The following is the OCR text of a book and will likely contain conversion errors. This page is designed to be indexed by search engines. Click on a page number to view the book in your web browser.
Please note that the text is not in the Public Domain and should not be reproduced further without the express permission of the copyright holder or their estate.
- licence: CC BY-NC 4.0
Stiff Shackles and Loose Pulleys
The Beerhouses and Inns of Meltham
Written and compiled by Dave Pattern of Huddersfield Exposed for Meltham Walkers are Welcome
Version 1.0.5 Last updated on 22 December 2020
The most recent version of this document can be found at: https://huddersfield.exposed/melthampubs
This text of this document is released under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License (CC BY-NC 4.0): https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/4.0/
You are free to:
e Share — Copy and redistribute the material in any medium or format. e Adapt — Remix, transform, and build upon the material.
Under the following terms:
e Attribution — You must give appropriate credit, provide a link to the license, and indicate if changes were made. You may do so in any reasonable manner, but not in any way that suggests the licensor endorses you or your use. e Non-Commercial — You may not use the material for commercial purposes. e No additional restrictions — You may not apply legal terms or technological measures that legally restrict others from doing anything the license permits.
This document is an attempt to expand upon previous lists of beerhouses and inns in the area that was historically the township of Meltham. Only the 30 known premises that existed within the township boundary marked on the first series Ordnance Survey maps (surveyed in the late 1840s and published in 1854) are
Whenever possible, contemporary source documents were used for the research. In particular, a check of the entire available Meltham census returns for the years 1841, 1851, 1861 and 1871 was undertaken to identify individuals connected to a licensed premises or to the brewing trade. The 18 century parish records for both Almondbury and Meltham were also checked.
Although hopefully this document will help to provide new information to those interested in the history of drinking establishments in the Meltham area, it should not be regarded as authoritative and further research will hopefully fill in some of the following gaps:
1) Details for the alehouses and inns in the Meltham area prior to the early 1800s remain sketchy at best — partly due to the lack of a dedicated newspaper for the Huddersfield area and to the Meltham’s remoteness. In particular, the names of the
The starting point for the research was the list of “Public Houses in Meltham a Hundred Years Ago”, included as Appendix VI in Richard Orton’s The Story of Meltham (published 1977), which in turn was based on what is believed to have been a local newspaper article published in the 1930s or 1940s. In turn, that article was based on earlier lists whose origin 1s uncertain.
Orton’s list was later amended by Ken Oldfield in the 1990s.* A further list, containing details of where each premises were located, is held by the Huddersfield & District Family History Society (www.hdfhs.org.uk).
The following online sources were also used for the research, which was undertaken between 2016 and 2018:
e Contemporary local newspaper reports (via FindMyPast and Gale) e Census and Parish Records (FindMyPast and Ancestry) e Licence Registers (Ancestry)
Local pub historian Dave Green’s Huddersfield Pubs (published 2007) contains brief entries for 6 premises in Meltham.
Portions of the Ordnance Survey Yorkshire 260 map (published 1854) are reproduced with the permission of the National Library of Scotland:
Corrections and Additions
The earliest Licence Registers from the 1770s and 1780s give only the names of the licensee and those providing the sureties (usually other licence holders), and were recorded for the historic area of “Meltham
The 1803 Register shows that there were two licensed premises in the centre of Meltham and one at the very north-western edge of the township at Holt Head’, on the boundary with the townships of Lingards and Linthwaite.
The earliest parish records found relating to Meltham innkeepers are for James Garlick (1730s and 1740s) and Joseph Eastwood (1750s). Both families appear to have run their respective inns for over a century, by which time a large number of beerhouses had opened in the township due to the liberalism of the Beerhouse Act of 1830.
Allen Hollingworth is named as a brewer of Greensend in church register entries for the death of a son (possibly named Aaron) in January 1759 and then in January 1765 when his son Alan was baptised. He died in January 1776 and was buried at St. Bartholomew. His widow, Betty, who took over his licence, likely died in May 1801. Their great-grandson John Hollingworth built the Railway Hotel in 1867.’
James Taylor is named as a brewer of Meltham Mill Moor in the baptismal record for his daughter Mary on 2 May 1761 and is almost certainly the innkeeper of the same name recorded in the Licence Register. He likely died in August 1783 but the name of his inn was not found during research.
Halifax brewer Timothy Bentley (1768-1830) is believed to have moved to Meltham circa 1793 before purchasing land at Lockwood where he established a brewery using the water from Horsebank Spring. Opened in 1795, the Lockwood Brewery passed down through his family and the firm of Bentley & Shaw (formed c.1843). According to some sources, Timothy Bentley may have been a brewer in Meltham during the short period he resided in the
Traditionally, ale had been regarded as a healthy and nutritious drink and, in the early 1800s, many in the growing temperance movement preached against spirits whilst espousing the benefits of moderate ale drinking. William Hogarth’s prints “Gin Lane” and “Beer Street” (both 1751) juxtapose the social evils of gin with the merits of beer.
William Hogarth ’s “Gin Lane” (1751).
Although it seems unlikely that Meltham was plagued by an abundance of gin palaces, there is some evidence that gin was readily available in the town and consumed by the poor. In 1839, an inquest was held at the Fleece Inn on the body of itinerant hawker George Taylor (aged 42)
“whose death was occasioned by the excessive drinking of
Beerhouses in Meltham
In 1833, the cotton manufacturing firm of Jonas Brook & Brothers, Meltham Mills, was asked to respond to a list of questions set by the Royal Commission on Employment of Children in From their response to the final question, it would seem that a number of beerhouses had already been established in the Meltham area:
We take leave to observe, that the law allowing beer shops has a most injurious effect on the morals of the labouring people in this neighbourhood.
In 1837, Huddersfield magistrates issued the following regulations for the
In April 1855, Charles John Brook was appointed a parochial constable for Meltham*' and promptly set about trying to reduce the levels of drunkenness in the town — a struggle he reportedly compared to Hercules’ Fifth Task of cleaning the Augean
Sedgwick soon made himself busy, with successful prosecutions for public drunkenness and for serving alcohol during prohibited hours recorded during the following weeks. However, he became the target of local troublemakers who pelted him with stones during his rounds and, in late March, “no less than eight panes of glass were deliberately broken” at his
As with the “gin craze”, history repeated itself and the increase in beer consumption from the mid-1840s
1820s 1830s 1840s 1850s 1860s 18/70s 1880s 1890s 1900s 1910s 1920s
The increasing influence of the Temperance Movement in the late 1800s meant that it became ever harder for beerhouse keepers to obtain the more lucrative full “public house” licence and reportedly only one such licence was issued between 1840 and 1900 in Meltham.
Farmer John Sykes of Helme unsuccessfully applied for a licence at the 1874 Upper Agbrigg Licence Sessions. Although the exact location of his premises was not stated, it was reportedly more than a mile from the New Inn (aka Wills o’ Nats).
Meltham grocer Charlie Roberts was granted a wine and spirits off-licence at the 1884 Upper Agbrigg Licence In 1886, permission was granted for Roberts to transfer the licence to a new premises at Greens End. This licence was subsequently transferred to Allen Hollingworth (1896) and then Edwin Schofield Mellor (1897).
Edwin Schofield Mellor of Hollingworth Green was unsuccessful at the 1899 Sessions in his attempt to upgrade his wines and spirits off-licence to one that would allow the sale of bottled beer. His licence lapsed at the 1900 Sessions.
At the 1903 Sessions, Lindley chemist ‘Thomas Needham was refused an off-licence to sell wine at the shop he owned in Meltham Market Place.
Further Parliamentary legislation in 1904 introduced a levy on all licences that was then used to compensate licence holders and landlords/breweries who chose to (or where forced to) close their premises. For example, the Cat Inn closed on 29 December 1938 and was awarded compensation of
The Meltham & Meltham Mills Temperance Society
The first Temperance Society in England was formed in Bradford by Quaker philanthropist and businessman Joseph Rowntree in 1830.
At the local level, the Huddersfield Chronicle reported in November 1852 that the Meltham & Meltham Mills Temperance Society (formed circa 1842 at the Baptist Chapel on Mean Lane) was “in a flourishing condition [and were] exerting themselves to institute a Band of Hope””’:
If the temperance cause does not flourish in the place, it certainly cannot be for lack of active exertions on the part of the
LICENSED PREMISES IN MELTHAM
The following is believed to be a transcription of a local newspaper article that was published prior to 1950, although the source has yet to be identified:*'
MELTHAM 100 YEARS AGO
The young folk of the present day will be rather surprised at the long list of beerhouses which then existed, and the clean sweep which has been made of many of them. Beginning at Meltham Mills there was the ANTWERP at David Buildings; THE LIFEGUARD at Higher Bent Ley; JIMMY JOHNSON at Acre Side; SMITH’S at Thickhollins; THE LOOSE PULLEY at Bank Buildings; THE BROWN COW on Bower Hill; THE BLACK HORSE where the N.F.S. rooms are; THE WAGGON and HORSES; THE CHERRY where Wallace’s shop now stands; THE ROSE and CROWN Market Place; THE SWAN Market Place; another at the shop occupied by Mr. Charles Taylor, watchmaker; THE VICTORIA at the bottom of New Road; THE SKYLARK in Wessenden Head Road; THE O’ COT now called Wentworth House; THE BELL Greens End; TH ‘OWD PIG in Etherd Fold; THE CAT INN, THE KITTEN INN where the Methodist now stands; THE FLEECE now called VICTORIA HOTEL; THE BOG and RAT in Brighouse Fold; another in Slaithwaite Road; THE TRAVELLERS REST Meltham Moor; THE LAMB INN Holthead; WILL’S O NATS and Hy. Frances at Blackmoorfoot; BLACK GOOSE at Spark Green; THE STIFF SHACKLE kept by Nancy Knight in Stove Row, Greens End; DOB HOILE at Greenside; THE RAILWAY HOTEL has since been rebuilt; LUCKY kept by owd Walt the late town’s pinder, an amusing incident is still remembered in connection with this place:—
A few Meltham worthies once called to taste Owd Walts brew, and after a while they asked what the ‘shot’ was. Walt remarked in his usual quaint style “The barrel were full when yo started, aw doant known what yoan had, but aw can tell yo’ when its empty.”
So that finishes the list, bringing the total to 31; there are now about 8 or 9.
The watchmaker named in the article is Charles Albert Taylor (1862-1949) who is listed in the 1939 Register as a watchmaker and jeweller of 18 Wessenden Head Road. Therefore, the article must predate his death in 1949.
The list omits the New Inn beerhouse on Mill Moor Road which opened in the 1860s, however this was located in the same property as the earlier beerhouse known as The Kitten.
Richard Orton presumably used a copy of the article to compile his list of 28 premises which 1s included as Appendix VI of The Story of Meltham (1977), although his list introduces some errors and omissions.
The list has also been annotated by other Meltham historians (including Ken Oldfield), although several of the beerhouses named do not appear in available Licence Registers or in contemporary newspaper reports accessible via online archives.
Richard Orton’s list is reproduced below:
Name The Antwerp The Life Guard Jenny Johnson’s Smith’s The Loose Pulley The Brown Cow The Black Horse The Waggon and Horses The Cherry Tree The Rose and Crown The Swan The Victoria 13. The Skylark 14. Th’ O’ Cot 15. The Bell 16. Th’ Owd Pig 17. The Cat Inn 18. The Kitten 19. The Fleece 20. The Bog and Rat 21. The Traveller’s Rest 22. The Lamb Inn 23. Wills O’ Nats and Henry Francis” 24. The Black Goose 25. Lucky 26. The Stiff Shackle 27. Bob Hoile 28. The
1. Antwerp (Meltham Mills)
approximate O.S. grid ref SE 1084 1079
Reportedly situated at David Buildings, Meltham
2. Kings Life Guard / Life Guardsman (Bent Ley)
O.S. grid ref SE 10835 1091
Other known licensees include Francis Reynard (1851 Census), Joseph Crossley (by 1854), Joseph Bastow’s widow Martha (by 1857) until her death in 1864, and then her son-in-law Richard Wheatley Hirst. The premises was still open in 1868, but is believed to have closed prior to the 1871
3. Friendship Inn / Jimmy
4. Smiths / Oddfellows Arms? (Thick Hollins)
O.S. grid ref SE 1073 1015
Reportedly situated at what is now 19 Thick Hollins, indicated below on the 1854 O.S. map:
5. Loose Pulley (Mill Bank Road)
O.S. grid ref SE 1045 1029
The most likely entries found during research were for widow Betty Walshaw (née Taylor) who was named as a beer shop keeper of Mill Bank when she married blacksmith Charles Graham in December 1839. Pigot’s 1841 directory named Charles as a beer retailer of
Whilst very unusual, at least one other beerhouse in the West Riding of Yorkshire is known to have used the same name. Once situated north of Halifax on Cold Edge Road, Oxenhope Moor, the Delver’s — also known as the Loose Pulley — served the workers of the stone quarry situated on the other side of the road. The name perhaps suggests a link to the pulleys and chains used by the delvers to lift large blocks of stone.
As there are no quarries on Mill Bank Road, the name is more likely a reference to a method of powering machinery in mills and factories. A main rotating shaft would be connected to the machinery using a system of pulleys and leather belts. The “loose pulley” (also known as the “idler”) allowed an individual machine to be stopped whilst the main shaft was still rotating. Therefore, the name might be a nod to the fact that mill workers would have to use the loose pulley before ending their shift and going for a pint.
a Several devices have been employed for the purpose of rapidly en- gaging and disengaging machines from the driv- ing shaft. The best of all are the fast and loose pulleys, with a travelling strap. Thus, in fig. 217, a is the driving shaft, acting upon two pulleys e and d, fixed on the driving spindle of the machine 6; one of them, d, is keyed fast, and the other runs loose. When the machine is at work the strap is on the fast pulley d, and when it is necessary to stop, it is moved by a forked lever on to the loose pulley e, which revolves with the strap without acting on the machine. The machine is thrown into gear with equal ease by moving the strap on to the fast pulley d.
6. Brown Cow (Bower Hill)
approximate O.S. grid ref SE 1016 1066 A beerhouse reportedly situated nearly opposite the Black Horse.”
The approximate location on the 1854 O.S. map is shown below although it is not known exactly which property the beerhouse was situated in and the site is now mostly modern residential properties:
7. Black Horse (Town Bottom)
O.S. grid ref SE 1014 1068
Reportedly situated at Town Bottom, Meltham, on the other side of the road from the Brown Cow.
8. Waggon & Horses (Town Gate)
This inn was opened prior to 1830, with Samuel Siddall named as the innkeeper in the trade directory of that year. The inn’s location took advantage of the recently completed Lockwood & Meltham Turnpike which had opened up a direct route from Meltham to Huddersfield.
Following Samuel’s death in 1833, his younger brother Jonas took over although he died a few years later and his widow Charlotte then became the licensee. She then married clothier Benjamin Armitage of Helme in January 1839 —a noteworthy marriage as it was the first ever to be performed at St. Bartholomew’s
George had left for America by the early 1850s — possibly after a criminal conviction — and unfortunately the other two had no means of contacting him. In his absence, they granted a seven year lease of the inn to brewer Abraham on 1 April 1874 at an annual rent of £36. A few months later, John (son of Jonas) died and left his one-third share to be split between his father-in-law Benjamin Armitage and his half-sister Sarah Armitage (c.1839-?).
George Siddall returned unexpectedly from America in early 1875 and claimed his one-third of the property, but strongly objected to the others having leased the entirety of the inn to Abraham Knight in his absence. Rather than take his £12 share of the annual rental income, he instead placed his one-third inheritance up for auction in June 1875 where it was purchased by Alexander Walker for £600. George then returned to his wife Sarah and children in America where he died in 1901.”
Perhaps unimpressed that his investment would only bring him a meagre return of £12 per year, Walker began legal proceedings against John Siddall Bannister, Benjamin Armitage and his daughter Sarah, in an attempt to force them to sell the inn and then divide the profits according to their respective shares. In return, the other parties argued that the inn should instead be partitioned so that Walker could take possession of one-third “in such a manner as to cause the least annoyance to Abraham Knight”. A further complicating factor was that Knight had spent around £100 on improvements to the inn.
The outcome of the case was that the High Court that the inn should be placed up for sale.
TO BE SOLD BY AUCTION (pursuant to an order of the High Court of Justices, Chancery Division [...] All that Valuable Stone-built FREEHOLD PUBLIC-HOUSE, known by the name of the Waggon and Horses Inn, situate at Meltham, in the Parish of Almondbury, the county of York, with the three-stalled Stable and Hayloft over same, and other Outbuildings thereto belonging, in the occupation of the said Henry
The premises was likely acquired at the auction by Lockwood brewery Bentley & Shaw Ltd. (who are listed as the owners in the 1879 Licence Register). In the 20th century, ownership passed to Hammonds of Bradford (1960s) and to Bass Ltd. (1970s).
The other recorded licensees of the premises include Timothy Bamforth (by 1857), David Cairns (by 1861), Thomas Shaw (by 1870), Henry Hirst (by 1877), Schofield Booth (1891), Percival Radcliffe (1913), Sarah Elizabeth Radcliffe (1921), Fred Bottomley (1930), Lewis Mosley (1934) and Harold Cadwell (1942).
9. Cherry Tree (Town Gate) O.S. grid ref SE 1000 1062
A beerhouse reportedly situated on Town Gate at what is now 19 Huddersfield Road (as of 2017, occupied by Country Flowers).
Prior to the First World War, the frontages of the two buildings that are now 17 and 19 Huddersfield Road were set back several feet from the neighbouring properties.
10. Rose & Crown (Market Place)
O.S. grid ref SE 1002 1060
Opened as a fully-licensed premises by 1840, the first innkeeper is believed to have been master butcher and farmer John Bray, whose father-in-law James Redfearn was the innkeeper of the neighbouring Waggon & Horses. According to one newspaper report, it was also known as Bray’s o’ Meltham.”
In August 1848, Bray’s 68-year-old mother was visiting from Golcar when she slipped on the cellar steps and “her head was severely cut and bruised”. Sadly, she died within a few minutes of the accident.”
Auctions were frequently held at the inn. On 6 July 1853, 17 lots “of most eligible freehold building-land” on the south side of Mill Bank Road were auctioned and most likely purchased by Charles Brook of Meltham Mills. The land was used for his Bank Buildings, designed by Huddersfield architect Charles Pigott Pritchett (1818-1891). It 1s believed that the Loose Pulley beerhouse was previously situated on the land.
The first sod of the Meltham Branch Line was cut near Folly Dolly Falls in April 1864 by Charles Brook of Meltham Hall. After the ceremony ended, “between 20 and 30 gentlemen proceeded to the house of Mr. John Bray, the Rose and Crown Inn, where they sat down to a first-class
In late June 1864, a one-mile trotting match between one of John Bray’s horses and one belonging to brewer Seth Senior of Shepley was held at Thongsbridge. Despite Bray’s horse having the most favourable odds, Senior’s won by “about half a
11. Shoulder of Mutton / Swan Inn (Market Place)
O.S. grid ref SE 0997 1059
Parish records from the 1730s and 1740s name butcher James Garlick as an innkeeper of Meltham, although he seemingly died at a relatively young age (his last child being baptised in 1745). Although there are no records from the 1700s which confirm this beyond doubt, it is believed he kept the Shoulder of Mutton, which was a common name for an inn run by a butcher.
By the 1760s, James’ son James was named as a brewer and butcher of Meltham. The sons of this James include John and James, the latter being the James Garlick who is mentioned in the Rev. Hughes’ book The History of the Township of Meltham (1866).
An advertisement for an auction of land in 1785 named Anthony Garlick as an innkeeper of
John (junior) married Martha Taylor in 1840 and the 1841 Census for the Swan implies that Jonas’ son James (i.e. John’s nephew) was serving an apprenticeship as a butcher.
In 1843, John Gunior) was assaulted by Matthew Waterhouse, who resided at the Cat Inn and who was the cousin of its licensee John Waterhouse. Matthew was convicted and spent a month at the Wakefield House of Correction.
The Garlick family’s links to the inn appear to have ended in 1846. In March of that year, the premises was advertised for let:
TO BE LET, and may be entered to on or before the First May next, all that old-established and well-accustomed INN, known by the sign of the SWAN, with the Barn, Stable, Outbuildings, and Conveniences occupied therewith, situated in the centre of the Village of Meltham ; together with nearly Six Acres of Grass Land, in a high state of Cultivation near thereto. The situation is decidedly the best in Meltham, and presents a favourable Opportunity to an active and respectable Tenant, who by proper Attention would command a good general Business. The Fixtures and Tenant Right in Land to be valued. Mr. John Garlick, the present
By March 1860, the landlord was Joseph Green and, by January 1863, it was John Hollingworth and his wife Alice. The landlord from circa 1866 to 1877 was Joseph Knight, whose father had been the licensee of the Shepherds Inn and whose brother Sampson had been the keeper of the Brown Cow beerhouse. Joseph later became the landlord of the George Hotel
at Heckmondwike but committed suicide there in June 1886 (“he had been depressed through bad health”).
Later licence transfers include: John C. Teale (c.1877) [a former architect and surveyor from Wooldale], Charles William Hirst (1883) [previously the landlord of the Railway Hotel], Mary Elizabeth Hirst (1896), Bland Brook (1916), John William Robinson (1925), Herbert Haigh (1928), Albert Dyson (1932), Mary Dyson (1934), Hildred Platts (1934), Lawrence Hirst (1939), William Henry Carter (1944), Henry Cross (1955), Louie Cross (1956), Harry Fielding Rushworth (1963), James Hudson (1964), and George Horner (1965).
Ownership of the premises in the 20th century passed from Seth Senior & Sons Ltd. of Shepley, to Fountain Brewery of Bradford, and to Bass Ltd. by the 1970s.
12. Victoria (Lane Dike)
approximate O.S. grid ref SE 0998 1055
A beerhouse which presumably closed prior to the refurbished Golden Fleece re-opening as the Victoria Hotel in the mid to late 1860s.
The premises was reportedly situated at Lane Dike, in what later became the car park of the (now closed) Lloyds Bank branch, accessed from Wessenden Head Road. Ordnance Survey maps indicate that the property was probably demolished between 1965 and the late 1970s.
13. William IV / Shepherds Inn / Skylark (Wessenden Head)
O.S. grid ref SE 0978 1033
This premises reportedly opened in the late 1830s (certainly by 1838) although it was initially called the William IV with the licensee named as James Taylor.
The passage of the Beerhouse Act of 1830 during his reign led to a large number of premises being named after the monarch, particularly following his death in June
White’s Directory of 1854 names John Knight as the landlord. He appears in the 1851 Census as an “agricultural labourer & beer seller” of Town Street (possibly the Cherry Tree). In January 1855, the licence was transferred from John (who later died in December 1858) to his son Sampson Knight.
Sampson was subsequently convicted of several offences, including permitting gambling, and the magistrates at the 1859 Brewster Session decided not to renew the licence in his name. Instead, it was transferred to the unnamed owner of the property who was described as a “poor woman” whose only income was the rental income on the property. Sampson went on to be the keeper of the Brown Cow beerhouse in Meltham.
The 1861 Census records Sampson’s widow mother Nancy as the innkeeper. In August 1863 she was fined 2s. 6d. plus expenses for “entertaining company on Sunday during prohibited hours”.
By December 1864, the landlord was John Woodhead who was fined 18 shillings for “permitting gaming in his house”. Police Constable Rogers had been walking past the Shepherds Inn when he heard the distinctive sound of dice being rattled from inside. Woodhead’s wife appeared in court, claiming that “there was a deal of raffling going on up and down this Christmas in almost every public house” and that the dice were being rolled to decide who would win a piece of cheese. However, the magistrates felt this still constituted gambling.
The inn continued to attract troubled landlords and customers, and was described as being “a retreat for gamblers and the worst characters of the community”. Being situated close to the parsonage, the Rev. E.C. Watson complained that “during the four years he had lived at
Meltham, he had never seen a decent working man enter the [Shepherds
14. Th’ o’ Cot (Wentworth House)
O.S. grid ref SE 0907 1004
15. Bell (Greensend)
approximate O.S. grid ref SE 0991 1059
According to the list held by the Huddersfield & District Family History Society, this beerhouse was situated at Greensend on the site now occupied by 5 Greens End Road. The boundary wall of the current property incorporates a stone window frame from the original St. Bartholomew’s Chapel and marks the former location of the town’s pinfold.
The possible location on the 1854 O.S. map is shown below:
Joseph and Mary Ann’s son Allen Crosland (c.1840-1901) continued to run the property as a lodging house before opening it as a grocery prior to the 1881 Census. An article in the Huddersfield Chronicle reported that on 19 September 1856, 15-year-old Allen was involved in a serious accident at Messrs. Ainley & Taylor, Spinks Mire Mill, in which “his left arm was torn completely off, a little above the elbow”. By the 1890s, Allen was the chairman of the local lodge of the Ancient Order of the Golden Fleece (“Great Eastern”, Lodge No.125) who met at the Victoria Hotel.
16. Th’ Owd Pig (Etherd Fold)
approximate O.S. grid ref SE 0988 1055
The Owd Pig was reportedly situated in Etherd Fold, off Greens End Road. The fold adjoined the town’s pinfold (see also the entry for The Bell beerhouse).
The general location on the 1854 O.S. map 1s shown below:
The mostly likely entry found for the premises during research is the 1841 Census entry for 65- year-old George Taylor, a “retailer of beer” of Pinfold who resided there with his wife Margaret (65) and grandson Crispin (20).
17. The Cat Inn (Mill Moor) O.S. grid ref SE 0980 1067
This beerhouse was situated next to the first Wesleyan Chapel on Mill Moor Road.
The Cat Inn was most likely established by John Waterhouse in the 1830s” and existed for around 100 years, with four generations of the Waterhouse family running it until 1912.
Waterhouse was fined £2 14s. in July 1844 for “selling ale before five o’clock in the morning” on a Monday. An attempt by him to obtain a full licence at the 1854 Brewster Sessions was unsuccessful.
After John’s death in 1859, his son-in-law Nimrod Earnshaw briefly took over the running of the beerhouse. By 1871, John Waterhouse’s son John was the licensee and owner. In turn, his son Timothy became the licensee in February 1890.
Following the stone laying ceremony for the extension of the Oddfellows Hall in June 1894, the contractors and employees involved “sat down to a substantial and well-cooked dinner” at the beerhouse. Afterwards, “the rest of the evening was spent in a convivial manner”.
By 1908, Timothy Waterhouses’s nephew Mitchell had taken over, with the licence subsequently transferred to Mitchell’s widow Alice in February 1911.
The premises was acquired by brewery Bentley & Shaw Ltd. of Lockwood in 1920.
At the 1936 Brewster Sessions, the magistrates objected to the renewal of the licences of the Cat Inn and the Queens Arms Inn (Netherthong) on the grounds of redundancy under the terms of the Licensing (Consolidation) Act of 1910. According to Dave Green, the beerhouse closed on 29 December 1938 and compensation of £1,473 was paid.
At the time of closure, the licensee was John France Bamforth, a former woollen weaver from Golcar. He continued to live at the property until his death in 1939 aged 75.
Pub historian Dave Green states the Cat Inn was established in 1838.
18. The Kitten / New Inn (Mill Moor) O.S. grid ref SE 0977 1067
The Kitten was a beerhouse situated near to the Cat Inn. The 1841 Census records “retailer of beer” widow Hannah Waterhouse (née Dawson), whose husband James (listed in Pigot’s 1834 directory as a beer retailer) had died in 1840, as the adjacent entry to John Waterhouse of the Cat Inn.
According to several sources, the first Wesleyan Chapel (built circa 1819) stood on Mill Moor Road between the Kitten and Cat beerhouses, which means that the Kitten once stood on the site of the present-day Meltham Methodist Church.
police constable’s evidence had led to the licence of Joseph Green (Golden Fleece) being suspended at the 1860 Brewser Sessions — and it was suggested in court that they may have drugged the constable when he was offered a complimentary rum to ward off the chill of the night whilst out on patrol. The case was dismissed by the magistrates, as Kinson had already been
James Waterhouse Taylor
Abraham Taylor’s son, James Waterhouse Taylor, worked as an auctioneer and had married Hannah Hirst (sister of , innkeeper of the and later
On 8 November 1894, he was involved in an auction of heavy woollen machinery which took place in the weaving shed of Sefton Mills, Meltham, when the floor of the shed gave way. Up to 40 people fell down into the disused gasometer water tank situated below the shed which reportedly had about 18 inches of thick sludge and mud in it.
James Bentley Crosland, son of Alderman James Crosland, was found face down in the mud under the fallen debris and had suffocated. James Waterhouse Taylor sustained a broken left leg and collar bone, and later died at Huddersfield Infirmary on 6 December after contracting pneumonia.
Amongst the others who sustained injures were:
e who would later become landlord of the e local professional cricketer nephew of James Waterhouse Taylor’s late wife Hannah) who would later become landlord of the
The following postcard, believed to date from around 1900, poses the conundrum “The Cat Where is the Kitten”...
19. Woolpack / Golden Fleece / Fleece Inn / Victoria O.S. grid ref SE 0995 1065
The Golden Fleece (often referred to as The Fleece) likely traces its roots back to at least the 1750s when Joseph Eastwood was named as an innkeeper and brewer of Meltham in the available parish records. At that time, it was likely named the Woolpack.
Following Joseph’s death in 1782, butcher William Eastwood (believed to be his son) likely took over and was named as the licensee of the Woolpack in the 1803 Licence Register. There is some evidence that William was related to the Eastwoods involved locally in cloth manufacturing, so the name perhaps implies that woolpacks (i.e. bundles of fleeces) were traded at the inn.
At some point prior to 1817, William renamed the inn from the Woolpack to the Golden Fleece and this may have coincided with the premises being rebuilt or altered. This new name suggests a link to the Ancient Order of the Golden Fleece (Bradford Unity), a friendly society which was reputedly started in Bradford in the 1780s. At least two lodges of the Golden Fleece are known to have existed in Meltham: “Love and Unity” and “Great Eastern” (No. 125), with references to the former meeting at the Golden Fleece Inn. Advertisements from the 1850s note that the third storey of the inn contained a large lodge room.
William’s son Joseph was the next licensee. The Leeds Times (3 June 1837) described him as a “gentleman of the first order” when he gave a dinner to the “poor and needy” of the district and, by 6pm, “every poor person 1n the town had received a good substantial dinner.”
Joseph’s licence was temporarily suspended at the 1846 Brewster Sessions for threatening a
customer but was reinstated “on his promising better behaviour for the future”
The premises was advertised for let in March 1853:
Alterations were carried out in 1866, with the architects named as the noted firm of John Kirk & Sons of Huddersfield.®’ It is likely that the premises had by this time been purchased by Lockwood brewery Bentley & Shaw Ltd.
TO BUILDERS AND OTHERS. TO BE LET BY TENDER, the Masons’, Joiners’, Plasterers’, Plumbers’, and Glaziers’, and Painters’, work required in the ALTERATION of the GOLDEN FLEECE INN, Meltham.
The same year, former landlord Sampson Knight was fined for “refusing to quit a public house” after abusing the landlord of the Golden Fleece “in a most shameful manner” and using “the most disgusting language’”’.
Following the alterations, the inn was reopened as the Victoria Hotel and advertised for let in January 1869:
TO BE LET, the VICTORIA HOTEL, Meltham, near Huddersfield. The situation is excellent, being near the Railway Station, and on the district road for all passenger and goods traffic. The house has been re-arranged, and is well fitted up for the commercial trade. There is ample and good stabling, &c.
The following month, George Norcliffe placed a notice in the local press:
GEORGE NORCLIFFE begs to inform his Friends and the Public generally, that he TAKEN the VICTORIA HOTEL, Meltham, lately occupied by Mr. Mapleston. It is within three minutes’ walk of the Station on the new line of railway ,; is fitted up with good Stabling and every
20. Bog and Rat (Brighouse Fold) vaguely approximate O.S. grid ref SE 0996 1079
This premises is variously named as either “Bog and Rat” or the “Dog and Rat”. Neither name appears in the available Licence Registers, trade directories or newspaper archives, so it 1s uncertain which is the correct one.
The premises was reportedly in the vicinity of the railway station and Scarbottom Mill, which is now the car park for a Morrisons supermarket. A possible general location on the 1854 O:S. map is given below:
21. Travellers Rest Inn (Spring Hill, Meltham Moor)
O.S. grid ref SE 0905 1139
Originally a farmhouse named as Spring Hill on the 1854 O.S. map, this premises is believed to have been opened as a beerhouse at the end of 1868 by farmer Thomas Shaw of Golcar.”’ His son, Squire Shaw, later resided at what had previously been the Dob Hoile beerhouse at Greenside. Another son, William, temporarily ran a beerhouse at Rushy Grove (believed to be the Lamb Inn) from 1868 to 1869 until his licence renewal was refused.
Thomas was charged with assaulting William Dyson of the nearby Spotted Cow Inn (the “Will” of Wills
The BBC’s Domesday Project, compiled mostly by school children in the mid-1980s, contains the following entry:”
The Travellers’ Rest at Meltham was originally a farmhouse and it changed to a public house many years ago when two farmer brothers who lived there decided to brew their own beer. An old- time publican kept a stewpan on the fire in the tap room and topped it up with anything and everything, including dead hens killed on the road and offal from the butcher. It was said to smell delicious!! Dotted around the wall are old price lists; half of bitter 11d and a nip of old Arctic Barley Wine was Is 11d. A turnip and a large hammer are to be found on the bar and customers are invited to ‘bray’ coins into the turnip which is then auctioned for charity.
> http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/domesday/dblock/GB-408000-41 1000/page/6
22. Lamb Inn (Holt Head)
probably O.S. grid ref SE 0807 1204
Although no specific references to the Lamb Inn were located during research, only a small number of buildings were situated at Holt Head that were still within the boundary of the township of Meltham. The most well-known premises at Holt Head was the Dyers Arms (later the White House), but this was situated to the north of the road junction and well within the boundary of the township of Lingards.
The mostly likely location of the Lamb Inn was at Rushy Grove”, where Benjamin Sykes (aged 30) is recorded in the 1841 Census as an ale seller. By the time of the 1851 Census, his wife Mary Ann had died and his occupation was given as
24. Black Goose (Spark Green) approximate O.S. grid ref SE 0959 1112
This premises was reportedly situated in one of the properties at Spark Green, off Helme Lane.
Spark Green is situated between Upper and Lower Hey, so may be linked to the entry for beer retailer George Kenworthy of Hey in Pigot’s 1834 directory. By 1842, Kenworthy had become the innkeeper of the Waggon & Horses.
The 1861 Census records John Hoyland (aged 53) as a brewhouse man of Spark Green.
O.S. grid ref SE 0954 1056
Although the name “Lucky” suggests that the beerhouse was located in one of the properties at Lucky Green on Wessenden Head Road, a document held by the Huddersfield & District Family History Society instead states it was to be found at the property known as Moor Head, off Matthew Lane, and was kept by the town’s pinder, “Old Walt”. '”
26. Stiff Shackle
probably O.S. grid ref SE 0977 1036
According to Ken Oldfield, this was a beer shop kept by Nancy Knight. If so, it was presumably relatively short-lived as Nancy was not widowed until December 1858 and had become the landlady of the Shepherds Inn on Wessenden Head Road by 1861. Alternatively, she may have kept this beer shop after leaving the Shepherds Inn (prior to December 1864) until her death in 1868.
Richard Orton’s list places the shop at Greensend (near the Parish Church), whilst a later list held by the Huddersfield & District Family History Society gives the location as Stove Row, on the opposite side of Wessenden Head Road from the Shepherds Inn. As the original newspaper article gives the location as Stove Row (also known as Stove Cottages), we can perhaps assume Orton’s location is incorrect.
It seems likely that the name of the premises was not “The Stiff Shackle”, but rather that it was a shop that sold a type of weak beer made from recycling previously used hops and malts which was often nicknamed “stiff shackle” (literally meaning a “stiff This cheap drink, normally called “table beer” or “small beer”, was usually consumed by women and children at home. According to contemporary newspaper reports, it was sold for up to
28. Railway Hotel
O.S. grid ref SE 0992 1074
30. Bridley Brook, Holt Head
The 1803 Licence Register includes an entry for innkeeper Jonathan Kippax at an unnamed inn at Bridley Brook, Holt Head, within the boundary of Meltham Half. The sureties were provided by William Eastwood (Woolpack) and John Garlick (Shoulder of Mutton).
No obvious entries were found for Jonathan Kippax in the parish registers during research, other than a local burial record for that name in September 1802.
Although the exact location of the inn — which 1s not listed in later trade directories or licence registers — 1s not known, it was most likely in one of properties at Bridley Brook on the south side of Hold Head Road at grid reference SE 0800 1240.
The stream (usually misnamed as “Bradley
OTHER NOTABLE INNS & BEERHOUSES
A number of noteworthy premises were situated just beyond the boundary of Meltham and are summarised below.
Shepherd’s Boy / Isle of Skye Hotel (Greenfield Road, Upperthong)
A now-demolished beerhouse and inn on the Greenfield & Shepley Lane Head Turnpike road (now Greenfield Road) sited near the junction with Wessenden Head Road, at a height of around 1,500 feet above sea level. It stood just inside the boundary of the township of Upperthong. According to the 1897 Licence Register, 1t was also once known as the Shepherd’s Boy beerhouse and was granted a full licence in August 1884.
The premises was particularly popular with Victorian day trippers who walked from Marsden up the Wessenden Valley, from where they could travel by a horse-drawn omnibus to catch a train home from Holmfirth Station.
During the construction of the Digley Reservoir in the 1940s, the Huddersfield Corporation Waterworks Committee announced that the hotel would have to close before the work was completed as it stood within the reservoir's catchment area and there were concerns about sewage from the property polluting the water.
Despite being given nearly a decade to resolve the drainage issues, no improvements were made and the premises was closed for good following a compulsory purchase order. The empty building was eventually demolished after a fire and all that remains today are the two gateposts seen in the postcard below.
Ford Inn (Greenfield Road, Upperthong)
An extant inn situated at the junction of Greenfield Road and Thick Hollins Road. Opened prior to the late 1840s, as marked on the first O.S. map (published 1854). Vincent Shepherd was the licensee from November 1892 to August 1895, and later took over the licence of the nearby Wood Cottage Hotel in 1897.
Bird in the Hand (Honley Moor, Honley)
Also known as the Bird 1’th Hand, this was a former beerhouse situated on Honley Moor on the road to Honley (now known as Meltham Road). It is uncertain when the premises reverted to being a farmhouse, as it is still known as the “Bird in the Hand”.
Royal Oak / Three Shiners (Wood Bottom, Honley)
A now-demolished beerhouse that was situated close to the tannery at Wood Bottom in the township of Honley, which was on the footpath from Meltham Mills to both Crosland Mills and Cocking Steps Mill. According to some sources, it was also known as The Three Shiners.'*° The premises closed in 1935 after the licence renewal was refused. The Compensation Authority paid £987 in December 1935.
Dyers Arms / Alcander’s / White House (Holt Head, Lingards)
Situated just beyond Holt Head on the first turnpike road from Huddersfield to Marsden (part of the Wakefield & Austerlands Turnpike), the Dyers Arms beerhouse had become fully licensed by the time of the 1897 Licence Register. By then, the small and sparsely populated township of Lingards had been absorbed into the township of Slaithwaite.
The premises was also nicknamed Alcander’s in the 1880s after the then landlord Alcander
The following Google Map shows the township boundary of Meltham as indicated on the 1894 and 1908 Ordnance Survey maps. Following a petition in February 1895 which was submitted by the residents of Shady Row, Meltham Mills, the Boundaries Commission ruled in March 1896 that the boundary of Meltham should be enlarged eastwards to include the parts of Meltham Mills that lay within the township of Honley and also a section of Wilshaw that lay within the township of
The following Google Map shows the known (or believed) locations of inns or beerhouses
around the centre of the Meltham. As uncertain, it is not included on the map
he exact location of the Stiff Shackle (26) remains
Where the name of the premises is not given but can be guessed, it 1s shown in <angle brackets>. A question mark indicates a degree of uncertainty and (???) means that the name of the premises is not known.
1. Eastwood John, butcher & vict. Fleece 2. Garlick John, butcher & vict. Swan
White & Parson (1830)
1. Eastwood Wm. vict. and butcher, Fleece 2. Garlick John, vict. & butcher, Swan 3. Siddall Samuel, vict. Waggon & Horses
Taverns & Public Houses
Friendship, Jas. Johnson, Meltham mill Golden Fleece, William Eastwood, Meltham Swan, John Garlick, Meltham Waggon and Horses, Jonas Siddall, Meltham William the Fourth, James Taylor, Meltham
Retailers of Beer
Bastow Joseph, Meltham mill <Kings Life Guard> Bower John, Meltham (???) Hirst William, Thick Hollins <Smiths?> Kenworthy George, Hey <possibly Black Goose at Spark Green?> Mellor George, Meltham mill <Antwerp?> Waterhouse James, Mill moor <Kitten> Waterhouse John, Mill moor <Cat Inn>
White’s (1853 & 1854)
Beaumont Ths. & Co. brewers, &c, Meltham Mills
Inns and Taverns
Post Office Directory (1857)
Bamforth Timothy, Waggon & Horses
2. Bastow Martha (Mrs.) King’s Life Guard, Meltham mills
Bray John, Rose & Crown, & butcher & farmer Crosland Joseph, beer retailer <Bell> Dyson William, Spotted Cow, & farmer Gill Henry, Swan inn Johnson James, Friendship, & farmer & timber merchant, Meltham mills Knight John, beer retailer (???) Knight Sampson, Shepherds’ Inn
10. Moorhouse Josiah, beer retailer (???) 11. Waterhouse John, sen. beer retailer <Cat Inn>
White’s (1858 &
Inn and Taverns
1. Friendship, Meltham Mills, James Johnson 2. King’s Life Guard, Richd. Wheatley Hirst 3. Rose and Crown, John Bray 4. Shepherd’s Inn, George Armitage 5. Spotted Cow, William Dyson 6. Swan Inn, Joseph Knight 7. Waggon and Horses, David Cairns Beerhouses 1. Knight Sampson <probably Brown Cow> 2. Taylor Abraham <New Inn, Mill Moor> 3. Waterhouse John <Cat Inn> White’s (1870)
Inns and Taverns
1. Friendship Inn, Meltham Mills, Mrs. F. Johnson 2. New Inn, William Dixon 3. Railway hotel, John Hollingworth 4. Rose and Crown, George Henry Bray 5. Swan, Joseph Knight 6. Waggon and Horses, Thomas Shaw Beerhouses 1. Knight Samson <Brown Cow?> 2. Shaw Thomas <Travellers Rest> 3. Taylor Abraham <New Inn, Mill Moor> 4. Waterhouse Jno. <Cat Inn>
1. Dyson William, New inn, & farmer Meltham
Armitage Joseph, Helme Bray Alfred, butcher, & Rose & Crown Dyson William, New inn Hirst Charles William, Railway hotel Hirst Henry, Wagon & Horses Shaw Martha (Mrs.), beer retailer, Meltham moor <Travellers Rest> Teale John Cuttell, Swan inn Waterhouse John, beer retailer <Cat
Although the majority of the inns and beerhouses in Meltham would have initially brewed their own ale and beer, the rise of several large breweries in the Huddersfield area during the 19th Century led to many premises becoming acquired as
Seth Senior & Sons, Ltd.
Established by stone mason Seth Senior (1799-1873) in 1829, brewing originally took place at what became the Sovereign Inn in Shepley — the name being a reference to the story that Senior borrowed a sovereign to start his business. Seth’s sons Reuben and James joined the business, which eventually became Seth Senior & Sons. The company’s acquisitions included the following (all acquired prior to 1879):
e Isle of Skye Hotel (Upperthong) e
ODDS & SODS
The following are items found during research that haven’t been matched up with known inns and beerhouses (and therefore require further research), or that contain errors in the source materials which might trip up those carrying out their own research.
The “Magistrates in Petty Sessions” article in the Huddersfield Chronicle (3 Sep 1864) mentions two inns on “Meltham Moor” — the Victoria Inn, kept by George Crossley, and the Three Nuns Inn. This was an error on the part of the newspaper which was corrected the following week. George Crossley is listed in the 1861 Census as a resident of the Victoria beerhouse on Mirfield Moor. The Three Nuns Inn still exists on Leeds Road, Mirfield, but was renamed the Miller & Carter Steakhouse in 2016.
The 1841 Census contains an entry for George Taylor (aged 65) as a retailer of beer of Pinfold, Meltham. George Taylor also appears in Pigot’s 1841 Directory. The only premises identified as being near the Pinfold are Th’ Owd Pig and The Bell. However, the latter is linked to Joseph Crosland who also appears in Pigot’s 1841, so more likely Taylor ran the former.
John Bower and his wife Hannah (née Hirst) are listed as retailers of beer and beerhouse keepers in Pigot’s 1834, Pigot’s 1841 and White’s 1842. John, who was also named as a cow
at Royton in Oldham (1891). He is possibly the Josiah Moorhouse who was assisting in the building of the Mechanics Hall at Marsden on 11 August 1859 when his hand was crushed in an accident which resulted in “the amputation of several fingers”. A public subscription raised £16 18s. 10d. for him.
The 1879 Licence Register contains an entry for grocer Robert Wilson who had a “beer, spirits and wines” off licence in Meltham. This appears to have been “cotton thread doubler and overlooker” Robert Wilson of Upper Mount who was born in Lancashire circa 1813. The owner of the property was Jonas Brook & Brothers, Meltham Mills, which perhaps suggests that Wilson was the licensee at the Meltham Mills Provident Co- operative Trading Society Limited’s shop, situated on the corner of Meltham Mills Road and Mill Bank Road.
The following are brief biographical entries for individuals connected to beerhouses and inns in Meltham.
Unless otherwise stated, baptisms, marriages and burials in:
e Meltham are at St. Bartholomew e Meltham Mills are at St. James e Almondbury are at All Hallows e Huddersfield are at St. Peter e
Benjamin Armitage (c.1808-1877) — clothier, manufacturer, innkeeper & farmer
Son of clothier Joseph Armitage and his wife Sarah (née ?), baptised 20 Mar 1808 at Meltham Married innkeeper Charlotte Siddall (née Taylor) on 12 Jan 1839 at Meltham — this was the first ever marriage ceremony carried out at St. Bartholomew’s church Children: Sarah
Ronald Aspinall (1903-1984) - innkeeper
e Born 3 Dec 1903, son of silk-dresser Harry Aspinal and his wife Sarah e 1939 Register: clerk residing at 19 Wessenden Road with Ellen e Licensee of Victoria Hotel from 1 Sep 1953 to 8 Aug 1967 e
William Baldwin — innkeeper e Licensee of Victoria Hotel from 9 Feb 1932 to 3 Oct 1933 George Balmforth — innkeeper e Licensee of New Inn from 7 Mar 1882 to 2 Jun 1885 John France Bamforth (1864-1939) — woollen weaver & innkeeper
e Born 29 Jul 1864, son of Elias & Alice Bamforth, baptised 25 Dec 1864 at Slaithwaite e Married Florence in 1903 e 1911 Census: woollen weaver (46) of 11 Woodside Cottages, Scar Lane, Milnsbridge e Licensee of Cat Inn from 2 Apr 1912 until the closure of the premises in 1936 e 1939 Register: retired innkeeper of 4 Mill Moor Road, Meltham
Martha Bamforth (c.1811-1905) — see Martha Shaw Timothy Bamforth (c.1821-1900) — butcher, innkeeper & farmer
e Born in Slaithwaite, son of innkeeper John Bamforth & his wife Betty, baptised 3 Feb 1822 at St. James, Slaithwaite e Married Grace Moorhouse (20) on 23 Jan 1843 at Almondbury e Children: John (c.1843-?), Ann (c.1845-?), Elizabeth (c.1849-?), Tom (c.1853-?), Alice (c.1855-?), Fred (c.1857-?), Herbert (c.1859-?) & Charles
George Bannister (c.1817-1901)
Son of clothier Joseph Bannister and his wife Sarah (née Siddall) [who married 8 Jun 1813 at Almondbury], baptised 14 Sep 1817 at Meltham Brother of John Siddall Bannister 1841 Census: overlooker (20) residing with his parents at Rashcliffe, Lockwood Travelled to America circa 1850 where he married Sarah D. Cunningham (born c.1823 in Ireland) and is listed in U.S. Census as a weaver of Worcester, Massachusetts, in 1855, 1860, 1865, 1870 & 1880 returns Inherited a one-third share of the Waggon & Horses following death of his uncle John Siddall in 1867, but later objected to his brother and John Siddall leasing the premises to brewer Abraham Knight of Huddersfield in his absence and sold his share to Alexander Walker for £600 in June 1875 Became a naturalised U.S. citizen on 29 Oct 1880 at Worcester County, Massachusetts Died 1901 and buried at Eastwood Cemetery, Worcester County with his wife and son George Jnr (1864-1925) [see Find a Grave]
John Siddall Bannister (c.1813-1890)
Son of clothier Joseph Bannister and his wife Sarah (née Siddall) [who married 8 Jun 1813 at Almondbury], baptised 31 Oct 1813 at Meltham Brother of George Bannister Married Mary Weawell (35) of Bradford on I Dec 1850 at St. Peter, Bradford Children: Sarah Siddall (c.1852-?) & Samuel Siddall
Martha Bastow (c.1810-1864) née Pearson — innkeeper
e Born in Keswick, Cumberland, daughter of smith Judah Pearson e Married widower innkeeper Joseph Bastow on 11 Jan 1838 at Almondbury e Kelly’s 1853 innkeeper of King’s Life Guard e White’s 1859: innkeeper of King’s Life Guard e 1861 Census: victualler of Bastows Buildings, Meltham Mills <Kings Lifeguard> e
John Bower (c.1791-1839) — clothier & beerhouse keeper
Married Hannah Hirst of Meltham on 19 Apr 1813 at Almondbury Children: Martha (c.1813-?)'*, George
John Bray (c.1812-1868) — master butcher, farmer & innkeeper
Born in Golcar Married Eliza Redfearn (c.1815-1862), eldest daughter of manufacturer James Redfearn (later innkeeper of Waggon & Horses) and his wife Eliza (née Oldfield), on 7 January 1836 at Almondbury Children: John (c.1838-?), Charles (c.1840-?), Alfred (c.1842-?), Edwin (c.1844-?), George Henry Sarah (c.1848-?), Joe (c.1850-?) & David James (c. 1856-7) Pigot’s 1841: Rose & Crown 1841 Census: publican (25) of Town <Rose & Crown> Aug 1848: reprimanded at the Brewster Sessions for serving alcohol after hours 1851 Census: victualler, butcher & farmer (39) of Town Street South Side <Rose & Crown> White’s 1854: Rose & Crown Slater’s 1855: Rose & Crown Kelly’s 1857: Rose & Crown Apr 1858: fined 1s. plus expenses for serving alcohol on the afternoon of Good Friday Initiated into the Meltham Lodge of Peace (Freemasons) on 31 Jul 1858 White’s 1859: Rose & Crown 1861 Census: farmer, innkeeper & master butcher (49) of Town Street <Rose & Crown> White’s 1866: Rose & Crown Died aged 56, buried 15 February 1868 at Meltham
Licensee of Railway Hotel from 6 Jul 1971 to the inn’s closure in 1972
Bland Brook (1869-1935) — tailor & innkeeper
Born 7 Nov 1869 to John & Elizabeth Ann Brook, baptised 12 Dec 1869 at Linthwaite Married Lydia Beevers on 11 Mar 1896 at Linthwaite Children: George (1897-1963) & Catherine
Rhoda Brook (1857-1934) née Sykes
Born 11 Aug 1857, daughter of weaver George Sykes & his wife Sally, baptised 28 Sep 1857 at Almondbury Married widower weaver John Clayton Brook (33) on 17 Sep 1888 at St. John, Lepton Licensee of Rose & Crown from 2 Dec 1913 to 6 Oct 1926 Died aged 77
Licensee of Rose & Crown from 6 Oct 1926 to 6 Aug 1935
Walter Nelson Butler (1876-1963)
Born Cockerham, Lancashire Licensee of Wood Cottage Hotel from 26 Mar 1907 to 19 Apr 1910 Married Gertrude Shaw Wainwright on 27 Dec 1908 at Huddersfield 1911 Census: hotel keeper (34) of Ship Hotel, Colwyn Bay, Wales
C Harold Cadwell
e Licensee of Waggon & Horses from 4 Aug 1942 to I Sep 1953 David Cairns (c.1824-1905) — beer retailer, innkeeper, land surveyor & joiner
Alice Crosland (1880-?) — see Alice Waterhouse
Joseph Crosland (c.1805-1857)
Likely born 19 Mar 1805, the son of Jeremiah Crosland and his wife Nancy (née Armitage), baptised 13 Apr 1805 at Huddersfield Married Mary Ann Thewlis of Meltham on 28 Jun 1830 at St. David, Holmbridge Children: Jeremiah (c.1831-?), Alfred (c.1833-?), John (c.1836-?), Martha Ann (c.1838-?), Allen (1840-1901)!*°, Joseph (c.1847-?) & Hannah Elizabeth 1841 Census: clothier (35) of Lower Hill Pigot’s 1841: retailer of beer <The Bell> 1851 Census: wool dyer’s labourer & beer shop keeper (46) of Lower Hill <The Bell> Slater’s 1855: beerseller of Meltham <The Bell> Kelly’s 1855: beer retailer <The Bell> Died aged 52, buried 22 Apr 1857 at Meltham
Mary Ann Crosland (c.1808-1868) née Thewlis
Baptised 10 Sep 1809 at Meltham, daughter of James Thewlis and his wife Sarah (née Earnshaw) Married Joseph Crosland of Meltham on 28 Jun 1830 at St. David, Holmbridge Licensee of The Bell following her husband’s death Oct 1857: fined 2s. 6d. plus expenses for keeping her beerhouse open after 11pm White’s 1859: beerhouse keeper <The Bell> 1861 Census: widow beer retailer (52) of Greensend <The Bell> Died aged 61, buried 22 July 1868 at Meltham
Henry Cross (1902-1956)
Born 10 Jul 1902, son of William Henry Cross Married Louie Wrigley on 16 Feb 1926 at Marsden 1939 Register: foreman well engineer (heavy work) of 45 Brougham Road, Marsden Licensee of Swan Inn from 6 Dec 1955 until his death
Louie Cross (1904-1979) née Wrigley
Born 23 Jul 1904, daughter of mill hand Charlie Wrigley and his wife Mary Jane (née ?), baptised 22 Jul 1905 at Marsden Married engineer Henry Cross on 16 Feb 1926 at Marsden 1939 Register: woollen weaver of 45 Brougham Road, Marsden Licensee of Swan Inn from 4 Dec 1956 to 3 Sep 1963 Died aged 75'*’, ashes buried 4 Oct 1979 at Marsden
46 Worked as a bill poster and greengrocer of Greensend. Died 25 Oct 1901. 47 Resided at 27 Mount Road, Marsden.
Possibly the Joseph Crossley born 19 Oct 1825 to labourer Joseph Crossley and his wife Grace (née Shaw) of Cross Lane who was baptised 8 Jan 1826 at Almondbury Possibly the Joseph Crossley listed in the 1841 Census as a coal miner (15) of Meltham White’s 1854: innkeeper of Kings Life Guard, Meltham Mills Slaters 1855: innkeeper of Life Guardsman, Meltham Mills Possibly the Joseph Crossley who was the landlord of the Spotted Cow, Salendine Nook, in the
D Frances Ann Davenport (c.1836-1901) née Foster (or Forster?)
James William Dyson (c.1848-1903)
e Son of William Dyson and his wife Mary (née Bower?) e Married widow Alice Ann Broadhead (née
Nathaniel Dyson (c.1815-1846)
e Son of corn miller Timothy Dyson (of Meltham Mills?) and his wife Mary, baptised 19 Jan 1815 at Meltham
e Married Sarah Redfearn on 17 May 1835 e Father of Elizabeth Lockwood
Nimrod Earnshaw (1830-1890) — stone mason, builder & beerhouse keeper
Son of stone mason James Earnshaw and his wife Catherine, baptised 7 Nov 1830 at Meltham Married Margaret Waterhouse, daughter of beerhouse keeper John Waterhouse of the Cat Inn, on 5 May 1851 at Almondbury 1861 Census: publican, beer seller & stone mason (30) of Mill Moor <Cat Inn> 1871 Census: builder (40) of Factory Lane, Meltham Married Betty Taylor in 1875 1881 Census: builder & farmer (50) of Town Bottom Died aged 59 on 13 Mar 1890 Local building works: o Repairs to Meltham gasometer (following explosion in 1865) o Meltham Mills Convalescent Home between (1869-71) o National Schools at Helme o Renovation of St. Bartholomew’s Church (1877-78)
Joseph Eastwood (?-1782) — brewer & innkeeper
Innkeeper of Meltham from at least the early 1750s until his death <presumed to be Woolpack> Possibly married Martha Taylor on 18 Sep 1746 at Almondbury, although his occupation is given as “clothier” Children: Joseph George (c.1754-1822)'™, John
William Eastwood (c.1766-1835) — butcher & innkeeper
e Son of butcher Joseph Eastwood of Bankfoot, baptised 19 Feb 1766 at Meltham — this is probably brewer & innkeeper Joseph
F Frances Ann Foster (c.1836-1901) — see Frances Ann Davenport
Garlick (1714?-1748) — innkeeper
Possibly the Jacobus Garlick baptised 22 Aug 1714 at Almondbury, son of Carolus (i.e. Charles) Garlick who moved to Meltham following his marriage in 1697 to Mary Kenion (i.e. Kenyon) Possibly married Martha Johnson circa 1735 Children: Hannah (c.1738-?), Ann (c.1740-1740), James (c.1742-1788?), Thomas (c.1742-?) & Martha (c.1745-1745) Named as an innkeeper of Meltham in the baptismal records for his children, the burial record for daughter Ann, and also in his burial register entry<presumably Shoulder of Mutton> Buried 15 Feb 1748 at Meltham
Garlick (c.1742-1788) — brewer & butcher
Son of innkeeper James Garlick of Meltham, baptised 23 Aug 1742 Probably married Elizabeth Smith on 25 Feb 1764 at Almondbury Children: John (c.1765-1841), James (c.1767-1849)'", Joshua
John Garlick (1801-1856) — butcher & innkeeper
Son of butcher & innkeeper John Garlick & his wife Nancy (née Kinder), baptised 27 Apr 1801 at Meltham Married Martha Taylor (35), daughter of cloth merchant George Taylor, on 27 Feb 1840 at Almondbury White & Parson 1830: victualler & butcher, Swan (although this could be his father) Pigot’s 1834: Swan (although this could be his father) Pigot’s 1841: Swan 1841 Census: publican (35) of Swan Inn, Top of the
Joseph Green (c.1803-?)
Born in Yateholme, son of John Green and his wife Hannah (née Micklethwaite), baptised 7 Jul 1803 Married Lydia Sanderson, daughter of clothier Charles Sanderson, on 30 Jul 1843 at Kirkburton Children: Elizabeth (c.1846-?), Ann (c.1850-?), Sarah
H Herbert Haigh
Firth Hinchliffe — joiner & innkeeper
e Married widow innkeeper Sarah Ellen Shepherd (1864-1919) in 1901, with whom he had one child: James (1904-1974) e Licensee of Wood Cottage Hotel from 17 Dec 1901 to 28 Mar 1905
John Hinchliff (c.1802-?) — beerhouse keeper
e Jul 1848: fined 14s. 6d. for allowing drinking during prohibited hours on Sunday 9 July e 1851 Census: beer seller & farmer (49) of Oddfellows Arms, Thick Hollins
Charles Brook Hirst (1884-1913)
e Born 23 Dec 1884 at Meltham, son of Charles William Hirst and his wife Mary Elizabeth (née Eastwood), baptised I Feb 1885 at Meltham Mills e Married Mary Walters in 1908 e Licensee of Swan Inn from 24 Mar 1908 to 8 Feb 1910 e
Henry Hirst (c.1825-?)
Licensee of Waggon & Horses by 1879 to 30 Jun 1891 White’s 1881: Wagon & Horses 1891 Census: innkeeper (66) of Waggon & Horses, Town, Meltham His niece, Sarah Ellen, married farmer Vincent Shepherd and both were licensees of Wood Cottage Hotel
Licensee of Swan Inn from 5 Dec 1939 to 1 Aug 1944
Mary Elizabeth Hurst (c.1855-1907) nee Eastwood
Born in South Crosland, daughter of woolsorter Daniel Eastwood and his wife Charlotte (née Hirst) [daughter of brewer William Hirst of Thick Hollins] Married mechanic Charles William Hirst of Meltham Mills on 9 Jul 1874 at South Crosland 1881 Census: publican’s wife (26) of Railway Hotel, Wall Sides, Meltham Licensee of Swan Inn from 17 Apr 1900 to 24 Mar 1908 (death) Died 6 Dec 1907 at Meltham
Richard Wheatley Hirst (1838-1874) — shoemaker & innkeeper
Born in Netherton in 1838, son of gardener, coachman & cordwainer (1.e. shoemaker) Richard Hirst and his wife Mary (née ?) Married Frances Bastow (22), daughter of shoemaker & innkeeper Joseph Bastow and his wife Martha (née Pearson), on 1 Apr 1861 at Meltham Mills Children: Martha Mary (c.1862-?), Arthur Wellington
William Hirst (c.1796-?) — brewer
e Father of Charlotte Hirst who married Daniel Eastwood, whose daughter Mary Elizabeth Eastwood married Charles William Hirst e 1841 Census: brewer (45) of Thick Hollins <Smiths?>
e Aug 1850: fined 25s & expenses for overloading his omnibus (HC 31 Aug 1850) e Licensee of Swan Inn by Feb 1851 to Aug 1853 e 1851 Census: omnibus proprietor, farmer of 10 acres & innkeeper (32) of Swan Inn
Allen Hollingworth (1730?-1776) — brewer & innkeeper
e Also recorded as “Alan”, possibly born circa 1730 in Holmfirth e Married Betty Hoyle e Children: Aaron
John Hollingworth (c.1827-1883) — joiner, butcher, innkeeper & farmer
Born in Meltham, son of carpenter & joiner James Hollingworth and wife Lydia (née Kaye) Great-grandson of innkeeper Allen Hollingworth (1730?-1776) and his wife Betty (née Hoyle) Baptised 12 Aug 1827 at St. Bartholomew, Meltham Married spinster Mary Woodhead (22) on 20 May 1850 at Almondbury Children: Martha (1850-?)'° & Emma
Adam Hoyle (1833-1901) — weaver & innkeeper
e Born 20 Jul 1833 in Shelley, son of clothier Joshua Hoyle of Shelley Hill Top and his wife Hannah, baptised 3 Nov 1833 at Kirkburton e Married Hannah Hardy (c.1883-1889) in 1853 e Married widow Sarah Stocks (née Clayton) on 3 Dec 1890 at Kirkburton e Children: Hardy
I Robert Wells Ibbotson (1868-1953)
e Knaresborough, Yorkshire e 1911 Census: auctioneer (40) at Bradford, Yorkshire e Licensee of Wood Cottage Hotel from 3 Dec 1912 until closure?'”’ e
James Johnson (c.1803-1869) — butcher, farmer, timber merchant & innkeeper
Born in Meltham, son of land surveyor John Johnson Married Esther Haigh (1810-1844)'” on 25 Oct 1831 at Holmbridge Married Sarah Kaye (1815-c.1855) of Farnley Tyas, daughter of carpenter John Kaye, on 29 Oct 1844 at Meltham Married widow Frances Oldfield (52) [née Hutchinson?] of Meltham on 14 Aug 1865 at Almondbury Children: Allen Haigh (1833-7, Ann
Licensee of Shepherds Inn by April 1867 but absconded by August 1867, causing the loss of the licence
George Kenworthy (1802?-1862) — tailor, beerhouse keeper & innkeeper
Possibly born c.1802, son of George & Mary Kenworthy of Linthwaite, baptised 10 Aug 1802 at Slaithwaite Married Betty
Joseph Knight (c.1842-1886)
Son of John Knight and his wife Nancy (née Taylor?) Brother of innkeeper & beerhouse keeper Sampson 1861 Census: 1ron foundry worker (19) of Dud <Shepherds Inn> Married Mary Ann Jessop of Fartown on 21 Feb 1866 at Christ Church, Woodhouse White’s 1866: Swan Inn White’s 1870: Swan Inn 1871 Census: landlord & gas agent, Swan Inn, Town Joined the “Amphibious” Lodge of Freemasons, Heckmondwike, on 21 Jul 1880 1881 Census: innkeeper (39) of George Hotel, Heckmondwike Committed suicide on 3 Jun 1886 at George Hotel, Heckmondwike Buried 7 Jun 1886 at Meltham
Nancy Knight (c.1794-1868) née Taylor? — innkeeper & beer shop keeper
Born in Austonley Possibly also known as
L John Lee (c.1835-?) — blacksmith & beerhouse keeper
e Born in Emley e Likely the first licensee of the re-opened New Inn (formerly the Kitten) e Jun 1859: fined 5s. plus costs for opening during prohibited hours (HC 25 Jun 1859) e 1861 Census: publican, beer seller & blacksmith (26) of Mill Moor <likely New Inn> e 1871 Census: blacksmith (35) of Winding Road, Halifax e 1881 Census: engine tenter (49) of Richardson Street, Halifax
e 1901 Census: salt merchant (68) residing with married daughter Elizabeth at Northowram, Halifax
M Charles William Machin
e Licensee of Wood Cottage Hotel from 24 May 1881 to 30 Sep
Charles Thomas Mann
e Possibly brewer Charles Mann (44) listed in the 1851 Census residing with his brother, publican James Mann at Smithies, Birstall
e Licensee of Golden Fleece from 11 May 1852 until circa 1854 e Fined £3 19s plus costs in Feb 1853 for permitting gambling
e Probably the Johnnie Marsden born 14 Feb 1892 in Rastrick who married Ivy Sellars in 1917 and who died in 1963
e Licensee of Victoria Hotel from 5 Apr 1927 to 3 Jun 1930 William Marsh (c.1810-1889) — tailor & beer seller e Likely the licensee of Dob Hoile, Greenside Edwin Schofield Mellor (1848-1905) — weaver, shopkeeper, wines & spirits merchant
e Son of farmer Joseph Mellor of Spark Green and his wife Sarah (née Mitchel)
e Married Nancy Earnshaw, daughter of Meltham shop keeper John Earnshaw, on 12 Sep 1870 at Queen Street Wesleyan Chapel, Huddersfield
e Children: Harry (c.1872-19297), Martha (c.1875-?), Wright
Pigot’s 1834: retailer of beer, Meltham Mills <Antwerp?>
Possibly the George Mellor of “Benty Lee”, Meltham Mills, listed as a stone mason (35) in the 1841 Census, who was possibly the George Mellor of Thick Hollins who died in February 1849 aged 45 and was buried at St. Bartholomew’s on 22 February
Lewis Mosley (1887-1965)
e Born 24 Apr 1887 in Meltham, son of stoker Herbert Mosley and his wife Martha e 1911 Census: boot repairer (28) of Calmlands, Meltham
e Married Harriet
Thomas Needham (c.1858-?) — chemist
Born in Flagg, Derbyshire Married Sarah Ann Colson in 1883 1881 Census: chemist & druggist (24) of 56 Buxton Road, Huddersfield
1891: reportedly owned four chemist shops in the Huddersfield area, including one in Meltham Market Place (HC 15 Aug 1891)
1901 Census: chemist (43) of The Laurels, Lindley cum Quarmby 1903: unsuccessfully applied for an off-licence to sell wine at the Licensing Sessions 1911 Census: pharmaceutical chemist (54) of Finchley, London
Richard Eastwood Newhouse (c.1816-1865) — butcher & innkeeper
Son of innkeeper Benjamin Newhouse of Huddersfield and his wife Nancy (née Eastwood?), baptised 7 Apr 1816 at Meltham
Married Sarah Schofield daughter of glazier William Schofield, on 21 Aug 1848 at Almondbury
P Martha Pearson (c.1810-1864) — see Martha Bastow
John Edgar Peckett (1921-2002)
e Born 16 Feb 1921 e Licensee of New Inn from 8 Aug 1967 to 6 Oct 1970
Hildred Platts (1900-1967)
Born 18 Dec 1900, son of master butcher Henry Platts of Lockwood and his wife Ada Married Eveline Boothroyd
Lewis Quarmby (1933-2005)
e Worked as a shop assistant for the Meltham and Meltham Mills Co-operative Society at a teenager e Joined the Army aged 19 in Nov 1951, served with the Duke of Wellington Regiment during the Korean War and was incorrectly declared killed during the Battle of the Hook e Married Megan Sunderland c.1956 e Licensee of Railway Hotel from 11 Jul 1967 to 6 Jul 1971 e Licensee of Victoria Hotel from 6 Jul 1967 to
Percival Radcliffe (c.1877-1929) — stone merchant, farmer & innkeeper
Reuben Redfearn (1823-1885) — butcher, farmer & innkeeper
Born 2 Dec 1823, son of James Redfearn and his wife Alice (née Oldfield), baptised 18 Jan 1824 at Meltham Wesleyan Chapel Married spinster Mary Ann Whitaker”! (23) of Meltham on 21 Aug 1848 at Almondbury Children: Ann (c.1849-?), Jane (c.1851-1851), William (c.1853-1917), Rachel (c.1856-?), John James (c.1858-?), Joseph (1859-1859) & George (c.1863-?), Emily (c.1864-1865) & James
Charlie Roberts (c.1856-?) — grocer, wines & spirits merchant
Son of cloth dresser & barber John Roberts and his wife Martha, baptised Charles Roberts on 7 Sep 1856 at Meltham
1880s: grocer of Meltham with a wines & liquors off licence 1881 Census: grocer (25) of Calmlands 1890s: merchant of Greens End, Meltham, with a wines, sprits & sweets 1891 Census: wine & spirits merchant (35) of Dudd House (Wessenden Head Road) 1901 Census: stock keeper (43) of Market Place, Meltham 1911 Census: spool polisher (55) of Mill Moor
Licensee of Travellers Rest Inn from 7 Oct 1969 to ...?
John William Robinson
Licensee of Swan Inn from 4 Aug 1925 to 14 Feb 1928
Harry Fielding Rushworth (1908-1990)
Born 28 Jul 1908, son of gardener Harry Rushworth & his wife Ruth Ellen, baptised 17 Sep 1908 at St. John, Upperthong
Married Florence R. Higgins in 1936 Licensee of Swan Inn from 3 Sep 1963 to 14 Sep 1964
S Ellen Scott (c.1795-1869) née Smith
e Born in Dewsbury
e Married blanket manufacturer & innkeeper John Scott (who died between 1841 & 1851 Censuses) on 3 Oct 1825 at St. John, Halifax e Children: John Scott (c.1827-?), Rachel Scott (1829-?)°, Thomas
Thomas Shaw (c.1830-?) — clothier & innkeeper
Married spinster Agnes Heap*” (18) of Oldfield, Honley, on 24 Sep 1849 at Almondbury Children: Joseph (c.1850-?), Inkerman (c.1856-?), Arthur (c.1858-?), Henry (c.1861-?) & George (c.1861-?) 1861 Census: woollen warper (31) of Crosland Factory, South Crosland White’s 1870: innkeeper of Waggon & Horses 1871 Census: innkeeper (41) of Waggon & Horses, Town Gate (South Side) 1881 Census: innkeeper (51) of Ball Inn, Town Head, Sheffield
Thomas Shaw (c.1811-1876) — clothier, farmer & beerhouse keeper
Born in Golcar, possibly the son of John Shaw who was baptised 27 Nov 1811 at Slaithwaite Married Martha Bamforth on 5 May 1831 at Huddersfield Children: Betty (c.1832-?), Edmund (c.1834-?), John (c.1836-?), Thomas (c.1838-?), William (c.1843-?), Ann (c.1845-?), Alice (c.1848-?), Squire Shaw (c.1851-?) & Jane
Vincent Shepherd (1860-1900) — farmer and innkeeper
Born in Derbyshire, son of farmer Thomas Shepherd who moved to Netherthong Married Sarah Ellen ‘Taylor (21) of Meltham on 30 Dec 1885 at Meltham Children: Thomas Henry (c.1887-?), Mary H. (c.1888-?), Alice A. (c.1890-?) & Charlotte (c.1897) 1891 Census: farmer (30) residing with his uncle-in-law innkeeper Henry Hirst at Waggon & Horses Licensee of Wood Cottage Hotel from 26 Jan 1897 until his 18 Dec 1900 (death) Died aged 40 on 21 Sep 1900
Charlotte Siddall (c.1798-1864) née Taylor — innkeeper’s wife & dressmaker
Daughter of clerk, clothier & cloth merchant George Taylor, baptised 28 Jan 1798 at Meltham Married Jonas Siddall on 7 Feb 1822 at Almondbury Married clothier Benjamin Armitage of Helme on 12 Jan 1839 at Meltham — this was the first ever marriage ceremony carried out at St. Bartholomew’s church 1841 Census: wife of publican Benjamin Armitage of Waggon & Horses, Town, Meltham 1851 Census: assistant dressmaker (50) residing with her daughter Martha at Green Hey 1861 Census: no occupation (63) residing with husband at Green Hey Died aged 66, buried 31 Dec 1864 at Meltham
John Siddall (c.1794-1867) — farmer & innkeeper
Son of John Siddall (c.1759-1814) and his wife Martha (née Hinchliffe) of Meltham Brother of Samuel & Jonas Believed to have established the Waggon & Horses with his two brothers in the 1820s
1841 Census: farmer (45) of Town, residing next to the Waggon & Horses where Benjamin Armitage was the publican
Apr 1845: appointed a parochial constable for Meltham
1851 Census: farmer (58) residing next door to the Waggon & Horses where James Redfearn was the victualler
1861 Census: farmer (69) of Town Street,
John Siddall (c.1824-1874) — butcher & innkeeper
Son of clothier Jonas Siddall of Hey and his wife Charlotte (née Taylor), baptised 10 Aug 1824 at Meltham
Did not marry and resided with his sister Maria 1851 Census: butcher (26) of Brow, Meltham, residing with his widowed aunt Hannah Haigh (51), next door to butcher John Garlick White’s 1859: innkeeper of Waggon & Horses 1861 Census: journeyman butcher (36) of Lower Hey 1871 Census: butcher (46) of Green Hey, Meltham, residing with widowed stepfather farmer Benjamin Armitage Died Sep 1874, buried 24 September at Meltham
Jonas Siddall (c.1797-?) — clothier, cloth dresser & shopkeeper
Son of John Siddall [Syddale] (c.1759-1814) of Meltham and his wife Martha (née Hinchliffe), baptised 16 Apr 1797 at Meltham Brother of Samuel & John Believed to have established the Waggon & Horses with his two brothers in the 1820s Married Charlotte ‘Taylor on 7 Feb 1822 at Almondbury Children: Elizabeth
Rosilla Smith (1872-1940?) née Senior
e Born in Kitchen Royd, Denby
Benjamin Sykes (c.1808-1884?)
Married Mary Ann
Walter Sykes (1807-1885) — labourer, pinder, weaver & beerhouse keeper
e Born 27 Jan 1807, son of William Sykes and his wife Sarah (née Pearson), baptised 29 Mar 1807 at Meltham e Married Betty Taylor’ of Netherthong on 9 Sep 1832 at Almondbury e Children: William
Abraham Taylor (c.1813-1891) — woollen manufacturer, beerseller & shop manager
e Meltham, son of James Taylor and his wife Betty, baptised 21 Feb 1813 at Meltham e Married Martha Waterhouse (1808-1852) on 1 May 1836, daughter of James Waterhouse and his wife Hannah (née Dawson) of The Kitten e Married widow Hannah Steel (c.1823-?) [née ?] of Meltham on 3 May 1860 at Almondbury e Children: James Waterhouse
James Taylor (?-1783?) — brewer & innkeeper
e Named as a brewer of Meltham Mill Moor on baptismal record for his daughter Mary (2 May 1761) e Innkeeper named in the Licence Registers between 1771 and 1781 (marked as “sick” in 1778 and “infirm” in 1781) e Presumably the James Taylor of Meltham
Pigot’s 1841: retailer of beer at Helme
Nancy Taylor (c.1794-1868) — see Nancy Knight
Licensee of Wood Cottage Hotel from 25 June 1895 to 26 Jan 1897
Sarah Ellen Taylor (1864-1919) — see
W Ada Walker (1906-19867) née Crow
e Born 10 Jul 1906 e Married farmer & innkeeper Elliott Walker (1907-1946) in 1931 e
Lister Green Walker — mechanic, innkeeper & iron turner
Son of beer seller & clothier George Walker of Slaithwaite and his wife Susan, baptised 2 Jun 1844 at Slaithwaite
1871 Census: mechanic (26) of Carr Lane, Slaithwaite Married Martha Ann Winn, daughter of farmer Joseph Winn, on 10 Aug 1876 at Lockwood (at which time they were both residing at the Railway Hotel, Lockwood) Licensee of Rose & Crown from circa April 18787’ to 29 Oct 1879 1891 Census: iron turner (47) of Slaithwaite 1901 Census: iron turner (57) of Slaithwaite Died aged 58
Betty Walshaw (c.1804-1844) née Taylor — beer shop keeper
Married clothier Abraham Walshaw on 6 Jul 1832 at Almondbury Children: Charles Taylor (c.1824-?) & Hannah Walshaw
James Waterhouse (c.1778-1840) — clothier & beerhouse keeper
Son of James Waterhouse of Popley Butts and his wife Martha (née baptised 6 Sep 1778 at Meltham Married Hannah Dawson (c.1780-1852) on 4 Feb 1805 at Almondbury Children: Martha (1808-1852) who married Abraham Taylor (who opened the New Inn circa 1861), Hannah
Mitchell Waterhouse (1875-1911) — cotton spinner & beerhouse keeper
e Born 17 Nov 1875, illegitimate
Joel Whiteley (1876-1948)
e Born 25 Jul 1876, son of innkeeper Joe Whiteley & his wife Elizabeth (née Taylor), baptised 10 Sep 1876 at Helme
e Also known as “Jack” (1939 Register)
e Married Sarah Elizabeth Dyson (26), daughter of broker William Dyson, on 18 Jun 1904 at Meltham
e Children: Gladys Elizabeth
John Woodhead e
Huddersfield Chronicle (23 February 1861) MAGISTRATES IN PETTY SESSIONS.
WEST RIDING COURT HOUSE, PRINCESS STREET. SATURDAY, FEBRUARY 16TH. On the Bench: Capt. Crosland and T. Mallinson, Esq. UNUSUAL APPLICATION.
Abraham Taylor, of Meltham, applied for a summons against Police Constable Henry Kinson, for being drunk and disorderly on the 5th instant, at that place. Mr. Superintendent Heaton requested the bench not to grant the summons, on the ground that the case had been reported to the Chief Constable, who had punished the officer severely and he believed the application was only made and the accusation got up for the purpose of creating a “scene in court,” at the expense of the police officer. Besides this, it the bench would question the applicant they would find that Taylor knew nothing about the case of his own knowledge. The case had been thoroughly investigated, and the man had been reduced to a third-class officer, removed to another station, and cautioned as to his future conduct. On these grounds he (Mr. Heaton) asked the bench not to interfere in the management of the police force, but to leave the force to the action of the Chief Constable.
Mr. Crosland — The question is, if the applicant presses for the summons can we, or have we the power to refuse the granting of it? Have we a right to say — if we felt so disposed — we
Taylor still pressed for the summons.
Mr. Crosland (to Superintendent Heaton) — Suppose it was the case of a man in our employ, or in the employ of any master, and he had committed himself in a similar manner, we take it into our serious consideration and discharge the man. That would be a severe punishment for him, but would that prevent your police from bringing the man up before the magistrates, and having him again punished?
Superintendent Heaton — It is quite a different case — the one 1s a private servant, while the officer is a servant of the public, paid by the public, and punished by a public officer; and I think you ought not to interfere with the management of the police.
Mr. Crosland — I think there is no difference whatever between the cases. Taylor still pressing for it, the summons was then granted. TUESDAY. On the Bench: J.T. Fisher, Charles Brook, and L.R. Starkey, Esqrs. THE CASE OF THE MELTHAM POLICEMAN. — AN APPROACH TO PERSECUTION.
Police Constable Kinson, formerly stationed at Meltham, was charged with being drunk and disorderly at that place on the Sth inst. The facts have already appeared, the circumstances attending the application for authority to prefer the charge being reported in the proceedings at the court on Saturday last. On Mr. Freeman (who appeared on behalf of the informant, Abraham
cross-examination, Taylor admitted that he had been promised the money to defray the expenses of the prosecution, and that one man named William Pickles had already given him 3s. towards it. Pickles had been summoned by the defendant for cruelty to animals. When questioned as to whether he himself was not an habitual drunkard, ‘Taylor said he was not, but admitted that he might perhaps get drunk once a month.
James Haigh, a cloth miller, deposed to finding the defendant in the state described. Cross- examined — Had known the officer for two or three years, and never heard of anything irregular in his conduct before. He had discharged his duties in a faithful and honest manner.
Joseph Lunn, a private watchman, also spoke to finding the defendant drunk; he never saw any one in a worse state. Could not say whether or not he had been drugged — but had he been he could not have looked worse. Cross-examined — Defendant’s conduct had always been very bad so far as he could learn; he meant with regard to his duty. He did not look after it rightly, but spent his time with him (witness) instead, and he had often talked to him respecting it.
Mr. Learoyd, in answering the case, characterised the prosecution as persecution of the basest sort. Who was the man that came forward to vindicate the public morality? Who, in the name of the public, must needs come forward and complain of an offence which he had not witnessed? Who, in spite of the remonstrances of the bench, must wrest from them their jurisdiction in the issuing of the summons? A man who acknowledged himself a drunkard, though he boasted he had never been fined. It was beyond all reason and toleration that such a man should make himself the centre of a subscription for the purpose of bringing the defendant there, knowing at the same time that he had been punished before. He said:— “Heaven save us from such defenders of the public morals as Abraham Taylor of Meltham.” That the policeman was in a senseless state he would not deny; but they would marvel when he said that he had only two small glasses of rum; and it was not too much to presume that those who had been base enough to get up this persecution might be base enough to get that drink drugged for the purpose of reducing the man to the condition in which he was found. The defendant had already been dealt with by Col. Cobbe; he had been reduced from a second to a third-class salary; 2s. per week had been taken from his wages; he had been removed from Meltham to another district, and required to pay the expenses of his own removal. This punishment was inflicted under the authority of an act of parliament; therefore it was a legal punishment, and it was a maxim of our law that a man shall not be twice vexed for one and the same offence. He felt that they could not too strongly denounce the spirit of persecution manifested.
Mr. Heaton having deposed to the punishment inflicted on the officer by Colonel Cobbe, the bench considered their decision; and the Chairman at length said they gathered from the evidence that Taylor had complained to the policeman's superior officer, and when he had done that, and it produced the effects it had, he had done his duty. The policeman had already paid a penalty for the offence, and they therefore dismissed the case.
1830 BEERHOUSE ACT
21 May 1830 A BILL [AS AMENDED BY THE COMMITTEE] To permit the general Sale of Beer by Retail in England.
Whereas it is expedient, for the better supplying the Public with Beer in England, to give greater facilities for the Sale thereof than are at present afforded by Licenses to Keepers of Inns, Alehouses and Victualling Houses; be it therefore enacted, by The KING’S most Excellent Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Lords Spiritual and Temporal, and Commons, 1n this present Parliament assembled, and by the Authority of the same, THAT from and after the Tenth day of October one thousand eight hundred and thirty, it shall and may be lawful for any and every person who shall obtain a license for that purpose under the provisions of this Act, to sell Beer, Ale and Porter by retail in any part of England, in any house or premises specified in such license, any thing in any Act or Acts heretofore made or in force at the time of the passing of this Act to the contrary in anywise notwithstanding.
And be it further Enacted, That it shall be lawful for every and any person (other than and except such persons as are hereafter specially excepted) who shall be desirous of selling Beer, Ale and Porter by retail under the provisions of this Act, to apply for and to obtain an Excise license for that purpose; and in every application for such license there shall be specified set forth and inserted the Christian name and surname of the party applying for such license, and a description of the house or premises in which Beer, Ale and Porter is intended to be sold by retail by such person, together with the Christian names and surnames, and the occupation and residence of the person or persons who shall be proposed as surety or sureties for the party so to be licensed and any and every such license which shall be taken out within the limits of the chief office of Excise in London, shall be granted under the hands and seals of two or more of the Commissioners of Excise for the time being, or of such persons as they the said Commissioners of Excise, or the major part of them for the time being, shall from time to time authorize employ or direct for that purpose; and any and every such license which shall be taken out in any part England, not within the said limits, shall be granted under the respective hands and seals of the several collectors and supervisors of Excise within their respective collections and districts; and it shall be lawful for the said Commissioners of Excise, or any two or more of them respectively, and for the person to be authorized employed or directed by the said Commissioners, or the major part of them, and also for all such collectors and supervisors, and they are hereby respectively authorized and required, within Ten days after the application shall have been made for the same, and upon execution by the party, and his surety or sureties of the bond hereinafter mentioned, and any time after upon the execution of such bond, to grant such license to the persons who shall apply for the same, the person so applying first paying for such license a duty of Two pounds two shillings, to be applied and accounted for as hereinafter directed; and every such license shall be dated on the day when the same shall be granted, and shall expire at the end of Twelve calendar months after the day on which such license shall be dated; and every such license shall be according to the form in the Schedule annexed to this Act,
and shall be duly registered in the proper department of the Excise: Provided always. That no such license shall authorize or entitle the party licensed to receive any license to sell or retail Wine or Spirits, any thing in any Act or Acts of Parliament to the contrary thereof notwithstanding; and that no such license shall be granted to any person being a sheriff's officer, or officer executing the legal process of any court of justice, nor to any person not being a householder, and that any license granted to any such person shall be void to all intents and purposes; and a list or register of every license so granted, specifying the name and place of abode of every person licensed, and of his sureties respectively, and the name and description of the houses mentioned in such license, shall be kept at the Excise Office with respect to all licenses granted by the Commissioners of Excise, or any person authorized by them, and at the office or dwelling-houses of every collector and supervisor of Excise in their and his respective collections and districts, and such list or register shall at all times be produced to and shall be open to the inspection and perusal of any magistrate of the county or place where such license shall be granted, and where such house shall be situate.
And be it further Enacted, That the Duty by this Act imposed on licenses to-sell Beer by retail shall be under the management of the Commissioners of Excise for the time being, and shall and may be respectively raised, levied, collected, answered, paid and recovered in such and the like manner, and in or by any or either of the general or special means ways or methods by which any other duties of Excise on licenses are or may be raised, levied, collected, answered paid or recovered; and ail the monies arising by the duties by this Act imposed and made payable as aforesaid, the necessary charges Of raising and accounting for the same excepted, shall from time to time be paid into the receipt of His
Provided always, and be it further Enacted, That no person licensed to sell Beer by retail under the provisions of this Act, shall be deemed competent to be, or shall be accepted as a surety in any such bond as aforesaid.
And be it further Enacted, That every person who shall be licensed to sell Beer, Ale and Porter by retail under the provisions of this Act, shall cause to be painted 1n letters three inches at least in length, in white upon a black ground or in black upon a white ground, publicly visible and legible upon a board, to be placed over the door of the house or premises in which such person shall be licensed to sell Beer by retail, the Christian and surname of the persons mentioned in such license, at full length, together with the words “Licensed to sell Beer by Retail;” and every such person shall preserve and keep up such name and words so painted as aforesaid during all the time that such person shall continue so licensed, upon pain that every person in any respect making default herein shall forfeit and pay for every such offence the sum of Ten pounds.
And be it further Enacted, That no person shall sell any Beer by retail under the provisions of this Act at any time after the expiration of any license granted under this Act, nor in any house or place not specified in such license: Provided always, That it shall be lawful for any person so licensed to take out a fresh retail license for the selling Beer by retail before the expiration of any former retail license, and so from year to year; and if any person shall sell any Beer by retail under the provisions of this Act, without having an Excise retail license in force, authorizing such person so to do, or after the expiration of any such license, or without renewing such license in manner aforesaid, or in any house or place not specified in such license; or if any such person so licensed shall deal in, or retail any Wine or Spirits; every such person so offending shall for every such offence forfeit and lose a sum not less than Ten pounds nor more than Twenty pounds; to be recovered and applied in like manner as any penalty under any Act or Acts relating to the revenue of Excise.
Provided always, and be it further Enacted, That persons trading in partnership, and in one house or shop only, shall not be obliged to take out more than one license in any one year, for selling any Beer by retail under the provisions of this Act: Provided also, That no one license which shall be granted by virtue of this Act shall authorize or empower any person or persons to sell any Beer, Ale or Porter under the provisions of this Act, in any house or place other than the house or place mentioned in such license for selling Beer, Ale and Porter by retail under the provisions of this Act, and in respect whereof such license shall be granted.
And be it further Enacted, That it shall be lawful for any two Justices acting for any county or place where any riot or tumult shall happen or be expected to take place, to order or direct that every person licensed under this Act, and keeping any house situate within their respective jurisdictions in or near the place where such riot or tumult shall happen or be expected to take place, shall close his house at any time which the said Justices shall order or direct; and every such person who shall keep open his house at or after any hour at which such Justices shall have so ordered or directed such house to be closed, shall be taken and deemed to have not maintained good order and rule therein, and to be guilty of an offence against the tenor of the license granted to such person.
And be it further Enacted, That every person under this Act licensed to sell Beer by retail shall, if required, sell or otherwise dispose of all such Beer by retail therein (except in quantities less
than a half pint) by the gallon, quart, pint or half-pint measure sized according to the standard, and shall also, if required by any customer purchasing such liquor, retail the same in a vessel sized according to such standard, and in default thereof he shall for every such offence forfeit the illegal measure, and pay a sum not exceeding Forty shillings, together with the costs of the conviction, to be recovered within thirty days next after that on which such offence was committed, before two Justices, and such penalty shall be over and above all penalties to which the offender may be liable under any other Act.
And be it further Enacted, That every seller of Beer, Ale and Porter by retail, having a license under the provisions of this Act, who shall permit any person or persons to be guilty of drunkenness or disorderly conduct in the house or premises mentioned 1n such license, shall for every such offence forfeit the respective sums following; and every person who shall in any way transgress or neglect, or shall be a party in transgressing or neglecting the conditions and provisions specified in such license, or shall allow such conditions or provisions to be in any way transgressed or neglected in the house or premises so licensed, shall be deemed guilty of disorderly conduct; and every person so licensed who shall permit any such disorderly conduct shall for the first offence forfeit any such sum, not less than Forty shillings nor more than Five pounds, as the Justices before whom such retailer shall be convicted of such offence shall adjudge; and for the second such offence, any sum not less than Five pounds nor more than Ten pounds; and for the third such offence, any sum not less than Twenty pounds nor more than Fifty pounds; and it shall be lawful for the Justices before whom any such conviction for such third offence shall take place, to adjudge, if they shall so think fit, that such offender shall be disqualified from selling Beer by retail for the space of two years next, ensuing such conviction, and also (if they shall so think fit) to adjudge that no Beer shall be sold by retail by any person in the house or premises mentioned
clock in the morning, nor after Ten of the clock in the evening of any day in the week, nor at any time between the hours of Ten of the clock in the forenoon and One of the clock in the afternoon, nor at any time between the hours of Three and Five of the clock in the afternoon, on any Sunday, Good Friday, Christmas Day, or any day appointed for a Public Fast or Thanksgiving; and if any such person shall keep his house open, for selling Beer, or shall: sell or retail Beer at anytime after the hour of Ten of the clock, in the evening, or before the hour of four of the clock in the morning of any day or between, the hours of ‘Ten of the clock in the forenoon and One of the clock in the afternoon, or between the hours of Three and Five of the clock in the afternoon on any Sunday, Good Friday, Christmas-day; or any day appointed for a Public Fast of Thanksgiving, such person shall forfeit the sum of Forty shillings for every offence; and every separate sale shall be deemed a separate offence.
And be it further Enacted, That all Penalties under this Act save and except the penalty hereinbefore mentioned for selling Beer by any person not duly licensed, shall and may be recovered upon the information of any person whomsoever before two Justices acting in Petty Sessions; and that every such penalty shall-be prosecuted and proceeded for within Three calendar months next after the commission of the offence in respect of which such penalty shall be incurred; and every person licensed under this Act who shall be convicted before two Justices so acting in and for the division of place: in which shall be situate the house kept or theretofore kept by such person, of any offence against the tenor of the license to him granted under this Act, or of any offence for which- any penalty is imposed by this Act, shall, unless proof be adduced to the satisfaction of such Justices that such person had been theretofore convicted before two Justices within the space of twelve calendar months next preceding, of some offence against the tenor of his license or against this Act, be adjudged by such Justices to .be guilty of a first offence against the provisions of this Act, and to forfeit and pay any penalty by this Act imposed for such offence, or if no specific penalty be imposed for such offence, then any sum not exceeding Five pounds, together with the costs of the conviction; and if proof shall be adduced to the satisfaction of such Justices, that such person had been previously convicted before two Justices within the space of Twelve calendar months next preceding of one such offence only, such person shall be adjudged by such Justices to be guilty of a second offence against the provisions of this Act, and to forfeit and pay any penalty by this Act imposed for such offence, or if no specific penalty be so imposed, then any sum not exceeding Ten pounds, together with the costs of the conviction; and if proof shall be adduced to the satisfaction of such Justices that such person had been previously convicted before two Justices within the space of the eighteen calendar months next preceding, of two such separate offences, and if proof shall be adduced to the satisfaction of the Justices that Such person so charged is guilty of the offence charged against him, such person shall be adjudged to be guilty of a Third offence against the provisions of this Act, and to forfeit and pay any penalty imposed by this Act in respect of such offence, or if no such specific penalty shall be imposed, then to forfeit and pay the sum of Fifty pounds, together with the costs of the conviction.
Provided always, and be it Enacted, That it shall and may be lawful for the party convicted of any such third offence to appeal to the general sessions or quarter sessions of the peace then next ensuing; and in such case the party so convicted shall before such Justices so convicting forthwith enter, into a. recognizance, with two sufficient sureties, personally to appear at the said general session or quarter session, and to abide the judgment of the court thereupon, and to pay such costs as shall be, by the court awarded, which recognizance such Justices are hereby
authorized to require and take; or in failure of the party convicted entering into such recognizance, such conviction shall remain good and valid to all intents and purposes; and the said Justices who shall take such recognizance from the party convicted are also hereby required to bind the person who shall make such charge in a recognizance to appear at such general or quarter sessions as aforesaid, then and there to give evidence against the person so charged, and in like manner to bind any other person who shall have any knowledge of the circumstances of such offence; and it shall be lawful for the said court of general session or quarter session to adjudge such person to be guilty of any such third offence against the provisions of this Act, as the case may be, and such adjudication shall be final to all intents and purposes; and it shall be lawful for such court of general session or quarter session to punish such offender by fine not exceeding the sum of One hundred pounds, together with the costs of such appeal, or to adjudge the license granted to and held by or on behalf of such offender to be forfeited and void, or to punish such offender by such fine as aforesaid, and to adjudge such license to be forfeited and void; and if such license shall be adjudged to be forfeited and void, it shall thenceforth be void accordingly; and whenever in such case or in any other case the license of such offender shall be adjudged to be void, such offender shall from and after such adjudication be deemed and taken to be incapable of selling Beer, Ale or Porter by retail, in any house kept by him, for the space of Two years, to be computed from the time of such adjudication; and any license granted to such person during such term, shall be void to all intents and purposes.
And be it further Enacted, That whenever it shall happen that any appeal respecting which any recognizance shall be entered into in pursuance of this Act, shall be dismissed, or that the conviction appealed against shall be affirmed, or that such appeal shall be abandoned; it shall be lawful for the court to whom such appeal shall have been made or intended to be made, and such court is hereby requited to adjudge and order that, the party so having appealed or having entered into such recognizance shall pay to the Justices before whom such recognizance shall have been entered into, or to whomsoever they shall appoint such sum, by way of costs, as shall in the opinion of such, court be sufficient to indemnify such Justices from all costs and charges whatsoever to which such Justices may have been put in consequence of the intention of declared intention, of such party to appeal; and if such party shall refuse or neglect to pay forthwith such sum, it shall be lawful for the said court to adjudge and order that the party so refusing or neglecting shall be committed to, the common gaol or house of correction, there to remain until such sum be paid, for any time not exceeding six calendar months, unless such costs be sooner paid; and in every case in which the conviction so appealed against shall be reversed, it shall be lawful for such court (if it shall think fit) to adjudge and order that the treasurer of the county or place in and for which such Justices whose judgment shall have been so reversed shall have acted on the occasion when they shall have given such judgment, shall pay to such Justices, or whomsoever they shall appoint, such sum as shall in the opinion of such court he sufficient to indemnify such Justices from all costs and charges whatsoever to which such Justices may have been so put; and the said treasurer is hereby authorized to pay the same, which shall be allowed to him in his accounts.
And be it further Enacted, That in every case in which any appeal shall be made, by any person convicted of any offence under the provisions of this Act, to the general session or quarter session, carried on it shall be lawful for the convicting Justices, if no other fit and proper person shall appear to prosecute such charge and to carry on such proceedings as may be necessary to obtain at such session an adjudication thereon, to order that the constable or other peace officer
of the parish or place in which shall be situate the house kept by the person charged, shall carry on all proceedings necessary to obtain such adjudication as aforesaid, and to bind such constable or other peace officer in a sufficient recognizance so to do; and it shall be lawful for the Justices before whom such offender shall have been convicted, to order the treasurer of the county or place in and for which such Justices shall then act, to pay to such constable or other, peace officer, and to the witness or witnesses on his behalf, such sum or sums of money as to the court shall appear to be sufficient to reimburse such constable or other peace officer and such witness or witnesses respectively the expenses that he or they shall have been severally put to in and about such prosecution, which order the clerk of the peace is hereby directed and required forthwith to make out and to deliver to such constable or other peace officer, or to such witness or witnesses; and the said treasurer is hereby authorized and required upon sight of such order forthwith to pay to such constable or other peace officer, or other person authorized to receive the same, such money as aforesaid, and the said treasurer shall be allowed the same in his accounts.
And be it further Enacted, That in case any person licensed under this Act shall be convicted of any offence against this Act, and shall not pay the penalty incurred by such conviction, it shall be lawful for the Justices convicting such offender, after the expiration of Two calendar months next after such conviction, to summon any surety or sureties named in the bond entered into and executed by such person and his surety or sureties at the time of obtaining his license, to appear before the said Justices, and show cause why the penalty mentioned in such bond should not be paid by such surety or sureties, or so much thereof as shall be sufficient to pay any penalty incurred by the party licensed, or to satisfy so much of such penalty so incurred as shall remain unpaid; and in case any such surety shall not shew any sufficient cause to the contrary, it shall be lawful for such Justices to adjudge that such penalty, if not paid, or so much thereof as aforesaid, shall be paid by such surety within Fourteen days; and in case such penalty, or so much thereof as aforesaid, shall not be paid within Fourteen days, it shall be lawful for such Justices, if they shall think fit, to issue their warrant, and to levy the amount of such penalty, or so much thereof as aforesaid, by distress and sale of the goods and chattels of such surety, together with the costs of such distress and sale; and the certificate of the Commissioners of Excise, or their officer or other persons by this Act authorized to grant any license, of the date of such bond, and the names and descriptions of the surety or sureties in such bond, shall be sufficient evidence of such bond, and of the contents and execution thereof, against any surety or sureties, in any proceedings under this Act.
And be it further Enacted, That any person summoned as a witnesses not to give evidence before any Justices or sessions touching any of the matters aforesaid, either on the part of the complainant or of the person accused, who shall neglect or refuse to appear at the time and place for that purpose appointed, and who shall not make such reasonable excuse for such neglect or refusal as shall be admitted and allowed by such Justices or sessions, or who appearing shall refuse to be examined on oath or affirmation and give evidence, shall on conviction before such Justices forfeit and pay for every such offence any sum not exceeding Ten pounds.
And be it further Enacted, That in every case in which under the authority of this Act any Justices shall adjudge that any offender shall pay or cause to be paid any penalty, and such offender shall refuse or neglect, within Seven days after his conviction, to pay such penalty and
any costs which shall have been duly assessed and ascertained by such Justices, it shall be lawful for such Justices, if they shall think fit, to issue their warrant, and to levy the amount of such penalty and costs by distress and sale of the goods and chattels of such offender, together with the costs of such distress and sale; and in every such case such offender, if in custody at the time that such Warrant shall be so issued, shall be forthwith discharged; but if it shall appear to such Justices that the goods and chattels of such offender are not sufficient whereon to levy such distress, together with the costs of such distress and sale, it shall be lawful for such Justices to commit the offender to the common gaol or to the house of correction of the county or place for which such Justices shall be then acting, for any term not exceeding one calendar month if the penalty shall not be above Five pounds, for any term not exceeding three calendar months if the penalty shall be above Five pounds and shall not be more than Ten pounds, and for any term not exceeding Six calendar months if the penalty shall be above Ten pounds: Provided nevertheless, That whenever such offender shall have been committed to the common gaol or house of correction in consequence of his not having duly paid such penalty and costs, if such offender shall pay or cause to be paid to the gaoler or keeper of the house of correction, or to whomsoever such Justices shall have appointed, the penalty imposed and costs, together with all the costs of the apprehension of him and of the conveyance of him to the said gaol or house of correction, at any time previous, to the expiration of the time for which such offender shall so have been committed, such offender shall be forthwith discharged.
And be it further Enacted, That any Justices before whom any penalty shall be recovered under the provisions of this Act, shall award, if they shall think fit, any portion of the same, not in any case exceeding one moiety thereof, to the use of the prosecutor, and the remainder, or in case no part of such penalty shall be awarded to the prosecutor, then the whole of such penalty shall be awarded to be paid and shall be paid to the use of the poor of the parish or place where such offence shall be committed : Provided always, That in all cases where any conviction of any Justices under this Act shall be appealed against, the whole or so much of the penalty as shall not be awarded to the prosecutor shall be awarded to be paid and shall be paid to the treasurer of the county within which such offence shall be committed, to be applied by the said treasurer towards defraying the expenses of such county, and in aid of the county rates of such county.
And be it further Enacted, That whenever at any Session for any liberty, county of a city, county of a town, city or town corporate, there shall not be present at least two Justices acting in and for any such liberty, county of a city, county of a town, city or town corporate, it shall be lawful for the Justices acting in and for the county or counties adjoining to such liberty, county of a city, county of a town, city or town corporate, to act within such liberty or place, and with the Justice or Justices thereof who shall be present at any such sessions as aforesaid, for the purpose of hearing complaints as to offences against this Act, any law, custom or usage to the contrary notwithstanding.
Provided always, and be it further Enacted, That nothing herein contained shall extend to give the Justices of the county, or any division thereof any power or authority for the putting of the provisions of this act in execution within any of the Cinque Ports or either of the two ancient towns, or any of the corporate or other members or liberties of the Cinque Ports or two ancient towns; but that it shall be lawful for the Justices of and for each of the principal Cinque Ports and two ancient towns, and the liberties thereof, to act within the same respectively, as they have been accustomed, and for them or any of them to act within each of the corporate
members immediately belonging or subordinate to such principal Cinque Port or ancient town, with the Justice or Justices of each such corporate member, for the purpose of hearing complaints as to offences against this Act in all such cases in which the Justices of the county are hereinbefore empowered or authorized to act with the Justice or Justices of any liberty, county of a city, county of a town, city or town corporate.
AND in order to prevent frivolous and vexatious appeals, BE it further Enacted, That a conviction in the form, or to the effect following, mutatis mutandis, as the case may be, shall be good and effectual to all intents and purposes whatsoever, without stating the case or the facts, or evidence in any more particular manner; (that is to say)
BE it Remembered, That on this day of in the year A. B. of was duly convicted before us, C. D. and E. F. two of His Majesty’s Justices of the Peace, in petty sessions for the of for that [here state the offence, and the time and place when
of the said universities or otherwise; or the master, wardens, freemen and commonalty of the Vintners of the city of London, but not to extend to those freemen of the said company of Vintners who have obtained the same by redemption only; nor in any way to affect any license to the keeper of any inn, alehouse or victualling house, unless in so far as relates to the sale of Beer by retail: Provided also. That nothing in this Act contained shall alter any law relating to the revenue of Excise, except so far as the same is hereby expressly altered and otherwise provided for; nor to prohibit any person from selling Beer in booths or other places at the time and within the limits of the ground or place in or upon which is holden any lawful Fair, in like manner as such person was authorized to do before the passing of this Act.
AND in order to remove doubts as to the meaning of certain words in this Act, BE it Enacted, That the word “Justice” shall be deemed to mean Justice of the peace; and that the word “person,” and the word “party,” shall be deemed to include any number of persons and parties; and that the word “license,” and the word “day,” and the word “time,” and the word “house,” and the word “place,” shall each be deemed to include any number of licenses, days, times, houses or places; and that the word “beer” shall in all cases be deemed to include “beer, ale and porter;” and that the word “county,” and the words “county or place” shall be deemed severally to include any county, riding, division of the county of Lincoln, hundred, division of a county, liberty, division of a liberty, county of a city, county of a town, city, cinque port, or town corporate; and the words “division or place,” shall be deemed to include any division of a county or riding, liberty, division of a liberty, county of a city, county of a town, city, cinque port, or town corporate; and that the words “parish or place” shall be deemed to include any township, hamlet, tithing, vill, extra-parochial place, or any place maintaining its own poor; and that the word “penalty” shall be deemed to include any fine, penalty or forfeiture of a pecuniary nature; and that the meaning of the several words in this Act shall not be restricted, although the same may be subsequently referred to in the singular number or masculine gender only.
FORM OF LICENSE.
WE, the undersigned, being of the Commissioners of the Excise [or, I the undersigned, being a person authorized and employed by the Commissioners of Excise to grant licenses for selling Beer by retail, or, being a collector or supervisor of Excise for the collection or district of ] Do hereby authorize and empower A.L. now being a householder, and dwelling at in the parish of within the limits of the chief office of Excise [or, within the limits of the said collection or district] to sell Beer, Ale and Porter by retail in the dwelling-house of the said A.L. and in the premises thereunto belonging, the said A.L. having duly entered into a bond with D.S. of
or suffer persons of notoriously bad character to assemble and meet together therein; and do not permit or suffer any Beer, Ale or Porter to be drank or consumed in or upon, or to be conveyed from or out of his [or, her] premises between the hours of Ten of the clock in the forenoon and One of the clock in the afternoon, nor between the hours of Three and Five of the clock in the afternoon on Sundays, Christmas-day and Good Friday, or any day appointed for a Public Fast or Thanksgiving, nor at any time before the hour of Four of the clock in the morning, or after the hour of Ten of the clock in the evening of any day, but do maintain good order and rule therein: And all provisions for billeting officers and soldiers in victualling-houses contained in any Act for punishing Mutiny and Desertion, and for the better payment of the Army and their Quarters, are to extend and apply to the house and premises mentioned in this license: And this License shall continue in force from the day of
Meltham - 80 Years Ago
Another typewritten document entitled “Meltham 80 Years Ago” was shared on the Meltham History Facebook group in September 2020 and perhaps dates from the 1920s:
MELTHAM 80 years ago.
The young folk of the present day will be rather surprised at the long list of beerhouses which then existed; and at the clearance of many them; beginning at Meltham Mills, there was the Antwerp at Davids Buildings, the Lifeguard at Higher Bent Ley, Jimmy Johnsons at Acre Side, Smiths at Thickhollins, Loose Pulley at Bank Buildings, Brow Cow on Bower Hill, Black Horse across the road (once occupied by T. Haigh Butcher). Waggon & Horses, Cherry Tree, (situated where now stands Whitehead, Butcher), the Rose and Crown, Swann Inn, and one (name not known) where now stands Taylor Watchmaker, Victoria, then at the bottom of New Road, the Skylark opposite Dudd House, the O’Cot now called Wentworth House, the Bell, Th’Owd Pig in Etherd Fold, the Cat Inn, the Kitten Inn, the Fleece (now called Victoria), the Bog & Rat in Brighouse Fold, one where the late Mr. Squie Shaw lived, the Travellers’ Rest, Goose at Spark Green, Lucky kept by Old Walt, the late Town Pinder. An amusing incident ts still remembered in connection with this place, a few Meltham worthies once called to taste Old Walt’s brew, and after a while they asked what the “Shot” was; Walt remarked in his usual quaint style “t’barrel wer full when yo started, aw don’t know what yo an ‘ad but aw can tell yo when its empty”. The Stiff Shackle kept by Nancy Knight, Greenend, Dob Hoils at Greenside, the Railway Hotel has since been