entirely sep- arated;the hammers being kept continually raised ready to strike the bells,and are only allowed to drop when the pins on the musi- cal barrel let them off.The instant they fall thay are lifted again,the two actions being perfectly simultaneous.There is one lever to each hammer,at one end of which is a key operating on the musical barrel and directly it is released by the pin on the mus- ical barrel,the other end dalls,and the hammer strikes the bell, and is instantly raised into the striking position again,by con- stantly revolving cams,so that the hammers are simply let off at one end of the levers,and lifted at the other.Thus the raising of the hammers has nothing to do with the playing of the music.This is done by the musical barrel,which is entirely relieved of the labour of lifting the hammers,which has no strain upon it,and therefore always revolves at the same rate,thus ensuring that the tune ahall be played in perfect time and precision,no matter how rapid the passages might be. The musical barrels are made of hard wood 10in in diameter and 2ft.lin.long,studded with over 3,C00 brass pins,one eight of an inch square.The carrilion machine has twenty levers,two to each bell,in order to enable several notes in guick succession to be played upon tke same bell when necessary There is a large fly or fan(similar to that in a musical box) fixed to an upright ahaft for the purpose of regulating the vel- ocity of the revolution of the musical barrels.The motive sus- pended from the iron barrel by a steel wire line and wound up every twenty-four hours.By having a series of barrels-with seven tunes on each-which are inexpensive-any number of tunes can be played,and they can be changed by anyone in a few seconds;or
Meltham Parish Church Consecration of Brinks New Burial Ground Saturday,April 8th,1922
On Saturday the Bishop preceded by his Chaplain bearing the Pastoral Staff was received by the Clergy and Churchwardens who then presented the Petition for Consecration. Then after reading the Petition he said I am ready to proceed to the Consecration. The Bishop then preceded by the Churchwardens,and by his Chap- lain bearing the Pastoral Staff and followed by the Clergy,Choir and Congregation proceeded to Brinks for the consecration singing the Psalm 23 the Lord is my shepherd:therefore can I lack nothing. followed by the Hymn "Jerusalem the Golden". On arrival at the place appointed,the clergy and Choir arranged themselves so that the Bishop,his Chaplain and the Churchwardens stood in the centre. When they were in their places,the Bishop then said as follows; That it may please thee to Bless,Hallow,and Consecrate this Ground for Christian Burial Then the Bishop led the people in prayer after which the Bishop pronounced the Sentance of Conse- cration saying By virtue of our sacred office in the Church of Go we do now Bless,Hallow,Consecrate,and for ever set apart;from all profane and common uses,this ground,to be a quiet burying-place of the dead until the glorious Resurrection of the Last Day;in the Name of the Father,and of the Son,and of the Holy Ghost. They then returned to the Church,the Choir leading and singing "Onward,Christian Soldiers". When they all were in their places in the Church the Sentance of Consecration was signed by the Bishop,during which the congre- gation sang the Hymn "Let Saints on Earth in concert sing"
Following the consecration at Brinks was used for the first time on the Sat.,when the remains of Miss Hannah Mellor and Mr.Charles Eastwood were committed to their last resting place.The Rev.A.C. Goulden officiated in the absence of the Rev.H.F.T.Barter
Obituary of the late Rev.E.C.Watson Vicar of Meltham for 36yrs
A two o'clock on Sat.25th June
The New Vicar of Meltham
Welcome Meeting September 27th 1902
A hearty welcome-such a one as augurs well for the success of
The New Vicar of Meltham cont.
Canon How who was cordially greeted expressed his gratitude to them for the hearty welcome they had given him that evening,and for the even more pleasant smiles and happy words with which he had been greeted as he passed through the streets of Meltham.He was also grateful for the kind words which had been spoken that night.He felt utterly unworthy of all that had been said,so al- though he was very much obliged,he hoped they would not be dis- appointed with him.He really thought that meeting should have been put until they had "Summered"and "wintered" him.He did hope however,that some of the things which had been said would be bor- ne out.He apologised for the long time he had been in coming,and explained that the reason was that there were a good many things to do at Mirfield,and the assistant clergy and himself required a holiday.To Mr Tonfield and Mr.Proctor he was deeply grateful for the work they had done during the time of the vacancy.They would be very glad that he had been able to keep Mr.Clarke with them.He trusted he would remain amongst them for many years.The rev.gentleman,proceeding said he had come to work,and if they found him idle they must tell him.He hoped,however they would not expect too much from him.There would be a certain amount of going away for doocesan work,but he hoped to work amongst them as well as he could.He believed Mrs How was going to do a great deal of work.She had ever since they were married conducted a girls class,and she would take the girla class on the following day. She would also try to see as many of them as she possible could. He stated that he was not going to make any changes at present, and said he should never make a single change because he wanted, or because he liked it.If he made any change at all.it would be for the glory of God,and for blessing to the souls of the people of Meltham.If he made any change it would be with their co-oped- ation.They were not however going to stand still.Standing still meant going back.They could not be satisfied with some things. although the congregation was excellent,they wanted both galler- ies filling.He was very anxious to start a men's class,and he trusted that the young men of Meltham would attend.At the class on the previous Sunday there were 17 in attendance and he hoped at the beginning of the year to have about 50 or 60 members. The proceedings concluded with a vote of thanks to the chairman and the singing of the National Anthem. During the evening several part-songs were contributed by the choir and songs were rendered by Messrs S.Berry and D.Wood.
Death of the Rev.Joseph Hughes,Incumbent of Meltham 8th November 1863
A gloom was spread over the village on Sunday morning,by the sad news that the Rev.Joseph Hughes,incumbent of St Bartholomew's Church,had died. So recently as Sunday,the lst November,he took part in the services of his own church,and gave a lecture in the school-room in the evening,in apparent health and strength;but was taken ill at the beginning of the next week.On Thursday,however,he was much better,and no apprehensions were entertained of immediate
Funeral Sermon of the Rev.J.Hughes
A funeral sermon on the occasion of the death of the Rev.Joseph Hughes,incumbent of Meltham who died last week was preached on Sunday afternoon 15th Nov.1863,in St.Bartholomew's Church,by the Rev.E.C.Ince,incumbent of Meltham Mills.The rev.gentleman took for his text the 2nd Epistle to timothy,4th
Meltham Mills Church. Memorial Windows Dec.6th 1856
The remembrance of the melancholy death of Mr.and Mrs William Leigh Brook,will no doubt be vivid in the memory of some people. In order,in some degree,to manifest their esteem and regard for their late masters,the
Re-opening of Meltham Mills Church
After being closed for some months,in order to undergo exten- Sive alterations and additions,Meltham Mills Church was re-opened on Sunday 29th Jan.1860 when a special service was held.The alter ation principally consists of an enlarged chancel,with space on each side of the organ & vestry.Four bold arches rise above,and two rich carved oak screens at the side of the transept.The choir are placed in carved oak stalls on each side of the chancel;the floor between is paved with encaustic tiles.The communion place has two richly stained windows at the sides,representing our Saviour blessing little children;and our Saviour at the well talking to the women ofSanmria.These windows have been executed by Messrs Hodgson of York.The three sides of the communion have elaborate carved canopies richly done and rising above the commun- ion table are three goblets.The chancel is lighted by a large corona and the church by standard lights,of elegant designs.The organ has been improved,and revoiced by Messrs Conacher.The church has been effectually heated by Messrs Hadens,patent warm airappar- atus.The contractors for the work were,W.Earnshaw,mason;W.Myers, joiner,D.Wilkinson,plasterer;and A.Lockwood,plumber.The carvers were Messrs Ingle of Leeds,and Shaw of Huddersfield.The whole of the work has been carried out under the Superintendance of Mr. Charles Pritchett,architect of Huddersfield,who has spared no pains to meet the earnest desire of Mr.Charles Brook of Meltham Mills to make the whole has complete and perfect as any village church,in the kingdom.It is through the munificence of Mr.Brook that the cost of the work will be defrayed; which added to the late extensive improvements at Meltham Mills for the benefit of the workpeople,will only endear his name,more in the memory of all who have the pleasure to be connected with the extensive works of Messrs Jonas Brook & Bros.
Church Tea Party,Meltham Mills Tuesday Jan.26th 1861
A most interesting gathering of the congregation belonging to St.James's Church,Meltham Mills,took place on Tuesday evening in the Dining Hall.Up-wards of 500 sat down to a most excellent tea- with beef and ham accompaniments-at the expense of Mrs.Charles Brook and Miss Clara Brook of Meltham Hall. The hall was most tastefully decorated with evergreens and ban- nerets.Over the platform encircled in evergreens were the follow- ing mottoes;"The fear of the Lord is the beginning of
Church Tea Party cont
matter,but it was a disgrace to be a drunkard or a liar.He did not however wish the poor to have scanty provisions,and his motto was "a fair day's wage for a fair day's work".He next urged upon parents the right discharge of their great responsibilities to their children.Mothers ought to enforce obedience and not leave that to be always done by the father.Young men were also warned against the numerous temptations to which they were exposed,and cautioned against the danger contained in the expression of "sowing their wild oats".He also exhorted the young women not to be time killers,or lovers of fine dress.These were sifting times, and demanded noble Christian characters.The Church of England was assailed with all kinds of weapons;and whilst he would speak with the highest respect of other sects,he thanked God he was a member of the Church of England.He concluded a very long and most excellent speech amid loud applause. Mr.T.D.Scholes proposed a vote of thanks to Mr.Chas, Brook,and Miss Clara J.Brook,for their excellent treat,which was seconded by Mr.James Haigh.E.Brook in a very humorous address responded to the vote.Rev.J.Hughes proposed a vote of thanks to the ladies who had furnished the trays,and also to the committee of management. This was seconded by J.W.Carlile and carried.J.D.Birchall moved a vote of thanks to the strangers,which was heartily accorded. The Chairman moved a vote of thanks to the singers and organist which was seconded by the Rev,R.C.Ince.The Rev.Hough moved a vote of thanks to the chairman which was seconded by the Rev.J.Bardsley This very interesting meeting was then brought to a close by the singing of the "National Anthem".
Testimonial to the Rev.E.C.Ince
On Friday evening July 22nd 1864 the congregation of St.James's church,Meltham Mills,and friends of the Rev.E.C.Ince,incumbent presented him with a beautiful testimonial in the shape of a sil- ver tea service,which has cost about £57.It is now eleven years Since the rev.gentleman commenced his duties as incumbent at St. James's and during that time he has laboured very hard amongst his flock,and won the esteem of all who knew him. For the last few months his health has been such as to cause great anxiety amongst his friends.His medical adviser ordered him from home also ordered him to abstain from his duties for a time.This he has done,and has been absent three months,the parish being left in the care of his curate,the Rev.C.E.Bagshaw.He returened last week fully restored to health.His flock considered this a fitting opportunity of presenting a tangible token of their love and aff- ection to him.The matter was very spiriedly taken up,and at once the sum named above was collected,one half,at least,of this sum being raised amongst the poorer class.A silver tea service was purchased,and on Friday evening it was presented to him,in the presence of a large circle of friends and admirers.Charles Brook jun.was called upon to preside.He made a most excellent speech passing a vey high eulogium on the Rev.E.B.Ince,after which he read a congratulatory address signed by contributors and then feeling presented the testimonial.The Rev.gentleman then ascended the platform,and essayed to speak,but was so affected by their kindness,that the task was too much for him.He thanked them all very sincerely for their manifestations of love towards him. He was glad to get back again amongst them-thankful to an all wise Providence that his health was recovered and he could exclaim with the inspired writer,"What shall I render unto the Lord for all his benefits towards me".Their kindness to him would call for double energy on his part.Addesses followed by the
Meltham Mills New Organ Opened 22nd August 1937
For the past two months Meltham Mills Church services have been held without the assistance of the organ,since during this period a new organ has been in process of erection.The new organ,a three manual one of the very latest type,was officially opened on Sunday evening,when there was a large congregation. The Rev.J.Kearsley(vicar)gave a short address on music.He poi- nted out how music,when all was going well,brought out in the ma- jor key their joys,and carried them to the hill tops,whereas the minor key took them down to the valley of mists and doubts where they could humble themselves before their maker and taste of His great mercy.He hoped the new organ would prove a great blessing to them and a great help in the worship in their church. The choir,under the direction of Mr.Edward Earnshaw,gave the anthem"Give Thanks,O Israel" After a shortened form of evensong an organ recital was given by Mr.Charles A.Berry,organist at this church for many years,who left about nine years ago to take up an appointment in London. Mr.Berry brought out to the full the beauties of the new inst- rument in a programme which included Third Sonata(Mendelssohn) Overture(Auber)Grand Processional March,(Lohengrin),Military March (Coleridge-Taylor)Intermezzo Cavalleria Rustcana,Autumn Shadows (Tony Lowry),Serenade (Drigo),Humoresque (Bentow)and a piece of his own composition Then on the following Wednesday a recital was given on the new organ by Dr,Dennis Chapman of Manchester.
Meltham Mills Church Centenary lith Nov.1945
Meltham Mills Parish Church was 100yrs old on Sunday Ith Nov. having been consecrated on Nov.1th 1845,by Dr.Longley,then Bis- hop of Ripon. Special Centenary Commemoration Services were held. There were early celebrations by the Holy Communion,conducted by the Vicar the Rev.J.Kearsley,who also conducted the morning service and gave the address,The lessons at this service were read by Colonel C.J.Hirst.The Bishop of Pontefract was the spe- cial preacher at the evening service,when there was a crowded congregation.The Rev.L.F.A.Edgell a former vicar,now at Hull. was also present.TheBishop said that the past hundred years had been eventful.In all these years their fathers had brought their troubles to the house of God,where they had found comfort,stren- gth and guid ance,and it was fitting that they should give than- ks for their fathers faith and trust in God,in building up and maintaining the Christian life of the church and Parish. The Lessons were read by the Rev.Edgell and Mr.Allen Taylor.The Singing was led by the choir under the direction of Mr.Edward Earnshaw.Mrs S.Longden officiated at the organ. Ehe annual sale of work and gift day was held on Saturday in the Meltham Mills School.The Vicar presided.Mrs T.W.Hirst who was supported by Col.C.J.Hirst opened the proceedings and
Meltham Mills Church
St.James the Apostle Church was erected by Mr.James Brook a family member of Jonas Brook & Bros. It is Gothic Architecture with a beautiful stained glass windows.He was born on July 1st 1773 and died April 27th 1845.He did not live to see the church completed as he died a few months before the work was finished.He was buried at Meltham Church but later on the completion of Meltham Mills Church, his body was brought to find a final resting place in the Crypt under the chancel of Meltham Mills Church. In 1838 Mr.Brook had built a dual purpose building to serve as Church and
Perched above Meltham on the hillside,Helme probably only just qualifies as a village.It has all the essentials of the true English village,with one main street no Post Office,no row of shops and only two public houses,both of which are situated on the boundary,and are only just in the parish,and a bus that runs through the village from Meltham to Huddersfield. All around the parish are to be. found houses,reminding one of days when hand- loom weaving took place in them. The name Helme is derived from the Saxon word for shelter or more prosaically a cattle shed.The oldest farm buildings date from the eighteen century,and a few cottages of various dates,no doubt for farm workers The development of Helme into a larger community with a need for church and school came during the nineteenth century,with this change the Brook family is closely connected,Charles Brook youngest son of William Brook,married Anne eldest child of William Brooke of Honley.He lived at Healey House till his death in 1869 he had left the family firm and started up the Silk Mill at Bent Ley,and some of his work people settled in Helme. Charles Brook had a large family,nine in all.One son Charles John of Thick Hollins died on Feb.17th 1857,when he was 27 yrs.old,and his brothers and sisters subscribed to build a church at Helme in his memory,the father endowed it with £5,000,the Church known as "Christ Church" was consecrated by the Lord Bishop Dr.Bickersteth on Thursday 3rd Nov 1859,and Helme now became a seperate parish, which included Bent Ley. The church with its long shingled spire towering above the green trees giving it a distinguished air,one his reminded that the church far from being exceptional in having one genuine lych-gate,actually it has three,Helme Vicarage was built in 1871. An unmarried daughter of Charles,Miss Francis Brook ,laid the foundation stone of the Memorial School on Whit Tuesday May 30th 1871,it was opened in 1873, she was a most devoted supporter of the school until her death at the age of 78 in 1901,She is buried in Helme Churchyard. Early records of the school show that many of the pupils were part timers from the mills. The Brooks were connected by marriage with the Hirsts of Meltham Hall, Helen Hirst was a grand-daughter of Charles John Brook.She married Edward Lindsay Fisher and they came to live at Helme Hall about 1890,where the family remained until 1945.The Fishers too were generous supporters of the school serving as managers,contributing to the funds.You cannot read old records of the school without meeting the names Brook and Fisher on almost every page. After the Fishers left Helme Hall Mr.E.Greenhalgh came to live there he also was a benefactor of both Church and School.On 21st April 1958 an extension to the school was built at a cost of £13,000 and was opened by Mr E.Greenhalgh. The village was offered for sale on 7th Aug 1952 to the private tenants, by Mrs R.B.M.Wood who was the last of the Brook family on the death of Miss Borothy Mary Brook of Manor Croft Helme in June 1951. The War Memorial at Helme was dedicated on Sat.3rd April 1920.
Helme Church 1858 A Church For Helm.
Helm is a district formed from the parishers of Crosland and Meltham.It is a very scattered place and being situated a long distance from any place of worship,the inhabitants must have long felt a great inconvenience in this respect.This inconvenience how ever is now about to be remedied.A church and parsonage-house are to be erected by the liberality of the sons and daughters of Charles Brook,Esq.,of Healeyhouse.in memory of their late brother Charles John Brook,Esq.,who always delighted ina “labour of love" among the poor scattered far and wide around him.It is in his name that his surviving brothers and sisters now desire to carry on the good work,which he always helped forward,and to provide spiri- tually and temporally for those in the humbler walks of life who were more immediately connected with him.William Brook,Esq.,has made provision for the annual stipend of a resident minister. Until the church is erected,a room for temporary church has been fitted up for service,and the Rev.James Brook,who is appointed pastor,preached the two first sermonds on Sunday 3rd Jan.1858. The place in the afternoon was crowded,many being unable to gain admittance.The rev.gentleman is brother to the late Charles John Brook.Esq.,and has during the last few months been officiating as curate at Meltham Mills.A Sabbath school for children has also been opened.
Laying the Foundation Stone of Helme Church
On Thursday,August 18th 1858 the foundation stone of a new Church which was about to be erected at Helme,Meltham by the family of Charles Brook of Healey House,was laid by Charles Lewis Brook the infant Son of the late Charles John Brook of Thick Hollins,to whose memory the sacred edifice was to be erected.The Rev.James Brook incumbent of Helme,Rev.E.G.Ince incumbent of Meltham Mills,George Hough incumbent of South Crosland and the Rev.Joseph Hughes incumbent of Meltham took
part in the proceedings.The Rev.Lewis Jones of Almonbury was also in attendance on the occasion.
Consecration of Christ Church,Helme Thursday November 3rd 1859
This edifice,which has been erected as a memorial of the late Charls John Brook of Thickhollins,by his surviving brothers and sisters,was consecrated on Thursday Nov.3rd 1859,by the Lord Bishop of Ripon.The edifice is a handsome structure,situated in a very conspicuous part,from which is obtained a view of the whole district around,The district is a scattered and poor one,and the inhabitants cannot feel too grateful that it has been wisely put into the hearts of such kind benefactors to erect an alter in their midst. The perod of architecture selected is the latter part of the "Fourteenth Century"when the distinctive characteristics of the decorated style were rapidly developing.The church consists of a nave,with north and south aisle,and chancel.The tower is placed at the south-west angle,and is about 82ft in height,the spire of which is of wood,covered with oak shingles.A vestry is also provided at the north-east angle.The sides of the edifice are divided into bays by handsome buttresses,and the porch is placed on the south side in the second bay.It is of wood,and upon the facia board is carved this inscription,"This is none other but the house of God,this is the gate of Heaven."Its internal dimen- Sions are,exclusive of the chancel,57 feet long by 40ft 6 inches wide.The chancel is 24ft 6inches long,making the total length 81 feet 6 inches.The church wiil seat about 350 persons,It is entirely constructed of a local stone,and principally from the Royd Edge Quarries.The inside is faced with ashlarnneatly pointed The aisle and nave are separated by bold and handsome pointed arches,four on each side,which are supported on massive stone pillars,composed each of one stone only.The roof is of a high pitch,all the timbers of which are seen from the inside;it is covered with dark red tiles.The church is heated by hot water. The whole building is surrounded by a substantial wall,which is finished with a neat coping.Apicturesque"Lychgate"forms the south entrance into the churchyard.there were about 40 clergymen present on the occasion,and a large concourse of laymen from various quarters.The edifice was incapable of affording adequate accommo- dation to the great number of visitors present,so that many had to content themselves with remaning outside.Prayers were read by the Rev.James Brook,incumbent;the gospel by the Rev.Alfred Brook the epistle by the Rev.Lewis Jones,vicar of Almondbury;the first lesson by the Rev.Arthur Brook;and the second lesson by the Rev. F.G.Bloomfield.The sermon was preached by the Lord Bishop. After the ceremony was over,the bishop,clergy,and a number of gentlemen dined together at the residence of the incumbent,the Rev.James Brook.We understand the church was to be endowed with a stipend of £150 per annum.Messrs Pritchett and Sons of Hudders- field are the architects.
Vestry Meeting Helme Church Easter Monday April 12th 1884
It was proposed and Seconded,and carried unanimousley "that this meeting gratefully acknowledges the kindness of Mrs.Allen of Huddersfield for placing a public clock in the tower of the church,in memory of her sister,the late Mrs Brook of Healey House,and also a lych-gate at the South East Corner of the Churchyard,and that it regards the same as being both ornamental to the church and church yard as well as greatly beneficial to the inhabitants of the Parish.
Organ Opening at Helme
On Wednesday evening,thellth September 1872,a very interesting service took place at Helme Church,on the occasion of the opening of a new organ which has been presented to the church by Mrs.and Miss Brook,Healey House,and which has been manufactured by Messrs Conacher and Co,organ builders of Huddersfield.The organ stands at the east end of the chapel,in the north aisle,near the chancel and it is enclosed ina solid oak case,with front decorated pips, and it contains the following stops:-Greatorgan,CCto G56 notes. Large open diapason,stop dispason(bass),claribella(treble),dulc- iana,principal,and wald flote.Swell organ,CC to G,56 notes-Voil- d'Amour,Rohr flote,gemshorn,piccolo,oboe.Pedal organ CC to E,30 notes,Bourdon,octave coupler, swell to great swell to pedals,g great to pedals.Three composition pedals.The instrument has two manuals or rows of keys,and has cost about £200.Mr.W.Parratt,orga- hist of Magdalen College,Oxford,was the organist and had the arrangement of the stops,and it may be remarked that although the instrument is apparently a small one all the stops are of double C compass.The service was fully choral,and the choir of the church at Helme was augmented by members of other church choirs in the neighbourhood.Besides playing the prelude,Mr.Parratt gave a number of interludes during the course of the service and at the close of the service played a number of difficult pieces from the works of Mendelssohn,much to the gratification of a number of the congregation who had remained behind to listen. The Hon Francis Pigon vicar of Doncaster,preached a very impres- Sive sermon from the teachings of St.Paul,and altogether the service
Helme Church Graveyard
An extension to the burial ground surrounding Christ Church,Helme was consecrated by the Rt.Rev.J.A.Ramsbotham,Lord Bishop of Wakefield,in the presence of a large congregation on Sat.3-10-65 in the afternoon. The Chairman of Meltham Urban District Council,Councillor W. Batty attended and visit ing clergy present were the Rev A.C. Adamson,Vicar of Honley and his curate,the Rev.P.D.Brothwell who acted as Bishop's Chaplain;the Rev.K.Walker,curate at Slaithwaite and the Rev R.Orton,curate at
Seventieth Anniversary of Consecration Helme Parish Church
It was remarkable that at services on Sunday Nov.3rd 1929 to celebrate the seventieth anniversary of the consecration of Helme Parish Church there were two worshippers in attendance who took part in the ceremonies of seventy years ago.Mr.Charles Lewis Brook of Harewood Lodge,who laid the foundation stone on Aug 19th 1858, was able to be present at the afternoon service,and Miss Susannah Meal,of Hoylehouse,who: was present at the consecration of the Church by Dr.Bickersteth,Bishop of Ripon,on Nov.3rd 1859,and who was eighty-six years of age,was present at both the afternoon and evening services. The Church was built through the generosity of the late Mr.Cha- rles Brook,of Healey House,in memory of his son,the late Mr Char- les John Brook. The church is a beautiful example of early Gothic architecture, adapted to the rural surroundings in which it is built and
Helme Church A Diamond Jubilee Nov.1919 The 60th anniversary of the consecration of Helme Parish Church was celebrated on Saturday and Sunday Ist <& 2ndsNov. 1919 There was a service in church on Saturday afternoon at which the Bishop of Wakefield was the preacher,and after the service tead was served to over 200 in the schoolroom,and a most pleasant evening was spent in social intercourse.Music was contributed by the members of the choir and speeches were contributed by the vicar,the Rev.John Dunbar,the Rev. Lloyd Stacey,Mrs.Stacey,Coun. John Denton and James Quarmby.The service on Saturday was taken by the vicar,the lessons being read by Mr.C.L.Brook,of Harewood Lodge,in memory of whose father the church was built.On Sunday there were three celebrations of the Holy Communion.At the morn- ing and evening services the preacher was the Rev.E.Lloyd Stacey a former vicar.In the afternoon the sermon was preached by the Rev.Wm Le Neve Bower.All the sermons were most appropriate and helpful,and at the services there were special lessons,Psalms, prayers,and hymns.The anthem was "Break forth into joy"(Simper), and it was beautifully sung by the choir.The congregations were large,and the church was full on Saturday afternoon and Sunday evening.The collections were for extraordinary church expenses.
Helme Church Centenary Sunday lst Nov.1959
The celebration of the centenary of Helme Parish Church took place on Sunday Ist Nov. The Vicar Rev.G.W.Deas was the celebrant at Holy Communion,and the preacher at matins.At the evening ser- vice,when there was a large congregation,the preacher was the Bis- hop of Pontefract the Rt.Rev.G.W.Clarkson. The Parish of Helme was constituted in 1858,and owes its beau- tiful church and its seperate entity to the generosity of Mr.Char- les Brook of Healey House who is buried in the churchyard.He built the church in memory of his son,Mr.Charles John Brook,who died at Thickhollins on Feb.17th 1857 at the age of twenty-Seven. Having built the church Mr.Brook and his son Charles Lewis Brook,endowed the living with £5,000.The church is a beautuful example of Gothic architecture,adapted to its rural surroundings, and with a charming simplicity of its own.An unusual feature is that there are three lynchgates. The first Vicar of Helme was the Rev.James Brook of Healey House,who remained in office until 1870.For some years he had been in ill-health,and from 1864 the Rev.Conrad Samuel Green had been in charge of the Parish,On Mr.Brook's resignation,Mr Green was appointed Vicar,and remained until
Helme Parish Suffered an incalculable loss on the Sat.July 7th 1951 with the death of Miss Dorothy Brook.She was a gracious lady a fine Cristion and church woman,and benefactress.Her church and its activities meant everything to her and by her life she comm- anded the respect and affection of all the villages.She was part- icularly interested in the Sunday School and all children's work, and because of her adoration for them,gave unstintingly of her energy on their behalf.In addition she took a keen interest in the Parochial Church Council,the Mothers Union and the Day School
She was a strong and brave character,and always cheerful in spite of her affliction.
JOSEPH HIRST & WILSHAW
Joseph Hirst(1805-1874) was a contemporary of Salt & Akroyd.He made his fortune in the woollen textile trade and spent a good part of it on building his native village of Wilshaw and the Cheshire village of Thornton Hough. Joseph Hirst was born in January 1805 to Mary and Thomas Hirst of Lower Greave near Meltham in the West Riding of Yorkshire,the fourth son in a family of fourteen children.His father was of solid yoeman stock,a farmer but also,as was often the case in this part of Yorkshire,a woolen was what was known locally as a "higgler" or"putter out".At the time of Joseph's birth and until the ravages of the "Hungry Forties"the West Riding woollen textile industry was still a domestic industry.The chief parts of the productive process - weaving and spinning - were carried out in the homes of families in scores of Pennine hamlets similar to Lower Greave.In this network of domestic workshops Thomas Hirst was a middle man,buying yarn or fleece wool and contracting weavers to make it up into lengths of cloth which he then took to be finished or sold them as they were at the most appropriate local market.He would travel around the district with a string of pack horses collecting the woven pieces and putting out more yarn or wool for working up.This dual occupation of farmer and clothier combined to give the Hirst family a fair measure of prosperity. Apparently,Joseph's father was not an ambitious businessman.He made enough to keep his large family well fed and clothed and to buy a few luxuries but he had no desire to become a captain of industry.He much preferred his farming and the country sports of riding and shooting to making
contributions to the villages of Wishaw and Thornton Hough. Joseph Hirst's life was governed by firm principles.In his business affairs he earned a good reputation for integrity and the prompt payment of bills.He expected the Same conduct of his business associates and employees.A short-lived partnership with a Huddersfield wool merchant,J.Barnicot was terminated because Joseph Hirst was unhappy at his partner's business methods. He was religious man,a member of the Church of England.It would,perhaps be mis- leading,to fit him into a tight"Anglican" pigeon-hole.Clearly then,where the "sober", "industrious" and"Respectable" artisans,the skilled working class,were concerned, Joseph Hirst was an advocate of their greater involvement in the management of British Society.Long before the 1867 Reform Bill;he admitted his senior employees into a limited profit-sharing
Within Wilshaw and Thornton Hough Joseph's generosity to the Anglican Church was the central point of his village building.His first building in honour of Mary's memory was Wishaw Church,St.Mary the Virgin.The foundation stone was laid in 1862 and the completed building consecrated by a reluctant Bishop of Ripon ,Bishop Bickersteth,in April 27th 1863.In external appearance it is a good example of Victorian Renaissance. Internally the church building is rather unique because it incorporates
SF bo LEAVE
Funeral of Joseph Hirst J.P.at Wilshaw December 16th 1874
The funeral of this gentleman took place at Wilshaw on Wednes- day Dec.16th 1874,amid the sorrow and regret of a large number of friends and dependents.Mrs.Hirst,the widow,had intimated her wish that the funeral should be as private as possible,but this could scarcely be acceded to when the many and liberal benefactions by the deceased gentleman are considered.From an early hour in the forenoon numbers of people began to assemble near the schools and church which Mr.Hirst had erected,and towards noon,the hour of internment.a large number of the clergy of the district,and gentl- emen from Meltham and Huddersfield,assembled to pay their last tribute of respect to the deceased.Among the clergy present were the Revs.E.C.Watson,vicar of Meltham;G.Hough,vicar of South Cros- land;J.R.Jagoe,vicar of Meltham Mills;J.W.Town,vicar of Lindley; J.Jones,vicar of Honley;J.Collins vicar of Holmfirth;W.Flower, vicar of Upperthong;T.Lewthwaite,vicar of Newsome;R.C.Wilford, curate of Lindley;H.J.Cheeseman,Meltham Mills etc.Also W.Brooke Esq.J.P.3;J.T.Taylor J.P.:E.Brook Esq.J.P. of MelthamMessrs.Alfred Hirst,S.Learoyd etc. About half-past 11 o'clock the workpeople from Wilshaw Mills and neighbourhood,to the number of over 200,met at the day school where forming in procession they proceeded past the residence of the deceased to St.Mary's Sunday School,where a large number of the Sunday school children were assembled.During a great portion of the forenoon the Meltham Church bells rang muffled peals,while the passing bell at St.Mary's Church was also muffled. The funeral arrangements were entrusted to Messrs William Atkinson and Son.John William Street and they were admirably carried out.The residence of the deceased being so close to the church a hearse and mourning coaches were dispensed with.The coffin was a very handsome one of polished English oak,with solid heavy brass furnishings,the handles and plates being highly polished.The wood of the coffin was from some that had been on the premises occupied by the deceased gentleman for more than a cent- ury,and the manner in which it had been worked up by Mr.Wm.Myers of Meltham reflected great credit upon that gentlemans taste. About ten minutes past twelve o'clock the mournful procession was formed and left the Sunday School in the following order:- Sunday School Children,Workpeople,two abreast,Clergy,Magistrates Members of Meltham Local Board,Gentlemen from Huddersfield, Meltham,The Rev.J.S.E.Spencer,vicar of Wilshaw and the Rev.J.W. Aldom,vicar of Thornton Church,Cheshire.The coffin bourne byeight of the workmen,Mourners and Friends. On reaching the church gates the procession halted and opened out to allow the coffin and followers to pass up the centre;and at the entrance to the church gates the impressive Burial Service commenced by the Rev.J.S.E.Spencer pron®uncing the words,"Iam the resurrectin and the life etc"As the coffin entered the sacred edifice the organ pealed forth in solemn tones the "Dead March" All having taken their seats,the choir chanted the 90th Psalm;and the lesson was read in a clear,distict and impressive manner by the Rev.J.W.Aldom.As the mourners and friends left the church the tones of the organwere heard pealin forth.Prayers at the grave Side were read,during which the body was placed on a shelf in the inside of the family vault.At the conclusion of the ceremony the procession returned to the school,and dispersed.
Wilshaw's Jubilee Celebrations llth June 1977
Every family in the village contributed towards the cost of jubilee celebrations at Wilshaw. And despite the poor weather-allevents went ahead as planned. Headed by a village band,formed for the occasion,a fancy dress parade toured the village in the afternoon,and entrants were jud- ged by Mr. and Mrs.A.Taylor and Mrs. J.Huggett,Prizewinners were Alison Taylor(Britannia) and Robert Askham(Mad Hatter) but every entrant received a small gift. Teas were served in the Sunday School,and a jazz band played for dancing and musical games.A group of twelve girls gave a dis- play of maypole dancing,prompting several of the mums to "have a go" to everyone's delight. Jubilee crowns were presented to all the children by Major J.A. D.Kirby and Coun.Mrs Kirby,chairman of Meltham Town Council. during a dry spell in the evening the bonfire was lit and there was a firework display in the field. Thanks were due to the hard-working committee and every one who helped to make the celebrations a success.
WILSHAW VILLAGERS REMEMBER THE GENEROSITY OF THE HIRST FAMILY.
Wilshaw will remember the Hirst Family's kindness on Saturday 27th April 1963 for providing such a fine Parish Church,rich in wood carving and the stone mason's art,to provide a permanent memoriam to their only daughter,Mary,who died at the age of
Wilshaw Church Centenary April 27th 1963
To mark the centenary of St.Mary the Virgin's Church,Wilshaw, which was consecrated by the Bishop of Ripon on April 27th 1863, special services were held at the week-end and a Garden of Remem- brance set out by Mr.E.R.Hampshire,a churchwarden,was dedicated by the Bishop of Wakefield,the Rt.Rev.J.A.Ramsbotham. Wilshaw Church was built by Mr.and Mrs.Joseph Hirst as a mem- Orial to their only daughter,Mary,who died at-the age of twenty seven years in 1859.There was no chuch at that time and Mary(Mrs Alfred Beaumont)was interred in Meltham Mills churchyard but when Wishaw Church was consecrated four years later her remains were exhumed and interred in a tomb at Wilshaw. The Bishop of Wakefield preached at the special service held on Saturday afternoon and among other clergy taking part in the service were the Revs.J.E.Cobb,Vicar of Wilshaw,P.Spivey,Vicar of Meltham,T.Yeomans,Vicar of Helme and E.L.Facey,Vicar of Marsden Also present was the Rev.T.Kenyon a former Vicar of Wilshaw,and members of his family.A collection taken during the service amounted to £34 8s 4d.for the Centenary Repair Fund. After the service tea was served in the schools by members of the Mothers'Union and in the evening a conversazione was held in the Sunday School.Glees were sung by the choir,conducted by Mr. Sam Longden;Mr.Longden sang solos;Mr.William Taylor of Rastrick recited and Mrs Farrar,of Holmfirth,recited and provided humour. Mrs S.Longden officiated as accompanist.In the day school a soc- ial evening for young people was arranged by Mrs C,Dyson,Mrs E.R. Hampshire,Miss B.Hutson,Messrs Dennis Ball and Brian Longden. Sunday Services The services continued on Sunday with an early celebration of Holy Communion,morning and evening services conducted by the Vicar The preacher in the morning was the Rev.Canon A.G.W.Hunter,Vicar of Huddersfield and Rural Dean and in the evening the Ven.J.F. Lister,Archdeacon of Halifax.The lessons were read by Mr.Dennis Ball(churchwarden)and Mr.Peter Helliwell.The choir under the direction of Mr.S.Longden,sang the anthem"I will lift up mine eyes" with bass solo by Mr.Peter Helliwell and duet by Misses Ann and Violet Helliwell,both morning and evening Mrs S.Longden was at the organ. The evening service was attended by the Chairman of Meltham Urban District Council,Coun.H.B.Dearnley,who was Accompanied by Mrs Dearnley and several other Meltham councillors.
Wilshaw Parish Church Centenary Celebrations The Vicar,Churchwardens,and the P.C.C. invite you and your Friends to join them at the following Services: Saturday,April 27th,1963,3p.m. Evensong with an Address by Rt. Rev. John Alexander Ramsbotham M.A.,D.D. followed by Tea and Social Evening Sunday,April 28th,1963 8 a.m. Holy Communion,10-45 a.m. Morning Prayer Preacher,Canon A.G.W.Hunter,B.A. 6-30 p.m. Evensong, Preacher Ven.J.F.Lister B.A.,M.A.
Garden of Remembrance dedicated at Wilshaw Saturday April 27th 1963
A garden of remembrance at Wilshaw Parish Church was dedicated by the Bishop of Wakefield(the Rt.Rev.J.A.Ramsbotham at a service held at the church.The service of dedication,which was attended by a large congregation,was part of the church's centenary cele- brations. I
Before the service the Bishop was shown the garden by the Vicar of Wilshaw(the Rev.J.E.Cobb. Mr.Hampshire with his own skill and patience in setting out a
garden of: remembrance-a fitting tribute to the Hirst Family of Wilshaw.
The Sunday School in its early days was used as a day school as well,the first head- mistress was Miss Armstrong. In January 1873 a new day school was opened opposite St.Mary's Court(now Village Hall) with a house attached. The school was wired for electricity in 1938,and in 1941 the Senior Scholars were transferred to Meltham Church School. On May 14th 1870 Eleanor Hirst laid the foundation stone of the Almhouses, they weré openéd in 1871. Eleanor Hirst looked down on the two Greaves,the tall chimney and the spire of the new church,she must have felt proud of Joseph,for he had not only changed the face of Wilshaw,but made the centre of the new Parish of Wilshaw. In 1948 Josephs mill chimney was pulled down,by this time the speed of change in Wilshaw steadily increased.New houses were built along the road and in 1960 a sewer was laid to Bent. Ley sewage works, and in 1993 houses were being built at Wilshaw Mill Farm.Only Wilshaw Villa,the church of St.Mary the Virgin and Alms House remains Joseph Hirst of Wilshaw. Saturday 27th April 1963 The Garden of Remembrance was dedicated at Wilshaw Parish Church by the Bishop of Wakefield the Rt.Rev J.A.Ramsbotham at a service held at the church.
Wedding of Miss Mary Hirst of Wilshaw Oct.14th 1858
Meltham was alive on Thursday morning Oct.14th on the occasion of the marriage of Mary,only daughter of Joseph Hirst of Wilshaw Villa to Alfred Beaumont of Steps Mill,near Honley.The morning was dull,and slight rain fell,threateningto spoil the day's festi- vities;but as the morning advanced it cleared up much to the delight of all.Hundreds of people,many from a distance assembled in the village to witness the proceedings,which it was understood would be no ordinary one.Flags floating in the breeze wereseen at every turn-a monster one floating from the window of the Rose and Crown Inn.The church bells sent forth a merry peal by half-past five o'clock in the morning.About 11 o'clock the marriage cortege consisting of 11 carriages,preceded by the workpeople in
Funeral of Mrs.Alfred Beaumont
On Tuesday 14th June 1859,the remains of the late amiable,high respected and deeply lamented Mrs.Alfred Beaumont of Park Cottage Lockwood and only child of Joseph Hirst of Wilshaw Villa who died on Thursday on June 9th 1859,suddenly aged 27yrs,the beloved wife of Alfred Beaumont.was interred in the burial ground of St.James Church at Meltham Mills by the Rev.Joseph Hughes,incumbent of Meltham,assisted by the Rev.James Brook,incumbent of Helme.The attendance at the funeral was numerous and imposing from 120-130 respectable,well dressed work-people in the employment of Joseph Hirst,the deceased father,walking in procession before the hearse which was followed by four moarning coaches containing the rela- tives and friends of the deceased,including several clergymen, whilst hundreds of respectable and orderly spectators lined the road leading to the church,to witness the mournful solemnity,and to pay their last tribute of respect to the deceased.Allthe
principle shops in the village of Meltham were closed on the occasion.
Consecration of a New Church at Wilshaw Monday April 27th 1863
On Monday 27th April,the Right Rev.the Lord Bishop of the Diocese,performed the solemn ceremony of consecration upon the new church and burial-ground which had been erected to provide the inhabitants of that isolated locality by the liberality of Joseph Hirst of Wilshaw,near Meltham.Bleak and sterile as are the adjacent moors,and wild as is the character of the surrounding sceenery,there are features sufficiently lovely and attractive in and around the valley above which at the south-eastern extremity Wilshaw is situated to invest the contemplation of the scene with feelings of blended admiration and pride,and to inspire a feeling of blended admiration and pride,that there are places where wealth has found its proper application,and labour has been estimated at its proper value.Even a cursory glance at the Meltham Mills valley is sufficent to show the happy effects arising from these causes. Numbers of cheerful cottages nestling amongst this scenery this church is to be erected by Mr.Hirst in memory of his only and beloved daughter,the late Mrs Alfred Beaumont,whose melancholy death within a year after her marriage will be remembered with handsome stained glass window which adorns the chancel is more particularly to keep in remembrance her memory of whom the whole church has been erected. The building is pleasantly situated in grounds tastefully laid out by Mr.Major of Leeds,enclosed by stone walls;and ornamental iron pallisading and gates.It is in the Romanesque style of arch- itecture,and is erected entirely of stone from the neighbourhood. The principal entrance is from a porch on the north side of the tower,approached by a flight of steps.The most noticable feature in the design is the manner in which the architects(messrs Kirk and Son,John William Street,Huddersfield have treated the comb- ination of the church with school and parsonage,which has been carried out at the suggestion of the founder.The tower,which is at the west end of the Church,rises in the centre of the front elevation of the entire structure,and is covered by a slated Spire,surmounted by ornamental wrough iron cresting,the compass points and a weather vane.Internally,the towere is divded into four stages;the lower part is the vestibule to the north porch, from which are entrances to the Church and principal vestry,and a circular staircase to the upper part of the tower.The first floor is a gallery for the scholars seated with open benches;the second floor is an observatory and library;and the third floor is the belfry.The north porch and vestibule are paved with encaustic tiles.The plan of the Church is a simple paralelogram;consisting of nave and chancel.The nave is divided into five bays,covered with an open timber roof of one span;the principals form arches, springing from carved stone corbels.The nave is lighted by ten two light windows,containg stained glass of geometrical designs. The organ and vestry are at the eastern end of the nave,and are shielded by richly carved oak screens.The pulpit and reading desk are situated at either side of the entrance to the chancel and immediately behind them are seats facing each other for thechoris- ters.The nave is seated with open stalls of elaborate design.The pulpit,reading desk,chotisters desk,stalls are of oak,all enrich- ed with carving of varied design.The chancel is divided from the nave by a deeply moulded arch,carried from carved coupled columns The floor is raised two steps and is divided from the body of the church by ornamental railing and standards.The large three-light Stained glass memorial window in the chancel has been supplied by Messrs Clayton and Bell,of London.It comprises a series of sub- jects,relating to the advent of our Lord,and the mission of the Virgin Mary.The details of heating light,and ventilation have not been unattended to.The Church will be heated by hot water laid in the aisles,The Church affords accommodation for 250 persons.
Consecration of New Church at Wilshaw
The School is divided into three bays,the roofing and windows being in every respect similar to those in the Church.The entrance is from a porch on the south side.In connection with the school is a class room lighted by a three light stained glass window. On the south side of the school is an enclosed yard,fit up with every convenience for the scholars,including drinking fountains and lavatories. The Parsonage is erected at the west end of the school and consists of vestibule,staircase,sitting-room,kitchen,scullery and three bed-rooms.The entire cost is £3,500,the whole of which has been given by the founder,who has also endowed both church and school.The contractors for the building have been Messrs Pogson and Moorehouse,masons;Mr.Wm.Myers.joiner,Mr.Wilkinson,plasterer, Messrs Preston and Sons,painters;Mr.Ellis,plumbers;and Messrs Wm. Goodwin and Sons,slaters.The organ was supplied by Messrs Conacher and Co.George Street,Huddersfield. The Consecration Service commenced at half-past eleven o'clock the church being crowed with a select congreation,comprising a numerous array of clergy,and most of the principal inhabitants of the neighbourhood.After the formal consecration and dedication of the Church the usual morning service was conducted,and the Bishop Bickersteth of Ripon,preached the consecration sermon.After the sermon,the Bishop and clergy walked in procession down the aisle of the church and repaired to the Burial Ground.where the usual consecration service was gone through; after which the benediction was pronouncedand the congregation was dismissed. Following the service.the Bishop and clergy,and the principal members of the congregation, partook of luncheon at the invitation of Mr.Hirst,in the school-room.Amongst the clergy who sat down were the Rev.S.Holmes vicar of Huddersfield;Rev.L.Jones,vicar of Almonbury;the Rev.R.Collins,vicar of Kirkburton;the Rev.J.Hughes incumbent of Meltham;the Rev.C.A.Hulbert,incumbent of Slaithwaite the Rev.E.C.Ince.incumbent of Meltham Mills;the Rev.G.Hough,incum bent of South Crosland;Rev.T.B.Bensted incumbent of Lockwood; Rev.S.P.Lampen,incumbent of Deanhead;Rev.James Brook incumbent of Helme;Rev.J.Collins,incumbent of Shepley;Rev.J.Ryland,incumbent of Linthwaite Rev.W.H.Girling incumbent of Rashcliffe;Rev.T.James incumbent of Netherthong;the Rev.J.E.Spencer etc.Amongst the laity were Joseph Hirst,the founder;Charles Brook sen.Charles Brook jun. Bentley Shaw,Captain Brooke of Armitage Bridge;William Brook of Northgate House,Honley;Edward Brook of Bent House of Meltham Jos Beaumont;A Lfred Beaumont;J.C.Laycock. The company broke up about five o'clock.
The Church is now the Parish Church of St,MARY the VIRGIN.
Re-Opening of Wilshaw Church Sat.Oct.15th 1864
This beautiful little building,which was opened for divine service in the spring of last year,has been closed for some weeks past to ensble the founder,Joseph Hirst,Esq.,of Wilshaw, to complete the internal decorations.These,as will be seen from the following descriptive account,have been carried out with no niggardly hand,the sacred editice, with the parsonage and schools adjoining,now presenting an appearance of taste and comfort which might be copied with advantage in other remote districts.The chu- rch,was reared by Mr.hirst in memory of his only daughter,the late Mrs Alfred Beaumont,and the decorations now completed,make this little sanctuary one of the prettiest in the district.The following is a descriptive account of the decorations;In the porch,on the stone-work over the door leading into the church,are the words,"Let us go into the house of the Lord".Over the large archway in the porch,"Of thine own have we given thee".Over the door leading into the school,"Those that seek me early shall find me".Over the door leading to the vestry,"We preach Christ cruci- fied,"Over the door leading to the gallery,"Praise God in His Sanctuary"The interior of the church is magnificently decorated, the ceiling and the east end being the most striking and elaborate The ceiling is profusely decorated with ornaments of good design in gold and ultramarine,on a rich cream colour ground.The effect thus produced is most pleasing,and for richness and neatness its equal is rarely to be seen.Between the wallplate and the ceiling is an ornamental boarder richly illuminated in gold and vermillion The wood work is stained oak,with inlaid patris painted upon it, which,so far as concerns the roof,makes it complete.The east end, over the chancel arch,is a most beautiful design,and gorgeously decorated,the whole surface being completely covered with texts and ornaments.On the top part,under the wallplate,painred in ver- million,with blue capitals,are the words,"Glory to God in the highest,and on earth peace,good-will towards men"Next to the arch in blue letters and vermillion capitals,are the words,"Holy,holy, holy,Lord God Almighty,Alleluial.Amen."The ornamental being chie- fly painted in stone colours,marine and gold.To divide the arch- way from the walls in the baptistry and organ pew is painted a belt in three divisions,the upper one having a stone colour gro- und,with gold tracery upon it;the centre a marine ground,with patris in blue and gold,and the bottom a stone colour ground with a blue ornament.On the walls in the baptistry,on a ribbon of car- ved oak,in maroon letters,are the words,"But Jesus said suffer little children to come unto me,and forbid them not,for of such is the kingdom of Heaven, and he took them up in his arms,put his hand upon them and blessed them."On the wall on the north side of the church,under the wall-plate,are the words,"Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed in Thee,because he trusteth in Thee"On the south side are the words,"I,the Lord,do keep it;I will water it every moment lest any hurt it;I will keep it night and day."Round the eight windows are the texts,"If any man be in Christ he is a new creature,&c,&c"Over the large arch at the West end are the words,"Blessed is he whose trangression is forgiven, and whose sin is covered."Over the door leading out of the Church are the words,"Being justified by faith we have peace with God." In the Scholars gallery are the texts"Remember now thy Creator in the days of thy youth,&c,&c,"Allthetexts are in Roman capitals to correspond with the bulding,which is Romanesque,The chancel ceil- ing is exceedingly rich and in good harmony with the stained glass windows,the ground is a rich ultramarine blue,emblazoned with orn- a ments in gold and scarlet;the walls diapered.The whole of the
decorations has been done by Mr. George Brighouse,Huddersfield, under the superintendence of Mr.Kirk,architect.
ew Almshouses at Wilshaw Laying of the Corner Stone May 14th 18/70
Although a Resident of Cheshire Joseph Hirst and his good lady still feel and manifest an interest in the prosperity and happiness of the people of Meltham,and especially those living in the neigh- bourhood of Wilshaw,Afew months ago Mrs.Hirst,as a mark of her sympathy with the aged and poor of Meltham made her intentions known to erect a certain number of almshouses.Messrs Kirk & sons, architects,prepared designes and after they had been submitted to and approved by Mr,Mrs Hirst,the preliminary work was commenced with out delay.The ceremony of laying the corner stone took place on Sat.May 14th,and although it was the wish of the benevolent founder that the proceedings should partake more of a private than public character,there was a large assemblage of spectators. The teachers and scholars connected with the Wilshaw Church, walked in procession round the village,displaying flags & Banners and proceeded by the incumbent,Rev.J.S.E.Spencer,the Rev.George Hough of South Crosland and others. The procession having reached the site,a hymn was sung and prayer offered by the incumbent.The formalities customary on such an occasion were then observed,a bottle containing local papers and documents relating to the work of the day,being deposited in a cavity of the stonework.A very handsome silver trowel,the gift of the work people of Mr.Hirst was presented to Mrs.Hirst,who having received a very chaste ivory mallet from the pleasing ceremony and in the usual way,declared the stone
to have been well and truly laid,. After the ceremony,Mr Hirst,in returning thanks in the name of
Mrs Hirst,expressed his gratitude to the contributors of the hand- some trowel that had been presented to her,especially when he rec-— ollected that a similar present was made to them at the time of the laying the foundation stone of the Wilshaw Church.He assured the spectators the present was highly appreciated by Mrs.Hirst, and it would be treasured as a memento of the kind feelings that had existed towards them in that locality for a long series of years.The mark of kindness by his workpeople would ever be remem- bered by him,with feelings of pleasure,and would remind him that the kind feeling which had existed between them and himself was still unbroken,and both himself and Mrs.Hirst earnestly wished that it might continue to exist to the last moment of their lives. The act of laying the foundation stone of the almshouses that day had been contemplated by Mrs.Hirst for many years.She had felt that,as a school had been erected there for the education of the rising generation,and a church for the spiritual welfare of those of riper years,there was needed some kind of an asylum for aged persons,who required care-persons, who had struggled long with the cares,difficulties,sorrows,and anxieties of life,and who in their old age,were unable,from various circumstances,to maintain
Laying of the ALMSHOUSES CORNER STONE CONT
NATIONAL Anthem. The almshouses are to consists of three couples of semi-de- tached cottages,each consisting of a living-room,scullery,larder, and out-offices on the ground floor,and two bedrooms on the chamber floor.They will be built in the Italian gothic style of architecture,and will be situated on a rising ground,by the side of the footpath, and near to the church.The ground and the situ- ation are admirably adapted for the purpose,and well screened from the weather at the back by a plantation,and the buildings, when finished,will form neat and commodious structures.
Opening of the Almshouses May 23rd 1871
Those beautiful and picturesquely situated buildings at Wilshaw erected by Mrs Joseph Hirst,for the comfortable reception of poor deserving people of Meltham,are now complete,and are in process of being tenanted.The almshouse consists of three blocks of buildings each containing two dwellings,and each dwelling arraged for two occupants.Being situate on the eminence above Meltham Mills andThickhollins,they are not only exceedingly healthy,but have a commanding prospect of the surrounding country.The interior of each cottage is fitted with every requiste for the convenience of the aged occupants,and the sanitary arrangements are unique. Each house has a living room,pantry or larder,cellar,two bedrooms scullery and sink with ample out-offices.Each one is furnished with furniture suitable to the requirements of the on selection are not to take any furniture with them except a flock bed to sleep on,everything else being provided.If the old folks,however,possesany particular article to which they attach special value,they are not prohibited from retaining it.The houses are not only to be occupied rent free,but rates,taxes.etc. are also to be paid,and coals will also be supplied.That the old people may live comfortably,and not be uneasy as to the means of subsistence,Mrs Hirst has set apart 6s per week for each occupant so long as they live in the houses.The first cottage was occupied on Tuesday the23 May 1871 by Mary Whiteley,a widow,and the follow- ing persons moved in the following week:-Mr.Bottomley of Wolfstones ;Job Sykes of Greave;Widow Hinchliffe,Rachel Woodhead,widow and two sisters Mrs Watson and Grace Hinchliffe.
Laying of the Corner-Stone of St.Mary's Lecture Room,School and House at Wilshaw.Monday March 3lst
Monday, will long be remembered by the quiet village of Greave and Wilshaw,as being the day on which the ceremony of laying the corner-stone of a lecture-room,school and house,now being erected by Joseph Hirst,in memory of his late
Funeral of Mrs.Hirst,of Wilshaw Builder of Almshouses
The remains of Mrs.Hirst,relict of the late Joseph Hirst,Esq. of Wilshaw,near Meltham.were interred in the mansoleum in the churchyard of Wilshaw on Monday May 2nd 1881.The cortege left the house at two o'clock,and proceeded to the churchyard in the foll- owing order,viz;The Revs.J.S.E.Spencer,incumbent,W.Aldam,of
Opening of the New Sunday School Meltham Wesleyans Thursday Oct.14th 1852
The new and commodious building which has been erected by the Wesleyanbody at Meltham,and which is to serve as a Sunday and Weekday school,was opened on Thursday afternoon Oct.14th 1852. There services on the occasion took place in the Chapel,Mill Moor near the School,where addresses were delivered,or rather sermons
preached by the Rev.Mr.Punshon of Sheffield,after which collections were made.
SATURDAY, 21st AUGUST, at 3 p.m. Sunday, 22nd
Meltham Wesleyan Sunday School
The annual tea and meeting took place on Saturday 6th Jan.1900. Tea was provided in the schoolroom,and to it a goodly number of persons sat down.The annual meeting was held in the assembly roon, Mr.James Pogson presiding.The secretary,Mr.Jno.Thorpe Earnshaw, read the report,showing that the number of scholars on the books was 208 males and 212 females,total 420;with an average attend- ance of 167 in the morning and 280 in the afternoon,which was con- sidered very satisfactory.The number of teachers is 41 males and 50 females,with an average attendance of 15 in the morning and 17 in the afternoon.Short and pithy addresses were given by Messrs Ned Brook,Hiram Earnshaw,Wm Mozley,Z.Watson,A.Pogson and T.Dawson The following gave recitations in a very able manner;-Gec Pogson, Fred Quarmby,W.Duckworth,Elizabeth Garlick,F.Stead and Edith Haigh.Miss Alice Garlick sang"The Lost Chord" admirably and rec- eived a well earned encore.Miss Myrs Mitchell contributed "The Sign of the Cross" in a pleasing manner.The chapel choir gave sel- ections of music;accompanist Mr.J.W.Mellor.There was a good audi- ence,considering the inclemency of the weather.On Sunday the ann- ual presentation of prizes for good attendance took place Mr.Fen- ton Dawson presented the books to the 148 successful prizewinners
Meltham Wesleyans Sunday School
Two new classrooms for the accommodation of the young men's and young women's classes in connection with the Wesleyans Sunday School were formally opened on Saturday 7th Feb.1903 by Mrs William Roberts and Mr.Charles Kippax.Mr,George Matthewman presided.The new rooms have been comfortably seated,and will accommodate about 60 persons each.After the formal opening,the evening was spent in a social manner. I I
Meltham Wesleyan Methodists Chapel
On Saturday 5th July in the afternoon,six memorial stones were laid in connection with the new Wesleyan Chapel in Mill Moor road with the usual ceremonials.This was in 1884.
Opening of the New Chapel The foundation and corner stones having been layed on the 5th July 1884,and since then the work has proceeded very satisfact- orily,under the guidance of Mr.Shaw.The new chapel has been erected on a plot of land adjoining the old place worship,burial ground, and Sunday School,and arrangements have been made so that the scholars in the latter may go from the school into the chapel without having to go into the open air. The style of the architecture is classic,the outer wallsbeing of pitch faced rock stones with ashlar facings,brick lined,and the whole presents a very substantial appearance viewed from the out- Side.the building is 80ft long 64ft wide,and 32 feet from the ground floor toceiling.In the basement are three classrooms, entrance,staircase,heating apparatus and storerooms.The main entrance has two large doors opening into a spacious vestibule, witha window in the centre,which has the effect of making the en- trance both light and cheerful.On each side of the vestibule are the principal staircases for the gallery,which is supported by iron columes with enriched capitals.The gallery at both ends is circular in shape,this arrangement enabling the whole of the con- gregation to look towards the preacher.the rostrom is approached by two slightly winding fights of stairs,which are provided with iron balasters and hold mahogany handrails.The communion rail is Similar to that leading up to the rostrum,with iron standards of very neat design.Immediately behind is the minister's
Doors Open on New Methodist Church 18th June 1977
A new chapter in the history of Local Methodism began on Satur- day with the opening of a new church in Millmoor
Centenary Celebrations Saturday 9th Aug.1919
The Meltham Wesleyan Church held a "Children's Day"in con- nection with the above Church on Saturday.The scholars and friends met at the school in the afternoon where hymns were sung,accompanied by the Meltham Mills brass band,Mr.Alfred Pogson also gave an address.A large procession was then formed headed by the-band,and proceeded to Brighouse,where they ass- embled against the first house leading to Near Lane,in which the Wesleyan Party held services in 1815,and continued to hold them there until the chapel was built in 1819.Several old and favourite hymmns were sung,and Mr.James Pogson addressed the children.The procession then wended ots way to the Market Place. Here again hymns were sung,in which the crowed joined.Owing to the showery state of the weather,the route was not continued.At the school,tea was served.After tea,the weather having changed for the better,the programme was continued,and there was a pro- cession by way of Market Place,Lane Dyke,Calmlands,Bank Buildings Bankfoot Road to Meltham Mills,where a halt was made in Shady Row,at the house occupied by Mr.Joe Bastow.This was also a ren- dezvous of the Wesleyan Party in the good old days.Hymns were sung,and an address was given by Mr.Joe W.Quarmby.The procession then proceeded to Bowere Hill,where they again sang hymns.Mr.Ned Brook in an address referred to the cottage close at hand,now occupied by Mr. James Wm.Mellor,where the party held services as early as 1795,and also stated that it was in that neighbourhood where the first Wesleyan Sunday school was held.The party then adjourned to the co-operative fields,where an enjoyable evening was spent in races,games,etc.Mr.Foster Watson was responsible for the training of the children and acted as conductor both on the Saturday and Sunday.The band rendered selections in the field during the evening.The celebrations were continued on the Sunday following,when special services were held,The pracher was the Rev J.Douglas Brown(of Batley),who previously had rendered 40 years service in the Holmfirth Circuit.Collections were taken in aid of the Centenary Fund and realised £30.
Meltham Methodist Church Jubilee
The fiftieth anniversary of the opening of Meltham Methodist Church was celebrated during the week-end of 15th & 16th July 1936 The chapel was built in 1886,so that the old chapel erected in 1819,could be used as a Sunday School.The older building still serves that purpose. The celebrations began with a re-union service on Saturday aft- ernoon,taken by the minister.This was followed by a public tea at which about 300 were present.Mr.Keddie was the principal speaker at a Jubilee meeting in the church in the evening,when there was a fairly large congregation.The Chairman(Mr.Arthur Hirst) and other speakers recalled many happy memories by their reminiscences concerning personalities of days gone by. Meltham Methodists,said the chairman had a goodly heritage.The early workers for the church adhered to an old-fashioned faith which was brightened by the power of song.Referring to the church future,he said that it would be well if they could all say that like their predecessors,they were travelling along the road of plain living and high thinking. An address was given by the present minister,the Rev.Percival E.Cooper,who said that his term at Meltham had been the happiest in his ministry.He hoped that the faith which guided the early workers would once more be realised and that people would attend the church in numbers as large as were anticipated when the church was built. Rev.Keddie that his ministry at Meltham began in 1914 and ended in 1919.He was thus in charge of the church throughout the Great War.when he said time seemed to be held up.It was a period of great trial,and he felt stricken with grief whenever he looked back upon it. Meltham Methodist Church he went on had produced men who were a blessing to the neighbourhood,Methodism had done great work in the pasr-it had a brilliant record-but its work was not yet fin- ished.That interest in religion needed to be eccouraged,and older people should sympathise with the new out look on life,for in the younger generation of to-day rested the future of the church. Short addresses were also given by a number of former scholars, including Mr.Barton Moorhouse,Mr.Herbert Calam,Mr.Willie Pratt and Councillor F.W.Creaser. On Sunday Mr.Keddie was the preacher at both the morning and evening services.
Methodism in Meltham
The first record of Methodists meeting together in Meltham was in 1795 at a cottage occupied by Mr.James William Mellor at Bower Hill(now Beaumonts Garage) This cottage and one in Brighouse Fold(bottom of Station Street)where services were held from 1815 onwards.Cottage meetings were also held at Meltham Mills in a house in Shady Row(now pulled down). In 1797 a Methodist Society had been formed and the first chapel they built in 1819,is the building we now call the assembly rooms on Millmoor Road.(now up for sale) In 1850 saw the building of the first Sunday School in Sefton Lane, which was opened by the Rev.William Morley Panshon,then in 1884 the foundation stone was laid for a new chapel on the site of the old "Kitten Inn" to seat 720 people and was opened in 1886 at a cost of £4,000. The last service in the old chapel was on Feb.14th 1886,and on the following Wednesday Feb 17th 1886 the first service in the new chapel was held. On Sat 17th March 1928 Mrs
Meltham Bapti Church
In the year 1810,the Baptist Ministers of the Iluddersfield District,viz,: Kev. Robert Hyde,of Salendine Nook;Abraham Webster,of Pole
The Late Rev.Thomas I Baptist Minister The Rev,Thomas Thomas who died on September 29th,1870,in the 82nd year of his age.Was born in Oswestry,on November 17th 1788. within a mile or two of the Welsh border.His father was a small tradesman,who might have done better in his business,but for his adherence to dissent in religion,and his uncompromising advocacy of liberalism in politics.Not withstanding,he was held in that esteera usually accorded to men of decided character,and filled at least one office to which he was chosen by his townsmen,for a long period.His children had many advantages at a time when there was little general education,and an insatiable thirst for reading especially characterised the suject of the this sketch.Religion was then at a very low ebb in that locality,and the state of mor- als was bad amongst all classes.At that time the nation was ina State of excitement from the threatened invasion of the first Buonaparte;and amidst the drilling and parading,the beer drinking and dissoluteness,too common at such times,proved the ruin of many.Like the other youths of the neighbourhood,Mr.Thomas joined the volunteers.He has often spoken in later life with thankful- ness while that led into much that was evil,he was mercifully pre- served from many of the grosser sins into which his companions fell.After his conversion his volunteering caused him great unhap- piness,on account of the Sunday drilling,from which he might have been excused,but for his being the leading musician in the corps, and,though he had become a member of a Christian Church,he was unable to obtain his discharge.This lasted till the peace which followed the battle of Waterloo,when,the regiment being disbanded he was released from his unpleasant position.Before this time he had married,His father-in-law was a schoolmaster,from whom he had received much valuable instruction,and in whose schoolroom his first sermon was preached.About the same period,a speech he del- livered at a local meeting attracted the attention of the Rev.J. Whiieridge,Independent minister,who,with the greatest kindness, arranged for him to attend daily in his study,along with two yo- ung men he was preparing for the ministry.This means,though with out a regular collegiate training,he enjoyed in no slight degree the advantages of a liberal education. Mr.Tomas's religious convictions had been received amongst the Wesleyans,but he had not joined the society.He has often told other young men that his error was in not breaking off his old companions.As is often the case he had wished to save his soul,and continue his worldliness.When he did finally give his life to Gods service he saw,or thought he saw,reasons of a doctrinal character to prevent his joining with the body he would have wished,for his adherence to Baptist sentiments was the result of thoughtful con- sideration,and not of accidental association.Certainly he was the ferst Baptist of his family. Throughout Wales and the adjoining neighbourhood there were the many small chapels,with scattered congregations and no settled ministry.The villages arranged for such persons to preach as were accessible, sometimes three or more of the places engaging a min- ister and holding the services as he could make it convenient.For about seven years Mr.Thomas laboured in this manner in the dist- rict between Oswestry, Welshpool,and Shrewsbury;travelling every Sunday a distance of 15 or 20 miles,sometimes on horseback, but usually on foot,preching always in the morning and afternoon,and often in the evening,receiving small as he be- lieved,no doubt rightly,effecting much good;and working during the week for the maintenance of his family.In these labours his earlier manhood was passed. Finding his strength beginning to fail,more especially his eyesight being weakened,he sought to enter the regular ministry, and when he was 35 yrs of age was invited to the pastorate of the Baptist chapel,at Oldham,Lancs,where he also commenced school teaching.
The Late Rev.Thomas Thomas Cont.
After labouring there for nearly five years with some success, fe
_Laying of the Foundation Stone of the Baptist Chapel 25th December 1862
The foundation stone of a new Baptist Chapel was laid on Xmas- Day 1862 at Meltham.At 3.o0'clock in the afternoon a considerable number of people gathered on the spot,and the proceedings were commenced by the Rev.T.Thomas pastor of the church,giving out a hymn and engaging prayer. After this Mrs.H.Crowther of Lockwood proceeded to lay the stone,the Rev.T.Thomas. presenting to her in the name of the church a trowel for the purpose.Addresses appropriate to the occasion were delivered by Mr.Alfred Crowther,the Rev.J.Barker of Lockwood and H.Watts of Golcar.Prayers were offered and the doxology sung when the people adjourned to the school for tea. The plans had been prepared by Mr.John Kirk,architect,Hudders- field and the building is expected to cost £1,800 including goods and fenching.£1,200 had already been promished.
Opening of the New Baptist Chapel August 10th 1864
This place of worship was opened for divine service on Wednesday the 10th August 1864,on which occasion two sermons were preached afternoon and evening,by the Rev.Hugh Stowell Brown of Liverpool. The congregation on both occasions was very large,and the spacious building was well filled. The following is a description of the new chapel.The exterior dimensions are 64ft 6in by 46ft 6in. The entrance is by a flight of stone steps.The ground floor of the chapel 42ft by 42ft will seat 270 adults and all the pews radiate to the baptistry,which is semicircular.On the same floor are two vestries,each 21ft by 10ft.The gallery,calculated to seat 370 persons is approached from the groundfloor vestibule by two stone staircases.The style of the architecture is Italian,the front having two entrance doors,with a double fronticepiece,supported by six columns,with a staircase window on each side.The Upper part of the front consists of Two single light and one large two-light windows, with cornice,having a segmental pediment on two bold pilasters. The inscription and date are carved on a scroll in the pediment. The contractors were.Messrs Pogson,Holmes & Broadbent,masons; William Myers,joiner;James Wilkinson,plaster,Francis Goodall, plumber,gasfitter etc.Wm.Goodwin & Sons,slaters John Preston painter,John Kirk & Son's were the architects.
Opening of the new Meltham Baptist Chapel
The services in connection with the opening of the new Baptist Chapel were continued on Sunday 14th Aug.1864,the Rev.E.Parker of Farsley,preaching morning and afternoon,and the Rev.R.Green of Buxton-road Wesleyan Chapel,Huddersfield,in the evening.On Monday afternoon,the Rev.J.P.Chown,of Bradford,preached the closing ser- mon of the opening series.Collections were made at all the serv- ices in aid of the building fund,the amounts obtained being as follows:- Wednesday,Aug 10th afternoon and evening,£58 18s 7d; Sunday morning,£6 11s ld,afternoon,£14 4s ld,evening,£14 16s 63d; Monday afternoon,£16 5s 7d,making a total at these services of £110 15s 103d.This left a debt of £305 9s 2d.0On Monday evening,a public meeting was held,Alfred Crowther,Esq.,of Lockwood,in the chair;and addresses were delivered by the Revs George Taylor, (formerly of Meltham),J.Barker,Lockwood;Watts,Golcar;and messrs B Wood,Meltham; and George Walker,Longwood.During the evening it was resolved to make an effort to wipe off the debt at once and a subscription was commenced,papers being handed round,upon which persons wrote the amounts they were willing to give.The subscrip- tions amonted to the handsome sum of £380 5s 6d.The friends from a distance,and others who had before subscribed very liberally, again contributed munificent sums;among these were Messrs H.Crow- ther and Sons,Lockwood,£50;Messrs Joseph Walker and Sons,Lindley £50;Mr Josiah Berry,Lockwood,£50;and Mr.B.Wood £50.In addition to the subscription a collection was made,which realised £8 2s 4d, making together £388 7s 10d;this added to the previous collection made a total of £499 4s
Opening of the new Baptist Sunday School september Ilth 1866
The opening of the new Sunday School in connection with the Meltham Baptist Chapel,took place on Tuesday divine services were held in the chapel,the sermon being preached by Mr.Berry of Golcar.After the service a public Tea Party was held in the old school room,but the weather being an propitions,the attendance was not as large as expected.In the evening a public meeting was held in the same room which was well filled.Addresses were delivered by the Chairman Rev.T. Thomas,E.Holmes.Thos.Smith of Lockwood,G.Sykes of Helme and other friends.
Meltham Baptist Sunday School Saturday 6th Jan.1900
In place of the usual New Year motto cards the teachers of this school invited their scholars to tea on Saturday 6th Jan.in the schoolroom.Tea was served in the upper room,and in spite of the inclement weather a goodly number of persons availed themselves of this generous invitation.After tea a social meeting was held presided over by Mr John Pogson,the superintendemt.Recitations, songs and pianoforte solos were given by the scholars.A most interesting fearure of the meeting was the distribution of eigh- teen valuable Bibles,received from the trustees of the charity of Philip Lord Wharton,of Cheltenham.The Bibles were distributed by Mr W.H.Lewis,a student of Manchester Baptist College.In making the presentation,Mr Lewis very suitably addressed each recipient.
Meltham Baptist Re-opening Sunday 3rd April 1887
The Meltham Baptist Chapel after under going a thorough reno- vation was re-opened on Sunday the 3rd April 1887,when two sermons was preached by the Rev.J.Haslam of Gildersome.The singing was very good,and the sermons which were regarded as most appropriate were listened to by a large congregations,collections were made and about £32 was realized.The whole of the painting etc. was carried out by Messrs J.Preston and Sons with a result that reflected the highest credit of their workmanship.
Meltham Baptist Sunday School Stone Laying June llth 1910 On Saturday,five stones of the New Baptist Sunday School at Meltham were laid respectively by Mrs.J.Broadbent(whose connec- tions with the Sunday School and Church extends over 77yrs),Mr. John Pogson(Superintendent of the Sunday School),Mrs.A.T.Wood- head(Blackpool),Mrs.A.Hall(Golcar)and Mr.Sam Hirst(Milnsbridge) l5yrs ago the Baptists of Meltham voted £10 towards a school improvement fund. The need of a new Sunday School has long been felt,by different methods all entailing hard work and self-sacifice on the part of many,between £900 to £1,000 was raised towards the sum of £2,000 which was the estimated cost of alterations to the part of the original chapel which had accommodated a number of scholars,and the erection of a school above a row of cottages at Broadlands. It was decided on having raised nearly half the sum required for the carrying out of the work,to proceed with the erection,hence Saturdays ceremony,which was presided over by the Rev.W.K.Still, a former pastor of Meltham now at Pudsey.There were a large number of people present. Mr.W.Carter gave details of the accommodation,to be provided in the New School,and. the old building ,with which there will be communication.There will be an assembly room 36ft-30ft,two class- rooms,one above the other each 30ft-14ft6in and a room 36ft-3lft giving a floor space of 390 sq.yards. At the request of Mrs Broadbent,the Rev.Still laid a purse con- taining £6,which had been handed to him by her,on the stone she had laid. After tea,a meeting was held in the chapel,under the
Meltham Baptists Opening of New Sunday School Saturday May 13th 1911
Saturday May 13th was a red letter day in the history of the Baptist denomination at Meltham,for it was the occasion of the opening of new Sunday school premises which have been built at the expense of many years of self-sacrificing effort.The new schoolrooms adjoins the original chapel,and is adjacent to the present chapel.Several commodious cottages have been built,with a frontage to the roadway,and the schoolroom extends above then, and communicates with the old chapel alonside it.The total cost will be about £2,100 of which more than £1,500 has already been raised. Although the weather was unsettled,there was a good attendance at the opening ceremony in the afternoon.Thunder peals and threat of rain caused the outdoor ceremony to be some-what curtailed. Mr.Robert O'May presided,and after a hymn had been sung Mrs.Still wife of a former pastor,presented a gold key,suitably inscribed,to Mrs.T.A.Haigh,of Laurel Bank,who performed the opening ceremony. In the course of a short address,Mrs.Haigh congratulated those present on having such a builing to open.It was a proof of what could be done by hard work and united self-denying effort.As time went on old things and places must give way to new ones,and she dared say the older ones amongest them felt a few regrets when the old school was pulled down;but they let those regrets pass, and worked to provide the better accommodation needed.As old places must go,so must old people;but it was their duty and priv- ilege to see that young ones were made worthy to take their place She hoped that many of the young folks who would be taught in the school would become good Christian men and women,good ciizens and upholders of what is right.Reform was a word they heard a great deal of in the oresent day.Everything must be reformed and change from the House of Lords to the cricket clubs,and even the times they had to have their breakfasts must be changed.Reform might be good in its way;but was it not better to form well,to make a thing right at first;The best thing they could do was to form good characters and surely the right way to do that was to teach the young ones to love and obey that best guide of all.the Bible, the book which was to be given to the King on his coronation as his guide and the greatest possession of England,As the Bible had been pushed aside in many of their day schools,there was all the more need of Sunday school teaching,to help the children to form their characters and lives.They must not forget that boys and girls of to-day would become the men and women of the future,and it was the duty of the older people to lead them in the right way The success of an enterprise often all depended on making a good start.They had made a good start in building the school,which she had much pleasure in opening,and she wished it a long sphere of usefulness,both for educational and social purposes. The dedicatory address was delivered by the Rev.R.T.Handford of Loughborough.After congratulating the Meltham friends he said they were dedicating yhose premises to what Olive Schreiner had called it the greatest work in the world.If there was anything that fed his optimism in those days,when everything was said to be under acloud,it was that the church had discovered in a fash- ion never known before that its real work was the laying hold of the young life.But the new machinery started that day was not going to accomplish the work for which they had reared it unless they gave themselves with fuller devotion and higher enthusiasm to that work.He commended to them the idea of quickened enthusisa in their Sunday school work,because it was work of both a preven- tive and productive character.Four-fifths of their ministers, teachers and leaders in the church came from the Sunday school. They must strive to exert that power by examle and by influence. The Chairman welcomed the friends,from other districts who had returned in order to be present with them that day.The old chapel buildings had got into such a state of ill repair that the work
Opening of Baptists Sunday School cont could not be afficiently carried out in them.Thers being a work- ing class congregation the financial difficulty was a very great one,but after constant persistent,effort they had at last reached a point when they could proceed with the work.They felt that if they got the buildings they could go outside abd ask for help from the Christian community ariund them,and their appeal had been met in a most generous and friendly manner by both their Church of England and Wesleyan friends.He had been exceedingly pleased at the Christian spirit and charity which had been shown towards them in that enterprise.That fact had to himm personally been one of the greatest pleasures. Mrs Still wife of the late pastor of the church,expressed her pleasure at being associated with the ceremony,and especially her gratitude at the presence of Mrs.Haigh,who she said had a warm interest in her heart for the Baptists of Meltham Tea was afterwards provided,and a public meeting was held in the schoolroom in the evening Mr.J.Walmsley of Mirfield presided. During the evening the choir sang the anthem"I have surely built thee an house"The meeting closed with the singing of the Doxology. The total receipts at the opening services amounted to £100 Os 93d,which comprises subscriptions £40
Meltham Baptist Centenary Celebrations
Saturday and Sunday 14th & 15th June 1913
Re-union at Meltham Baptist Church The establishment of the Baptist cause at Meltham may be said to date from the 25th Aug.1813,when five persons were publ- icly baptized when they were immersed in the stream above New Bridge Mill,Along with three members transferred from the Baptist Church at Lockwood,they were constituted a church in Meltham, In the same year 1813,Mr.Thomas Shaw a well to do batchelor offered the members of the newly formed church a plot of ground situated at Broadlands on which to build a chapel.The building was com- menced in 1816,and opened in 1817.The history of the church since that year has been made the subject of an interesting centenary souvenir written by Mr.Stead Lunn,and published in readiness for use at that centenary celebrations and meetings which took place on Saturday & Sunday. The celebrations on Saturday consisted of a re-union of past and present members and friends at afternoon & evening meetings. In the afternoon,the Rev.W.K.Still pf Pudsey a former pastor preached.Of tea about 350 persons per took.A meeting was held in the chapel in the evening,at which the pastor the Rev.A.E.Bach presided.On the platform were also the Rev.James Alderson,South- port a former pastor,W.K.Still,George Archer,Lockwood and T.R. Lewis,Mrs Broadbent the eldest member of the church,Miss Kilburn Secretary,Mr.Joe Pogson,Manchester former Scholar and Messrs John Pogson and Z.Schofield(Deacons). Miss Kilburn said she had received some most interesting com- munications from old friends among the m Mrs Varley,St.Annes,Mr. Thomas Shaw,West Philadelphia,Mre Street,Philadelphia,Mrs James Shaw,Philadelphia,Mrs J.W.Waterhouse,Mr.J.W.Kenworthy,Sutton, West Canada,Mr.Geo.Cuttell,Canada,Mr.J.W.Dobson,Nelson,New Zea- land,Mrs Wm Thomas,Hounslow,Middlesex and other.She also read out a list of donations from friends in the colonies and at home,which a mounted to about £21 1s and added that other donations were expected from many other friends.
Welcome Home The chairman offered a welcome home to all present.He partic- ulary referred in the presence of the Rev.J.Alderson and W.K.Still whose ministrations,he said had made the people of Meltham respect and love the Baptist ministry.He personally had been with them nearly twelve months and the year had been a happy one for him. Both his wife and himself had received nothing but kindness and their affection for the place was so strong that he was afraid there would be difficulty turning them out.He painted a amusing wordpicture of what might happen at the bi-centenary celebrations and said that whatever the future might have in store he wished them to realise that that re-union was a call of God to each one of them. The Rev.James Alderson who commenced the ministry at the Church nearly 40 yrs ago,and stayed for 13yrs and he recognised many dear old friends and some others that he used to nurse as babies. He would always remember Meltham because there he commenced his ministry,and here as far as religion work was concerned he met his first love.Although he was very pleased to return to the place where his next pastorate began,he would always have a feel- ing towards his first church,which he could never entertain in regard to the second.Like most ministers he made mistakes.When he came to Meltham it was not only the people,but the surrounding country that appealed to him.The country around always charmed him.When he came to the church as a young man he could not have received more sympathy than he did from Benjamin Wood and John
Broadbent two old decons whose memory he would always revere,
Meltham Baptists Centenary Celebrations cont
Reviewing the religous movements of the past hundred years he said that he believed there was less secterian bitterness than formerly,more freedom of speech and of thought in the Baptist Church.In regard to the future he urged them to try to make the church a live church,and to cultivate the Christian Spirit. Mr.Joe Pogson said that to him the present building at the opening of which £2,000 was raised in order that it might be opened free of debt,was a standing recognition of the patient earnest effort of those men and women who made sacrifices in a noble cause.They could look forward with confidence to the fut- ure because of their history. The Rev.W.K.Still who commenced his ministry at Meltham in 1902,and laboured for seven years said that they must make the most of the present.Their Cebtenary services were important gatherings,for they served to remind them of how much they had to be thankfull for.Their forefathers commenced the work at Meltham very much in the nature of a risk;and yet when they looked back upon the work they could say that it had been a unqualified success.It might be a commonplace thing to say,but he urged them to maintain public worship upon a high level.If he had to return to work in Meltham he would try to put the children in their proper places in the work of the church.He would pay more atten- tion to the work of the Sunday school.He urged them to put their best efforts into the work. Other addresses were given by the Revs G,Archer Lockwood and Thomas R.Lewis Mrs Broadbent and Mr Z.Schfield. On Sunday sermons were preached by the Rev.James Alderson. Special music was sung by the choir,and collections were taken in aid of the church fund.
Meltham Baptist 150th Jubilee Celebrations June 10th 1963
This week-end marks the 150th year in the histoty of Meltham Baptist Church. The minister,the Rev.J.P.Hickerton said “this is a record of outstanding achievement which has been attained by devoted Christians both ministers and lay people,both men and women,by the help by the Grace of God. There have been outstanding historical landmarks over the 150 years.The church was started with eight members in 1813 as the result of a mission by three neighbouring ministers.In 1816 a Simole chapel was erected by voluntary labour on a very stony piece of ground given by Mr.Thomas Shaw. In 1832 a Sunday School was built at a cost of £105 15s 14d. It must have been a great day for the Church when the new church was opened on August 10,1864.It was a large and commodious build- ing and it was a day of great joy and happiness.The generosity of the people was such that with collections of the day the cost of £2,000 was entirely met. Then a commodious "Manse" was built in 1882 at a cost of £1,000 The Sunday School was sadly in need of repair and the new Sunday School was begun in 1910.It was opened on Saturday,May 13th 1911, when the late Mr.Robert O'May presided.The dedicatory address was given by the Rev.R.T.Handford of Loughborough.Since it cost £2,500 the raising of the money was no mean feat. After the First World War the chuch raised £1,575 for a new organ,the money being raised in a remarkably short space of time. The organ was opened by Mrs Varley. During the 150 years the church has been well served by its ministers.The longest pastorate was that of the Rev.Thomas Thomas who ended his ministry in Meltham in 18/70 after 40 years.He was a man of outstanding piety and devotion and did much to build up the church.He supplemented his small salary by keeping a small private school. Others outstanding of the older ministers were the Rev.James Alderson and the Rev.W.K.Still.The former was a man of great hom- iletic skill and deep piety,and Mr.Still experienced a very fruit- ful and popular ministry. The church has been well supported by a long succession of de- voted lay people.Many services have been given which are not
Meltham War Memorial
On Saturday 2nd April 1921 a large congregation assembled in St.Bartholomew's Church,Meltham,to witness the unveiling and dedication of a stone Memorial Tablet errected to the memory of 98 Meltham men who gave their lives for their country during the war.The tablet was designed by Mr.E.W.Lockwood,of Armitage Bridge and executed by Mr.Edgar Lockwood,of Meltham.The wording on the tablet is as follows:- 1914 In Memory of the Fallen 1918. Then follow 98 names.
War Memorial Unveiling Ceremony at Meltham Mills Parish Church 14th Aug.1921
St James's Church,Meltham Mills,was moderately well filled on Sunday afternoon when the Parochial War Memorial was unveiled and and dedicated.It is in the form of a memorial brass tablet to Second-Lieut.Arthur Chas.Brook.1/5th Manchester Regt.,and 23 men of Meltham Mills Church and Parish who gave their lives in the war.The vicar (the Rev.A.C.Goulden) officiated.A special order of service was used,and the opening sentences were sung to music ar- ranged by Mr.Chas.A.Berry (organist).Appropriate prayers were of- fered,and Psalm 121 was sung.The lesson was read by Mr.T.J.Hirst, from Book of Wisdom,chap.3,verses 1-10,after which the Te Deum was sung.Then followed the unveiling and dedication of the tablet which was performed by Major C.J.Hirst,M.C.,who,after he head done so,read out the 24 names inscribed thereon.The "Last Post" was then sounded by Mr.Matthew H.Kaye.The anthem"Blest are the Departed" was rendered by the choir. A short address was delivered by the vicar,who said that they were there to mourn the loss of those brave lads,but it was their loss and not the loss of those who had been taken from them.They had the assertion that those who had passed away from this life were not dead,in that Christ said God was not the God of the dead but of the living. The tablet spoke to them of duty nobly done even unto death, and to keep those at home from hurt by cruel foes;maimed abd bro- ken,yet they were full of cheer,bright and happy souls.It was wonderful.Some returned no more;they offered their greatest sac- rifice.The memorial should ever remind them that they had great things to do,and excellent examples to follow,in those gallant lads who did so much for them and for mankind. A most beautiful and reverent service was brought to a close by the pronouncing of the blessing by the vicar.
The names of the men who lost their lives in the 1939-1945 war were added at a dedication ceremony on Sun 5th Oct.1958.
Wilshaw War Memorial and Roll of Honour
On Saturday afternoon 4th Nov.1921 a solemn and impressive ceremonial of unveiling and dedicating the Memorial Tablet and Roll of Honour at Wilshaw Parish Church took place in the presence of a very reverent congregation.The memorial tablet has been executed by Messrs Wippell and Co. of Exeter,and the names there- on are in black letters on white marble,with a large black marble tablet for the background.It is fixed inside the church against the north wall. The wording is as follows;"In honoured memory of the boys of this parish who made the supreme sacrifice in the Great War.1914-1918.Edwin Spencer,Rufus Crampton,Edgar H.Beaumont, Leonard Manchester,Harold Schofield.Greater love hath no man than this that a man lay down his life for his friends-St.John 15,v.13 The roll of honour hangs in the church porch,and has been ex- ecuted by J.F.Spratt(of Victoria Lane,Huddersfield)It bears the names of 5 who served their king and country in the great war, which appeare in gilt letters on a beautifully ornamental wood tablet.A printed order of service was provided,and the prayers were offered by the vicar(the Rev.W.Hope Gill)The lessons were read by Mr.H.J.Hirst from the book of Wisdom,chap.3,v,1-10,and
Helme Memorial Unveiled
On Sunday the 28th March 1920 a large congregation assembled in the pretty little church of Helme to witness the unveiling of a brass tablet which has been erected to the memory of eighteen men who had given their lives for their country during the 1914 1918 war.The tablet was designed by Sir Reginald Blomfield,and the work carried out by Messrs W.Bainbridge Reynolds,Ltd. of London.The wording is as follows:-"To the glory of God,and in memory of the officers,non-com.officers,and men from this parish who gave their lives for their country during the great war,1914 18"Then follow the names of the men. The unveiling ceremony was performed by Mr.C.L.Brook of Hare- wood Lodge(in the unavoidable absenceof Major E.Lindesay Fisher) The "Last Post" was sounded by Mr.M.H.Kaye.Prior to the unveiling there was a most impressive service,consisting of suitable pray- ers,lessons,and hymns,and an address by the vicar(the Rev.John Dunbar),who in the course of his remarks stated that out of 109 men from the parish who went to the war 18 failed to return and he laid upon the younger members of the congregation and parish as a devout and grateful duty to see that on the anniversary of the signing of peace in the years to come a laurel wreath was placed upon the tablet in loving memory of the brave men who had sacrificed their lives. I